Vers une compréhension approfondie avec le Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute

Masha Petrova
|  May 27, 2020
team Collaboration with Altium 365

Le Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute (MBARI) étudie nos océans depuis plus de 30 ans, examinant tout, du mont Axial et volcan sous-marin actif le long de la ride Juan de Fuca au large des côtes de l'Oregon, en passant par le méthane et les boues d'hydrocarbures dans l'Arctique et bien plus encore.

Les recherches approfondies du MBARI sont devenues primordiales pour mieux comprendre l'ampleur du changement climatique, en se concentrant sur la réponse biologique des facteurs de stress sur les océans.

Le phénomène du changement climatique n'a nulle part ailleurs un effet plus immédiat que celui qu'il exerce sur nos océans et nos régions côtières. Alors que le changement se produit à un rythme relativement lent dans les océans de la terre, les augmentations continues de température, les variations saisonnières et les grands événements peuvent avoir un impact énorme, forçant la vie aquatique à passer des fonds marins aux colonnes moyennes et supérieures.

Le MBARI étudie ces changements de processus jusqu'à 150 jours par an à l'aide de techniques telles que la cartographie des eaux profondes à trois ou quatre mille mètres sous la surface de l'océan, la collecte de données sonar, les mesures de turbulence et la bioluminescence. 

Mechanical CAD Aspect Design

Pour mener ces différentes études, le MBARI utilise sa propre technologie exclusive, notamment des véhicules sous-marins autonomes à longue portée (LRAUV) conçus pour mesurer, collecter et filmer tous les 30 jours.

Altium Designer et Altium 365 ont joué un rôle essentiel dans la conception de ces véhicules sous-marins autonomes (AUV), ce qui a permis au MBARI d'accomplir ses missions les plus importantes tout en réduisant considérablement le temps de développement.

Altium 365 s'appuie sur l'intelligence spécifique de la CAO pour stocker les données de conception de manière à rendre les projets et l'historique des versions accessibles et à en faciliter la consultation sur le web, afin que l'équipe de recherche et de développement du MBARI puisse travailler partout dans le monde, même en pleine mer. 

Bien faire les choses du premier coup avec Altium

La conception des LRAUV et des AUV nécessite l'intégration de nombreuses composantes dans un espace très restreint, notamment des batteries lithium-ion de 5 000 watts logées dans un boîtier métallique étanche à l'air sous pression.

Comme l'explique Hans Thomas, superviseur des AUV, division des opérations marines au MBARI, « le travail qu'effectue mon groupe consiste à créer des assemblages assez complexes, comme des circuits imprimés interfacés avec des montages soumis à de fortes contraintes qui retiennent tout à l'intérieur du boîtier sous pression. Le logiciel d'Altium offre la possibilité de travailler en synergie avec l'aspect CAO mécanique de nos conceptions, ce qui nous a permis de gagner du temps et de réduire le risque d'erreurs ultérieurement au cours du processus de fabrication ».

Altium Designer, qui est facilement accessible via la plateforme intégrée Altium 365, a été d'une aide précieuse pour Thomas et son équipe, en s'intégrant parfaitement à leurs outils de CAO mécanique.

Comme l'explique Thomas, « pour nous, il est essentiel de nous assurer que tous les composants de la carte vont rentrer dans le châssis de l'AUV. Altium Designer nous permet de voir très rapidement comment tout s'imbrique. La vaste bibliothèque de composants d'Altium permet également de travailler beaucoup plus facilement avec des composants plus sophistiqués. Le fait de pouvoir trouver les pièces dont nous avons besoin au même endroit nous a fait gagner beaucoup de temps ». 

Schematic to 3Dview with Altium Desgner

Une intégration avancée pour une conception parfaite

La possibilité d'ajuster les schémas et les empreintes à différents stades du processus de conception est essentielle pour Thomas et son équipe, et pas uniquement en raison de l'espace physique limité avec lequel ils travaillent lorsqu'ils conçoivent des PCB personnalisés pour les AUV.

Les véhicules sous-marins ultra-spécialisés nécessitent de nombreuses batteries lithium-ion, dont 55 batteries montées sur trois PCB personnalisés comportant de multiples composants à l'intérieur d'un châssis étanche. Thomas et son équipe doivent donc savoir que les cartes s'adapteront parfaitement dès les premières étapes de la conception. Le coût de fabrication des cartes peut atteindre 4 255 EUR, ce qui laisse peu de marge pour l'erreur.

Heureusement, Altium Designer permet à Thomas d'apporter facilement des modifications bien avant l'étape de la fabrication. Comme l'explique Thomas, « en tant que responsable, je ne me contente pas de regarder un document Word ou PDF d'une conception spécifique de PCB ; avec Altium 365, je peux afficher et partager toute la carte, du schéma à la vue 3D. À chaque fois que vous modifiez un élément de la conception, vous bénéficiez d'un suivi, d'empreintes et de révisions très précis, ce qui simplifie considérablement le contrôle des versions et élimine le problème de la documentation papier. Cela a considérablement accéléré et simplifié l'ensemble du processus de conception et de fabrication ».

Comme l'explique Thomas, « collaborer avec des ingénieurs électriciens et des ingénieurs en mécanique pendant les étapes de conception a vraiment été un élément déterminant pour nous. La possibilité d'identifier des pistes à haute densité de courant dans Altium s'est avérée très utile pour nos conceptions haute puissance ; lorsque vous débutez avec les conceptions à haute intensité, il est vraiment important de détecter les problèmes aussi tôt. Arriver au point où tout fonctionne du premier coup

a été quelque chose de formidable ».

Grâce à l'ajout d'Altium 365, Thomas peut même accéder à ses conceptions lorsqu'il est en haute mer,

ce qui propulse le travail à distance à un tout autre niveau. 

PCB Design fit with Altoum Designer

La transmission des données pour faire progresser la recherche essentielle

Grâce à des cycles de production plus rapides qui ont permis de développer des LRAUV et AUV solides, conçus pour rester en immersion pendant des semaines, voire des mois, le MBARI a pu déployer des véhicules en continu pendant 100 à 150 jours par an, en lançant chaque mois de nouvelles missions.

En étudiant la façon dont nos océans changent, le MBARI a été en mesure de fournir des données essentielles qui peuvent nous permettre de comprendre le changement climatique, les principaux événements océaniques, ainsi que la prolifération des algues nuisibles et leurs effets sur les régions côtières.

Ces données essentielles peuvent aider à la compréhension collective, ainsi qu'à la mise en œuvre de mesures vitales pour compenser le dérèglement climatique et protéger les océans de notre planète, qu'il s'agisse de réduction des émissions de dioxyde de carbone ou de création de solutions durables de remplacement des plastiques et autres matériaux non biodégradables. Grâce à la modeste aide apportée par Altium, le Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute contribue à la sauvegarde de notre planète fragile, à chaque véhicule sous-marin intrépide qu'il envoie sonder les profondeurs.

Under Water Vehicle

 

About Author

About Author

Masha Petrova is a VP of Brand Marketing at Altium.  She has a passion for bridging the communication gap between business leaders, developers and customers. After receiving her PhD in aerospace engineering from UC San Diego, she spent 15+ years in hi tech and engineering software industries.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Towards a Deeper Understanding with the Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute

    Masha Petrova
    |  May 27, 2020
    team Collaboration with Altium 365

     

    The Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute (MBARI) has been studying our oceans for over 30 years, examining everything from the axial seamount and the active submarine volcano along the Juan de Fuca Ridge off the coast of Oregon to studying methane and hydrocarbons in mud in the Arctic and more.

    MBARI’s extensive research has become paramount towards a larger understanding of the extent of climate change, focusing on the biologic response of stressors to the oceans.

    Nowhere is the phenomenon of climate change more immediate than in our oceans and coastal regions; while the rate of change in the earth’s oceans is relatively slow, steady temperature increases, seasonal variations, and major events can have tremendous impact, forcing aquatic life from the bottom of the seafloor into the mid and upper columns.

    MBARI have been studying these process changes with techniques like deep-water mapping three to four thousand meters below the surface of the ocean, collecting sonar data, measuring turbulence and bioluminescence up to 150 days per year. 

    Mechanical CAD Aspect Design

     

    To conduct these various studies, MBARI use their own proprietary technology, including long-range autonomous underwater vehicles (LRAUVs) designed to measure, collect and film every 30 days.

    Altium Designer and Altium 365 have been instrumental in helping to design these autonomous underwater vehicles (AUVs), empowering MBARI’s most important missions while dramatically reducing development time.

    Altium 365 leverages CAD-specific intelligence to store design data in a way that makes projects, and version history accessible and easy to navigate on the web, so MBARI’s research and development team can work from anywhere in the world--even when they’re out at sea. 

    Getting it Right the Very First Time with Altium

    When designing LRAUVs and AUVs, ample capabilities have to be packed into a very small space, including 5000-watt lithium ion batteries encased in air-tight sheet metal pressure housing.

    As Hans Thomas, AUV Supervisor, Division of Marine Operations at MBARI, explains, “The work my group does involves building some fairly complex assemblies, like PCBs that interface with tightly constrained fixtures that hold everything inside pressure housing. The capability of Altium software to work closely with the mechanical CAD aspect of our designs, was instrumental in helping us to save time and reduce the potential for errors later on in the manufacturing process.”

    Altium Designer, effortlessly accessible via the integrated Altium 365 platform, has been invaluable to Thomas and his team, integrating seamlessly with their mechanical CAD tools.

    As Thomas explains, “It is critical for us to make sure that all of the components on the board are going to fit inside the AUV chassis. With Altium Designer, we can see how everything fits together early on. Working with more advanced parts is also much easier with Altium’s extensive parts library. Being able to find the parts we need in one place has been a big time saver.” 

    Schematic to 3Dview with Altium Desgner

     

    Advanced Integration for Seamless Design

    The ability to adjust schematics and footprints at different stages in the design process is essential for Thomas and his team, and not just because of the limited physical space they’re working with when they design custom PCBs for AUVs.

    The highly specialized underwater vehicles require multiple lithium ion batteries—including 55 batteries mounted onto three customized PCBs with multiple components inside an airtight chassis—so Thomas and his team have to know the boards will fit perfectly from the early design stages. The boards can cost as much as $5000 once manufactured, leaving little room for error.

    Thankfully, Altium Designer makes it easy for Thomas to make changes long before the manufacturing stage. As Thomas explains, “As a manager, I’m not just looking at a Word document or a PDF of a specific PCB design; I can see and share the entire board, from schematic to 3D view with Altium 365. Any time you change anything in the design, you get very careful tracking, footprints and revisions, which makes version control much simpler, eliminating paper trails. This has made the entire design and manufacturing process much faster and easier.”

    As Thomas elaborates, “Collaborating with electrical and mechanical engineers during the design stages has really been key for us. Being able to identify high current density traces inside Altium has been great with our high-power designs; when you start getting into high current designs, catching issues this early is really important. Getting to that point where it all works the first time
    has been great.”

    With the addition of Altium 365, Thomas can even access his designs from offshore while out in
    the ocean, taking remote work to a whole new level. 

    PCB Design fit with Altoum Designer

     

    Delivering Data to Advance Essential Research

    With faster production cycles developing robust LRAUVs and AUVs built to withstand weeks to months of being submerged, MBARI have been able to deploy vehicles continuously for 100-150 days per year, launching new missions every month.

    By studying the ways our oceans are changing, MBARI has been able to provide data essential to our understanding of climate change as well as major oceanic events and the proliferation of harmful algae blooms and the effects they have on coastal regions.

    This essential data can guide collective understanding as well as how to implement vital measures to offset climate change and protect our world’s oceans, from reducing carbon emissions to creating viable alternatives to plastics and other non-biodegradable materials. With a little help from Altium, the Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute is helping safeguard our fragile planet, one intrepid underwater vehicle at a time.

    Under Water Vehicle

     

    About Author

    About Author

    Masha Petrova is a VP of Brand Marketing at Altium.  She has a passion for bridging the communication gap between business leaders, developers and customers. After receiving her PhD in aerospace engineering from UC San Diego, she spent 15+ years in hi tech and engineering software industries.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home