Mit dem Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute zusammen auf dem Weg zu einem tieferen Verständnis

Masha Petrova
|  May 27, 2020
team Collaboration with Altium 365

Das Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute (MBARI) erforscht seit mehr als 30 Jahren unsere Ozeane und untersucht alles – vom Axial Seamount und dem aktiven Unterwasservulkan entlang der Juan de Fuca Ridge vor der Küste von Oregon bis hin zur Untersuchung von Methan und Kohlenwasserstoffen im Schlamm in der Arktis und mehr.

Die umfangreiche Forschung des MBARI ist von größter Bedeutung für ein besseres Verständnis des Ausmaßes des Klimawandels geworden, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf der biologischen Reaktion von Stressoren auf die Weltmeere liegt.

Nirgendwo ist das Phänomen des Klimawandels unmittelbarer als in unseren Weltmeeren und Küstenregionen. Obwohl die Veränderung in den Ozeanen relativ langsam ist, können stetige Temperaturanstiege, jahreszeitliche Schwankungen und wichtige Ereignisse enorme Auswirkungen haben und aquatisches Leben vom Boden des Meeres in die mittleren und oberen Bereiche zwingen.

MBARI hat diese Prozessänderungen mit Methoden wie der Tiefwasserkartierung in drei- bis viertausend Metern Tiefe unter der Meeresoberfläche, der Sammlung von Sonardaten, der Messung von Turbulenzen und Biolumineszenz an bis zu 150 Tagen pro Jahr untersucht. 

Mechanical CAD Aspect Design

Zur Durchführung dieser Studien verwendet MBARI seine eigene proprietäre Technologie, darunter autonome Unterwasserfahrzeuge mit großer Reichweite (LRAUVs, Long-Range Autonomous Underwater Vehicles), die so konzipiert sind, dass sie alle 30 Tage messen, sammeln und filmen können.

Altium Designer und Altium 365 haben maßgeblich dazu beigetragen, diese autonomen Unterwasserfahrzeuge (AUVs) zu entwerfen, welche die wichtigsten Aufgaben von MBARI unterstützen und gleichzeitig die Entwicklungszeit drastisch verkürzen.

Altium 365 nutzt die CAD-spezifische Intelligenz, um Designdaten so zu speichern, dass die Projekte und die Versionshistorie im Internet zugänglich und einfach zu navigieren sind. Auf diese Weise kann das Forschungs- und Entwicklungsteam von MBARI von jedem Ort der Welt aus arbeiten – sogar wenn sie sich auf dem Meer befinden. 

Mit Altium auf Anhieb alles richtig machen

Bei der Entwicklung von LRAUVs und AUVs müssen umfangreiche Ressourcen auf kleinstem Raum untergebracht werden, unter anderem 5000-Watt-Lithium-Ionen-Batterien, die in einem luftdichten Blechdruckgehäuse untergebracht sind.

Hans Thomas, AUV Supervisor, Division of Marine Operations bei MBARI, erklärt: „Die Arbeit meiner Gruppe besteht darin, einige ziemlich komplexe Baugruppen zu erstellen wie z. B. PCBs, die mit stark eingeschränkten Vorrichtungen verbunden sind, bei denen alles innerhalb des Druckgehäuses enthalten ist. Die Fähigkeit der Software von Altium, eng mit dem mechanischen CAD-Aspekt unserer Designs zusammenzuarbeiten, hat entscheidend dabei geholfen, Zeit zu sparen und das Fehlerpotenzial im späteren Fertigungsprozess zu reduzieren.“

Altium Designer, der über die integrierte 365-Plattform von Altium mühelos zugänglich ist, war für Thomas und sein Team von unschätzbarem Wert, da er sich nahtlos in ihre mechanischen CAD-Tools integrieren ließ.

Wie Thomas erklärt: „Für uns ist es entscheidend sicherzustellen, dass alle Komponenten auf der Leiterplatte in das AUV-Fahrgestell passen. Mit Altium Designer können wir schon früh erkennen, wie alles zusammenpasst. Auch die Arbeit mit fortschrittlicheren Bauteilen ist mit der umfangreichen Bauteilbibliothek von Altium viel einfacher. Die Möglichkeit, die von uns benötigten Teile an einem Ort zu finden, hat uns viel Zeit gespart.“ 

Schematic to 3Dview with Altium Desgner

Erweiterte Integration für ein nahtloses Design

Die Fähigkeit, Schaltpläne und Footprints in verschiedenen Phasen des Designprozesses anzupassen, ist für Thomas und sein Team von wesentlicher Bedeutung, und zwar nicht nur aufgrund des begrenzten physischen Raums, mit dem sie arbeiten, wenn sie kundenspezifische Leiterplatten für AUVs entwerfen.

Die hochspezialisierten Unterwasserfahrzeuge benötigen mehrere Lithium-Ionen-Batterien – darunter 55 Batterien, die auf drei kundenspezifischen Leiterplatten mit mehreren Bauteilen in einem luftdichten Fahrgestell montiert sind. Deshalb müssen Thomas und sein Team schon in der frühen Designphase wissen, dass die Leiterplatten perfekt passen. Die Leiterplatten können nach ihrer Herstellung bis zu 5000 USD kosten, so dass nur wenig Spielraum für Fehler bleibt.

Glücklicherweise macht es Altium Designer Thomas leicht, Änderungen lange vor der Herstellungsphase vorzunehmen. Thomas sagt: „Als Manager schaue ich mir nicht nur ein Word-Dokument oder eine PDF-Datei eines bestimmten PCB-Designs an; ich kann mit Altium 365 die gesamte Leiterplatte sehen und freigeben, vom Schaltplan bis zur 3D-Ansicht. Jedes Mal, wenn Sie etwas am Design ändern, erhalten Sie sehr sorgfältige Nachverfolgungen, Footprints und Revisionen, was die Versionskontrolle viel einfacher macht und Papierprozesse eliminiert. Dies machte den gesamten Design- und Herstellungsprozess viel schneller und einfacher.

Thomas erklärt weiter: „Die Zusammenarbeit mit Elektro- und Maschinenbauingenieuren während der Designphasen war für uns wirklich entscheidend. Die Möglichkeit, Leiterbahnen mit hoher Stromdichte innerhalb von Altium zu identifizieren, war für unsere Hochstrom-Designs fantastisch. Bei der Beschäftigung mit Hochstrom-Designs ist es entscheidend, Probleme sehr früh zu erkennen. Den Punkt zu erreichen, an dem alles auf Anhieb funktioniert

war großartig.“

Mit dem Einsatz von Altium 365 kann Thomas sogar weit von der Küste weg, 

auf dem Meer, auf seine Designs zugreifen, was die Fernarbeit auf ein ganz höheres Niveau bringt. 

PCB Design fit with Altoum Designer

Bereitstellung von Daten zur Förderung der wesentlichen Forschung

Mit schnelleren Produktionszyklen bei der Entwicklung robuster LRAUVs und AUVs, die so konstruiert sind, dass sie wochen- bis monatelangem Untertauchen standhalten, war MBARI in der Lage, Fahrzeuge kontinuierlich für 100 bis 150 Tage pro Jahr einzusetzen und jeden Monat neue Aufgaben zu starten.

Durch die Erforschung der Art und Weise, wie sich unsere Ozeane verändern, konnte das MBARI Daten liefern, die für unser Verständnis des Klimawandels sowie wichtiger ozeanischer Ereignisse und der Verbreitung schädlicher Algenblüten und deren Auswirkungen auf die Küstenregionen unerlässlich sind.

Diese wichtigen Daten können das kollektive Verständnis leiten und zeigen, wie wichtige Maßnahmen zum Ausgleich des Klimawandels und zum Schutz unserer Weltmeere umgesetzt werden können, von der Reduzierung der Kohlenstoffemissionen bis zur Schaffung tragfähiger Alternativen zu Kunststoffen und anderen biologisch nicht abbaubaren Materialien. Mit etwas Hilfe von Altium trägt das Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute dazu bei, unseren gefährdeten Planeten mit jeweils einem unerschrockenen Unterwasserfahrzeug nach dem anderen zu schützen.

Under Water Vehicle

 

About Author

About Author

Masha Petrova is a VP of Brand Marketing at Altium.  She has a passion for bridging the communication gap between business leaders, developers and customers. After receiving her PhD in aerospace engineering from UC San Diego, she spent 15+ years in hi tech and engineering software industries.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Towards a Deeper Understanding with the Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute

    Masha Petrova
    |  May 27, 2020
    team Collaboration with Altium 365

     

    The Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute (MBARI) has been studying our oceans for over 30 years, examining everything from the axial seamount and the active submarine volcano along the Juan de Fuca Ridge off the coast of Oregon to studying methane and hydrocarbons in mud in the Arctic and more.

    MBARI’s extensive research has become paramount towards a larger understanding of the extent of climate change, focusing on the biologic response of stressors to the oceans.

    Nowhere is the phenomenon of climate change more immediate than in our oceans and coastal regions; while the rate of change in the earth’s oceans is relatively slow, steady temperature increases, seasonal variations, and major events can have tremendous impact, forcing aquatic life from the bottom of the seafloor into the mid and upper columns.

    MBARI have been studying these process changes with techniques like deep-water mapping three to four thousand meters below the surface of the ocean, collecting sonar data, measuring turbulence and bioluminescence up to 150 days per year. 

    Mechanical CAD Aspect Design

     

    To conduct these various studies, MBARI use their own proprietary technology, including long-range autonomous underwater vehicles (LRAUVs) designed to measure, collect and film every 30 days.

    Altium Designer and Altium 365 have been instrumental in helping to design these autonomous underwater vehicles (AUVs), empowering MBARI’s most important missions while dramatically reducing development time.

    Altium 365 leverages CAD-specific intelligence to store design data in a way that makes projects, and version history accessible and easy to navigate on the web, so MBARI’s research and development team can work from anywhere in the world--even when they’re out at sea. 

    Getting it Right the Very First Time with Altium

    When designing LRAUVs and AUVs, ample capabilities have to be packed into a very small space, including 5000-watt lithium ion batteries encased in air-tight sheet metal pressure housing.

    As Hans Thomas, AUV Supervisor, Division of Marine Operations at MBARI, explains, “The work my group does involves building some fairly complex assemblies, like PCBs that interface with tightly constrained fixtures that hold everything inside pressure housing. The capability of Altium software to work closely with the mechanical CAD aspect of our designs, was instrumental in helping us to save time and reduce the potential for errors later on in the manufacturing process.”

    Altium Designer, effortlessly accessible via the integrated Altium 365 platform, has been invaluable to Thomas and his team, integrating seamlessly with their mechanical CAD tools.

    As Thomas explains, “It is critical for us to make sure that all of the components on the board are going to fit inside the AUV chassis. With Altium Designer, we can see how everything fits together early on. Working with more advanced parts is also much easier with Altium’s extensive parts library. Being able to find the parts we need in one place has been a big time saver.” 

    Schematic to 3Dview with Altium Desgner

     

    Advanced Integration for Seamless Design

    The ability to adjust schematics and footprints at different stages in the design process is essential for Thomas and his team, and not just because of the limited physical space they’re working with when they design custom PCBs for AUVs.

    The highly specialized underwater vehicles require multiple lithium ion batteries—including 55 batteries mounted onto three customized PCBs with multiple components inside an airtight chassis—so Thomas and his team have to know the boards will fit perfectly from the early design stages. The boards can cost as much as $5000 once manufactured, leaving little room for error.

    Thankfully, Altium Designer makes it easy for Thomas to make changes long before the manufacturing stage. As Thomas explains, “As a manager, I’m not just looking at a Word document or a PDF of a specific PCB design; I can see and share the entire board, from schematic to 3D view with Altium 365. Any time you change anything in the design, you get very careful tracking, footprints and revisions, which makes version control much simpler, eliminating paper trails. This has made the entire design and manufacturing process much faster and easier.”

    As Thomas elaborates, “Collaborating with electrical and mechanical engineers during the design stages has really been key for us. Being able to identify high current density traces inside Altium has been great with our high-power designs; when you start getting into high current designs, catching issues this early is really important. Getting to that point where it all works the first time
    has been great.”

    With the addition of Altium 365, Thomas can even access his designs from offshore while out in
    the ocean, taking remote work to a whole new level. 

    PCB Design fit with Altoum Designer

     

    Delivering Data to Advance Essential Research

    With faster production cycles developing robust LRAUVs and AUVs built to withstand weeks to months of being submerged, MBARI have been able to deploy vehicles continuously for 100-150 days per year, launching new missions every month.

    By studying the ways our oceans are changing, MBARI has been able to provide data essential to our understanding of climate change as well as major oceanic events and the proliferation of harmful algae blooms and the effects they have on coastal regions.

    This essential data can guide collective understanding as well as how to implement vital measures to offset climate change and protect our world’s oceans, from reducing carbon emissions to creating viable alternatives to plastics and other non-biodegradable materials. With a little help from Altium, the Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute is helping safeguard our fragile planet, one intrepid underwater vehicle at a time.

    Under Water Vehicle

     

    About Author

    About Author

    Masha Petrova is a VP of Brand Marketing at Altium.  She has a passion for bridging the communication gap between business leaders, developers and customers. After receiving her PhD in aerospace engineering from UC San Diego, she spent 15+ years in hi tech and engineering software industries.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home