Rogers Corporation: Der Anbieter für die leistungsstärksten Laminate

Judy Warner
|  Erstellt: March 6, 2020  |  Aktualisiert am: December 11, 2020
Image of a PCB board

Wenn Sie im Hochgeschwindigkeitsbereich Leiterplatten für Digital-, HF-, Mikrowellen- oder Millimeterwellen-Anwendungen entwerfen, sind Sie wahrscheinlich mit den Laminaten von Rogers sehr vertraut. Aber wussten Sie, dass sich die Größe der Rogers Corp in den letzten 10 Jahren verdoppelt hat? Kürzlich, während ich auf der IPC APEX Expo war, hatte ich die Gelegenheit, ein Interview mit Tony Mattingly, Sr. Product Manager, zu führen, und mehr über die Firma zu erfahren, die hinter einigen der weltweit leistungsfähigsten fortschrittlichen Leiterplattenmaterialien steht.

Judy Warner Bitte erzählen Sie uns etwas über Ihre Rolle bei der Rogers Corporation und geben Sie uns eine kurze Zusammenfassung der Unternehmensgeschichte.

Tony Mattingly: Ich bin ein Senior Product Manager, der für die Optimierung unserer Produktlinien verantwortlich. In dieser Rolle stelle ich gleichzeitig sicher, dass der Ruf von Rogers, qualitativ hochwertige Lösungen mit branchenführendem Service zu liefern, erhalten bleibt. Rogers ist ein globaler Technologieführer im Bereich Spezialwerkstoffe, die eine hohe Leistung und Zuverlässigkeit ermöglichen, z. B. in den Märkten Elektrofahrzeuge, drahtlose Infrastruktur, Fahrzeugsicherheit und tragbare Elektronik. Nachdem Rogers als eines der ältesten börsennotierten Unternehmen in Amerika 1832 als Papierhersteller gegründet wurde, hat sich das Unternehmen zu einem globalen Marktführer für Materialtechnologie entwickelt, dessen Produkte in einer breiten Palette von hochtechnologischen Geräten und Systemen zur Anwendung kommen. Seit über 40 Jahren werden unsere fortschrittlichen Leiterplattenmaterialien in nahezu jeder US-Weltraummission eingesetzt und verbinden heute die Welt über Netzwerk-Basisstationen und intelligente Antennen. In den letzten 10 Jahren haben wir unseren Umsatz verdoppelt, weltweit 1850 Mitarbeiter eingestellt, sind durch Übernahmen gewachsen und haben ein Innovationszentrum-Modell eingeführt, um die Kommerzialisierung der innovativen Produkte der nächsten Generation zu beschleunigen.

Warner: Es ist beeindruckend, dass Rogers seinen Umsatz innerhalb von 10 Jahren verdoppeln konnte. Was treibt dieses Wachstum an?

Mattingly: Vor allem Marktsegmente wie die drahtlose 4G- und 5G-Infrastruktur, fortschrittliche PKW-Fahrerassistenzsysteme, Luft- und Raumfahrt und Rüstung haben einen Großteil dieses Wachstums vorangetrieben. Rogers ist in diesen Märkten sehr gut positioniert und bietet die Materiallösungen, die unsere Kunden benötigen. Für die Zukunft sehen wir Wachstumschancen bei Satelliten im erdnahen Orbit und der Bodenterminal-Infrastruktur.

Warner: Wie reagieren Sie als großes multinationales Unternehmen auf die ständigen Bewegungen und Veränderungen in der geopolitischen Landschaft?

Mattingly: Rogers hat stark in den Erwerb von Vermögenswerten investiert und verfügt über eine globale Produktionskapazität mit zahlreichen Werken in den USA, Belgien und China. Wir haben die Flexibilität, Produkte an jedem dieser Standorte herzustellen und von dort liefern zu lassen, was es uns ermöglicht, unsere Lieferkette anzupassen, wenn sich die Marktbedingungen ändern. Mit einem robusten Geschäftskontinuitätsplan stellen wir sicher, dass wir unseren Kunden weiterhin mit den benötigten Produkten beliefern können und dabei gleichzeitig etwaige Auswirkungen auf sie minimieren.

Warner: Erzählen Sie uns von Ihren Innovationszentren und der Rolle, die diese für den Markt und für Rogers spielen.

Mattingly: Von 2014 bis 2017 hat Rogers mehrere Innovationszentren ins Leben gerufen. In den USA unterhalten wir eines in Massachusetts und eines in Arizona. Wir verfügen auch über ein asiatisches Innovationszentrum in China und ein europäisches in Deutschland. Diese wurden eingerichtet, um unsere strategische Kernstärke - die Führungsrolle im Bereich der Innovation - voranzutreiben, mit der Mission, Materialtechnologien zu entwickeln, die die nächste Generation von Produkten ermöglichen. Damit setzt Rogers unser Vermächtnis fort, als Erster die Lösungen auf den Markt zu bringen, die unsere Kunden benötigen.

Warner: Welche aufstrebenden Märkte beobachten Sie und wie reagiert Rogers in Bezug auf Technologieentwicklung und Kapazität?

Mattingly: Ein Markt, in dem wir sehr präsent sind, konzentriert sich auf die Satellitenkonstellationen im erdnahen Orbit und die Bodenterminal-Infrastrukturen, die in den kommenden Jahren implementiert werden. Diese Systeme dienen dazu, allen Orte der Welt Internet-Zugang zu verschaffen, die derzeit keinen besitzen, und die Investitionen in diesem Bereich sind enorm. Rogers hat die nächste Generation von dünnen Leiterplattenmaterialien entwickelt und ein Lösungspaket für mehrlagige Leiterplattendesigns auf den Markt gebracht, das für die Systeme in diesem Markt benötigt wird.

Warner: Gibt es zum Abschluss noch etwas, was Sie unseren Lesern gern mitteilen möchten?

Mattingly: Rogers ist seit fast 190 Jahren im Geschäft und gilt als führende Innovationskraft in Märkten, die unsere Welt mitgeprägt haben. Ich genieße es, Teil eines großartigen Teams zu sein und für ein Unternehmen mit einem so bedeutenden Vermächtnis zu arbeiten, und ich bin auf unsere Zukunft gespannt. Ich hoffe, ich habe demnächst wieder Gelegenheit, mit Ihnen über all die großartigen Dinge zu sprechen, an denen wir arbeiten.

Warner: Vielen Dank, dass Sie der Design-Community von Altium einen selten Einblick in die Rogers Corporation aus der Perspektive eines Insiders verschafft haben.

Mattingly: Danke Judy! Es war mir ein Vergnügen.

Anmerkung des Herausgebers: Informationen zu Lehrmitteln und Ressourcen sowie zum Zugriff auf Datenblätter zu Materialien von Rogers finden Sie hier im TechHub des Unternehmens. Hier finden Sie auch Informationen zu 5G.

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Judy Warner ist seit über 25 Jahren in einer einzigartigen Vielfalt von Rollen in der Elektronikindustrie tätig. Sie verfügt über einen Hintergrund in der Leiterplattenherstellung, Hochfrequenz- und Mikrowellen-Leiterplatten, sowie in der Auftragsfertigung mit Schwerpunkt auf Militär-, Luft- & Raumfahrt-Anwendungen.

Darüber hinaus war sie als Autorin, Bloggerin und Journalistin für verschiedene Branchenpublikationen wie Microwave Journal, PCB007 Magazine, PCB Design007, PCD&F und IEEE Microwave Magazine tätig und ist ein aktives Vorstandsmitglied der PCEA (Printed Circuit Engineering Association). Im Jahr 2017 kam Warner als Director of Community Engagement zu Altium. Neben der Veranstaltung des OnTrack-Podcasts und der Erstellung des OnTrack-Newsletters rief sie die jährliche Altium-Anwenderkonferenz AltiumLive ins Leben. Warners Leidenschaft ist es, Ressourcen, Unterstützung und Fürsprecher für PCB Design Engineers weltweit bereitzustellen.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

Altium Online Store

Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Altium Online Store

    Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Rogers Corporation: The Company Behind Top Performing Laminates

    Judy Warner
    |  March 6, 2020
    Image of a PCB board

    If you design PCBs for high-speed digital, RF, Microwave or Millimeter Wave applications, you’re probably very familiar with Roger’s laminates. However, did you know Rogers Corp has doubled in size in the past 10 years? Recently, while I was at IPC APEX Expo, I had the opportunity to interview Tony Mattingly , Sr. Product Manager and learn more about the company behind some of the world’s top performing advanced circuit materials.

    Judy Warner: Please tell us about your role at Rogers Corporation and give us a brief synopsis of the history of the company

    Tony Mattingly: I am a Sr. Product Manager responsible for optimizing our product lines while ensuring that Rogers’ reputation for delivering high quality solutions with industry leading service levels is maintained. Rogers is a global technology leader in specialty engineered materials that enable high performance and high reliability in markets such as electric vehicles, wireless infrastructure, automotive safety and portable electronics.  As one of the oldest public companies in America, Rogers was founded in 1832 as a paper manufacturer and has evolved into a global materials technology leader enabling a wide array of high-technology devices and systems. For over 40 years, our advanced circuit materials have been used in virtually every US space mission and today are connecting the world through network base stations and smart antennas. Over the last 10 years we’ve doubled our revenues, added 1850 employees globally, grown through acquisitions, and introduced an Innovation Center model to help accelerate commercialization of the next generation innovative products.

    Warner: Rogers doubling in revenue in 10 years is impressive, what is driving that growth?

    Mattingly: Primarily market segments such as 4G and 5G Wireless Infrastructure, Automotive Advanced Driver Assistance Systems, and Aerospace and Defense have been driving much of that growth. Rogers is very well positioned in those markets and has the material solutions our customers need. Going forward we see growth opportunities in the Low Earth Orbit satellite and ground terminal infrastructure. 

    Warner: Being a large multinational company, how do you respond to constant movement and shifts in the geo-political landscape?

    Mattingly: Rogers invested heavily in asset acquisition and has a global manufacturing footprint with numerous facilities in the US, Belgium and China. We have the flexibility to manufacture and supply products from any of these locations, which allows us to make adjustments to our supply chain when market conditions change. Having a robust business continuity plan in place ensures we can continue supplying our customers the products they require with little impact to them. 

    Warner: Tell us about your innovation centers and the role they play for the marketplace and Rogers.

    Mattingly: From 2014 through 2017 we launched several Rogers Innovation Centers. In the US we have one in Massachusetts and another in Arizona. We also have an Asia Innovation Center in China and the European Innovation Center in Germany. These were established to help advance our strategic core strength of innovation leadership with a mission to develop materials technology that will enable the next generation of products so Rogers continues our legacy of being first to market with solutions our customers need. 

    Warner: What emerging markets are you noticing and how does Rogers respond in regards to technology development and capacity?

    Mattingly: One that we’re very close to is the Low Earth Orbit satellite constellations and ground terminal infrastructure that is going to be implemented in the coming years. These systems are intended to bring internet access to all the places in the world that currently do not have coverage and there’s huge investments going on in this space. Rogers has developed the next generation of thin circuit board materials that brings to market a solutions package for multi-layer board designs, which is required for the systems within this market.

    Warner: Any final thoughts you’d like to share with our readers?

    Mattingly: Rogers has been around for almost 190 years and has been the innovation leader in markets that have helped shape our world. I enjoy being part of a great team and within a company that has such a long legacy, and excited about our future. I hope to be talking with you again soon about all the great things we’re working on.

    Warner: Thank you for sharing this rare insider's view of Rogers Corporation with Altium’s design community.

    Mattingly: Thank you Judy! It’s been my pleasure.

    Editor's Note: For educational tools and resources, as well as access data sheets on Roger’s materials join their TechHub here. You can also find information about 5G here.

    About Author

    About Author

    Judy Warner has held a unique variety of roles in the electronics industry for over 25 years. She has a background in PCB Manufacturing, RF and Microwave PCBs and Contract Manufacturing, focusing on Mil/Aero applications. 

    She has also been a writer, blogger, and journalist for several industry publications such as Microwave Journal, PCB007 Magazine, PCB Design007, PCD&F, and IEEE Microwave Magazine, and an active board member for PCEA (Printed Circuit Engineering Association). In 2017, Warner joined Altium as the Director of Community Engagement. In addition to hosting the OnTrack Podcast and creating the OnTrack Newsletter, she launched Altium's annual user conference, AltiumLive. Warner's passion is to provide resources, support, and advocate for PCB Design Engineers worldwide.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home