Agile PLM-Methoden im PCB-Design

Zachariah Peterson
|  August 7, 2019
PLM-Taste auf einer Tastatur
Steigern Sie Ihre Produktivität durch agiles PLM

Eine Branche, die sich stark auf innovative Technologien stützt, muss sich stetig neu erfinden und sich mit Produktobsoleszenz auseinandersetzen. Jede Technik hat ihre Lebensdauer, die infolge von Alterung oder Fehlfunktion endet. Elektronik-Baugruppen machen da keinen Unterschied. Die Bauteile auf den Leiterplatten altern, verschleißen irgendwann und funktionieren nicht mehr richtig, oder die Produkte können nicht mehr mit der Konkurrenz mithalten. In beiden Fällen muss eine neue Produktversion erstellt werden, wenn ein Unternehmen auf dem Markt wettbewerbsfähig bleiben will.

Das agile PLM umfasst mehr als nur die Aktualisierung eines Produkts, das wieder auf den Markt gebracht werden soll. Der gesamte Produktlebenszyklus erstreckt sich von der Konzipierung bis zum Abschluss der Außerbetriebnahme und Aktualisierung. Bei der Optimierung dieser Prozesse spielen agile Methoden eine bedeutende Rolle.

Warum agile Methoden für das Management des Lebenszyklus?

Jede agile Methode ist ein iterativer Prozess. Die zentrale Idee im Agile-Manifest ist die Adaption an Änderungen der Kundenanforderungen, der Design-Anforderungen oder der Funktionalität entlang des gesamten Designprozesses. Dieser iterative Prozess, der bei agilen Methoden zum Einsatz kommt, ermöglicht es einem Design-Team, sich an Veränderungen anzupassen und das Ausmaß von Designanpassungen zu minimieren bzw. diese ganz zu verhindern. Prüfungen werden während des gesamten Lebenszyklus eines Produkts durchgeführt, sodass die Anforderungen stetig aktualisiert und Änderungen berücksichtigt werden können, sobald sie auftreten.

Vergleichen Sie dies mit linearen Entwurfsprozessen wie z. B. der Wasserfall-Methode: Hier werden die Anforderungen erfasst und festgeschrieben, bevor die Konstruktion beginnt. Kommunikation, insbesondere mit dem Kunden, wird oft keine hohe Priorität eingeräumt, sodass das Projekt mitunter bei veränderten Anforderungen weiterlaufen kann. Prüfungen werden üblicherweise am Ende der Entwicklung durchgeführt, wodurch die Gefahr größerer Designanpassungen besteht. Treten Fehler schon früh in der Entwurfsphase auf, breiten sich die Folgen mitunter im ganzen Projekt aus und erzwingen einen umfangreichen Debugging- und Redesign-Prozess, wenn sie nicht frühzeitig erkannt werden.

Beim PCB-Design erfordert die Implementierung eines reibungslosen Agile-Workflows die richtige Datenverwaltungs- und Kollaborationssoftware. Der Einsatz agiler Methoden im Produktlebenszyklus-Management ist einem linearen Entwicklungsprozess vorzuziehen, da sie ermöglichen, Obsoleszenzprobleme zu identifizieren und durchgängig zu überwinden. Änderungen in der Zulieferkette können kurzfristig auftreten und Bauteile werden regelmäßig aktualisiert. Durch ihre frühzeitige Erkennung im Designprozess wird sichergestellt, dass der Änderungsumfang minimiert wird, Produkte einen möglichst langen Lebenszyklus haben und im Konkurrenzkampf am Markt wettbewerbsfähig bleiben.

Mann im Lager mit einem Tablet
Fallen Sie nicht Supply-Chain-Problemen zum Opfer

Warum Obsoleszenz bei agilem PLM eine Rolle spielt

Das Sammeln von Kundenanforderungen und ihre Spezifikation sind sowohl im agilen als auch linearen Entwicklungsprozess äußerst wichtig. Egal ob Software- oder Hardware-Projekt, ein komplexeres Design wird längere Entwicklungszeiten erfordern. Innerhalb eines linearen PCB-Designprozesses werden Änderungen von Anforderungen typischerweise spät erkannt, berücksichtigt und aktualisiert. Handelt es sich dabei um Komponenten-Abkündigungen oder Probleme in der Lieferkette, riskiert ein Entwicklungsteam ein Konstruktionsergebnis oder gar die Fertigung von Prototypen, die noch nicht serienreif sind.

Bei einfacheren Designs ist der Projektlebenszyklus tendenziell kürzer und Entwürfe können oftmals wiederverwendet werden, sodass sich die Zulieferketten bis zum Fertigungsstart des Produkts womöglich nicht ändern. Bei komplexeren Projekten mit vielen Beteiligten sind die Entwicklungszeiten viel länger. Dies erhöht das Risiko, während der Entwicklung auf Probleme in der Lieferkette zu stoßen.

Hier zeigt sich die Agile-Methodik von ihrer besten Seite: Durch regelmäßige Überprüfung und Aktualisierung der Anforderungen können Probleme in der Lieferkette während des gesamten Designprozesses identifiziert werden. Auf diese Weise können Design-Updates zügig vorgenommen werden und nicht erst am Ende in einer großen Charge. 

Altium 365 verbessert Ihre Kollaboration und Kommunikation innerhalb Ihres Teams und mit Lieferanten

Prototypentests sind ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des agilen Product-Lifecycle-Managements
Prototypentests sind ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des agilen Product-Lifecycle-Managements

Am Ende des Lebenszyklus eines Produkts muss es u. U. neugestaltet werden, wenn Unternehmen oder Endkunden das Produkt weiterverwenden bzw. verkaufen möchten. Nimmt ein Agile-Design-Team die Kommunikation ernst, kann es eng mit dem Kunden zusammenarbeiten und Anforderungen für eine neue Produktversion vor dem Ende des Lebenszyklus ermitteln.

Überwindung der Obsoleszenz im agilen Product-Lifecycle-Management

Die Identifizierung von End-of-Life-Bauteilen und Lieferproblemen während der Entwicklung erfordert eine Datenverwaltungslösung, die in Echtzeit Datenaktualisierungen zur Komponentenbeschaffung direkt in Ihrer Design-Software bereitstellt. Dies ist dem manuellen Durchsuchen von Händler-Websites nach Bauteilupdates oder der Nutzung eines Drittanbieters ohne Zugang zu Ihrer PCB-Design-Software, vorzuziehen. So können Sie schnell geeigneten Ersatz für Ihre Bauelemente finden und Ihre Design-Dokumente aktualisieren. 

Zwar sind Prototypentests kurz vor dem Serienstart äußerst wichtig, doch auch während der Entwicklung können Sie Ihren Entwurf mit Simulationen regelmäßig testen und verifizieren. Dies ist eine hervorragende Möglichkeit, Probleme mit der Signal- und Power-Integrität zu erkennen, bevor Sie Ihren Prototyp beauftragen. Design-Software, die auf einer regelbasierten Design-Engine basiert, ermöglicht es Ihnen, Ihren Schaltplan und Ihr Layout bei der Produkterstellung auf Fehler oder Verstöße gegen Beschränkungen zu überprüfen. Die Fähigkeit, Designprobleme zu identifizieren und zu korrigieren, ist ein integraler Bestandteil des agilen PLM.

Wenn Sie eine integrierte Datenverwaltungs- und Designplattform verwenden, können Sie agile Methoden für das Product-Lifecycle-Management problemlos in Ihrem Design-Team implementieren. Die branchenführenden PCB-Design-Tools in Altium Designer lassen sich jetzt mit den leistungsstarken Datenmanagement- und Teamarbeitsfunktionen von Altium Concord Pro integrieren und bieten so eine komplette PCB-Design- und Verwaltungslösung in einer einzigen Plattform. 

Mit dem neuen Altium 365 steht außerdem eine CAD-Platform zur Verfügung, mit der Sie eine noch bessere Kommunikation gewährleisten können, und zwar von überall aus. 

Kontaktieren Sie uns oder laden Sie eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer® und Altium Concord Pro herunter. Sie haben Zugang zu den besten Layout-, MCAD/ECAD-Co-Design und Datenverwaltungsfunktionen der Branche in einem einzigen Programm. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Altium-Experten, um mehr zu erfahren. 

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Agile Product Lifecycle Management Methods in PCB Design

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  August 7, 2019

    PLM on keyboard

    Supercharge your productivity with agile product lifecycle management

    Any industry that relies heavily on new technologies must frequently reinvent itself and address product obsolescence. Every piece of technology has a finite lifecycle that ends due to obsolescence or malfunction. Electronics and the PCBs that support them are no different; components on PCBs eventually wear out and malfunction, or the product can no longer compete with a competitor’s product. In both cases, a new version of a product needs to be produced if a company wants to remain competitive in the marketplace.

    Product lifecycle management, and even Agile product lifecycle management, includes more than just updating a product to be re-released on the market. The entire product lifecycle spans from inception to decommissioning and updating, and agile methodologies have a role to play in streamlining these processes.

    Why Agile Methods for Lifecycle Management?

    Any Agile methodology is an iterative process. The central idea in the Agile Manifesto is adaptation to changes in customer requirements, design requirements, or functionality throughout the design process. The iterative process involved in agile methodologies allows a design team to adapt to these changes and reduce the extent of redesigns or even prevent them entirely. Tests are conducted throughout a product’s lifecycle, allowing requirements to be updated and changes to be addressed as they arise.

    Contrast this with linear design processes, such as Waterfall. In these processes, requirements are gathered and set in stone before design begins. Communication, particularly with the customer, is typically not regarded as a priority, thus the project may proceed even if requirements change. Tests are normally conducted at the end of development, creating a risk of major redesigns. If bugs arise early during development, their effects propagate throughout the system, ultimately forcing an extensive debugging and redesign process if not caught early.

    In PCB design, implementing a smooth Agile workflow takes the right data management and collaboration software. Using an Agile methodology in product lifecycle management is preferable to a linear design process, as it allows obsolescence issues to be identified and overcome throughout. Changes in the supply chain can occur quickly, and components are periodically updated with new versions. Identifying these changes early in the design process ensures that your product has the longest possible lifecycle and remains competitive with other products on the market while also reducing the extent of redesigns.

    Man in warehouse with a tablet

    Don’t fall victim to supply chain problems

    Why Obsolescence Matters in Agile

    Gathering requirements from the customer and forming functional requirements are extremely important in Agile and linear design processes. Whether the project is for new software or new hardware, a more complex product will require longer development time. Within a linear PCB design process, requirements are generally not addressed or updated later in the design process. If component obsolescence or supply chain issues are not identified early, a design team risks completing a new product design or even producing prototypes that cannot be manufactured at scale.

    With simpler designs, the project lifecycle tends to be much shorter and a design can even be quickly reused, so the supply chain landscape may not change by the time the device is manufactured. With more complicated systems that involve a number of collaborators, development times are much longer, which increases the risk of encountering supply chain problems during development.

    This is where an Agile methodology really shines; periodically checking and updating requirements allows supply chain problems to be identified throughout the design process. This allows design updates to be applied immediately, rather than in a large batch at the end. This reduces the time and extent of redesigns and allows requirements to be updated as needed. The customer can also be consulted during each design iteration (sometimes called a sprint) as their input is critical in agile methodologies.

    Eye diagram on an oscilloscope

    Prototype testing is an integral part of Agile product lifecycle management

    At the end of a product’s lifecycle, a product may need to be redesigned if a company or end customer wants to continue using or selling the product. If an agile design team takes communication seriously, they can collaborate directly with the customer and identify requirements for a new version of the product before the end of its lifecycle.

    Overcoming Obsolescence in Agile Product Lifecycle Management

    Identifying soon-to-be obsolete components and supply chain problems during development takes a data management solution that provides real-time component sourcing data updates directly within your design software. This is preferable to manually scouring distributor websites for component updates or using a 3rd party service that doesn’t integrate with your PCB design software. This allows you to quickly find suitable replacement components for your board and keeps your design documents synchronized.

    Although prototype testing is extremely important as you near completion of your design, you can also periodically test and verify your design during development using simulations. This is a great way to identify signal integrity and power integrity problems before you produce your prototype. Design software that is based on a rules-driven design engine will allow you to check your schematic and layout for errors or constraint violations as you create your product. This ability to identify and correct design problems is an integral part of Agile product lifecycle management.

    When you use an integrated data management and design platform, you can easily implement Agile product lifecycle management practices for your design team. The world-class PCB design tools in Altium Designer now integrate with the powerful data management and collaboration features in Altium Concord Pro, providing a complete PCB design and management solution in a single platform.

    Contact us or download a free trial of Altium Designer® and Altium Concord Pro. You’ll have access to the industry’s best layout, MCAD/ECAD co-design, and data management features in a single program. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home