Bonnes pratiques liées au pont de soudure dans la conception PCB

Zachariah Peterson
|  Créé: October 5, 2020  |  Mise à jour: November 2, 2021
Meilleures pratiques pour le pont de soudure dans la conception des circuits imprimés.

Une variante de PCB est souvent considérée comme étant un nouveau routage créé à partir d'une conception préexistante. Cependant, en faisant preuve d'un peu de créativité avec votre routage, vous pouvez utiliser un pont de soudure pour configurer certaines parties d'un même routage PCB et obtenir plusieurs variantes. Ainsi, vous pourrez créer rapidement des variantes d'un même PCB sans avoir à créer de nouveaux routages ni à changer le schéma. Si vous prévoyez d'utiliser des ponts dans votre routage de circuit imprimé, il est important de respecter certaines consignes afin de ne pas créer d'autres problèmes de conception. Examinons ce que sont les ponts de soudure et comment ceux-ci peuvent faciliter la création de variantes.

Qu'est-ce qu'un pont de soudure ?

Un pont de soudure consiste tout simplement en une paire de pastilles placées sur une piste de PCB qui peuvent être facilement connectées par une bille de soudure. Pour un routage plus propre, utilisez des résistances de 0 Ohm pour créer la connexion. En effet, les résistances de 0 Ohm offrent une meilleure rentabilité et sont disponibles comme composants montés en surface. Il peut arriver, comme dans l'exemple ci-dessous, qu'un pont de soudure n'ait pas besoin d'être soudé.

Dans l'image ci-dessous, j'ai placé des ponts de soudure connectés et non connectés sur des points spécifiques de la carte. Plutôt que de m'embêter à souder ou à placer des résistances de 0 Ohm, je peux facilement modifier mon routage pour créer une variante en remplaçant le pont connecté par un pont non connecté, et inversement. Qui plus est, même une fois la variante fabriquée, je peux encore configurer mon appareil en connectant les ponts requis, après assemblage.

Exemple d’un pont de soudure connecté et non connecté dans un schéma de circuit imprimé.
Exemple d’un pont de soudure connecté et non connecté dans un schéma de circuit imprimé.

Vous pouvez utiliser les outils de CAO de votre logiciel de conception de circuits imprimés afin de créer facilement un symbole pour votre schéma ainsi qu'une empreinte de circuit imprimé pour un pont de soudure. Dans l'exemple précédent, j'ai créé deux symboles et empreintes de PCB : une paire pour le pont connecté et une autre pour le pont non connecté. Mes symboles de schéma pour les ponts du routage ci-dessus sont reproduits dans l'image ci-dessous. Pour créer une nouvelle carte où des blocs de circuit différents sont activés et désactivés, il suffira de modifier les ponts qui sont connectés et ceux qui sont déconnectés, tout simplement.

Symboles schématiques pour des ponts de soudure
Symboles schématiques pour des ponts de soudure

Pourquoi utiliser un pont de soudure ?

Un pont de soudure est un excellent moyen d'obtenir une carte qui soit configurable : c'est-à-dire une même conception de carte pouvant être produite avec un routage prédéfini, mais dont les chemins de signaux pourront être choisis au moment de l'assemblage. Un concepteur peut créer un seul routage de PCB qui sera utilisé pour plusieurs variantes en sélectionnant soigneusement là où seront placés les ponts.

Un pont de soudure peut être placé sur différents chemins de signaux pour ouvrir ou fermer un circuit, en fonction du besoin du périphérique en question. Pour fermer un pont, il suffit de placer une petite quantité de soudure entre les deux pastilles devant être connectées. Cela crée un circuit fermé et permet au courant de passer par le pont vers un composant situé en aval. Certes, il faut un peu de créativité dans la conception initiale du routage, mais cela permet au concepteur de créer plusieurs variantes à partir d'un seul routage et évite la production de couches supplémentaires pour chacune des variantes.

Vous pourriez aussi utiliser un pont de soudure pour activer facilement un bloc de circuit spécifique. Dans le cadre d'un projet récent, nous avons utilisé des ponts de soudure multiples pour créer des variantes en prototype et en production, le tout en nous appuyant sur le même routage. Le simple fait d'ouvrir ou de fermer un pont vous permet d'activer ou de désactiver un composant, un bloc de circuit ou une connexion à un périphérique.

Quelques bonnes pratiques concernant les ponts de soudure

Posez-vous les questions suivantes lorsque vous choisissez de placer des ponts de soudure dans votre routage : qui va assembler votre carte ? Est-ce que vous aurez besoin de configurer votre carte après l'assemblage ? Est-ce que votre fabricant sera en mesure de créer des variantes de la même carte dans un seul panneau ? Si vous utilisez des résistances de 0 Ohm ou si vous prévoyez de fermer le pont de soudure, votre fabricant pourrait paniquer à l'idée que vous lui demandiez de ne pas placer les différents composants sur différentes cartes du même panneau. Pour vous éviter de devoir vous expliquer auprès de votre fabricant, comme j'ai dû le faire récemment, il sera plus simple pour vous d'utiliser les ponts de soudure en cuivre illustrés ci-dessus.

Lors du routage de votre schéma et de votre PCB, veillez bien à ce que vos ponts de soudure puissent être utilisés facilement. Voici d'autres éléments de conception qui doivent également être étudiés.

Attention aux lignes de transmission

Si vous envisagez de placer une résistance de 0 Ohm ou de la soudure sur une ligne de transmission, vous devez l'utiliser au plus près de l'extrémité du conducteur. Si le pont est éloigné du conducteur et qu'il est laissé ouvert, vous créez une ligne de transmission ouverte qui agira comme une antenne à certaines fréquences. En plaçant le pont au plus près du conducteur, vous évitez que le cuivre qui dépasse ne serve de ligne de transmission, dans le cas où le pont n'est pas fermé.

Éviter les ponts de soudure sur les lignes à haute tension

Un pont de soudure ouvert sur une ligne à haute tension pourrait enfreindre les normes IPC 2221B ou IPC-9592B. Cela risquerait en effet de se produire si la distance entre chaque extrémité du pont est très courte. Pour plus de sécurité et de fiabilité, vous devez utiliser un commutateur ou un relais solide, adapté à la tension/l'alimentation de votre carte.

Les ponts de soudure ne sont pas réutilisables

Si vous prévoyez d'utiliser des ponts de soudure dans votre routage de circuit imprimé, n'oubliez pas qu'ils ne doivent pas être réutilisés. En d'autres termes, ils ne doivent pas être soudés et ouverts à plusieurs reprises. À la limite, vous pouvez placer et supprimer plusieurs fois une même résistance à 0 Ohm, puisque vous ne soudez pas dans un espace vide sur la surface de la carte, mais ces éléments ne doivent malgré tout pas être réutilisés.

Si vous savez que vous devrez ouvrir et fermer des ponts à plusieurs reprises, utilisez plutôt des broches CMS. Vous pourrez ainsi enlever le pont si besoin. Cette stratégie est préférable lorsque vous concevez le premier jet d'un prototype, et que vous avez besoin de tester différents modes de fonctionnement ou périphériques. Vous pouvez toujours utiliser des ponts de soudure et broches standards dans le même routage. Les ponts en plastique sont utiles pour les périphériques qui seront connectés à votre carte via un connecteur à broche. En fonction de votre routage, vous n'aurez peut-être même pas besoin d'utiliser un pont de soudure.

Pont de soudure sur une tête de broche.
Un pont de soudure sur une tête de broche est un moyen facile de configurer un circuit.

Si vous souhaitez inclure facilement des conceptions de ponts de soudure dans votre circuit imprimé, testez les outils de CAO performants d'Altium Designer®. En permettant aux concepteurs de travailler de chez eux et d'atteindre des niveaux d'efficacité sans précédent, la solution Altium Designer disponible sur Altium 365 offre à l'industrie électronique un degré d'intégration inégalé qui était jusqu'à présent réservé au secteur informatique.

Tout cela n'est qu'un aperçu des possibilités offertes par Altium Designer sur Altium 365. Vous pouvez consulter la page produit pour obtenir une description plus détaillée des fonctionnalités ou visionner l'un des webinaires à la demande.

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Zachariah Peterson possède une vaste expérience technique dans le milieu universitaire et industriel. Avant de travailler dans l'industrie des PCB, il a enseigné à la Portland State University. Il a dirigé son M.S. recherche sur les capteurs de gaz chimisorptifs et son doctorat en physique appliquée, recherche sur la théorie et la stabilité du laser aléatoire. Son expérience en recherche scientifique couvre des sujets tels que les lasers à nanoparticules, les dispositifs électroniques et optoélectroniques à semi-conducteurs, les systèmes environnementaux et l'analyse financière. Ses travaux ont été publiés dans diverses revues spécialisées et actes de conférences et il a écrit des centaines de blogs techniques sur la conception de PCB pour de nombreuses entreprises. Zachariah travaille avec d'autres sociétés de PCB fournissant des services de conception et de recherche. Il est membre de l'IEEE Photonics Society et de l'American Physical Society

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

Altium Online Store

Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Altium Online Store

    Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Solder Bridge Jumper Best Practices in PCB Design

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  October 5, 2020
    Solder Bridge Jumper Best Practices in PCB Design

    A PCB variant is often simply thought of as a new layout created from an old design. However, if you’re creative with your routing and layout, you can use a solder bridge jumper to configure portions of a single PCB layout for multiple variants. This lets you quickly create variants of a PCB layout without rerouting traces or changing your schematics. If you plan to use jumpers in your PCB layout, there are some important guidelines to follow to ensure you do not create other design problems. Let’s look at solder bridge jumpers and how they can quickly create variants of your design.

    What is a Solder Bridge Jumper?

    A solder bridge jumper is simply a pair of pads on a PCB trace that can be easily bridged with a solder ball. You’ll get a much cleaner layout if you use 0 Ohm resistors to create the bridge; 0 Ohm resistors are very low cost and are available as surface-mount components. In some cases, a solder bridge jumper need not be solderable, as shown in the example below.

    In the image below, I’ve placed bridged and unbridged jumpers at specific points in the layout. Rather than worry about soldering or placing 0 Ohm resistors, I can quickly modify my layout to create a new variant by replacing a bridged jumper with an unbridged jumper, or vice versa. Even after the variant is produced, I can still configure my device by bridging any jumpers after assembly.

     Solder bridge jumper in a PCB layout
    Example bridged and unbridled solder jumpers in a PCB layout.

    The CAD tools in your PCB design software can be used to easily create a schematic symbol and a PCB footprint for a solder bridge jumper. In the example above, I’ve created two symbols and PCB footprints; one pair is for the bridged jumper, and the other pair is for the unbridged jumper. My schematic symbols for the jumpers shown in the above layout can be seen in the image below. By simply swapping the bridged and unbridged jumpers, I can easily create a new board with different circuit blocks activated or deactivated.

    Solder bridge jumper in a PCB layout
    Schematic symbols for solder bridge jumpers.

    Why Use a Solder Bridge Jumper?

    A solder bridge jumper is a great way to make a board configurable. By “configurable,” I mean that a single board design can be produced with defined layout and routing, but the signal paths involved can be chosen during assembly. A designer can create a PCB layout that is used for multiple variants by carefully selecting where to place different jumpers.

    A solder bridge jumper can be placed on different signal paths to open or close a circuit, depending on if it is needed for a particular peripheral. To close the jumper, simply place a small amount of solder between the two pads to be bridged. This creates a closed circuit and allows current to flow across the jumper to a downstream component. This takes a bit of creative routing on the front end. Still, it allows the designer to create multiple variants of a single layout, rather than producing additional layouts for each variant.

    You might want to use a solder bridge jumper to easily turn on a particular circuit block. In a recent project, we used multiple solder bridge jumpers to create prototype and production variants using the same layout. Merely opening or closing a bridge allows you to activate or deactivate a component, circuit block, or connection to a peripheral.

    Some Best Practices with Solder Bridge Jumpers

    The most important thing to think about when choosing to place solder bridge jumpers in your layout is who will assemble your board, if you need to configure your board after assembly, or if your manufacturer can accommodate variants of the same board in a panel. If you’re using 0 Ohm resistors or you plan to solder your jumper closed, your fabricator might act like the sky is falling when you ask them to DNP different components on different boards in the same panel. If you want to avoid a long explanation for your fabricator (as I recently experienced), you’re better off using the copper-bridged jumpers I’ve shown above.

    You need to pay careful attention to routing in your schematic and PCB layout to make easy use of solder bridge jumpers. In addition, pay attention to the following design points.

    Watch Out for Transmission Lines

    If you plan to place a 0 Ohm resistor or solder on a transmission line, you should use it very close to the driver’s end. If the jumper is placed far from the driver and left open, you’ve just created an open transmission line, which will act as an antenna at specific frequencies. Placing the jumper close to the driver ensures that the leftover copper will not act as a transmission line if the jumper is left open.

    Avoid Solder Bridge Jumpers on High Voltage Lines

    An open solder bridge jumper on a high voltage line may violate IPC 2221B or IPC-9592B standards. This will happen if the distance between each end of the jumper is very small. For safety and reliability’s sake, you should use a rugged switch or relay rated for the voltage/power in your board.

    Solder Bridge Jumpers Are Not Reusable

    If you plan to use solder bridge jumpers in your PCB layout, remember that they should not be reused, meaning they should not be repeatedly soldered and opened. You might get away with multiple placements and removals of a 0 Ohm resistor since you aren’t drawing solder across a gap on the PCB surface, but these should also not be reused.

    If you know, you will need to open and close jumpers repeatedly, use SMD jumper pins. You can then pull off the jumper as needed. This is a good strategy when designing a first-run prototype, and you need to experiment with different operating modes or peripherals. You can still use standard solder bridge jumpers and jumper pins in the same layout. Plastic jumpers are also useful for peripherals that will connect to your board over a pin header. You might not need to use a solder bridge jumper, depending on your routing and layout.

    Solder bridge jumper and pin header with jumper
    A jumper on a pin header is an easy way to configure circuitry.

    If you want a convenient way to include solder bridge jumper designs in your PCB, try using the powerful CAD tools in Altium Designer®. Altium Designer on Altium 365 delivers an unprecedented amount of integration to the electronics industry until now relegated to the world of software development, allowing designers to work from home and reach unprecedented levels of efficiency.

    We have only scratched the surface of what is possible to do with Altium Designer on Altium 365. You can check the product page for a more in-depth feature description or one of the On-Demand Webinars

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home