Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie Ihr lokales Vertriebsbüro

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Sorgen wir selbst für den Nachwuchs bei den Leiterplattenetwicklern?

    Judy Warner
    |  September 13, 2018

    Mihir and Milan Shah

    Judy Warner: Mihir, erzählen Sie uns doch bitte von Ihrem Hintergrund und beruflichen Werdegang.

    Mihir Shah: Ich bin Elektroingenieur mit vielfältigen Erfahrungen, angefangen von Elektrofahrzeugen bei Tesla bis hin zur Hochspannungs-Leistungselektronik bei Taser und vielen anderen Dingen. Ich habe auch einige Zeit als Chief of Staff bei Taser gearbeitet und im Laufe der Zeit viele wichtige praktische Fähigkeiten erworben, die mir geholfen haben, in meiner jetzigen Rolle als Director of Special Projects bei Royal Circuits erfolgreich zu sein.

    Warner: Wie hat Ihr Vater Ihre Entscheidung für eine Karriere in der Elektronikindustrie beeinflusst?

    Shah: Mein Vater hat meinen Bruder und mich in diese Richtung gelenkt seit wir Kinder waren. Obwohl er uns immer eine Menge Freiheit in Bezug auf die Wahl unserer Lerninhalte gab, hielten seine Leidenschaft und Begeisterung für das Unternehmen den Blick der Familie immer auf dessen Erfolg und seine Rolle in unserem Leben ausgerichtet. Wir wurden immer dazu ermutigt, uns selbst herauszufordern, und da wir sehr praktisch veranlagte Jungs waren, haben sich mein Bruder und ich beide in die Elektrotechnik und Elektronik im Allgemeinen verliebt – nach der Arbeit mit Designs und Kunden war es dann eine naheliegende Wahl, in das Unternehmen nach ein paar Jahren in der Branche einzutreten.

    Warner: Wie alt waren Sie, als Ihr Vater Royal Circuits gekauft hat, und haben Sie viel Zeit dort verbracht?

    Shah: Mein Vater hat Royal Circuits gekauft, als ich 13 Jahre alt war. Wir zogen mit unserer ganzen Familie von Illinois nach Kalifornien, um diesen Traum zu leben - und was für ein Traum das war! Mein Vater war solange ich denken kann in der Leiterplattenindustrie, sogar vor Royal, und mein Bruder und ich verbrachten die Sommer und die Ferien im Unternehmen und machten alles, von der Reinigung von Bohrmaschinen bis hin zum Versand von Leiterplatten in Stoßzeiten. Ich verbrachte sogar einen Sommer während meiner Zeit in der Highschool bei einem Montagepartner als manueller Löttechniker – ich brauche wohl nicht zu erwähnen, dass ich mich nach dieser knallharten Erfahrung ganz schnell an der Universität beworben habe.

    Warner: Zweifellos ist Löten von Hand sehr mühsam und nicht so einfach wie es aussieht! Was hat Sie am meisten überrascht, als Sie von der Entwicklung zur Fertigung gewechselt haben?

    Shah: Wie manuell der Leiterplattenherstellungsprozess noch ist und wie viele bewegliche Bauteile es gibt, um Leiterplatten zu fertigen und zu bestücken – egal, ob es sich um einen Auftrag für 100 oder einen für 10.000 US-Dollar handelt. So sehr wir daran arbeiten, den Prozess der Angebotserstellung und Bestellung von Leiterplatten für unsere Kunden so nahtlos wie möglich zu gestalten – es gibt immer noch so viele technische und komplexe Prozesse (die unglaublich fähige und zuverlässige Leute erfordern) und es erstaunt mich, immer wieder zu sehen, dass wir täglich wie eine gut geölte Maschine funktionieren.

    Warner: Ich wünschte, wir könnten jedem Entwickler und Designer klar machen, wie komplex alles ist. Die Herstellung von Leiterplatten verdient weit mehr Respekt, als ihr oft entgegengebracht wird. Welchen Einfluss auf das Unternehmen erhoffen Sie sich persönlich?

    Shah: Auf der operativen Seite möchte ich weiter an unserem Ziel arbeiten, PCBs so einfach bestellen zu können wie alles andere aus dem Internet – nahtlos, transparent und schnell. Langfristig möchte ich für das Unternehmen sicherstellen, dass ich das Vermächtnis meines Vaters fortführen kann, ein erfolgreiches Unternehmen mit einer Fluktuation von fast 0 % weiterzuentwickeln, das weiterhin enorm glückliche Mitarbeiter und deren Familien ernährt und von einem Team wie eine Familie aus fantastisch leidenschaftlichen Menschen geleitet wird. Ich liebe meinen Vater und ich liebe diese Firma. Ich möchte meine Leidenschaft weiter an die seine angleichen und diese mit all unseren Kunden, Mitarbeitern und Familien teilen.

    Anmerkung der Redaktion: Royal Circuits hat in den vergangenen 20 Jahren weniger als 1 % Mitarbeiterfluktuation gehabt. Mehrere Söhne sind in die Fußstapfen ihrer Väter getreten und haben sich der „Familie“ Royal Circuits angeschlossen, wie man auch auf den Fotos mit einigen der Vater-Sohn-Duos in den jeweiligen Teams sehen kann.

     

     

    Fabian, Teo, Santiago

     

     

    Rudy Sr., Rudy Jr.


     

    Johnny, Riki

     

     

    About Author

    About Author

    Judy Warner has held a unique variety of roles in the electronics industry since 1984. She has a deep background in PCB Manufacturing, RF and Microwave PCBs and Contract Manufacturing with a focus on Mil/Aero applications in technical sales and marketing.
    She has been a writer, contributor and journalist for several industry publications such as Microwave Journal, The PCB Magazine, The PCB Design Magazine, PDCF&A and IEEE Microwave Magazine and is an active member of multiple IPC Designers Council chapters. In March 2017, Warner became the Director of Community Engagement for Altium and immediately launched Altium’s OnTrack Newsletter. She led the launch of AltiumLive: Annual PCB Design Summit, a new and annual Altium User Conference. Judy's passion is to provide resources, support and to advocate for PCB Designers around the world.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Are Engineers and PCB Technologists Homegrown?

Judy Warner
|  Created: September 13, 2018  |  Updated: July 21, 2020

Mihir and Milan Shah

Over the past year, I’ve noticed a subtle trend in the designers and technologists we’ve interviewed for this newsletter. Have you noticed it? There have been a number of times people cited their parents as the ones who inspired them to pursue an electronics career. (Think...Rick Hartley, Nicole Creeden, Bill Brooks, Charles Pfeil, Mary Elizabeth McCulloch, etc.). This is especially true at Royal Circuit Solutions, which is located just north of Silicon Valley. Read on to learn about Mihir Shah, a second generation board fabricator and EE, and how his dad inspired his sons as well as built a business that nurtures many father-son PCB experts.

Judy Warner: Mihir, tell us about your background and professional history please.

Mihir Shah: I’m an Electrical Engineer with a diverse background, having worked on everything from electric vehicle powertrains at Tesla to high-voltage power electronics at Taser, and many things in between. I also spent some time as Chief of Staff at Taser, and over time learned a lot of great practical skills that have helped me be successful in my current role as Director of Special Projects at Royal Circuits.

Warner: How has your father influenced you to pursue a career in the electronics industry?

Shah: My father has been grooming my brother and I to join the business since we were children. While he always gave us a lot of freedom in terms of choice of study, his passion and excitement for the business always kept the family aligned around its success and role in our lives. We were always encouraged to challenge ourselves, and being very hands-on boys, my brother and I both ended up falling in love with electrical engineering and electronics in general – joining the business after working on the design/customer side was an obvious choice after a few years in the industry.

Warner: How old were you when your dad bought Royal Circuits and did you hang out around the shop?

Shah: My dad bought Royal Circuits when I was 13 years old. We moved our entire family to California from Illinois to live out this dream, and what a dream it’s been! My dad has been in the board industry my entire life, even before Royal, and my brother and I spent summers and holidays at the shop, doing everything from cleaning out drill machines to helping ship out boards when we were crazy busy. I even spent a summer in high school working at a partner assembly shop as a hand soldering technician – needless to say I was quick to apply to university after that backbreaking experience.

Warner: No doubt, hand-soldering is not as easy as it looks and it's very tedious! What have you been most surprised about since you moved from engineering to fabrication?

Shah: Just how manual the board fabrication process still is, and how many moving parts there are to build and assemble boards – whether it’s a $100 job or a $10,000 job. As much as we’re working on making the front-end process of quoting and ordering boards as seamless as possible, there are still so many technical and complex processes involved (that require incredibly skilled and reliable people), it always amazes me to see us run like a well-oiled machine daily. 

Warner: I so wish we could show every engineer and designer how truly complex it is. Board fabrication deserves more respect than it often gets, unfortunately. What impact do you personally hope to have on the business?

Shah: On the operational side, I want to continue working towards our goal of making ordering PCBs as easy as ordering anything else off the internet – seamless, transparent, fast. On the long-term side of running the business, I want to make sure I continue my father’s legacy of building a successful company with a virtually 0% turnover rate that continues to feed incredibly happy employees and their families, and is run by a team/family of incredibly passionate people. I love my dad, and I love this company. I want to continue developing my passion to match his, and share that with all of our customers, employees, and families.

Editor's note: Royal Circuits has had less than a 1% employee turnover in 20 years. Several sons have followed in their father's footsteps and joined the Royal Circuits “family.” See the photos below of some of the father-son duos who serve on their team.

Fabian, Teo, Santiago

Rudy Sr., Rudy Jr.

Johnny, Riki

About Author

About Author

Judy Warner has held a unique variety of roles in the electronics industry for over 25 years. She has a background in PCB Manufacturing, RF and Microwave PCBs and Contract Manufacturing, focusing on Mil/Aero applications. 

She has also been a writer, blogger, and journalist for several industry publications such as Microwave Journal, PCB007 Magazine, PCB Design007, PCD&F, and IEEE Microwave Magazine, and an active board member for PCEA (Printed Circuit Engineering Association). In 2017, Warner joined Altium as the Director of Community Engagement. In addition to hosting the OnTrack Podcast and creating the OnTrack Newsletter, she launched Altium's annual user conference, AltiumLive. Warner's passion is to provide resources, support, and advocate for PCB Design Engineers worldwide.

Recent Articles

Back to Home