Vorteile beim PCB-Design durch ein professionelles Dienstleistungsunternehmen

Judy Warner
|  Erstellt: January 21, 2019  |  Aktualisiert am: July 28, 2020

service bureau for pcb design concept

 

Unternehmen und Designteams wenden sich aus verschiedenen Gründen an PCB-Designdienstleister, um ihre Produktentwicklung zu unterstützen. In diesem Artikel sprechen wir mit Scott Miller, CEO von Freedom CAD, über die Dynamik, die Vorteile und potenzielle Fragen, die bei der Beauftragung eines Designdienstleisters zu berücksichtigen sind.

 

Judy Warner: Scott, bitte geben Sie uns einen kurzen Überblick über Freedom CAD, die von Ihnen angebotenen Dienstleistungen und die Arten von Anwendungen, die Sie unterstützen.

Scott Miller: Seit mehr als 15 Jahren ist es das Anliegen von Freedom CAD Services, unseren Kunden den besten Service und die höchste Qualität zu bieten sowie dabei pünktlich und im Rahmen des Budgets zu liefern. Unsere Dienstleistungen umfassen PCB-Design, elektrische, mechanische und Signalintegritätstechnologie sowie PCB-Layout und eine schnelle Ablauf- und Prototypenprogramm-Verwaltung.

Scott Miller from Freedom CAD

 

Dank der Zertifizierung durch die ISO 9001:2015 und der Registrierung bei ITAR ist unser Team bestens gerüstet, um die spezifische Branche eines Kunden bei nahezu jeder Anwendung zu bedienen.

Warner: Aufgrund welcher Probleme sucht ein Designer oder ein Designteam normalerweise die Unterstützung eines Designunternehmens?

Miller: Unsere Kunden kommen in der Regel aus einem dieser drei Gründe zu uns:


1) Sie verfügen über keine internen Designkapazitäten und lagern das Design wegen des variablen Kostenmodells aus. Durch eine Auftragsvergabe müssen sie nur dann die Kosten tragen, wenn sie Unterstützung wirklich benötigen, anstatt unabhängig von der Nachfrage einen festen Stamm an Mitarbeitern, Hardware und Software zu finanzieren.


2) Sie nutzen Freedom CAD zum Aufstocken ihrer internen Ressourcen, um Bedarfsspitzen abzufangen oder forcierte Zeitpläne zu erfüllen.


3) Sie kommen zu uns, weil die Technologien außerhalb ihres Fachwissens liegen und sie jemanden möchten, der bereits Erfahrung hat. Wir bezeichnen das als Risikominderung. Wir entwerfen beispielsweise 30 bis 40 hochleistungsfähige High-Speed-Backplanes pro Jahr. Viele Unternehmen entwerfen möglicherweise nur ein Backplane alle zwei oder drei Jahre und können eben nicht wissen, was sie nicht wissen können.

Warner: Beschreiben Sie bitte die Hauptvorteile eines Dienstleistungsunternehmens.

Miller: Ich würde sagen, der erste ist Skalierbarkeit: Ein Dienstleistungsunternehmen liefert dem Kunden die Kapazität, wenn er sie braucht, um seine Zeitpläne einzuhalten. Zum Beispiel können wir das Layout in zwei oder drei Schichten erstellen, um die Zeit für den Entwurfszyklus zu verkürzen.


Zweitens sind da die Vorteile eines variablen gegenüber eines fixen Kostenmodells. Durch das Auslagern können die Kunden die Festkosten für Mitarbeiter (Gehälter und Gemeinkosten), Hardware und Software vermeiden sowie die Kosten, die mit einer Personalanpassung einhergehen, unabhängig davon, ob Sie Agenturen zur Personalrekrutierung oder zum Personalabbau einsetzen.

Warner: Welche Art von Designern wendet sich in der Regel an Freedom CAD, um Unterstützung beim Entwerfen zu bekommen?

Miller: Wir stellen fest, dass Unternehmen mit dynamischen Bedürfnissen der Strategie des Auslagerns folgen. Einige Unternehmen ziehen es vor, „hereinzuholen“, d. h. einen Auftragnehmer intern oder vor Ort zu beschäftigen. Und obwohl dieses Vorgehen eine direktere Kontrolle bietet, kann es die Skalierbarkeit einschränken. Es muss Zeit investiert werden, um einen qualifizierten Auftragnehmer zu finden und ihn in Bezug auf Hardware, Software, interne Systeme und Prozesse zu integrieren. Und dafür erhalten sie eine weitere Ressource, die 40 bis 60 Stunden pro Woche arbeiten kann (wenn Sie denn die richtige Person finden). Auslagern kann eine besser skalierbare Lösung bieten. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist, dass es oft eine langfristigere kontinuierliche Zusammenarbeit mit sich bringt. Vertragspartner vor Ort wechseln in der Regel von einem Vertrag zum nächsten und sind möglicherweise nicht verfügbar, wenn Sie sie gerade brauchen. Wir haben Designer, die seit 10, 15 oder sogar mehr als 20 Jahren und über mehrere Generationen von Produktentwicklung hinweg mit denselben Kunden zusammenarbeiten, um Kontinuität zu gewährleisten und Stammwissen zu nutzen.

Diejenigen unserer Kunden, die diesen Wert erkennen, wenden sich immer wieder an uns.

Warner: Einige Unternehmen oder Designer sind möglicherweise besorgt über den Schutz ihres geistigen Eigentums, insbesondere Lieferanten für das Militär und Dienstleister. Wie gehen Sie auf diese Sorge ein?

Miller: Erstens nehmen wir den Schutz geistigen Eigentums sehr ernst. Wir haben mit allen unseren Kunden Geheimhaltungsvereinbarungen abgeschlossen. Wir führen regelmäßige Schulungen mit unseren Mitarbeitern durch, damit sie sich ihrer Verantwortung bewusst sind. Darüber hinaus empfehlen wir unseren Kunden, unser sicheres ShareFile-System zu benutzen, um ihre Daten verschlüsselt statt per E-Mail zu übertragen. Wir haben für die Speicherung unserer Daten einen Informationsdienstleister, der über modernste Cybersicherheitssysteme verfügt. Wir arbeiten regelmäßig für die Märkte Verteidigung und Heimatschutz, sind nach ITAR zertifiziert und befinden uns im Prozess der Zertifizierung nach NIST 800-171. Wir nutzen unsere Zertifizierung nach ISO 9001:2015 für eine einheitliche Verwaltung geistigen Eigentums im gesamten Unternehmen.

Warner: Welche Arten von Dienstleistungen und EDA-Werkzeugen bieten Sie an?

Miller: Wir bieten unterschiedliche Dienstleistungen mit mehreren Werkzeugen an:

Schaltplan-Erfassung
Altium Designer, Cadence Concept, DxDesigner, OrCAD
Layout
Altium Designer, Cadence Allegro, Mentor Xpedition & PADS             
DFM & Layoutautomatisierung
Valor NPI, CircuitSpace & dalTools
Maschinenbau
SolidWorks, Pro/ENGINEER, AutoCAD
Signalintegrität
Ansys HFSS (3D-Modellierung), Mentor Hyperlynx
Energieintegrität
ANSYS SIwave


Warner:  Welche Trends bemerken Sie durch Ihre weit gefächerte Sicht auf PCB-Designs?

Miller: Wir sehen verschiedene Trends aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Märkte, die wir bedienen. Für höhere Leistung und Geschwindigkeit sehen wir steigenden Anforderungen beim Strombedarf und der Anzahl unterschiedlicher Spannungen. Das bedeutet, dass wir die Stromverteilungsstrategie sehr früh im Layoutprozess planen müssen. Die Verwendung von HDI nimmt aufgrund von Bauteilen mit feinerem Pitch und höheren PCB-Dichten zu. Backdrilling zum Entfernen von Stichleitungen ist zu einer regulären Designanforderung geworden. Eine Analyse der Signal- und Energieintegrität vor und nach dem Routen ist zum Gewährleisten der Erfüllung von Entwurfsregeln erforderlich. Wir müssen sehr früh mit den PCB-Herstellern zusammenarbeiten, um die Laminatmaterialien und Lagenaufbauten auszuwählen. All das beeinflusst den PCB-Layoutprozess und kann sich auf das Design erheblich auswirken, wenn es nicht zu Beginn des Designprozesses erledigt wird.

Wir sehen auch einen zunehmenden Einsatz von Flex- und Rigid-Flex-Designs, insbesondere in den Bereichen Medizin, Automobil, Konsumgüter und IoT. Das erfordert andere Überlegungen als beim Entwerfen starrer Leiterplatten.
 

Warner: Wo sehen Sie das PCB-Design in den nächsten 5 bis 10 Jahren?

Miller: Die vielleicht größte Herausforderung für die PCB-Layoutbranche ist die Tatsache, dass das Durchschnittsalter der Entwickler bei 50 Jahren liegt und weiter steigt. Wir glauben auch, dass Geschwindigkeit und Dichte weiter zunehmen werden, sodass die Fähigkeiten der Designer und CAD-Werkzeuge da mithalten werden müssen. Der Weg zur Ausbildung von Designern, die auch die Anforderungen von morgen erfüllen können, wird zu einer Herausforderung werden. In Zukunft könnte ein Bedarf für Designer mit elektrotechnischen Hintergrund entstehen.

 

Warner: Vielen Dank, dass Sie Ihre Erkenntnisse und Ihr Fachwissen mit uns geteilt haben, Scott.


Miller: Gern geschehen, Judy.

 

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Judy Warner ist seit über 25 Jahren in einer einzigartigen Vielfalt von Rollen in der Elektronikindustrie tätig. Sie verfügt über einen Hintergrund in der Leiterplattenherstellung, Hochfrequenz- und Mikrowellen-Leiterplatten, sowie in der Auftragsfertigung mit Schwerpunkt auf Militär-, Luft- & Raumfahrt-Anwendungen.

Darüber hinaus war sie als Autorin, Bloggerin und Journalistin für verschiedene Branchenpublikationen wie Microwave Journal, PCB007 Magazine, PCB Design007, PCD&F und IEEE Microwave Magazine tätig und ist ein aktives Vorstandsmitglied der PCEA (Printed Circuit Engineering Association). Im Jahr 2017 kam Warner als Director of Community Engagement zu Altium. Neben der Veranstaltung des OnTrack-Podcasts und der Erstellung des OnTrack-Newsletters rief sie die jährliche Altium-Anwenderkonferenz AltiumLive ins Leben. Warners Leidenschaft ist es, Ressourcen, Unterstützung und Fürsprecher für PCB Design Engineers weltweit bereitzustellen.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    The Benefits of Using a Professional PCB Design Service Bureau

    Judy Warner
    |  January 21, 2019

    service bureau for pcb design concept

    Companies and design teams look to professional PCB design service providers to support their product development for a variety of reasons. In this article we talk with Scott Miller, CEO of Freedom CAD, about what dynamics, benefits, and potential concerns come into play when contracting with a design service provider.

    Judy Warner: Scott, will you please give us a brief overview of Freedom CAD, the services you offer, and the types of applications you support?

    Scott Miller: For more than 15 years, Freedom CAD Services’ mission has been providing our customers with the best service and highest quality while striving to deliver on time and on budget. Our services include PCB design, electrical, mechanical and signal integrity engineering, as well as PCB layout and quick-turn and prototype hardware program management.

    Scott Miller from Freedom CAD

    Backed by ISO 9001:2015 certification and ITAR registration, our team is fully equipped to serve a customer’s specific industry in virtually any application.

    Warner: What pain points typically drive a or design team to seek the support of a design bureau?

    Miller: Our customers come to us typically for one of three reasons:

    1) They have no internal design capabilities and they outsource to maintain a variable cost model. Outsourcing enables them to only incur the costs when they need the support versus carrying a fixed overhead of people, hardware and software regardless of the demand.

    2) They use Freedom CAD to augment their internal resources in order to meet peak demand or accelerated schedules.

    3) They come to us because they are working with technologies outside of their expertise and see the value in aligning with someone that has prior experience.  We call this risk mitigation. For instance, we design 30-40 high-speed, high-performance backplanes a year. Many companies may only design a backplane once every 2 or 3 years and they don’t know what they don’t know.  

    Warner: Please describe the main benefits of using a service bureau.

    Miller: I’d say the first is scalability: A service bureau enables the customer to get the capacity when they need it to meet their schedules. For instance, we can provide 2 or 3 shifts of layout coverage to help shorten the design cycle time.

    Secondly, the use of a variable versus fixed cost model. Outsourcing enables the customers to avoid the fixed cost of people (salaries and overhead), hardware and software, and avoids the costs associated with staff resizing whether you’re paying agencies to find people or dealing with the costs associated with downsizing.   

    Warner: What type of designers typically reach out to Freedom CAD for design support?

    Miller: We find that the companies that have dynamic needs will adopt the outsourcing strategy. Some companies prefer to “insource” which means hiring contractors and bringing them in-house or on-site. And while this provides more direct control, it can limit the scalability. When a company insources, they have to spend the time to find the qualified person and integrate them with hardware, software, internal systems and processes. And for this they get one more resource that can work 40-60 hours a week (and that’s if you can find the right person). Outsourcing can provide a much more scalable solution. Another benefit is that there is often more long-term continuity. On-site contractors tend to migrate from one contract to the next and they may not be available when you need them. We have outsource designers that have worked with the same customer designers for 10, 15, or even 20+ years and over multiple generations of product development, providing continuity and leveraging tribal knowledge.    

    We find the customer designers that recognize the value of this are the ones that reach out to us year after year.

    Warner: Some companies or designers might feel concerned about protecting their IP, especially military primes and contractors. How do you address this concern?

    Miller: First, we take IP protection very seriously. We have Non-Disclosure Agreements with all of our customers. We hold regular training sessions with our staff to remind them of their responsibilities. In addition, we encourage our customers to use our secure ShareFile System to transfer their data with encryption versus using email. We use a managed information service provider that has state-of-the-art cyber security systems to store our data. We perform regular work for the Defense and Homeland Security markets and we are ITAR certified and in the process of achieving NIST 800-171 certification. We use our ISO 9001:2015 certification to drive consistency on IP management throughout the company.  

    Warner: What types of services and EDA tools do you support?  

    Miller: We provide a variety of services using many tools:

    Schematic Capture
    Altium Designer®, Cadence Concept, DxDesigner, OrCAD
    Layout
    Altium Designer, Cadence Allegro, Mentor Xpedition& PADS              
    DFM & Layout Automation
    Valor NPI, CircuitSpace&dalTools
    Mechanical Engineering
    SolidWorks, Pro/ENGINEER, AutoCAD
    Signal Integrity
    Ansys HFSS (3D modeling), Mentor Hyperlynx
    Power Integrity
    ANSYS SIwave

    Warner: Since you have such a broad view of PCB designs, what trends are you noticing?

    Miller: We are seeing a variety of trends because of the various markets that we serve. For higher performance and high-speed, we are seeing an increasing demand on power requirements and the number of different voltages. This means that we need to plan the power distribution strategy very early in the layout process. The use of HDI is growing due to both finer pitch components and board densities. Backdrilling to remove stubs has become a regular design requirement. Pre and post route signal and power integrity analysis are required to ensure that the design rules are met. We need to work closely with the PCB fabricators very early in the process to select the laminate materials and stack-ups. These all influence the PCB layout process and can greatly impact the design if they are not done in the beginning of the design process.

    We’re also seeing an increasing use of flex and rigid flex designs, particularly for the medical, automotive, consumer and IoT markets. These require some different considerations than designing rigid boards.

    Warner: Where do you see PCB design going in the next 5 to 10 years?

    Miller: Perhaps the biggest challenge facing the PCB layout industry is the fact that the average age of the designers is around 50 and going up. We also believe that speed and density will continue to increase so a designer’s skills and the capabilities of the CAD tools will need to keep up. The path to training designers to meet tomorrow’s requirements will be challenging and we could see the need for designers in the future to have some electrical engineering background.

    Warner: Thank you so much for sharing your insight and expertise, Scott.

    Miller: My pleasure, Judy.

    About Author

    About Author

    Judy Warner has held a unique variety of roles in the electronics industry since 1984. She has a deep background in PCB Manufacturing, RF and Microwave PCBs and Contract Manufacturing with a focus on Mil/Aero applications in technical sales and marketing.
    She has been a writer, contributor and journalist for several industry publications such as Microwave Journal, The PCB Magazine, The PCB Design Magazine, PDCF&A and IEEE Microwave Magazine and is an active member of multiple IPC Designers Council chapters. In March 2017, Warner became the Director of Community Engagement for Altium and immediately launched Altium’s OnTrack Newsletter. She led the launch of AltiumLive: Annual PCB Design Summit, a new and annual Altium User Conference. Judy's passion is to provide resources, support and to advocate for PCB Designers around the world.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home