您可以使用ChatGPT进行PCB设计吗?

Zachariah Peterson
|  已创建:May 18, 2023  |  已更新:November 3, 2023
可以使用ChatGPT进行PCB设计吗?

ChatGPT已迅速成为AI的杀手级应用程序,它使生成式AI变得极其易于访问和使用。所以我们当然要问,可以使用ChatGPT来完成PCB设计任务吗?在进行一些技术研究时,它是否提供了有用的答案或结果?我们将在本文中探讨系统能做什么,不能做什么。

在即将发布的指南中,我想强调,我只是以其原生形式使用ChatGPT(专业版订阅,但没有插件)。我们将使用GPT-3.5和GPT-4模型执行一些知识测试。剧透警报:系统给出的结果好坏参半,结果的特殊性与问题的特殊性直接相关。

ChatGPT在PCB设计过程中的作用

首先,让我们深入了解基本形式(仅模型,无插件)的ChatGPT的能力。如果您只是获取不含模型的标准订阅,ChatGPT将仅限于执行以下任务:

  • 以文本形式回答问题
  • 根据任务或功能描述生成代码块
  • 执行涉及分析公式的基本数学计算
  • 总结、转述或解释复杂的概念
  • 提供任务清单、描述流程,并提供完成任务的说明

总体而言,这使其成为生成有关PCB设计的某些知识块的候选对象。截至2023年5月,订阅ChatGPT仍然无法使系统执行以下任何任务:

  • 以您的原生文件格式创建设计文件
  • 生成图像或视频
  • 根据公开可用视频的文字记录进行自我训练
  • 根据网址访问互联网
  • 通过读懂想法来推断工程需求

从技术上讲,通过一些微调和一些插件,此“无法做到”清单可能会缩小。随着新功能添加到平台中,这一切都可能会改变。当我们审视PCB设计中涉及的各种任务时,我们期望它完成哪些类型的任务?

以下列表应提供一些想法。这绝不是确定性的,选择以下任务是为了证明系统在PCB设计方面的技术知识。要更好地了解我在ChatGPT上运行的测试,请观看以下视频:

 

结果

我们在GPT-3.5和GPT-4中测试了几种不同类型的查询。我想指出的是,GPT-4的结果不一定比GPT-3.5更具洞察力,重要的是技术准确性,而不是响应的深度或构成。有鉴于此,让我们来探讨在ChatGPT中测试的一些查询。

研究总结

我认为ChatGPT非常有用的一项任务是作研究总结。例如,我有时需要了解行业标准的一些概览,以作为PCB设计项目、视频或文章的一部分。例如,我喜欢使用ChatGPT来确定:

  • 某些领域(EMC、军事、汽车等)的行业标准清单
  • 某些行业标准中的内容概览
  • 界面标准及其使用方法概览
  • 作为互连或PCB工程的一部分,可能需要进行某些计算
  • 生成计算所需的公式

代码生成

其他示例来自嵌入式设计和测试。在下方示例中,我为老式LeCroy 9300示波器生成一个python类,以便从器件捕获数据。这是使用GPT-4生成的;GPT-3.5也同样取得成功,但使用的是pyvisa类作为生成代码的基础。虽然我没有测试下方代码,但它确实生成了具有正确Python句法的代码。在系统中使用任何生成的代码之前,请确保对其进行质量控制。

ChatGPT PCB设计

 

高级入门任务

在该领域内,ChatGPT给出的结果好坏参半。在我运行的第一组查询中,我发现过于笼统的问题会产生过于笼统的答案。生成的结果对于想要知道自己还需要学习哪些内容的新设计人员来说可能很有用,但对于经验丰富的设计人员来说,这些答案具有不可操作性,并且在多个查询中存在过度概括信息的现象。

例如,我向ChatGPT查询了如何设计以下三种类型电路板的指导:

  • 高速PCB
  • RF PCB
  • 高密度PCB

在所有三种类型的电路板上,生成的结果实际上是相同的。系统在生成结果时只是将“高速PCB”替换为“RF PCB”和“高密度PCB”。上面的视频显示了发生详情以及ChatGPT生成的高度通用答案类型。

这意味着该系统过度概括了设计指导在现实情况下可能不适用的领域。如果想获得有关设计任务的更好指导,那么您应该确保提出更具体的问题。更具体的问题会带来更具体的答案。

特定工程知识

在另一次迭代中,我向ChatGPT询问了各代PCIe标准下的差分阻抗值。

在一个实例中,我发现答案流相互矛盾,上面的视频中也显示了这一点。指出矛盾后,ChatGPT对此做出了如下解释。

ChatGPT PCB设计

 

我认为这也说明了涉及到任何LLM(包括ChatGPT)生成的知识时,质量控制的必要性。不要害怕指出明显的矛盾,因为它们可能很容易解释或完全有效。在其他情况下,例如下面所示的峰值交流电压计算,错觉或无法理解问题背景都会造成矛盾。

计算

众所周知,ChatGPT可以用于解决数学问题,包括一些工程计算。工程计算超出了课本上的典型问题,并且需要对计算背后的一些更深入理解和背景。

首先,我要求ChatGPT计算与115 V AC信号相关的峰值电压。众所周知,交流信号中的115 V不是幅度,而是RMS电压。在4次尝试中,有1次ChatGPT将RMS值误认为是幅度,并且由于未提供捕获问题的背景信息,它计算出错误的电压。

有趣的是,系统会像这样不一致。当询问有关共面波导阻抗的更复杂问题时,我们可以发现这种情况再次发生。我要求系统使用GPT-3.5和GPT-4来计算此问题。在这两种情况下,答案均不正确。对于更先进的模型GPT-4,系统的准确性甚至更低,因为它表示需要线路长度才能计算阻抗。

ChatGPT PCB设计
GPT-4输出显示接地共面波导引用的公式不正确。

 

推荐元件

考虑到一些广泛的规范,我还要求ChatGPT推荐一些元件。系统完全无法完成这项任务。推荐的元件甚至与正确选项相距甚远。例如,当我请求推荐跨阻放大器时,它推荐功率放大器(HMC994APM5E)和无源混频器(ADL-5812)。它也没有为推荐的零件提供正确的规格。

ChatGPT PCB设计
此推荐元件并非跨阻放大器。

此类别中生成的回答在某种程度上有用的唯一实例是,当我询问元件是否符合一组规范时。在本例中,我希望ChatGPT推荐的元件是OPA855。我询问OPA855是否符合带宽要求时,它回答正确。

ChatGPT PCB设计

 

当被要求推荐一些更简单的元件(如电源调节器)时,该系统也严重失败,如上方视频所示。就我个人而言,如果没有一些创造性的提示工程,我不会使用ChatGPT的元件推荐。

概括

总体而言,研究ChatGPT在PCB设计方面的使用时,无论是作为工程工具、学习工具还是研究工具,我看到的结果是好坏参半。

作为一种研究工具和学习工具,该系统可以生成在技术层面上真实的陈述,但结果非常广泛,而且并不总切实可行。对于高级问题,例如“如何设计高速PCB?”,系统给出的答案非常笼统。很多背景信息缺失,而且往往缺少切实可行的建议。不过,它确实可以在行业标准的定义和描述等方面提供很大的帮助,您可能需要几个小时的Google搜索才能找到简洁的答案。

  • 研究/学习工具等级:B

作为一种工程工具,它的表现要差得多。对于非常基本的问题,例如如何根据RMS交流电压计算峰值交流电压,系统在75%的时间内都是正确的(尽管样本量很小)。对于更复杂的任务,例如推荐可以满足特定操作目标的元件,GPT-3.5和GPT-4模型表现极差。

  • 工程工具等级:D-

行文至此,请注意,您可以使用Pro订阅配合插件来提高自己在工程任务方面生成设计想法和有用指导的能力。到目前为止,我一直都是这样操作,一旦有了更明确的指导,我一定会与大家分享我在这方面的经验。

无论如何使用ChatGPT进行PCB设计,您仍然需要最好的设计工具来打造功能齐全且可制造的产品。随着越来越多的AI工具走进PCB设计,Altium Designer®将提供最好的PCB设计软件来帮助您取得成功。完成PCB布局并准备好共享制造可交付成果后,即可使用Altium 365™平台轻松地向团队共享数据和发布文件。

我们仅仅触及了在Altium 365上使用Altium Designer可能实现的功能的皮毛。立即开始免费试用Altium Designer + Altium 365

关于作者

关于作者

Zachariah Peterson拥有学术界和工业界广泛的技术背景。在从事PCB行业之前,他曾在波特兰州立大学任教。他的物理学硕士研究课题是化学吸附气体传感器,而应用物理学博士研究课题是随机激光理论和稳定性。他的科研背景涵盖纳米粒子激光器、电子和光电半导体器件、环境系统以及财务分析等领域。他的研究成果已发表在若干经同行评审的期刊和会议论文集上,他还为多家公司撰写过数百篇有关PCB设计的技术博客。Zachariah与PCB行业的其他公司合作提供设计和研究服务。他是IEEE光子学会和美国物理学会的成员。

相关资源

相关的技术文档

返回主页
Thank you, you are now subscribed to updates.

Can You Use ChatGPT for PCB Design?

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: May 18, 2023  |  Updated: May 19, 2024
Can You Use ChatGPT for PCB Design?

ChatGPT has quickly become the killer app for AI, and it’s made generative AI extremely easy to access and use. So of course we had to ask, can you use ChatGPT for PCB design tasks? Does it provide useful answers or results when doing some technical research? We’ll look at what the system can and can’t do in this article.

In the forthcoming guide, I want to stress that I am just using ChatGPT in its native form (Pro subscription, but no plugins). We’ll do some knowledge tests using the GPT-3.5 and GPT-4 models. Spoiler alert: the system gives mixed results, and the specificity of the results relates directly to the specificity of your questions.

ChatGPT in Your PCB Design Process

First, let’s dig into what ChatGPT in its basic form (models only, no plugins) can do and what it cannot do. If you just get a standard subscription with no models, ChatGPT will be limited to the following tasks:

  • Responding to questions in text form
  • Generate blocks of code from descriptions of tasks or functions
  • Performing basic mathematical calculations involving analytical formulas
  • Summarize, paraphrase, or explain complex concepts
  • Provide lists of tasks, describe processes, and provide instructions to accomplish tasks

Overall, this makes it a candidate for generating certain blocks of knowledge about PCB design. As of May 2023, a subscription to ChatGPT still does not enable the system to perform any of the following tasks:

  • Create design files in your native file format
  • Generate images or videos
  • Train itself from transcripts of publicly available videos
  • Access the internet based on a URL
  • Infer engineering requirements by reading your mind

Technically, with some fine-tuning and some plugins, this “can’t do” list might shrink. As new features are added to the platform, this could all change. When we look at the various tasks involved in PCB design, what kinds of tasks could we expect it to accomplish?

The list below should provide some ideas. This is by no means definitive, and the tasks below were chosen to demonstrate the technical knowledge of the system with regard to PCB design. To get a better overview of the tests I ran on ChatGPT, watch the video below:

 

Results

Several different types of queries were tested in GPT-3.5 and GPT-4. I would like to note that the results in GPT-4 were not necessarily more or less insightful than GPT-3.5, what matters is the technical accuracy and not the depth or composition of the response. With that in mind, let’s look at some of the queries I tested in ChatGPT.

Research Summarization

One task where I think ChatGPT is very useful is as a research summarizer. For example, I sometimes need to get some overview of industry standards as part of a PCB design project, video, or article. For example, I like to use ChatGPT to determine:

  • Lists of industry standards in certain areas (EMC, military, automotive, etc.)
  • An overview of the contents in certain industry standards
  • An overview of interface standards and how they are used
  • Certain calculations that might be needed as part of engineering an interconnect or PCB
  • Generating formulas that would be needed to calculate something

Code Generation

Another example comes from embedded design and testing. In the example below, I’m generating a python class for my older LeCroy 9300 oscilloscope so that I can capture data from the device. This was generated using GPT-4; GPT-3.5 was also successful, but it used the pyvisa class as the basis for the generated code. While I have not tested the code below, it does generate code with the correct Python syntax. Make sure you QC any generated code before using it in your system.

ChatGPT PCB design

 

High-Level How-To Tasks

This is an area where ChatGPT gives mixed results. In the first set of queries I ran, I found that overgeneralized questions will yield overgeneralized answers. The generated results could be useful for new designers who want to know what they still need to learn, but they are not actionable for an experienced designer and they overgeneralize information across multiple queries.

For example, I queried ChatGPT for guidance on how to design three types of boards:

  • High-speed PCBs
  • RF PCBs
  • High-density PCBs

The results that were generated were practically identical across all three types of boards. The system simply replaced “high-speed PCB” with “RF PCB” and “high-density PCB” when generating the results. The video above shows what happens and the types of highly generalized answers that ChatGPT generates.

This means that the system is overgeneralizing design guidance to areas where it may not apply in realistic situations. If you want to get better guidance on design tasks, then you should make sure you ask much more specific questions. With more specific questions come more specific answers.

Specific Engineering Knowledge

In another iteration, I asked ChatGPT for differential impedance values under various generations of the PCIe standard

In one instance, I found the stream of answers to be contradictory, which is also shown in the above video. After calling out a contradiction, ChatGPT provided an explanation for the contradiction as shown below.

ChatGPT PCB design

 

I think this also illustrates the need for QC when it comes to knowledge generated from any LLM, including ChatGPT. Don’t be afraid to call out apparent contradictions, because they may be easily explainable or totally valid. In other cases, such as a peak AC voltage calculation shown below, the contradictions are just a hallucination or an inability to understand context in a question.

Calculations

It is well-known that ChatGPT can be used for math problems, including some engineering calculations. Engineering calculations that go beyond the typical problems you would find in school and they instead require some deeper understanding and context behind the calculation.

First, I asked ChatGPT to calculate the peak voltage associated with a 115 V AC signal. It is well-known that the 115 V in an AC signal is not the amplitude, but it is the RMS voltage. In 1 out of 4 attempts, ChatGPT mistook the RMS value for the amplitude, and it calculated the wrong voltage given that it did not catch the context of the question.

It’s interesting that the system would be inconsistent like this. We can see this occur again when asked a more complex question about the impedance of a coplanar waveguide. I asked the system to calculate this using GPT-3.5 and GPT-4. In both cases, the answer was incorrect. With GPT-4, which is a more advanced model, the system was even less accurate as it stated the length of the line was needed in order to calculate the impedance.

ChatGPT PCB design
GPT-4 output showing incorrect formula quoted for a grounded coplanar waveguide.

 

Recommend Components

I also asked ChatGPT to recommend some components given some broad specifications. The system failed completely in this task. The recommended components were not even close to being correct. For example, when I requested a recommendation for a transimpedance amplifier, it gave recommendations for a power amplifier (HMC994APM5E) and passive mixer (ADL-5812). It also did not provide correct specifications on the recommended parts.

ChatGPT PCB design
This recommended component is not a transimpedance amplifier.

The only instance where the generated response in this category was in any way useful was when I asked if a component aligned with a set of specifications. In this case, the component I wanted ChatGPT to recommend was the OPA855. When I asked if the OPA855 would align with the bandwidth requirement, it responded correctly.

ChatGPT PCB design

 

When asked to recommend something simpler like a power regulator, the system also spectacularly failed as shown in the above video. Personally, without some creative prompt engineering, I would not use component recommendations from ChatGPT.

Summary

Overall, I see very mixed results when examining the use of ChatGPT for PCB design, both as an engineering tool, a learning tool, and a research tool.

As a research tool and a learning tool, the system generates technically true statements, but the results are very broad and they are not always actionable. For high level questions, such as “How do I design a high-speed PCB?”, the system gives very over-generalized answers. There is a lot of missing context and often the actionable advice is missing. It does, however, help very much with things like definitions and descriptions of industry standards, both of which could require hours of Googling in order to find concise answers.

  • My grade as a research/learning tool: B

As an engineering tool, it does much worse. For very basic questions, like how to calculate peak AC voltage from an RMS AC voltage, the system was correct 75% of the time (albeit this is a small sample size). For more complex tasks, like recommending components that can meet specific operating targets, it failed miserably with the GPT-3.5 and GPT-4 models.

  • My grade as an engineering tool: D-

Now that we’ve gotten to this point, just note that you could use plugins with a Pro subscription to improve your ability to generate design ideas and useful guidance in engineering tasks. As of now, I have been spending time doing exactly this, and I’ll make sure to share my experience in this area once I have more definitive guidance.

No matter how you use ChatGPT for PCB design, you’ll still need the best design tools in order to create products that are functional and manufacturable. As more AI tools make their way into PCB design, Altium Designer® will be here with the best PCB design software to help you succeed. Once you’ve finished your PCB layout and you’re ready to share your manufacturing deliverables, you can easily share data and release files to your team with the Altium 365™ platform.

We have only scratched the surface of what’s possible with Altium Designer on Altium 365. Start your free trial of Altium Designer + Altium 365 today.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to companies in the electronics industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University and conducted research on random laser theory, materials, and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensors, and stochastics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written 2500+ technical articles on PCB design for a number of companies. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, American Physical Society, and the Printed Circuit Engineering Association (PCEA). He previously served as a voting member on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee working on technical standards for quantum electronics, and he currently serves on the IEEE P3186 Working Group focused on Port Interface Representing Photonic Signals Using SPICE-class Circuit Simulators.

Related Resources

Back to Home
Thank you, you are now subscribed to updates.