La FIRST Robotics Competition donne aux étudiants en STIM un statut de superstars

Judy Warner
|  Créé: July 1, 2017  |  Mise à jour: March 16, 2020

 

 

Chris Jennings a un enthousiasme contagieux pour la FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC), ainsi qu'une expérience très intéressante avec l'organisation FIRST. L'équipe qu'il entraîne actuellement, Mechanical Mayhem 1519, inclut le plus jeune (et le dernier) de ses sept enfants qui ont participé aux FIRST Competitions. En 2004, Jennings a entraîné une équipe de la FLL (FIRST Lego League) dans laquelle des élèves âgés de 9 à 14 ans s'opposent les uns aux autres en utilisant des Legos. À la fin de cette saison, de nombreux élèves devenus trop âgés pour ce programme ont pu accéder au programme FRC accessible aux lycées. L'équipe Mechanical Mayhem 1519 a été créée en 2005 avec Jennings pour coach, qui n'a pas manqué une seule compétition depuis.

.

 

Jennings est un ingénieur en électronique depuis plus de 30 ans. Il conçoit des composants ASIC, des circuits de traitement et réalise également des conceptions de base. Il a également dirigé un cabinet de conseil réputé et a dispensé des cours à temps partiel au Daniel Webster College. Il a aussi travaillé pour Altium pendant environ quatre ans.

 

Outre son rôle de coach, il a développé l'architecture du système actuel de contrôle robotique qui a été adoptée lors de la compétition en 2009 et dont l'usage reste répandu dans le monde entier. Il a écrit les spécifications des contrôleurs et les a développés à l'aide d'entreprises volontaires en partant de rien, notamment pour les communications sans fil, le traitement de la vision, le contrôle intelligent du moteur, le contrôle de la vitesse et les capacités motrices. Il a fini par créer un contrôleur 8 bits PIC très simple fonctionnant à 40 Mhz. Ce nouveau contrôleur a donné aux équipes 10 fois plus de fonctionnalités grâce à un contrôleur PC à 400 Mhz doté d'un processeur 32 bits à virgule flottante et à un disque SSD. Ces contrôleurs sont réutilisés année après année.

 

 

 

L'équipe de Jennings, Mechanical Mayhem 1519, est une entité à but non lucratif 501C3 constituée d'élèves provenant de 10 à 15 villes qui n'ont pas d'équipe attitrée dans leur école. Pour collecter les fonds annuels requis (compris entre 30 000 $ et 40 000 $) pour les compétitions annuelles, les élèves et leurs parents sont sollicités. Le solde des fonds est fourni par des sponsors tels que BAE, Altium, et PTC. Les machinistes locaux, mentors techniques et autres intervenants offrent gratuitement leurs services fortement appréciés.

 

Cette année, l'équipe Mechanical Mayhem 1519 s'est qualifiée de façon impressionnante lors des épreuves régionales, et a gagné une place convoitée au Championnat du monde qui aura lieu à Saint Louis, dans le Missouri, du 26 au 29 avril. À l'occasion de cette compétition, 600 équipes se disputeront le titre de champions du monde.

 

 

 

Grâce à des compétitions de grande envergure, dont la ferveur rivalise avec tout autre événement sportif majeur, FRC a réussi à inspirer des milliers d'étudiants dans le monde entier pour les amener à poursuivre des carrières dans les sciences, la technologie, l'ingénierie et les mathématiques (STIM). Avant le début de la saison, les élèves reçoivent une importante formation pratique sur la construction de robots complexes, autonomes et pilotables à distance. En 2017, le thème était SteamWorks, celui-ci exigeait que les équipes relèvent une série de défis d'ingénierie uniques et que leurs robots effectuent des tâches particulières.

 

Lorsque nous avons demandé à Jennings pourquoi il continuait à consacrer autant de temps et d'énergie à coacher une équipe pour la compétition FRC année après année, il a répondu : « C'est pour deux raisons distinctes. Tout d'abord, FRC est l'une des rares compétitions sportives au monde où tous les participants ont la possibilité de devenir des professionnels ». En d'autres termes, tous ces étudiants auront l'opportunité de poursuivre des carrières en STIM. 

 

« Et plus important encore », a-t-il conclu, « FRC est un divertissement de très grande qualité ! ».

 

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Judy Warner a occupé divers rôles dans l'industrie électronique depuis plus de 25 ans. Elle a une formation en fabrication de PCB, circuits imprimés RF et micro-ondes, fabrications spécialisées, et plus particulièrement en applications militaires/ aéronautiques.

Judy a également été auteure, blogueuse et journaliste pour plusieurs publications industrielles telles que Microwave Journal, PCB007 Magazine, PCB Design007, PCD&F et IEEE Microwave Magazine. Elle est membre active du conseil d'administration de la Printed Circuit Engineering Association. En 2017, Judy a rejoint Altium au poste de directrice de l'engagement communautaire. En plus d'organiser le Podcast OnTrack et de créer la Newsletter OnTrack, elle a lancé AltiumLive, la conférence annuelle des utilisateurs d'Altium. Judy a une passion : fournir des ressources, aider les professionnels et défendre les intérêts des ingénieurs concepteurs de circuits imprimés dans le monde entier.

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    FIRST Robotics Competition Makes STEM Students into Superstars

    Judy Warner
    |  May 16, 2017

    Over 25 years ago, FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC) founder and prolific inventor, Dean Kamen, envisioned a high school robotics competition that rivaled the energy and excitement of the Super Bowl. An event that would turn science students into superstars and infect them with an unshakeable passion for STEM activities and careers.

    Chris Jennings has an infectious enthusiasm for the FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC), as well as a rich history with the FIRST organization. The team he currently coaches, Mechanical Mayhem 1519, includes the youngest (and final) of his seven children who have competed in FIRST Competitions. Beginning in 2004, Jennings coached a FIRST Lego League (FLL) team in which 9-14 year old students compete using Legos. At the end of that season, many of the students aged out of that program and moved into the high school level FRC program. In 2005, Mechanical Mayhem 1519 was born with Jennings as coach and he hasn’t missed a competition since..

    Jennings has been an EE for over 30 years designing ASICS, Array Processors, and doing some basic design as well. He has also run a successful consulting firm and done some part-time teaching at Daniel Webster College. Jennings has worked for Altium for approximately four years.

    Beyond his role as a coach, he also developed the architecture for the current Robotics Control System that was adopted in the 2009 competition which remains in use worldwide. He wrote the specs and developed the controllers with volunteer companies from the ground up. This includes wireless communication, vision processing, smart motor control, speed control, and drive-to-limit capabilities. This replaced a very simple 8-bit integer PIC based controller running at 40 Mhz. The new controller gave the teams 10X more functionality by using a 400 MHZ power PC based controller with a full 32-bit capable floating point processor with a solid-state disk-drive. These controllers are re-used year after year.

    Jennings team, Mechanical Mayhem 1519, is a 501C3 non-profit entity that consists of students from as many as 10-15 cities and towns which do not have school-based teams. To raise the 30-40K annual budget required for yearly competitions, students and their parents are all required to do some fundraising. The balance of funds are provided by corporate sponsors such as BAE, Altium, and PTC. Local machinists, technical mentors, and others offer highly valuable services pro bono.

    This year Mechanical Mayhem 1519 prevailed through several white-knuckle moments in regional qualifying events, and have won a coveted spot at the World Championships that will take place in St. Louis, Missouri on April 26-29th. 600 teams will compete for the title of World Champions.

    Through grand scale competitions, which rival the fervor of any sporting event, FRC has successfully inspired thousands of students worldwide to pursue STEM-based careers. Pre-season, students get unrivaled hands-on experience building complex autonomous and remote-controlled robots. In 2017, the theme was SteamWorks which required teams to accomplish a series of unique engineering challenges and tasks completed by team-built robots.

    When Jennings was asked why he continues to put in so much time and energy to coach FRC year after year, he replied: “It’s for two distinct reasons. Most importantly, FRC is one of the few sports in the world where all the participants have the opportunity to go pro.” Meaning that all of these students have the opportunity to pursue STEM-based careers.  

    “Most of all,” he concluded, “FRC is just more fun than anyone should be allowed to have!”

    About Author

    About Author

    Judy Warner has held a unique variety of roles in the electronics industry for over 25 years. She has a background in PCB Manufacturing, RF and Microwave PCBs and Contract Manufacturing, focusing on Mil/Aero applications. 

    She has also been a writer, blogger, and journalist for several industry publications such as Microwave Journal, PCB007 Magazine, PCB Design007, PCD&F, and IEEE Microwave Magazine, and an active board member for PCEA (Printed Circuit Engineering Association). In 2017, Warner joined Altium as the Director of Community Engagement. In addition to hosting the OnTrack Podcast and creating the OnTrack Newsletter, she launched Altium's annual user conference, AltiumLive. Warner's passion is to provide resources, support, and advocate for PCB Design Engineers worldwide.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home