Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Treffen Sie den PCB-Designer Tor-Anders Lunder, der mitgeholfen hat, eine sich selbst kontrollierende Drohne bei Staaker, zu entwickelt

    Judy Warner
    |  December 12, 2017

    Judy Warner: Tor-Anders, erzählen Sie uns doch etwas darüber, wie Sie zum PCB-Design gekommen sind und was Sie schließlich zu Staaker geführt hat.

     

    Tor-Anders Lunder: Das will ich gern tun. Nach meinem Master-Abschluss an der Norwegischen Universität für Wissenschaft und Technologie (NTNU) in Trondheim war ich gerade mit einigen Projekten beschäftigt, in denen PCB-Design eine Rolle spielte. Ich war neugierig auf den ganzen Ablauf vom Design bis zur Herstellung und wollte gerne mehr darüber erfahren. Meine Laufbahn begann ich im Jahr 2000 als Anwendungsingenieur bei Chipcon, einem Start-up im RFIC-Bereich, das 2006 von Texas Instruments aufgekauft wurde. Bei Chipcon erstellte ich Referenzdesigns und lernte viel über PCB-Prozesse und die Fallstricke, die man beim Design vermeiden muss. 2007 ging ich zu Radiocrafts und entwarf dort Funk-Module und Referenzdesigns dafür. Wegen des kleinen Formats brachte dies neue Herausforderungen für das PCB-Design mit sich. 2016 hatte ich das Gefühl, dass mir noch ein Puzzleteil fehlte, nämlich die Integration zwischen ECAD und MCAD. Ich wollte mehr mit der Endprodukt-Entwicklung zu tun haben, und hierfür war Staaker perfekt geeignet.

     

    Warner: Sie haben kürzlich einen Vortrag bei AltiumLive 2017: ANNUAL PCB DESIGN SUMMIT in München gehalten. Würden Sie für uns zusammenfassen, worum es darin ging und was Sie dazu bewegt hat, es mit den anderen Teilnehmern zu teilen?

     

    Lunder: Der Vortrag sollte die Vorteile der 3D-Funktionalität in Altium Designer für das PCB-Design mit mehreren Systemen unterstreichen. Anhand eines Drohnen-Designs von Staaker zeigte ich, wie und warum 3D-Modelle auch in komplexen Produktentwicklungen die Möglichkeit bieten, alles gleich auf Anhieb richtig zu machen. Ich wollte in einer informellen Umgebung mehr über Altium erfahren und Kontakte in der Branche aufbauen, die sich mit Produktion und Herstellung von Leiterplatten befasst. Bei AltiumLive 2017-Konferenz stand genau dies im Mittelpunkt, und so wollte ich unbedingt dabei sein. Als Start-up ist es für beide Seiten ein Gewinn, wenn man uns bittet, über unsere Lieblingstätigkeit zu reden, zumal wir – wie alle Vortragenden – kostenlos an dieser großartigen Veranstaltung teilnehmen konnten.

    Warner: Ich freue mich sehr, dass Altium Ihnen ein informatives Programm bieten konnte, und ich danke Ihnen für Ihren Vortrag. Welche einzigartigen Herausforderungen bringt das Design der Elektronik für eine Drohne mit sich – besonders bei einer Drohne für Freunde des Extremsports?

     

    Lunder: Die größten Herausforderungen sind, die Einkopplung von Rauschen zwischen den Subsystemen der Drohne zu minimieren und dafür zu sorgen, dass die Sensoren bei allen Umgebungs- und Einsatzbedingungen optimal arbeiten. Auch die EMV-Überlegungen zur Erfüllung der FCC/CE-Normen war anspruchsvoll und zeitraubend. (Hier ein Video der Staaker-Drohne)

     

    Warner: Welche Teile des PCB-Designprozesses liegen Ihnen am meisten und welche am wenigsten?

     

    Lunder: Mein Lieblings-Arbeitsschritt beim PCB-Design ist die Kunst des Platzierens und Routens. Ich sehe das Ganze wie ein hochkomplexes Tetris-Spiel, bei dem alle Regeln des Elektronikdesigns berücksichtigt werden müssen. Dabei drehe ich meine Musik immer laut auf, weil im Schaltplan-Layout unheimlich viel kritische Hirnarbeit steckt. Die Dokumentation hingegen liegt mir am wenigsten beim PCB-Design. Allerdings ist das wesentlich einfacher und schneller als bei anderen ECAD-Tools, da ich mit Altium Designer im Voraus Vorlagen erstellen und mit Draftsman arbeiten kann. Der unangenehme Teil tut also nicht mehr so weh.

     

    Warner: Wer waren Ihre beruflichen Mentoren und was haben Sie von ihnen für Ihre Karriere gelernt?

     

    Lunder: Ich habe viel von meinem ersten Chef bei Chipcon gelernt, der mich damals im Jahr 2000 direkt von der Uni aus eingestellt hat. Sein Wissen über alle Aspekte des PCB-Designs und der Bestückung war sehr hilfreich, als ich daran ging, Einzelheiten über Designprozesse und ihre Anpassung an Entwurfsregeln im ECAD-Tool zu lernen. Er hat 2003 sein eigenes Unternehmen, Radiocrafts, gegründet, wo ich dann 2007 in sein Team eingetreten bin und weiter von ihm gelernt habe. Diese Erfahrungen haben mir sehr geholfen, als ich schließlich meine eigenen Wege ging und Hardware-Entwickler bei Staaker wurde. 

     

    Warner: Welchen Rat würden Sie einem Designer geben, der gerade am Anfang seiner Karriere in dieser Branche steht?

     

    Lunder: Um ein guter PCB-Designer zu sein, sollte man etwas Zeit darin investieren, den Produktionsprozess von PCBs zu verstehen und zu begreifen, welche Dokumente die Hersteller wirklich brauchen. Vermeiden Sie überflüssige und unnötige Informationen. Beginnen Sie mit den Entwurfsregeln in Ihren ECAD-Tools und stellen Sie sie auf die gewählten Herstellungsvorgaben ein. Wenn Sie eine bestimmte Entwutfsregel nicht auf Anhieb verstehen, finden Sie heraus, was sie bedeutet und stellen Sie sich darauf ein.

    Warner: Irgendwelche letzten Anmerkungen, die Sie gerne teilen würden?

     

    Lunder: Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass sich das Risiko von Fehlschlägen stark minimieren lässt, wenn Entwurfsregeln im Voraus geklärt und auf die PCB-Fabrik ausgerichtet sind, in der das Produkt schließlich hergestellt wird. Bei Konflikten zwischen ECAD-Entwurfsregeln und den Spezifikationen des Leiterplattenfertigers wird das Design umgestellt, damit es dem Arbeitsablauf der Fabrik entspricht. Manchmal werden Änderungen auch ohne vorherige Absprache vorgenommen. Was mir wirklich fehlt, ist eine einfachere Integration von Entwurfsregeln zwischen PCB-Fertigern und ECAD-Systemen. Die meisten ECAD-Tools unterstützen schon den Entwurfsregel-Import, aber die Herausforderung besteht darin, von den PCB-Herstellern eine Entwurfsregel-Datei zu bekommen, die alle Entwurfsregel-Parameter enthält oder zu dem ECAD-Tool kompatibel ist.

     

    Warner: Das ist immer eine Herausforderung, der die Industrie zum Beispiel mit IPC-2581 begegnen will, aber ganz am Ziel sind wir noch nicht! Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihr Wissen mit unseren Lesern zu teilen. Viel Glück und weiterhin viel Erfolg mit Staaker!

     

    Lunder: Es war mir ein Vergnügen. Vielen Dank.

    About Author

    About Author

    Judy Warner ist seit über 25 Jahren in einer einzigartigen Vielfalt von Rollen in der Elektronikindustrie tätig. Sie verfügt über einen Hintergrund in der Leiterplattenherstellung, Hochfrequenz- und Mikrowellen-Leiterplatten, sowie in der Auftragsfertigung mit Schwerpunkt auf Militär-, Luft- & Raumfahrt-Anwendungen.

    Darüber hinaus war sie als Autorin, Bloggerin und Journalistin für verschiedene Branchenpublikationen wie Microwave Journal, PCB007 Magazine, PCB Design007, PCD&F und IEEE Microwave Magazine tätig und ist ein aktives Vorstandsmitglied der PCEA (Printed Circuit Engineering Association). Im Jahr 2017 kam Warner als Director of Community Engagement zu Altium. Neben der Veranstaltung des OnTrack-Podcasts und der Erstellung des OnTrack-Newsletters rief sie die jährliche Altium-Anwenderkonferenz AltiumLive ins Leben. Warners Leidenschaft ist es, Ressourcen, Unterstützung und Fürsprecher für PCB Design Engineers weltweit bereitzustellen.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Meet PCB Designer Tor-Anders Lunder and the Self-tracking Drone He Helped Develop at Staaker

    Judy Warner
    |  December 12, 2017

    Staaker Drone in Action

    Judy WarnerTor-Anders, will you please​ ​share​ ​a​ ​little​ ​bit​ ​about​ ​your​ ​journey​ ​to​ ​becoming​ ​a​ ​PCB​ ​​ ​and​ ​how​ ​you​ ​ended​ ​up at​ ​Staaker?

    Tor-Anders LunderSure. After my master’s degree at Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim I had already been doing some projects involving PCB design and was curious about the whole process from design to assembly, and wanted to learn more in this field. I started my career in 2000 as an Application Engineer at Chipcon, A RFIC semiconductor startup that was acquired by Texas Instruments in 2006. At Chipcon I made reference designs and learned a lot about PCB processes and pitfalls to avoid during the design phases. In 2007 I moved over to Radiocrafts and designed radio modules and reference designs for the radio modules. Due to the small form factor, this gave new challenges in PCB design. In 2016, I felt I was missing one last piece of the puzzle--the integration between ECAD and MCAD. I wanted to work more with end product development and Staaker was a perfect match.

    WarnerYou​ ​​recently​ ​presented a talk ​at​ ​AltiumLive​ ​2017: ANNUAL​ ​PCB​ ​DESIGN​ ​SUMMIT​ ​in​ ​Munich,​ ​Germany. Will​ ​you​ ​please​ ​give​ ​us​ ​an​ ​overview​ ​of​ ​what​ ​you​ ​shared,​ ​and​ tell us ​what​ ​compelled​ ​you​ ​to​ ​want​ ​to present?

    LunderThe presentation was highlighting the benefit of using the 3D feature in Altium Designer® to enable multi-system PCB design. A Staaker drone design case was used to give insight into how and why 3D models will enable getting it "right the first time" in complex product developments. I was looking for an informal place to learn more about Altium, and in addition, connect with the industry involved in the PCB production and assembly. The AltiumLive 2017 announcement highlighted all these factors so I wanted to join. As a startup it’s a win-win situation to be asked to talk about what we love to do, and in addition, be part of this great event for free, which was offered for all presenters.

     Tor-Anders Lunder at Staaker Staaker Drone

    WarnerI’m so glad to hear Altium offered a program that was valuable to you, and we certainly appreciate your presentation. What​ ​unique​ ​challenges​ ​do​ ​you​ ​face​ ​designing​ ​electronics​ ​for​ ​a​ ​drone​--particularly one ​that​ ​is​ ​designed​ ​for extreme​ ​sports​ ​enthusiasts?

    LunderThe main challenges are how to minimize noise coupling between subsystems inside the drone and to make the sensors operate optimally under all types of conditions. In addition, EMC considerations for FCC/CE compliance was challenging and time-consuming. (See Staaker drone video here)

    WarnerWhat​ ​is​ ​your​ ​favorite​ ​and​ ​least​ ​favorite​ ​part​ ​of​ ​designing​ ​PCBs?

    LunderMy favorite part of PCB design is the art of place and route. I look at it as a complex game of tetris, where all the electrical design rules must be taken into account. This is where I turn up the music, since much of the critical brain work has been done in the schematic layout. My least favorite part of PCB design has been the documentation. However, preparing templates upfront and using Draftsman® in Altium has made this much easier and faster than what I have been accustomed to with other ECAD tools. So, the least favorite part is not that painful anymore. 

    WarnerWho​ ​were​ ​your​ ​professional​ ​mentors,​ ​and​ ​what​ ​role​ ​have​ ​they​ ​played​ ​in​ ​your​ ​career? 

    LunderI learned a lot from my first boss at Chipcon who hired me directly from the University in 2000. His knowledge in all aspects of PCB design and assembly was very helpful when starting to learn the details about the design processes and how to adapt them to design rules in the ECAD tool. He later started his own company, Radiocrafts in 2003, and I joined his team in 2007 and continued to learn from him. This experience served me well when I continued my own path as a hardware at Staaker.

    WarnerWhat​ ​advice​ ​would​ ​you​ ​give​ ​to​ ​a​ ​​ ​just​ ​getting​ ​started​ ​in​ ​the​ ​field?

    LunderTo be a good PCB you should invest some time in understanding the PCB production process and what documents fabricators actually need. Avoid redundancy and information not needed. Start with the design rules in your ECAD tool and set them according to your selected fab requirements. If you do not understand a specific design rule, find out what it means and adjust accordingly.

    WarnerAny​ ​final​ ​thoughts​ ​you​ ​would​ ​like​ ​to​ ​add?

    LunderI believe that if you have the design rules sorted out upfront and tuned to the PCB factory you will use, the probability of failure will greatly decrease. If you have mismatch between your ECAD design rules and the PCB fab spec, they will adjust your design to comply with the factory process. Some even make changes without asking. What I really miss is an easier integration of design rules between PCB factories and ECAD systems. Design rule import is already supported in most ECAD tools, but the challenge is to get a design rule file from PCB fabricators that include all design rule parameters or is compatible with the ECAD tool.

    WarnerThat is always a challenge that the industry is trying to address with things like IPC-2581, but we’re not completely there yet! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your expertise with our readers. Good luck with the ongoing success of Staaker! 

    LunderIt has been my pleasure. Thank you.

    About Author

    About Author

    Judy Warner has held a unique variety of roles in the electronics industry for over 25 years. She has a background in PCB Manufacturing, RF and Microwave PCBs and Contract Manufacturing, focusing on Mil/Aero applications. 

    She has also been a writer, blogger, and journalist for several industry publications such as Microwave Journal, PCB007 Magazine, PCB Design007, PCD&F, and IEEE Microwave Magazine, and an active board member for PCEA (Printed Circuit Engineering Association). In 2017, Warner joined Altium as the Director of Community Engagement. In addition to hosting the OnTrack Podcast and creating the OnTrack Newsletter, she launched Altium's annual user conference, AltiumLive. Warner's passion is to provide resources, support, and advocate for PCB Design Engineers worldwide.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home