Les principaux problèmes liés aux systèmes et processus de gestion des données de PCB

John Watson
|  Créé: May 28, 2019  |  Mise à jour: October 22, 2020

La gestion des données de PCB est une aventure dont on ne voit jamais la fin. Tout au long de cette aventure, des problèmes importants peuvent survenir et ils surviennent souvent. Si vous décidez de les ignorer, ils peuvent aggraver la situation et finir par anéantir complètement vos systèmes et processus de gestion des données de PCB. 

Cet article de blog aborde plusieurs de ces problèmes. Je préfère les appeler des pièges car ils peuvent apparaître soudainement, et vous pouvez facilement tomber dedans si vous ne faites pas attention. Toutefois, si vous les connaissez, la moitié de la partie est gagnée.

Trop de chefs en cuisine

L'un des problèmes les plus fréquents rencontrés avec presque tous les systèmes de gestion des données de PCB est lié à la présence d'un trop grand nombre de chefs en cuisine. Par « chefs en cuisine », je veux dire que tout le monde est autorisé à faire certaines choses. Les entreprises procèdent souvent de cette manière pour des raisons de rapidité ou de disponibilité, mais c'est une énorme erreur. 

Je pense que le responsable de la gestion des bibliothèques joue un rôle essentiel dans le processus de conception des PCB. Les composants sont la base de toute conception de PCB, et le responsable de la gestion des bibliothèques est entièrement responsable de leur qualité. 

J'en ai fait récemment l'expérience, lorsque la « décision a été prise » de permettre à tout le monde de créer des composants dans la bibliothèque. Cela concernait un groupe d'environ 40 personnes. Il n'a pas fallu longtemps pour que nous commencions à perdre rapidement le contrôle de toute la bibliothèque à cause de l'utilisation de composants erronés. 

La solution est de contrôler quelles personnes disposent d'un accès et ce qu'elles peuvent faire. La sélection de plusieurs responsables de la gestion des bibliothèques nous a permis de retrouver rapidement le contrôle de la création des composants, ce qui a considérablement augmenté la qualité.

Bibliothèques clandestines

Un autre énorme problème lié à la gestion des données de PCB (et je dirais même que c'est un énorme problème pour une entreprise) est la prolifération et l'utilisation des bibliothèques clandestines. Comme leur nom l'indique, les bibliothèques clandestines sont externes au système contrôlé de gestion des données de PCB. Elles contiennent généralement des composants qui ne sont pas vérifiés et qui sont carrément erronés. Les concepteurs disposent de ces bibliothèques et les utilisent pour différentes raisons. Ce faisant, ils risquent toutefois également de faire échouer la conception du PCB. J'ai été témoin de nombreux problèmes, détectés uniquement lors de la fabrication et de l'assemblage, qui étaient liés à des composants erronés provenant de bibliothèques clandestines.

Nous vérifions régulièrement chaque conception à l'aide du gestionnaire de composants d'Altium Designer (Item Manager) pour vérifier la source de chaque composant. Lorsque nous constatons qu'une bibliothèque non contrôlée a été utilisée, nous nous en occupons immédiatement pour nous en débarrasser.

La solution à ce problème particulier est simple. Ne tolérez l'utilisation de bibliothèques clandestines sous aucun prétexte. 

Assurance qualité de l'information

Pour une entreprise, un système de gestion des données de PCB signifie une seule chose : de l'argent. Reste à savoir dans quelle colonne du grand livre comptable il figurera. Il peut s'agir de bénéfices ou de pertes. Tout dépend de la qualité des données. Je ne sais pas ce qui est le pire : une bibliothèque clandestine utilisée sur un PCB ou des composants non gérés ? Ils produisent tous les deux les mêmes résultats : une mauvaise conception de PCB et le gaspillage de cet argent. 

Processus de vérification

Ce dont nous avons besoin, c'est d'un plan détaillé pour vérifier un composant global et ses parties. Étant donné que les modèles, comme le symbole de schéma, l'empreinte, les modèles 3D et les simulations, servent de base à l'ensemble des composants, tout problème lié à l'un de ces modèles aura des répercussions sur de nombreux composants. C'est pour cette raison que je concentre beaucoup plus mon attention sur ces modèles lorsque j'effectue des vérifications. 

Ce processus de vérification des modèles fait partie de la procédure de vérification globale d'un composant avant sa publication. En général, nous mettons ces composants en quarantaine pour qu'ils ne se retrouvent pas par erreur dans le système et n'anéantissent pas une conception.

Gestion des modifications

S'il y a une chose qui est assurée lorsque l'on travaille sur des conceptions de PCB, c'est que la conception va changer. La manière dont vous identifiez, appliquez et vérifiez ces modifications est absolument cruciale. Vous devez donner des informations précises entre les informations statiques et dynamiques, sachant que les données spécifiques vont probablement changer. Ensuite, nous utilisons un processus d'audit pour identifier ces modifications. 

Lorsque vous avez terminé ces modifications, le cycle de vie du composant revient à l'état « Nouveau », ce qui le renvoie au processus de vérification qui permet de s'assurer que vous avez correctement appliqué les modifications. 

Utilisation d'un logiciel inapproprié

De loin, le plus gros problème qui se pose est de disposer de tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour que votre système de gestion des données de PCB soit performant et d'avoir un progiciel de qualité inférieure qui ne répond pas à vos besoins. Pour atteindre vos objectifs, vous ne devez pas uniquement choisir un bon progiciel. Il vous en faut un qui est excellent. Altium Designer® est le meilleur que je connaisse. Les différents progiciels sont modulables et peuvent s'adapter aux besoins spécifiques de votre entreprise. C'est le point le plus important de cet article de blog. Vous aurez beau disposer des meilleurs plans, de la meilleure organisation et des meilleures données gérées, quel est l'intérêt si votre logiciel ne suit pas le rythme ?

Je connais des entreprises qui exercent leur activité en se basant sur la situation actuelle, sans jamais se préoccuper de l'avenir. C'est le principal avantage de travailler avec une entreprise comme Altium. Elle a établi un partenariat avec des concepteurs de PCB dans l'unique but d'assurer notre réussite.

CONCLUSION 

J'espère que vous commencez à comprendre que la conception de PCB n'est pas un processus facile. Il y a beaucoup de problèmes et de questions qui se posent et qui doivent être pris en compte pour assurer la réussite de la conception de votre PCB.  Le fait d'avoir conscience de ces problèmes importants et de réagir de manière proactive pour les éviter vous aidera énormément.

Récemment, on m'a demandé quel conseil je donnerais aux nouveaux concepteurs de PCB. J'ai tout de suite su ce que je leur dirais « N'arrêtez jamais d'apprendre ». Il y a toujours quelque chose d'autre à apprendre dans ce domaine. Heureusement, nous disposons de plusieurs supports de formation parmi les plus importants - l'un des meilleurs étant celui d'Altium. 

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur la façon dont Altium Designer peut vous aider à éviter les principaux problèmes de processus liés à la gestion des données de PCB ? Appelez un expert d'Altium.

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Avec près de 40 ans dans l'industrie électronique, dont 20 ans dans le secteur de la conception et de l'ingénierie des circuits imprimés, John est resté à la pointe de l'industrie des PCB en tant que concepteur/ingénieur et, plus récemment dans un nouveau rôle de formateur et mentor. Spécialiste de la fabrication, John a également développé des compétences étendues dans plusieurs domaines des services pour PCB. Il a fièrement servi son pays dans le renseignement militaire. John est un concepteur de PCB certifié CID. Il travaille actuellement pour obtenir la certification Advance CID. Aujourd'hui, en tant qu'ingénieur principal en PCB chez Legrand Inc, John dirige les concepteurs et les ingénieurs en PCB dans différentes divisions aux États-Unis et en Chine.

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Top Issues in PCB Data Management Systems and Processes

    John Watson
    |  May 28, 2019

    PCB Data Management is a journey with no final destination. On this journey, significant issues can and often pop up. If you decide to ignore them, they can worsen and ultimately lead to completely ruining your PCB data management systems and processes.

    In this blog, we will look at several of these issues. I prefer to call them pitfalls because they can appear suddenly, and you can easily fall into them if you’re not careful. But, if you are aware of them, half the battle is won.

    Too Many Chefs in the Kitchen

    One of the more common issues with almost every PCB Data Management system is allowing too many chefs in the kitchen. Meaning that everyone is permitted to do certain things. Companies often do this for the sake of either expediency or availability, but it is a terrible mistake.

    I believe that the librarian performs an essential role in the PCB design process. The very foundation for every PCB Design are the components, and the quality of those components falls solely on the shoulders of the librarian.

    I recently had this experience when the “decision was made” to allow everyone to create components in the library. We were talking about a group of around 40 people. It was not long before we quickly began to lose control of the entire library because of incorrect parts.

    The solution is to control which individuals have access and what they can do. Once we select our few librarians, we quickly had control over component creation, significantly increasing the quality.

    Rogue Libraries

    Another huge PCB Data Management issue, and I would add to a company, is the proliferation and use of Rogue Libraries. As the name implies, rogue libraries are outside of the controlled PCB Data Management System. They usually contain components which are not reviewed and are flat out wrong. For various reasons, designers have and use them. However, they also risk the PCB Design failing. I have seen multiple problems, caught only in Fabrication and assembly, which came from bad Rogue Library components.

    We regularly check each design using the Item Manager in Altium Designer to verify the source of each component. When we see that an uncontrolled library was used, we handle it immediately to get rid of them.

    The solution to that particular issue is a simple one. Don’t allow Rogue Libraries under any conditions.

    Quality Assurance of information

    A PCB Data Management system represents one thing to a company: money. The big question is on what side of the accounting ledger will it fall? The information can either be a profit or a loss. That all depends on the quality of the data. I don’t know which is worse; a Rogue Library used on a PCB Design or unmanaged components? They both have the same results. The producing of a bad PCB Design and wasting of that money.

    Review Process

    What we need is a detailed plan in place to review an overall component and its parts. Since Models, such as the Schematic Symbol, Footprint, 3D Models and Simulations, make up the overall components, problems with any of these models will impact multiple parts. When reviewing, I concentrate on these models much more because of that reason.

    This model review process is a part of the overall review of a component before we release it. We usually quarantine those components for review, so they do not mistakenly slip in and ruin a design.

    Administrating Changes

    One thing that is guaranteed when working with PCB Designs is that it will change. How you identify, implement, and verify those changes is a vital issue. You must specify between the Static vs. Dynamic information knowing that the specific data will probably change. Then, we use an audit process to identify those changes.

    When you finalize those changes, the lifecycle state of the component reverts back to “New”  to send it back through the Review process to make sure you correctly implemented the changes.

    Not using the correct Software

    The biggest problem by far is having everything you need for a successful PCB Data Management System and a substandard software package that falls far short of your needs. To accomplish your objectives, you must select not just the right software package but rather an excellent one. The best that I have seen has been Altium Designer®. The various software packages are flexible to tailor for your particular company needs. This is the most crucial point of this blog. You can have the best plans, organization, managed data, but if your software cannot keep up. What is the point?

    I have seen companies operate from where they are at but never consider where they will be. That is the most significant benefit of working with a company like Altium. They have a partnership with the PCB Designers, which has a single goal; that we are successful.

    Conclusion

    I hope you are starting to see that PCB design is not a straightforward process. There are so many problems and issues that come up and must be considered to make sure your PCB design is a success.  Knowing those significant problems and being proactive about avoiding them will help you tremendously.

    Recently I was asked what advice I would give to new PCB designers. I knew right away what that would be “Never stop learning”. There is always something more to learn in this business. Fortunately, we have some of the most significant training resources available to us — one of the best being Altium itself.

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium Designer can help you avoid the top process issues in PCB data management? Call an expert at Altium.

    About Author

    About Author

    With nearly 40 years in the Electronic industry with 20 of them being in the field of PCB Design and engineering, John has stayed on the cutting edge of the PCB industry as a designer/Engineer and more recently as a trainer and mentor. His primary work has been in the Manufacturing field but it has also expanded to several PCB Service arenas. As a veteran, he proudly served in the Army in the Military Intelligence field. John is a CID Certified PCB designer. Presently pursuing his Advance CID certification. Now as the Senior PCB engineer at Legrand Inc, he leads the PCB Designers and Engineers in various divisions across the United States and China.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home