Was sind MID-PCBs oder spritzgegossene Schaltungsträger?

Alexsander Tamari
|  Erstellt: March 30, 2017  |  Aktualisiert am: December 17, 2020
Nahaufnahme einer MID-PCB
Nahaufnahme einer MID-PCB

Was ist der nächste große Design-Trend? Ist es Graphen, Flex oder etwas ganz anderes? Falls Sie sich über die Zukunft des PCB-Designs Gedanken machen, sind Sie vielleicht schon auf spritzgegossene Schaltungsträger (Molded Interconnect Devices, MIDs) gestoßen. Im folgenden Artikel diskutieren wir, MID-PCBs sind, wie sie hergestellt werden und ob sie eine Zukunft haben.

Was sind Molded Interconnect Devices?

Laut der Molded Interconnect Devices International Association (MIDIA) ist ein MID-PCB ein spritzgegossener Schaltungsträger, der ein Leiterbahnmuster enthält und sowohl mechanische als auch elektrische Funktionen integriert. Es ist ein Hybrid aus Kunststoffteil und Leiterplatte. Kupferbahnen werden auf die Oberfläche des Kunststoffteils geätzt, wodurch Leiterbahnverbindungen und Pads entstehen, die dann elektrische Bauelemente tragen können. Das Ergebnis ist ein cooles elektromechanisches Stück Hardware.   

MID after component placement

Abbildung eines spritzgegossenen Schaltungsträgers vor und nach der Bestückung, mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Fraunhofer IEM

Einsatzbereiche und Vorteile

PCB-MIDs werden in vielen Branchen und Produkten eingesetzt, von der Medizin über die Automobilindustrie bis hin zu Mobiltelefonen und Tablets. Sie sind für diese Art von Produkten sinnvoll, da diese ein schlankeres Design erfordern. Manchmal ist es unmöglich oder nicht praktikabel, viele Verbindungskomponenten und Drähte zu verbauen; ein Handy ist ein gutes Beispiel dafür.

Um immer mehr Funktionen in einem immer kleineren Bauraum unterzubringen, bringen uns solche Technologien einen großen Schritt weiter. Durch die Verwendung spritzgegossener Schaltungsträger in einem Telefon kann beispielsweise die Antenne direkt in das mechanische Gehäuse integriert werden, was Platz auf der Platine spart. Zudem funktioniert die Antenne sogar besser. Dieselben Prinzipien sind auf andere Bereiche anwendbar, z. B. in die Automobilindustrie. Im Bild unten sehen Sie ein Anwendungsbeispiel der MID-Technologie in einem Autolenkrad, was den Einsatz von Kabelbäumen überflüssig macht.

example of MID in a steering wheel

MID-PCB in einem Lenkrad, mit freundlicher Genehmigung von A-Laser

Wie werden MIDs hergestellt?

Obwohl es spritzgegossene Schaltungsträger schon seit vielen Jahren gibt, sind MID-PCBs noch nicht weit verbreitet. Jedoch werden sie das PCB-Design, wie wir es heute kennen, nicht abschaffen – jedenfalls noch nicht. Als Nischen-Technologie ist der Produktionsprozess noch nicht so klar definiert und es gibt mehrere Verfahren, sie herzustellen.

Zweikomponenten-(2K)-Spritzgussprozess

Das Zweikomponenten-MID-Verfahren kombiniert zwei Kunststoffe, die zusammen zu einem einzigen Teil verbunden werden. Der erste Werkstoff, der in die Gussform eingespritzt wird, wird normalerweise nicht plattiert; da unterscheiden sich die Verfahren von Hersteller zu Hersteller. Diese erste Einspritzung bildet die Basis für den zweiten Schuss mit einem in hohem Maße plattierbaren Werkstoff.

Anschließend wird die Kunststoffteile einer chemischen Behandlung unterzogen, um die Haftung von Kupfer an der Form zu begünstigen. Nach diesem Prozess werden die Kunststoffteile einem chemischen Plattierungsverfahren unterzogen, bei dem Kupfer als Leiterbahnen auf dem Teil abgeschieden wird.

Laser-Direktstrukturierung

Bei der Laser-Direktstrukturierung (LDS) beginnt mit einem Einzelspritzguss zur Herstellung des physischen Teils. Dann brennt ein Laser eine dünne Kunststoffschicht an den Stellen weg, an denen sich die Leiterbahnen später befinden sollen. Im nachfolgenden Metallisierungsprozess wird das Kunststoffteil mit Kupfer plattiert.

Als Nächstes durchläuft Ihr Teil einen 3D-Bestückungsautomaten, in dem die elektrischen Bauelemente platziert werden.

GIF of a laser during direct structuring process

Laser-Direktstrukturierung GIF erstellt aus LPKF-Video

Metallspritzen

Das Metallspritzen ähnelt der Laser-Direktstrukturierung, da es dieselbe Technik bis hin zum LDS-Prozess verwendet, jedoch ohne chemisches Bad zur Anhaftung des Kupfers auskommt. Stattdessen wird, wie Sie wahrscheinlich schon vermutet haben, eine Metallspritztechnik verwendet, um das Kupfer auf dem Teil abzulagern. Das Metallspritzen ermöglicht dickere Leiterbahnen und erfordert auch nicht, dass der Kunststoff plattierbar ist. Vielleicht fragen Sie sich jetzt, wie das Metall auf der Oberfläche haftet? Nun, LDS raut die Kunststoffoberfläche auf, sodass das Metall leicht anhaftet und an Ort und Stelle verbleibt. Daher ist keine chemische Behandlung erforderlich.

Sind MID-PCBs die Zukunft?

Über die drei oben genannten Prozesse hinaus gibt es noch weitere Verfahren zur Erstellung. Diese Technologie ist zwar nicht mehr ganz neu, aber noch nicht vollständig ausgereift, weshalb es bisher kein einheitliches Produktionsverfahren gibt.

Gehören MID-PCBs also die Zukunft? Werden sie das PCB-Design, wie wir es heute kennen, ablösen? Ich glaube nicht, jedenfalls nicht in nächster Zeit. Ich sehe MIDs nicht als Ersatz für herkömmliche PCBs, sondern als ein weiteres Verfahren im gesamten Systemdesign.

Die Gründe, warum PCB-MIDs in der Vergangenheit nicht breiter eingesetzt wurden, haben sich nicht wesentlich geändert. Die Schaltungsdichte dieser Baugruppen ist bei weitem nicht so dicht wie ihr PCB-Pendants. Derzeit sind sie maximal zweilagig; Leiterplatte können 8, 16 oder sogar 32 Lagen haben.

Auch wenn MIDs nicht mit den heutigen Leiterplatten konkurrieren können, bedeutet das nicht, dass sie keine Vorteile haben. Mit ihnen sind Sie in der Lage, Elektronik platzsparend in Gehäuse unterzubringen und mit der anhaltenden Miniaturisierung brauchen wir das zweifellos. Sie können in Ihrem Technologie-Arsenal also äußerst nützlich sein. 

Haben Sie ein solches Projekt, das Sie vorantreiben wollen? Dann ist CircuitStudio® womöglich genau das Richtige für Sie. Sprechen Sie mit einem Experten von Altium

Mit dem neuen Altium 365 steht außerdem eine Cloud-Plattform zur Verfügung, mit der Sie eine noch bessere Kommunikation innerhalb Ihres Teams sowie zu Lieferanten gewährleisten können, und zwar von überall aus.

Falls Sie Altium noch nicht einsetzen, sollten Sie sich unbedingt die kostenlose Testversion ansehen, um selbst herauszufinden, warum Altium die beste professionelle PCB-Design-Software ist.

Lernen Sie Altium Designer® in Aktion kennen... 

Wir sind gespannt auf Ihre Gedanken und Ihr Feedback. Kommentieren und teilen Sie unten.

 

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Alexsander kam als Technical Marketing Engineer zu Altium und bringt jahrelange Erfahrung als Ingenieur in das Team ein. Seine Leidenschaft für Elektronikdesign kombiniert mit seiner praktischen Geschäftserfahrung bietet dem Marketingteam von Altium eine einzigartige Perspektive. Alexsander schloss sein Studium an einer der 20 besten Universitäten der Welt an der UCSD ab, wo er einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Elektrotechnik erwarb.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    What Are Molded Interconnect Devices or MIDs?

    Alexsander Tamari
    |  March 30, 2017

    molded interconnect device before component placement

    What is the next big thing in design? Is it graphene? flex? or maybe something else. If you’ve been thinking about the future of PCB design then you may have come across molded interconnect devices or MIDs. In this blog we’ll explore what molded interconnect devices are, how they’re made and if they have a future.

    What are Molded Interconnect Devices?

    According to MIDIA (Molded Interconnect Devices International Association), a Molded Interconnect Device is an injection molded plastic which incorporates a conductive pattern and integrates both mechanical and electrical functions. It’s the fusion between a plastic part and a . Copper traces are etched onto the surface of the plastic part, creating tracks and pads which can then house electrical components. What you get is a cool electromechanical piece of hardware. That is an MID.   

    MID after component placement

    Molded Interconnect Device Before & After Component Placement Image courtesy of Fraunhofer IEM

    Where MIDs are Used and Advantages of MIDs

    You can find MIDs across many industries and products, from medical to automotive industries and also in cell phones and tablets. MIDs make sense for these types of industries and products because of the need to have sleeker designs. Sometimes it’s not practical or possible to have many interconnect components and wires. Phones are a great example of this.

    We’re always trying to pack more in a smaller package, so something like a MID can really help us out. By using a molded interconnect device in a phone, we can have the antenna integrated with the mechanical enclosure, saving us space on our board and even giving us a better functioning antenna. These same principles can be applied to any field, including automotive. Below you can see MID technology in a car steering wheel, eliminating the need for wire harnesses.

    example of MID in a steering wheel

    MID technology found in a steering wheel Courtesy of A-Laser

    How Are MIDs Made?

    Even though molded interconnect devices have been around for many years, their adoption has not been widespread. MIDs are being used, but so far they will not abolish PCB design as we know it. Because it's a technology that isn’t widely used, the creation process isn’t as defined, and therefore there are several ways to create a MID.

    Two-Shot Molding Process

    The two-shot MID process combines two plastics which are molded together to form a single part. The first resin that is shot into the mold is usually not plated because sometimes processes differ between manufacturers. This first injection forms a base for the second shot to build off of; this second shot is highly plateable.

    Next, the plastic mold goes through a chemical treatment to promote the adhesion of copper to the mold. After this process, the plastic are put through an electroless plating process where copper is deposited on the part as copper traces.

    Laser Direct Structuring

    Laser direct structuring (LDS) begins with a single shot molding to create the physical part. Then, a laser etches away a thin layer of plastic where the traces will be. Next comes the metalization process where the plastic part is plated with copper.

    At this point, you’d have your part go through a 3D pick and place machine where electrical components can be placed.

    GIF of a laser during direct structuring process

    Laser Direct Structuring GIF Created from LPKF Video

    Metal Spraying

    Metal spraying is similar to laser-direct structuring as it uses the same technique up through the LDS process, but it does not make use of a chemical bath to adhere the copper. Instead, as you’ve probably have guessed, it uses a metal spraying technique to deposit the copper on the part. Metal spraying allows for thicker circuitry and also doesn’t need the plastic to be plateable. You may be asking then, how does the metal stick? Well, LDS roughens the surface of the plastic so the metal may easily adhere and stay in place, therefore chemical baths are not needed.

    Are MIDs the Future?

    Beyond the three processes mentioned above, there are even more processes to create MIDs. This industry is not young, but it is somewhat unexplored, which is why there is no agreed, best method of creating them.

    So are MIDs the future? Will they replace PCB design in its current state? I don’t think so, at least not anytime soon. I don't see MIDs as a replacement to Printed Circuit Boards as they are today, but a means to augment the entire system design.

    The reason MIDs didn’t take off in the past is the same reason they aren’t taking off now. The circuit density of these devices is nowhere near as dense when compared to their Printed Circuit Board counterparts. Currently, MIDs can only have two layers, a top and bottom layer, but when you design a PCB, it can have 8, 16, even 32 layers.

    Even though MIDs can’t compete with the printed circuit boards of today, that doesn’t mean they don’t have advantages. With MIDs, you’re able to have circuits built into your enclosure saving space, and with miniaturization we certainly need it. What are MIDs? Possibly very helpful in your design process. 

    Do you have a project to move forward? Find out if CircuitStudio® is right for you. Talk to an expert at Altium.

    If you happened to be reading this but don't use Altium yet, be sure to check out your own free trial to find out for yourself why Altium is the best professional PCB Design software.

     

    Check out Altium Designer® in action...

    Interconnected Multi-Board Assembly

     

    We would like to hear your thoughts and feedback. Comment and share below.

     

    About Author

    About Author

    Alexsander joined Altium as a Technical Marketing Engineer and brings years of engineering expertise to the team. His passion for electronics design combined with his practical business experience provides a unique perspective to the marketing team at Altium. Alexsander graduated from one of the top 20 universities in the world at UCSD where he earned a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home