Welche Auswirkungen wird das Coronavirus auf Ihre Designs haben?

Judy Warner
|  Erstellt: April 6, 2020  |  Aktualisiert am: April 7, 2020
Man rubbing chin with question marks around him.

Judy Warner: Mike, wir erhalten ständig Nachrichten über die schwerwiegenden Auswirkungen des Coronavirus rund um den Globus. Welche Ansichten haben Sie als global ausgerichteter Redakteur dazu, wie die Elektronikbranche direkt betroffen ist?

Mike Buetow:   Es besteht eindeutig eine Unterbrechung der Lieferkette auf mehreren Ebenen. Fabriken in taiwanesischem Besitz sind mit rund 34 % Marktanteil die global größten Hersteller von Bare Boards. Etwa 63 % des Produktionswerts der taiwanesischen PCB-Fabriken werden auf dem chinesischen Festland und 35 % in Taiwan hergestellt. Den Angaben meines guten Freundes Dr. Hayao Nakahara zufolge produziert China etwa 54 % der weltweiten PCBs und Taiwan weitere 10 %. Es gibt einfach nicht genug Kapazitäten anderswo, die das Defizit ausgleichen könnten, wenn diese beiden Nationen für einen längeren Zeitraum ihre Produktion einstellen. Gleiches gilt für Laminat, Komponenten und Verpackungen. Zwar läuft die Produktion in allen Regionen der Welt, dennoch haben China und Taiwan die Schlüsselrolle inne. Die Allokation hat begonnen. Die gute Nachricht ist, dass die TPCA (Taiwan Printed Circuit Association) schätzt, dass zwischen 50 % und 80 % der Leiterplattenfabriken außerhalb von Hubei die Produktion wieder aufgenommen haben. Es hätte viel schlimmer sein können. Dennoch könnten wir demnächst den Konkurs einiger schlecht aufgestellten Unternehmen sehen, die ihr Produkt nicht schnell genug auf den Markt bringen konnten. 

Warner: Welche Folgen könnten diese Marktbedingungen Ihrer Meinung nach für Design-Ingenieure auf der ganzen Welt haben?

Buetow: Es könnte sich sowohl der Start neuer Projekte verzögern als auch der Zeitraum bis zu deren Abschluss verlängern. Ich würde auch erwarten, dass es bei CAD-Tool-Schulungen zu einigen vereinzelten Problemen und Unterbrechungen kommt, auch wenn ein Großteil dieser Art von Schulung mittlerweile online durchgeführt wird. Die Finanzlage einiger Dienstleistungsbüros und Vertragsarbeitnehmer wird für eine gewisse Zeit sicherlich brisant sein. 

Warner: Wie wir alle wissen, neigen die Medien dazu, die Menschen mit ihren zugespitzten Schlagzeilen zu verwirren und oft zu ängstigen. Welche Aspekte dieses Ausbruchs könnten Ihrer Meinung nach im Hinblick auf die Auswirkungen auf die Weltwirtschaft und insbesondere auf das Elektronik-Ökosystem übertrieben sein (oder unzureichend berücksichtigt worden sein)?

Buetow: Die Medien übertreiben NIE und liegen NIE falsch. Scherz beiseite, die wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen sind sehr real. Erwartungsgemäß gab es die Vergleiche mit anderen Ausbrüchen von Erkrankungen der oberen Atemwege wie SARS, H1N1 und MERS. Natürlich bin ich kein Arzt, und es wäre unangebracht, wenn ich Aussagen zur Epidemiologie von COVID-19 machen würde. Aber es steht außer Frage, dass die Weltwirtschaft erschüttert wurde. Chinas Fabriken wurden wochenlang abgeschaltet aber erreichen erst jetzt wieder eine nahezu volle Auslastung. Nach allgemeiner Übereinstimmung wird Chinas Industriesektor im Zeitraum Januar bis Februar im Vergleich zum Vorjahr geschätzt einen Produktionsrückgang von 6 % verzeichnen. Im März war es nichtbesser: Laut Prognose wird die Produktion um 4,7 % steigen. Das klingt erstmal gut, allerdings lag die Produktion für denselben Zeitraum des Vorjahres bei 8,5 %. So betrachtet gibt es immer noch eine Verlangsamung, auch wenn der Trend sequentiell wieder ins Positive umgeschlagen ist.
Für den Rest der Welt bedeutet dies einen verzögerten oder gar unterbundenen Zugang zu den Rohstoffen und Fertigerzeugnissen sowie ein Versiegen der Lagerbestände. Die meisten Bestände an elektronischen Komponenten hatten sich im vergangenen Jahr stabilisiert. Ich gehe davon aus, dass es mit dieser Stabilität ziemlich schnell vorbei sein wird und dass es ein paar Quartale dauern wird, um diese wiederherzustellen - oder auch länger, wenn die COVID-19-Situation noch lange anhält.


Das Rückgrat der Weltwirtschaft sind die Konsumausgaben. Nach Angaben des Bureau of Economic Analysis beliefen diese sich allein im vierten Quartal auf etwa 14,8 Billionen Dollar. Dabei machen sie fast 69 % des Bruttoinlandproduktes aus. Wenn die Verbraucher Angst haben oder aufgrund von Massenquarantänen,nicht in der Lage sind, Waren und Dienstleistungen zu kaufen, wird der Schaden für die Weltwirtschaft enorm sein. Italien ist die achtgrößte Volkswirtschaft der Welt. Zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt befindet sich das Land in einem völligen Starrezustand. Berichten zufolge steht es außer Frage, dass die Nation in eine Rezession fallen wird, wenn diese Situation bis in den. April hinein oder darüber hinaus anhält. Die weltweiten Aktienmärkte haben schwere Schläge eingesteckt, und in verschiedenen Branchen wie der kommerziellen Luftfahrt und der Öl- und Gasindustrie ist mit damit zu rechnen, das Mitarbeiter bald in den unbezahltem Urlaub geschickt oder entlassen werden. Das sind echte Vermögenswerte, die hier verloren gehen, und es könnte Jahre dauern, bis sie wieder erwirtschaftet werden.  
Ich erwarte nicht, dass Millionen von Menschen sterben werden, wie bei der Grippeepidemie von 1918. Allerdings glaube ich nicht, dass im Hinblick auf die wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen übertrieben wurde. 

Warner: Sie sind seit langem in der Branche tätig. Sofern Sie vergleichbare Entwicklungen schon einmal gesehen haben, wie wird es Ihrer Einschätzung nach jetzt weitergehen?

Buetow: Ich gehe davon aus, dass es zwei Quartale dauern wird, um die Lieferketten wieder voll in Gang zu bringen. Das liegt daran, dass Europa und Nordamerika gerade am Anfang dieses Kampfes stehen, auch wenn China die Produktion bereits wieder aufgenommen hat. Und im Vergleich zu China tun sich demokratische Gesellschaften schwieriger, die für sie selbstverständliche Freizügigkeit einfach aufzuheben. Die gute Nachricht ist - sofern man sie denn als solche bezeichnen kann - dass die Unterbrechung für den Westen nicht so lange dauern wird, wenn Südostasien und China ihre Produktion wieder hochfahren, da die große Mehrheit der Rohstofflieferungen aus dieser Region kommt. Zwar ist es nicht einfach, dennoch aber einfacher, wenn die einzige Herausforderung darin besteht, die Montagewerke wieder in Betrieb zu nehmen und nicht die gesamte Lieferkette.

Warner: Was würden Sie den Design-Ingenieuren in dieser Zeit raten, um Verzögerungen oder Hindernisse bei der Herstellung ihrer Designs und deren Vermarktung zu vermeiden?
Buetow: In dieser Situation zahlt es sich aus, mehr Lieferanten zu haben, als man erwartungsgemäß benötigt, da man flexibler ist. Für die Produktion trifft das weniger zu, da die Design-Ingenieure diese Entscheidungen in der Regel nicht treffen. Interessant wird es im Bereich Prototypen, in dem ein Teil des Geschäfts aus Nordamerika in Richtung Asien abgewandert ist - hier werden die Leute unmittelbar erfahren, was man im Gegenzug für die relativ höheren Kosten des Westens tatsächlich erhält. Und ich würde den Design-Ingenieuren dringend empfehlen, ihre Komponentenhändler zu besuchen - natürlich virtuell - denn in diesem Bereich wird sich das Schicksal ihrer Projekte hauptsächlich entscheiden.

Warner: Haben Sie noch irgendwelche abschließenden Gedanken?

Buetow: Mich interessiert, ob und wie sich all dies auf die Zusammenarbeit im Design-Bereich auswirken wird. Werden Unternehmen, die groß genug sind, um ein verteiltes Designmodell wie z. B. "Follow the Sun" zu verwenden, dieses Modell mit größerer oder geringerer Wahrscheinlichkeit fortsetzen?

Warner: Vielen Dank, Mike, dass Sie Ihre sehr aufschlussreiche Sichtweise zu diesem Thema mit uns geteilt haben. Gibt es einen Ort, an dem unsere Leser weitere Aktualisierungen verfolgen können, die Sie und UP Media zu diesem Thema veröffentlichen?

Buetow: Danke für die Frage, Judy, ich teile meine Beobachtungen gerne.
Leser, die unsere Berichterstattung über COVID-19 und andere aktuelle Nachrichten in Echtzeit (oder fast in Echtzeit) verfolgen möchten, können mir auf Twitter (@mikebuetow) folgen, unsere Websites besuchen (pcdandf.com und circuitsassembly.com) oder unseren kostenlosen Newsletter abonnieren (pcbupdate.com).

Mike Buetow

 

Mike Buetow ist Chefredakteur der Magazine PCD&F/CIRCUITS ASSEMBLY, der weltweit führenden Publikation für Elektronikdesign und -fertigung, und redaktioneller Leiter der UP Media Group, für die er alle redaktionellen und produktionstechnischen Aspekte beaufsichtigt. Er verfügt über mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung in der Elektronikindustrie, darunter sechs Jahre bei IPC, einem Fachverband der Elektronikindustrie, bei dem er als technischer Projektleiter und Kommunikationsdirektor tätig war. Er war auch als Redakteur beim Magazin SMT, bei Gemeindezeitungen und bei Buchverlagen tätig. Er besitzt einen Abschluss der University of Illinois.

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Judy Warner ist seit über 25 Jahren in einer einzigartigen Vielfalt von Rollen in der Elektronikindustrie tätig. Sie verfügt über einen Hintergrund in der Leiterplattenherstellung, Hochfrequenz- und Mikrowellen-Leiterplatten, sowie in der Auftragsfertigung mit Schwerpunkt auf Militär-, Luft- & Raumfahrt-Anwendungen.

Darüber hinaus war sie als Autorin, Bloggerin und Journalistin für verschiedene Branchenpublikationen wie Microwave Journal, PCB007 Magazine, PCB Design007, PCD&F und IEEE Microwave Magazine tätig und ist ein aktives Vorstandsmitglied der PCEA (Printed Circuit Engineering Association). Im Jahr 2017 kam Warner als Director of Community Engagement zu Altium. Neben der Veranstaltung des OnTrack-Podcasts und der Erstellung des OnTrack-Newsletters rief sie die jährliche Altium-Anwenderkonferenz AltiumLive ins Leben. Warners Leidenschaft ist es, Ressourcen, Unterstützung und Fürsprecher für PCB Design Engineers weltweit bereitzustellen.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    What Impact will the Coronavirus have on Your Designs?

    Judy Warner
    |  April 6, 2020
    Man rubbing chin with question marks around him.

    Judy Warner: Mike, we are hearing and watching the tough impact of the coronavirus on the world stage. From your perspective as a globally-focused editor, what are you seeing and hearing that is immediately impacting the electronics industry?

    Mike Buetow: There is clearly disruption in the supply chain at several levels. Taiwanese-owned factories make up the leading share of bare boards worldwide, at about 34%. About 63% of the output value of Taiwan's PCB factories are produced in mainland China and 35% are produced in Taiwan. According to my good friend Dr. Hayao Nakahara, China produces about 54% of the world’s PCBs, and Taiwan another 10%. There simply isn’t enough capacity elsewhere to make up for those two nations going offline for any extended period of time. And the same holds for laminate, components and packaging. While there is production in every region, China and Taiwan hold the keys. Allocation has begun. The good news is, the TPCA (Taiwan Printed Circuit Association) estimates that the resumption rate of PCB factories outside Hubei is about 50% to 80%. It could be much worse. Still, we could see some weaker companies fold if they can't get product out quickly.

    Warner: What consequences do you think these market conditions may have on design engineers around the world?

    Buetow: There could be a slowdown both in program starts and in time to completion. I would also expect there to be some isolated issues where CAD tool training might be disrupted, although much of that type of training is now done online. There will be some service bureaus and contract labor whose finances will certainly be tight for a period of time. 

    Warner: We all know that media outlets tend to conflate and often scare people by how they craft headlines. What do you think may be over-sensationalized (or under-reported) aspects of this outbreak relative to the impact on world economies and specifically the electronics ecosystem?

    Buetow: The media NEVER hypes events and is NEVER wrong. Kidding aside, the economic impacts are very real. There have been the inevitable comparisons to other upper respiratory disease outbreaks such as SARS, H1N1 and MERS. I’m not a physician and it would be out of my lane to comment on the epidemiology of COVID-19. But there is no question the world economy has been shaken. China’s factories were taken offline for weeks, but are now coming back to near full capacity. The consensus economic estimate is for China’s industrial sector to show a 6% year-over-year decline in production over the January-February span. March wasn’t much better: The forecast is for production to rise 4.7%, which sounds good, except when compared with a year ago, when production was up 8.5%. In that context, there is still a slowing, even though the trend swung back to positive on a sequential basis. 

    What this means for the rest of the world is that access to the raw materials and finished goods is slowed or suspended, and inventories will run dry. Most electronic component inventories had stabilized last year. I expect that to change fairly rapidly, and to take a couple of quarters to smooth out, or longer if COVID-19 has a long lifespan.

    Consumer spending drives the world economy. It made up about $14.8 trillion in the fourth quarter alone, according to the Bureau of Economic Analysis. The ratio of consumer spending to GDP is close to 69%. If consumers are scared or unable to buy goods and services, due to mass quarantines, the hit to the world economy will be huge. Italy is the eighth-largest economy in the world. As I write this, it has been totally shut down. If that situation lasts into April or beyond, there’s no question the nation will fall into recession. The world stock markets have taken serious body blows, and in various industries such as commercial aerospace and oil/gas, furloughs and layoffs could be forthcoming. That’s real wealth that has evaporated, and it could take years to recover it.  

    I don’t expect millions of people will die, a la the 1918 influenza epidemic. But in terms of the economic impacts, I don’t think the effects have been overstated. 

    Warner: Based on your long tenure in the industry and having seen things like this before, what's your best guess on how this may play out?

    Buetow: I’d guess two quarters to get the supply chains backup and fully running. That’s because Europe and North America are now grappling with the fallout, even as China is coming back online. And compared to China, it’s more difficult to simply shut down democratic societies, where freedom of movement is a given. The good news – if it can be called that – is that since the vast majority of raw material supply comes from Southeast Asia and China, if that region is back online, then the interruption to the West won’t be as long as it could be. It’s simpler – not simple, but simpler – if all that is needed is to bring assembly plants back up and not the entire supply chain.

    (Editor’s Note: As of this writing,IPC has stepped in to advocate for American factories to be classified as “essential” during this time since nearly all medical devices are electronics-driven. California and Ohio have been responsive thus far and others are pending).

    Warner: What advice would you offer design engineers during this time that may help them to avoid delays or obstacles in getting their designs produced and to market?

    Buetow: This is where having more suppliers than you think you need pays off, since you will have more eggs in a given basket. That’s less of an issue for production, since design engineers typically aren’t making those decisions. But for prototypes, where we have seen some of that business leave North America for Asia, they will see firsthand what the relative higher cost of the West really buys them. And I would strongly urge design engineers to visit with their component distributors – virtually, of course – since this is where they will really sink or swim.

    Warner: Any final thoughts?

    Buetow: I am interested to see how this affects design collaboration, if at all. Will companies with the scale to use a distributed design model – e.g., “follow the sun” – be more or less likely to continue that process?

    Warner: Thanks very much, Mike for sharing your perspective on this issue. It’s been very insightful, and we’ll all be watching this situation unfold eagerly. Is there somewhere our readers can continue to follow the updates you and UP media are tracking on this issue?

    Buetow: Thanks for asking, Judy. I’m always happy to share my observations.

    Readers who may want to follow our reporting on COVID-19 and other breaking news in real-time (or something close to it) can follow me on Twitter (@mikebuetow), visit our websites (pcdandf.com and circuitsassembly.com) or subscribe to our free newsletter (pcbupdate.com).

    Mike Buetow


    Mike Buetow is editor-in-chief of PCD&F/CIRCUITS FABRICATION magazine, the world’s leading publication for electronics design and manufacturing, and editorial director of UP Media Group, for which he oversees all editorial and production aspects. He has more than 20 years’ experience in the electronics industry, including six years at IPC, an electronics trade association, at which he was a technical projects manager and communications director. He has also held editorial positions at SMT Magazine, community newspapers and book publishing. He is a graduate of the University of Illinois.

    Editor's Note: PCB Design education is available from UP Media at their annual PCB West Conference in California, as well as live training in select regions through PCB2Day. See Websites for further information.

    About Author

    About Author

    Judy Warner has held a unique variety of roles in the electronics industry since 1984. She has a deep background in PCB Manufacturing, RF and Microwave PCBs and Contract Manufacturing with a focus on Mil/Aero applications in technical sales and marketing.
    She has been a writer, contributor and journalist for several industry publications such as Microwave Journal, The PCB Magazine, The PCB Design Magazine, PDCF&A and IEEE Microwave Magazine and is an active member of multiple IPC Designers Council chapters. In March 2017, Warner became the Director of Community Engagement for Altium and immediately launched Altium’s OnTrack Newsletter. She led the launch of AltiumLive: Annual PCB Design Summit, a new and annual Altium User Conference. Judy's passion is to provide resources, support and to advocate for PCB Designers around the world.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home