Как коронавирус повлияет на процесс проектирования

Джуди Уорнер
|  Created: 6 Апреля, 2020  |  Updated: 7 Апреля, 2020
Man rubbing chin with question marks around him.

Джуди Уорнер: Майк, мы наблюдаем сильное влияние коронавируса на весь мир. С твоей точки зрения как ориентированного на общемировую индустрию редактора, что из того, что ты видишь и слышишь непосредственно влияет на отрасль электроники?

Майк Бетоу: Существуют очевидные перебои на нескольких уровнях в цепочке поставок. Принадлежащие Тайваню фабрики занимают лидирующую долю по производству плат в мире – около 34%. Около 63% объема выпуска тайваньских фабрик по производству печатных плат приходится на материковый Китай и около 35% – на Тайвань. По словам моего хорошего друга, доктора Хаяо Накахара, Китай производит около 54% всех печатных узлов в мире, а Тайвань – еще 10%. В мире просто нет другого места, способного компенсировать продолжительный спад производства в этих двух регионах. То же самое касается прессования плат, компонентов и упаковки. Хотя производства есть в каждом регионе, здесь держат лидерство Китай и Тайвань. Таково распределение. Хорошая новость состоит в том, что TPCA (Taiwan Printed Circuit Association, Тайваньская ассоциация печатных плат) оценивает коэффициент восстановления работы фабрик по производству плат за пределами провинции Хубэй от 50% до 80%, что могло быть намного хуже. Тем не менее, мы можем увидеть, как некоторые более слабые компании закроются, если они не смогут быстро выпускать продукцию.

Уорнер: Как ты думаешь, какие последствия на инженеров-проектировщиков может оказать это состояние рынка?

Бетоу: Могут быть задержки как в запуске работ по проектам, так и в их завершении. Также можно ожидать некоторые отдельные перебои в обучении САПР, хотя многие курсы сейчас проводятся онлайн. У некоторых сервисных бюро и компаний-подрядчиков, безусловно, будет сложно с финансами какое-то время.

Уорнер: Как мы знаем, СМИ зачастую пугают людей заголовками своих материалов. На твой взгляд, какие аспекты этой вспышки, влияющие на мировую экономику и, в частности, на электронику, могут быть чрезмерно раздуты (или наоборот, недостаточно освещены)?

Бетоу: Средства массовой информации НИКОГДА не раздувают события и НИКОГДА не ошибаются. Кроме шуток, экономические последствия очень реальны. Конечно, были сравнения с другими заболеваниями, такими как SARS, H1N1 и MERS. Я не врач, и мне не хочется комментировать эпидемиологическую ситуацию с COVID-19. Но безусловно, мировая экономика была потрясена. Китайские фабрики были приостановлены на несколько недель, но они сейчас возвращаются на практически полную мощность. Согласованные экономические прогнозы для китайского промышленного сектора показывают снижение производства на 6% в годовом исчислении по сравнению с январем-февралем. Март был ненамного лучше – рост производства оценивается в 4,7%, что выглядит неплохо, если не считать того, что год назад этот рост составлял 8,5%. В этом контексте, всё ещё наблюдается замедление, хотя тенденция снова стала позитивной.
Для остального мира это означает, что доступ к материалам и готовой продукции замедлен или приостановлен, а запасы иссякнут. Большинство запасов электронных компонентов стабилизировались в прошлом году. Думаю, что это довольно быстро изменится, и для стабилизации потребуется несколько кварталов, или больше, при длительном сроке COVID-19.
Мировой экономикой движут потребительские расходы. Согласно Бюро экономического анализа, их объем составил около $14,8 триллионов только в четвертом квартале 2019 года. Доля потребительских расходов от ВВП составляет около 69%. Если потребители напуганы либо если они просто не могут приобретать товары и услуги из-за массового карантина, то удар по мировой экономике будет сильным. Италия – это восьмая по величине экономика в мире. Когда я писал этот материал, она была полностью приостановлена. Если эта ситуация продлится до конца апреля или дольше, то страна, безусловно, войдет в рецессию. Мировые фондовые рынки тоже приняли удары, и в различных отраслях, таких как коммерческая авиакосмическая промышленность и нефтегазовая индустрия, могут произойти увольнения и уходы в незапланированный отпуск. Это реальное благосостояние, которое испарилось, и на его восстановление уйдут годы.  
Я не думаю, что миллионы людей погибнут, как из-за эпидемии гриппа 1918 года. Но экономические последствия вряд ли были преувеличены. 

Уорнер: На основе своего многолетнего опыта в отрасли и наблюдениях подобных вещей прежде, как это, на твой взгляд, может закончиться?

Бетоу: Думаю, что цепочки поставок восстановятся и полностью заработают за два квартала. Европа и Северная Америка сейчас борются с последствиями, хотя Китай возвращается в строй. Но по сравнению с Китаем, здесь намного сложнее просто перекрыть территории. Хорошая новость (если ее можно так назвать) заключается в том, что поскольку большая часть поставок материалов осуществляется из Юго-Восточной Азии и Китая, если этот регион вернется в строй, то перебой для Запада будут не таким долгим, каким он мог бы быть. Проще (не просто, но проще), если всё, что нужно – это восстановить сборочные производства, а не всю цепочку поставок.

Уорнер: Какой совет можно дать инженерам-проектировщикам, чтобы они могли избежать задержек или каких-либо препятствий при реализации своих проектов и их выводу на рынок?
Бетоу: Это как раз тот случай, когда наличие большего (чем необходимо) числа поставщиков оправдывает себя. В меньшей степени это проблема для производства, так как проектировщики, как правило, не принимают решений в этой области. Но в сфере прототипирования, где часть бизнеса переехала из Северной Америки в Азию, инженеры-проектировщики будут одними из первых, кому придется свыкнуться с “западным фактором” и относительным удорожанием компонентов. Я настоятельно рекомендую проектировщикам как можно скорее проработать этот вопрос со своими поставщиками, для которых сложившаяся ситуация – настоящее испытание.

Уорнер: Что-нибудь в заключение?

Бетоу: Я буду наблюдать за тем, как ситуация повлияет на взаимодействие в области проектирования, если она вообще повлияет. Будут ли компании, которые используют модель распределенного проектирования, с большей или меньшей вероятностью использовать ее и дальше?

Уорнер: Большое спасибо, Майк, что поделился своим видением ситуации, было очень полезно. Могут ли наши читатели где-нибудь продолжить отслеживать ее?

Бетоу: Спасибо за вопросы, Джуди. Я всегда рад поделиться своими наблюдениями.
Читатели, которые хотят следить за нашими сообщениями о COVID-19 и прочими срочными новостями в режиме реального времени (или практически в этом режиме), могут подписаться на меня в Twitter (@mikebuetow), посещать наши веб-сайты (pcdandf.com и circuitsassembly.com) или подписаться на нашу бесплатную новостную рассылку (pcbupdate.com).

Mike Buetow

 

Майк Бетоу – главный редактор журнала PCD&F/CIRCUITS FABRICATION, лидирующего мирового издания по проектированию и производству электроники, и шеф-редактор UP Media Group, где он контролирует все редакционные и производственные аспекты. У него более чем 20-летний опыт работы в электронной промышленности, в том числе шесть лет в IPC, ассоциации производителей электроники, где он был менеджером технических проектов и директором по связям с общественностью. Также занимал редакционные должности в SMT Magazine, общественных газетах и книжных издательствах. Окончил Иллинойсский университет.

Об авторе

Об авторе

Джуди Уорнер (Judy Warner) занимала различные должности в электронной промышленности, начиная с 1984 года. У нее богатый опыт в производстве печатных плат, РЧ- и СВЧ-платах и контрактном производстве с ориентацией на применения в оборонной и аэрокосмической отраслях в технических продажах и маркетинге.

Джуди была автором в нескольких отраслевых изданиях, таких как «Microwave Journal», «The PCB Magazine», «The PCB Design Magazine», «PDCF&A» и «IEEE Microwave Magazine», и она является активным участником множества отделений IPC Designers Council. В марте 2017 года Джуди стала директором по взаимодействию с сообществом Altium и сразу запустила новостную рассылку OnTrack от Altium. Она возглавляла запуск ежегодной конференции проектировщиков печатных плат AltiumLive. Джуди ставит своей целью предоставление поддержки и ресурсов для проектировщиков плат по всему миру.

самые новые материалы

Вернуться на главную

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    What Impact will the Coronavirus have on Your Designs?

    Judy Warner
    |  April 6, 2020
    Man rubbing chin with question marks around him.

    Judy Warner: Mike, we are hearing and watching the tough impact of the coronavirus on the world stage. From your perspective as a globally-focused editor, what are you seeing and hearing that is immediately impacting the electronics industry?

    Mike Buetow: There is clearly disruption in the supply chain at several levels. Taiwanese-owned factories make up the leading share of bare boards worldwide, at about 34%. About 63% of the output value of Taiwan's PCB factories are produced in mainland China and 35% are produced in Taiwan. According to my good friend Dr. Hayao Nakahara, China produces about 54% of the world’s PCBs, and Taiwan another 10%. There simply isn’t enough capacity elsewhere to make up for those two nations going offline for any extended period of time. And the same holds for laminate, components and packaging. While there is production in every region, China and Taiwan hold the keys. Allocation has begun. The good news is, the TPCA (Taiwan Printed Circuit Association) estimates that the resumption rate of PCB factories outside Hubei is about 50% to 80%. It could be much worse. Still, we could see some weaker companies fold if they can't get product out quickly.

    Warner: What consequences do you think these market conditions may have on design engineers around the world?

    Buetow: There could be a slowdown both in program starts and in time to completion. I would also expect there to be some isolated issues where CAD tool training might be disrupted, although much of that type of training is now done online. There will be some service bureaus and contract labor whose finances will certainly be tight for a period of time. 

    Warner: We all know that media outlets tend to conflate and often scare people by how they craft headlines. What do you think may be over-sensationalized (or under-reported) aspects of this outbreak relative to the impact on world economies and specifically the electronics ecosystem?

    Buetow: The media NEVER hypes events and is NEVER wrong. Kidding aside, the economic impacts are very real. There have been the inevitable comparisons to other upper respiratory disease outbreaks such as SARS, H1N1 and MERS. I’m not a physician and it would be out of my lane to comment on the epidemiology of COVID-19. But there is no question the world economy has been shaken. China’s factories were taken offline for weeks, but are now coming back to near full capacity. The consensus economic estimate is for China’s industrial sector to show a 6% year-over-year decline in production over the January-February span. March wasn’t much better: The forecast is for production to rise 4.7%, which sounds good, except when compared with a year ago, when production was up 8.5%. In that context, there is still a slowing, even though the trend swung back to positive on a sequential basis. 

    What this means for the rest of the world is that access to the raw materials and finished goods is slowed or suspended, and inventories will run dry. Most electronic component inventories had stabilized last year. I expect that to change fairly rapidly, and to take a couple of quarters to smooth out, or longer if COVID-19 has a long lifespan.

    Consumer spending drives the world economy. It made up about $14.8 trillion in the fourth quarter alone, according to the Bureau of Economic Analysis. The ratio of consumer spending to GDP is close to 69%. If consumers are scared or unable to buy goods and services, due to mass quarantines, the hit to the world economy will be huge. Italy is the eighth-largest economy in the world. As I write this, it has been totally shut down. If that situation lasts into April or beyond, there’s no question the nation will fall into recession. The world stock markets have taken serious body blows, and in various industries such as commercial aerospace and oil/gas, furloughs and layoffs could be forthcoming. That’s real wealth that has evaporated, and it could take years to recover it.  

    I don’t expect millions of people will die, a la the 1918 influenza epidemic. But in terms of the economic impacts, I don’t think the effects have been overstated. 

    Warner: Based on your long tenure in the industry and having seen things like this before, what's your best guess on how this may play out?

    Buetow: I’d guess two quarters to get the supply chains backup and fully running. That’s because Europe and North America are now grappling with the fallout, even as China is coming back online. And compared to China, it’s more difficult to simply shut down democratic societies, where freedom of movement is a given. The good news – if it can be called that – is that since the vast majority of raw material supply comes from Southeast Asia and China, if that region is back online, then the interruption to the West won’t be as long as it could be. It’s simpler – not simple, but simpler – if all that is needed is to bring assembly plants back up and not the entire supply chain.

    (Editor’s Note: As of this writing,IPC has stepped in to advocate for American factories to be classified as “essential” during this time since nearly all medical devices are electronics-driven. California and Ohio have been responsive thus far and others are pending).

    Warner: What advice would you offer design engineers during this time that may help them to avoid delays or obstacles in getting their designs produced and to market?

    Buetow: This is where having more suppliers than you think you need pays off, since you will have more eggs in a given basket. That’s less of an issue for production, since design engineers typically aren’t making those decisions. But for prototypes, where we have seen some of that business leave North America for Asia, they will see firsthand what the relative higher cost of the West really buys them. And I would strongly urge design engineers to visit with their component distributors – virtually, of course – since this is where they will really sink or swim.

    Warner: Any final thoughts?

    Buetow: I am interested to see how this affects design collaboration, if at all. Will companies with the scale to use a distributed design model – e.g., “follow the sun” – be more or less likely to continue that process?

    Warner: Thanks very much, Mike for sharing your perspective on this issue. It’s been very insightful, and we’ll all be watching this situation unfold eagerly. Is there somewhere our readers can continue to follow the updates you and UP media are tracking on this issue?

    Buetow: Thanks for asking, Judy. I’m always happy to share my observations.

    Readers who may want to follow our reporting on COVID-19 and other breaking news in real-time (or something close to it) can follow me on Twitter (@mikebuetow), visit our websites (pcdandf.com and circuitsassembly.com) or subscribe to our free newsletter (pcbupdate.com).

    Mike Buetow


    Mike Buetow is editor-in-chief of PCD&F/CIRCUITS FABRICATION magazine, the world’s leading publication for electronics design and manufacturing, and editorial director of UP Media Group, for which he oversees all editorial and production aspects. He has more than 20 years’ experience in the electronics industry, including six years at IPC, an electronics trade association, at which he was a technical projects manager and communications director. He has also held editorial positions at SMT Magazine, community newspapers and book publishing. He is a graduate of the University of Illinois.

    Editor's Note: PCB Design education is available from UP Media at their annual PCB West Conference in California, as well as live training in select regions through PCB2Day. See Websites for further information.

    About Author

    About Author

    Judy Warner has held a unique variety of roles in the electronics industry since 1984. She has a deep background in PCB Manufacturing, RF and Microwave PCBs and Contract Manufacturing with a focus on Mil/Aero applications in technical sales and marketing.
    She has been a writer, contributor and journalist for several industry publications such as Microwave Journal, The PCB Magazine, The PCB Design Magazine, PDCF&A and IEEE Microwave Magazine and is an active member of multiple IPC Designers Council chapters. In March 2017, Warner became the Director of Community Engagement for Altium and immediately launched Altium’s OnTrack Newsletter. She led the launch of AltiumLive: Annual PCB Design Summit, a new and annual Altium User Conference. Judy's passion is to provide resources, support and to advocate for PCB Designers around the world.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home