Warum Platinen-Datenmanagement entscheidend ist

John Watson
|  Created: May 19, 2019  |  Updated: December 18, 2020

Vor kurzem feierte ich Geburtstag. Mein genaues Alter möchte ich zwar nicht verraten, nur dass ich im Restaurant problemlos den Seniorenteller bekomme. Je älter ich werde, so meine Feststellung, desto langsamer werde ich oder Dinge schneller.  Es war wohl ein bisschen von beidem, wobei Letzteres es wohl mehr trifft. Charles Dickens schreibt in seinem Klassiker Eine Geschichte aus zwei Städten: „Es war die beste aller Zeiten, es war die schlechteste aller Zeiten.“ Wer in der Elektronikbranche tätig ist, wird Charles uneingeschränkt zustimmen. Wir erleben gerade eine der spannendsten Zeiten in der jüngeren Geschichte, die  jedoch von großen Umwälzungen geprägt ist. Die größte Herausforderung lautet: Wie halten wir Schritt? 

Eine kleine Spoiler-Warnung. Das heißt für uns, dass wir uns an die Anforderungen unserer Branche anpassen müssen. Hierbei ist das Verständnis für die Bedeutung des Platinendatenmanagements ganz zentral. 

Innovationen in der Produktentwicklung

Jahrzehntelang hatte man den Eindruck, die Transformation von Innovation in Veränderung vollziehe sich langsam wie ein Rinnsal, das dahintröpfelt, doch inzwischen ist dieses Rinnsal zu einer reißenden Flut angewachsen.  Weiterentwicklungen in der Elektronik durchdringen jeden Lebensbereich. Die Neuheiten von heute sind morgen schon überholt. Anzeichen für eine Abschwächung sind nicht zu erkennen. Marktneuheiten haben natürlich ihren Preis.  Trotzdem steht man für das „Neueste und Beste“ tagelang Schlange. 

So hat zum Beispiel ein führendes Unternehmen der Mobiltelefon-Industrie ein faltbares Smartphone angekündigt, das ausgeklappt zum Tablet wird. Zu haben ist es für stolze 2000 USD. Erstaunlicherweise läuft der Vorverkauf selbst bei diesem extrem hohen Preis stark.  

Markteinführungszeit 

Die Frage, die jede Managementebene umtreibt, dreht sich nicht um komplexe Einzelheiten erfolgreicher Produktentwicklung, sondern um deren Zeitpunkt. Völlig nachvollziehbar. Jeder will sich die wichtigsten Marktanteile sichern und der erste auf dem Markt gewinnt. Nur gibt es kaum ein Wort, das Platinendesignern mehr Schauer über den Rücken jagt als... MARKTEINFÜHRUNGSZEIT. Die Zeitspanne vom Entwurf bis zur Herstellung wird kürzer. Die Markteinführungszeit für neue Produkte ist auf ein paar Monate geschrumpft. Für die Überarbeitung von Designs ist weder die Zeit noch das Geld vorhanden. Sie müssen auf Anhieb funktionsfähig sein. 

Ein bewegliches Ziel treffen

PCB-Design ist, wie es aussieht, ein kontinuierlicher Lernzyklus. Die Branche befindet sich in einem ständigen Wandel. Immer, wenn man gerade dachte, man habe „alles unter Dach und Fach“, ändert sich etwas. Mir persönlich machen diese Anforderungsänderungen Spaß und aus diesem Grund arbeite ich gern in der Branche. Man lernt immer hinzu. Wenn man vorne mitspielen will, muss man das allerdings auch, sonst ist man in der Branche weg vom Fenster. 

Was bedeutet dies für uns als Designer?

Angesichts all dieser Herausforderungen müssen wir zuerst unsere Herangehensweise ändern. Es ist keine Alltagsroutine. (Was auch immer das ist) Unser heutiges Arbeitsumfeld macht eine kontinuierliche Überprüfung und Änderung der Prozesse (falls erforderlich) in Ihrem Designprozess nötig. 

Daten- und Designintegrität

Mehr denn je gilt: Die von Ihnen verwendete Daten sind wichtiger als Ihre eigentliche Vorgehensweise beim Design. Bei der Bewältigung der Herausforderungen, vor denen unsere Branche steht, können uns unsere Platinendaten als Sprungbrett dienen oder zum Stolperstein werden. Wir alle haben schon den scherzhaft-bitteren Spruch Garbage In Garbage Out gehört. Die Designintegrität ist unmittelbar mit der Datenqualität verknüpft. 

Behalten Sie dies stets im Hinterkopf von der Erstellung des ersten Bauteils bis zur letzten Datei Ihrer Pakete für Hersteller und Bestücker. Qualität und Fehlerfreiheit sind essenziell. Ich kenne nicht viele Unternehmen, die zulassen, dass die Richtigkeit der Daten an  einem Fertigungsmodell überprüft wird, um dann zu ermitteln, wo die Fehler liegen. Das heißt, all diese Überprüfungen werden vorher durchgeführt. 

Was versteht man unter Integrität? 

Wenn wir von Integrität der Platine sprechen und damit die Datenintegrität meinen, geben uns wir manchmal damit zufrieden, „es irgendwie hinbekommen zu haben.“ Ein Seufzer der Erleichterung geht um und man glaubt, „es ist geschafft.“ Doch oft bedeutet „geschafft“ nicht unbedingt bestmöglich gelöst. Ziemlich häufig war einfach Glück dabei.

Per definitionem ist Integrität ein Zustand der Vollständigkeit und Unversehrtheit. Unter diesem Aspekt sollten Sie den Leiterplattenprozess und die hierfür verwendeten Daten betrachten. Es gibt ein Bindeglied, das im Design alles miteinander verknüpft. Das Datenblatt ist die detaillierte Beschreibung des Bauteils. Das Bauteil wiederum ist der Grundbaustein des Schaltplans, der dann auf die Platine übertragen wird. Aus dem Schaltplan generieren wir unsere Stückliste (BOM). Aus der Platine erstellen wir unsere Bestückungszeichnungen und natürlich die Fertigungs-/Bestückungsdaten. 

Es versetzt mich immer noch in Erstaunen, wenn ein Entwurf aus farbigen Linien am Computerbildschirm einige Wochen später als fertige Platine auf meinem Schreibtisch liegt. Alles begann mit dem Datenblatt für das erste Bauteil, ein Beleg, wie wichtig diese Datenblätter sind.  

Fazit

Zum Schluss möchte ich Ihnen eines mit auf den Weg geben: Haben Sie keine Angst vor Veränderungen. Veränderungen sind das Wesen unserer Branche. Man darf sie nicht scheuen, sondern sollte sie annehmen. Ohne die Bereitschaft, unsere Vorgehensweise zu ändern, agieren wir nicht zum Wohle unserer Unternehmen, sondern als Bremsklotz.  Diese sich rasant entwickelnden Branche ist gnadenlos und schießt Sie ins Abseits. 

Identifizieren Sie ferner schnell die in Ihrem Designprozess verwendeten Daten und überprüfen Sie, ob diese von höchster Qualität sind. Fast jedes Problem, das mir beim Platinendesign begegnet ist, geht auf die Bibliothekskomponenten in der Datenbank zurück.  Beginnen Sie deshalb auf dieser Ebene mit der Behebung aller potenziellen Probleme.

Möchten Sie mehr darüber erfahren, wie Altium Sie beim Design Ihrer nächsten Platine unterstützen kann? Sprechen sie mit einem Experten bei Altium und erfahren Sie mehr, wie Sie Designentscheidungen einfach und sicher treffen. 

About Author

About Author

Mit fast 40 Jahren in der Elektronikindustrie, davon 20 Jahre im Bereich des PCB-Designs und -Engineerings, ist John als Designer/Ingenieur und in jüngster Zeit als Ausbilder und Mentor an der Spitze der PCB-Industrie geblieben. Seine primäre Arbeit war im Fertigungsbereich angesiedelt, hat sich aber auch auf verschiedene PCB- Dienstleistungsbereiche ausgeweitet. Als Veteran diente er stolz in der Armee im Bereich des militärischen Geheimdienstes. John ist ein CID-zertifizierter PCB-Designer. Gegenwärtig strebt er seine CID-Zertifizierung für Advance CID an. Als leitender PCB-Ingenieur bei Legrand Inc. leitet er jetzt die PCB-Designer und -Ingenieure in verschiedenen Abteilungen in den Vereinigten Staaten und China.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Why PCB Data Management is Important

    John Watson
    |  May 19, 2019

    Recently, I celebrated a birthday. Although I do not want to give away my age, let us say I can easily order from any senior menu in a restaurant. I realize the older I get that either I am slowing down or things are speeding up. I concluded it was a bit of both, but much more of the latter. In the words of Charles Dickens in the literary classic A Tale of Two Cities: “It was the best of times it was the worst of times.” Those in the electronics industry can fully relate to what Charles was saying. We are watching one of the most exciting times ever in recent history, but also it’s one of the most challenging. The biggest challenge being; how do we keep up?

    A little spoiler alert. It involves us changing with the demands of our industry does things, and I can say that understanding the importance of PCB data Management is at the very heart of it.

    Innovations in Product Development

    For decades, what seemed to be a slow trickle of innovation and change is now a full-blown flood. With advancements in electronics touching every area of our lives, what is new and modern one day is quickly obsolete the next. Plus there is no sign of this slowing down any time soon. As new products hit the market, of course, it comes with a hefty price tag. However, people still stand in line waiting for the “latest and greatest.” for days on end.

    For example, a significant leader in the phone industry just announced that they would be selling a foldable phone which goes from being a smartphone to a tablet. It comes at what I would consider a hefty price tag of $2,000. Surprisingly, the presales are high even at that extreme price.

    Time to Market

    The question on the mind of every level of management is not intricate details of what it takes to develop a product, but rather when. Which is entirely understandable, everyone wants to have the most significant piece of the pie of the market share, and the first one to market wins. Few words send shivers down many a PCB Designer’s spine faster than… TIME TO MARKET. From concept to production, Time to market for new products has reduced down to just a few months. That means, there is neither the time or the money to conduct re-spins of designs. They must get it right the first time.

    Hitting a Moving Target

    This seems to be the constant learning cycle of PCB design–the industry is in a continual state of flux. Just about the time you think you have “nailed it down”, it changes. Which, personally, is why I enjoy working in this field. It is constantly changing. There is always something more to learn. That is of course, if you want to stay on the cutting edge of your industry, which if you don’t, will be glad to leave you behind.

    What Does This All Mean For Us as Designers?

    All these challenges require us to first change how we do things. It’s not business as usual. (Whatever that was). The environment we now work in involves a constant review and changing of the processes (of course as needed) used in your design process.

    The Integrity of Data and Designs

    More than ever, the data you use is more important than how you may do something. If we are to rise to the challenges that face our industry, our PCB data can either serve as a stepping stone or a stumbling block to us. The integrity of the design is directly related to the quality of the data.–we all know the well-known adage; garbage in garbage out.

    All this is a mindset you follow from the very first component created to the last file placed in your Fab and Assy package. Quality and accuracy are essential. I don’t know many companies that allow the testing of the accuracy of data by doing a fabrication build and determining where the mistakes are. Which means those checks are all done beforehand.

    What Do We Mean When We Say Integrity?

    When we speak of the integrity of the board and by proxy the integrity of the Data, we are sometimes satisfied with “just getting by.” We take a collective sigh of relief at the end and think, “We made it.” However, many times; just because something got ‘through” does not necessarily mean that it was the very best we could have done. Many times it just means we got lucky.

    The definition of integrity is the quality or state of being complete or undivided. I like that when you look at the PCB process and the data used. There is a link that connects everything in that design. For example, the datasheet is the foundation of the component; the component is the basis of the schematic, that then feeds into the PCB and also where we get our BOM, from the PCB we get our Fabrication, Assembly Drawings, and of course the Fab/Assy data.

    It still amazes me how what were just colored lines on my screen weeks earlier, is now sitting on my desk as a completed board. It all began with the simple datasheet for that first component, which speaks of the enormous importance of those simple datasheets.

    Conclusion

    I would conclude by saying first; don’t be afraid of change. Change is an essential part of our industry. It is not something to shun, but rather embrace. When we’re not willing to change how we do something, we no longer benefit our companies, but hinder them. This fast-paced industry has no problem with leaving you on the dust pile of history.

    Furthermore, quickly identify the data used in your design process and determine if it is of the highest quality. Almost every problem that I have seen on a PCB design can be directly linked back to the library components. So, begin to fix any issues that may exist on that level.

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium and learn more about making design decisions with ease and confidence.

    About Author

    About Author

    With nearly 40 years in the Electronic industry with 20 of them being in the field of PCB Design and engineering, John has stayed on the cutting edge of the PCB industry as a designer/Engineer and more recently as a trainer and mentor. His primary work has been in the Manufacturing field but it has also expanded to several PCB Service arenas. As a veteran, he proudly served in the Army in the Military Intelligence field. John is a CID Certified PCB designer. Presently pursuing his Advance CID certification. Now as the Senior PCB engineer at Legrand Inc, he leads the PCB Designers and Engineers in various divisions across the United States and China.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home