Pourquoi la gestion des données PCB est importante

John Watson
|  Créé: May 19, 2019  |  Mise à jour: December 18, 2020

J’ai récemment fêté un anniversaire. Comme je ne souhaite pas vous révéler mon âge, disons seulement que je peux bénéficier des tarifs pour les plus de soixante ans. Je me rends compte que plus je vieillis, plus je ralentis ou plus les choses s'accélèrent. J'ai conclu que c'était un peu des deux, mais beaucoup plus de la dernière option. Selon les mots de Charles Dickens dans son roman classique « A Tale of Two Cities » (Un conte de deux villes) : « C'était le meilleur des temps, c'était le pire des temps ». Ceux qui travaillent dans l'industrie de l'électronique peuvent parfaitement comprendre ce que Charles voulait dire. Nous vivons l'une des périodes les plus passionnantes de l'histoire récente, mais aussi l'une des plus difficiles. Le plus grand défi est de savoir comment suivre le changement. 

Petite alerte spoiler : Les changements imposés par les exigences de notre industrie ont diverses implications. Et comprendre l'importance de la gestion des données PCB est au cœur même de notre capacité d’évolution.

Innovations dans le développement des produits

Pendant des décennies, l’innovation a ressemblé à un filet d’eau. Aujourd’hui, elle a pris les proportions d’une véritable inondation. Avec les progrès de l'électronique qui touchent tous les domaines de notre vie, la nouveauté d’un jour est rapidement obsolète quelques jours plus tard. De plus, rien ne laisse prévoir le moindre ralentissement. Lorsque de nouveaux produits arrivent sur le marché, leur prix est naturellement très élevé. Cependant, les gens font la queue pendant des jours pour être les premiers à acheter la nouvelle version, et bénéficier des nouveaux avantages.

Par exemple, une grande marque de la téléphonie vient de lancer un smartphone dépliable qui se transforme en tablette. Il est offert à un prix que je considère incontestablement élevé : 2000 USD. Et je suis surpris que les préventes soient néanmoins très fortes. 

Cycle de mise sur le marché 

Ce ne sont plus les complexités du développement des produits qui pèsent sur les décideurs, mais le choix du bon moment pour les mettre sur le marché. Ce qui est tout à fait compréhensible, puisque chaque entreprise veut prendre la plus grosse part de marché, et le premier à arriver sur le marché prend la plus belle part. Peu de mots font monter l’adrénaline des concepteurs de PCB comme... CYCLE DE MISE SUR LE MARCHÉ ! De la conception à la production, le cycle de mise sur le marché des nouveaux produits a été réduit à quelques mois. Par conséquent, nous n’avons pas ni temps ni l'argent pour repenser ou même modifier les conceptions. La première conception doit être la meilleure à la première tentative. 

Atteindre une cible mouvante

Comme l'industrie évolue constamment et de plus en plus vite, la courbe d’apprentissage de la conception des PCB semble ne plus vouloir redescendre. Juste moment où vous pensiez avoir un produit abouti, un changement remet tout en cause. C'est pourquoi j'aime travailler dans ce domaine. Le changement est de rigueur. Il y a toujours quelque chose à apprendre dans ce métier. C’est à dire si vous voulez rester à la pointe de votre industrie, sinon elle se fera un plaisir de vous abandonner en fin de peloton.

Quelles sont les conséquences pour les concepteurs ?

Tous ces défis exigent que nous changions d'abord nos façons de faire. Rien ne se fait plus comme d’habitude... (si vous aviez des habitudes !) L'environnement dans lequel nous travaillons actuellement exige des contrôles et des changements constants des procédés intégrés dans votre processus de conception (selon les besoins, bien sûr). 

Intégrité des conceptions et des données

Plus que jamais, les données que vous utilisez ont plus d’importance que les méthodes choisies. Si nous voulons relever les défis auxquels notre industrie est confrontée, nos données PCB peuvent être un tremplin ou une pierre d'achoppement. L'intégrité de la conception est directement liée à la qualité des données. Nous connaissons tous l'adage bien connu : la mauvaise qualité ne produit que de la mauvaise qualité. 

Cette attitude doit être conservée depuis le tout premier composant créé jusqu'au dernier fichier placé dans votre package Fabrication et Assemblage. La qualité et la précision sont les facteurs déterminants par excellence. Je ne connais pas beaucoup d'entreprises qui se permettent de tester l'exactitude des données en fabricant le produit pour identifier les causes des erreurs. Cela implique que tous ces contrôles sont réalisés à l'avance. 

Que signifie « Intégrité » ? 

Lorsque nous parlons de l'intégrité d’une carte PCB et, par conséquent, de l'intégrité des données, il nous arrive de ne pas être très exigeant… du moment que cela fonctionne ! Nous poussons un soupir de soulagement en pensant, ouf ! ça marche ! Cependant, bien souvent, ce n'est pas parce que nous nous en sommes tirés, que nous avons fait du mieux que nous pouvions. En fait, nous avons souvent de la chance, tout simplement.

L’intégrité se définit comme étant la qualité ou l’état caractérisé par l’unité, la complétude, ou l’absence de séparation. C’est une qualité que j’aime voir en examinant un processus ou des données. Un lien continu relie tous les éléments de la conception. Par exemple, la fiche technique est la base du composant ; le composant est la base du schéma, qui est la fondation du circuit imprimé ; d’où nous obtenons notre nomenclature ; depuis le circuit imprimé qui permet de créer les dessins de fabrication et d'assemblage et bien sûr les données de fabrication et d’assemblage. 

Je m’étonne encore de voir sur mon bureau une carte PCB complète qui n’était, il y a quelques semaines, que des lignes de couleur sur mon écran. Tout a commencé avec la simple fiche technique de ce premier composant, qui témoigne de l'énorme importance de ces fiches techniques simples.

Conclusion

Je conclurais en disant d'abord : n'ayez pas peur du changement. Le changement est un élément essentiel de notre industrie. Ce n'est pas quelque chose à éviter, mais plutôt à adopter avec force et conviction. Lorsque nous ne sommes pas disposés à changer notre façon de faire, nous gênons la progression de notre entreprise, au lieu de lui être utile. Cette industrie en pleine effervescence n'hésite jamais à distancer et oublier ceux qui n’aiment pas le changement.

De plus, vous devez identifier rapidement les données utilisées dans votre processus de conception et déterminez si elles sont de la plus haute qualité. Presque tous les problèmes que j'ai vus sur des cartes PCB peuvent être directement liés aux composants de la bibliothèque. Alors, commencez à résoudre tous les problèmes qui peuvent exister à ce niveau.

Souhaitez-vous en savoir plus sur la façon dont Altium peut vous aider à concevoir votre prochaine carte de circuits imprimés ? Discutez avec un expert Altium et découvrez comment prendre des décisions de conception avec facilité et confiance. 

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Avec près de 40 ans dans l'industrie électronique, dont 20 ans dans le secteur de la conception et de l'ingénierie des circuits imprimés, John est resté à la pointe de l'industrie des PCB en tant que concepteur/ingénieur et, plus récemment dans un nouveau rôle de formateur et mentor. Spécialiste de la fabrication, John a également développé des compétences étendues dans plusieurs domaines des services pour PCB. Il a fièrement servi son pays dans le renseignement militaire. John est un concepteur de PCB certifié CID. Il travaille actuellement pour obtenir la certification Advance CID. Aujourd'hui, en tant qu'ingénieur principal en PCB chez Legrand Inc, John dirige les concepteurs et les ingénieurs en PCB dans différentes divisions aux États-Unis et en Chine.

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Why PCB Data Management is Important

    John Watson
    |  May 19, 2019

    Recently, I celebrated a birthday. Although I do not want to give away my age, let us say I can easily order from any senior menu in a restaurant. I realize the older I get that either I am slowing down or things are speeding up. I concluded it was a bit of both, but much more of the latter. In the words of Charles Dickens in the literary classic A Tale of Two Cities: “It was the best of times it was the worst of times.” Those in the electronics industry can fully relate to what Charles was saying. We are watching one of the most exciting times ever in recent history, but also it’s one of the most challenging. The biggest challenge being; how do we keep up?

    A little spoiler alert. It involves us changing with the demands of our industry does things, and I can say that understanding the importance of PCB data Management is at the very heart of it.

    Innovations in Product Development

    For decades, what seemed to be a slow trickle of innovation and change is now a full-blown flood. With advancements in electronics touching every area of our lives, what is new and modern one day is quickly obsolete the next. Plus there is no sign of this slowing down any time soon. As new products hit the market, of course, it comes with a hefty price tag. However, people still stand in line waiting for the “latest and greatest.” for days on end.

    For example, a significant leader in the phone industry just announced that they would be selling a foldable phone which goes from being a smartphone to a tablet. It comes at what I would consider a hefty price tag of $2,000. Surprisingly, the presales are high even at that extreme price.

    Time to Market

    The question on the mind of every level of management is not intricate details of what it takes to develop a product, but rather when. Which is entirely understandable, everyone wants to have the most significant piece of the pie of the market share, and the first one to market wins. Few words send shivers down many a PCB Designer’s spine faster than… TIME TO MARKET. From concept to production, Time to market for new products has reduced down to just a few months. That means, there is neither the time or the money to conduct re-spins of designs. They must get it right the first time.

    Hitting a Moving Target

    This seems to be the constant learning cycle of PCB design–the industry is in a continual state of flux. Just about the time you think you have “nailed it down”, it changes. Which, personally, is why I enjoy working in this field. It is constantly changing. There is always something more to learn. That is of course, if you want to stay on the cutting edge of your industry, which if you don’t, will be glad to leave you behind.

    What Does This All Mean For Us as Designers?

    All these challenges require us to first change how we do things. It’s not business as usual. (Whatever that was). The environment we now work in involves a constant review and changing of the processes (of course as needed) used in your design process.

    The Integrity of Data and Designs

    More than ever, the data you use is more important than how you may do something. If we are to rise to the challenges that face our industry, our PCB data can either serve as a stepping stone or a stumbling block to us. The integrity of the design is directly related to the quality of the data.–we all know the well-known adage; garbage in garbage out.

    All this is a mindset you follow from the very first component created to the last file placed in your Fab and Assy package. Quality and accuracy are essential. I don’t know many companies that allow the testing of the accuracy of data by doing a fabrication build and determining where the mistakes are. Which means those checks are all done beforehand.

    What Do We Mean When We Say Integrity?

    When we speak of the integrity of the board and by proxy the integrity of the Data, we are sometimes satisfied with “just getting by.” We take a collective sigh of relief at the end and think, “We made it.” However, many times; just because something got ‘through” does not necessarily mean that it was the very best we could have done. Many times it just means we got lucky.

    The definition of integrity is the quality or state of being complete or undivided. I like that when you look at the PCB process and the data used. There is a link that connects everything in that design. For example, the datasheet is the foundation of the component; the component is the basis of the schematic, that then feeds into the PCB and also where we get our BOM, from the PCB we get our Fabrication, Assembly Drawings, and of course the Fab/Assy data.

    It still amazes me how what were just colored lines on my screen weeks earlier, is now sitting on my desk as a completed board. It all began with the simple datasheet for that first component, which speaks of the enormous importance of those simple datasheets.

    Conclusion

    I would conclude by saying first; don’t be afraid of change. Change is an essential part of our industry. It is not something to shun, but rather embrace. When we’re not willing to change how we do something, we no longer benefit our companies, but hinder them. This fast-paced industry has no problem with leaving you on the dust pile of history.

    Furthermore, quickly identify the data used in your design process and determine if it is of the highest quality. Almost every problem that I have seen on a PCB design can be directly linked back to the library components. So, begin to fix any issues that may exist on that level.

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium and learn more about making design decisions with ease and confidence.

    About Author

    About Author

    With nearly 40 years in the Electronic industry with 20 of them being in the field of PCB Design and engineering, John has stayed on the cutting edge of the PCB industry as a designer/Engineer and more recently as a trainer and mentor. His primary work has been in the Manufacturing field but it has also expanded to several PCB Service arenas. As a veteran, he proudly served in the Army in the Military Intelligence field. John is a CID Certified PCB designer. Presently pursuing his Advance CID certification. Now as the Senior PCB engineer at Legrand Inc, he leads the PCB Designers and Engineers in various divisions across the United States and China.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home