3D-Drucken und PCB-Design: Aller guten Dinge sind drei

Altium Designer
|  Created: March 30, 2018  |  Updated: December 2, 2020
Mann auf Laptop fliegt durch die Luft

Vom Designtisch über Windkanaltests von Modellen bis hin zum tatsächlichen pilotierten Flug – die Entwicklung der ersten experimentellen Jets erfolgte mit rasanter Geschwindigkeit. In den 1950er Jahren verließen sich Flugzeugkonstrukteure eher auf Rechenschieber und Tafelmathematik als auf Computerverarbeitung und virtuelle Simulationen. Wenn ein Testpilot in ein Cockpit stieg, stieg er in einen ungetesteten Prototyp. Einige Flüge verliefen sehr gut und stellten Geschwindigkeits- und Höhenrekorde auf, bei anderen Flügen war dies nicht der Fall.

Wie beim experimentellen Flug hat sich das PCB-Prototyping in den letzten zehn Jahren signifikant verändert. PCB-Prototypen haben sich von Tonmodellen und Einzelproben zu additiven und subtraktiven Fertigungstechnologien entwickelt, die das Aussehen und die Ausrichtung eines fertigen Teils testen. Fräsen, Bohren, Filmtransfer, Plattieren und Ätzen sind jedoch nach wie vor für die Herstellung eines PCB-Prototyps unabdingbar.

Mit der Konvergenz von PCB-Design und 3D-Druck könnte das Prototyping eine weitere Wendung nehmen.

Die Vorteile des 3D-Druckens ergeben sich aus einem integrierten Ansatz für die mechanischen und PCB-Designprozesse. Auf der mechanischen Seite können Sie die physikalischen Parameter der Platine festlegen. Diese Konvergenz wird durch eine Designentwicklung in der 3D-CAD-Software und die Ausgabe einer 3D-STEP-Datei der fertigen Leiterplatte ermöglicht.

PCB Prototyping und 3D-Drucken

Ein 3D-PCB-Modell kann Befestigungspunkte für die Platine anzeigen. Gleichzeitig kann das PCB-Designteam das physische Layout der Komponenten berücksichtigen. Da Sie die Leiterplatte von der X-, Y- und Z-Achse aus betrachten können, sehen Sie, wie die einzelnen Bauteile in ein Gehäuse passen.

Darüber hinaus kann der 3D-gedruckte Prototyp zeigen, dass die Verbindungspunkte auf die Bauteile ausgerichtet sind. Ein 3D-Modell der Platine hilft auch beim Layout. Sie können den Abstand zwischen den Leiterbahnen und die Komplexität des Layouts sehen. All dies beschleunigt den PCB-Entwicklungszyklus, indem die für das Layout erforderliche Zeit verkürzt und Änderungen an der Platine begrenzt werden. Die Beschleunigung der Entwicklung verkürzt somit auch die Markteinführungszeit für neue Produkte.

3D-Druck für die Fertigung

Die frühen Versuchsflugzeuge fliegen jetzt in Museen und wir werden die Piloten dieser Flugzeuge immer als Legenden und Pioniere betrachten. Ihre Arbeit und die Einführung der verschiedenen Rumpf- und Tragflächenkonstruktionen, der unterschiedlichen Steuerungsmethoden und der bahnbrechenden Triebwerkstechnologien beeinflussen jedoch weiterhin das Flugzeug- und Luftfahrtdesign. Mit einer weiteren Integrationsstufe könnten 3D-gedruckte PCBs aus der Prototypenphase herauswachsen. 

Die Kombination verbesserter 3D-Technologien wie Stereolithographie (SL) und Fused Deposition Modeling (FDM) bietet das Potenzial zur Herstellung eines dielektrischen Substrats und zum Einbetten von Leitern. Die in den 90er Jahren eingeführte Stereolithographie scannt ein UV-empfindliches flüssiges Harz mit einem UV-Laserstrahl. Während der Strahl die Oberfläche abtastet, härtet er das Material, das einem Querschnitt des Produkts entspricht, selektiv aus und baut ein 3D-Teil von unten nach oben auf. Die Stereolithographie bietet eine präzise Oberflächenqualität und eine schnelle Produktion.

3D-Drucken im Produktionsprozess
Ein 3D-Drucker kann während Ihres gesamten Produktentwicklungsprozesses kreativ eingesetzt werden

Das in 3D-Druckern weit verbreitete Fused Deposition Modeling-Verfahren basiert auf einem temperaturgesteuerten Kopf, der thermoplastisches Material Schicht für Schicht ausstößt. FDM ermöglicht die Erstellung komplexer geometrischer Formen. Im Gegensatz zur Stereolithographie hinterlässt FDM auf den 3D-gedruckten Bauteilen eine raue Oberfläche.

Durch die Kombination und Verbesserung dieser Technologien kann beim 3D-Drucken ein Substrat mit Löchern für Durchkontaktierungen auf die erforderliche Dicke drucken. Die Technologien können durch das präzise Drucken von leitfähigen Tinten oder Drähten Leiterbahnen zwischen Komponenten erstellen. Laser Direct Write (LDW)-Technologien verwenden einen Laser, um das Substrat für komplexe Leiterbahnenmuster zu bearbeiten und dann leitfähiges Material bis in den Submillimeter-Bereich zu übertragen. Leitfähige Tinten werden über den Spalt übertragen, um dreidimensionale Pfade zu bilden.

Da LDW-Technologien Metalle, Dielektrika, Ferrite, Polymere, Verbundwerkstoffe und chemisch reaktive Materialien abscheiden können, etabliert LDW auch eine schnelle und wirtschaftliche Methode für die digitale Herstellung von Mikroelektronik und anderen Bauelementen. Die Kombination von LDW mit einer anderen Technologie namens Ultrasonic Additive Manufacturing (UAM) verstärkt die Fähigkeit zur Herstellung eingebetteter elektronischer Komponenten.

UAM-Techniken verbinden Metallfolien der Reihe nach Schicht für Schicht durch Ultraschall-Metallschweißen. Anschließend werden CNC (Computer Numerical Control) oder Laser zum Entfernen von Material verwendet. Dieser additive und subtraktive Herstellungsprozess erzeugt geometrische Freiformformen und ermöglicht es, unterschiedliche Materialien thermisch und mechanisch zu verbinden. UAM ermöglicht das Einbetten von Schaltkreisen in Schutzmetall.

UAM-Herstellungsgerät
UAM-Techniken können die Flexibilität Ihrer Designs fördern

Nicht nur 3D-Drucken lohnt sich, testen Sie 3D-Schnittstellen 

Für die Bewertung von Prototypen sind möglicherweise auch neue Versionen der PCB-Design-Software erforderlich, die von zweidimensionalen PCB-Ansichten zu einer 3D-Ansicht wechseln. Durch die Fähigkeit, funktionale Schaltkreise mit leitenden und dielektrischen Materialien mit 3D-Technologien herzustellen, können Designteams Fehler frühzeitig erkennen, Entscheidungen schneller treffen und die beste Designlösung auswählen.

Durch die Platzierung und das Routing von Komponenten im 3D-Raum können Designs über einfache Schaltkreise hinausgehen. All dies beschleunigt den Entwicklungszyklus. Da schematische Erfassungs-, Simulations- und Entwurfsregelprüfungen in den 3D-Bereich übertragen werden können, ist die Erstellung validierter komplexer Schaltungen möglich.

Die Möglichkeit, integrierte Schaltkreise, Sensoren und passive Geräte einzufügen, forciert den 3D-Druck voll funktionsfähiger Verbrauchergeräte. Das Platzieren von mit Silber beladenen Tinten beim 3D-Druck ist ein gutes Zeichen für den Bau von mehrschichtigen PCBs in 3D. Hochgenaue Technologien können komplexe, detaillierte dielektrische Substrate mit mehreren Lagen von Komponenten und Leiterbahnen erzeugen.

Mit Blick auf die Zukunft können Entwickler mithilfe integrierter 3D- und Testtechniken die mechanische Seite des PCB-Designs ansprechen und gleichzeitig Schaltungssimulationen verwenden, um die Funktionalität sicherzustellen. Die Flexibilität des 3D-Drucks ermöglicht es Herstellern somit, schnell auf sich ändernde Kundenanforderungen zu reagieren.

Mit einer PCB-Design-Software mit erweiterten Funktionen und einer intuitiven Benutzeroberfläche halten Sie sich Ihre Optionen offen, um Ihre Designs an der Seite der kooperativen Technologie-Funktionen zu entwickeln. Durch eine starke Überprüfung der Entwurfsregeln und eine interaktive 3D-Umgebung erhalten Sie mit Altium Designer und Altium 365 genau das, was Sie brauchen.

Wenn Sie mehr über das Design für und die Verwendung von dem 3D-Drucken erfahren möchten, wenden Sie sich noch heute an einen Experten von Altium.

About Author

About Author

PCB Design Tools für Electronics Design und DFM. Informationen für EDA-Führungskräfte.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    3D Printing and PCB Design: Good Things Come in Three

    Altium Designer
    |  March 30, 2018

    Man on laptop flying and blurring

    Early experimental jets from the design table to wind tunnel tests of models to actual piloted flight at a rapid rate. During the 1950s, aircraft designers relied on slide rules and blackboard mathematics rather than computer processing and virtual simulations. When a test pilot climbed into a cockpit, he climbed into an untested prototype. Some flights went very well and set speed and altitude records, while other flights… didn’t.

    As with experimental flight, PCB prototyping has changed from the type of prototyping that we saw ten years ago. PCB prototypes have progressed from clay models and one-off samples to additive and subtractive manufacturing technologies that test the appearance and alignment of a completed part. However, the process of producing a PCB prototype still requires milling, drilling, film transfer, plating, and etching.

    Prototyping may take another turn with the convergence of PCB design and 3D printing.

    The advantages seen with 3D printing occur through an integrated approach to the mechanical and the PCB design processes. On the mechanical side, you can establish the physical parameters of the board. This convergence becomes possible with design development in 3D-Cad software and the output of a 3D step file of the completed PCB.

    PCB Prototyping and 3D Printing

    A 3D printed model of the PCB can show attachment points for the board. At the same time, the PCB design team can consider the physical layout of components. The ability to look at the PCB from the X, Y and Z axes allows you to see how parts fit into an enclosure.

    In addition, the 3D printed prototype can show that connection points align with the parts. Having a 3D model of the PCB also assists with the layout. You can see the distance between the traces and the complexity of the layout. All this accelerates the PCB development cycle by cutting the time needed for layout and limiting changes to the circuit board. Accelerating development also decreases the time-to-market for new products.

    3D Printing for Manufacturing

    The early experimental planes fly in museums now. We will always look at the pilots of those planes as legends and pioneers. Yet, their work and the introduction of the different fuselage and wing designs, distinctive control methods, and breakthrough engine technologies continue to influence aircraft and aerospace design. Another level of integration could push 3D printed PCBs past the prototype stage.

    Combining enhanced 3D technologies—such as stereolithography (SL) and fused disposition modeling (FDM) offers the potential for fabricating a dielectric substrate and embedding conductors. Introduced during the 1990s, stereolithography scans a UV-sensitive liquid resin with a UV laser beam. As the beam scans the surface, it selectively hardens the material corresponding to a cross-section of the product and builds a 3D part from bottom to top. Stereolithography provides precise surface quality and quick production.

    3D printer in use during manufacturing
    A 3D printer can be used creatively throughout your product development process

    Widely used in 3D printers, fused disposition modeling relies on a temperature controlled head that extrudes thermoplastic material layer by layer. FDM allows the building of complex geometric shapes. In contrast to stereolithography, FDM leaves a rough surface on the 3D-printed components.

    Combining and enhancing those technologies allows 3D printing to print a substrate to a required thickness with holes for vias. The technologies can use the precise printing of conductive inks or wires to build traces between components. Laser Direct Write (LDW) technologies use a laser to micro-machine the substrate for complex trace patterns and then transfer conductive material into the sub-millimeter trenches. Conductive inks transfer across the gap to form three-dimensional paths.

    Because laser direct write technologies can deposit metals, dielectrics, ferrites, polymers, composites, and chemically reactive materials, LDW also establishes a fast and economical method for the digital fabrication of microelectronics and other devices. Combining LDW with another technology called ultrasonic additive manufacturing (UAM) further reinforces the capability to fabricate embedded electronic components.

    Ultrasonic additive manufacturing (UAM) techniques sequentially bond metal foils together layer-by-layer through ultrasonic metal welding. Then, the process uses Computer Numerical Control (CNC) or lasers to remove material. This additive and subtractive manufacturing process produces free-form geometric shapes and the capability to thermally and mechanically bond dissimilar materials. UAM allows the embedding of circuits within protective metal.

    UAM manufacturing device
    UAM techniques can help encourage flexibility in your designs

    3D Isn’t Only for Printing, try 3D Interfaces

    Evaluating prototypes may also require new versions of PCB design software that move from two-dimensional views of a PCB to a 3D view. The ability to produce functional circuits that include conductive and dielectric materials with 3D technologies allows design teams to see errors early in the process, make decisions quicker, and select the best design solution.

    Component placement and routing occurring in the 3D space allows designs to move beyond simple circuits. All this speeds the development cycle. The capability to translate schematic capture, simulation, and design rule testing in the 3D sphere adds to the possibility of producing validated complex circuits.

    The capability to insert integrated circuits, sensors and passive devices pushes towards the 3D printing of fully-functional consumer devices. Placing silver-loaded inks within 3D printing bodes well for building multilayer PCBs in 3D. Highly accurate technologies can create complex, detailed dielectric substrates that have multiple layers of components and traces.

    Looking further, integrated 3D and testing techniques will allow designers to address the mechanical side of PCB design while using circuit simulations to ensure functionality. The flexibility given through 3D printing will allow manufacturers to respond quickly to changing customer needs.

    What PCB design software with advanced features and an intuitive interface can accomplish for you and your designs is keeping your options open to develop alongside the cooperative capabilities of technology. With strong design rule checking and an interactive 3D environment, you’ll be sure to get what you need with Altium Designer

    If you’d like to find our more about how to design and utilize for a 3D printing environment, talk to an expert at Altium today

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home