Migration PCB de bibliothèques Altium 365 : Comment ça marche et à quoi ça sert

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: July 15, 2020  |  Updated: September 30, 2020
Faire le transfert de vos fichiers PCB grâce à une migration de toutes vos bases de données est une étape essentielle de conception de circuit imprimé.

Vos bibliothèques sont la pierre angulaire de vos projets de conception de PCB. Sans elles, vous ne pouvez pas charger des empreintes personnalisées, accéder à des symboles schématiques, ou bien d'autres éléments encore pour vos projets de PCB. Lorsque vous devez partager des projets ou des données de composants existants avec votre équipe, quel est le moyen le plus simple d'obtenir les données dont vous avez besoin sans passer par de longues chaînes d’e-mails ?

Avant de travailler avec Altium 365, nous étions obligés d'utiliser des outils comme Slack, la messagerie électronique, un serveur FTP, Dropbox, Skype et même Google Drive pour le stockage des données. Ces outils ont tous leur place dans l'écosystème du travail à distance et de la collaboration, mais ils rendent très difficile le suivi des composants, des bibliothèques et des autres données. Au fil des modifications et des téléchargements des noms de fichiers sur votre compte Dropbox ou votre serveur FTP, votre historique des nouvelles versions devient de plus en plus difficile à suivre, voire impossible.

Grâce aux outils de partage de données d'Altium 365, il est extrêmement facile de réaliser la migration PCB de placer tous vos composants dans un seul référentiel. Cela inclut les modèles CAO des fabricants, que vous avez peut-être téléchargés sur Octopart, un service de création de pièces, ou un référentiel GitHub. Les autres concepteurs de votre équipe peuvent alors accéder et télécharger les composants dont ils ont besoin dans une nouvelle bibliothèque pour les utiliser dans de nouveaux projets. Voici comment cela fonctionne avec Altium Designer et la plateforme Altium 365.

Les bibliothèques sont maintenant toutes disponibles en version numérique. Il devrait en être de même pour vos bibliothèques de composants de PCB.
Les bibliothèques sont maintenant toutes disponibles en version numérique. Il devrait en être de même pour vos bibliothèques de composants de PCB.

Partage de bibliothèques ou partage de composants et partage de projet

Dans un blog précédent, j'ai examiné comment utiliser les fonctionnalités de publication du projet pour réutiliser les données des composants via Altium Concord Pro et Altium Designer. Tout cela est possible grâce à la plateforme Altium 365 qui utilise le panneau d'exploration Altium Designer, qui vous permet de stocker vos données de conception dans un référentiel en ligne sécurisé. Trois méthodes sont disponibles.

  • Création des composants. Vous pouvez créer et stocker des composants individuels via le panneau d'exploration, qui peuvent ensuite être instantanément importés dans de nouveaux projets. 
  • Validation des versions de projet. Lorsque vous créez une version de projet, toutes les données de conception peuvent être mises à la disposition des collaborateurs, y compris vos symboles schématiques et vos bibliothèques d'empreintes de PCB. Les collaborateurs peuvent ensuite télécharger les bibliothèques à partir de la version du projet et les réutiliser dans d'autres projets. 
  • Migration PCB de bibliothèques. Une bibliothèque individuelle peut être ajoutée à votre espace de travail via le panneau d'exploration dans Altium Designer. Plutôt que de télécharger des bibliothèques entières, un concepteur peut télécharger des composants individuels ou des groupes de composants pour les utiliser dans de nouveaux projets. 

Examinons le dernier point ci-dessus, qui fournit un moyen simple de stocker et d'accéder aux données des composants via le panneau d'exploration dans Altium Designer.

Création d’un référentiel de bibliothèques

Pour créer un nouveau référentiel de composants, il suffit de vous connecter à votre espace de travail et d'ouvrir le panneau d'exploration. Sur le côté gauche de l'écran, une liste des dossiers gérés est affichée dans votre espace de travail. Faites un clic droit n'importe où dans cette liste et sélectionnez : Ajouter un dossier de haut niveau → Autre type de dossier. D'ici, vous verrez une fenêtre de création de dossier, comme indiqué ci-dessous. Dans le menu déroulant Type de dossier, vous pourrez sélectionner le type de dossier dont vous avez besoin pour stocker des types de données spécifiques utilisés dans Altium Designer. Pour vos empreintes de PCB, il suffit de sélectionner « Empreintes » dans la liste déroulante.

 

Altium 365 library migration for schematic symbols
Création d'un dossier géré pour les empreintes de PCB dans votre espace de travail.

Donnez à ce dossier le nom que vous souhaitez. Notez que vous pouvez créer plusieurs dossiers pour différents composants. À partir de la liste ci-dessus, vous pouvez également créer un dossier géré pour les empreintes de PCB, les modèles de simulation, les modèles de nomenclature et tout autre type de fichier dont vous avez besoin.

Après avoir créé votre dossier géré, vous pouvez commencer à créer des composants individuels directement à partir de cette fenêtre. Vous pouvez également migrer toute une bibliothèque de schématiques ou une bibliothèque d'empreintes de PCB dans votre espace de travail via cette fenêtre. Pour migrer une bibliothèque, cliquez sur le lien Ajouter une nouvelle bibliothèque et sélectionnez Télécharger. Ensuite, vous pouvez faire glisser une bibliothèque dans la zone de téléchargement. Dès que vous cliquez sur OK, Altium Designer analyse votre bibliothèque et vous donne la possibilité de corriger toutes les erreurs d'empreintes manquantes avant de transmettre les données de votre bibliothèque à votre espace de travail.

Migration PCB d’empreintes Avant de terminer votre migration de PCB, vous remarquerez qu'Altium Designer essaie d'attribuer des catégories à vos composants. Vous pouvez modifier la catégorisation automatique en cliquant sur le bouton Avancé. Vous pouvez appliquer un schématique de dénomination des composants, des  définitions de cycle de vie, et un schématique de dénomination des révisions à votre bibliothèque migrée. L'image ci-dessous montre la migration PCB de ma bibliothèque d'empreintes de PCB terminée vers Altium 365.

 

PCB Footprint Library Migration and Altium 365
Empreintes PCB migrées grâce au transfert de fichiers facilité par Altium Designer

Pour en savoir plus sur les options avancées de migration de PCB et des bibliothèques, consultez ce document technique

Migration PCB :  Symboles de schématiques

Notez que vous pouvez également utiliser le même processus pour migrer des symboles schématiques dans votre espace de travail Altium 365. Pour cela, sélectionnez l'option Symboles dans la liste déroulante de la boîte de dialogue Ajouter un dossier. Un avertissement peut apparaître pendant le processus de migration de PCB, qui identifiera les empreintes qui ne peuvent être liées à un symbole. C'est normal. Altium Designer télécharge toujours les symboles dans votre espace de travail, et les symboles sont toujours accessibles via le panneau d'exploration.

Téléchargement et réutilisation des données sur les composants

Après la migration de PCB et des bibliothèques vers votre espace de travail, vous pouvez accéder aux données des composants via l'instance web d'Altium Concord Pro, ou par le panneau d'exploration d'Altium Designer. Dans les deux cas, vous pouvez sélectionner un groupe de symboles ou d'empreintes que vous souhaitez télécharger. Après le téléchargement des données dont vous avez besoin, elles peuvent être enregistrées sur votre machine locale sous forme de fichier PcbLib (pour les empreintes de PCB) ou de fichier SchLib (pour les symboles schématiques).

Pour ce faire, via Altium Designer, naviguez jusqu'au dossier « Symboles ou Empreintes » que vous avez géré et mettez en évidence le groupe de composants dont vous avez besoin. Il suffit de faire un clic droit sur le groupe de composants et de sélectionner Opérations → Télécharger. Un dialogue d'enregistrement de fichier s’affiche. Après avoir saisi un nom de fichier et cliqué sur « Enregistrer », les données des composants seront téléchargées sur votre machine locale et peuvent être importées dans tout nouveau projet Altium Designer. L'image ci-dessous montre les étapes à suivre pour télécharger des groupes de composants dans un nouveau fichier de bibliothèque.

Library Migration and Altium 365
Téléchargement pendant le transfert de fichiers de PCB avec les données des composants dans un nouveau fichier SchLib.

Dans l'image ci-dessous, j'ai ouvert mon fichier SchLib téléchargé sur ma machine locale dans Altium Designer. Vous pouvez utiliser ces symboles pour créer de nouveaux composants dans le panneau d'exploration ou avec les outils de création de pièces standard dans Altium Designer. Il suffit de sélectionner les symboles ou les empreintes que vous souhaitez utiliser lors de la création des composants.

Library Migration and Altium 365
Téléchargement pendant le transfert de fichier PCB avec des données des composants dans un nouveau fichier SchLib.

Enfin, vous pouvez attribuer des statuts de révision et des statuts de cycle de vie à vos composants après avoir migré vos données. Si vos données sur les composants comprenaient à l'origine des informations sur les sources d'approvisionnement, elles seront visibles dans vos outils de gestion de la chaîne d'approvisionnement et peuvent être importées dans votre nomenclature lorsque vous créez une version du projet. Les exemples d’étapes ci-dessus fournissent un moyen simple de compiler rapidement de nouvelles bibliothèques de symboles et d'empreintes directement à partir des données stockées sur un serveur partagé.

Vous avez passé beaucoup de temps à perfectionner vos composants, et le processus de migration de PCB et des bibliothèques Altium 365 vous offre un moyen simple de stocker vos composants pour les utiliser dans de futurs projets. Plutôt que d'envoyer des copies de bibliothèques par e-mail à votre équipe de conception, utilisez simplement les fonctionnalités présentées dans ce tutoriel Altium Designer.

Altium Concord Pro sur Altium 365 apporte un niveau d'intégration sans précédent à l'industrie électronique qui était jusqu'alors reléguée au monde du développement logiciel, permettant aux concepteurs de travailler depuis leur domicile et d'atteindre des niveaux d'efficacité sans précédent.

Nous n'avons fait qu'effleurer la surface de ce qu'il est possible de faire avec Altium Designer sur Altium 365. Vous pouvez consulter sur la Page Produits des descriptions détaillées des caractéristiques ou accéder à l'un des webinaires à la demande.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson possède une vaste expérience technique dans le milieu universitaire et industriel. Avant de travailler dans l'industrie des PCB, il a enseigné à la Portland State University. Il a dirigé son M.S. recherche sur les capteurs de gaz chimisorptifs et son doctorat en physique appliquée, recherche sur la théorie et la stabilité du laser aléatoire. Son expérience en recherche scientifique couvre des sujets tels que les lasers à nanoparticules, les dispositifs électroniques et optoélectroniques à semi-conducteurs, les systèmes environnementaux et l'analyse financière. Ses travaux ont été publiés dans diverses revues spécialisées et actes de conférences et il a écrit des centaines de blogs techniques sur la conception de PCB pour de nombreuses entreprises. Zachariah travaille avec d'autres sociétés de PCB fournissant des services de conception et de recherche. Il est membre de l'IEEE Photonics Society et de l'American Physical Society

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Altium 365 Library Migration: How it Works and Why You Should Use It

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  July 15, 2020
    Altium 365 Library Migration: How it Works and Why You Should Use It

    Your libraries are the cornerstone of your PCB design projects. Without them, you wouldn’t be able to load up custom footprints, access schematic symbols, or much else for your PCB projects. When you need to share projects or existing component data with your team, what’s the easiest way to get the data you need without creating long email chains?

    Before working with Altium 365, we were stuck using tools like Slack, email, an FTP server, Dropbox, Skype, and even Google Drive for data storage. These tools all have their place in the remote work and collaboration ecosystem, but they make tracking of components, libraries, and other data very difficult. As soon as a file name is changed and uploaded to your Dropbox account or FTP server, you’ve created a new version history that can be impossible to track.

    With the data sharing tools in Altium 365, it’s extremely easy to place all your components in a single repository. This includes manufacturer CAD models, which you might have downloaded from Octopart, a parts creation service, or a GitHub repository. Other designers on your team can then access your components and download the components they need into a new library for use in new projects. Here’s how this works through Altium Designer using the Altium 365 platform.

    Altium 365 library migration
    Libraries have gone all digital, and the same should apply to your component libraries for your PCBs.

    Library Sharing vs. Component Sharing and Project Sharing

    In an earlier blog, I looked at how you can use the project release features to reuse component data through Altium Concord Pro and Altium Designer. This is all enabled through the Altium 365 platform, which allows you to store your design data in a secure online repository. You can do this in three ways:

    • Component creation. You can create and store individual components using the standard features in Altium Designer, and you can add these components to your Workspace from the Projects Panel. Components can then be accessed through the Components Panel in Altium Designer or through your web interface. 
    • Through Project releases. When you create a project release, all the design data can be made available to collaborators, including your schematic symbols and PCB footprint libraries. Collaborators can then download the libraries from the project release and reuse them in other projects. 
    • Library migration. An individual library can be added to your Workspace through the Explorer Panel in Altium Designer. Rather than downloading entire libraries, a designer can download individual components or groups of components for use in new projects. 

    When we first start working on a project for a customer, they will often just send PcbLib and SchLib files for us to use in the project. A quick way to get data in these libraries to your designers while making them easily accessible in other projects is to do a library migration. You can use Altium 365 to store footprints and symbols, and your collaborators can bring these into a projects within Altium Designer using the Components Panel.

    Creating a Library Repository

    To create a new repository for your components, simply connect to your Workspace and open up the Explorer Panel. On the left side of the screen, you’ll see a list of managed folders currently in your workspace. Right-click anywhere in this list and select Add Top Level Folder → Other Folder Type. From here, you’ll see a folder creation window, as shown in the window below. In the Folder Type dropdown menu, you’ll be able to select the folder type you need to store specific data types used in Altium Designer. For your PCB footprints, simply select the Footprints entry from the drop-down list.

    Altium 365 library migration for schematic symbols
    Creating a new managed folder for PCB footprints in your Workspace.

    Give this folder any name you like. Note that you can create multiple folders for different components. From the above list, you can also create a managed folder for PCB footprints, simulation models, BOM templates, and any other file type you need to access.

    Once you’ve created your managed folder, you can start creating individual components directly from this window. You can also migrate an entire schematic library or PCB footprint library into your Workspace through this window. To migrate a library, click the Add New link and select Upload. From here, you can drag a library into the upload area. Once you click OK, Altium Designer will analyze your library and give you a chance to correct any missing footprint errors before you commit your library data to your Workspace.

    PCB Footprint Migration

    Before you finish your migration, you’ll notice that Altium Designer will try to assign categories to your components. You can modify the automated categorization by clicking on the Advanced button. You can apply a component naming scheme, lifecycle definitions, and revision naming scheme to your migrated library. The image below shows my finished PCB footprint library migration into Altium 365.

    PCB Footprint Library Migration and Altium 365
    Migrated PCB footprints.

    Schematic Symbol Migration

    Note that you can also use the same process to migrate schematic symbols into your Altium 365 Workspace; simply select the Symbols option from the drop-down list in the Add Folder dialog. You may see a warning appear during this process, which will tell you no footprint can be linked to the symbol. This is okay; Altium Designer will still upload the symbols to your Workspace.

    Downloading and Reusing Component Data as Library Files

    Once you’ve migrated your libraries to your Workspace, you can access component data through the Altium 365/Concord Pro web instance, or through the Explorer Panel in Altium Designer. If you've created components from the data in these libraries, you can also access these parts through the Components Panel in Altium Designer.

    However, there may be a time when you still need to send a library file to a collaborator or client. In this case, you need to download component data from your Workspace as an SchLib file or PcbLib file. If you go into your Workspace through the web instance or the Explorer panel, you can still download a specific set of symbols or footprints as library files and hand these off to another designer. Once you select the data you need, it can be saved to your local machine as a PcbLib file (for PCB footprints) or as a SchLib file (for schematic symbols).

    To do this through Altium Designer, navigate to your managed Symbols or Footprints folder and highlight the group of components you need. Simply right-click on the group of components and select Operations → Download. You’ll see a file save dialog open. Once you enter a filename and click Save, the component data will be downloaded to your local machine and can be imported into any new Altium Designer project. The image below shows a typical footprint for a 6-pin connector that would be used for multiple sensors. Other symbols have selected for download as well.

    Library Migration and Altium 365
    Downloading component data into a new SchLib file.

    In the image below, I’ve opened up my downloaded SchLib file on my local machine in Altium Designer. You can use these symbols to create brand new components within the Explorer Panel or with the standard parts creation tools in Altium Designer. Simply select the symbols or footprints you want to use during component creation.

    Library Migration and Altium 365
    Downloading component data into a new SchLib file.

    Finally, you can assign revision statuses and lifecycle statuses to your components after you’ve migrated your data. If your component data originally included sourcing information, it will be visible within your supply chain management tools and can be imported into your bill of materials when you create a project release. The steps shown above provide a simple way to quickly compile new symbol and footprint libraries directly from data stored on a shared server.

    Working With IntLib Files? Use the Library Migrator Utility

    If you have a large number of libraries, or you're using integrated libraries (IntLib files) to store components, you can easily add batches of components (symbols + footprints) to your Workspace. Once these components are in your Workspace, you can access these components through the Components Panel in Altium Designer and start placing them in your design documents. To learn more about this process for library migration, take a look at this tech doc for guidance.

    You’ve spent plenty of time making your components perfect, and the Altium 365 Library Migration process provides a simple way to store your components for use in future projects. Rather than emailing copies of libraries to your design team, simply use the features shown in this tutorial within Altium Designer.

    Altium Designer on Altium 365 is bringing an unprecedented amount of integration to the electronics industry until now relegated to the world of software development, allowing designers to work from home and reach unprecedented levels of efficiency.

    We have only scratched the surface of what is possible to do with Altium Designer on Altium 365. You can check the product page for a more in-depth feature description or one of the On-Demand Webinars.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home