Altium 365 Bibliotheksmigration: Wie sie funktioniert und warum Sie sie nutzen sollten

Zachariah Peterson
|  Erstellt: October 30, 2021
Altium 365 Bibliotheksmigration: Wie sie funktioniert und warum Sie sie nutzen sollten

Ihre Bibliotheken sind die Grundpfeiler für Ihre PCB-Designprojekte. Ohne Ihre Bibliotheken könnten Sie keine benutzerdefinierten Footprints laden, auf Schaltplansymbole zugreifen und vieles mehr. Wenn Sie Projekte oder vorhandene Komponentendaten mit Ihrem Team austauschen müssen, wie erhalten Sie dann am einfachsten die benötigten Daten, ohne lange E-Mail-Ketten zu erstellen?

Bevor wir mit Altium 365 gearbeitet haben, waren wir auf Tools wie Slack, E-Mail, einen FTP-Server, Dropbox, Skype und sogar Google Drive zur Datenspeicherung angewiesen. Diese Tools haben alle ihren Platz im Ökosystem der Remote-Arbeit und Zusammenarbeit, aber sie machen die Nachverfolgung von Komponenten, Bibliotheken und anderen Daten sehr schwierig. Sobald ein Dateiname geändert und auf Ihr Dropbox-Konto oder Ihren FTP-Server hochgeladen wird, haben Sie einen neuen Versionsverlauf erstellt, der unter Umständen nicht mehr nachvollziehbar ist.

Mit den Tools für Daten-Sharing in Altium 365 können Sie all Ihre Komponenten ganz einfach in einem einzigen Repository ablegen. Dazu gehören auch die CAD-Modelle, die Sie vielleicht von Octopart, einem Service zur Erstellung von Bauteilen, oder einem GitHub-Repository heruntergeladen haben. Andere Designer in Ihrem Team können dann auf Ihre Komponenten zugreifen und die benötigten Komponenten in eine neue Bibliothek herunterladen, um sie in neuen Projekten zu verwenden. In diesem Artikel erkläre ich, wie Sie Altium Designer und die Altium 365 Plattform hierfür nutzen.

Altium 365-Bibliotheksmigration
Viele Bibliotheken sind inzwischen komplett digital, und dasselbe sollte auch für die Bauteilbibliotheken für Ihre Leiterplatten gelten.

Bibliotheken-Sharing vs. Komponenten- und Projekt-Sharing

In einem anderen Artikel habe ich Ihnen gezeigt, wie Sie die Projektfreigabefunktionen nutzen können, um Bauteildaten mit Altium Concord Pro und Altium Designer wiederzuverwenden. Dies wird durch die Altium 365-Plattform ermöglicht, mit der Sie Ihre Designdaten in einem sicheren Online-Repository speichern können. Sie haben drei Möglichkeiten:

  • Erstellung von Komponenten. Sie können einzelne Komponenten mit den Standardfunktionen von Altium Designer erstellen und speichern und diese Komponenten über das Projects Panel zu Ihrem Arbeitsbereich hinzufügen. Auf die Komponenten können Sie dann über das Components Panel in Altium Designer oder über Ihre Weboberfläche zugreifen.
  • Durch Projektfreigaben. Wenn Sie eine Projektfreigabe erstellen, können alle Designdaten, einschließlich Ihrer Schaltplansymbole und PCB-Footprint-Bibliotheken, dem gesamten Team zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Alle Mitarbeitenden können dann die Bibliotheken aus der Projektfreigabe herunterladen und sie in anderen Projekten wiederverwenden.
  • Bibliotheksmigration. Eine einzelne Bibliothek kann über das Explorer Panel in Altium Designer zu Ihrem Arbeitsbereich hinzugefügt werden. Anstatt ganze Bibliotheken herunterzuladen, können Designer einzelne Komponenten oder Komponentengruppen zur Verwendung in neuen Projekten herunterladen.

Wenn wir zum ersten Mal an einem Projekt für einen Kunden arbeiten, erhalten wir oft nur PcbLib- und SchLib-Dateien, die wir in dem Projekt verwenden sollen. Eine schnelle Möglichkeit, um die Daten in diesen Bibliotheken Ihren Designern zur Verfügung zu stellen und sie gleichzeitig in anderen Projekten leicht zugänglich zu machen, ist eine Bibliotheksmigration. Sie können Altium 365 verwenden, um Footprints und Symbole zu speichern, und Ihr Team kann diese dann über das Components Panel in ein Projekt in Altium Designer laden.

Ein Bibliotheks-Repository erstellen

Um ein neues Repository für Ihre Komponenten zu erstellen, gehen Sie einfach zu Ihrem Arbeitsbereich und öffnen Sie das Explorer Panel. Auf der linken Seite des Bildschirms sehen Sie eine Liste der verwalteten Ordner, die sich derzeit in Ihrem Arbeitsbereich befinden. Klicken Sie mit der rechten Maustaste auf eine beliebige Stelle in dieser Liste und wählen Sie „Add Top Level Folder“ (Ordner der obersten Ebene hinzufügen) → „Other Folder Type“ (Anderer Ordnertyp). Dann sehen Sie ein Fenster zum Erstellen von Ordnern, wie unten gezeigt. Im Dropdown-Menü „Folder Type“ können Sie den Ordnertyp auswählen, den Sie zum Speichern bestimmter in Altium Designer verwendeter Datentypen benötigen. Für Ihre PCB-Footprints wählen Sie einfach den Eintrag „Footprints“ aus der Dropdown-Liste.

Altium 365 Bibliotheksmigration für Schaltplansymbole
Erstellen Sie einen neuen verwalteten Ordner für PCB-Footprints in Ihrem Arbeitsbereich.

Geben Sie diesem Ordner einen beliebigen Namen. Beachten Sie, dass Sie mehrere Ordner für verschiedene Komponenten erstellen können. Aus der obigen Liste können Sie auch einen verwalteten Ordner für PCB-Footprints, Simulationsmodelle, Stücklistenvorlagen und jeden anderen Dateityp erstellen, auf den Sie zugreifen müssen.

Sobald Sie Ihren verwalteten Ordner erstellt haben, können Sie direkt von diesem Fenster aus mit der Erstellung einzelner Komponenten beginnen. Sie können über dieses Fenster auch eine ganze Schaltplanbibliothek oder PCB-Footprint-Bibliothek in Ihren Arbeitsbereich migrieren. Um eine Bibliothek zu migrieren, klicken Sie auf den Link „Add new“ (Neu hinzufügen) und wählen Sie „Upload“ (Hochladen). Dann können Sie eine Bibliothek in den Upload-Bereich ziehen. Sobald Sie auf „OK“ klicken, analysiert Altium Designer Ihre Bibliothek und gibt Ihnen die Möglichkeit, fehlende Footprint-Fehler zu korrigieren, bevor Sie die Bibliotheksdaten in Ihren Arbeitsbereich übertragen.

PCB Footprint-Migration

Bevor Sie Ihre Migration abschließen, werden Sie feststellen, dass Altium Designer versucht, Ihren Komponenten bestimmte Kategorien zuzuweisen. Sie können die automatische Kategorisierung ändern, indem Sie auf die Schaltfläche „Advanced“ (Erweitert) klicken. Hier können Sie ein Benennungsschema für Komponenten, Lebenszyklusdefinitionen und ein Benennungsschema für Revisionen auf Ihre migrierte Bibliothek anwenden. Das Bild unten zeigt die fertige Migration meiner PCB-Footprint-Bibliothek in Altium 365.

PCB Footprint Bibliotheksmigration und Altium 365
Migrierte PCB-Footprints.

Migration von Schaltsymbolen

Beachten Sie, dass Sie den gleichen Prozess auch nutzen können, um Schaltplansymbole in Ihren Altium 365 Workspace zu migrieren. Wählen Sie einfach die Option „Symbols“ (Symbole) aus der Dropdown-Liste im Dialogfeld „Add Folder“ (Ordner hinzufügen). Möglicherweise wird während dieses Vorgangs eine Warnung angezeigt, die Sie darauf hinweist, dass kein Footprint mit dem Symbol verknüpft werden kann. Das ist in Ordnung; Altium Designer wird die Symbole trotzdem in Ihren Arbeitsbereich hochladen.

Komponentendaten als Bibliotheksdateien herunterladen und wiederverwenden

Sobald Sie Ihre Bibliotheken in Ihren Arbeitsbereich migriert haben, können Sie über die Webinstanz von Altium 365/Concord Pro oder über das Explorer Panel in Altium Designer auf die Bauteildaten zugreifen. Wenn Sie aus den Daten in diesen Bibliotheken Bauteile erstellt haben, können Sie über das Components Panel in Altium Designer auch auf diese Bauteile zugreifen.

Es kann jedoch vorkommen, dass Sie dennoch eine Bibliotheksdatei an einen Mitarbeiter oder Kunden senden müssen. In diesem Fall müssen Sie die Komponentendaten aus Ihrem Arbeitsbereich als SchLib- oder PcbLib-Datei herunterladen. Wenn Sie über die Webinstanz oder das Explorer-Panel auf Ihren Arbeitsbereich zugreifen, können Sie weiterhin einen bestimmten Satz von Symbolen oder Footprints als Bibliotheksdateien herunterladen und diese an einen anderen Designer weitergeben. Sobald Sie die benötigten Daten ausgewählt haben, können Sie diese auf Ihrem lokalen Rechner als PcbLib-Datei (für PCB-Footprints) oder als SchLib-Datei (für Schaltplansymbole) speichern.

Um dies mit Altium Designer zu tun, gehen Sie zu Ihrem verwalteten Ordner „Symbols“ oder „Footprints“ und markieren die Komponentengruppe, die Sie benötigen. Klicken Sie einfach mit der rechten Maustaste auf die Gruppe und wählen Sie „Operations“ → „Download“. Es öffnet sich ein Dialog zum Speichern der Datei. Sobald Sie einen Dateinamen eingeben und auf Speichern klicken, werden die Komponentendaten auf Ihren lokalen Rechner heruntergeladen und können in jedes neue Altium Designer-Projekt importiert werden. Das Bild unten zeigt einen typischen Footprint für einen 6-poligen Anschluss, der für mehrere Sensoren verwendet werden kann. Andere Symbole sind ebenfalls zum Download ausgewählt.

Bibliotheksmigration und Altium 365
Herunterladen von Komponentendaten in eine neue SchLib-Datei.

In der Abbildung unten habe ich meine heruntergeladene SchLib-Datei auf meinem lokalen Rechner in Altium Designer geöffnet. Sie können diese Symbole verwenden, um brandneue Bauteile im Explorer Panel oder mit den Standardtools zur Bauteilerstellung in Altium Designer zu erstellen. Wählen Sie einfach die Symbole oder Footprints aus, die Sie bei der Bauteilerstellung verwenden möchten.

Bibliotheksmigration und Altium 365
Herunterladen von Komponentendaten in eine neue SchLib-Datei.

Abschließend können Sie Ihren Komponenten nach der Migration Ihrer Daten Revisionsstände und einen Lebenszyklusstatus zuweisen. Wenn Ihre Komponentendaten ursprünglich Beschaffungsinformationen enthielten, sind diese in Ihren Tools zur Verwaltung der Lieferkette sichtbar und können in Ihre Stückliste importiert werden, wenn Sie eine Projektfreigabe erstellen. Die oben gezeigten Schritte bieten eine einfache Möglichkeit, um neue Symbol- und Footprint-Bibliotheken direkt aus den Daten zu kompilieren, die auf einem gemeinsamen Server gespeichert sind.

Arbeiten Sie mit IntLib-Dateien? Nutzen Sie die Bibliotheksmigration

Wenn Sie über eine große Anzahl von Bibliotheken verfügen oder integrierte Bibliotheken (IntLib-Dateien) verwenden, um Komponenten zu speichern, können Sie Ihrem Arbeitsbereich problemlos Komponentenstapel (Symbole + Footprints) hinzufügen. Sobald sich diese Komponenten in Ihrem Arbeitsbereich befinden, können Sie über das Components Panel in Altium Designer auf diese Komponenten zugreifen und sie in Ihren Designdokumenten platzieren. Wenn Sie mehr über diesen Prozess der Bibliotheksmigration erfahren möchten, werfen Sie einen Blick auf diese technische Dokumentation.

Sie haben viel Zeit damit verbracht, Ihre Komponenten zu perfektionieren. Die Altium 365-Bibliotheksmigration bietet eine einfache Möglichkeit, um Ihre Komponenten zur Wiederverwendung in zukünftigen Projekten zu speichern. Anstatt Kopien der Bibliotheken per E-Mail an Ihr Designteam zu senden, nutzen Sie einfach die in diesem Artikel gezeigten Funktionen in Altium Designer.

Altium Designer auf Altium 365 bietet eine beispiellose Integration für die Elektronikindustrie, die bisher der Welt der Softwareentwicklung vorenthalten war. So können Designer von zu Hause arbeiten und ein noch nie dagewesenes Maß an Effizienz erreichen.

Wir haben nur an der Oberfläche dessen gekratzt, was mit Altium Designer auf Altium 365 möglich ist. Eine ausführlichere Beschreibung der Funktionen finden Sie auf der Produktseite oder in einem der On-Demand Webinare.

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Altium 365 Library Migration: How it Works and Why You Should Use It

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  July 15, 2020
    Altium 365 Library Migration: How it Works and Why You Should Use It

    Your libraries are the cornerstone of your PCB design projects. Without them, you wouldn’t be able to load up custom footprints, access schematic symbols, or much else for your PCB projects. When you need to share projects or existing component data with your team, what’s the easiest way to get the data you need without creating long email chains?

    Before working with Altium 365, we were stuck using tools like Slack, email, an FTP server, Dropbox, Skype, and even Google Drive for data storage. These tools all have their place in the remote work and collaboration ecosystem, but they make tracking of components, libraries, and other data very difficult. As soon as a file name is changed and uploaded to your Dropbox account or FTP server, you’ve created a new version history that can be impossible to track.

    With the data sharing tools in Altium 365, it’s extremely easy to place all your components in a single repository. This includes manufacturer CAD models, which you might have downloaded from Octopart, a parts creation service, or a GitHub repository. Other designers on your team can then access your components and download the components they need into a new library for use in new projects. Here’s how this works through Altium Designer using the Altium 365 platform.

    Altium 365 library migration
    Libraries have gone all digital, and the same should apply to your component libraries for your PCBs.

    Library Sharing vs. Component Sharing and Project Sharing

    In an earlier blog, I looked at how you can use the project release features to reuse component data through Altium Concord Pro and Altium Designer. This is all enabled through the Altium 365 platform, which allows you to store your design data in a secure online repository. You can do this in three ways:

    • Component creation. You can create and store individual components using the standard features in Altium Designer, and you can add these components to your Workspace from the Projects Panel. Components can then be accessed through the Components Panel in Altium Designer or through your web interface. 
    • Through Project releases. When you create a project release, all the design data can be made available to collaborators, including your schematic symbols and PCB footprint libraries. Collaborators can then download the libraries from the project release and reuse them in other projects. 
    • Library migration. An individual library can be added to your Workspace through the Explorer Panel in Altium Designer. Rather than downloading entire libraries, a designer can download individual components or groups of components for use in new projects. 

    When we first start working on a project for a customer, they will often just send PcbLib and SchLib files for us to use in the project. A quick way to get data in these libraries to your designers while making them easily accessible in other projects is to do a library migration. You can use Altium 365 to store footprints and symbols, and your collaborators can bring these into a projects within Altium Designer using the Components Panel.

    Creating a Library Repository

    To create a new repository for your components, simply connect to your Workspace and open up the Explorer Panel. On the left side of the screen, you’ll see a list of managed folders currently in your workspace. Right-click anywhere in this list and select Add Top Level Folder → Other Folder Type. From here, you’ll see a folder creation window, as shown in the window below. In the Folder Type dropdown menu, you’ll be able to select the folder type you need to store specific data types used in Altium Designer. For your PCB footprints, simply select the Footprints entry from the drop-down list.

    Altium 365 library migration for schematic symbols
    Creating a new managed folder for PCB footprints in your Workspace.

    Give this folder any name you like. Note that you can create multiple folders for different components. From the above list, you can also create a managed folder for PCB footprints, simulation models, BOM templates, and any other file type you need to access.

    Once you’ve created your managed folder, you can start creating individual components directly from this window. You can also migrate an entire schematic library or PCB footprint library into your Workspace through this window. To migrate a library, click the Add New link and select Upload. From here, you can drag a library into the upload area. Once you click OK, Altium Designer will analyze your library and give you a chance to correct any missing footprint errors before you commit your library data to your Workspace.

    PCB Footprint Migration

    Before you finish your migration, you’ll notice that Altium Designer will try to assign categories to your components. You can modify the automated categorization by clicking on the Advanced button. You can apply a component naming scheme, lifecycle definitions, and revision naming scheme to your migrated library. The image below shows my finished PCB footprint library migration into Altium 365.

    PCB Footprint Library Migration and Altium 365
    Migrated PCB footprints.

    Schematic Symbol Migration

    Note that you can also use the same process to migrate schematic symbols into your Altium 365 Workspace; simply select the Symbols option from the drop-down list in the Add Folder dialog. You may see a warning appear during this process, which will tell you no footprint can be linked to the symbol. This is okay; Altium Designer will still upload the symbols to your Workspace.

    Downloading and Reusing Component Data as Library Files

    Once you’ve migrated your libraries to your Workspace, you can access component data through the Altium 365/Concord Pro web instance, or through the Explorer Panel in Altium Designer. If you've created components from the data in these libraries, you can also access these parts through the Components Panel in Altium Designer.

    However, there may be a time when you still need to send a library file to a collaborator or client. In this case, you need to download component data from your Workspace as an SchLib file or PcbLib file. If you go into your Workspace through the web instance or the Explorer panel, you can still download a specific set of symbols or footprints as library files and hand these off to another designer. Once you select the data you need, it can be saved to your local machine as a PcbLib file (for PCB footprints) or as a SchLib file (for schematic symbols).

    To do this through Altium Designer, navigate to your managed Symbols or Footprints folder and highlight the group of components you need. Simply right-click on the group of components and select Operations → Download. You’ll see a file save dialog open. Once you enter a filename and click Save, the component data will be downloaded to your local machine and can be imported into any new Altium Designer project. The image below shows a typical footprint for a 6-pin connector that would be used for multiple sensors. Other symbols have selected for download as well.

    Library Migration and Altium 365
    Downloading component data into a new SchLib file.

    In the image below, I’ve opened up my downloaded SchLib file on my local machine in Altium Designer. You can use these symbols to create brand new components within the Explorer Panel or with the standard parts creation tools in Altium Designer. Simply select the symbols or footprints you want to use during component creation.

    Library Migration and Altium 365
    Downloading component data into a new SchLib file.

    Finally, you can assign revision statuses and lifecycle statuses to your components after you’ve migrated your data. If your component data originally included sourcing information, it will be visible within your supply chain management tools and can be imported into your bill of materials when you create a project release. The steps shown above provide a simple way to quickly compile new symbol and footprint libraries directly from data stored on a shared server.

    Working With IntLib Files? Use the Library Migrator Utility

    If you have a large number of libraries, or you're using integrated libraries (IntLib files) to store components, you can easily add batches of components (symbols + footprints) to your Workspace. Once these components are in your Workspace, you can access these components through the Components Panel in Altium Designer and start placing them in your design documents. To learn more about this process for library migration, take a look at this tech doc for guidance.

    You’ve spent plenty of time making your components perfect, and the Altium 365 Library Migration process provides a simple way to store your components for use in future projects. Rather than emailing copies of libraries to your design team, simply use the features shown in this tutorial within Altium Designer.

    Altium Designer on Altium 365 is bringing an unprecedented amount of integration to the electronics industry until now relegated to the world of software development, allowing designers to work from home and reach unprecedented levels of efficiency.

    We have only scratched the surface of what is possible to do with Altium Designer on Altium 365. You can check the product page for a more in-depth feature description or one of the On-Demand Webinars.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home