Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Was ist PCB-Datenmanagement?

    John Watson
    |  May 13, 2019
    Hero-Image zu dem Thema ‚Was ist CAD-Datenmanagement'
    Hero-Image zu dem Thema ‚Was ist CAD-Datenmanagement'

    Datenmanagement bezeichnet einfach gesagt die Verwaltung von Daten. Nach einer umfassenden Definition ist CAD-Datenmanagement die Gewinnung, Speicherung, Verifizierung, Verbreitung und Pflege der Daten, die für Design, Fertigung und Bestückung einer gedruckten Leiterkarten verwendet werden.  

    Gewinnung

    Gliedern wir diese Definition nach ihren Unterpunkten auf. Bevor wir über Datenmanagement sprechen, sollten wir uns anschauen, welche Information wir überhaupt wie und wo gewinnen wollen. Nachdem Sie schon eine Zeitlang in der PCB-Branche tätig waren, erkennen Sie, dass ein großer Teil des PCB-Designs ein gleichartig ablaufender Prozess ist. Als Ausgangsdaten der meisten PCB-Designs werden die gleichen oder sehr ähnliche Informationen genutzt, die häufig aus allgemeinen Quellen stammen. Genauso wächst aus einer Eichel, in fruchtbarem Boden gepflanzt, ein mächtiger Baum heran. Die Ausgangsdaten sind für den Erfolg des Gesamtprojekts entscheidend. Sind die Ausgangsdaten eines PCB-Projekts nicht frei von Fehlern, wird auch Ihr Design wahrscheinlich nicht davor gefeit sein. Das Wichtigste ist, dass Sie an dieser Stelle Ihren Fokus verstärkt auf die Qualität und nicht zu sehr auf die Quantität der Information des CAD-Datenmanagement richten.

    Datenblätter

    Bauteildatenblätter sind die wichtigsten Dokumente. Diese müssen vor ihrer geplanten Nutzung beschafft und verifiziert werden.  Sie sind die die heranzuziehenden Dokumente für den Projektfortschritt und deshalb sind sie kritische Unterlagen, die zwingend korrekt sein müssen. Ich habe zu viele Fälle erlebt, wo ein ganzes Design entwickelt wurde, in der Annahme ein Datenblatt sei korrekt. Bloß später entstanden aufgrund dessen Probleme, weil es nicht verifiziert war.  Die Ergebnisse waren verheerend. „Vertrauen ist gut, Kontrolle ist besser“ sollte der Leitsatz eines jeden PCB-Designers sein

    Wie ermitteln wir, ob das Datenblatt richtig ist? Eine geeignete Methode, um Angaben zu überprüfen, ist die Nutzung mehrerer Quellen. Verlassen Sie sich nicht ausschließlich auf auf einen einzigen Bauteilanbieter und dessen Datenblatt. Schauen Sie sich verschiedene Quellen und Anbieter an und fordern Sie von allen die Datenblätter an. Vergleichen Sie die Datenblätter zwecks Verifizierung auf Übereinstimmung. 

    Expertentipp: Ich persönlich würde bei der Überprüfung noch einen Schritt weitergehen und die Datenblätter der Anbieter daraufhin kontrollieren, ob es schon einmal Probleme bei anderen Produktdatenblättern gab. Denn auch diese könnten fehlerhaft sein. 

    Speicherung

    Der nächste Punkt ist die Speicherung. Haben Sie die Daten gewonnen, ist es unverzichtbar, sie zu speichern und zu sichern.  Erreicht wird dies durch die Architektur Ihrer Bauteilbibliothek für das CAD-Datenmanagement. Ihre Bibliothek wird garantiert ganz anders strukturiert sein als andere.  Aber egal wie Sie Ihre Bauteilbibliothek aufbauen, es gibt ein paar wichtige Dinge zu beachten.

    Erstens: Eindeutig bezeichnete Bauteile müssen schnell auffindbar sein.  Orientiert man sich hierfür an einer Namensstruktur oder Konvention zur Optimierung der Durchsuchbarkeit ergibt sich das fast von allein. Eine echte Herausforderung ist dagegen die Durchsuchung einer Bibliothek mit gemischten Benennungsschemata.  Eine ausgezeichnetes Hilfsmittel zur Lösung dieses Problems sind die neuesten Ausgaben der IPC-7251 (THT-Komponenten) und IPC-7251 (SMT-Komponenten). Diese Normen behandeln die sehr systematische Struktur zur Benennung von Footprints. 

    Zweitens: Die Architektur der Bauteilbibliothek sollte sich einfach erweitern lassen. Dies ermöglicht, dass die Bibliothek mit Ihrem Unternehmen und dessen Produktlinien mitwächst. 

    Erweiterbarkeit und Durchsuchbarkeit erreichen Sie, indem Sie Ihre Bauteilliste nach Kategorien und Familien organisieren.  Eine Kategorie kann zum Beispiel verschiedene Familien umfassen. Jedem Bauteil wird so eine bestimmte Adresse zugewiesen.

    Verifizierung

    Verifizierung ist ein vielschichtiger Begriff mit mehreren subjektiven Bedeutungen. In diesem Kontext bezieht sich „Verifizierung“ auf das CAD-Datenmanagement und die Verifizierung bestimmter Daten. 

    Die erste Verifizierungsregel lautet, dass die arbeitsausführende Person nicht auch die Verifizierung übernimmt. Häufig ist die arbeitsausführende Person eigenen Fehlern gegenüber blind und wird sie meistens im Verifizierungsschritt erneut übersehen.   Die beste Vorgehensweise ist, eine zweite Person mit der Verifizierung zu betrauen, die mit einem frischen Blick die Daten überprüft. 

    Der Verifizierungsprozess ist ein Auditprozess. Auch wenn Bauteile oder Daten nochmals geprüft werden, sollten sie in Quarantäne, damit sie nicht in freigegebenen Designs verwendet werden.  Lassen Sie mich diesen Punkt klarstellen: Führen Sie ein Bauteilaudit aller neuen Komponenten durch, bevor das PCB-Design zur Fertigung freigegeben wird. So wahren Sie die Integrität Ihres PB-Designs und schonen Ihre Gesundheit. 

    Verwendung

    Im Laufe des PCB-Designprozesses verwenden Sie an bestimmten Punkten des Designs spezifische Information.  So achten Sie zum Beispiel bei der Erstellung des Schaltplans gezielt auf Stromlauf und Vernetzung. Das Wichtigste sind die Schaltsysmbole des Bauteils. Der Elektrotechniker schaut auf parametrische Information zu einem bestimmten Bauteil, damit sichergestellt ist, dass es die Designvorgaben für das Produkt erfüllt. 

    Bei der Leiterplatte kommt man jetzt zum PCB-Footprint und den Informationsdaten für das 3D-Modell. Die Daten werden zur Verifizierung des Routings und der mechanischen Voraussetzungen genutzt. An diesem Punkt stößt der Maschinenbauer hinzu und nimmt seine Arbeit auf. 

    Verbreitung

    Die Verbreitung der Daten an bestimmte Personen ist kritisch. Eine Betrachtungsweise sieht die Datennutzung als unternehmensintern und die Verbreitung als extern. Bei der Verbreitung von Daten ist immer der Sicherheitsaspekt im Auge zu behalten. Die beiden großen „Pakete“, die aus den Daten und während des Designprozesses erstellt werden, sind die Fertigungs- und Bestückungsinformationen.  Nach der allgemeinen Regel werden die beiden Pakete an verschiedene Anbieter verschickt und sollten niemals zusammen vorliegen. Denn mit der darin enthaltenen Information könnte eine skrupellose Person Ihr Design reproduzieren.

    Pflege

    Der abschließende Punkt der Definition ist die Pflege von CAD-Datenmanagement.  Da die meisten im PCB-Design verwendeten Daten dynamisch (im Gegensatz zu statisch) sind, ändern sich die Daten. Es muss also ein Konzept vorhanden sein, nach dem die aufgetretenen Änderungen und ihr Einfluss auf den Aktualisierungsprozess in der Datenbank erfasst werden. Auf diese Weise bleiben Ihre Daten sowohl für den unternehmenseigenen Bedarf als auch die sich im stetigen Wandel befindliche Elektronikbranche aktuell.

    Möchten Sie mehr darüber erfahren, wie Altium Ihnen bei dem CAD-Datenmanagement und bei Ihren nächsten PCB-Design helfen kann?  Sprechen Sie mit einem Experten bei Altium.

    About Author

    About Author

    Mit fast 40 Jahren in der Elektronikindustrie, davon 20 Jahre im Bereich des PCB-Designs und -Engineerings, ist John als Designer/Ingenieur und in jüngster Zeit als Ausbilder und Mentor an der Spitze der PCB-Industrie geblieben. Seine primäre Arbeit war im Fertigungsbereich angesiedelt, hat sich aber auch auf verschiedene PCB- Dienstleistungsbereiche ausgeweitet. Als Veteran diente er stolz in der Armee im Bereich des militärischen Geheimdienstes. John ist ein CID-zertifizierter PCB-Designer. Gegenwärtig strebt er seine CID-Zertifizierung für Advance CID an. Als leitender PCB-Ingenieur bei Legrand Inc. leitet er jetzt die PCB-Designer und -Ingenieure in verschiedenen Abteilungen in den Vereinigten Staaten und China.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    What is PCB Data Management?

    John Watson
    |  May 13, 2019

    Above the simple and obvious answer that data management is the management of data, a better definition is: PCB data management is the acquisition, storage, verification, usage, distribution and maintenance of the data used in the design, fabrication, and assembly of a printed circuit board.

    Acquisition

    Let’s break this definition down a bit. Before we can talk about the management of the data itself, we should look at what, how, and where we intend to acquire this information. After you’ve been in the PCB industry for any period, you begin to see that much of PCB design is a “cookie cutting” process. The starting point for most PCB designs uses either the same or very similar information and the sources are often universal. Like an acorn that grows to be a mighty oak tree when planted in fertile soil. The initial starting information is also vital to the success of the overall project. I would add that if the starting information for a PCB project is not accurate, then most likely your design will not be accurate either. It is most important to assure that your focus at this point is on the quality of the information rather than the quantity.

    Datasheets

    Component datasheets are the most essential documents that must be acquired and verified before you intend to use them. These are the go-to documents for everything moving forward, and because of that, they are a critical item; ergo, they must be correct. I have seen too many instances wherein a design was done entirely on the assumption that a datasheet was correct, only to create problems later because it was not verified. The results were disastrous. “Trust, but verify” should be the mantra of every PCB designer.

    So, how do we determine the accuracy of a datasheet? A great technique is to use multiple sources to verify the information. Do not rely strictly on a single part vendor source and its datasheet. Look at various sources and vendors for components and pull all the datasheets from each of them. The datasheets can then be compared to verify that they match.

    Pro tip: Personally, I would take verification to the next step; I’d monitor the datasheets from those specific vendors and determine if there are any problems with other product datasheets they provide, as they may also have issues.

    Storage

    The next point is storage. After attaining the data, it is vital to have it stored and protected. This is accomplished by the architecture of your component library. It’s virtually guaranteed that your library will be structured entirely differently than the next guy’s. However, no matter what your component library looks like, a few significant things should be in place.

    First, one should quickly be able to find specific components. This is often a direct result of utilizing a naming structure or convention that optimizes searchability. One of the more challenging tasks is finding something in a library which has a mish-mash of naming schemes. An excellent resource for this problem is the latest release of IPC-7251 (Through-hole Components) & IPC-7351 (SMT Components). These standards cover the very systematic structure of how the footprints should be named.

    Secondly, you want to have a component library that has an easily expandable architecture. This way, as the company grows and the product lines grow, the library grows with it.

    You can accomplish both of these objectives by organizing your component list by category and family. For example, each category can contain a variety of families. In doing this, each component will have its specific assigned location.

    Verification

    Verification is a multifaceted term with a variety of subjective meanings. In this context, however, ‘verification’ refers to Data Management and how specific data is verified.

    The first rule of verification is that the person who conducted the work should not also be the person to verify it. The person who conducted the work is often blind to their own mistakes, and the result is they will usually miss them again in the verification step. It is always best practice to use a second person who can  look at the data with a fresh set of eyes.

    The verification process is an audit process. While components or data are under review, they should be quarantined so that they’re not used in released designs. Let me clarify that point; before the PCB design is released for Fabrication, conduct the Audit process on all new components. This way you preserve the PCB design integrity as well as  your sanity.

    Usage

    During the PCB design process, you use specific information at particular points of the design. For example, during the schematic part of the design, you are specifically looking at the circuit flow and connectivity. What is most important is the component schematic symbols. For example, the Electronics Engineer would be looking at the parametric information regarding a specific part - making sure that it meets the sought after design requirements for the product.

    On the Printed Circuit Board side, you would move over to the PCB Footprint and 3D model information data. The data is used to verify routing and mechanical requirements. This is also the point when a mechanical engineer would join the party and start his or her work.

    Distribution

    The distribution of data to particular people is crucial. One way to look at this is to see that data usage is internal to the organization and distribution is external.When working with the distribution of any data, always keep in mind that security is vital. The two big “packages” that come from the data and the design process are the fabrication and assembly information. The standard rule is that these two are sent in opposite directions and should never meet. Because with both packages, an unscrupulous person could use them to reproduce your design.

    Maintenance

    The final area when looking at the definition, is maintenance. Since most of the data used in the PCB design is Dynamic (vs. Static), the data does change. That means there must be a plan in place to determine what changes have occurred and how they affect the update process in the database. This way, your data stays relevant to the company’s needs as well as the ever-changing industry of electronics.

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium and learn more about making design decisions with ease and confidence.

    About Author

    About Author

    With nearly 40 years in the Electronic industry with 20 of them being in the field of PCB Design and engineering, John has stayed on the cutting edge of the PCB industry as a designer/Engineer and more recently as a trainer and mentor. His primary work has been in the Manufacturing field but it has also expanded to several PCB Service arenas. As a veteran, he proudly served in the Army in the Military Intelligence field. John is a CID Certified PCB designer. Presently pursuing his Advance CID certification. Now as the Senior PCB engineer at Legrand Inc, he leads the PCB Designers and Engineers in various divisions across the United States and China.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home