Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie Ihr lokales Vertriebsbüro

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Wie intelligente Technologie im Kampf gegen Parkinson verwendet wird

    Altium Designer
    |  July 18, 2017

    Wortkonzept Parkinson-Krankheit
    In der vergangenen Woche bin ich nach Hause nach Toronto gereist, um meine Eltern zu besuchen. Meinem Großvater, der bereits 87 Jahre alt ist, wurde vor kurzem Altersdemenz diagnostiziert, worauf ihm der Führerschein entzogen wurde. Während meine Familie froh darüber war, dass er nicht mehr auf der Straße unterwegs ist, war er aufgrund des Verlusts seiner Unabhängigkeit am Boden zerstört. Dies änderte sich jedoch, als ich ihn eines Tages von zu Hause abholte. Ich kam an und fand das Haus verlassen vor. Sein Auto stand jedoch noch immer in der Einfahrt. Es stellte sich dann heraus, dass er sich ein Uber-Taxi bestellt hatte. Während einige Apps eine Lösung sind, um Personen beim Einsetzen neurologischer Degenerationserscheinungen zu unterstützen, gibt es einen ganzen Bereich intelligenter Geräte, die für die eigentliche Behandlung solcher Krankheiten entwickelt werden. In diesem Artikel werden wir uns anschauen, wie High-Tech-Besteck und tragbare Elektronik Parkinson-Patienten helfen können, die Auswirkungen der Krankheit zu mildern.

    Derzeit wird jedes Jahr bei ca. 60.000 Amerikanern die Parkinsons-Krankheit diagnostiziert. Hinzu kommen noch all die Fälle, in denen die Krankheit unentdeckt bleibt. Während wir degenerative neurologische Erkrankungen häufig nur mit älteren Menschen in Verbindung bringen, erhalten 4 % der Parkinson-Patienten die Diagnose bereits vor dem 50. Lebensjahr. In unserer wachsenden Welt des Internets der Dinge kann Technologie im Bereich der Gesundheitsversorgung tiefgreifende Auswirkungen auf die Lebensqualität von Parkinson-Patienten haben. Unternehmen wie IBM und Pfizer haben dies erkannt und suchen nun nach neuen Wegen, um Patientendaten zu erheben und nachzuverfolgen. Ihre Hoffnung ist es, Forschern und Medizinern Echtzeit-Daten zur Verfügung zu stellen, die idealerweise bei der Behandlung von Symptomen helfen und neue Einblicke in die Krankheit als Ganzes gewähren werden. In der Zwischenzeit möchten wir uns drei vielversprechende Geräte anschauen, die auf Parkinson-Patienten abzielen und auch für andere Erkrankungen verwendet werden können.

    Gehirn, das eine Gabel und einen Löffel hält
    Elektrische Löffel werden in der Lage sein, Ihrem Gehirn mitzuteilen, was Sie schmecken sollten.

    Elektrische Löffel

    Der Geschmackssinn ist etwas, was die meisten für uns als Selbstverständlichkeit betrachten. Auch wenn er im Vergleich zu anderen Symptomen der Parkinson-Krankheit eher unwichtig erscheinen mag, kann der Verlust des Geschmackssinns enorme Auswirkungen auf die Lebensqualität von Patienten haben. Im Jahr 2013 hat die Gruppe um Nimesha Ranasinghe an der National University of Singapore gezeigt, dass die Geschmacksrezeptoren auf der Zunge mithilfe einer Silberelektrode ausgetrickst werden können, um die Wahrnehmung von salzig, süß, sauer und bitter zu erzeugen. Die Elektrode berührt die Zungenspitze und stimuliert unter Verwendung von Wechselstrom und kleinen Temperaturveränderungen die Rezeptoren. Heute setzen Ranasinghe und andere Forschungsgruppen, darunter ein Team an der Universität London, diese Technologie  in Form eines Löffels ein, der Parkinson‑ oder Demenzpatienten helfen soll, ihren Geschmackssinn wiederzuerlangen. Während einige intelligente Geräte nicht sehr praktisch sind, sorgt diese Forschung für einen sehr positiven Beigeschmack.

    Liftware

    Ein weiterer Löffel, über dessen Markteinführung ich mich sehr freue, ist ein Produkt namens Liftware Steady. Menschen, die an der Parkinson-Krankheit leiden, können infolge des Zitterns der Hände ihre Selbstständigkeit beim Essen verlieren. Dieser Löffel wurde speziell dafür entwickelt, einem Tremor der Handmuskulatur entgegenzuwirken und so das Herunterfallen von Essen zu verhindern. Um das Produkt in Aktion zu sehen, sollten Sie sich dieses Video anschauen. Wie macht es das? Der Löffel (oder die Gabel, je nach verwendetem Aufsatz) verfügt über einen eingebetteten Mikrochip, zwei kleine Motoren und Bewegungssensoren. Es ist zwar nicht perfekt, kann jedoch 70 % des Zitterns ausgleichen, was mit einer Stabilisierung von Handbewegungen von bis zu 5 cm gleichzusetzen ist. Es wird zusammen mit einem wiederaufladbaren Akku geliefert, der für eine Stunde Dauerbetrieb ausreicht. Liftware hat hier aber nicht aufgehört. Mit seinem neuen Produkt, dem Liftware Level, geht das Unternehmen noch einen Schritt weiter und verbessert die Lebensqualität von Patienten mit eingeschränkter Mobilität.

    Nahaufnahme von Händen einer älteren Person
    Tragbare Technologien und intelligente Geräte können das durch Parkinson verursachte Händezittern mildern.

    Die Emma-Uhr

    Mein Lieblingsgerät im Bereich der Wearable-Technologie istdie Emma-Uhr. Haiyan Zhang hat diese Uhr speziell für Emma Lawton entworfen, eine Grafikdesignerin, die Anfang 30 ist und an Parkinson leidet. Das damit verbundene Zittern beeinträchtigt ihre Zeichen- und Schreibfähigkeiten enorm. Die Emma-Uhr wurde konzipiert, um dies zu kontrollieren. Nach dem sie ihre Erfahrungen beschrieb,konstatierte Zhang, dass sich Emmas Gehirn „im Kampf mit sich selbst befindet. Die eine Hälfte versucht, sie zu bewegen, und die andere versucht die Bewegungen zu stoppen. Die beiden Signale kämpfen gegeneinander an und verstärken sich gegenseitig, was das Zittern verursacht.“ Die Uhr verwendet vibrierende Motoren, um diese Rückkoppelschleife zu durchbrechen und das Gehirn davon abzulenken, die Gliedmaßen des Parkinson-Patienten zu kontrollieren. Dadurch ist Emma beim Tragen der Uhr nun in der Lage, zu schreiben und zu zeichnen. Der Erfolg der Uhr veranlasste Zhang dazu, nach Wegen zu suchen, sie weiter voranzubringen und so mehr Menschen Zugang zu dieser Technologie zu verschaffen. Weitere Informationen über Zhangs Werk erhalten Sie in dieser kurzen Dokumentation.

    Hat Sie das inspiriert? Möchten Sie selbst Produkte entwickeln, die das Leben von Parkinson-Patienten verbessern können? Dafür benötigen Sie die richtige PCB-Software. Nehmen Sie hier Kontakt mit uns auf und erfahren Sie mehr darüber, wie Altium Designer Ihnen beim Einstieg helfen kann.

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • A365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    How Smart Technology Is Being Used to Combat Parkinson's Disease

    Altium Designer
    |  July 18, 2017

    Parkinson’s Disease word concept

    This past week I went home to Toronto to visit my parents. My grandfather, who is 87-years-old was recently diagnosed with old age dementia and had his driver’s license taken away. While my family was relieved to have him off the road, he was devastated by the loss of independence. That, however, changed one day when I went to pick him up from his house. I arrived to find the house empty, but his car was still in his driveway. It turns out that he ordered himself an Uber. While some apps may be a solution for enabling people at the onset of neurological degeneration, there is a whole field of smart devices being designed to actually treat these diseases. Here we will explore how high-tech cutlery and wearable electronics can help Parkinson’s disease patients mitigate the effects of the disorder.

    At present, approximately 60,000 Americans are diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease (PD) each year, and that does not include the cases that go undetected. While people often associate degenerative neurological disease as a condition of the elderly, 4% of PD patients are diagnosed before the age of 50. In the burgeoning age of IoT, we are in a place where tech and healthcare can have profound effects on the quality of life of PD patients. Companies like IBM and Pfizer have realized this and are looking for new ways to track and measure patient data. Their hope is to provide researchers and physicians with real-time data that will ideally aid in symptom treatment and shed new insights on the disease as a whole. In the meantime, here are three promising devices that are geared to helping Parkinson’s patients quality of life, and can extend to other disorders.

    Brain holding fork and spoon
    Electric spoons will be able to tell your brain what it should be tasting.

    Electric Spoons

    Taste is something that most of us take for granted. While it may seem small in comparison to some of the effects of Parkinson’s, losing one’s sense of taste can have a major effect on one’s quality of life. In 2013 Nimesha Ranasinghe’s group at The National University of Singapore showed that taste receptors on the tongue could be fooled to produce sensations of salty, sweet, sour and bitter using a silver electrode. The electrode touches the tip of the tongue and stimulates the receptors using a varying alternating current and small temperatures changes. Today, Ranasinghe and other research groups, including one at the University of London, are applying this Parkinson's disease technology in the form of a spoon to help restore taste in patients with Parkinson’s disease or dementia. While some smart utensils are not very practical, this research leaves a good taste in my mouth.

    Liftware

    Another spoon I am happy to see come to market is a product called the Liftware Steady. People suffering from PD symptoms can lose eating independence as a result of hand tremors. This spoon is specially designed to counteract hand tremors and prevent food from falling off of it. To see it in action, check out this video. How does it do this? This spoon (or fork, depending on which attachment you use) has an embedded microchip, a few small motors and motion sensors. It isn’t perfect, but it can cancel approximately 70% of tremors, which means stabilizing tremors up to 2 inches. It also comes with a rechargeable battery, capable of lasting for an hour of continuous use. Liftware hasn’t stopped there, they are continuing to improve the quality of life in patients with limited mobility with their newer product, the Liftware Level.  

    Closeup of elderly hands
    Wearable technology and smart utensils can mitigate hand tremors caused by PD

    The Emma Watch

    My favourite piece of wearable Parkinson's disease technology is the Emma watch.  Haiyan Zhang, designed this watch specifically for Emma Lawton. Emma is a graphic designer, who is in her early 30’s and has PD symptoms. The tremors deeply affect her ability to draw and write, and the Emma watch is designed to control them. After listening to her describe her experiences, Zhang postulated that Emma’s brain is “at war with itself - half is trying to move her and the other half is trying to stop it. The two signals battle and amplify each other, causing the tremors.” The watch uses vibrating motors to break this feedback loop and distract the brain from trying to control the PD patient’s limbs. In doing this, Emma is now able to write and draw while wearing the watch. Its success has prompted Zhang to look into ways to move it forward so that more people can have access to this technology.

    For more info, check out this short documentary detailing Zhang’s creation.

    Feeling inspired and want to design products that can make a difference for people suffering from PD? You’ll need the right PCB software. Contact us here to find more about how Altium Designer can help you get started.  

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home