Lecture des profils d'impédance des fonds de panier haute vitesse dit backplanes haute-vitesse

Jason J. Ellison
|  Created: September 10, 2019  |  Updated: December 10, 2020

L'impédance reste un sujet de confusion dans le secteur de l'intégrité des signaux. Par définition, l'impédance est le rapport entre la tension et le courant. Mais on ne peut pas dire que cette définition soit très parlante. Pour être plus précis, le terme d'impédance peut signifier plusieurs choses. 

  • Réponse échelonnée du coefficient de réflexion de la bande large en ohms
  • Réponse impulsionnelle du coefficient de réflexion de la bande large en ohms
  • Paramètres Z du domaine temporel
  • Paramètres Z du domaine fréquentiel

Pour les ingénieurs spécialisés dans l'intégrité des signaux, elle a le sens de la première définition ci-dessus. Par conséquent, dans le contexte de l'intégrité du signal, l'impédance permet de quantifier et de localiser les réflexions. Elle est également le résultat direct d'un réflectomètre temporel (TDR) et vous donne des informations précieuses, lorsqu’elles peuvent être lues. Alors comment apprendre à lire les valeurs TDR si vous n’avez pas un TDR ? 

Si vous utilisez des paramètres S, vous avez accès aux informations nécessaires pour calculer les valeurs de sortie d'un TDR au lieu de les mesurer. À une fréquence donnée, les paramètres S forment une matrice carrée, et les valeurs de réflexion sont les éléments diagonaux de la matrice. Le processus de conversion des paramètres S de réflexion en valeurs d’impédance est expliqué ci-dessous.

  1. Extrapoler le point CC
  2. Interpoler les paramètres S afin que 🛆 f et le premier point non CC soient identiques
  3. Filtrer les paramètres S, si nécessaire
  4. Calculer toutes les composantes des fréquences négatives
  5. Calculer la réponse impulsionnelle dans le domaine temporel en prenant la transformée inverse de Fourier des paramètres S symétriques
  6. Décalez le vecteur du domaine temporel pour que t = 0 soit le point central.
  7. Convertir la réponse impulsionnelle en une réponse progressive
  8. Calculer l'impédance à partir du coefficient de réflexion

L'utilisation de langages de programmation comme MATLAB, Octave ou Python rend ces étapes relativement faciles. Cependant, elle n’est pas réellement nécessaire. Vous pouvez simplement télécharger Signal Integrity Studio de Teledyne LeCroy et l'utiliser pour calculer le profil d'impédance ! Mais vous avez besoin des paramètres S pour le faire.

Des paramètres S de haute qualité sont disponibles et peuvent être téléchargés gratuitement. L'IEEE 802.3 demande aux participants des groupes de travail standard de fournir les paramètres S des canaux pertinents. Ils publient ces canaux sur leur site web. Nous ajoutons ci-dessous plusieurs référentiels de paramètres S disponibles sur le site web de l'IEEE 802.3.

10GBASE: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ba/public/channel.html

25GBASE: http://www.ieee802.org/3/100GCU/public/channel.html

50GBASE: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/channel/index.html

100GBASE: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/tools/index.html

Des suffixes correspondent à chacune de ces chaînes. CR4 et KR4 sont les plus courants. Un CR désigne un assemblage de câbles. Un KR désigne un fond de panier traditionnel ou orthogonal. Vous pouvez les comparer à une chaîne que vous êtes en train de concevoir ou simplement pour vérifier l’évolution des niveaux de performance. Je vais les utiliser pour vous donner un exemple de profil d'impédance et comment l'interpréter.

Pour la première chaîne, je prendrai comme exemple une mesure de fond de panier donnée par TE Connectivity. Vous pouvez y accéder ici.

Je vais passer en revue la procédure de chargement des paramètres S dans SI Studio et le traçage de l'impédance. Pour charger les paramètres S dans l'outil, cliquez sur l'icône du petit dossier sur le côté gauche du panneau de commande de l'interface graphique. L’outil vous demandera de sélectionner un fichier de référence. Les fichiers Touchstone contiennent des paramètres S. Leurs extensions commencent par S, se terminent par P, avec un nombre entre les deux. Ce chiffre correspond au nombre de ports dans le fichier Touchstone. Vous pouvez considérer un port comme un espace où vous pouvez placer un compteur électrique imaginaire à large bande s'il en existait un. J’utilise le fichier Touchstone : TEC_Whisper27in_THRU_G14G15.s4p. Ce système est différentiel. Les paramètres S doivent être convertis de simple à différentiel pour visualiser l'impédance différentielle. Dans SI Studio, cliquez sur le bouton "Convertir" à droite de l'icône du dossier au milieu du panneau de commande de l'interface graphique. Une fenêtre pop-up s’ouvre et demande le fichier de la carte des ports. Dans ce fichier, le port 1 se connecte au port 2 et le port 3 se connecte au port 4. Pour traduire ces informations dans la fenêtre pop-up, inscrivez les chiffres de gauche 1, 3, 2 et 4 de haut en bas. Cliquez ensuite sur "Appliquer" et fermez la fenêtre. Les paramètres S de réflexion sont affichés comme "SD1D1". Décochez toutes les autres cases, et remplacez l’option Paramètres S de réflexion par l’option Impédance en cliquant sur "dB" et en sélectionnant "Z". Vous avez terminé.

Pour obtenir la meilleure vue sur l'impédance de la chaîne, sélectionnez "grille unique" dans la liste déroulante de la barre d'outils. Réglez le centre horizontal sur 3ns, l'échelle horizontale sur 0,6ns, le centre vertical sur 100ᘯ, et l’échelle verticale sur 5ᘯ. Le résultat final est présenté ci-dessous, incluant des références à tous les points abordés ci-dessus. 

Teledyne LeCroy Signal Integrity Studio interface with TE Connectivity’s backplane loaded and important controls highlighted

Figure 1. Profil d'impédance différentielle du backplane haute-vitesse de TE Connectivity

Maintenant que l'impédance est connue, que pouvez-vous en conclure ? 

Une impédance sans aucune réflexion aura une valeur de 100 ohms sur toute la durée disponible. Tout changement dans le profil d'impédance est une réflexion. Vous voyez à plusieurs endroits, que des réflexions importantes correspondent à des baisses de l'impédance. Des segments entre ces creux semblent remonter en douceur. 

Les creux correspondent à des médias de transition. En partant de la gauche, le premier creux est le connecteur coaxial. Le second est un connecteur accouplé. Le troisième est un autre connecteur accouplé. Les médias de transition, comme les connecteurs ou les vias, sont presque toujours des creux dans le profil d'impédance. Donc, vous pouvez conclure que chaque creux correspond probablement à un via ou un connecteur. 

Une idée fausse très répandue est de conclure automatiquement que la faible impédance d'un via est causée par le diamètre du foret. Cependant, les creux des vias sont généralement causés par les pastilles de vias. Les pastilles sont un mal nécessaire pour un ingénieur en intégrité des signaux, puisqu’elles provoquent toujours une discontinuité d'impédance. Il est possible que l'impédance du via soit élevée. L'impédance augmente lorsque le via est conçu avec le plus petit foret du marché en fonction de l'épaisseur du PCB au lieu d'optimiser séparément le via et la pastille. Consultez votre ingénieur en intégrité des signaux le plus proche pour obtenir plus de détails. 

La faible impédance du connecteur n'est pas aussi facile à expliquer. Les connecteurs sont des structures complexes qui présentent de nombreuses petites discontinuités et quelques grandes. En général, lorsqu’elles sont liées aux connecteurs, les discontinuités d'impédance sont faibles. Il peut s'agir de résidus de soudure sur des pastilles SMT ou de l'interface d'accouplement. Cependant, si le connecteur n'est pas complètement engagé (accouplé), vous verrez une impédance élevée au milieu de l'impédance du connecteur. 

Les segments réguliers correspondent aux pistes. Les pistes se caractérisent par de petites perturbations dues au tissage des fibres et au métal environnant, comme les trous de brochage, mais elles sont assez plates. La pente ascendante des pistes est due à la dépendance de l'impédance aux fréquences. Cela confirme la qualité et le comportement des paramètres S. 

Le dernier paramètre S que j'aimerais examiner est un fond de panier donné par Intel pour la dernière norme Ethernet IEEE qui définit le 100Gb/s ! Vous pouvez le télécharger ici.

Ce fond de panier est entièrement simulé et contient une  sortie BGA (ou du moins ce qui ressemble être un via). Une sortie BGA est un point où le dessin du PCB passe de l'empreinte du composant BGA à la piste du PCB. Cette transition peut s’appuyer sur deux méthodes 

  1. Via sur pastille (Via-In-Pad)
  2. Os de chien (Dog-bone)

Le Via-in-pad est simple. C'est à cet endroit que le signal est placé au centre de la pastille du signal BGA. De nombreux concepteurs conseillent de ne pas utiliser les via-in-pad. La raison donnée est que le BGA n’adhérera pas à la carte si le via n'est pas traité correctement. Le trou du via-in-pad doit être scellé d'une manière ou d'une autre. Cela se fait généralement en bouchant ou en remplissant le via puis en le plaquant. Il est évident que cette méthode est plus coûteuse, ce qui explique pourquoi elle est souvent évitée. C'est néanmoins la meilleure option pour l'intégrité du signal.

Le « dog-bone » (os de chien) est une piste courte qui relie la pastille signal BGA à une autre pastille. Sa forme ressemble à un os de chien. Le via est placé sur la deuxième pastille, à l'écart de la boule BGA soudée. Cela élimine la nécessité de boucher et de remplir les vias et constitue l'option la moins coûteuse. Cette option est plus difficile à réaliser garantir l'intégrité du signal. La transition entre la pastille BGA et le via-pad crée une impédance élevée. Cette impédance est notablement élevée dans la plupart des scénarios car un plan de référence n'est pas situé directement sous la piste, en général. 

A BGA footprint illustrating both via-in-pad connections and dog-bone connections

Figure 2. Exemple de sortie Via-In-Pad et de Dog-Bone.

Avec le modèle thru d'Intel (Cable_BKP_24dB_0p995m_more_isi_thru1.s4p), vous voyez une forte impédance au début, où l'on s'attend à trouver la sortie BGA. Comme une sortie BGA est très petite, il est presque impossible de dire si elle vient du diamètre du via ou d’un dog-bone. Cependant, il est probable qu'elle soit issue de l'une de ces deux géométries. 

Teledyne LeCroy Signal Integrity Studio interface with Intel’s backplane loaded, showing an impedance dip where the dog-bone connection is present

Figure 3. Profil d'impédance différentielle du backplane haute-vitesse d'Intel.

Voilà, vous savez tout. Une méthode pour mesurer l'impédance et des caractéristiques très utiles. En particulier :

  • Les basses impédances pourraient être des connecteurs, des transitions de vias vers des pastilles vias, ou des résidus de soudure hors contrôle sur des pastilles SMT.
  • Les hautes impédances peuvent provenir de forets trop petits, de connecteurs partiellement accouplés ou de sorties BGA avec un dog-bone.
  • Les sections plates avec une montée lente dans le temps sont des pistes de PCB. La montée de ces pistes est un phénomène physique qui devrait être présent.

Nous espérons que vous pourrez regarder votre prochain profil d'impédance en toute confiance !

Pour en savoir plus sur les outils d'intégrité du signal pour les concepteurs de PCB, consultez Altium Designer®. Avez-vous d’autres questions ? Appelez un expert Altium.

About Author

About Author

Jason J Ellison received his Masters of Science in Electrical Engineering from Penn State University in December 2017.
He is employed as a signal integrity engineer and develops high-speed interconnects, lab automation technology, and calibration technology. His interests are signal integrity, power integrity and embedded system design. He also writes technical publications for journals such as “The Signal Integrity Journal”.
Mr. Ellison is an active IEEE member and a DesignCon technical program committee member.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

Altium Online Store

Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Altium Online Store

    Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Reading Impedance Profiles of High Speed Backplanes

    Jason J. Ellison
    |  September 10, 2019

    Impedance remains a confusing topic in the signal integrity community. By definition, impedance is the ratio of voltage to current. That doesn’t really paint a clear picture to anyone. Getting more specific, the term impedance can mean several things. 

    • Step response of broadband reflection coefficient in ohms
    • Impulse response of broadband reflection coefficient in ohms
    • Time domain Z-parameters
    • Frequency domain Z-parameters

    Signal Integrity engineers are usually talking about the first bullet point when we refer to impedance. Therefore, the impedance in the frame of signal integrity is quantifying and locating reflections. It is also the direct output of a Time-Domain Reflectometer (TDR) and is something that contains valuable information once you can read it. So how can you learn about reading TDRs without having a TDR? 

    If you have S-parameters, you have the information required to calculate a TDR’s output instead of measuring it. S-parameters at a given frequency are a square matrix, and the reflection terms are the diagonal elements of the matrix. The process of converting the reflection S-parameters to impedance follows.

    1. Extrapolate the DC point
    2. Interpolate the S-parameters so that ?f and the first non-DC point are the same
    3. Filter the S-parameters if desired
    4. Calculate all negative frequency components
    5. Calculate the time-domain impulse response by taking the inverse Fourier transform of the symmetric S-parameters
    6. Shift the time-domain vector so that t = 0 is the middle point.
    7. Convert the impulse response to the step response
    8. Calculate impedance from reflection coefficient

    Using programming languages like MATLAB, Octave, or Python makes these steps relatively easy. However, it is really unnecessary. You can simply download Teledyne LeCroy’s Signal Integrity Studio and use it to calculate the impedance profile for you!! That’s assuming you have S-parameters.

    It turns out there are high quality S-parameters that are freely available for download. The IEEE 802.3 asks participants of their standard working groups for S-parameters of relevant channels, and they post these channels on their website. Here are several repositories of S-parameters found on the IEEE 802.3 website.

    10GBASE: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ba/public/channel.html

    25GBASE: http://www.ieee802.org/3/100GCU/public/channel.html

    50GBASE: http://www.ieee802.org/3/cd/public/channel/index.html

    100GBASE: http://www.ieee802.org/3/ck/public/tools/index.html

    You’ll see some suffixes that go with each of these channels. CR4 and KR4 are the most common. Anything with CR is a cable assembly and anything with a KR is a traditional backplane or orthogonal backplane. You can compare these to a channel you’re designing or just check out how performance levels have evolved. I’m going to use them to show an example of an impedance profile and how to interpret it.

    The first channel I want to show is a backplane measurement donated by TE Connectivity. You can find it here.

    I’m going to go through the procedure for loading the S-parameters into SI Studio and plotting impedance. To load the S-parameters into the tool, click the little folder icon on the left hand side of the GUI’s control panel. It will prompt you to select a touchstone file. Touchstone files contain S-parameters and have file extensions that start with S, end with P, and have a number in between. That number is the port count in the touchstone file, and you can think of a port as a place you can place an imaginary broadband power meter if one existed. The touchstone file I am using is TEC_Whisper27in_THRU_G14G15.s4p. This system is differential, and the S-parameters need to be converted from single-ended to differential to view the differential impedance. To do this in the SI Studio, click the “convert” button to the right of the folder icon in the middle of the GUI control panel. A pop-up will appear that asks you the file’s port map. In this file, port 1 connects to port 2 and port 3 connects to port 4. To translate this information into the pop-up, make the numbers on the left 1, 3, 2, and 4 from top to bottom. Then click apply and close the pop-up. The reflection S-parameters are shown as “SD1D1”. Uncheck all other boxes, and change the reflection S-parameters to impedance by clicking “dB” and selecting “Z”. That's it!

    To get the best view of the channel’s impedance, select “single grid” from the display drop-down in the toolbar, set the horizontal center to 3ns, the horizontal scale to 0.6ns, the vertical center to 100ᘯ, and the vertical scale to 5ᘯ. The final result is shown below with references to all items discussed above. 

    Teledyne LeCroy Signal Integrity Studio interface with TE Connectivity’s backplane loaded and important controls highlighted

    Figure 1. Differential impedance profile of TE Connectivity’s backplane.

    Now that you have the impedance in front of you, what is it showing? 

    An impedance without any reflections will be 100ohms across the entire length of time available. Any change in the impedance profile is a reflection. You can see there are several places where there are significant reflections where the impedance dips low. There are also segments between these dips that appear to be smoothly rising up. 

    The dips are transitional media. Starting from the left, the first dip is the coax connector. The second is a mated connector. The third is another mated connector. Transitional media like connectors or vias are almost always dips in the impedance profile. So if you see dips, you’re probably seeing a via or connector. 

    A common misconception is to automatically think a via’s low impedance is caused by the drill diameter. However, the dips from vias are usually caused by the via pads. Pads are a necessary evil to a signal integrity engineer, and the pads always cause an impedance discontinuity. There is the possibility that the via impedance is high. That occurs when the via is designed with the smallest manufacturable drill size based on the PCB thickness instead of optimizing the via and pad separately. Consult your nearest signal integrity engineer for details. 

    The connector’s low impedance is not as easily explained. Connectors are complex structures that have many small discontinuities and a few large ones. Typically, connector related impedance discontinuities are low impedances. This could be from clumps of solder on SMT pads or it could be the mating interface. However, if the connector is not fully engaged (mated) there will be a high impedance in the middle of the connector’s impedance. 

    The smooth segments are traces. Traces have small perturbations from fiber weave and surrounding metal such as pinning vias, but they are fairly flat. The rising slope of the traces is caused by the frequency dependence of impedance. This is a sign that the S-parameters are well behaved and physical. 

    The last S-parameter I’d like to look at is a backplane donated by Intel for the latest IEEE Ethernet standard that is defining 100Gb/s! Download it here.

    This backplane is completely simulated and contains a BGA breakout (or at least what appears to be a via). A BGA breakout is where the PCB artwork transitions from the BGA component footprint to PCB traces. This is done in one of two ways. 

    1. Via-In-Pad
    2. Dog-bone

    Via-in-pad is straight-forward. It is where the signal via is placed in the center of the BGA signal pad. Many designers are against using via-in-pad. The reason is the BGA will not attach to the board if the via is not processed correctly. A via-in-pad needs to have the via’s hole somehow sealed. This is usually done by either capping or filling the via then plating it. Clearly, this will cost more money, which is another reason people avoid it. However, this is the best option for signal integrity.

    Dog-bones are a short trace from the BGA signal pad to another pad. This forms the so-called dog-bone shape. The via is placed on the second pad, away from the soldered BGA ball. This eliminates the need for capping and filling vias and is the least expensive option. This option is more challenging to engineer for signal integrity. The transition from BGA pad to via pad creates a high impedance. This impedance is noticeably high in most scenarios because a reference plane is usually not directly under the trace. 

    A BGA footprint illustrating both via-in-pad connections and dog-bone connections

    Figure 2. Example of a Via-In-Pad and Dog-Bone breakout.

    Looking at Intel’s thru model (Cable_BKP_24dB_0p995m_more_isi_thru1.s4p), there is a high impedance at the beginning where the BGA breakout is expected to be. Since a BGA breakout is very small, it is nearly impossible to tell if this is from the via diameter or a dog-bone. However, it is likely from one of these two geometries. 

    Teledyne LeCroy Signal Integrity Studio interface with Intel’s backplane loaded, showing an impedance dip where the dog-bone connection is present

    Figure 3. Differential impedance profile of Intel’s backplane.

    So, there you have it. A way to view impedance and some features to look out for. Specifically:

    • Low impedances could be connectors, via transitions from via pads, or out of control clumps of solder on SMT pads.
    • High impedances could be from via drills that are too small, partially mated connectors, or dog-bone BGA breakouts.
    • Flat sections with a slow rise over time are PCB traces, and the rise of these traces is a physical phenomenon that should be there.

    Hopefully you can look at your next impedance profile with confidence!!

    Find out more about signal integrity tools for PCB designers in Altium Designer®. Have more questions? Call an expert at Altium.

    About Author

    About Author

    Jason J Ellison received his Masters of Science in Electrical Engineering from Penn State University in December 2017.
    He is employed as a signal integrity engineer and develops high-speed interconnects, lab automation technology, and calibration technology. His interests are signal integrity, power integrity and embedded system design. He also writes technical publications for journals such as “The Signal Integrity Journal”.
    Mr. Ellison is an active IEEE member and a DesignCon technical program committee member.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home