Strombegrenzungswiderstand: LED-Systeme mit passender Spannungsversorgung

Erstellt: September 20, 2017
Aktualisiert am: December 11, 2020

 Worried man at his laptop

Besorgter Mann am Laptop

Die meisten meiner Freunde im Ingenieurwesen haben einen recht ausgewogenen Lebensstil. Es gibt jedoch auch Ingenieure, die richtige Workaholics sind. Sie arbeiten rund um die Uhr und sind ständig gestresst. Ihr Lebensstil unterscheidet sich nicht so sehr von dem einer LED, die direkt an ein Netzteil ohne oder mit einem falschen Strombegrenzungswiderstand angeschlossen ist. Sie beginnen stark, fangen dann aber an zu flackern und brennen schließlich aus.

In der Architekturbranche ist es üblich, Leuchtdioden (LEDs) in Modellen zu verwenden. Mir ist jedoch aufgefallen, dass LEDs immer häufiger direkt an das Netzteil angeschlossen werden, ohne einen Strombegrenzungswiderstand. Zwar sind diese LEDs zunächst funktionsfähig, da die Spannung des Netzteils so eingestellt ist, dass sie mit der LED übereinstimmt, jedoch ist dies nicht sinnvoll, wenn Sie möchten, dass Ihre LEDs die auf der Platine angegebene Lebensdauer erreichen.

So funktioniert eine LED

Eine LED ist ein Halbleiterbauelement, das aus einer Verbindung aus P-Typ-Silizium und N-Typ-Silizium besteht, ähnlich wie eine Diode. P-Typ-Halbleiter haben eine höhere Konzentration positiver "Löcher" als Elektronen, und N-Typ-Halbleiter haben eine höhere Konzentration an Elektronen.

Eine typische Diode lässt den Stromfluss nur in eine Richtung zu. Eine Vorwärtsvorspannung wird an die LED angelegt, indem das P-Typ-Silizium mit dem positiven Anschluss eines Netzteils und das N-Typ-Silizium mit der Masse verbunden wird. Wenn die Vorwärtsspannung die Schwellenspannung des P-N-Übergangs überschreitet, beginnt der Strom zu fließen. Der Spannungsabfall an einer LED entspricht immer der Vorwärtsspannung der LED. Sie liegt je nach Farbe und Typ der LED zwischen 1,8V und 3,3V.

Wenn die LED an ein Netzteil mit einer Spannung angeschlossen wird, die höher als ihre Vorwärtsspannung ist, wird ein Strombegrenzungswiderstand in Reihe mit der LED geschaltet. Der Strombegrenzungswiderstand begrenzt den Strom für die LED und reguliert die Differenz der Spannungsabfälle zwischen der LED und dem Netzteil. Natürlich müssen Sie berechnen, welchen Strombegrenzungswiderstand Sie für Ihre Platine benötigen.

Das richtige Netzteil für LEDs auswählen

Es gibt Netzteile, die speziell für LED-Anwendungen entwickelt wurden. Diese Netzteile werden als LED-Treiber bezeichnet und es gibt zwei Arten: Konstantstrom-LED-Treiber und Konstantspannungs-LED-Treiber.

Ein Konstantstrom-LED-Treiber ändert seine Spannung innerhalb eines Bereichs, um sicherzustellen, dass seine Stromabgabe auf dem angegebenen Wert gehalten wird. Sie können beispielsweise einen Konstantstrom-LED-Treiber für 100 parallel geschaltete LEDs mit einer Vorwärtsspannung von 3,3 V und einem Vorwärtsstrom von 10 mA verwenden. Der LED-Treiber muss in der Lage sein, bei einem Betriebsspannungsbereich, der sich mit der Vorwärtsspannung der LEDs überschneidet, 1A konstant zu halten. In diesem Fall wird kein Strombegrenzungswiderstand benötigt.

Ein LED-Treiber mit konstantem Spannungsabfall regelt den Spannungsabfall und die Spannungsverstärkung auf einen bestimmten Wert und eine bestimmte Rate innerhalb einer Stromgrenze. Im Falle von LED-Streifen oder kommerzieller Beleuchtung werden Strombegrenzungswiderstände installiert, um die Auswirkungen von Schwankungen der Spannungsquelle zu minimieren. Diese LED-Leuchten geben oft die Spannung an, mit der sie arbeiten und dass sie Konstantspannungs-LED-Treiber benötigen.


Denken Sie an das richtige Netzteil für Ihre LED-Konfiguration.

Den Strombegrenzungswiderstand weglassen – lohnt sich das Risiko?

Da es eine Reihe von LED-Treibern auf dem Markt gibt, entscheiden sich viele Unternehmen für ein reguläres Schaltnetzteil und lassen die Widerstandswerte in ihren LED-Installationen weg. Das liegt daran, dass das manuelle Löten der Widerstände an die LEDs zusätzlichen Arbeitsaufwand erfordert und reguläre Schaltnetzteile billiger sind als LED-Treiber.

In der Theorie scheint es sinnvoll, eine reguläre 3,3V-Versorgungsspannung an Hunderte von LEDs mit der gleichen Vorwärtsspannung anzuschließen. Dieser Ansatz verschweigt jedoch, dass er dazu führen kann, dass diese LEDs lange vor ihrer angegebenen Lebensdauer ausfallen. Infolgedessen ist es nicht ungewöhnlich, dass diese LEDs wenige Wochen nach der Installation anfangen zu flackern oder ausbrennen. Der Grund dafür ist, dass reguläre Schaltnetzteile Probleme mit dem Einschaltstromstoß der Versorgungsspannung haben, d.h. einer plötzlichen Stromspitze beim Einschalten. Mit der Zeit kann dies die LEDs beschädigen, wenn sie nicht durch Strombegrenzungswiderstände geschützt sind. Alternativ dazu haben fortschrittliche LED-Treiber Features, die Probleme mit dem Einschaltstromstoß der Versorgungsspannung eliminieren und Ihnen helfen, manuelles Löten zu vermeiden.

Ein Bild, das Schreibgerät, Briefpapier enthält.

Automatisch generierte Beschreibung
Wenn Sie Kosten sparen möchten, anstatt sich an bewährte Verfahren zu halten, werden einige dieser schönen LEDs wenige Wochen nach der Installation anfangen zu flackern.

Als Ingenieur oder Anbieter von Elektronik-Hardware können wir Ihnen nur fundierte Ratschläge zum Umgang mit diesen Szenarien geben. Wenn wir jedoch unsere eigenen LED-Anwendungen entwerfen, gibt es keine Entschuldigung dafür, die Best Practices für die Stromversorgung von LEDs nicht zu befolgen. Zu Beginn können Sie Ihre Leistungsberechnungen und Stromberechnungen korrekt durchführen und Ihre Designs mit einem PDN Analyzer überprüfen. Auf diese Weise können Sie Bereiche mit hoher Stromdichte vermeiden, die zu viel Wärme erzeugen, wenn alle LEDs gleichzeitig eingeschaltet werden. Verwenden Sie professionelle PCB-Design-Software wie CircuitStudio® von Altium Designer, um mit Ihren Designs zu beginnen.

Sie sind sich immer noch nicht sicher, ob Sie für Ihre LED-Anwendung Strombegrenzungswiderstände benötigen? Oder ob Sie sie entfernen sollten, um wertvollen Platz zu sparen? Sprechen Sie jetzt mit den Experten von Altium Designer.

Sehen Sie sich Altium Designer® in Aktion an...

Leistungsstarkes PCB-Design

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Current Limiting Resistor LED Systems with Matching Voltage Power Supply

    September 20, 2017

     Worried man at his laptop

    Most of my friends in engineering live a balanced lifestyle. However, there are some engineers that are workaholics. These engineers do not limit their working hours and are constantly dealing with stress. Their lifestyle is not so different from an LED’s that is directly connected to a power supply without a current limiting resistor or with the wrong resistor value. They start out strong, but eventually flicker and burn out.

    In the architecture industry, it is common for Light Emitting Diodes (LED) to be used in architecture models. However, I have noticed that more and more people are connecting their LEDs directly to the power supply without a current-limiting resistor. While they are initially functional since the voltage of the power supply is set to match the LED, this is not a good practice to follow if you want your LEDs to live up to their printed board specified life cycles.

    How an LED works

    An LED is a semiconductor device built using a junction of P-Type silicon and N-Type silicon, similar to a diode. P-Type semiconductors have a higher concentration of positive “holes” than electrons and N-Type semiconductors have a higher concentration of electrons.

    A typical diode only allows current to flow in a single direction. A forward bias is applied to the LED by connecting the P-Type silicon to the positive terminal of a power supply, and the N-Type silicon to the ground. When the forward voltage exceeds the threshold voltage of the P-N junction, the current starts to flow. The voltage drop across an LED is always equivalent to the forward voltage of the LED. They may vary from 1.8V to 3.3V depending on the color and type of the LED.

    When LED is connected to a power supply with a voltage higher than its forward voltage, a current limiting resistor is connected in series with the LED. The current limiting resistor limits the current for the LED and regulates the difference in voltage drops between the LED and the power supply. Of course, you’ll need to calculate which current limiting resistor you’ll need for your printed board.

    Choosing The Right Power Supply for LEDs

    While regular switching power supply could easily light up a current limiting resistor LED system, there are power supplies that are dedicated to LED applications. These power supplies are called LED drivers and there are two types of them: constant current LED drivers and constant voltage drop LED drivers.

    A constant current LED driver will alter its voltage within a range to ensure that its current output is maintained at the specified value. For example, you can use a constant current LED driver for 100 LEDs connected in parallel that have a forward voltage of 3.3V and forward current of 10mA. The LED driver must be capable of maintaining 1A consistently with an operating voltage range that overlaps the LED’s forward voltage. In this case, a current limiting resistor is not needed.

    A constant voltage drop LED driver works by regulating the voltage drop and gain at a specified value and rate within a current limit. In the case of LED strips or commercial lighting, current limiting resistors are installed to minimize the effects of variation in the voltage source. These LED lights often state the voltage that they operate at and that they require constant voltage LED drivers.

    LED strips
    Get the right power supply for your LED configuration.

    Omitting Current Limiting Resistor - Is It Worth The Risk?

    With a range of LED drivers in the market, many companies are choosing to use a regular switching power supply and are omitting resistor values in their LED installations. This is because manually soldering the resistors to the LEDs takes additional labor, and regular switching power supplies are cheaper than LED drivers.

    It seems sound in theory to connect a regular 3.3V supply voltage to hundreds of LED with the same forward voltage. This approach omits may cause these LEDs to fail long before its stated life cycle. As a result, it is not uncommon to have these LEDs to flicker or burn out within weeks being installed. This is because regular switching power supplies tend to have issues with in-rush supply voltage current; a sudden spike of current when the power is turned on. Over time, this can damage the LEDs if they are not protected by current limiting resistors. Alternatively, advanced LED Drivers have features that eliminate supply voltage inrush current issues and help you avoid manual soldering.

    LEDs of different colors
    Some of these beautiful LEDs will start flickering within weeks of installation when you choose to cut costs instead of following best practices.

    As an engineer or an electronics hardware supplier, the best we can do is give sound advice for how to handle these scenarios. However, when we are designing our own LED applications, there is no excuse for not following the best practices for powering LEDs. As a start, you can get your power calculations and current calculations correct and double check your designs with a PDN Analyzer™. This will help you eliminate high-current density areas that generate too much heat when all your LEDs power up simultaneously. Of course, you’ll want to use professional PCB Design software, like Altium Designer’s CircuitStudio® or to help get your designs started.

    Still doubtful of whether to include limiting resistors for your LED application? Or remove them to save precious spaces? Talk to the experts at Altium Designer now.

     

    Check out Altium Designer® in action...

    Powerful PCB Design

    most recent articles

    Back to Home