Systèmes embarqués : Batterie au lithium fer phosphate vs Lithium-ion

Zachariah Peterson
|  Créé: May 26, 2017  |  Mise à jour: November 27, 2020

Les batteries lithium-ion (Li-Ion) et les batteries lithium-fer-phosphate (Li-phosphate ou LiFePO4) sont les deux options les plus populaires pour les systèmes embarqués. Ces deux types de batteries ont des caractéristiques de charge et de décharge très différentes, bien qu'elles aient une chimie similaire et quelques matériaux identiques. Dans certains systèmes, vous pouvez utiliser n'importe quel type de batterie, mais chacun a ses avantages selon les applications, qui peuvent dépendre du taux de décharge, du taux de charge requis, de la capacité souhaitée et de la durée de vie du cycle.

Si vous souhaitez choisir la bonne batterie pour votre prochain système embarqué, vous devrez tenir compte de ces caractéristiques électriques, ainsi que du coût et de la taille physique des différents types de batteries disponibles sur le marché. Voici ce que vous devez savoir lorsque vous comparez des batteries au lithium-ion et au lithium-fer-phosphate.

Batteries lithium-fer-phosphate ou lithium-ion

Ces matériaux pour les piles au lithium ont des caractéristiques qui se chevauchent. La chimie de chacun de ces types de piles est similaire, tout comme les matériaux utilisés pour les fabriquer. Le fonctionnement de ces deux types de batteries est basé sur des réactions électrochimiques réversibles impliquant des ions de lithium. Elles devraient donc toutes deux être appelées batteries Li-ion (les personnes que j'ai rencontrées dans l'industrie des matériaux pour batteries ne font même pas la distinction). Cependant, ils présentent des différences importantes qui les ont amenés à être placés dans des catégories différentes, même si le matériau de leur batterie lithium-ion est similaire.

Ces deux types utilisent une anode en graphite, qui peut stocker efficacement des quantités assez importantes ions de lithium pendant la charge. La différence n'est pas dans l'anode, mais dans l'interaction avec les ions de lithium dans la cathode. L'étape de limitation du débit dans les piles lithium-ion par rapport aux piles lithium-fer-phosphate est la désorption et la réduction ultérieure à la cathode, ce qui explique les différences de capacité, de taux de décharge et de tension de sortie. Le lithium-fer-phosphate est un nouveau type de batterie qui est de plus en plus reconnu dans les industries manufacturières pour ses matériaux moins toxiques et moins chers, et sa stabilité à haute température.

Tinder on phone

Voyons si lequel des deux vous convient le mieux... Batterie lithium-fer-phosphate ou lithium-ion ? 

Si vous lisez ceci sur un nouveau smartphone ou ordinateur portable, alors vous pouvez très probablement remercier une batterie lithium-polymère ou lithium-ion, respectivement. Voici quelques-unes des principales différences entre les batteries au lithium-fer-phosphate et les batteries Li-ion :

Li-Ion

Lorsque la plupart des gens font référence aux batteries "Li-ion", ils pensent à tous les types de batteries lithium-ion. Le dioxyde de lithium-cobalt (LiCoO2) est le type le plus courant pour les applications grand public. Ce matériau cathodique est commun à ces types de piles au lithium. Voici quelques-unes des spécifications typiques des cellules de batterie Li-ion :

  • Tension : 3.6 V nominal, 3.0 V- 4.2 V.
  • Énergie spécifique : 150-200 Wh/kg
  • Taux de charge : 0.7 C - 1 C. Une charge supérieure à 1 C entraîne la croissance de la couche d'interphase d'électrolyte solide (SEI) sur l'anode pendant la charge, ce qui piège le lithium et réduit la capacité au fil du temps. C'est une des principales causes de diminution de la capacité des piles au dioxyde de lithium-cobalt.
  • Taux de décharge : 1 C. Ce taux “C” rate ne vous est peut-être pas familier. Cela signifie que si une batterie a une capacité nominale de 2400 mAh, alors elle peut se décharger avec un courant maximum de 2,4 A sans être endommagée.
  • Durée de vie : 500-1 000 cycles. La durée de vie dépend largement de la température de fonctionnement, de la profondeur de décharge (DoD) et du taux de charge (voir ci-dessus).
  • Fuite thermique : 150 °C. Ce facteur est la cause des feux ou des explosionsde batteries Li-Ion.
  • Plage de température pour le taux de charge maximal : 0-40 °C
  • Plage de température de décharge : -25-60 °C. Notez que le dioxyde de lithium-cobalt se charge et se décharge extrêmement lentement à basse température.

Lithium-fer-phosphate

Une batterie au lithium-fer-phosphate a une cathode en phosphate de fer. Ces batteries ont tendance à avoir une tension de sortie et une énergie spécifique plus faibles que les batteries au lithium-cobalt. Cependant, elles ont un taux de décharge et une durée de vie beaucoup plus élevés :

  • Tension : 3.2 ou 3.3 V nominal, 2.5-3.65 V.
  • Énergie spécifique : 90-120 Wh/kg
  • Taux de charge : 1 C
  • Taux de décharge : 1-25 C, possiblement avec des impulsions à 40 A.
  • Durée de vie : 1 000-10 000 cycles, dépend fortement de la température.
  • Fuite thermique : 270 °C
  • Plage de température pour le taux de charge maximal : 0-45 °C
  • Plage de température de décharge : -20-60 °C.

Comparaison

Lorsque l'on compare les cellules des batteries au lithium-fer-phosphate à celles des batteries Li-ion, on constate immédiatement que les batteries Li-ion ont une énergie spécifique plus élevée, mais un taux de décharge plus faible. Cela signifie que le Li-ion est un bon choix pour les appareils portables gourmands en énergie qui ont besoin d’un flux constant de courant à une tension relativement faible. Le taux de décharge plus élevé des batteries au lithium-fer-phosphate signifie qu'elles peuvent fournir de grandes quantités de courant en cas de besoin et être ensuite rapidement rechargées. Le courant de décharge entre en jeu dans des applications telles que des moteurs électriques. Le faible taux de courant de décharge du Li-Ion, de 1 C, pâlit par rapport au lithium-fer-phosphate qui peut atteindre 25 C.

En plus de la durée de vie généralement plus longue, la différence importante entre ces deux types de batteries est visible dans la spécification de l'emballement thermique. L’emballement thermique est un des modes de défaillance de toute batterie lors d'une décharge et d'une recharge rapides. Lors de l'emballement thermique, la vitesse à laquelle la chaleur est produite en raison de la résistance terminale dans les électrodes dépasse la vitesse à laquelle elle est dissipée dans l'environnement. Lorsque la température interne de la batterie dépasse la température d'emballement, l’emballement thermique se déclenche.

phone that’s been badly burned

Défaillance catastrophique d'une batterie Li-Ion pour système embarqué.

Comme le lithium-fer-phosphate a une température d'emballement thermique plus élevée, il peut être utilisé dans des environnements plus chauds avec moins de risques. Elle présente un autre avantage en ce qui concerne les matériaux utilisés dans la cathode. Comme vous l'avez peut-être remarqué, les piles au dioxyde de lithium-cobalt contiennent du cobalt, qui est très toxique et suscite des questions éthiques sur l'approvisionnement.

Le contenu énergétique élevé de la Li-Ion la rend vulnérable à des risques, incluant des explosions. Les multiples modes de défaillance rendent difficile une protection efficace contre tous les risques pendant l’utilisation des batteries Li-Ion. Dans des domaines comme l'électronique de poche, la durée de vie dépend de la fréquence à laquelle l'utilisateur vide et recharge son appareil. L’utilisation de la batterie et sa gestion restent donc entre les mains d'un utilisateur final qui n'a aucune connaissance des modes de défaillance de la batterie. Certes, ce genre d'échec est peu probable, mais il vaut mieux être sûr que désolé. Elle a une densité énergétique plus faible et une chimie plus stable. Ces caractéristiques signifient que la batterie ne brûlera pas, même si elle tombe en panne. Dans l'ensemble, les piles lithium-fer-phosphate sont beaucoup plus sûres que les piles au lithium-ion.

Malgré la sécurité et le taux de décharge élevé pour le lithium-fer-phosphate par rapport aux batteries Li-ion, une batterie Li-ion peut simplement stocker plus de puissance par kg de batterie, mais pas parce que l'anode stocke nécessairement plus de lithium. Lorsque vous concevez des appareils électroniques portables, la taille est importante. Les batteries Li-Ion peuvent stocker jusqu'à deux fois plus d'énergie par kg que le lithium-fer-phosphate. Cela fait une grande différence lorsque vous essayez d'atteindre des objectifs stricts en matière d'espace et de capacité des batteries.

Applications

Si vous êtes une personne plus stable qui recherche la sécurité et la fiabilité, ou si vous travaillez dans un secteur où la sécurité et la fiabilité sont des préoccupations primordiales, le lithium-fer-phosphate est un choix approprié pour les piles rechargeables. Cette technologie est préférable pour diverses applications, telles que les véhicules électriques (VE) ou les instruments médicaux où une défaillance catastrophique n'est pas envisageable. Les moteurs des VE bénéficieront également du taux de décharge élevé des batteries au lithium-fer-phosphate.

Peut-être êtes-vous un peu plus à la limite et vous souhaitez vivre aussi intensément que possible. Si vos appareils vous imitent, ils auront besoin d'une batterie Li-Ion. Les téléphones portables, les ordinateurs et les appareils photo ont besoin de tout le courant possible. Ils ont aussi généralement une durée de vie d'environ 2 ans, que Li-Ion peut égaler ou dépasser.

Que vous conceviez une stratégie d’alimentation pour un nouveau système industriel à haute puissance ou un petit appareil mobile, Altium Designer® a les outils de conception et de routage de PCB dont vous avez besoin pour réussir. Altium Designer dispose d'un large éventail d'outils avancés qui peuvent vous aider à concevoir le PCB parfait. 

Altium Designer offre un degré d'intégration sans précédent à l'industrie électronique jusqu'alors reléguée au monde du développement logiciel, et permet donc aux concepteurs de travailler depuis leur domicile et d'atteindre des niveaux d'efficacité sans précédent.

Nous n'avons fait qu'effleurer la surface de ce qu'il est possible de faire avec Altium Designer. Vous pouvez consulter sur la Page Produits des descriptions détaillées des caractéristiques ou accéder à l'un des webinaires à la demande.. Avez-vous d’autres questions sur les batteries lithium-fer-phosphate ou lithium-ion ? Appelez un expert Altium Designer.

Découvrez Altium Designer® en action

Une conception plus puissante des PCB

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Zachariah Peterson possède une vaste expérience technique dans le milieu universitaire et industriel. Avant de travailler dans l'industrie des PCB, il a enseigné à la Portland State University. Il a dirigé son M.S. recherche sur les capteurs de gaz chimisorptifs et son doctorat en physique appliquée, recherche sur la théorie et la stabilité du laser aléatoire. Son expérience en recherche scientifique couvre des sujets tels que les lasers à nanoparticules, les dispositifs électroniques et optoélectroniques à semi-conducteurs, les systèmes environnementaux et l'analyse financière. Ses travaux ont été publiés dans diverses revues spécialisées et actes de conférences et il a écrit des centaines de blogs techniques sur la conception de PCB pour de nombreuses entreprises. Zachariah travaille avec d'autres sociétés de PCB fournissant des services de conception et de recherche. Il est membre de l'IEEE Photonics Society et de l'American Physical Society

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Lithium Iron Phosphate Battery vs Lithium Ion For Embedded Systems

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  May 26, 2017
    Lithium iron phosphate battery vs. lithium ion

    Two of the most popular battery choices for embedded systems are lithium-ion batteries (Li-Ion) and lithium iron phosphate batteries (Li-phosphate or LiFePO4). These two types of batteries have very different charging and discharging characteristics, although they have similar chemistry and use some of the same materials. In some systems, you could use either type of battery, but each has its advantages in different applications, which can depend on discharge rate, required charge rate, desired capacity, and cycle lifetime.

    If you want to choose the right battery for your next embedded system, you'll need to consider these electrical characteristics, as well as cost and physical size for different types of batteries on the market. Here's what you need to know when comparing lithium iron phosphate vs lithium ion batteries.

    Lithium Iron Phosphate vs Lithium Ion Batteries

    Each of these batteries has some similar characteristics. The chemistry in each of these types of batteries is similar, as are the materials used to make these batteries. Both batteries actually operate through reversible electrochemical reactions involving lithium ions, so they should both be called Li-ion batteries (the people I've met in the battery materials industry don't even make the distinction). However, they do have important differences that has caused them to be placed in different categories, even if their chemistries and materials are similar.

    Both types of batteries use a graphite anode, which can nicely store reasonably large quantities of Li ions during charging. The difference is not in the anode, but in the interaction with Li-ions in the cathode. The rate limiting step in lithium iron phosphate vs lithium ion batteries is desorption and later reduction at the cathode, which accounts for the differences in capacity, discharge rates, and output voltage. Lithium iron phosphate is a newer type of battery gaining recognition in manufacturing industries due to its less toxic and cheaper materials, as well as stability at high temperatures.

    Tinder on phone

    Let’s see if you match with Li-Ion or Li-phosphate.

    If you're reading this on a new smartphone or laptop, then you can most likely thank lithium polymer or Li-ion batteries, respectively. Here are some of the key differences between lithium iron phosphate vs Li-ion batteries:

    Li-Ion

    When most people refer to “Li-ion” batteries, they could be talking about different varieties of Li-ion batteries. The most common for consumer applications is lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO2). This is the cathode material in common Li-ion batteries. Here are some of the typical specifications for Li-ion battery cells:

    • Voltage: 3.6 V nominal, ranging from 3.0 V- 4.2 V.

    • Specific Energy: 150-200 Wh/kg

    • Charge Rate: 0.7 C - 1 C. Charging above 1 C will cause the solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) layer on the anode to grow during charging, which traps lithium and reduces capacity over time. This is a primary source of battery capacity fading in lithium cobalt oxide batteries.

    • Discharge Rate: 1 C. You may be unfamiliar with the “C” rate. It means that if a battery has a rated capacity of 2400 mAh, then it can discharge with a maximum current of 2.4 A without being damaged.

    • Life Cycle: 500-1,000 cycles. The life cycle depends heavily on operating temperature, depth of discharge (DoD), and charge rate (see above).

    • Thermal Runaway: 150 °C. This is what causes Li-Ion batteries to catch fire or explode.

    • Temperature Range for Maximum Charging Rate: 0-40 °C

    • Discharging Temperature Range: -25-60 °C. Note that lithium cobalt oxide will charge and discharge extremely slowly at low temperatures.

    Lithium iron phosphate

    Lithium iron phosphate has an iron phosphate cathode. These batteries tend to have lower output voltage and lower specific energy than lithium cobalt batteries. However, these batteries have a much higher discharge rate and cycle life:

    • Voltage: 3.2 or 3.3 V nominal, ranging from 2.5-3.65 V.

    • Specific Energy: 90-120 Wh/kg

    • Charge Rate: 1 C

    • Discharge Rate: 1-25 C, possibly with 40 A pulses.

    • Life Cycle: 1,000-10,000 cycles, highly temperature dependent.

    • Thermal Runaway: 270 °C

    • Temperature Range for Maximum Charging Rate: 0-45 °C

    • Discharging Temperature Range: -20-60 °C

    Comparison

    When we compare lithium iron phosphate vs. lithum ion battery cells, we immediately see that Li-ion batteries have higher specific energy, but lower discharge rate. This means Li-ion is a good choice for power-hungry portable devices that need to draw a constant stream of current at relatively low voltage. The higher discharge rate from lithium iron phosphate batteries means they can provide large bursts of current when needed and then be quickly recharged. Discharge current comes into play applications like electric motors. Li-Ion’s low discharge current rate of 1 C pales in comparison to Li-phosphates which can be up to 25 C.

    In addition to the typically longer cycle life, the important difference between these two types of batteries can be seen in the thermal runaway specification. One of the failure modes in any battery during rapid discharging and recharging is thermal runaway. During thermal runaway, the rate at which heat is generated due to terminal resistance in the electrodes exceeds the rate at which it is dissipated into the surroundings. When the internal temperature of the battery exceeds the runaway temperature, the battery will enter thermal runaway.

    phone that’s been badly burned

    Catastrophic failure in a Li-Ion battery.

    Because lithium iron phosphate has higher thermal runaway temperature, it can be used in warmer environments with less risk. It has another advantage in terms of the materials used in the cathode. As you may have noticed, lithium cobalt oxide batteries contain cobalt, which is highly toxic and creates ethical questions around sourcing.

    Li-Ion’s high energy content makes it vulnerable to things like explosions. Multiple failure modes make it difficult to cover all your bases on Li-Ion batteries. In things like handheld electronics, cycling depends on how often the user drains and recharges their device. This leaves the battery’s fate in the hands of an end user who has no knowledge of battery failure modes. Granted, that kind of failure is not likely, but better to be safe than sorry. It has a lower energy density and more stable chemistry. These features mean it won’t burn, even if it does fail. All in all, Li-phosphate batteries are much safer than Li-Ion batteries.

    Despite the safety and high discharge rate for lithium iron phosphate vs. Li-ion batteries, an Li-ion can simply store more power per kg of battery, but not because the anode is necessarily storing more lithium. When you’re designing portable electronics, size matters. Li-Ion batteries can store up to twice as much energy per kg over Lithium-iron phosphate. That makes a big difference when you’re trying to hit strict space and battery capacity targets.

    Applications

    If you’re a more stable kind of person who looks for safety and reliability, or you're operating in an industry where safety and reliability are paramount concerns, Li-phosphate is a suitable choice for rechargeable batteries. It’s best for applications like electric vehicles (EV) or medical instruments where catastrophic failure is not an option. EV motors will also benefit from the high discharge rate of Li-phosphate batteries.

    Maybe you’re a bit more on the edge and want to pack as much fun into life as possible. If your devices mimic you, they’ll need a Li-Ion battery. Things like mobile phones, computers, and cameras need as much juice as they can get. They also usually have a lifetime of around 2 years, which Li-Ion can match or exceed.

    Whether you're designing a power strategy for a new high power industrial system design or a small mobile device, Altium Designer® has the PCB design and layout tools you need to succeed. Altium has a great array of advanced tools that can help you design the perfect PCB. 

    Altium Designer on Altium 365 delivers an unprecedented amount of integration to the electronics industry until now relegated to the world of software development, allowing designers to work from home and reach unprecedented levels of efficiency.

    We have only scratched the surface of what is possible to do with Altium Designer on Altium 365. You can check the product page for a more in-depth feature description or one of the On-Demand Webinars. Have more questions about lithium iron phosphate vs lithium ion batteries? Call an expert at Altium.

     

    Check out Altium Designer® in action...

    Powerful PCB Design

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home