Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie Ihr lokales Vertriebsbüro

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    SMPS-PCB-Schaltungsdesign: Welche Schaltfrequenz soll verwendet werden?

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  December 1, 2019

    SMPS circuit for a network switch

     

    CStromversorgung auf einem Netzwerk-Switch

    Designer von Leistungselektronik und Schaltnetzteilen (SMPS) sollten wissen, dass höhere Schaltfrequenzen zu höheren Schaltverlusten in Ihrem System führen können. Der Drang zur Miniaturisierung von Stromversorgungen und den darin enthaltenen Bauteilen zwingt Designer jedoch dazu, in ihren SMPS-PCB-Schaltungsentwürfen mit höheren Schaltfrequenzen zu arbeiten. Dies kann zu schwerwiegenden Schaltverlusten und Rauschen in Ihrem System führen.

    Wie bei den meisten technischen Entscheidungen müssen bei der Wahl der richtigen Schaltfrequenz eine Reihe von Kompromissen eingegangen werden, insbesondere bei der Reduzierung der Bauteilgröße, der Verringerung von Verlusten und der Beseitigung von Rauschen; es ist schwierig bzw. unmöglich, diese drei Ziele gleichzeitig zu erreichen. Mit einigen intelligenten PCB-Layout-Entscheidungen können Sie jedoch höhere Frequenzen und Flankenraten in Ihrer SMPS-Schaltung erreichen und gleichzeitig das Rauschen auf ein Minimum reduzieren. 

    Optimierung von Frequenz, Verlust und Rauschen in einer SMPS-PCB-Schaltung

    Damit ein Schaltnetzteil mit kleineren Bauteilen arbeiten kann, muss das schaltende PWM-Signal mit einer höheren Frequenz laufen. Der Ausgangsinduktor, der Kondensator und die Diode sind so ausgelegt, dass sie Gleichstrom durch den Ausgang leiten und gleichzeitig das Schaltgeräusch, die Restwelligkeit der Eingangsspannung (z.B. von einer Gleichrichterschaltung) und eventuell am Eingang vorhandene Störoberschwingungen filtern. Mit anderen Worten, der Ausgang verhält sich innerhalb einer bestimmten Bandbreite wie ein Tiefpassfilter (eigentlich ist dies ein RLC-Bandpassfilter). Wir können für diesen Filter eine Roll-Off-Frequenz definieren (nicht zu verwechseln mit der Kniefrequenz eines digitalen Schaltsignals).

    Um die Ausbreitung von PWM-Schaltgeräuschen durch den Ausgang zu verhindern, muss die PWM-Schaltfrequenz größer als die Kniefrequenz der Schaltung sein. Unabhängig davon, ob Sie in Ihrer SMPS-PCB-Schaltung mit einer Buck- oder Boost-Topologie arbeiten, ist die Roll-Off-Frequenz des Ausgangs umgekehrt proportional zur Ausgangskapazität und -induktivität. Anders ausgedrückt: Sie können kleinere Bauteile in Ihrem SMPS-Schaltkreis verwenden, wenn Ihre PWM-Schaltfrequenz ausreichend hoch ist.

    Buck-boost converter

    Buck-Boost-SMPS-Schaltplan

    Es wird allgemein angenommen, dass die Schaltfrequenz des PWM-Signals in Ihrem SMPS-Schaltkreis die primäre Determinante der Verluste ist, die dann in Wärme umgewandelt werden. Dieses Problem bei der Verwendung einer höheren Frequenz ist richtig, jedoch ist die Frequenz nicht der einzige Parameter, der die Verluste im MOSFET bestimmt. Tatsächlich spielt bei Leistungs-MOSFETs, die in SMPS-Schaltungen verwendet werden, die Flankenrate eine wichtige Rolle im Hinblick auf die Wärmeverluste.

    Kein Schaltungselement ist ideal, aber wir neigen fälschlicherweise dazu, sie als solches zu behandeln. Dasselbe gilt für den oben gezeigten MOSFET. Wenn das PWM-Signal auf 0 V abfällt, kann es sein, dass der MOSFET nicht vollständig abschaltet und bei einer zu langsamen Flankenrate stetig weiterleitet. Wenn Sie die Flankenrate des PWM-Signals erhöhen, kann der MOSFET vollständig durchgeschaltet werden, so dass er im AUS-Zustand weniger leitend ist. Dadurch wird der Leistungsverlust also verringert, auch wenn die Schaltfrequenz auf einen höheren Wert eingestellt ist.

    Die Kombination einer höheren PWM-Frequenz und einer schnelleren PWM-Flankenrate ermöglicht den Einsatz kleinerer Bauteile in der SMPS-PCB-Schaltung. Da die Leistungsverluste (d.h. die Wärmeableitung) geringer sind, kann ein kleinerer Kühlkörper verwendet werden. Das PWM-Signal mit der höheren Frequenz strahlt jedoch stark ab, und die schnellere Flankenrate führt zu einem transienten Verhalten in der Schaltung. Dieses Verhalten hängt mit der parasitären Kapazität und Induktivität auf der Ebene des MOSFET-Gehäuses sowie des Leiterplatten-Layouts zusammen. Sie müssen sicherstellen, dass Ihre SMPS-Schaltung so ausgelegt ist, dass die parasitäre Induktivität minimiert wird.

    Reduzieren Sie SMPS-Rauschspitzen mit intelligenten Layout-Entscheidungen

    Die parasitäre Induktivität in Ihrem SMPS-Schaltkreis (der das nachgeschaltete PDN einschließt) bestimmt die Größe der Spannungsspitze im SMPS-Schaltkreis. Die parasitäre Kapazität trägt ebenfalls zu den Spannungs-/Stromspitzen im SMPS-Schaltkreis bei, aber diese dominiert erst, wenn Sie auf kV-Niveau arbeiten. Diese spezielle Spannungsspitze, die auf die parasitäre Induktivität zurückzuführen ist, belegt die Schaltkreisschleifen in Ihrem SMPS-Layout, wodurch Bauteile bis zum Ausfall belastet werden können.

    Wenn Sie eine schnellere Flankenrate verwenden, induzieren Sie einen größeren transienten Strom in Ihrer SMPS-Schaltung. Selbst eine relativ kurze Leiterbahn (einige mm) auf FR4 mit Standarddicke hat eine parasitäre Induktivität von ~10 nH. Eine schnell ansteigende Flanke im PWM-Signal mit einem Einschaltstrom von einigen Ampere kann eine Spitze von mehreren Volt induzieren. Dies belastet mit der Zeit die Bauteile und führt zum Versagen des Schaltnetzteils.

    Inductor and capacitor in SMPS circuit

    Mit einer höheren Schaltfrequenz und schnelleren PWM-Flankenraten können Sie kleinere Bauteile als diesen Induktor und diese Kondensatoren verwenden.

    Es kann schwierig sein, diese Herausforderung zu meistern, da sie hierfür die Störfaktoren im SMPS-Kreislauf entfernen müssen. Die typische Strategie beim Design dieser Schaltungen besteht darin, Simulationen von Ihrem Schaltplan aus durchzuführen, um die Funktionalität zu verifizieren, und Tests durchzuführen, sobald Sie einen Prototyp haben. Mit den hier beschriebenen Richtlinien können Sie hoffentlich die Anzahl der notwendigen Prototypenrunden reduzieren und schnell zu einem funktionierenden Gerät gelangen.

    Die Design-Tools in Altium Designer® sind ideal für den Entwurf Ihrer SMPS-PCB-Schaltung und die Erstellung eines stabilen Layouts für die Fertigung und Montage. Mit den Pre-Layout- und Post-Layout-Simulationstools können Sie Ihr Design prüfen, bevor Sie zur Fertigung übergehen. 

    Mit dem neuen Altium 365 steht außerdem eine ECAD-Platform zur Verfügung, mit der Sie eine noch bessere Kommunikation gewährleisten können, und zwar von überall aus.

    Sie können jetzt eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer herunterladen und mehr über die branchenweit besten Tools für Layout, Simulation und Produktionsplanung erfahren. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Altium-Experten, um mehr zu erfahren.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    SMPS Circuit Design: Which Switching Frequency to Use?

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  December 1, 2019

    SMPS circuit for a network switch

    Power supply on a network switch

    Power electronics and switched-mode power supply (SMPS) designers should know that working with higher switching frequencies can lead to higher switching losses in your system. However, the push to miniaturize power supplies, and the components that go into them, compels designers to work with higher switching frequencies in their SMPS circuit designs. This then creates problems where switching losses and noise can become severe in your system.

    Like most engineering decisions, choosing the right switching frequency represents a set of trade-offs that involve reducing component size, reducing losses, and removing noise; it can be difficult or impossible to achieve all three of these simultaneously. However, with some smart PCB layout decisions, you can balance the need for higher frequencies and edge rates in your SMPS circuit with the need to keep noise to a minimum.

    Optimizing Frequency, Loss, and Noise in an SMPS Circuit

    In order for an SMPS to operate with smaller components, the switching PWM signal must run at a higher frequency. The output inductor, capacitor and diode are designed to pass DC power through the output while filtering the switching noise, any residual ripple from the input voltage (e.g., from a rectifier circuit), and any spurious harmonics that may be present at the input. In other words, the output acts like a low pass filter (really, this is an RLC bandpass filter) within a certain bandwidth. We can define a rolloff frequency for this filter (not to be confused with the knee frequency of a switching digital signal).

    In order to prevent PWM switching noise from propagating through the output, the PWM switching frequency must be larger than the rolloff frequency of the circuit. Whether you are working with a buck or boost topology in your SMPS circuit, the rolloff frequency of the output will be inversely proportional to the output capacitance and inductance. In other words, you can use smaller components in your SMPS circuit if you use a sufficiently high PWM switching frequency.

    Buck-boost converter

    Buck-boost SMPS circuit diagram

    It is generally assumed that the switching frequency of the PWM signal in your SMPS circuit will be the primary determinant of losses, which are then converted to heat. This issue with using a higher frequency is correct, but the frequency is not the only parameter that determines losses in the MOSFET. In reality, with power MOSFETs used in SMPS circuits, the edge rate is an important determinant of the heating losses in the SMPS circuit.

    No circuit element is ideal, but we tend to treat them as such when it is not appropriate. The same applies to the MOSFET shown above. When the PWM signal drops to 0 V, the MOSFET may not turn off completely and can continue conducting when the edge rate is too slow. If you increase the PWM signal edge rate, the MOSFET can be fully cycled and it will conduct less in the OFF state. This actually reduces power loss, even when the switching frequency is set to a higher value.

    The combination of a higher PWM frequency and faster PWM edge rate allows smaller components to be used in the SMPS circuit. Because power losses (i.e., heat dissipation) are lower, a smaller heat sink can be used. However, the higher frequency PWM signal radiates strongly, and the faster edge rate leads to a transient response in the circuit. This behavior is entirely related to parasitic capacitance and inductance at the MOSFET package and board layout levels. You’ll need to ensure your SMPS circuit is laid out in such a way that parasitic inductance is minimized.

    Reduce SMPS Noise Spikes With Smart Layout Choices

    The parasitic inductance in your SMPS circuit (which includes the downstream PDN) will determine the size of the voltage spike in the SMPS circuit. The parasitic capacitance also contributes to voltage/current spikes in the SMPS circuit, but this does not dominate until you are working at kV levels. This particular voltage spike, due to parasitic inductance, occupies circuit loops in your SMPS layout, which can stress components to the point of failure.

    If you use a faster edge rate, you will induce a larger transient current in your SMPS circuit. Even a relatively short trace (a few mm) on standard-thickness FR4 will have ~10 nH of parasitic inductance. A fast rising edge in the PWM signal with an ON current of a few amps can induce a spike of several volts. Over time, this stresses components and leads to failure of the SMPS.

    Inductor and capacitor in SMPS circuit

    With a higher switching frequency and faster PWM edge rates, you can use smaller components than this inductor and these capacitors.

    Overcoming this challenge can be difficult as it requires extracting the parasitics in the SMPS circuit. The typical strategy when designing one of these circuits is to run simulations from your schematic to verify functionality, followed by testing once you spin a prototype. Hopefully, with the guidelines outlined here, you can reduce the number of prototyping spins required to get to a working device.

    The design tools in Altium Designer® are ideal for designing your SMPS circuit and creating a strong layout that you can take to fabrication and assembly. With the pre-layout and post-layout simulation tools, you can examine your design before moving to manufacturing. Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer and learn more about the industry’s best layout, simulation, and production planning tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home