使用半固态片与内芯板进行受控阻抗布线

Zachariah Peterson
|  December 29, 2019

IC on prepreg vs. core materials

当我刚开始学习PCB设计要点时,我的印象是内芯板是某种特殊材料。但其实这并非一定如此,设计人员在根据自身需求选择最合适的内芯板/半固态片布局方面拥有一定的自由度。当涉及到受控阻抗布线时,尤其是在高频下,使用内芯板还是半固态片层作为分离电介质已经成为一个重要的问题。

那么,究竟哪个层最适合用于受控阻抗布线呢?在考虑纤维编织效应之前,要想对电路板阻抗实现更好的控制,必须先提高介电常数均匀性。它还要求制造后生产出的电路板在介电常数方面具有更高的一致性和可预测性。在确定半固态片与内芯板层的位置时,您应该根据这些要求,仔细选购适合您的正确层堆栈材料。

半固态片与内芯板的受控阻抗

内芯板是厚的刚性玻璃纤维层,通常布置在层数较少的电路板中央。据我所知,使用“内芯板”一词会使一些新手设计师从字面上理解这一术语,即任何设计都必须在电路板的中央布置一个内芯板,然后围绕该内芯板构建其他层。后来我才知道,这并不是一个严格的要求,尤其是在层数逐渐增加的情况下。实际上,内芯板和半固态片层可以交替存在,而且中间层并不总是内芯板层。重要的一点是,无论内芯板层布置在何处,层堆栈都是对称的。

半固态片并未完全固化,因此充当了内芯板层之间的胶水。在最近的 1.57 毫米标准厚度板的项目中, 我们在外层使用了Rogers内芯板,在内层使用了FR4半固态片/内芯板。这种混合多层板很常见(即FR4上的PTFE层压板)。成本是一个考虑因素,因为不同的材料会带来不同的成本,因此,搭载高速/高频信号的层通常选用低损耗层压板。

通常情况下,由于内芯板材料已经与铜结合,就介电常数和厚度而言,内芯板层比半固态片具有更高的可再现性。相比之下,半固态片制造商只能指定原材料的介电常数范围;它们未指定组装后的介电常数,而这一介电常数将确定互联器上的信号所见的有效介电常数。一些特殊的低损耗半固态片层压板的介电常数变化可能非常大(超过50%)。

Pressing and cutting for prepreg vs core materials

单层还是双层内芯板?

某些玻璃编织样式不同的内芯板材料的介电常数存在显著差异,这也取决于特定的内芯板材是单层还是双层构造。106和106/1080内芯板就是完美的例子。这些材料的介电常数大约相差10%,如果采用现有设计并在单层和双层内芯板之间进行交换,则需要调整走线宽度。

除了层数之外,具有相同 编织样式和孔隙率 的半固态片和内芯板将具有不同的介电常数,并且不同的层压板厚度也要求使用不同的玻璃编织样式。这就是为什么通常根据所需的Dk范围对材料进行分类的原因,许多制造商只会简单地指出可用于产品图纸中的内芯板和半固态片的厚度、编织样式以及层数。这些材料的树脂含量和厚度的变化将产生不同的介电常数。

如何与制造商合作

通过设计叠层使层具有标准化厚度可能是DFM中人们讨论最少的一个方面,但这也有可能是最重要的一个方面。您的EDA工具可能会让您输入您所需的任意层厚度值。在传达半固态片层阻抗控制要求时,通常会指定走线宽度和铜的重量(可以轻松转换为走线厚度)、所需的阻抗值以及所需的介电常数和层压板厚度。

如果您已经围绕制造商提供的标准化材料设计了电路板,则您无需再进行其他修改。如若不然,您的制造商将需要根据您的具体要求选择最接近的半固态片厚度。但是,请记住,并非所有制造商都会遵循材料数据表上列出的厚度值来规划自己的压出厚度。

Prepreg vs core dielectric for impedance control

电介质可重复性和内芯板层的标准化程度越高,意味着受控阻抗设计的可预测性越高(即,整个板上的介电常数变化较小)。对于对称带状线,也可以使用厚度相同的内芯板和半固态片。无论您如何布置半固态片和内芯板,都应对称地布置层堆栈,以防止在制造过程中,板在经历冲压和冷却操作后发生变形。混合不同材料也是一种常见的做法,例如 将高速层压板与FR4内芯板混合。但是,并非所有材料都应该(或可以)组合,具体应取决于树脂的类型和每种材料的热膨胀系数(CTE)。最好的电路板将使用CTE与铜CTE值尽量匹配的内芯板和半固态片。

当您使用带有集成叠层和阻抗计算器工具的PCB设计软件时,半固态片与内芯板的选择和布线最为容易。 Altium Designer® 中的层堆栈管理器是理想的工具,可用于设计具有受控阻抗的电路板并布置理想的层堆栈。您还可以访问一个海量材料库,该材料库中包含了各种各样标准材料的重要数据。您还可以为特殊基板材料指定不同的材料属性。

现在,您可以下载Altium Designer 免费试用版 ,详细了解业界最佳的布局、仿真和产品规划工具。 立即联系我们 了解更多信息。

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson拥有学术界和工业界广泛的技术背景。在从事PCB行业之前,他曾在波特兰州立大学任教。他的物理学硕士研究课题是化学吸附气体传感器,而应用物理学博士研究课题是随机激光理论和稳定性。他的科研背景涵盖纳米粒子激光器、电子和光电半导体器件、环境系统以及财务分析等领域。他的研究成果已发表在若干经同行评审的期刊和会议论文集上,他还为多家公司撰写过数百篇有关PCB设计的技术博客。Zachariah与PCB行业的其他公司合作提供设计和研究服务。他是IEEE光子学会和美国物理学会的成员。

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • A365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Using Prepreg vs. Core for Controlled Impedance Routing

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  December 29, 2019

    IC on prepreg vs. core materials

    Are you designing for controlled impedance on the right layer material?

    When I was first learning the finer points of PCB design, my first impression that the core was some type of special material. This is not necessarily the case, and designers have some freedom to choose the core/prepreg arrangement that works best for their needs. When it comes to controlled impedance routing, especially at high frequencies, the use of core or prepreg layers as the separating dielectric now becomes an important question.

    So which layer is best to use for controlled impedance routing? Greater control over board impedance requires greater dielectric constant uniformity before considering fiber weave effects. It also requires greater consistency and predictability in the dielectric constant of a board produced after manufacturing. Here’s where you should carefully shop for the right materials for your layer stack when determining the locations of prepreg vs. core layers.

    Controlled Impedance Over Prepreg vs. Core

    The core is the thick, rigid layer of glass fiber that is typically placed at the center of boards with low layer count. From what I’ve seen, using the word “core” causes some new designers to take the term literally, meaning any design must have a core at the center of the board with other layers built around it. I later learned that this is not a strict requirement, especially as layer counts increase. You actually have alternating layers of core and prepreg, and the central layer is not always a core layer. The important point is that the layer stack is symmetric, regardless of where core layers are placed.

    The prepreg material is not produced fully cured and forms the glue between core layers. In a recent project on a 1.57 mm standard thickness board, we used a Rogers core on the outer layers and FR4 prepreg/core in the inner layers; this type of hybrid multilayer board is common (i.e., PTFE laminates on FR4). Cost is a factor here as different materials carry different costs, thus low-loss laminates are generally reserved for layers carrying high speed/high frequency signals.

    Generally, the core layer is more reproducible than a prepreg, both in terms of the dielectric constant and thickness as the core material is already bonded with copper. In contrast, the prepreg manufacturer can only specify a dielectric constant range for the raw material; they are not specifying the dielectric constant after assembly, which will determine the effective dielectric constant seen by signals on an interconnect. Some specialty low-loss prepreg laminates can have very wide variations in dielectric constants (beyond 50%).

    Pressing and cutting for prepreg vs core materials

    Single or Double Ply Core?

    Some core materials with different glass weave styles will have significantly different dielectric constants, which also depends on whether a particular core material is single ply or double ply. 106 and 106/1080 cores are perfect examples. The dielectric constants for these materials can vary by approximately 10%, which requires adjusting trace widths if you take an existing design and swap between single and double ply cores.

    In addition to the number of plies, prepreg and core with the same weave style and porosity will have different dielectric constants. Also, different laminate thicknesses will require different glass weave styles. This is why materials are normally classified in terms of desired Dk range, and many manufacturers will simply call out thickness, weave style, and number of plies you can use for core and prepreg in product sheets. The different resin content and thicknesses of these materials will produce different dielectric constants.

    How to Work With Your Manufacturer

    Designing a stackup such that layers have standardized thicknesses is probably the least discussed aspect of DFM, yet it is probably the most important. Your EDA tools will probably let you enter whatever value you want for your layer thickness. When communicating impedance control requirements on prepreg layers, you’ll generally specify the track width and copper weight (thick can be easily converted to a track thickness), your required impedance value, and the desired dielectric constant and laminate thickness.

    If you’ve already designed your board around standardized materials available from your manufacturer, then no other modifications are needed. Otherwise, your manufacturer will need to select the closest prepreg thickness for your particular requirements. However, not all manufacturers will follow the thickness values listed on a material datasheet and will plan their own press-out thicknesses.

    Prepreg vs core dielectric for impedance control

    The higher level of dielectric repeatability and standardization of core layers means controlled impedance design is more predictable (i.e., smaller variations in dielectric constant throughout the board) when the core is used as the dielectric. You could also use a core and prepreg with the same thickness for symmetric striplines. No matter how you arrange prepreg and core layers, your layer stack should be arranged symmetrically to prevent board distortion after pressing and cooling steps during manufacturing. It’s also common practice to mix different materials, such as a high speed laminate with FR4 core. However, not all materials should (or can) be combined as this depends on the type of resin and thermal expansion coefficients (CTE) of each material. The best board will use core and prepreg materials with CTE values that closely match the CTE value for copper.

    Selecting and routing on prepreg vs. core materials is easiest when you use PCB design software with an integrated stackup and impedance calculator tool. The layer stack manager in Altium Designer® is an ideal tool for designing your board with controlled impedance and arranging your perfect layer stack. You’ll also have access to an extensive materials library that contains important data on a broad range of standard materials. You can also specify specific material properties for exotic substrate materials.

    Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer and learn more about the industry’s best layout, simulation, and production planning tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home