Utilisation du préimprégné par rapport au noyau pour un routage à impédance contrôlée

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: December 29, 2019  |  Updated: March 10, 2021

IC on prepreg vs. core materials

Quand j'ai commencé à étudier les rudiments de la conception des circuits imprimés, je croyais que le noyau était une sorte de matériau spécial. Ce n'est pas forcément le cas, et les concepteurs bénéficient d'une certaine liberté dans le choix du noyau ou du préimprégné qui répond le mieux à leurs besoins. En matière routage à impédance contrôlée, en particulier à haute fréquence, le choix d'utiliser des couches de noyau ou de préimprégné comme diélectrique de séparation est désormais une question importante.

Alors, quelle type de couche convient le mieux au routage à impédance contrôlée ? Pour mieux contrôler l'impédance de la carte, il faut une plus grande uniformité de la constante diélectrique avant de prendre en compte les effets de la trame des fibres. Une plus grande cohérence et prévisibilité de la constante diélectrique sont également nécessaires pour une carte produite après la fabrication. C'est au moment où vous déterminez l'emplacement des couches de préimprégné par rapport aux couches de noyau que vous devez choisir avec soin les bons matériaux pour votre empilage de couches.

Impédance contrôlée sur un préimprégné par rapport à un noyau

Le noyau est la couche épaisse et rigide de fibre de verre qui est généralement placée au centre des cartes comportant un faible nombre de couches. D'après mon expérience, la notion de « noyau » conduit certains nouveaux concepteurs à prendre les choses au pied de la lettre, dans le sens où toute conception doit comporter un noyau entouré d'autres couches au centre de la carte. J'ai appris par la suite, en particulier au fur et à mesure de l'augmentation du nombre de couches, que ce n'est pas une exigence stricte. En fait, vous avez une alternance de couches de noyau et de préimprégné, et la couche centrale n'est pas toujours une couche de noyau. Ce qui est important, c'est que l'empilage de couches soit symétrique, quel que soit l'emplacement des couches de noyau.

Le matériau préimprégné est un produit qui n'est pas complètement durci et qui fait office de colle entre les couches de noyaux. Dans un récent projet sur une carte d'épaisseur standard de 1,57 mm, nous avons utilisé un noyau Rogers sur les couches extérieures et un noyau/préimprégné FR4 pour les couches intérieures ; ce type de carte multicouche hybride est courant (c'est-à-dire les stratifiés en PTFE sur du FR4). Le coût joue ici un rôle important, car les différents matériaux ont des coûts différents. Ainsi, les stratifiés à faibles pertes sont généralement réservés aux couches transportant des signaux rapides / à haute fréquence.

En général, la couche de noyau est plus reproductible qu'un préimprégné, que ce soit en termes de constante diélectrique comme d'épaisseur, car le matériau de base est déjà laminé avec du cuivre. En revanche, le fabricant de préimprégnés peut spécifier uniquement une plage de constante diélectrique pour la matière première ; il ne spécifie pas la constante diélectrique après assemblage, qui déterminera la constante diélectrique effective perçue par les signaux sur une interconnexion. Certains stratifiés spéciaux à faible perte peuvent présenter de très grandes variations de constantes diélectriques (au-delà de 50 %).

Pressing and cutting for prepreg vs core materials

Noyau à simple ou double couche ?

Certains matériaux de base avec différents styles de trame de verre présentent des constantes diélectriques sensiblement différentes, qui varient également selon qu'un matériau de base particulier est à simple ou double couche. Les noyaux 106 et 106/1080 en sont de parfaits exemples. Les constantes diélectriques de ces matériaux peuvent varier d'environ 10 %, ce qui nécessite un ajustement de la largeur des pistes si l'on prend une conception existante et que l'on passe de noyaux à simple couche à des noyaux à double couche.

Outre le nombre de couches, le préimprégné et le noyau qui ont un style de trame et une porosité identiques présentent des constantes diélectriques différentes, et les épaisseurs de stratifié différentes nécessitent des styles de trame de verre différents. C'est pourquoi les matériaux sont normalement classés en fonction de la gamme de Dk souhaitée, et de nombreux fabricants se contentent d'indiquer dans les fiches produits l'épaisseur, le style de trame et le nombre de couches que vous pouvez utiliser pour le noyau et le préimprégné. La teneur en résine et les épaisseurs variables de ces matériaux produiront des constantes diélectriques différentes.

Comment collaborer avec votre fabricant

La conception d'un empilage de façon à ce que les couches aient des épaisseurs standardisées est probablement l'aspect de la DFM le moins discuté. Pourtant, c'est probablement le plus important. Vos outils de CAO vous permettront probablement d'entrer la valeur que vous souhaitez pour l'épaisseur de vos couches. Au moment de communiquer les exigences en matière de contrôle de l'impédance des couches préimprégnées, vous indiquez généralement la largeur de piste et le poids du cuivre (qui peuvent être aisément convertis en épaisseur de piste), la valeur d'impédance que vous souhaitez, ainsi que la constante diélectrique et l'épaisseur de stratifié souhaitées.

Si vous avez déjà conçu votre carte à partir de matériaux standardisés disponibles auprès de votre fabricant, aucune autre modification n'est nécessaire. Sinon, votre fabricant devra choisir l'épaisseur de préimprégné qui correspond le mieux à vos besoins particuliers. Toutefois, n'oubliez pas que les fabricants ne suivent pas tous les valeurs d'épaisseur indiquées sur les fiches techniques des matériaux et ne prévoient pas tous leurs propres épaisseurs de pressage.

Prepreg vs core dielectric for impedance control

Un niveau plus élevé de répétabilité diélectrique et de normalisation des couches de noyau signifie qu'il est plus aisé de prévoir une conception à impédance contrôlée (c'est-à-dire de plus petites variations de la constante diélectrique sur l'ensemble de la carte) lorsque le diélectrique est utilisé comme diélectrique. Il est également possible d'utiliser un noyau et un préimprégné de même épaisseur pour les lignes ruban symétriques. Quelle que soit la façon dont les couches de préimprégné et de noyau sont disposées, votre empilage de couches doit être symétrique pour éviter toute distorsion de la carte après les étapes de pressage et de refroidissement au cours de la fabrication. Il est également fréquent de mélanger différents matériaux, par exemple un stratifié haute vitesse avec un noyau FR4. Cependant, il ne faut pas (ou il n'est pas possible) de combiner tous les matériaux, car cela dépend du type de résine et des coefficients de dilatation thermique (CDT) de chaque matériau. Une carte optimale utilisera des matériaux de base et préimprégnés dont les valeurs de CDT correspondent étroitement à la valeur de CDT du cuivre.

Lorsque l'on utilise un logiciel de conception de PCB doté d'un outil intégré d'empilage et de calcul de l'impédance, il est plus aisé de procéder à la sélection et au routage des matériaux préimprégnés que des matériaux de base. Le gestionnaire d'empilage des couches d'Altium Designer® est l'outil idéal pour concevoir votre carte à impédance contrôlée et pour organiser un empilage de couches parfait. Vous aurez également accès à une vaste bibliothèque de matériaux qui contient des données importantes sur un large éventail de matériaux standard. Vous pouvez également spécifier des propriétés de matériaux distinctes pour les matériaux de substrat exotiques.

Téléchargez votre version d'essai d'Altium Designer et découvrez les meilleurs outils du secteur en matière de routage, simulation et planification de la production. Adressez-vous à un expert Altium dès aujourd'hui pour en savoir plus.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson possède une vaste expérience technique dans le milieu universitaire et industriel. Avant de travailler dans l'industrie des PCB, il a enseigné à la Portland State University. Il a dirigé son M.S. recherche sur les capteurs de gaz chimisorptifs et son doctorat en physique appliquée, recherche sur la théorie et la stabilité du laser aléatoire. Son expérience en recherche scientifique couvre des sujets tels que les lasers à nanoparticules, les dispositifs électroniques et optoélectroniques à semi-conducteurs, les systèmes environnementaux et l'analyse financière. Ses travaux ont été publiés dans diverses revues spécialisées et actes de conférences et il a écrit des centaines de blogs techniques sur la conception de PCB pour de nombreuses entreprises. Zachariah travaille avec d'autres sociétés de PCB fournissant des services de conception et de recherche. Il est membre de l'IEEE Photonics Society et de l'American Physical Society

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • A365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Using Prepreg vs. Core for Controlled Impedance Routing

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  December 29, 2019

    IC on prepreg vs. core materials

    Are you designing for controlled impedance on the right layer material?

    When I was first learning the finer points of PCB design, my first impression that the core was some type of special material. This is not necessarily the case, and designers have some freedom to choose the core/prepreg arrangement that works best for their needs. When it comes to controlled impedance routing, especially at high frequencies, the use of core or prepreg layers as the separating dielectric now becomes an important question.

    So which layer is best to use for controlled impedance routing? Greater control over board impedance requires greater dielectric constant uniformity before considering fiber weave effects. It also requires greater consistency and predictability in the dielectric constant of a board produced after manufacturing. Here’s where you should carefully shop for the right materials for your layer stack when determining the locations of prepreg vs. core layers.

    Controlled Impedance Over Prepreg vs. Core

    The core is the thick, rigid layer of glass fiber that is typically placed at the center of boards with low layer count. From what I’ve seen, using the word “core” causes some new designers to take the term literally, meaning any design must have a core at the center of the board with other layers built around it. I later learned that this is not a strict requirement, especially as layer counts increase. You actually have alternating layers of core and prepreg, and the central layer is not always a core layer. The important point is that the layer stack is symmetric, regardless of where core layers are placed.

    The prepreg material is not produced fully cured and forms the glue between core layers. In a recent project on a 1.57 mm standard thickness board, we used a Rogers core on the outer layers and FR4 prepreg/core in the inner layers; this type of hybrid multilayer board is common (i.e., PTFE laminates on FR4). Cost is a factor here as different materials carry different costs, thus low-loss laminates are generally reserved for layers carrying high speed/high frequency signals.

    Generally, the core layer is more reproducible than a prepreg, both in terms of the dielectric constant and thickness as the core material is already bonded with copper. In contrast, the prepreg manufacturer can only specify a dielectric constant range for the raw material; they are not specifying the dielectric constant after assembly, which will determine the effective dielectric constant seen by signals on an interconnect. Some specialty low-loss prepreg laminates can have very wide variations in dielectric constants (beyond 50%).

    Pressing and cutting for prepreg vs core materials

    Single or Double Ply Core?

    Some core materials with different glass weave styles will have significantly different dielectric constants, which also depends on whether a particular core material is single ply or double ply. 106 and 106/1080 cores are perfect examples. The dielectric constants for these materials can vary by approximately 10%, which requires adjusting trace widths if you take an existing design and swap between single and double ply cores.

    In addition to the number of plies, prepreg and core with the same weave style and porosity will have different dielectric constants. Also, different laminate thicknesses will require different glass weave styles. This is why materials are normally classified in terms of desired Dk range, and many manufacturers will simply call out thickness, weave style, and number of plies you can use for core and prepreg in product sheets. The different resin content and thicknesses of these materials will produce different dielectric constants.

    How to Work With Your Manufacturer

    Designing a stackup such that layers have standardized thicknesses is probably the least discussed aspect of DFM, yet it is probably the most important. Your EDA tools will probably let you enter whatever value you want for your layer thickness. When communicating impedance control requirements on prepreg layers, you’ll generally specify the track width and copper weight (thick can be easily converted to a track thickness), your required impedance value, and the desired dielectric constant and laminate thickness.

    If you’ve already designed your board around standardized materials available from your manufacturer, then no other modifications are needed. Otherwise, your manufacturer will need to select the closest prepreg thickness for your particular requirements. However, not all manufacturers will follow the thickness values listed on a material datasheet and will plan their own press-out thicknesses.

    Prepreg vs core dielectric for impedance control

    The higher level of dielectric repeatability and standardization of core layers means controlled impedance design is more predictable (i.e., smaller variations in dielectric constant throughout the board) when the core is used as the dielectric. You could also use a core and prepreg with the same thickness for symmetric striplines. No matter how you arrange prepreg and core layers, your layer stack should be arranged symmetrically to prevent board distortion after pressing and cooling steps during manufacturing. It’s also common practice to mix different materials, such as a high speed laminate with FR4 core. However, not all materials should (or can) be combined as this depends on the type of resin and thermal expansion coefficients (CTE) of each material. The best board will use core and prepreg materials with CTE values that closely match the CTE value for copper.

    Selecting and routing on prepreg vs. core materials is easiest when you use PCB design software with an integrated stackup and impedance calculator tool. The layer stack manager in Altium Designer® is an ideal tool for designing your board with controlled impedance and arranging your perfect layer stack. You’ll also have access to an extensive materials library that contains important data on a broad range of standard materials. You can also specify specific material properties for exotic substrate materials.

    Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer and learn more about the industry’s best layout, simulation, and production planning tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home