Verwendung von Prepreg vs. Kern für Routing mit kontrollierter Impedanz

Zachariah Peterson
|  Erstellt: December 29, 2019  |  Aktualisiert am: March 10, 2021

IC on prepreg vs. core materials

 IC auf Prepreg- vs. Kernmaterial

Als ich anfing, die Feinheiten des PCB-Designs zu erlernen, hatte ich den Eindruck, dass der Kern aus einem ganz speziellen Material bestand. Das ist jedoch nicht unbedingt der Fall und Designer haben eine gewisse Freiheit in der Auswahl der Kern-/Prepreg-Anordnung, die für ihren Bedarf am besten geeignet ist. Wenn es um das Routing mit kontrollierter Impedanz geht, insbesondere bei hohen Frequenzen, wird die Verwendung von Kern- oder Prepreg-Lagen als trennendes Dielektrikum zu einer entscheidenden Frage.

Welche Lage eignet sich am besten für das Routing mit kontrollierter Impedanz? Eine bessere Kontrolle über die Impedanz der Leiterplatte erfordert eine größere Gleichmäßigkeit der dielektrischen Konstante, bevor die Auswirkungen des Glasfasergewebes berücksichtigt werden können. Sie erfordert auch eine größere Konsistenz und Vorhersagbarkeit in der dielektrischen Konstante einer nach der Herstellung produzierten Leiterplatte. Deshalb sollten Sie sorgfältig nach den richtigen Materialien für Ihren Lagenaufbau suchen, wenn Sie die Positionen der Prepreg- vs. Kernlagen bestimmen.

Kontrollierte Impedanz über Prepreg vs. Kern

Der Kern ist die dicke, starre Glasfaserschicht, die normalerweise in der Mitte von Leiterplatten mit geringer Lagenanzahl platziert wird. Wie ich festgestellt habe, veranlasst die Verwendung des Begriffs „Kern“ einige neue Designer dazu, den Begriff wörtlich zu nehmen, d.  h. jedes Design muss einen Kern in der Mitte der Leiterplatte haben, um den herum weitere Lagen aufgebaut werden. Später erfuhr ich, dass dies keine strikte Anforderung ist, vor allem, wenn die Anzahl der Lagen zunimmt. Tatsächlich gibt es abwechselnd Lagen von Kern und Prepreg, und die zentrale Lage ist nicht immer die Kernschicht. Der entscheidende Punkt ist, dass der Lagenaufbau symmetrisch ist, unabhängig davon, wo die Kernlagen platziert werden.

Das Prepreg-Material wird nicht vollständig ausgehärtet hergestellt und bildet den Leim zwischen den Kernlagen. In einem kürzlich durchgeführten Projekt über eine Leiterplatte mit einer Standarddicke von 1,57 mm verendeten wir einen Rogers-Kern auf den Außenlagen und FR4-Prepreg/Kern in den Innenlagen. Diese Art von Hybrid-Mehrlagenplatte ist üblich (d. h. PTFE-Laminate auf FR4). Die Kosten sind hier ein Faktor, da unterschiedliche Materialien unterschiedliche Kosten verursachen, so dass verlustarme Laminate im Allgemeinen für Lagen reserviert sind, die High-Speed-/Hochfrequenzsignale übertragen.

Im Allgemeinen ist die Kernlage sowohl hinsichtlich der dielektrischen Konstante als auch der Dicke besser reproduzierbar als ein Prepreg, da das Kernmaterial bereits mit Kupfer verbunden ist. Im Gegensatz dazu kann der Prepreg-Hersteller nur einen Dielektrizitätskonstantenbereich für das Rohmaterial angeben. Er gibt nicht die dielektrische Konstante nach der Montage an, die dann die effektive dielektrische Konstante bestimmt, welche von den Signalen auf einer Verbindung erkennt wird. Einige spezielle verlustarme Prepreg-Laminate können sehr große Schwankungen in den dielektrischen Konstanten aufweisen (über 50 %).

Pressing and cutting for prepreg vs core materials

Ein- oder zweilagiger Kern?

Gewisse Kernmaterialien mit unterschiedlichen Glasgewebestilen haben deutlich unterschiedliche dielektrische Konstanten, was auch davon abhängt, ob ein bestimmtes Kernmaterial einlagig oder zweilagig ist. 106- und 106/1080-Kerne sind perfekte Beispiele. Die dielektrischen Konstanten für diese Materialien können um etwa 10 % variieren, was eine Anpassung der Leiterbahnbreiten erfordert, wenn Sie ein vorhandenes Design verwenden und zwischen ein- und zweilagigen Kernen wechseln.

Zusätzlich zu der Anzahl der Lagen werden Prepreg und Kern, die die gleiche Gewebeart und Porosität aufweisen, unterschiedliche dielektrische Konstanten haben, und unterschiedliche Laminatdicken erfordern unterschiedliche Glasgewebearten. Aus diesem Grund werden die Materialien normalerweise nach dem gewünschten Dk-Bereich klassifiziert, und viele Hersteller geben einfach die Dicke, die Gewebeart und die Anzahl der Lagen an, die Sie für Kern und Prepreg in den Produktblättern verwenden können. Der unterschiedliche Harzgehalt und die unterschiedlichen Dicken dieser Materialien führen zu unterschiedlichen dielektrischen Konstanten.

Zusammenarbeit mit dem Hersteller

Den Lagenaufbau so zu gestalten, dass die Lagen standardisierte Dicken aufweisen, ist wahrscheinlich der am wenigsten diskutierte und dennoch wichtigste Aspekt des DFM. Mit Ihren EDA-Werkzeugen können Sie wahrscheinlich jeden gewünschten Wert für die Dicke der Lagen eingeben. Wenn Sie die Anforderungen an die Impedanzkontrolle von Prepreg-Lagen mitteilen, geben Sie in der Regel die Leiterbahnbreite und das Kupfergewicht (dies lässt sich leicht in eine Leiterbahndicke umrechnen), den gewünschten Impedanzwert sowie die gewünschte dielektrische Konstante und Laminatdicke an.

Wenn Sie Ihre Leiterplatte bereits auf der Grundlage von standardisierten Materialien entworfen haben, die bei Ihrem Hersteller erhältlich sind, sind keine weiteren Anpassungen erforderlich. Andernfalls muss Ihr Hersteller die nächstliegende Prepreg-Dicke für Ihre speziellen Anforderungen auswählen. Denken Sie jedoch daran, dass nicht alle Hersteller die auf einem Materialdatenblatt aufgeführten Werte der Dicke einhalten sondern ihre eigenen Einpressdicken planen.

Prepreg vs core dielectric for impedance control

Prepreg- vs. Kerndielektrikum zur Impedanzkontrolle

Das höhere Niveau der dielektrischen Wiederholbarkeit und Standardisierung der Kernlagen bedeutet, dass ein Design der kontrollierten Impedanz besser vorhersagbar ist (d. h. kleinere Schwankungen der dielektrischen Konstante über die gesamte Leiterplatte), wenn das Dielektrikum als Dielektrikum verwendet wird. Sie könnten auch einen Kern und ein Prepreg mit derselben Dicke für symmetrische Streifenleitungen verwenden. Unabhängig davon, wie Sie Prepreg- und Kernlagen anordnen, sollte Ihr Lagenaufbau symmetrisch angeordnet sein, um eine Verzerrung der Leiterplatte nach den Einpress- und Kühlschritten während der Herstellung zu vermeiden. Es ist auch gängige Praxis, verschiedene Materialien zu mischen, wie zum Beispiel High-Speed-Laminat mit FR4-Kern. Allerdings sollten (oder können) nicht alle Materialien kombiniert werden, da dies von der Art des Harzes und den Wärmeausdehnungskoeffizienten (CTE) der einzelnen Materialien abhängt. Die beste Leiterplatte verwendet Kern- und Prepreg-Materialien mit CTE-Werten, die dem CTE-Wert für Kupfer nahe kommen.

Die Auswahl und das Routing auf Prepreg- vs. Kernmaterialien ist am einfachsten, wenn Sie PCB-Designsoftware mit einem integrierten Lagenaufbau- und Impedanzrechner-Werkzeug verwenden. Der Lagenaufbau-Verwalter in Altium Designer® ist ein ideales Werkzeug für das Design Ihrer Leiterplatte mit kontrollierter Impedanz und die Anordnung eines perfekten Lagenaufbaus. Außerdem haben Sie Zugang zu einer umfangreichen Materialbibliothek, die wichtige Daten zu einer breiten Palette an Standardmaterialien enthält. Sie können auch bestimmte Materialeigenschaften für exotische Substratmaterialien festlegen.

Jetzt können Sie eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer herunterladen und mehr über die branchenweit besten Werkzeuge für das Layout, die Simulation und die Produktionsplanung erfahren. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Experten von Altium, um weitere Informationen zu erhalten.

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • A365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Using Prepreg vs. Core for Controlled Impedance Routing

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  December 29, 2019

    IC on prepreg vs. core materials

    Are you designing for controlled impedance on the right layer material?

    When I was first learning the finer points of PCB design, my first impression that the core was some type of special material. This is not necessarily the case, and designers have some freedom to choose the core/prepreg arrangement that works best for their needs. When it comes to controlled impedance routing, especially at high frequencies, the use of core or prepreg layers as the separating dielectric now becomes an important question.

    So which layer is best to use for controlled impedance routing? Greater control over board impedance requires greater dielectric constant uniformity before considering fiber weave effects. It also requires greater consistency and predictability in the dielectric constant of a board produced after manufacturing. Here’s where you should carefully shop for the right materials for your layer stack when determining the locations of prepreg vs. core layers.

    Controlled Impedance Over Prepreg vs. Core

    The core is the thick, rigid layer of glass fiber that is typically placed at the center of boards with low layer count. From what I’ve seen, using the word “core” causes some new designers to take the term literally, meaning any design must have a core at the center of the board with other layers built around it. I later learned that this is not a strict requirement, especially as layer counts increase. You actually have alternating layers of core and prepreg, and the central layer is not always a core layer. The important point is that the layer stack is symmetric, regardless of where core layers are placed.

    The prepreg material is not produced fully cured and forms the glue between core layers. In a recent project on a 1.57 mm standard thickness board, we used a Rogers core on the outer layers and FR4 prepreg/core in the inner layers; this type of hybrid multilayer board is common (i.e., PTFE laminates on FR4). Cost is a factor here as different materials carry different costs, thus low-loss laminates are generally reserved for layers carrying high speed/high frequency signals.

    Generally, the core layer is more reproducible than a prepreg, both in terms of the dielectric constant and thickness as the core material is already bonded with copper. In contrast, the prepreg manufacturer can only specify a dielectric constant range for the raw material; they are not specifying the dielectric constant after assembly, which will determine the effective dielectric constant seen by signals on an interconnect. Some specialty low-loss prepreg laminates can have very wide variations in dielectric constants (beyond 50%).

    Pressing and cutting for prepreg vs core materials

    Single or Double Ply Core?

    Some core materials with different glass weave styles will have significantly different dielectric constants, which also depends on whether a particular core material is single ply or double ply. 106 and 106/1080 cores are perfect examples. The dielectric constants for these materials can vary by approximately 10%, which requires adjusting trace widths if you take an existing design and swap between single and double ply cores.

    In addition to the number of plies, prepreg and core with the same weave style and porosity will have different dielectric constants. Also, different laminate thicknesses will require different glass weave styles. This is why materials are normally classified in terms of desired Dk range, and many manufacturers will simply call out thickness, weave style, and number of plies you can use for core and prepreg in product sheets. The different resin content and thicknesses of these materials will produce different dielectric constants.

    How to Work With Your Manufacturer

    Designing a stackup such that layers have standardized thicknesses is probably the least discussed aspect of DFM, yet it is probably the most important. Your EDA tools will probably let you enter whatever value you want for your layer thickness. When communicating impedance control requirements on prepreg layers, you’ll generally specify the track width and copper weight (thick can be easily converted to a track thickness), your required impedance value, and the desired dielectric constant and laminate thickness.

    If you’ve already designed your board around standardized materials available from your manufacturer, then no other modifications are needed. Otherwise, your manufacturer will need to select the closest prepreg thickness for your particular requirements. However, not all manufacturers will follow the thickness values listed on a material datasheet and will plan their own press-out thicknesses.

    Prepreg vs core dielectric for impedance control

    The higher level of dielectric repeatability and standardization of core layers means controlled impedance design is more predictable (i.e., smaller variations in dielectric constant throughout the board) when the core is used as the dielectric. You could also use a core and prepreg with the same thickness for symmetric striplines. No matter how you arrange prepreg and core layers, your layer stack should be arranged symmetrically to prevent board distortion after pressing and cooling steps during manufacturing. It’s also common practice to mix different materials, such as a high speed laminate with FR4 core. However, not all materials should (or can) be combined as this depends on the type of resin and thermal expansion coefficients (CTE) of each material. The best board will use core and prepreg materials with CTE values that closely match the CTE value for copper.

    Selecting and routing on prepreg vs. core materials is easiest when you use PCB design software with an integrated stackup and impedance calculator tool. The layer stack manager in Altium Designer® is an ideal tool for designing your board with controlled impedance and arranging your perfect layer stack. You’ll also have access to an extensive materials library that contains important data on a broad range of standard materials. You can also specify specific material properties for exotic substrate materials.

    Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer and learn more about the industry’s best layout, simulation, and production planning tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home