Pourquoi la technologie flex-rigide n'est-elle pas utilisée dans toutes les applications ?

Tara Dunn
|  Créé: May 27, 2019  |  Mise à jour: October 6, 2020

Pourquoi la technologie flex-rigide n'est-elle pas utilisée dans toutes les applications ? 

Bonne question ! La technologie flex-rigide est une solution hybride, à mi-chemin entre cartes rigides et circuits flexibles, qui combine les aspects les plus favorables des deux. La partie flexible permet de résoudre les problèmes d'espace, de poids et de conditionnement, car elle peut être courbée, pliée et fléchie, soit lors de l'installation (flex to install), soit lors de l'utilisation finale (flex dynamic). La partie rigide peut supporter des zones de composants denses, ce qui permet d'utiliser un plus grand nombre de couches, d'effectuer un routage complexe et un montage en surface sur les deux côtés de la carte. L'utilisation de ce type de conception pour toutes les applications me semble logique ! 

D'un point de vue plus réaliste, le coût est presque toujours un facteur à prendre en compte lors du choix de la technologie à utiliser pour une conception particulière. La technologie flex-rigide, et tous les avantages qu'elle offre, n'est pas forcément toujours la meilleure solution en termes de coût global. Dans un prochain article de blog, nous discuterons de l'importance de comparer le coût global de la conception au lieu d'uniquement le coût d'un circuit rigide ou flexible par rapport à celui d'une conception flex-rigide. Pour l'instant, voyons pourquoi la fabrication des cartes flexibles et flex-rigides revient plus cher que celle des cartes rigides standard.

Premièrement, les matières premières sont tout simplement plus chères que les laminés FR4 standard. Le marché des PCB utilise moins de matériaux flexibles que de matériaux rigides, ce qui entraîne un écart assez important dans le coût des matières premières.

Deuxièmement, la manipulation des matériaux flexibles peut être délicate. Les concepteurs choisissent des matériaux flexibles parce qu'ils sont minces, légers et qu'ils peuvent être fléchis et pliés, mais ceux-ci exigent une attention particulière lors de la fabrication. Imaginez un morceau de laminé de 18" x 24" ou même de 12" x 18", d'une épaisseur de seulement deux ou trois millimètres. Cela revient à essayer de saisir une feuille de papier. Le moindre petit tremblement peut potentiellement créer une bosse ou un pli dans le cuivre, le transformant au fur et à mesure de la création de circuit. 

Les fabricants de matériaux flexibles doivent appliquer des procédures de manipulation spéciales. Par exemple, vous pouvez soulever le matériau uniquement en le saisissant par les coins opposés pour que le stratifié reste plat. Le transport des matériaux dans les locaux requiert généralement l'utilisation de plateaux spéciaux ou de chariots à étagères. Comme la plupart des équipements de fabrication de PCB par voie humide utilisent des rouleaux, les matériaux flexibles nécessitent souvent des panneaux de guidage collés et non collés tout au long du processus pour éviter que les cartes ne restent coincées dans les rouleaux.

Lorsque l'on compare les circuits rigides et flexibles en tenant compte du coût et des exigences de manipulation des matériaux, on comprend pourquoi les cartes flexibles sont plus coûteuses. Si l'on passe à une conception rigide plus complexe, la différence est encore plus grande en raison du traitement spécial requis pour stratifier et fabriquer des matériaux distincts. Je pense qu'il est également important de comprendre l'impact qu'on les différentes conception flex-rigides sur le coût.

Les conceptions flex-rigides comprenant des couches externes rigides de même épaisseur et des couches d'interconnexion flexibles constituent généralement l'option la plus simple et la moins chère. Il s'agit de la conception flex-rigide la plus courante. Toutefois, comme mentionné dans des articles de blog précédents, les cartes flexibles et flex-rigides permettent de laisser libre cours à la créativité dans de nombreuses conceptions. Par exemple, les zones flexibles de certaines solutions de conception nécessitent des trous métallisés. Même s'il est tout à fait possible de les réaliser, cela ajoute un coût supplémentaire en raison du traitement supplémentaire que le fabricant doit appliquer. En d'autres termes, les couches flexibles doivent être « traitées par voie humide » pour créer les trous traversants avant de les intégrer au reste de l'empilage de couches.

Une autre façon créative de résoudre les problèmes de conditionnement consiste à séparer certaines couches flexibles, ou extrémités, en parties distinctes. Par exemple, les couches flexibles 1 et 2 sont orientées dans un sens, les couches flexibles 3 et 4 sont orientées dans un autre sens, et les couches flexibles 5 et 6 sont encore orientées dans un autre sens. C'est une excellente utilisation de la technologie flex-rigide !  Toutefois, lors de la fabrication, ce genre de conception requiert un traitement beaucoup plus important que celui de la version simple décrite ci-dessus. Il y a plusieurs façons d'aborder cette conception complexe, et il est fortement recommandé de collaborer avec votre fabricant dès le début processus de conception afin de veiller à ne pas ajouter de coûts inutiles.

Pour répondre à la question initiale, même si la technologie flex-rigide réunit les avantages des conceptions de circuits à la fois rigides et flexibles, vous ne pouvez pas l'utiliser dans toutes les applications, et ce principalement en raison de son coût. La fabrication de cartes flex-rigides est plus complexe que la fabrication des circuits imprimés rigides ou flexibles. Bien que la technologie flex-rigide permette de résoudre un problème de conditionnement, il faut tenir compte du coût total de la conception, et pas uniquement du coût du circuit lui-même. Il est souvent possible de faire des économies car la technologie flex-rigide évite d'avoir à utiliser des fils, câbles et autres composants de la nomenclature. Continuez de suivre notre actualité car ce sujet fera l'objet d'un futur article de blog !

Souhaitez-vous en savoir plus sur les solutions que vous propose Altium pour la conception de votre prochain circuit imprimé ? Parlez-en à un expert Altium.

 

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Tara est une experte reconnue de l'industrie, avec plus de 20 années de collaboration avec des ingénieurs, concepteurs, fabricants, organisations d'approvisionnement et utilisateurs de cartes de circuits imprimés. Son expertise porte sur les technologies flexibles et rigides-flexibles, les technologies additives et les projets à développement court. Elle fait partie des piliers du secteur, étant capable de se mettre rapidement au courant dans une grande diversité de sujets, soutenue par son site de référence technique PCBadvisor.com. Elle contribue régulièrement aux événements industriels en tant que conférencière, avec notamment une colonne dans le magazine PCB007.com et le site Geek-a-palooza.com. Son entreprise, Omni PCB, est connue pour ses réponses rapides sous 24 heures, sa capacité à réaliser des projets sur la base de spécifications uniques : délai, technologie et volume.

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • A365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Why Doesn’t Every Application Use Rigid Flex Technology?

    Tara Dunn
    |  May 27, 2019

    Why Doesn’t Every Application Use Rigid Flex Technology? 

    Good Question! Rigid-flex technology is a hybrid between rigid boards and flexible circuits,m combing the most favorable aspects of both. The flexible portion helps solve space, weight, and packaging issues because it can bend, fold, and flex in either installation (flex to install) or end use (dynamic flex). The rigid portion supports dense component areas, allowing higher layer counts, complex routing, surface mounting on both sides of the board. Using this construction for all applications makes sense to me!  

    More realistically, cost is almost always a factor when selecting the technology to use for a particular design. Rigid-flex, with all its benefits, might not always be the best total cost solution. In a future blog, we will discuss the importance of comparing total design cost rather than just  the cost of a rigid or flexible circuit to a rigid-flex design. For now, let's look at why flex and rigid-flex are more expensive to manufacture than a standard rigid board. 

    First, the raw materials are simply more expensive than standard FR4 laminates. The PCB market consumes less flexible materials than their rigid counterparts, driving a fairly significant delta in the cost of raw materials. 

    Secondly, handling flexible materials can be challenging. Designers choose flexible materials because they are thin, lightweight, and can bend and fold, but these things require special attention during fabrication. Picture a 18” x 24” or even a 12” x 18” piece of laminate, only two or three mils thick. It is like trying to hold a piece of paper. Any little flutter can potentially create a ding or crease in the copper, turning it to as the circuitry is created.  

    Fabricators of flex materials need special handling procedures. For example, you can only pick the material up by opposing corners to keep the laminate flat. Transporting materials through the facility typically requires special trays or racked carts. Because most PCB fabrication wet-process equipment is roller based, flexible materials often require leader boards taped and untaped throughout the process to ensure the panels do not get caught in the rollers. 

    Comparing the cost and handling requirements of  rigid and flexible circuit materials explains why flexible is more expensive. Moving to a more complex rigid construction furthers the gap with the special processing required to laminate and fabricate dissimilar materials. I think it is also important to understand how different rigid flex constructions impact cost. 

    The simplest and least expensive option typically is rigid flex with rigid outer layers and flex interconnecting layers with all rigid layers having the same thickness. This is the most common  rigid flex construction, but both flex and rigid-flex allow a lot of creative designs., as mentioned in previous blogs.. For example, certain design solutions require plated through holes in the flex regions. While certainly possible, it adds additional cost due to additional processing at the fabricator. In simplest terms, the flex layers need “wet-process” processing to create the through holes before they get integrated into the rest of the stack up. 

    Another creative way to solve packaging issues is to have certain flex layers, or tails, break off into separate sections. For example, flex layers 1 and 2 go in one direction, flex layers 3 and 4 go off in another direction, and flex layers 5 and 6 go in yet another direction. This is an excellent use of rigid-flex technology!  However, this construction requires significantly more processing during fabrication than the simple version described earlier. There are several different ways to approach this complex design, and it is highly recommended to work with your fabricator early in the design process to ensure you are not adding unnecessary costs. 

    To answer the original question, even though rigid-flex technology offers the benefits of both rigid and flexible circuit constructions, you cannot use it for all applications, primarily due to cost. Fabrication of rigid-flex is more complex than the fabrication of either rigid PCBs or flexible circuits. When rigid-flex technology does solve a packaging issue, you must  look at the total cost of the design, and not just the cost of the circuit itself. Often, you can save costs as rigid-flex eliminates wires, cables, and other bill of material items. Stay tuned as that is a topic for a future blog!

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium.

    About Author

    About Author

    Tara is a recognized industry expert with more than 20 years of experience working with: PCB engineers, designers, fabricators, sourcing organizations, and printed circuit board users. Her expertise is in flex and rigid-flex, additive technology, and quick-turn projects. She is one of the industry's top resources to get up to speed quickly on a range of subjects through her technical reference site PCBadvisor.com and contributes regularly to industry events as a speaker, writes a column in the magazine PCB007.com, and hosts Geek-a-palooza.com. Her business Omni PCB is known for its same day response and the ability to fulfill projects based on unique specifications: lead time, technology and volume.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home