Warum verwendet nicht jede Anwendung die Starr-Flex-Technologie?

Tara Dunn
|  May 27, 2019

 

Warum verwendet nicht jede Anwendung die Starr-Flex-Technologie? 

Gute Frage! Die Starr-Flex-Technologie ist eine Mischform aus starren Leiterplatten und flexiblen Schaltungsbereichen, welche die Vorteile beider Aspekte von beiden kombiniert. Der flexible Teil hilft bei der Lösung von Problemen mit Platz, Gewicht und Verpackung, da er sich entweder bei der Installation (Flex to Install) oder bei der Endnutzung (Dynamic Flex) biegen und falten lässt. Der starre Teil unterstützt dichte Komponentenbereiche, ermöglicht höhere Lagenzahlen, komplexes Routing, Oberflächenmontage auf beiden Seiten der Leiterplatte. Die Verwendung dieser Konstruktion für alle Anwendungen erscheint mir sinnvoll. 

In der Realität sind Kosten immer ein Faktor bei der Auswahl der Technologie, die für ein bestimmtes Design verwendet wird. Starr-Flex mit all seinen Vorteilen ist vielleicht nicht immer die beste Gesamtkostenlösung. In einem zukünftigen Blog werden wir diskutieren, wie wichtig es ist, die gesamten Designkosten zu vergleichen und nicht nur die Kosten eines starren oder flexiblen Schaltkreises mit denen eines Starr-Flex-Designs. Untersuchen wir zunächst einmal, warum die Herstellung von Flex und Starr-Flex teurer ist als die einer standardmäßigen starren Leiterplatte.

Erstens sind die Rohmaterialien teurer als die Standard-FR4-Laminate. Die PCB-Markt verbraucht weniger flexible Materialien als ihre starren Pendants, was zu einem ziemlich bedeutenden Delta bei den Rohstoffkosten führt.

Zweitens kann der Umgang mit flexiblen Materialien schwierig sein. Designer wählen flexibles Material, weil es dünn und leicht ist, sich biegen und falten lässt, aber dies erfordert bei der Herstellung besondere Aufmerksamkeit. Stellen Sie sich ein Stück Laminat in der Größe 18 x 24 Zoll oder sogar 12 x 18 Zoll vor, das nur 2 oder 3 mil dick ist. Dies ist, als ob Sie versuchen, ein Stück Papier zu halten. Jedes geringste Flattern kann potenziell eine Delle oder eine Falte im Kupfer erzeugen, das sich dann bei der Herstellung des Schaltung dreht. 

Hersteller von starren Materialien benötigen spezielle Verarbeitungsmethoden. Zum Beispiel können Sie das Material nur an gegenüberliegenden Ecken aufheben, um das Laminat flach zu halten. Der Transport des Materials durch die Einrichtung erfordert in der Regel spezielle Tabletts oder Regalwagen. Da die meisten Nassprozessanlagen für die Leiterplattenherstellung auf Rollen basieren, erfordern flexible Materialien während des gesamten Verfahrens oft mit Klebeband und ohne Klebeband versehene Leiterplatten, um sicherzustellen, dass sich die Platten nicht in den Rollen verfangen.

Ein Vergleich der Kosten und der Verarbeitungsanforderungen von starren und flexiblen Materialien für die Schaltungen zeigt, warum die Flexiblen teurer sind. Durch den Übergang zu einer komplexeren starren Konstruktion vergrößert sich der Unterschied aufgrund der speziellen Verarbeitung, die für die Laminierung und Herstellung unterschiedlicher Materialien erforderlich ist. Ich denke, dass es auch wichtig ist zu verstehen, wie sich verschiedene Starr-Flex-Konstruktionen auf die Kosten auswirken.

Die einfachste und kostengünstigste Option ist in der Regel die Starr-Flex-Option mit starren Außenlagen und flexiblen Verbindungslagen, wobei alle starren Lagen gleich dick sind. Dies ist die gebräuchlichste Starr-Flex-Konstruktion, aber sowohl Flex wie auch Starr-Flex ermöglichen eine Vielfalt an kreativen Designs, wie in früheren Blogs erwähnt wurde. Beispielsweise erfordern bestimmte Designlösungen durchkontaktierte Löcher in den Flex-Bereichen. Dies ist zwar durchaus möglich, verursacht jedoch Mehrkosten durch die zusätzliche Verarbeitung beim Hersteller. Vereinfacht ausgedrückt, benötigen die Flex-Lagen eine „Nassprozess“-Verarbeitung für die Erzeugung der Durchkontaktierungen, bevor sie in den restlichen Lagenaufbau integriert werden.

Eine andere kreative Methode, Platzprobleme zu lösen, besteht darin, bestimmte Flex-Lagen oder Teile in separate Abschnitte aufzuteilen. Zum Beispiel gehen Flex-Lagen 1 und 2 in eine Richtung, Flex-Lagen 3 und 4 in eine andere Richtung und Flex-Lagen 5 und 6 wiederum in eine andere Richtung. Dies ist eine ausgezeichnete Anwendung der Starr-Flex-Technologie.  Diese Konstruktion erfordert jedoch bei der Herstellung bedeutend mehr Bearbeitung als die zuvor beschriebene einfache Version. Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten, an dieses komplexe Design heranzugehen. Es wird dringend empfohlen, schon früh im Designprozess mit Ihrem Hersteller zusammenzuarbeiten, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie keine unnötigen Kosten verursachen.

Um die ursprüngliche Frage zu beantworten: Obwohl die Starr-Flex-Technologie Vorteile sowohl für starre als auch flexible Schaltungskonstruktionen bietet, können Sie diese vor allem aus Kostengründen nicht für alle Anwendungen einsetzen. Die Herstellung von Starr-Flex ist komplizierter als die Herstellung von starren PCBs oder flexiblen Schaltungen. Wenn die Starr-Flex-Technologie ein Platzproblem löst, dann sollten Sie die Gesamtkosten des Designs und nicht nur die Kosten der elektronischen Schaltung selbst berücksichtigen. Sie können oft Kosten sparen, da mit der Starr-Flex Technologie Drähte, Kabel und andere Stücklistenelemente wegfallen. Bleiben Sie dran, denn das wird in einem künftigen Blog behandelt.

Wollen Sie mehr darüber erfahren, wie Altium Ihnen bei Ihrem nächsten PCB-Design helfen kann? Dann sprechen Sie mit einem Experten von Altium

About Author

About Author

Tara ist eine anerkannte Branchenexpertin mit mehr als 20 Jahren Berufserfahrung in der Zusammenarbeit mit: PCB-Ingenieuren, Designern, Herstellern, Beschaffungsorganisationen und Anwendern von Leiterplatten. Ihre Fachkenntnisse liegen in den Bereichen Flex und Starrflex, Additivtechnologie und Schnelldrehungsprojekte. Sie ist eine der besten Ressourcen der Branche, um sich auf ihrer technischen Referenzseite PCBadvisor.com schnell über eine Reihe von Themen zu informieren. Sie trägt regelmäßig als Rednerin zu Branchenveranstaltungen bei, schreibt eine Kolumne in der Zeitschrift PCB007.com und ist Gastgeberin von Geek-a-palooza.com. Ihr Unternehmen Omni PCB ist bekannt für seine Reaktion am selben Tag und die Fähigkeit, Projekte auf der Grundlage einzigartiger Spezifikationen zu erfüllen: Vorlaufzeit, Technologie und Volumen.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • A365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Why Doesn’t Every Application Use Rigid Flex Technology?

    Tara Dunn
    |  May 27, 2019

    Why Doesn’t Every Application Use Rigid Flex Technology? 

    Good Question! Rigid-flex technology is a hybrid between rigid boards and flexible circuits,m combing the most favorable aspects of both. The flexible portion helps solve space, weight, and packaging issues because it can bend, fold, and flex in either installation (flex to install) or end use (dynamic flex). The rigid portion supports dense component areas, allowing higher layer counts, complex routing, surface mounting on both sides of the board. Using this construction for all applications makes sense to me!  

    More realistically, cost is almost always a factor when selecting the technology to use for a particular design. Rigid-flex, with all its benefits, might not always be the best total cost solution. In a future blog, we will discuss the importance of comparing total design cost rather than just  the cost of a rigid or flexible circuit to a rigid-flex design. For now, let's look at why flex and rigid-flex are more expensive to manufacture than a standard rigid board. 

    First, the raw materials are simply more expensive than standard FR4 laminates. The PCB market consumes less flexible materials than their rigid counterparts, driving a fairly significant delta in the cost of raw materials. 

    Secondly, handling flexible materials can be challenging. Designers choose flexible materials because they are thin, lightweight, and can bend and fold, but these things require special attention during fabrication. Picture a 18” x 24” or even a 12” x 18” piece of laminate, only two or three mils thick. It is like trying to hold a piece of paper. Any little flutter can potentially create a ding or crease in the copper, turning it to as the circuitry is created.  

    Fabricators of flex materials need special handling procedures. For example, you can only pick the material up by opposing corners to keep the laminate flat. Transporting materials through the facility typically requires special trays or racked carts. Because most PCB fabrication wet-process equipment is roller based, flexible materials often require leader boards taped and untaped throughout the process to ensure the panels do not get caught in the rollers. 

    Comparing the cost and handling requirements of  rigid and flexible circuit materials explains why flexible is more expensive. Moving to a more complex rigid construction furthers the gap with the special processing required to laminate and fabricate dissimilar materials. I think it is also important to understand how different rigid flex constructions impact cost. 

    The simplest and least expensive option typically is rigid flex with rigid outer layers and flex interconnecting layers with all rigid layers having the same thickness. This is the most common  rigid flex construction, but both flex and rigid-flex allow a lot of creative designs., as mentioned in previous blogs.. For example, certain design solutions require plated through holes in the flex regions. While certainly possible, it adds additional cost due to additional processing at the fabricator. In simplest terms, the flex layers need “wet-process” processing to create the through holes before they get integrated into the rest of the stack up. 

    Another creative way to solve packaging issues is to have certain flex layers, or tails, break off into separate sections. For example, flex layers 1 and 2 go in one direction, flex layers 3 and 4 go off in another direction, and flex layers 5 and 6 go in yet another direction. This is an excellent use of rigid-flex technology!  However, this construction requires significantly more processing during fabrication than the simple version described earlier. There are several different ways to approach this complex design, and it is highly recommended to work with your fabricator early in the design process to ensure you are not adding unnecessary costs. 

    To answer the original question, even though rigid-flex technology offers the benefits of both rigid and flexible circuit constructions, you cannot use it for all applications, primarily due to cost. Fabrication of rigid-flex is more complex than the fabrication of either rigid PCBs or flexible circuits. When rigid-flex technology does solve a packaging issue, you must  look at the total cost of the design, and not just the cost of the circuit itself. Often, you can save costs as rigid-flex eliminates wires, cables, and other bill of material items. Stay tuned as that is a topic for a future blog!

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium.

    About Author

    About Author

    Tara is a recognized industry expert with more than 20 years of experience working with: PCB engineers, designers, fabricators, sourcing organizations, and printed circuit board users. Her expertise is in flex and rigid-flex, additive technology, and quick-turn projects. She is one of the industry's top resources to get up to speed quickly on a range of subjects through her technical reference site PCBadvisor.com and contributes regularly to industry events as a speaker, writes a column in the magazine PCB007.com, and hosts Geek-a-palooza.com. Her business Omni PCB is known for its same day response and the ability to fulfill projects based on unique specifications: lead time, technology and volume.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home