Tous les matériaux minces peuvent-ils fléchir ?

Tara Dunn
|  Créé: September 23, 2019  |  Mise à jour: January 2, 2021

Raconter des batailles remportées pendant la conception des circuits flexibles peut être une source de divertissement intarissable entre "geeks" du PCB. La vérité est toute autre. Les meilleures histoires sont en fait basées sur des longues heures de frustration. Une fois la frustration oubliée, nous retrouvons assez d'humour pour tirer clairement la vraie leçon de notre expérience. Récemment, on m’a raconté un histoire, que je veux partager avec vous aujourd’hui, parce qu’elle contient une leçon très utile sur la sélection des matériaux flexibles.

Pourquoi ce circuit flexible ne fonctionne-t-il pas correctement ?

D’abord je vous donne un minimum de contexte. Un fabricant OEM, une jeune entreprise médicale, avait développé sa première application "portable". Son produit n'était pas une montre intelligente, ou une application de type « fit bit », mais plutôt un dispositif fixé à un vêtement. Il a un rôle de monitoring médical, permettant de surveiller une condition spécifique et de transmettre des données à un établissement médical. L'équipe de développement a pris la décision de concevoir un circuit flexible pour cette application afin d’offrir des avantages en termes de finesse et de légèreté. C’était la toute première conception de circuit flexible de cette équipe de développement. Mais personne dans l'équipe n'avait d'expérience en matière de conception basée sur des matériaux flexibles. En fait, l'équipe avait très peu d'expérience en matière de conception de PCB en général. 

C'est ici que commence cette anecdote formative, ou plus exactement, l’enchaînement des erreurs à éviter. Au lieu de travailler avec des matériaux flexibles traditionnels à base de polyimide, ils ont choisi des matériaux rigides à âme mince. La logique évoquée est que les matériaux FR4 sont disponibles avec une âme mince de 0,002"/0,003". Le FR4 est disponible dans le commerce, ce qui élimine les délais de livraison ou des limites de commande minimales. Le matériau est robuste, mais surtout ce sont des matériaux que toute l’équipe connaissait bien.

La première version de ce modèle a été construite avec du FR4 rigide de 0,003" et un masque de soudure flexible. Sur le terrain, le produit a rencontré des problèmes de performance avec des défaillances intermittentes. La conception a été légèrement modifiée, mais sans changer les matériaux. Malheureusement, les résultats sont eux aussi restés inchangés. Pendant les efforts de résolution du problème, une coupe transversale du PCB a révélé des fissures dans l’âme rigide du matériau. Vous lisez cela et vous pensez « évidemment », un matériau rigide ne peut que se fissurer. A posteriori, ce genre d’histoire est toujours évidente.

La version suivante a été réalisée avec un revêtement en Kapton pour atténuer le problème. Comme vous vous en doutez, le circuit n'a pas fonctionné et le matériau du noyau s'est à nouveau fissuré. J'aimerais pouvoir vous dire que c'était la dernière version basée sur des matériaux à âme rigide. Mais l’équipe a persisté avec une autre version similaire.

Finalement, le circuit a été repensé avec des matériaux internes souples et des revêtements adaptés. Il a alors fonctionné comme prévu. La réussite approchait. J'imagine qu'il a fallu un certain temps pour que l’équipe découvre le côté humoristique de cette expérience. Mais beaucoup de temps, d'argent et de ressources ont été dépensés pour en arriver là.

Comment auraient-ils pu éviter tous ces problèmes ?

Je pense que certains facteurs inhabituels ont contribué à cette « histoire de flexible qui n'a pas fléchi ».  Tout d'abord, comme je l'ai indiqué, cette équipe n'avait non seulement pas d'expérience en matière de conception de circuits et de matériaux flexibles, mais elle n'avait pas non plus beaucoup d'expérience en matière de PCB. Auparavant, pour créer des conceptions rigides, ils collaboraient avec un atelier d'usinage, qui fabriquait leurs PCB et d'autres travaux. La fonderie n'avait pas non plus beaucoup d'expérience en matière de PCB. Collectivement, ils n'avaient pas non plus beaucoup de connaissances sur les matériaux et leur utilisation. Si un fabricant de circuits imprimés avait révisé leur conception, avec leurs matériaux rigides à noyau mince et un masque de soudure flexible, il n’aurait pas manqué d’identifier plusieurs problèmes. Si un fabricant de PCB avait examiné la conception avec les matériaux rigides et le revêtement Kapton, il aurait tiré toutes les alarmes, déclenchant un flot de questions et des débats approfondis.   

La disponibilité et le coût moindre des matériaux rigides a aussi joué son rôle dans leurs choix. Une fois que la décision a été prise d’utiliser des matériaux flexibles et qu’un fabricant spécialiste des matériaux souples leur a fournit un véritable devis, ils ont pu constater qu’il était légèrement inférieur au prix qu'ils payaient à l'atelier d'usinage pour réaliser la conception rigide de leur PCB. Les matériaux flexibles sont plus chers que les matériaux rigides, mais dans ce cas, le fabricant de matériaux flexibles a acheté suffisamment de matériaux pour bénéficier d'une remise sur le volume. Au bout du compte, l'option flexible s’est donc avérée moins chère. Ils ont coché la case « Leçon retenue ».

Lisez également les meilleurs conseils de Tara Dunn pour les concepteurs de PCB flexible du point de vue de la fabrication

Quels conseils peut-on tirer de cette expérience ? 

L'un des conseils que nous donnent régulièrement les fabricants de matériaux flexibles et rigides-flexibles est de collaborer avec vos fabricants dès le début de la conception pour créer tout l’empilement, pour bénéficier des conseils et des changements sur la façon de "flexibiliser" votre conception. Dans ce cas précis, ils ont collaboré avec leur fabricant, en respectant un principe de base : le fabricant choisi connaît bien les matériaux flexibles et rigides et comment les traiter. La nomenclature des matériaux est différente. Le traitement et la manipulation des matériaux exigent des connaissances spécialisées. La conception intégrant des matériaux souples est plus complexe que celle à laquelle nous sommes habitués, avec les matériaux rigides.

 Et l’humour dans tout ça ? Quand on m’a raconté cette histoire, on a surtout ri à propos d’une leçon évidente : bien sûr que les matériaux rigides se fissurent, ce n'est pas parce qu'ils sont minces qu'ils sont flexibles. L’évidence qui saute aux yeux et que l’on ne voit est aussi un ressort comique... mais a posteriori, seulement !

Découvrez les challenges des matériaux flexibles et rigides-flexibles ou discutez de vos besoins avec un expert Altium aujourd’hui pour en savoir plus.

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Tara est une experte reconnue de l'industrie, avec plus de 20 années de collaboration avec des ingénieurs, concepteurs, fabricants, organisations d'approvisionnement et utilisateurs de cartes de circuits imprimés. Son expertise porte sur les technologies flexibles et rigides-flexibles, les technologies additives et les projets à développement court. Elle fait partie des piliers du secteur, étant capable de se mettre rapidement au courant dans une grande diversité de sujets, soutenue par son site de référence technique PCBadvisor.com. Elle contribue régulièrement aux événements industriels en tant que conférencière, avec notamment une colonne dans le magazine PCB007.com et le site Geek-a-palooza.com. Son entreprise, Omni PCB, est connue pour ses réponses rapides sous 24 heures, sa capacité à réaliser des projets sur la base de spécifications uniques : délai, technologie et volume.

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Will All Thin Materials Flex?

    Tara Dunn
    |  September 23, 2019

    Telling “war stories” about flexible circuit designs is something that can provide endless hours of entertainment when you get a bunch of “geeky” PCB people together. In fact, it seems that the best of these stories have all caused countless hours of frustration while in the midst of them, but once that frustration eases, we seem to be able to find both a little (or a lot of) humor in the situation and clarity on the lesson learned. Today, I am going to share a war story that was recently shared with me and the lesson learned about flexible material selection.

    Why isn’t this flexible circuit working properly?

    Starting with a little background, the OEM, a medical startup company, was developing their first “wearable” application. The product wasn’t a smartwatch, or fit bit type application, but rather something that was going to be attached to patient's clothing and worn while monitoring a specific condition and transmitting data back to the medical facility. The development team made the decision to design a flexible circuit for this application to take advantage of its thin and lightweight characteristics. This was going to be the very first flexible circuit design for this development group, and there was nobody on the team who had experience with flex design or materials. In fact, the team had very little PCB design experience in general. 

    Here is where the “war story”, or maybe more accurately put, series of missteps begins. Rather than work with the traditional polyimide-based flexible materials, the decision was made to use thin core rigid materials instead. The logic being that FR4 materials were available with .002”/ .003” thin core, FR4 is commercially available, eliminating the worry of lead-time or high minimum purchase requirements, the material is rugged and as importantly, these were the materials that they were most familiar with.

    The first version of this design was built using .003” rigid FR4 material with flexible solder mask. In the field there were performance issues with intermittent failures. A slight redesign was done, again using these same materials. Unfortunately, with similar result. As problem solving progressed, a cross-section of the PCB was done and showed cracking in the rigid core materials. I imagine you are reading this, thinking “of course” the rigid material was cracking. But that is the funny thing about these stories, hindsight is always so clear.

    The next version of the design was produced using Kapton based coverlay to mitigate this problem. As I am sure that you are predicting, the circuit again was not performing and again had cracking of the core material. I wish I could say that was the final version on rigid core materials, but there was one more version built with this construction.

    Finally, the circuit was redesigned with flexible base materials and coverlay and performed as intended. Success! I imagine it took a while for the story to become comical to that team. A lot of time, money and resources were spent to get to that point.

    How could this have been prevented?

    I think there were some unusual factors that contributed to this “flex that didn’t flex story.”  First, as I mentioned, this team not only did not have experience with flexible circuit design and materials, they did not have a lot of PCB experience at all. For previous rigid designs, they were working with a machine shop that offered to help with the PCB along with other work they were doing. The foundry also did not have a lot of experience with PCBs. Collectively, there was not a lot of knowledge about materials and material usage. Had the design with thin-core rigid materials and flexible solder mask been reviewed by a PCB fabricator, red-flags would have been thrown. Had the design with rigid materials and Kapton coverlay been reviewed by a PCB fabricator, ALL the bells and whistles would have sounded, prompting a lot of questions and detailed discussion.   

    There was also the assumption that rigid materials would be more readily available and come at a lower cost than flexible materials. Once the decision was made to change to flexible materials and the design was quoted by a fabricator specializing in flex, they found it to be a little less expensive than the price they were paying the machine shop for the rigid PCB design. Flex materials are more expensive than rigid materials, but in this case, the flex fabricator purchased enough material they received a volume discount and the flex option was less expensive. Lesson Learned.

    Also read Tara Dunn’s Top Tips for Flex Designers from a Fabrication Perspective

    What advice can be shared from this war story? 

    One piece of advice we hear repeatedly from flex and rigid flex fabricators is to work with your fabricators early in the design for stack up creation, for review and advice on how to “flexize” your design. In this case, they were working with their fabricator, prompting the caveat to be sure that the fabricator you have selected is familiar with flex and rigid flex materials and how to process them. The material set is different; the processing and handling of the material requires specialized knowledge, and designing for flexible materials is more complex than what we are accustomed to with rigid materials.

     So where is the humor in the story? As it was being shared with me, the largest chuckle was “of course rigid materials would crack, just because they are thin doesn’t mean they are flexible”. Well……yes, of course. It all seems so clear in hindsight.

    Learn more about flex and rigid-flex design challenges or talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Tara is a recognized industry expert with more than 20 years of experience working with: PCB engineers, designers, fabricators, sourcing organizations, and printed circuit board users. Her expertise is in flex and rigid-flex, additive technology, and quick-turn projects. She is one of the industry's top resources to get up to speed quickly on a range of subjects through her technical reference site PCBadvisor.com and contributes regularly to industry events as a speaker, writes a column in the magazine PCB007.com, and hosts Geek-a-palooza.com. Her business Omni PCB is known for its same day response and the ability to fulfill projects based on unique specifications: lead time, technology and volume.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home