Flexible Leiterplatten herstellen

Tara Dunn
|  Created: September 23, 2019  |  Updated: January 2, 2021
flexible PCB erstellen

Das Erzählen von „Kriegsgeschichten“ über flexible Schaltungsdesigns ist etwas, das endlose Stunden der Unterhaltung bieten kann, wenn man einen Haufen „unbedarfter“ PCB-Leute zusammenbekommt. Tatsächlich scheint es, dass die besten dieser Geschichten alle zahllose Stunden der Frustration verursachen, während man mittendrin in ihnen ist, aber wenn diese Frustration nachlässt, scheinen wir in der Situation sowohl etwas (oder viel) Humor als auch Klarheit über die gelernte Lektion finden zu können. Heute erzähle ich eine Kriegsgeschichte, die mir neulich erzählt wurde, und die Lektion, die über die Auswahl flexibler Materialien gelernt wurde.

Warum funktioniert diese flexible Schaltung nicht richtig?

Mit einem kleinen Hintergrund beginnend, der OEM, ein medizinisches Startup-Unternehmen, entwickelte seine erste „tragbare“ Anwendung. Das Produkt war keine Smartwatch oder Fitbit App, sondern eher etwas, das an der Kleidung des Patienten befestigt und getragen wurde, während ein bestimmter Zustand überwacht und die Daten zurück an die medizinische Einrichtung übermittelt wurden. Das Entwicklungsteam traf die Entscheidung, eine flexible Schaltung für diese Anwendung zu entwerfen, um ihre dünnen und leichten Eigenschaften auszunutzen. Dies war das allererste flexible Schaltungsdesign für diese Entwicklungsgruppe, und es gab niemanden im Team, der Erfahrung hatte mit flexiblem Design oder flexiblen Materialien. Tatsächlich hatte das Team im Allgemeinen kaum Erfahrung mit PCB-Design. 

Hier ist, wo die „Kriegsgeschichte“, oder vielleicht genauer ausgedrückt, die Serie von Fehltritten beginnt. Anstatt mit den herkömmlichen flexiblen Materialien auf Polyimidbasis zu arbeiten, wurde die Entscheidung getroffen, stattdessen starre Dünnkern-Materialien zu verwenden. Die Logik ist, dass FR4-Materialien mit einem dünnen Kern von 0,002“/0,003“ erhältlich waren, FR4 im Handel erhältlich ist, wodurch die Sorge um die Vorlaufzeit oder hohe Mindestanforderungen entfällt, das Material robust ist, und ebenso wichtig, dies die Materialien waren, mit denen sie am meisten vertraut waren.

Die erste Version dieses Designs wurde mit starrem FR4-Material von 0,003“ mit flexibler Lötstoppmaske gebaut. Vor Ort gab es Leistungsprobleme mit zeitweiligen Ausfällen. Es wurde eine leichte Überarbeitung vorgenommen, wieder mit denselben Materialien. Leider mit demselben Ergebnis. Mit fortschreitender Problemlösung wurde ein Querschnitt der PCB gemacht, und dieser zeigte Risse in den starren Kernmaterialien. Ich stelle mir vor, Sie lesen dies und denken, „natürlich“ ist das starre Material gerissen. Aber das ist das Lustige an diesen Geschichten, im Nachhinein ist es immer so klar.

Die nächste Version des Designs wurde mit Kapton-basierter Decklage hergestellt, um dieses Problem zu reduzieren. Wie Sie sicher voraussagen, war die Schaltung wieder nicht leistungsfähig und hatte wieder Risse im Kernmaterial. Ich wünsche ich könnte sagen, das war die letzte Version mit starren Kernmaterialien, aber es gab eine weitere Version, die mit dieser Konstruktion gebaut wurde.

Schließlich wurde die Schaltung mit flexiblen Basismaterialien und flexibler Decklage überarbeitet und wie beabsichtigt realisiert. Erfolg! Ich vermute, dass es eine Weile dauerte, bis dieses Team diese Geschichte witzig fand. Viel Zeit, Geld und Ressourcen wurden verbraucht, um an diesen Punkt zu kommen.

Wie hätte dies vermieden werden können?

Ich denke, dass einige unübliche Faktoren vorhanden waren, die zu dieser „Flexibel, das nicht flexibel war-Geschichte“ beitrug.  Erstens, wie ich erwähnte, hatte dieses Team nicht nur keine Erfahrung mit flexiblem Schaltungsdesign, es hatte überhaupt keine große Erfahrung mit PCBs. Bei den vorhergehenden starren Designs arbeiteten sie mit einer Maschinenwerkstatt zusammen, die anbot, mit der PCB, zusammen mit anderer Arbeit, die sie ausführten, zu helfen. Die Gießerei hatte ebenfalls keine große Erfahrung mit PCBs. Insgesamt war nicht viel Know-how über Materialien und Materialeinsatz vorhanden. Wäre das Design mit starren Dünnkern-Materialien und flexibler Lötstoppmaske von einem PCB-Hersteller überprüft worden, wären rote Flaggen gezeigt worden. Wäre das Design mit starren Materialien und Kapton-Decklage von einem PCB-Hersteller überprüft worden, hätten ALLE Alarmglocken geläutet, was zu vielen Fragen und ausführlichen Besprechungen geführt hätte.   

Es wurde außerdem angenommen, dass starre Materialien schneller verfügbar und kostengünstiger wären als flexible Materialien. Nachdem die Entscheidung gefallen war, auf flexible Materialien umzusatteln und das Design von einem auf flexible Materialien spezialisierten Verarbeiter berechnet wurde, lag es etwas unter dem Preis, den sie der Maschinenwerkstatt für das starre PCB-Design bezahlt hatten. Flexible Materialien sind teurer als starre Materialien, aber in diesem Fall kaufte der Flex-Verarbeiter genügend Material, auf das ein Mengenrabatt gegeben wurde, und die Flex-Option war preiswerter. Lektion gelernt.

Lesen Sie auch Tara Dunn‘s hilfreiche Tipps für Flex-Designer aus Sicht der Fertigung.

Welchen Tipp kann diese Geschichte geben? 

Ein Rat, den wir von Verarbeitern von flexiblem Material und von Verarbeitern von starr-flexiblem Material immer wieder hören, ist, mit Ihren Verarbeitern in einem frühen Stadium des Designs zur Erstellung des Lagenaufbaus, zur Überprüfung und zur Beratung darüber, wie Ihr Design „flexibel“ gestaltet werden kann, zusammenzuarbeiten. In diesem Fall arbeiteten sie mit ihrem Verarbeiter zusammen, was Anlass zu der Warnung gibt, sich zu vergewissern, dass der Verarbeiter, den Sie ausgesucht haben, mit flexiblen und starr-flexiblen Materialien vertraut ist und weiß, wie sie verarbeitet werden. Der Materialsatz ist unterschiedlich; die Verarbeitung und Handhabung des Materials erfordert Fachwissen, und das Design für flexible Materialien ist komplexer als das, was wir bei starren Materialien gewohnt sind.

 Also, wo ist der Witz in der Geschichte? Als sie mir erzählt wurde, war der größte Lacher „natürlich würden starre Materialien reißen, nur weil sie dünn sind, bedeutet das nicht, dass sie flexibel sind“. Nun ...... ja, natürlich. Im Nachhinein scheint alles so klar zu sein.

Erfahren Sie mehr über Herausforderungen mit flexiblem und starr-flexiblem Design oder wenden Sie sich heute an einen Experten von Altium, um mehr zu erfahren.

About Author

About Author

Tara ist eine anerkannte Branchenexpertin mit mehr als 20 Jahren Berufserfahrung in der Zusammenarbeit mit: PCB-Ingenieuren, Designern, Herstellern, Beschaffungsorganisationen und Anwendern von Leiterplatten. Ihre Fachkenntnisse liegen in den Bereichen Flex und Starrflex, Additivtechnologie und Schnelldrehungsprojekte. Sie ist eine der besten Ressourcen der Branche, um sich auf ihrer technischen Referenzseite PCBadvisor.com schnell über eine Reihe von Themen zu informieren. Sie trägt regelmäßig als Rednerin zu Branchenveranstaltungen bei, schreibt eine Kolumne in der Zeitschrift PCB007.com und ist Gastgeberin von Geek-a-palooza.com. Ihr Unternehmen Omni PCB ist bekannt für seine Reaktion am selben Tag und die Fähigkeit, Projekte auf der Grundlage einzigartiger Spezifikationen zu erfüllen: Vorlaufzeit, Technologie und Volumen.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Will All Thin Materials Flex?

    Tara Dunn
    |  September 23, 2019

    Telling “war stories” about flexible circuit designs is something that can provide endless hours of entertainment when you get a bunch of “geeky” PCB people together. In fact, it seems that the best of these stories have all caused countless hours of frustration while in the midst of them, but once that frustration eases, we seem to be able to find both a little (or a lot of) humor in the situation and clarity on the lesson learned. Today, I am going to share a war story that was recently shared with me and the lesson learned about flexible material selection.

    Why isn’t this flexible circuit working properly?

    Starting with a little background, the OEM, a medical startup company, was developing their first “wearable” application. The product wasn’t a smartwatch, or fit bit type application, but rather something that was going to be attached to patient's clothing and worn while monitoring a specific condition and transmitting data back to the medical facility. The development team made the decision to design a flexible circuit for this application to take advantage of its thin and lightweight characteristics. This was going to be the very first flexible circuit design for this development group, and there was nobody on the team who had experience with flex design or materials. In fact, the team had very little PCB design experience in general. 

    Here is where the “war story”, or maybe more accurately put, series of missteps begins. Rather than work with the traditional polyimide-based flexible materials, the decision was made to use thin core rigid materials instead. The logic being that FR4 materials were available with .002”/ .003” thin core, FR4 is commercially available, eliminating the worry of lead-time or high minimum purchase requirements, the material is rugged and as importantly, these were the materials that they were most familiar with.

    The first version of this design was built using .003” rigid FR4 material with flexible solder mask. In the field there were performance issues with intermittent failures. A slight redesign was done, again using these same materials. Unfortunately, with similar result. As problem solving progressed, a cross-section of the PCB was done and showed cracking in the rigid core materials. I imagine you are reading this, thinking “of course” the rigid material was cracking. But that is the funny thing about these stories, hindsight is always so clear.

    The next version of the design was produced using Kapton based coverlay to mitigate this problem. As I am sure that you are predicting, the circuit again was not performing and again had cracking of the core material. I wish I could say that was the final version on rigid core materials, but there was one more version built with this construction.

    Finally, the circuit was redesigned with flexible base materials and coverlay and performed as intended. Success! I imagine it took a while for the story to become comical to that team. A lot of time, money and resources were spent to get to that point.

    How could this have been prevented?

    I think there were some unusual factors that contributed to this “flex that didn’t flex story.”  First, as I mentioned, this team not only did not have experience with flexible circuit design and materials, they did not have a lot of PCB experience at all. For previous rigid designs, they were working with a machine shop that offered to help with the PCB along with other work they were doing. The foundry also did not have a lot of experience with PCBs. Collectively, there was not a lot of knowledge about materials and material usage. Had the design with thin-core rigid materials and flexible solder mask been reviewed by a PCB fabricator, red-flags would have been thrown. Had the design with rigid materials and Kapton coverlay been reviewed by a PCB fabricator, ALL the bells and whistles would have sounded, prompting a lot of questions and detailed discussion.   

    There was also the assumption that rigid materials would be more readily available and come at a lower cost than flexible materials. Once the decision was made to change to flexible materials and the design was quoted by a fabricator specializing in flex, they found it to be a little less expensive than the price they were paying the machine shop for the rigid PCB design. Flex materials are more expensive than rigid materials, but in this case, the flex fabricator purchased enough material they received a volume discount and the flex option was less expensive. Lesson Learned.

    Also read Tara Dunn’s Top Tips for Flex Designers from a Fabrication Perspective

    What advice can be shared from this war story? 

    One piece of advice we hear repeatedly from flex and rigid flex fabricators is to work with your fabricators early in the design for stack up creation, for review and advice on how to “flexize” your design. In this case, they were working with their fabricator, prompting the caveat to be sure that the fabricator you have selected is familiar with flex and rigid flex materials and how to process them. The material set is different; the processing and handling of the material requires specialized knowledge, and designing for flexible materials is more complex than what we are accustomed to with rigid materials.

     So where is the humor in the story? As it was being shared with me, the largest chuckle was “of course rigid materials would crack, just because they are thin doesn’t mean they are flexible”. Well……yes, of course. It all seems so clear in hindsight.

    Learn more about flex and rigid-flex design challenges or talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Tara is a recognized industry expert with more than 20 years of experience working with: PCB engineers, designers, fabricators, sourcing organizations, and printed circuit board users. Her expertise is in flex and rigid-flex, additive technology, and quick-turn projects. She is one of the industry's top resources to get up to speed quickly on a range of subjects through her technical reference site PCBadvisor.com and contributes regularly to industry events as a speaker, writes a column in the magazine PCB007.com, and hosts Geek-a-palooza.com. Her business Omni PCB is known for its same day response and the ability to fulfill projects based on unique specifications: lead time, technology and volume.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home