Sind Passermarken auf PCBs mit modernen Fertigungsmöglichkeiten immer noch notwendig?

Erstellt: August 28, 2017
Aktualisiert am: August 30, 2021
Sind Passermarken auf PCBs mit modernen Fertigungsmöglichkeiten immer noch notwendig?

 

Vor ungefähr 10 Jahren habe ich damit aufgehört, mir Horrorfilme anzuschauen. Als ich noch jünger war, hat es mir richtig Spaß gemacht, mich aus Jux zu fürchten. Doch als ich meine berufliche Laufbahn als Ingenieur begann, interessierte ich mich mehr für Action- und Science-Fiction-Filme. Das liegt wahrscheinlich daran, dass ich bei der Arbeit zahlreiche Horrorgeschichten erlebt habe, als aus ganz einfachen Fehlern Katastrophen erwuchsen, die sich sogar auf den Prozess nach der Produktion auswirkten.

Am Anfang meiner beruflichen Laufbahn als Elektronik-Designer waren Durchsteck-Bauteile weit verbreitet, während SMD-Bauteile nur sehr selten verwendet wurden. Als die QFP-Gehäuse (Quad Flat Package) für Mikrocontroller an Popularität gewannen, blieb mir keine andere Möglichkeit, als mich vom altbekannten Plastic Leaded Chip Carrier (PLCC) zu lösen. Der Grund dafür ist, dass PLCCs einen zusätzlichen Sockel benötigen, während QFPs direkt auf dem PCB befestigt werden können. Soweit ich das beurteilen konnte, war es lediglich eine Frage der Zeit, bis die Chiphersteller die Produktion von Mikrocontrollern in PLCC-Gehäusen zugunsten von QFP- oder ähnlichen Gehäusen einstellen würden.

Mein Alptraum begann in dem Moment, als mir mein Leiterplattenfertiger eine E-Mail schickte und darin erklärte, dass die maschinelle Bestückung der Mikrocontroller auf den 200 Produktionsplatinen nicht möglich ist. Da ich PLCC-Sockel, die Durchsteck-Bauteile sind, gewohnt war, war ich nicht auf die Idee gekommen, das PCB mit Passermarken zu versehen. Deren Platzierung ist jedoch von entscheidender Bedeutung, und da dies nicht der Fall war, mussten alle MCUs im QFP-Gehäuse mit winzigen Abständen manuell montiert werden.

Dies führte dazu, dass ein höherer Prozentsatz an Platinen zurückgewiesen wurden und etliche Stunden zum Beheben der durch mangelhaftes Handlöten entstandenen Fehler aufgebracht werden mussten. Seitdem achte ich darauf, dass ich in meinen Designs immer Passermarken verwende, auch wenn mir meine Lieferanten sagen, dass sie Ihre Maschinen aufgerüstet haben, sodass keine Marken mehr notwendig sind. Darüber hinaus hatte das Wissen über die Platzierung von Passermarken einen enormen Lerneffekt für meine Karriere! Ich werde nie wieder den Fehler machen, diese Markierungen zu vergessen!

Elektronische Bauteile auf einer Schaltung
Wenn Sie die Passermarken weglassen, kann dies in einem enormen Chaos enden.

Was ist eine Passermarke und wie hilft sie bei der Herstellung?

Im PCB-Design ist eine Passermarke eine runde Kupferstruktur, die als Referenzpunkt für die Pick-and-Place-Bestückungsmaschinen fungiert. Anhand von Passermarken können die Maschinen die Ausrichtung der PCB- und SMD-Bauteile mit Gehäusenmit kleinen Anschlussabständen, wie zum Beispiel Quad Flat Packages (QFP), Ball Grid Arrays (BGAs) oder Quad Flat No-Lead (QFN), erkennen.

Es gibt zwei Arten von Passermarken, die im PCB-Design häufig vorkommen: globale Passermarken und lokale Passermarken. Globale Passermarken sind Referenzpunkte aus Kupfer, die sich am Rand der PCB befinden. Somit kann die Maschine die Ausrichtung der Platine in Bezug auf die X-Y-Achse feststellen. Bestückungsmaschinen nutzen die Passermarken auch, um eventuelle Schiefstellungen beim Einspannen der Leiterplatte auszugleichen.

Lokale Passermarken sind Kupfermarken außerhalb der Ecke eines quadratischen SMD-Bauteils. Es wird von Bestückungsmaschinen verwendet, um den Footprint eines Bauteils exakt zu lokalisieren und weniger Fehler bei der Bauteilbestückung zu machen. Dies ist von besonderer Bedeutung, wenn Ihr Design Bauteile mit geringen Anschlussabständen und große Bauteile in quadratischen Gehäusen enthält.

Automatisierter Chip-Mounter, der mit einem Roboter arbeitet
Gleichen Sie die Anforderungen an die Passermarken stets mit Ihrem Hersteller ab.

Sind Passermarken mit den neuesten Herstellungstechnologien noch erforderlich?

Ich habe meine PCBs immer sowohl mit globalen als auch lokalen Passermarken versehen. Als ich allerdings einen Artikel las, der die Möglichkeit beschrieb, die lokalen Passermarken wegzulassen, war ich fasziniert. Es erschien sinnvoll, bei kleineren PCBs auf die Passermarken zu verzichten, um möglichst viel Platz für die Leiterbahnen zu haben.

Dank der Fortschritte bei der Herstellungstechnik können lokale Passermarken unter bestimmten Bedingungen weggelassen werden. Auf kleineren Platinen können neueste Bestückungsmaschinen SMD-Bauteile rein mithilfe globaler Passermarken platzieren. Auch bei Bauteilen, die über einen größeren Anschlussabstand verfügen, können die Passermarken weggelassen werden. Die neuesten Maschinen können zum Beispiel SMD-Bauteile mit einem Pitch von 1,0 mm und größer exakt platzieren.

Im übrigen ist es sehr wichtig, mit Ihrem Hersteller die Leistungsfähigkeit der Maschinen zu besprechen, bevor Sie die lokalen Passermarken von Ihrem Design entfernen. Ich habe durch schlechte Erfahrung gelernt, dass nicht alle Hersteller über Maschinen verfügen, die mit der neuesten Technologie ausgestattet sind. Globale Passermarken sollten dagegen nie weggelassen werden, selbst wenn Sie eines der fortschrittlichsten Herstellungssysteme nutzen.

Optimale Vorgehensweisen für die Verwendung von Passermarken beim PCB-Design

Wenn Sie das Beste aus der maschinellen Bestückung herausholen möchten, müssen Sie Ihre Passermarken korrekt setzen. Für das Setzen von Passermarken in Ihrem Design gibt es einige entscheidende Richtlinien.

  1. Die Passermarke entsteht dadurch, dass eine nicht gebohrte runde Kupferschicht platziert wird. Auf der Passermarke darf sich keine Lötstoppmaske befinden.

  2. Die optimale Größe einer Passermarke liegt zwischen 1,0 mm und 3,0 mm. Um die Marke herum muss eine Zone, die ungefähr ihrem Durchmesser entspricht, frei bleiben.

  3. Im Interesse höchster Genauigkeit müssen bei globalen Passermarken drei Marken am Rand der Platinen gesetzt werden. Für den Fall, dass es dafür nicht ausreichend Platz gibt, ist mindestens eine globale Passermarke erforderlich.

  4. Die Passermarke muss in einem Abstand von mindestens 0,76 cm zum Rand der Platine gesetzt werden – die freie Fläche um die Passermarke herum nicht mitgerechnet.

  5. Für lokale Referenzpunkte werden mindestens zwei Passermarken diagonal gegenüber am äußeren Rand des SMD-Bauteils befinden.

  6. Je größer die Platine ist, desto geringer ist der Winkelversatz bei der Herstellung. Dies liegt daran, dass eine kleine Winkelabweichung leichter zu erkennen ist, wenn der Abstand zwischen den Referenzpunkten größer ist.

Ein Hinweis zur PCB-Referenzgröße

Die Größe des Referenzpunktes auf der Leiterplatte beträgt in der Regel 1 bis 3 mm. Die richtige Größe hängt jedoch von den Bestückungsautomaten ab, die Ihr Hersteller verwendet. Einige Hersteller empfehlen, 3 Referenzpunkte an den Platinenkanten anzubringen, da dies zwei Winkelmessungen ermöglicht, aus denen der Bestückungsautomat die richtige Ausrichtung ermitteln kann. Einige geben eine feste Größe an, die auch von der von Ihrem Hersteller verwendeten Montageausrüstung abhängt. Im Allgemeinen sollte der Durchmesser der Lötmaskenöffnung doppelt so groß sein wie der Durchmesser des blanken Kupfers für die Passermarke, auch wenn einige Hersteller es vorziehen, dass die Lötmaskenöffnung den dreifachen Durchmesser der Passermarke hat. Darüber hinaus sollten die Passermarken auf einer Leiterplatte (sowohl global als auch lokal) einheitlich sein und nicht um mehr als ~25 Mikrometer variieren.

Wenn Sie eine zweilagige Platine bestücken, sollten die Passermarken der oberen und unteren Lage übereinander liegen. Dies mag überraschen: Man sollte meinen, dass die Anordnung der Passermarken spiegelbildlich zueinander sein sollte, aber ich habe noch keinen Hersteller gesehen, der dies in seinen Richtlinien angegeben hat. Die Passermarken der oberen und unteren Leiterplattenlage sollten gleich groß sein, einschließlich der Lötmaskenöffnung.

In der Regel sind lokale Passermarken nur 1 mm groß und haben eine Lötmaskenöffnung von 2 mm. Beachten Sie jedoch die D-3D-Regel in der obigen Abbildung: Ihr Hersteller bevorzugt möglicherweise eine für die Größe Ihrer Passermarke weitere Lötmaskenöffnung. Der lokale Bezugspunkt auf der Leiterplatte ist in der Regel nicht viel größer als 1 mm, um das Verlegen von Leiterbahnen zu erleichtern und Platz für andere Bauteile zu lassen. Bei kleinen Bauteilen, wie z. B. einem 0201-Widerstand oder einem BGA in Chipgröße, ist der Bestückungsautomat so genau, dass ein lokaler Referenzpunkt nicht erforderlich ist. Die Maschine erkennt genau, wo Ihre Bauteile platziert werden müssen.

Es schadet nicht, zu überprüfen, ob Ihre Referenzgröße richtig ist, bevor Sie Ihr Design an Ihren Hersteller schicken. Passermarken gehören zu den mechanischen Bauteilen auf Ihrer Platine und sind mit keinerlei Bauteilen verbunden. Es ist also ein Leichtes, den Footprint für eine benutzerdefinierte Passermarke zu ändern und bei Bedarf eine neue Passermarke zu platzieren. Einige Hersteller werden die Referenzgröße Ihrer Leiterplatte für Sie anpassen, wenn sie nicht die richtige Größe haben.

Mit den erstklassigen PCB-Design- und Layout-Funktionen von Altium Designer® können Sie Ihre Passermarken, Pads, Polygone und alle anderen Kupfermerkmale für Ihre Leiterplatte problemlos konstruieren und platzieren. Diese integrierte Designplattform mit Schaltkreisdesign- und PCB-Layout-Funktionen bietet Anwendern die Möglichkeit, fertigungsgerechte Leiterplatten zu erstellen. Wenn Sie Ihr Design fertiggestellt haben und die Dateien an Ihren Hersteller weitergeben möchten, können Sie über die Altium-365-Plattform problemlos zusammenarbeiten und Ihre Projekte gemeinsam bearbeiten.

Wir haben nur an der Oberfläche dessen gekratzt, was mit Altium Designer auf Altium 365 möglich ist. Starten Sie noch heute Ihre kostenlose Testversion für Altium Designer + Altium 365.

Melden Sie sich an und probieren Sie Altium Designer noch heute aus.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Are Fiducial Marker Placements on PCBs Still Necessary with Modern Manufacturing Capabilities?

    August 28, 2017
    Fiducial Marker Placements and PCB fiducial size

    About 10 years ago, I stopped watching horror movies. In my younger days I really enjoyed being scared silly, but when I started my engineering career I became more interested in action and sci-fi genres. This is likely because I was getting my fair share of horror stories at work when simple mistakes resulted in catastrophic post-production nightmares.

    Sign up and try Altium Designer today.

    When I started my electronics design career, through-hole components were extremely popular and surface mounted components were a rare sight. When (Quad Flat Package) QFP packages of microcontrollers (MCU) became popular, I had no choice but to migrate from the old plastic leaded chip carrier (PLCC) footprint. This is because PLCC requires an additional socket while QFP can be mounted on the PCB directly. As far as I could tell, it was only a matter of time before chip manufacturers stopped producing MCU in PLCC packages in favor of QFP or similar packages.

    When my PCB assembly suppliers dropped me an email stating that they were unable to machine assemble the MCU on the 200 production boards I ordered, my nightmare began. Being accustomed to PLCC sockets, which are through hole components, it didn’t occur to me to provide fiducial markers on the PCB. The fiducial marker placement is key and failing to do so meant all the QFP packaged MCUs with tiny pitches had to be manually assembled. 

    This resulted in a higher percentage of boards being rejected and countless hours spent fixing faults from imperfect manual soldering. Since then, I make a point of always using a fiducial marker in my designs, even if my suppliers tell me that they have upgraded their machines to work without the markers. In addition, learning about fiducial marker placement was a huge learning curve in my career! I'll never make the mistake of missing those markers!

    Electronic components on a circuit
    You could end up with a complete mess if you omit fiducial markers.

    What Is a Fiducial Marker and How Does It Help in Manufacturing?

    In PCB design, a fiducial marker is a rounded shape of copper that acts as a reference point for pick and place assembly machines. Fiducial PCB markers help machines recognize the orientation of the PCB and its surface mount components with packages that have tiny pitches like Quad Flat Package (QFP), Ball Grid Arrays (BGAs) or Quad Flat No-Lead (QFN).

    There are two types of fiducial markers commonly found in printed circuit board designs: global fiducial markers and local fiducial markers. Global fiducial markers are a copper reference placed on the edge of the PCB that allows the machine to determine the orientation of the board with respect to the X-Y axis. A fiducial marker placement machine is also used to compensate for any skew when the PCB is clamped.

    Local fiducial markers are copper markers that are placed outside of the corner of a quad packaged surface mount component. It is used by assembly machines to precisely locate the footprint of a component and reduces errors in fiducial placement. This is especially important when you have fine pitched and large quad packaged components in your design.

    automation chip mounter working with robo
    Always check with your manufacturer for fiducial marker requirements.

    Are Fiducial Markers Necessary with Modern Manufacturing Technology?

    I have always designed my printed circuit boards with both global and local fiducial markers. However, when I came across an article that explained the possibility about omitting local fiducials, I was intrigued. It made sense to remove fiducial markers on smaller PCBs to maximize space for signal traces.

    As a result of advancements in manufacturing technology, local fiducial markers can be omitted under certain conditions. On smaller boards, modern assembly machines can place SMT components using only global fiducial points. Fiducial markers may also be omitted for components that have a larger pitch. For example, surface mount components with pitches of 1.0 mm and above can be placed accurately by the latest machines.

    That being said, it is important to discuss the extent of your manufacturer’s machine’s capabilities before removing local fiducial markers in your design. I’ve learned the hard way that not all manufacturers are equipped with machines that are powered by the latest technology. On the other hand, global fiducial markers should never be omitted from your designs. Even if you are working with some of the most advanced manufacturing capabilities.  

    Best Practices for Using Fiducial Markers in PCB Design

    Fiducial Markers in PCB Design

    If you want to get the best out of machine assembly, you need to get your fiducial markers right. There are few important guidelines when it comes to fiducial placement in your design.

    1. The fiducial marker is made by placing a non-drilled copper layer in a circular shape. The fiducial marker must be free from solder mask.

    2. The optimum size of a fiducial marker should be between 1 and 3 mm. A clearance area similar to the diameter of the marker must be maintained.

    3. For global fiducials, 3 markers are placed on the edge of the boards for the best accuracy. In cases where there is insufficient space, at least 1 global fiducial marker is required.

    4. The fiducial marker must maintain a distance of 0.3 inches to the edge of the board, excluding the clearance area of the fiducial marker.

    5. For local, the fiducial placement is at least two fiducial markers diagonally on the outside edge of the surface-mounted component.

    6. When the board is larger, any angular mis-alignment during manufacturing will be smaller. This is because a small angular deviation will be easier to detect when the distance between the fiducials is larger.

    A Note on PCB Fiducial Size

    PCB fiducial size is generally 1 to 3 mm, but the correct size you need depends on the assembly machines your manufacturer uses. Some manufacturers recommend adding 3 fiducials at the corners of the board as this gives 2 angular alignment measurements and allows the pick-and-place machine to infer the correct orientation. Some manufacturers will state a specific size, which also depends on the assembly equipment being used by your manufacturer. In general, the diameter of the solder mask opening should be double the diameter of the bare copper for the fiducial, although some manufacturers prefer the solder mask opening be triple the fiducial diameter. In addition, the PCB fiducial size on the same board (both global and local) should be consistent and should not vary by more than ~25 microns.

    If you're assembling a 2-layer board, the top and bottom layer fiducials should sit on top of each other. This may be surprising; one would think the layout of fiducials should be mirror images of each other, but I have never seen a manufacturer state this in their guidelines. The top and bottom layer PCB fiducial size should be the same, including the solder mask opening.

    PCB fiducial size and solder mask opening

    Two common PCB fiducial size and solder mask opening recommendations.

    Local fiducials tend to be as small as 1 mm with a 2 mm solder mask opening, although pay attention to the D-3D rule shown in the above image as your manufacturer may prefer this larger solder mask opening for your PCB fiducial size. The local PCB fiducial size is usually not much larger than 1 mm in order to allow for trace routing and to leave room for other components. For small components, such as a 0201 resistor or chip-size BGA, the assembly machine will be accurate enough that a local fiducial is not necessary, and the machine will know exactly where your components need to sit.

    There's no harm in checking if your PCB fiducial size and solder mask opening are correct before sending your design off to your manufacturer. Fiducials are classified as mechanicals in your board and are not connected to anything, so it is a simple matter to modify the footprint for a custom fiducial and place a new fiducial if needed. Some manufacturers will modify your PCB fiducial size for you if they are not properly sized.

    Using professional PCB design software, like Altium’s CircuitStudio®, a fiducial marker can be placed by inserting a pad, changing the hole size to zero, and setting the correct value for the PCB fiducial size.

    Need more tips in placing fiducial markers on your design? Contact an expert at Altium Designer.

    Sign up and try Altium Designer today.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home