Concord Pro и интеграция ECAD-MCAD

John Watson
|  22 Декабря, 2019

Введение

В сентябре я писал статью блога PCB Design is a Team Sport (Проектирование плат – это командный спорт), в которой я, в частности, рассмотрел различные роли инженеров, вовлеченных в процесс проектирования печатной платы. Одним из заключений было то, что наиболее важной ролью в этом процессе является роль библиотекаря. Всё начинается и заканчивается библиотекой компонентов, и если она неправильная, то игра окончена.

Если библиотекарь является наиболее важной ролью, то следующей будет роль инженеров-механиков, и, соответственно, особенно важным является взаимодействие между ECAD и MCAD. К счастью, Concord Pro® помогает здесь, вне всяких сомнений.

Путь динозавра

В “прежние дни”, которые с учетом скорости развития инструментов Altium были всего год назад, при необходимости во взаимодействии между ECAD и MCAD инженеру ECAD было необходимо экспортировать проект в виде 3D Step (или в другой формат), прикрепить его к email и отправить. Инженер ECAD затем открывал этот файл и начинал работать с ним. Если у него были какие-то изменения, процесс шел в обратном направлении. В случае проблем в каком-то определенном месте платы, как это обычно бывает при проектировании, MCAD передает точные размеры, определяющие положение критически важных компонентов и т.п. Это было крайне трудозатратно и чревато ошибками. Подобные вещи только повысили необходимость в таком решении, как Concord Pro, который позволяет не только управлять компонентами и прочими данными, необходимыми для проектирования плат, но и корректно передавать данные между ECAD и MCAD. Достаточно легко работать с подобными вещами в одном программном пакете.

Особенности интеграции ECAD и MCAD

Постоянно меняющаяся среда электронной индустрии оказывает существенное влияние, в первую очередь, на проектирование электроники и, как следствие, на разработку MCAD. Конструкции становятся все более компактными, и их необходимо помещать во всё более малые корпуса. С малыми конструкциями всегда связаны соответствующие сложности, такие как рассеяние тепла, подтверждение соответствия и защита от статического электричества.

Процессы проектирования в ECAD и MCAD значительно пересекаются, но между ними также существует четкая грань, и у этих систем есть свои цели и задачи.

На текущий момент Altium поддерживает три платформы: SolidWorks, Autodesk Inventor и Creo. Хотя сейчас доступны только они, ведется разработка для добавления дополнительных пакетов MCAD в будущем.

Как это работает

Как было упомянуто выше, Concord Pro управляет передачей информации между ECAD и MCAD. Связь между ними является двунаправленной — информация передается туда и обратно через Concord Pro.

A 3D view ECAD design and a chassis designed on MCAD with concord pro in the middle
Concord Pro надежно управляет передачей информации между ECAD и MCAD

Также стоит добавить, что активности между этими системами не привязаны ни к одной из них, т.е. ECAD и MCAD могут работать независимо друг от друга и не задерживая друг друга. В любой момент, когда это необходимо, проектировщик может передать или принять изменения.

Сначала вы создаете новый управляемый проект, добавляете плату в проект и настраиваете структуру слоев. Ничего необычного. Далее проект можно передать через Concord Pro в MCAD.

Figure 2. Select Project interface of concord pro showing a newly designed project
Синхронизация проектов в Concord Pro

На стороне MCAD будет получено уведомление о новом проекте в очереди, который можно открыть и над которым можно начать работать. Теперь проект синхронизирован. Какие-либо изменения с любой стороны вызовут появление предупреждения в панели MCAD CoDesigner. Этот процесс работает и в обратную сторону. Плата может быть создана на стороне MCAD и передана в ECAD — если это будет удобно в определенном случае.

Кроме того, изменения находятся под управлением ревизий и сохраняются в репозитории. Ничего не теряется.

Работа с различиями

При передаче нового проекта из ECAD в MCAD отображается список изменений по сравнению с предыдущей версией. Одно проектное изменение может привести к появлению множества изменений в списке, поскольку одно изменение влияет на множество слоев. Например, перемещение отверстия в плате влияет на все сигнальные слои. Оно также может повлиять на слои шелкографии, паяльной маски и паяльной пасты.

Figure 3. SolidWorks screenshot showing the PCB exported from ECAD to MCAD with a changelist in Altium CoDesigner.
Concord Pro позволяет просматривать изменения в плате, которые могут повлиять на сборку в MCAD, что обеспечивает бесшовное взаимодействие.

Эти изменения можно принять, отредактировать или проигнорировать. Игнорирование изменения может быть рискованным. В следующий раз, когда вы передадите проект в какую-либо сторону, он не будет включать в себя проигнорированные изменения, что может привести к сбросу проекта до его предыдущей версии. Все изменения подсвечиваются, когда вы проходите по их списку.

Заключение

Фильм 1967 года “Хладнокровный Люк” с Полом Ньюманом, Джорджем Кеннеди, Стразером Мартином является историей о нонконформисте, которого посадили в тюрьму во Флориде за порчу парковочных счетчиков. В фильме звучит классическая фраза: “В данном случае мы имеем отсутствие взаимопонимания” (“What we have here is a failure to communicate”).

В процессе проектирования платы инженеры разных ролей разговаривают на разных языках. Если их неправильно переводить, это приведет к проблемам и, в конечном счете, к потраченным зря средствам. Concord Pro – это переводчик между областями ECAD и MCAD. Таким образом, не будет недопонимания того, что было сказано.

Благодаря Concord Pro, эти две роли работают бесшовно из одного источника проектной информации, что приводит к меньшему количеству ошибок, более быстрому проектированию и повышению прибыли компаний.

Хотите узнать больше, как Altium может помочь вам при проектировании плат? Поговорите с экспертом Altium и узнайте, как легко и уверенно принимать проектные решения.

Об авторе

Об авторе

Джон Уотсон (John Watson) имеет почти 40-летний опыт в отрасли электроники, 20 из которых – в области разработки и конструирования печатных плат. Джон продолжает оставаться на передовой в индустрии печатных плат в качестве проектировщика/инженера и, в последнее время, в качестве преподавателя и куратора. Его основная работа была в области производства, но он также расширил сферу своей деятельности на области обслуживания печатных плат. Служил в военной разведке. Джон является проектировщиком плат, сертифицированным CID. В настоящее время проходит сертификацию Advance CID. На сегодняшний день, будучи старшим конструктором печатных плат в Legrand Inc, он возглавляет разработчиков и конструкторов печатных плат в различных подразделениях в США и Китае.

самые новые материалы

Вернуться на главную

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Concord Pro and ECAD to MCAD Integration

    John Watson
    |  December 22, 2019

    Introduction

    Back in September, I did a blog called PCB Design is a Team Sport , in which I specifically examined the different roles involved in the PCB Design Process. One of my conclusions was that the most important role involved in the whole design process is the Librarian. Everything begins and ends with the Library of Components, and if it is not correct, then Game Over. 

    If the Librarian held the most important role, next would be the role of the MCAD designers, and specifically the relationship between the ECAD and MCAD. Fortunately, Concord Pro® has us covered (as if there was going to be any doubt that it didn’t). 

    Going The Way Of The Dodo Bird

    In the “olden days”—which, given the speed with which Altium is developing new tools, was just last year—when you wanted to have collaboration between ECAD and MCAD, the ECAD person would export the design as a 3D Step (or other formats), attach it to an email, and then send it over. The ECAD person would then open it up and replace what he had, and then he could begin to work with it. If he had any changes, he would reverse the process. If any specific location issues, which is usually the case with any PCB design, MCAD would pass over the exact dimensions of the positioning of the critical components and such. That was VERY time consuming and was especially prone to human error. This sort of thing only heightens the need for such a program as Concord Pro, which handles not just the components and other resources needed for the PCB design, but also the correct tool to transfer information between ECAD and MCAD. It is pretty easy to deal with things internally with a single software package. It gets much more difficult when third party software packages crash the party. Now you’re looking at different protocols and trying to find a middle ground where each of them can play nicely.

    Special Considerations With The Ecad To Mcad Integration

    The electronic industry’s ever-changing environment has a considerable impact, first on the electronic designs, and by the ripple effect, also MCAD development. Designs are getting smaller and need to fit into smaller enclosures. Smaller designs always come with their inherent issues, including heat dissipation, compliance verification, and ESD

    There is a significant area of overlap with the design process between ECAD and MCAD, but there is also a distinct line between them, with each having their own goals and objectives. I make sure to have two solid relationships in the PCB process. They are my Librarian and my MCAD developer.

    As of right now, Altium handles the three platforms on the ECAD side: those are Solidworks, Autodesk, and Creo. Although these are the only ones available now, development is being done to add additional ECAD software packages in the future.

    How it Works

    As mentioned just a moment ago, Concord Pro handles the transfer of information between ECAD and MCAD. The connection between them is bi-directional—information is being pushed and pulled between them. The go-between is Concord Pro. 

    A 3D view ECAD design and a chassis designed on MCAD with concord pro in the middle
    Figure 1. Concord Pro handles the transfer of information between ECAD and MCAD very reliably

    Furthermore, the activity between them is called Stateless, which means that both ECAD and MCAD can work independently of each other, not delaying either one of them. Whenever needed, the design can be pushed and pulled either direction.
     
    When starting a new design, the ECAD in Altium starts a new managed project, add a PCB to the Design, and set up the layer stack-up. Nothing out of the ordinary there. At this point, the design could be pushed into Concord Pro and over to MCAD. 

    Figure 2. Select Project interface of concord pro showing a newly designed project

    Figure 2. Syncing designs on Concord Pro

    On the MCAD side, a notification is sent about the new project in the queue, which can be opened and worked with directly. Now the design is synced up. Any changes on either side cause a warning to show up in the MCAD Co-designer panel. This whole process can work in reverse. The PCB can be created on the MCAD side and pushed over to the ECAD—whichever is more convenient for your situation.

    Just a word about these changes, they are revision controlled and stored in the controlled Repository. Nothing is lost. 

    Working Through The Differences

    When a new design is pushed over from the ECAD to MCAD, a list shows all the changes from the previous version. Know that a single design change can become multiple changes in the Change List since a single change has multiple impacts on layers. For example, on the PCB, if you move a hole, it impacts all the signal layers on the board. It may also impact the silkscreen or solder paste or mask layer.  

    Figure 3. SolidWorks screenshot showing the PCB exported from ECAD to MCAD with a changelist in Altium CoDesigner.
    Caption: Figure 3. Concord Pro allows you to view the changes in the PCB that could affect your MCAD design, allowing for seamless collaboration.

    These changes can either be accepted, changed, or ignored. I would not suggest you ignore any of the changes. If you decide to ignore a change, it comes with extreme risk. The next time you push the design to either side it does not include the ignored changes, and may revert the design to a previous version. All the changes are highlighted as you work through the list. 

    Conclusion

    The 1967 movie Cool Hand Luke, starring Paul Newman, George Kennedy, Strother Martin, is the story of a nonconformant who gets put into a strict Florida prison for cutting off the tops of parking meters. The film contains a classic line that goes, “what we have here is a failure to communicate.” 

    During the PCB process, various roles are speaking different languages. If they are not translated correctly, it results in problems and ultimately wasted money in design. Concord Pro is the translator between the ECAD and MCAD tasks. In that way, there is no confusion about what is being said. 

    Instead of two roles, because of Concord Pro, they work seamlessly from a single source of design information because that results in fewer mistakes, quicker designs, and more money to companies. 

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium and learn more about making design decisions with ease and confidence.

    About Author

    About Author

    With nearly 40 years in the Electronic industry with 20 of them being in the field of PCB Design and engineering, John has stayed on the cutting edge of the PCB industry as a designer/Engineer and more recently as a trainer and mentor. His primary work has been in the Manufacturing field but it has also expanded to several PCB Service arenas. As a veteran, he proudly served in the Army in the Military Intelligence field. John is a CID Certified PCB designer. Presently pursuing his Advance CID certification. Now as the Senior PCB engineer at Legrand Inc, he leads the PCB Designers and Engineers in various divisions across the United States and China.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home