Concord Pro et la règle de gestion de bibliothèque S.M.A.R.T. - 1ère partie

John Watson
|  Created: October 7, 2019  |  Updated: September 8, 2020

 

Introduction

Un vieil adage dit : « Le chien de tête a toujours la meilleure vue ». Dans la course des fournisseurs de logiciels ECAD, Altium est en tête du peloton depuis de nombreuses années. Plusieurs raisons justifient cette position privilégiée, mais principalement parce qu’Altium fournit une vaste collection d'outils pour les concepteurs de PCB. En comparant avec précision les offres des différents fournisseurs de logiciels ECAD, on constate que leurs caractéristiques de base sont les mêmes. Tous les modules ECAD incluent une capture schématique, un agencement PCB et une fonction d’exportation des Gerbers. Les outils complémentaires sont en fait les révélateurs des entreprises qui savent se différencier. 

Altium a toujours fourni des fonctions et des outils complémentaires à la pointe du marché. Le lancement de la solution Altium Concord Pro change toute la donne. En peu de temps, Concord Pro s'est imposé dans l'industrie. Il y a quelques jours, je discutais avez plusieurs concepteurs qui commencent à utiliser Concord Pro. Ils estiment qu'ils ne savaient pas comment ils ont pu travailler sans lui jusqu’à présent. Et je suis tout à fait d'accord avec cette évaluation. 

Pour ceux d'entre vous qui n'ont peut-être pas encore entendu parler de Concord Pro, il s'agit d'un nouveau progiciel qui apporte une solution consolidée au problème du stockage et de la gestion de chaque partie de la conception des PCB. Bien que Concord Pro se concentre sur les composants, il s'agit d'une excellente ressource pour d'autres éléments indispensables pendant tout le processus de conception des PCB. Il supporte aussi les bibliothèques du projet PCB, les outils de conception, les blocs réutilisables, et bien plus encore. Dans mon environnement spécifique, nous avons créé une section appelée Bibliothèque de ressources, où nous avons téléchargé des documents et des articles. Elle est d’ailleurs l’une des plus visitées. 

Tout dépend de la qualité des données initiales. C'est pourquoi Concord Pro est essentiel, et je crois qu'il deviendra l'une des ressources les plus critiques pour les concepteurs. Nous avons enfin un progiciel qui peut suivre les nombreux changements dans notre industrie. 

La Règle S.M.A.R.T. de la gestion des bibliothèques.

Tous ceux et celles qui ont lu mes matériaux connaissent bien la Règle S.M.A.R.T. de la gestion des bibliothèques. Singularité, Géré, Architecture, Fiabilité et Traçabilité. Tels sont exigences minimales pour les systèmes de gestion de bibliothèques. Concord Pro est spécialement conçu pour supporter la Règle S.M.A.R.T.

Un autre avantage de Concord Pro est qu'il est prêt à l’emploi. Le processus d’installation et de configuration est minimal, ce qui est toujours appréciable. Quel que soit le logiciel ECAD utilisé, et lorsque nous voulons utiliser une configuration particulière, il peut s'avérer que le logiciel ne le prenne pas en charge, ou qu'il est compliqué à réaliser. Concord Pro a la puissance requise pour mettre en place les éléments nécessaires. Et c’est bien ce que je souhaite faire dans ce blog, démontrer comment Concord Prod supporte la Règle S.M.A.R.T.

Ce blog ne nous permet pas de couvrir toutes les règles. Nous nous concentrerons donc dans cette première partie sur deux des normes (Singularité et Géré) et les trois autres dans la deuxième partie. 

Concord Pro et la Règle S.M.A.R.T. - Singularité (premier pilier)

Pour un concepteur de PCB, rien n’est plus problématique que d'essayer de travailler avec plusieurs bibliothèques et sources d'information. Nous devons travailler à partir d'une seule source véridique. Je n'ai jamais vraiment compris pourquoi les ingénieurs ont besoin de leurs propres bibliothèques "personnelles". Cependant, si quelque chose n'est pas contrôlé, cela peut causer un problème important, rapidement incontrôlable, avec des coûts inacceptables. 

Un seul serveur suffit pour installer Concord Pro qui sera facilement accessible à tous ceux qui en ont besoin. Il doit être la seule ressource autorisée pour toutes les conceptions de PCB. Cette Règle peut sembler assez stricte, mais elle est nécessaire pour maintenir l'intégrité des concepts de PCB. Bien sûr, cela n'empêche personne de créer et d'utiliser des bibliothèques non gérées. 

Un petit conseil : utilisez le gestionnaire d'éléments pour vous assurer qu’aucune mauvaise bibliothèque ne se glisse dans votre conception. Cela fait partie des "outils" qui ont permis à Altium de devancer ses concurrents.

 Lors du procédé de design de PCB, utiliser plusieurs bibliothèques non gérées peut être source de confusion et, en fin de compte, vous faire perdre votre temps pour identifier les différents composants.
 Lors du procédé de design de PCB, utiliser plusieurs bibliothèques non gérées peut être source de confusion et, en fin de compte, vous faire perdre votre temps pour identifier les différents composants.

Concord Pro et la Règle S.M.A.R.T. Géré (deuxième pilier)

Comme je l’ai déjà dit. Je ne sais pas ce qui est le pire, avoir plusieurs bibliothèques, ou avoir une seule bibliothèque non gérée. Les deux ont le même résultat : vous accumulez les mauvais PCB qui font de « jolis » sous-verres.

Les parties du pilier Géré sont : Révision, Cycle de vie, Rôles et Permissions. Heureusement, Concord Pro est fourni avec des exemples préchargés et prêts à l'emploi, ou vous pouvez les personnaliser en fonction de votre situation spécifique. 

Révision et Cycle de vie

Concord Pro est un programme très efficace et flexible qui permet de créer tous les schémas Révision et Cycle de vie souhaités. 

Altium Concord Pro BCS PCB Build vous permet de construire des systèmes Révision très facilement pour vous aider à la gestion de bibliothèque.
Altium Concord Pro BCS PCB Build vous permet de construire des systèmes Révision très facilement pour vous aider à la gestion de bibliothèque.

Quelques directives à suivre... Au début du processus, vous voulez mettre en place la structure des systèmes Révision. Il ne faut pas oublier qu'il n'y a pas que des composants et des projets PCB dans Concord Pro, et que les mêmes plans ne peuvent pas toujours être appliqués. Il est donc judicieux de commencer par déterminer ce que vous allez faire avec Concord Pro, puis d'identifier et de mettre en place les systèmes Révision et Cycle de vie

à utiliser avec chaque élément. Notez qu’il est difficile de changer cela lorsque vous avez déjà commencé à l'utiliser. Concord Pro peut être personnalisé avec chaque système Révision. Vous pouvez l'organiser à l'avance et la meilleure pratique consiste à n'avoir qu'un seul plan pour chaque article.

Les options de définition du cycle de vie dans Altium Concord Pro vous permettent de créer de nouveaux cycles de vie et de définir des types de contenu appropriés pour votre procédé de design de PCB.
Les options de définition du cycle de vie dans Altium Concord Pro vous permettent de créer de nouveaux cycles de vie et de définir des types de contenu appropriés pour votre procédé de design de PCB.

 

 Lors du procédé de design de PCB,Concord Pro a aussi un avantage très appréciable : vous pouvez contrôler les systèmes de révision individuellement pour chaque type de contenu comme indiqué ici.
 Lors du procédé de design de PCB,Concord Pro a aussi un avantage très appréciable : vous pouvez contrôler les systèmes de révision individuellement pour chaque type de contenu comme indiqué ici.

 

Conclusion

Je suis entré dans mon garage à la recherche d'un marteau à panne ronde pour faire quelques travaux dans la maison. Malheureusement, je n'ai pas pu le trouver, et j'ai envisagé pendant un moment d'utiliser le manche d'une clé métallique. Mais je me suis surpris à penser que ce serait stupide. Pourquoi ? Parce que le manche d'une clé à molette n'était pas l'outil adéquat pour faire le travail. De la même manière, Concord Pro est l'outil adéquat pour ce travail, et il n'y a pas de substitut. 

C’est le genre d’outil qui révèle le talent de son utilisateur. Avec un outil aussi fantastique - Concord Pro entre les mains des meilleurs concepteurs et ingénieurs de circuits imprimés - nous allons voir quelques innovations les plus étonnantes qui soit.  

Nous terminerons cela dans la deuxième partie. Nous nous y retrouverons donc.

Souhaitez-vous en savoir plus sur Altium et les avantages qu’il peut vous apporter pour concevoir votre prochain projet de circuits imprimés ? Discutez avec un expert Altium et découvrez comment prendre des décisions de conception avec facilité et confiance. 

About Author

About Author

Avec près de 40 ans dans l'industrie électronique, dont 20 ans dans le secteur de la conception et de l'ingénierie des circuits imprimés, John est resté à la pointe de l'industrie des PCB en tant que concepteur/ingénieur et, plus récemment dans un nouveau rôle de formateur et mentor. Spécialiste de la fabrication, John a également développé des compétences étendues dans plusieurs domaines des services pour PCB. Il a fièrement servi son pays dans le renseignement militaire. John est un concepteur de PCB certifié CID. Il travaille actuellement pour obtenir la certification Advance CID. Aujourd'hui, en tant qu'ingénieur principal en PCB chez Legrand Inc, John dirige les concepteurs et les ingénieurs en PCB dans différentes divisions aux États-Unis et en Chine.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Concord Pro and the Library S.M.A.R.T. Rule Part-1

    John Watson
    |  October 7, 2019

    Introduction

    The saying goes that “The lead dog always has the best view.” When it comes to the race of the ECAD Software companies, for many years, Altium has led the pack. They got to that prized position for several reasons.The main reason, I believe, is that they provide a vast collection of tools for the PCB Designer. When you look more in-depth at precisely what the various ECAD Software companies offer, their basic features are the same. All the ECAD software packages have a schematic capture, PCB Layout, and a way to export your Gerbers. It is when you look at the add-on tools, that a particular company stands out. 

    Altium has consistently provided the top of the line features and add-on tools. The release of Altium Concord Pro™ is a game-changer. In a rather short time, Concord Pro has become prevalent in the industry. I was speaking to several designers just a few days ago who had just started using Concord Pro, and their comments were that they didn’t know how they had worked without it before, an assessment I fully agree with. 

    For those of you who may not have heard of Concord Pro yet, it is a new software package which is a  consolidated resource solution to the problem of how to store and manage every part of your PCB design. Although Concord Pro focuses on components, keep in mind that it is an excellent resource for other things needed throughout the PCB Design process. With providing support for PCB Project Libraries, Design Tools, reusable blocks, and much more. In my particular situation, we put together a section called a resource library where we uploaded documents and articles, which became one of the most visited. 

    As the saying goes, garbage in, garbage out. That is why Concord Pro is so essential, and I believe it will become one of the most critical resources to the designer; we finally have a software package that can keep up with the many changes in our industry. 

    The S.M.A.R.T. Rule of Library Management

    Anyone who has read my material is familiar with the S.M.A.R.T. Rule of Library Management. The Singularity, Managed, Architecture, Reliability, and Traceability. These are the minimal requirements for all library management systems. Concord Pro has been designed specifically to support the S.M.A.R.T. Rule.

    Another beneficial aspect of Concord Pro is that it’s ready to use right out of the box. There was minimal setup necessary, which was great to see. Whatever ECAD software we use and we want especially to set-up something in a particular way, but it turns out the software does not support it, or it is complicated to accomplish. Concord Pro is powerful enough to do whatever is necessary. That is the focus of these blogs—demonstrating how Concord Pro supports that S.M.A.R.T. Rule.

    Space does not allow us to cover all the rules, so we’ll focus on two of the standards (Singularity and Managed) in this particular blog and the other three in part 2. 

    Concord Pro and the S.M.A.R.T. Rule- Singularity (First Pillar)

    Nothing causes more problems for the PCB Designer than trying to work from multiple libraries and sources of information. We must work from a single source of truth, as they say. I’ve never fully understood why engineers need their own “personal” libraries. However, it is one of those things that when left unchecked becomes a significant problem which gets quickly out of hand and may have some considerable associated costs. 

    A single server is used to set up Concord Pro, which is easily accessible to anyone who needs it. That should be the only permitted resource for all PCB designs. That may sound to be a rather strict rule, but it is necessary to maintain the integrity of the PCB designs. Of course, it does not stop anyone from creating and using rogue libraries. 

    A little hint here, use Item manager to make sure that the bad libraries don’t sneak into your design—one of those “Tools” that has launched Altium above their competitors. 

    A person standing with a puzzled and annoyed expression with seven vaults of components around him

    Having a lot of unmanaged libraries can cause confusion and ultimately waste your time when figuring out which component is which.

    Concord Pro the S.M.A.R.T. Rule Managed (Second Pillar)

    I have said it before. I do not know which is worse, having multiple libraries, or having a single unmanaged library. They both lead to the same result: more bad PCBs to use as coasters for your coffee cup.

    As you recall, the parts of the Managed pillar is Revision, Lifecycle, Roles, and Permissions. Fortunately, Concord Pro comes with preloaded and ready to use examples of each, or you can customize them for your specific situation. 

    Revision and Lifecycle

    Concord Pro is a very efficient and flexible program that allows creating any desired Revision and Lifecycle Scheme. 

    Altium Concord Pro interface for Revision Naming Schemes under the BCS PCB Build tab.

    Altium Concord Pro BCS PCB Build allows you to build revision schemes very easily.

    A couple of guidelines to follow when dealing with them... First, early in the process, you want to set-up the structure of the revision systems. Keeping in mind that there are more than just components and PCB projects in Concord Pro, and not everything uses the same plans. So, it is a good practice to first determine what and how you intend to use Concord Pro, and then to identify and set-up both the Revision and Lifecycle

    schemes that apply to each item. It is difficult to change this once you start using it. Concord Pro can be customized with each revision scheme. Another reason to organize this beforehand is that the best practice is to have only a single plan for each item.

    Lifecycle Definitions interface in Altium Concord Pro.

    Lifecycle Definitions options in Altium Concord Pro allows you to create new lifecycles and set content types for them.

    In the Lifecycle Definitions interface, go to Content Type, then tick the Control Revision Naming Schemas per Content Type checkbox.

    A very handy feature of Concord Pro is that you can control revision schemas individually for each content type as shown here.

    Conclusion

    I walked into my garage looking for a ball-peen hammer to do some work around the house. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to find it, and for a moment considered using the handle of a metal wrench. However, I caught myself and thought how stupid that would be. Why? Because the handle of a wrench was not the correct tool to do the job. In the same way, Concord Pro is the correct tool for its job, and there is no substitute. 

    I like to use that term because a tool brings out the talent of the person using it. With such a fantastic tool— Concord Pro in the hands of the best PCB Designers and Engineer—we are going to see some of the most amazing innovations we could ever imagine.  

    We will finish this in Part-2. See you on the other side.

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium and learn more about making design decisions with ease and confidence. 

    About Author

    About Author

    With nearly 40 years in the Electronic industry with 20 of them being in the field of PCB Design and engineering, John has stayed on the cutting edge of the PCB industry as a designer/Engineer and more recently as a trainer and mentor. His primary work has been in the Manufacturing field but it has also expanded to several PCB Service arenas. As a veteran, he proudly served in the Army in the Military Intelligence field. John is a CID Certified PCB designer. Presently pursuing his Advance CID certification. Now as the Senior PCB engineer at Legrand Inc, he leads the PCB Designers and Engineers in various divisions across the United States and China.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home