Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Concord Pro und die Bibliothek S.M.A.R.T.-Regel Definition Teil 1

    John Watson
    |  October 7, 2019
    Simulation en régime transitoire et analyse spectrale

    Einführung

    Das Sprichwort sagt: „Der Leithund hat immer die beste Sicht.“ Wenn es um das Rennen der ECAD-Softwareunternehmen geht, hat Altium seit vielen Jahren die Nase vorn. Diese wertvolle Position hat es aus mehreren Gründen erhalten. Der Hauptgrund, glaube ich, ist, dass es eine breite Palette an Werkzeugen für die PCB-Designer anbietet. Wenn man sich eingehender anschaut, was genau die verschiedenen ECAD-Softwareunternehmen anbieten, sind ihre Grundmerkmale dieselben. Alle ECAD-Softwarepakete haben eine Schaltplanerfassung, ein PCB-Layout und eine Möglichkeit, Ihre Gerber-Formate zu exportieren. Wenn man sich die Zusatzwerkzeuge anschaut, sticht ein Unternehmen hervor. 

    Altium hat stets erstklassige Funktionen und Zusatzwerkzeuge bereitgestellt. Die Freigabe von Altium Concord Pro™ ist eine neue Lösung. In relativ kurzer Zeit hat sich Concord Pro in der Branche durchgesetzt. Ich habe erst vor wenigen Tagen mit mehreren Designern gesprochen, die gerade erst mit Concord Pro angefangen haben. Und ihre Kommentare waren, dass sie nicht wüssten, wie sie vorher ohne gearbeitet hätten, eine Bewertung, der ich voll und ganz zustimme. 

    Für diejenigen unter Ihnen, die vielleicht noch nicht von Concorde Pro gehört haben: Es ist ein neues Softwarepaket, das eine konsolidierte Ressourcenlösung für das Problem der Speicherung und Verwaltung jedes Teils Ihres PCB-Designs ist. Obwohl sich Concord Pro auf Bauteile konzentriert, denken Sie daran, dass es eine hervorragende Ressource für andere Dinge ist, die während des PCB-Designprozesses benötigt werden. Mit Bereitstellung von Unterstützung für PCB-Projektbibliotheken, Design-Werkzeuge, wiederverwendbare Blöcke und vieles mehr. In meiner speziellen Situation stellten wir einen Bereich namens Ressourcenbibliothek zusammen, in die wir Unterlagen und Artikel hochluden, die zu den am meisten besuchten wurden. 

    Wie das Sprichwort sagt: „Müll rein, Müll raus.“ Darum ist Concorde Pro so wichtig, und ich glaube, dass es für den Designer zu einer der wichtigsten Ressourcen werden wird; wir haben schließlich ein Softwarepaket, das mit vielen Änderungen in der Branche mithalten kann. 

    Die S.M.A.R.T.-Regel der Bibliotheksverwaltung

    Alle, die mein Material gelesen haben, sind mit der S.M.A.R.T.-Regel der Bibliotheksverwaltung vertraut. Die Singularity (Einzigartigkeit), Managed (Verwaltet), Architecture (Architektur), Reliability (Zuverlässigkeit) und Traceability (Rückverfolgbarkeit). Die sind die Mindestanforderungen für alle Systeme zur Bibliotheksverwaltung. Concord Pro wurde speziell zur Unterstützung der S.M.A.R.T.-Regel entworfen.

    Ein weiterer vorteilhafter Aspekt besteht darin, dass Concord Pro sofort einsatzbereit ist. Es war nur eine minimale Einrichtung nötig, was großartig zu sehen war. Welche ECAD-Software wir auch nutzen und speziell möchten, um etwas auf bestimmte Weise einzurichten, aber es stellt sich heraus, dass die Software das nicht unterstützt oder es zu kompliziert ist, das zu bewerkstelligen. Concord Pro ist leistungsstark genug, um alles Nötige zu tun. Das ist der Schwerpunkt dieser Blogs—zu zeigen, wie Concord Pro diese S.M.A.R.T.-Regel unterstützt.

    Der Platz erlaubt es uns nicht, alle Regeln zu umfassen, daher konzentrieren wir uns auf zwei der Standards (Singularity (Einzigartigkeit) und Managed (Verwaltet)) in diesem bestimmten Blog und den anderen drei in Teil 2. 

    Concord Pro und die S.M.A.R.T.-Regel- Singularity (Einzigartigkeit) (Erste Säule)

    Nichts verursacht mehr Probleme für den PCB-Designer als der Versuch, von mehreren Bibliotheken und Informationsquellen aus zu arbeiten. Wir müssen von einer „Quelle der Wahrheit“ aus arbeiten, wie man sagt. Ich habe nie ganz verstanden, warum Techniker ihre eigenen „persönlichen“ Bibliotheken brauchen. Es ist jedoch eines der Dinge, das, unkontrolliert gelassen, zu einem bedeutenden Problem wird, das schnell entgleitet und erhebliche Kosten verursachen kann. 

    Es wird ein einziger Server verwendet, um Concord Pro einzurichten, der für jeden, der ihn braucht, leicht zugänglich ist. Dies sollte die einzige erlaubte Ressource für alle PCB-Design sein. Das kann nach einer ziemlich strengen Regel klingen, ist aber nötig, um die Integrität der PCB-Designs zu erhalten. Das hindert natürlich niemanden daran, nicht autorisierte Bibliotheken zu erstellen. 

    Ein kleiner Tipp: Verwenden Sie den Item-Manager, um sicherzustellen, dass sich die minderwertigen Bibliotheken in Ihr Design einschleichen, eines dieser „Werkzeuge“, mit dem Altium über seinen Konkurrenten startete.

    S.M.A.R.T.-Regel Definition: Eine Menge unverwalteter Bibliotheken zu haben, kann Verwirrung erzeugen und letztendlich Ihre Zeit beim Herausfinden, welche Komponente welche ist, vergeuden.
    S.M.A.R.T.-Regel Definition: Eine Menge unverwalteter Bibliotheken zu haben, kann Verwirrung erzeugen und letztendlich Ihre Zeit beim Herausfinden, welche Komponente welche ist, vergeuden.

     

    Concord Pro, die S.M.A.R.T.-Regel Managed (Verwaltet) (Zweite Säule)

    Ich habe es vorhin gesagt. Ich weiß nicht, was schlimmer ist, mehrere Bibliotheken oder eine einzige unverwaltete Bibliothek zu haben. Beides führt zu demselben Ergebnis: Mehr schlechte PCBs als Untersetzer für Ihre Kaffeetasse.

    Wenn Sie sich erinnern, die Teile der Säule Verwaltet sind Revision, Lebenszyklus, Regeln und Berechtigungen. Glücklicherweise verfügt Concord Pro über vorgeladene und einsatzbereite Beispiele von jedem, oder Sie können sie an Ihre spezielle Situation anpassen. 

    Revision und Lebenszyklus

    Cocncord Pro ist ein sehr effizientes und flexibles Programm, mit dem Sie jeden gewünschten Revisions- und Lebenszyklusplan erstellen können. 

    Mit der S.M.A.R.T.-Regel PCB-Bibliotheksverwaltung können Sie sehr einfach Revisionspläne erstellen.
    Mit der S.M.A.R.T.-Regel PCB-Bibliotheksverwaltung können Sie sehr einfach Revisionspläne erstellen. 

    Ein paar Richtlinien, die man im Umgang mit Ihnen beachten sollte ... Zuerst möchten Sie am Anfang des Prozesses die Struktur der Revisionssysteme einrichten. Beachten Sie dabei, dass es in Concord Pro mehr als nur Komponenten und PCB-Projekte gibt und nicht alles die gleichen Pläne verwendet. Es ist also eine gute Praxis, zuerst festzulegen, wofür und wie sie Concord Pro verwenden möchten, und dann sowohl die Revisions- als auch die Lebenszykluspläne

    einzurichten, die für jedes Item gelten. Es ist schwierig, das zu ändern, wenn Sie erst angefangen haben, sie zu nutzen. Concord Pro kann mit jedem Revisionsschema angepasst werden. Ein anderer Grund, dies vorher zu organisieren, ist, dass die beste Praxis ist, für jedes Item nur einen einzigen Plan zu haben.

    S.M.A.R.T.-Regel PCB-Bibliotheksverwaltung: Mit den Optionen Lebenszyklus-Definitionen können Sie neue Lebenszyklen und Inhaltstypen für sie erstellen.
    S.M.A.R.T.-Regel PCB-Bibliotheksverwaltung: Mit den Optionen Lebenszyklus-Definitionen können Sie neue Lebenszyklen und Inhaltstypen für sie erstellen. 
    Die S.M.A.R.T.-Regel erläutert: Eine sehr handliche Funktion von Concord Pro besteht darin, dass Sie Revisionspläne einzeln für jeden Inhaltstyp kontrollieren können, wie hier abgebildet.
    Die S.M.A.R.T.-Regel erläutert: Eine sehr handliche Funktion von Concord Pro besteht darin, dass Sie Revisionspläne einzeln für jeden Inhaltstyp kontrollieren können, wie hier abgebildet.

     

    Fazit

    Ich ging in meine Garage und suchte einen Kugelhammer, um um das Haus herum einige Arbeiten zu erledigen. Leider konnte ich ihn nicht finden und überlegte für einen Moment, den Griff eines Metallschlüssels zu verwenden. Ich ertappte mich jedoch selbst und dachte, wie dumm das wäre. Warum? Weil der Griff eines Schlüssels nicht das richtige Werkzeug für diese Arbeit war. Auf dieselbe Weise ist Concord Pro das richtige Werkzeug für seine Arbeit, und es gibt keinen Ersatz dafür. 

    Ich verwende diesen Ausdruck gern, weil ein Werkzeug das Talent der Person, die es benutzt, hervorbringt. Mit so einem fantastischen Werkzeug— Concord Pro in den Händen von PCB-Designern und -Entwicklern—werden wir einige der erstaunlichsten Innovationen sehen, die wir uns je vorstellen konnten.  

    Dies werden wir in Teil 2 beenden. Wir sehen uns auf der anderen Seite.

    Möchten Sie gern mehr darüber erfahren, inwiefern Altium Sie bei Ihrem nächsten PCB-Design unterstützen kann? Sprechen Sie mit einem Experten von Altium und erfahren Sie mehr über das einfache und selbstbewusste Treffen von Design-Entscheidungen

    About Author

    About Author

    Mit fast 40 Jahren in der Elektronikindustrie, davon 20 Jahre im Bereich des PCB-Designs und -Engineerings, ist John als Designer/Ingenieur und in jüngster Zeit als Ausbilder und Mentor an der Spitze der PCB-Industrie geblieben. Seine primäre Arbeit war im Fertigungsbereich angesiedelt, hat sich aber auch auf verschiedene PCB- Dienstleistungsbereiche ausgeweitet. Als Veteran diente er stolz in der Armee im Bereich des militärischen Geheimdienstes. John ist ein CID-zertifizierter PCB-Designer. Gegenwärtig strebt er seine CID-Zertifizierung für Advance CID an. Als leitender PCB-Ingenieur bei Legrand Inc. leitet er jetzt die PCB-Designer und -Ingenieure in verschiedenen Abteilungen in den Vereinigten Staaten und China.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Concord Pro and the Library S.M.A.R.T. Rule Part-1

    John Watson
    |  October 7, 2019

    Introduction

    The saying goes that “The lead dog always has the best view.” When it comes to the race of the ECAD Software companies, for many years, Altium has led the pack. They got to that prized position for several reasons.The main reason, I believe, is that they provide a vast collection of tools for the PCB Designer. When you look more in-depth at precisely what the various ECAD Software companies offer, their basic features are the same. All the ECAD software packages have a schematic capture, PCB Layout, and a way to export your Gerbers. It is when you look at the add-on tools, that a particular company stands out. 

    Altium has consistently provided the top of the line features and add-on tools. The release of Altium Concord Pro™ is a game-changer. In a rather short time, Concord Pro has become prevalent in the industry. I was speaking to several designers just a few days ago who had just started using Concord Pro, and their comments were that they didn’t know how they had worked without it before, an assessment I fully agree with. 

    For those of you who may not have heard of Concord Pro yet, it is a new software package which is a  consolidated resource solution to the problem of how to store and manage every part of your PCB design. Although Concord Pro focuses on components, keep in mind that it is an excellent resource for other things needed throughout the PCB Design process. With providing support for PCB Project Libraries, Design Tools, reusable blocks, and much more. In my particular situation, we put together a section called a resource library where we uploaded documents and articles, which became one of the most visited. 

    As the saying goes, garbage in, garbage out. That is why Concord Pro is so essential, and I believe it will become one of the most critical resources to the designer; we finally have a software package that can keep up with the many changes in our industry. 

    The S.M.A.R.T. Rule of Library Management

    Anyone who has read my material is familiar with the S.M.A.R.T. Rule of Library Management. The Singularity, Managed, Architecture, Reliability, and Traceability. These are the minimal requirements for all library management systems. Concord Pro has been designed specifically to support the S.M.A.R.T. Rule.

    Another beneficial aspect of Concord Pro is that it’s ready to use right out of the box. There was minimal setup necessary, which was great to see. Whatever ECAD software we use and we want especially to set-up something in a particular way, but it turns out the software does not support it, or it is complicated to accomplish. Concord Pro is powerful enough to do whatever is necessary. That is the focus of these blogs—demonstrating how Concord Pro supports that S.M.A.R.T. Rule.

    Space does not allow us to cover all the rules, so we’ll focus on two of the standards (Singularity and Managed) in this particular blog and the other three in part 2. 

    Concord Pro and the S.M.A.R.T. Rule- Singularity (First Pillar)

    Nothing causes more problems for the PCB Designer than trying to work from multiple libraries and sources of information. We must work from a single source of truth, as they say. I’ve never fully understood why engineers need their own “personal” libraries. However, it is one of those things that when left unchecked becomes a significant problem which gets quickly out of hand and may have some considerable associated costs. 

    A single server is used to set up Concord Pro, which is easily accessible to anyone who needs it. That should be the only permitted resource for all PCB designs. That may sound to be a rather strict rule, but it is necessary to maintain the integrity of the PCB designs. Of course, it does not stop anyone from creating and using rogue libraries. 

    A little hint here, use Item manager to make sure that the bad libraries don’t sneak into your design—one of those “Tools” that has launched Altium above their competitors. 

    A person standing with a puzzled and annoyed expression with seven vaults of components around him

    Having a lot of unmanaged libraries can cause confusion and ultimately waste your time when figuring out which component is which.

    Concord Pro the S.M.A.R.T. Rule Managed (Second Pillar)

    I have said it before. I do not know which is worse, having multiple libraries, or having a single unmanaged library. They both lead to the same result: more bad PCBs to use as coasters for your coffee cup.

    As you recall, the parts of the Managed pillar is Revision, Lifecycle, Roles, and Permissions. Fortunately, Concord Pro comes with preloaded and ready to use examples of each, or you can customize them for your specific situation. 

    Revision and Lifecycle

    Concord Pro is a very efficient and flexible program that allows creating any desired Revision and Lifecycle Scheme. 

    Altium Concord Pro interface for Revision Naming Schemes under the BCS PCB Build tab.

    Altium Concord Pro BCS PCB Build allows you to build revision schemes very easily.

    A couple of guidelines to follow when dealing with them... First, early in the process, you want to set-up the structure of the revision systems. Keeping in mind that there are more than just components and PCB projects in Concord Pro, and not everything uses the same plans. So, it is a good practice to first determine what and how you intend to use Concord Pro, and then to identify and set-up both the Revision and Lifecycle

    schemes that apply to each item. It is difficult to change this once you start using it. Concord Pro can be customized with each revision scheme. Another reason to organize this beforehand is that the best practice is to have only a single plan for each item.

    Lifecycle Definitions interface in Altium Concord Pro.

    Lifecycle Definitions options in Altium Concord Pro allows you to create new lifecycles and set content types for them.

    In the Lifecycle Definitions interface, go to Content Type, then tick the Control Revision Naming Schemas per Content Type checkbox.

    A very handy feature of Concord Pro is that you can control revision schemas individually for each content type as shown here.

    Conclusion

    I walked into my garage looking for a ball-peen hammer to do some work around the house. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to find it, and for a moment considered using the handle of a metal wrench. However, I caught myself and thought how stupid that would be. Why? Because the handle of a wrench was not the correct tool to do the job. In the same way, Concord Pro is the correct tool for its job, and there is no substitute. 

    I like to use that term because a tool brings out the talent of the person using it. With such a fantastic tool— Concord Pro in the hands of the best PCB Designers and Engineer—we are going to see some of the most amazing innovations we could ever imagine.  

    We will finish this in Part-2. See you on the other side.

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium and learn more about making design decisions with ease and confidence. 

    About Author

    About Author

    With nearly 40 years in the Electronic industry with 20 of them being in the field of PCB Design and engineering, John has stayed on the cutting edge of the PCB industry as a designer/Engineer and more recently as a trainer and mentor. His primary work has been in the Manufacturing field but it has also expanded to several PCB Service arenas. As a veteran, he proudly served in the Army in the Military Intelligence field. John is a CID Certified PCB designer. Presently pursuing his Advance CID certification. Now as the Senior PCB engineer at Legrand Inc, he leads the PCB Designers and Engineers in various divisions across the United States and China.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home