Concord Pro et la règle de gestion des données S.M.A.R.T. - 2ème partie

John Watson
|  Created: October 8, 2019  |  Updated: September 8, 2020

Introduction

Dans la première partie de ce blog, nous avons vu comment utiliser Concord Pro® pour configurer et supporter la Règle S.M.A.R.T. de la gestion des données et en particulier la Singularité et la Gestion de vos données. Maintenant, nous allons voir les piliers supplémentaires sous un angle un peu différent. 

 

N’oubliez pas que, comme les piliers d’un bâtiment, ils soutiennent les niveaux supérieurs (que nous verrons plus tard) et que le retrait d’un seul pilier peut entraîner l'effondrement des autres, chacun d'eux ayant un rôle spécifique dans le processus de conception.

 

Cependant, aujourd'hui est un grand jour avec le lancement et le remplacement du nom de deux piliers. Le pilier Révisé (quatrième pilier) s’appelle maintenant Reproductible, et le pilier Adapté (cinquième pilier) est nommé Traçabilité. Ces choix sont le fruit des conversations avec l'équipe d'Altium, et je crois aussi qu’ils décrivent mieux les besoins spécifiques liés à chaque pilier. 

 

Concord Pro et la Règle S.M.A.R.T. Architecture (troisième pilier)

Grâce à Concord Pro, la création de l'architecture que vous recherchez s’appuie sur un processus simple, en établissant vos principales sections de catégories de composants et de familles de sous-catégories. Si vous démarrez votre système de gestion des données, il est préférable d'examiner les principaux fournisseurs de composants tels qu'Octopart et de copier leur structure. Ainsi, toute personne créant un nouvel élément peut s'y référer pour déterminer la catégorie et la famille. Les deux conditions préalables à la création d'un composant sont : identifier ce que vous créez avec le numéro de pièce du fabricant, et connaître sa position dans votre bibliothèque, en fonction de la catégorie et de la famille. 

 

Concord Pro supporte l’installation sur un seul serveur facilement accessible à tous ceux qui en ont besoin. Bien que nous nous concentrions ici sur l'aspect Composants, ce n’est pas le seul concerné. C'est également une ressource pour tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour la conception de votre PCB : blocs réutilisables, divers modèles ou zones de stockage pour les projets, fichiers de préférence et pour vos projets gérés. Nous avons même mis en place une zone dans une bibliothèque de ressources et de matériaux, incluant articles, modules de formation, et des vidéos. Elle est particulièrement intéressante pour tous ceux qui veulent apprendre de nouvelles choses. Concord Pro est suffisamment souple pour être configuré selon vos préférences, avec une méthode simple pour créer des dossiers et des sous-dossiers. 

Concord Pro et la Règle S.M.A.R.T. Révisé/ Reproductible (quatrième pilier) 

Nous connaissons tous les directives actualisées sur l'utilisation des fiches techniques et les normes IPC pour vérifier que les données sont exactes et utilisables. Mais que recherchons-nous réellement pendant l’examen de nos données ? Nous recherchons des informations reproductibles et fiables pour chaque utilisation. Lorsque tout est correct, un processus de vérification mis en place nous permet de développer un système de reproductibilité. 

 

Donc, je vous informe que le quatrième pilier s’appelle désormais Reproductible, pour mieux rendre compte de son rôle.

Dans les systèmes complexes comportant de nombreuses variables, la reproductibilité des résultats est un peu plus compliquée. Demandez à votre boulanger, par exemple. Un boulanger peut suivre la même recette pour faire des miches de pain, mais si les conditions varient, les résultats peuvent être différents à chaque fois. L'humidité peut augmenter, la température du four peut baisser, ou le pétrissage peut durer un peu plus longtemps, la farine peut contenir plus de gluten et perdre de sa souplesse, c’est à dire qu’elle sera plus ferme en bouche. Par conséquent, il est difficile de garantir la régularité des miches produites.  

 

Mais notre industrie exige une reproductibilité parfaite tout au long du processus de conception, pour garantir des PCB parfaitement identiques et avec un nombre minimum de changements. Le processus de fabrication et d'assemblage est donc un système "complexe" avec d'innombrables variables exigeant diverses disciplines scientifiques. Mais, d'après mon expérience, les centres de fabrication et d'assemblage sont des environnements incroyablement contrôlés, ce qui signifie que la plupart des questions ou problèmes proviennent de notre environnement. Les données constituent une étape fondamentale de notre travail. Nous devons identifier les éléments sous notre contrôle, et ceux qui ne le sont pas, puis identifier et suivre des directives spécifiques. J'aborderai ce principe de reproductibilité de manière beaucoup plus détaillée dans mes prochains blogs.

Concord Pro et la Règle S.M.A.R.T. Adapté/ Traçabilité (cinquième pilier)

Dans un contexte d’amélioration continue, nous remplaçons le nom du pilier Adapté par Traçabilité. Que signifie "traçabilité" pour la conception d'un PCB ? La traçabilité est la capacité de vérifier l'historique, l'emplacement ou l'utilisation d'un composant grâce à une identification enregistrée et documentée, permettant de retracer les données utilisées à chaque étape du processus. 

 

La traçabilité impose un changement profond pendant la conception des PCB en général. De nombreux ingénieurs ont l'impression que leur travail est terminé après avoir créé les Gerbers et transmis les modules de conception. Mais pour vous, en particulier dans le domaine de la fabrication, votre cercle d'influence doit être beaucoup plus large lorsque vous recevez les rapports externes DFM, ou même du service technique, qui vous permettent de remonter jusqu'aux utilisateurs de données et déterminer si des changements sont nécessaires. 

 

Je peux vous dire que la traçabilité est une science à part entière. Nous verrons cela en détail dans les prochains blogs, avec divers outils mais aussi des analyses, des exigences et des relations spécifiques avec différentes données, des méthodes pour vérifier que rien ne manque, et au final comment traiter les changements dans les données et comment les valider. Alors, notre incursion dans ce domaine exigera toute votre attention.

Conclusion

J’ai examiné en profondeur la Règle S.M.A.R.T. et j’ai constaté que chaque pilier en soi a moins d’importance que ce qu’il supporte. Rien n'a changé dans l'importance des piliers eux-mêmes. Ils sont toujours indispensables.  

 

Mais, les piliers soutiennent les composants et toutes les données détaillées auxquels ils sont liés. Et c'est en cela que les principes de la Règle S.M.A.R.T. sont essentiels. 

 

Les projets de PCB reposent sur les composants. Tel est l’objectif ultime. Il ne suffit pas d'avoir une belle bibliothèque si cela n’influence pas la qualité de la conception de nos PCB. 

 

Les cinq piliers de la règle SMART utilisée lors du procédé de fabrication de PCB


Souhaitez-vous en savoir plus sur Altium et les avantages qu’il peut vous apporter pour concevoir votre prochain projet de circuits imprimés ? Discutez avec un expert Altium et découvrez comment prendre des décisions de conception avec facilité et confiance. 

About Author

About Author

Avec près de 40 ans dans l'industrie électronique, dont 20 ans dans le secteur de la conception et de l'ingénierie des circuits imprimés, John est resté à la pointe de l'industrie des PCB en tant que concepteur/ingénieur et, plus récemment dans un nouveau rôle de formateur et mentor. Spécialiste de la fabrication, John a également développé des compétences étendues dans plusieurs domaines des services pour PCB. Il a fièrement servi son pays dans le renseignement militaire. John est un concepteur de PCB certifié CID. Il travaille actuellement pour obtenir la certification Advance CID. Aujourd'hui, en tant qu'ingénieur principal en PCB chez Legrand Inc, John dirige les concepteurs et les ingénieurs en PCB dans différentes divisions aux États-Unis et en Chine.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Concord Pro and the Library S.M.A.R.T. Rule Part-2

    John Watson
    |  October 8, 2019

    Introduction

    In the first part of this blog, we saw how you could use Concord Pro® to set up and support the S.M.A.R.T. Rule of Data Management, specifically the Singularity and the Management of your data. Now, we will continue to look at the additional pillars with a bit of a twist to it. 

    Keep in mind that just like a pillar in a building, these are principles that support what is above it (which we will be looking at later).Since pulling out even one of them may cause others to collapse, each has a distinct purpose in the Design Process.

    Although, today is a big day with the introduction and replacement of the name of two pillars. Reviewed (fourth Pillar) will be Reproducible, and the Tailored (The fifth Pillar) will be Traceability. That is a result of conversations with the team at Altium, but also I believe it better describes what’s needed with each of them. 

    The new 5 pillars - Singularity, Managed, Architecture, Reproducible and Traceability.

    Concord Pro and the S.M.A.R.T. Rule Architecture (Third Pillar)

    Through Concord Pro, it is a straightforward process to create the architecture you are looking for, with creating your major sections of the component categories and families of subcategories. If you are starting your Data Management system, it is best to look at the major component suppliers such as Octopart and copy their structure. That way, anyone creating a new component can reference them to determine the category and family. Two pre-requisites for creating a Component are first to identify what you are creating by having the Manufacturer Part Number, and secondly to know where it resides in your library, by knowing the category and family. 

    Concord Pro allows the setup onto a single server which is easily accessible to anyone who needs it. Although we are concentrating on the Component side here, it is not just about components. It is also a resource for just about anything you would need for your PCB design—reusable blocks, various template or Storage area for Projects, preference files, and for your managed projects. We even set up an area of a Resource library of materials like articles, training modules, even videos. It has become popular for anyone wanting to learn new things. Concord Pro is flexible enough to set up any way you want with an easy way to create Folders and sub-folders. 

    Concord Pro the S.M.A.R.T. Rule Reviewed Reproducible (Fourth Pillar) 

    We all are familiar with the Review guidelines of using Datasheets and the IPC Standards to verify that the data is correct and usable. But what are we really looking for by reviewing our data? We are looking for reproducible information that can be trusted each time you use it. Once we determine that it is correct, having a verification process in place will allow us to develop a system of reproducibility. 

    So, with this blog, I am introducing a more in-depth name for the Fourth pillar of Reproducible.

    In complex systems with many variables, the reproducibility of results is a bit more complicated. Just ask any baker for example. A baker can follow the same recipe for a loaf of bread, but with varying conditions the results may be different each time. There could be more humidity, or the oven temperature may be off a bit, or it was kneaded it a bit more, and it produced more glutton in the flour which made it chewier. So, each loaf of bread may be different.  

    But our industry demand reproducibility throughout the entire design process in that way we have the same PCB design at the end with minimal changes. I would label the fabrication and assembly process as a “Complex” system with countless variables in various disciplines of science. But, my experience with Fabrication and assembly houses is they are incredibly controlled environments, which means that most of any issues or problems were initially there from our side. The data we use is the essential step for all of it. We must identify those items that are in our control and not and determine and follow specific guidelines. I will be discussing this principle of Reproducibility in much more details in future blogs.

    Concord Pro the S.M.A.R.T. Rule Tailored Traceability (Fifth Pillar)

    In the spirit of making further improvements, we are changing the Tailored Pillar to Traceability. What do we mean by traceability as it pertains to a PCB design? Traceability is the ability to verify the history, location, or application of an item using documented recorded identification—being able to trace the data used throughout the process. 

    This will require a paradigm shift in terms of how you look at the PCB design in general. For many, they feel when they create the Gerbers and send the design packages out that their job is over. But for you, especially in the manufacturing field, your circle of influence needs to be much broader when you get the external reports back from lets DFM or even field service that you can trace that design back to data users and determine if you need to conduct any changes. 

    I can tell you that traceability is an entire science unto itself. One which we’ll be looking at in more detail in future blogs, with various necessities such as, analysis, requirements, and relationships with different data and how it is controlled to make sure that you do not miss anything and ultimately how you will deal with changes in the data and how it is validated. So, stand by as we dive deeper into this subject.

    Conclusion

    I have been looking deeper into the S.M.A.R.T. Rule and seeing that the focus is not the pillar themselves but instead what they support. Nothing has changed in the importance of the pillars themselves; they are still highly needed.  

    But, the pillars support the Components and all the detailed data connected to them, and that is where the underlining principles of the S.M.A.R.T. rule are vital. 

    Above the components is the PCB Projects themselves. That is the ultimate goal. It is not enough to have a beautiful library if that does not get translated into the PCB designs that we do. 

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium and learn more about making design decisions with ease and confidence. 

    About Author

    About Author

    With nearly 40 years in the Electronic industry with 20 of them being in the field of PCB Design and engineering, John has stayed on the cutting edge of the PCB industry as a designer/Engineer and more recently as a trainer and mentor. His primary work has been in the Manufacturing field but it has also expanded to several PCB Service arenas. As a veteran, he proudly served in the Army in the Military Intelligence field. John is a CID Certified PCB designer. Presently pursuing his Advance CID certification. Now as the Senior PCB engineer at Legrand Inc, he leads the PCB Designers and Engineers in various divisions across the United States and China.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home