Comment pouvez-vous êtes certain que les données de conception des circuits imprimés sont à la fois accessibles et sécurisées?

John Watson
|  Créé: June 24, 2019  |  Mise à jour: November 12, 2020

J’ai le bonheur d’être grand-père, et jouer avec l'un de mes cinq petits-enfants fait partie des plus grandes joies de ma vie. En plus de tous les jeux imaginables, ils adorent la balançoire du terrain de jeux. Habituellement, ils aiment ça jusqu'à ce que je m’assoie d'un côté. Essayer de soulever le grand-père est aussi très amusant... pendant un temps. Ensuite, les pauvres petits sont confrontés à la dure réalité : effet de levier, équilibre et poids du grand-père.

Comme pour concevoir un circuit imprimé, tout est question d'équilibre. La norme CIB-2221 nous rappelle que tout processus de conception est aussi une affaire de compromis. Lorsque des paramètres spécifiques sont modifiés, les changements de performance qui en résultent augmentent ou dégradent l'ensemble du circuit imprimé. Il y a des compromis à faire avec la gestion des données des PCB. La confirmation des données n’est jamais un problème. Le contraire est plus que probable. Votre stratégie pour gérer ce volume de données joue un rôle de plus en plus critique avec la croissance de votre base de données. Une citation célèbre d'Abraham Lincoln me vient à l'esprit : « Donnez-moi six heures pour abattre un arbre et je passerai les quatre premières heures à affûter la hache. » Donc pour vous, la question urgente est la suivante : essayez-vous d'abattre votre arbre avec une hache émoussée ?

Le travail ne peut pas commencer sans une stratégie bien affutée. En grande partie, ce travail consiste à maintenir le meilleur équilibre possible entre les accès et la sécurité des bases de données... Donc, commençons par affûter notre hache.

Petit rappel : nous avons compris l'importance de notre bibliothèque et ce qu'elle représente pour nos activités. Dans chaque système, les éléments essentiels impliquent le respect de la règle SMART des 5 piliers :  Singularité, Géré, Architecture, Contrôlé, Adapté. [SMART : Singularity, Managed, Architecture, Reviewed, Tailored] Cette question de la sécurité et des accès relève du pilier Géré. Plus précisément, le domaine de la gestion qui concerne les rôles et les autorisations du système.

Sécurité des données de conception des circuits imprimés

La question de la sécurité est vitale et constitue une préoccupation croissante pour les systèmes électroniques en constante évolution. De plus en plus d'entreprises stockent des informations très confidentielles concernant les concepts de leurs circuits imprimés. Il s'agit souvent de composants spécialisés ou de données qui font partie des secrets industriels de l’entreprise.

 Pour bénéficier d’une sécurité appropriée, votre logiciel de conception de circuits imprimés doit prendre en charge un tel système de sécurité. Sans lui, autant essayer d'abattre un arbre avec une lime à ongles. 

Altium propose l'un des meilleurs progiciels développés dans ce but, incluant Nexus et les nouveaux systèmes Concord Pro. Ils sont aujourd’hui l'exemple parfait de la sécurité et du contrôle nécessaires à ce type de système. Comme ces données sont indispensables du début à la fin de chaque projet, leur intégrité est aussi l'intégrité de la conception.  

Un plan complet de gestion des accès doit être mis en place. 

Qu’est-ce que la gestion des accès ? D’après Techopedia, 

« La gestion des accès est un processus qui permet d’identifier, de suivre, de contrôler et de gérer les accès des utilisateurs autorisés ou spécifiés à un système ou une application. »

Fondamentalement, ce processus répond à deux questions : Qui peut accéder à des informations spécifiques ? Quelles sont les actions autorisées pour chaque utilisateur ?

Il existe deux types de systèmes d’accès : Le système d’accès basé sur les rôles (SABR) et le système d’accès basé sur les niveaux (SABN). Les deux systèmes ont leurs avantages et leurs inconvénients, mais les meilleurs systèmes de gestion des données PCB que je connaisse appartiennent à l’un de ces deux types. 

Système d’accès basé sur les rôles (SABR)

Le système d'accès basé sur les rôles identifie d'abord les rôles spécifiques impliqués dans le processus de conception du PCB. Chacun de ces rôles a des responsabilités particulières, nécessitant à leur tour un accès exclusif à certaines informations.  

L'inconvénient d'un système SABR est, premièrement, l'identification obligatoire des rôles impliqués. J'ai constaté que la première exigence du système SABR nécessite un certain nombre d'essais et d'erreurs avant d’arriver à un fonctionnement satisfaisant. La meilleure pratique est d’établir une bonne base de référence, comme point de départ, et de progresser en continu. Le deuxième problème est l'identification des paramètres de travail spécifiques correspondant aux différents rôles requis. Cette fonction sert à identifier les niveaux d'accès requis au système. Enfin, il y a le problème de la méthode des contrôles individuels pour que toutes les actions de chaque utilisateur restent conformes à leurs rôles spécifiques et aux paramètres contrôlés.  

 Système d’accès basé sur les niveaux (SABN)

Une autre méthode standard d'accès à la base de données s'appelle le système d’accès basé sur les niveaux (SABN). Ce système de sécurité est semblable au système SABR, à la différence qu’il utilise des niveaux, à la place des rôles. Chaque niveau correspond à une catégorie de permissions spécifiques avec des accès de plus en plus larges à la base de données. L'avantage du système SABN est d’offrir un contrôle largement supérieur sur les emplacements où chaque individu peut travailler en contrôlant seulement son niveau d'accès. 

Si vous vous demandez où vous avez déjà entendu parler de ce type de système, je peux vous dire qu’il sert à définir tous les niveaux de sécurité dans toutes les branches de l'armée. Je le sais parce que j'ai servi dans le domaine du renseignement militaire. Pour mon travail, j'ai dû obtenir et tenir secrète une habilitation de sécurité de très haut niveau. Ce niveau me donnait accès à certaines informations.

Un autre avantage du système SABN est qu'il suffit d'augmenter le niveau de quelqu'un pour qu’il puisse accéder aux informations et aux responsabilités associées à un autre niveau. Ensuite, nous verrons qu’il suffit de 4-5 niveaux pour couvrir la totalité d’une base de données, quelle que soit sa complexité.

Permissions du système

Les permissions du système sont étroitement liées à ces rôles, à ces niveaux, et à des actions explicites. Les niveaux se différencient par les fonctions disponibles, Certains offrent uniquement la visualisation des données spécifiques. D'autres permettent de modifier ou de mettre à jour des données. Et finalement, certains niveaux offrent un accès intégral pour créer des éléments. De plus, vous avez naturellement un administrateur système qui a accès à toutes les permissions et à toutes les fonctions. 

Par exemple, l'administrateur peut accéder à tous les domaines du système concernant la structure et l'architecture de la bibliothèque.  Il est responsable des accès nécessaires pour créer des composants à partir de zéro. Viennent ensuite ceux qui travaillent sur le schéma et la conception du circuit imprimé et qui n'ont besoin que d'un accès aux composants.  Peu importe le système d'accès que vous utilisez (SABR ou SABN), vous devez connaître ce que chaque rôle ou niveau peut faire. 

Conclusion

Bien souvent, cette question de sécurité ne devient un problème que lorsqu'il est trop tard, lorsqu'un vrai problème existe. Alors bien sûr, il devient la priorité de tous. Il est préférable d'aborder la question de la sécurité avant qu'elle ne devienne un problème. Plus tard, il sera trop tard.

Souhaitez-vous en savoir plus sur Altium et les avantages qu’il peut vous apporter pour concevoir votre prochaine carte de circuits imprimés ? Discutez avec un expert Altium. Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur la façon dont les bibliothèques de circuits imprimés et la gestion des données d'Altium Designer® peuvent prévenir le vol de propriété intellectuelle.

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Avec près de 40 ans dans l'industrie électronique, dont 20 ans dans le secteur de la conception et de l'ingénierie des circuits imprimés, John est resté à la pointe de l'industrie des PCB en tant que concepteur/ingénieur et, plus récemment dans un nouveau rôle de formateur et mentor. Spécialiste de la fabrication, John a également développé des compétences étendues dans plusieurs domaines des services pour PCB. Il a fièrement servi son pays dans le renseignement militaire. John est un concepteur de PCB certifié CID. Il travaille actuellement pour obtenir la certification Advance CID. Aujourd'hui, en tant qu'ingénieur principal en PCB chez Legrand Inc, John dirige les concepteurs et les ingénieurs en PCB dans différentes divisions aux États-Unis et en Chine.

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    How Can You Make Sure PCB Design Data Is Both Accessible and Secure?

    John Watson
    |  June 24, 2019

    As a grandfather, one of the great joys of my life is to play with any of my five grandchildren. On top of their fun list is to play on the teeter-totter at the playground. They usually enjoy it until grandpa gets on one side and they try to lift me. Then the poor little tykes get a harsh lesson in leverage, balance, and just how heavy grandpa is.

    In PCB Design, it is all about balance. IPC-2221 reminds us that the design process comes with its tradeoffs. When specific parameters are modified the resulting performance changes either enhance or degrade the overall PCB. There are tradeoffs with PCB Data Management. lack of data is never a problem. Most likely, it is just the opposite. Your strategy for managing  that amount of data becomes more critical as your database grows. A famous quote from Abraham Lincoln comes to mind: “Give me six hours to chop down a tree, and I will spend the first four sharpening the axe.” The pressing question for you is, are you trying to chop down your proverbial tree with a dull axe?

    Know your strategy before starting. A major part of that is maintaining the balance between Database security and access—it is time to sharpen our axe.

    A little review, we have seen the importance of our and what it represents to our companies. The essential elements in each system are to follow the SMART Rule of Singularity, Managed, Architecture, Reviewed, and Tailored. This issue of security and access fall under the Managed pillar. More precisely, the area of Management regarding Roles and System Permissions.

    PCB Design Data Security

    The question of security is vital and is a growing concern with ever-developing electronic systems. More companies are storing high proprietary information for their PCB Designs. Many times this includes specialized components or data that are company secrets.

     To manage a secure system such as that, you must have PCB design software that supports such a system. Without it, you are trying to chop down a  tree with a nail file. 

    One of the very best software packages developed just for this purpose has come from Altium, which includes and the new Concord Pro systems. These are now the shining example of exactly how such a vital system is controlled and secured. Since everything starts and ends with that data, the integrity of the data determines the integrity of the design.  

    There must be in place a comprehensive Access Management Plan. 

    What is Access Management? According to Techopedia, 

    “Access management (AM) is the process of identifying, tracking, controlling, and managing authorized or specified users' access to a system or application.”

    In basic terms, it focuses on two questions: Who can access certain information? What exactly can these users do?

    There are two types of Access systems: Role Based Access System (RBAS) and Level-Based Access System (LBAS). Both systems have their pros and cons, but the very best PCB Data Management systems I’ve seen have had one of these two types. 

    Role Based Access System (RBAS)

    The Role Based Access System is one that first identifies the specific roles involved in the PCB design process, and each of those roles has particular responsibilities, in turn needing exclusive access to certain information.  

    The downside of an RBAS system is, first, the required identification of the roles involved. I found that the first requirement in the RBAS system does take some trial and error before you get it correct. What is best is the practice of having a good baseline— -your starting point—then continually improve on that. The second problem is the identification of the specific working parameters on needed roles. Through that, you can identify the required levels of access to the system. Lastly, there is the problem of how to control each of the individuals to only act within those specific roles and controlled parameters.  

    Level Based Access System (LBAS)

    Another standard method of Database Access is called the Level Base Access System (LBAS). This security system is similar to the RBAS, with the difference being that levels are used rather than roles. Each level has a ranking allowing specific permissions with ever-increasing stages of access to the database. The advantage of the LBAS type is that you have much better control over where a particular individual could work simply by their access level. 

    If you are wondering where you have heard of this type of system before it is the same system used by every branch of the military with their Security levels, I served in the Army in the Military Intelligence field. To conduct my work, I was required to obtain and hold a Top Secret Government Clearance. That Level gave me access to certain information.

    Another advantage of the LBAS system is that simply by increasing someone’s level that opens up the information and the responsibilities of that level. Coming up, we will see that only 4-5 levels are needed to cover the most complex Databases fully.

    System Permissions

    Closely connected to those roles and levels is system permissions—what can explicitly be done. For some levels, only the ability to view specific data is needed; others require the ability to modify or update data, and finally, others need full access to create items. Then, of course, there is the system administrator who has full access with full permissions and capabilities. 

    For example, the administrator would have access to all areas of the system concerning structure and architecture.  The librarian would have the responsibility and access to component creation from the ground up. Next would be those who work on the schematic and the PCB Design and only need access to the components. No matter what access system you use (RBAS or the LBAS), know what each role or level can do.

    Conclusion

    Many times this question of security does not become an issue until its too late and an issue has already occurred. Then, of course, it’s on everyone’s priority list. It’s best to address the issue of security before it becomes a problem. After that, it’s too late.

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium. As always, you can also read up more about how Altium Designer’s® PCB libraries and data management help prevent intellectual property theft.

     

    About Author

    About Author

    With nearly 40 years in the Electronic industry with 20 of them being in the field of PCB Design and engineering, John has stayed on the cutting edge of the PCB industry as a designer/Engineer and more recently as a trainer and mentor. His primary work has been in the Manufacturing field but it has also expanded to several PCB Service arenas. As a veteran, he proudly served in the Army in the Military Intelligence field. John is a CID Certified PCB designer. Presently pursuing his Advance CID certification. Now as the Senior PCB engineer at Legrand Inc, he leads the PCB Designers and Engineers in various divisions across the United States and China.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home