Erstellen einer Verstärkersimulation in Altium Designer

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: November 7, 2019  |  Updated: March 10, 2021

Layout for length matching for high-speed signals

Bei der Längenanpassung für High-Speed-Signale dreht sich alles um die Synchronisation...

Wir würden alle gerne die Test- und Messphase schneller erreichen. Dies bedeutet, dass Sie die Designphase hinter sich gebracht haben und bereit sind, die Prototypen zu testen. Es könnte auch bedeuten, dass Sie sich auf die Bauteile beschränkt haben, die Sie für Ihr System benötigen, und die empfohlene Funktionalität für Ihr System bewertet haben. Tests und Messungen der Schaltungen sind sehr wichtig; sie bedeuten jedoch nichts, wenn Sie keine Vergleichsbasis haben.

Die Rolle der Simuationen

Simulationswerkzeuge, unabhängig davon, ob sie für Verstärker oder andere Schaltungen verwendet werden, sind wichtig für die Validierung der Schaltungen, bevor Sie das Layout Ihrer Leiterplatte erstellen. Viele Bauteilhersteller produzieren spezialisierte ICs, SoCs und SoMs für bestimmte Anwendungen. Diese Bauteile sind jedoch nicht immer an Ihre Anforderungen anpassbar. Wenn Sie damit beschäftigt sind, neue Funktionen für Ihr nächstes System zu entwickeln, dann erstellen Sie wahrscheinlich kundenspezifische Schaltungen aus einer Vielzahl von ICs und/oder diskreten Bauteilen.

Hier sind Simulationswerkzeuge für die Bewertung von Designs sinnvoll. Die Ergebnisse der Simulationen sollten als Referenz für Vergleiche verwendet werden, nachdem Sie mit dem Testen von Prototypen oder der Verwendung einer Evaluierungsleiterplatte für spezielle Bauteile begonnen haben. Aufgrund der neueren Mikrowellen- und mmWave-Systeme, die immer häufiger eingesetzt werden, insbesondere wenn 5G- und Radaranwendungen allgegenwärtig werden, müssen mehr Designer spezielle Systeme rund um HF-Verstärker entwickeln. Die Signalintegrität ist ein besonderes Problem in diesen Systemen, und Designer sollten ihre Simulationen für die Leistungsbewertung verwenden.

Dank der umfangreichen Bauteilbibliotheken und der integrierten Analysetools in Altium Designer® können Sie eine genaue Verstärkersimulation erstellen und eine Reihe von Analysen durchführen. Die Simulationswerkzeuge, die Sie benötigen, sind in den Schaltplan-Editor von Altium Designer integriert und können während des Designs Ihrer Schaltungen einfach abgerufen werden.

Erstellen einer Verstärkersimulation in Altium Designer

Das Erstellen einer neuen Simulation, egal ob für eine Verstärkerschaltung, einen Signalverarbeitungsblock oder eine andere Schaltung, beginnt auf der Schaltplanstufe. Der erste Schritt besteht darin, einen neuen Schaltplan in Altium Designer zu erstellen und nach den erforderlichen Simulationsquellen zu suchen. Nach der Erstellung eines leeren Schaltplans müssen Sie die Bauteile für Ihren Verstärker und die zugehörigen Schaltungen finden. Wenn Sie zum Components Panel navigieren, können Sie nach unten zu der Simulation Sources.IntLib-Bibliothek scrollen, wo Sie eine Reihe verschiedener spannungs-/stromgesteuerten Quellen für Ihre Schaltung finden.

Im folgenden Beispiel eines Schaltplans habe ich einige generische Widerstände verwendet, um eine Rückkopplungsschleife mit dem MCP6H01T-Verstärker zu erstellen. Sie können diesen Verstärker oder einen beliebigen anderen Verstärker im Manufacturer Part Seach Panel finden. Hier finden Sie auch alle passiven Bauteile, die Sie in die Schaltung aufnehmen müssen, einschließlich des unten aufgeführten Keramikkondensators C1. Ich habe einige Netzbeschriftungen hinzugefügt, um alles klar anzuzeigen, sowie eine Spannungssonde mit einem Ende für Messungen.

Simple amplifier simulation circuit in Altium Designer

Einfache Verstärkersimulationsschaltung mit einem Koppelkondensator

Etwas, das Sie bei diesem Schaltplan beachten müssen, ist die Notwendigkeit, den VCC-Port mithilfe einer Spannungsquelle zu definieren. Andernfalls interpretiert die Simulation Pin 5 als undefiniert. Ich habe dies unter Verwendung des VSRC-Modells aus der Simulation Sources.IntLib-Bibliothek getan. Sie können jedes beliebige Bauteil aus der Manufacturer Part Search verwenden, einschließlich einer Vielzahl von spezialisierten Verstärker-ICs.

Was Sie mit einer Verstärkersimulation in Altium Designer tun können

Das MixedSim-Modul und andere Werkzeuge in Altium Designer sind ideal für eine Reihe von Analysen im Schaltungs- und Verstärkerdesign. Einige wichtige Beispiele im Verstärkerdesign sind:

  • Parameter-Sweeps. Dies ist eine ausgezeichnete Methode, einige Parameter in der Quelle zu durchlaufen und zu berechnen, wie die Schaltung darauf reagiert. Einige Beispiele sind die Iteration durch verschiedene Werte von passiven Elementen in der Rückkopplungsschleife oder anderen nachgeschalteten Komponenten.
  • Frequenzmodulierte Signale. Sie können die Verstärkersimulationsmodelle in Altium Designer verwenden, um zu untersuchen, wie die Nichtlinearität des Verstärkers zur   Intermodulation  mit frequenzmoduliertem Signal beiträgt. Sie können diese frequenzmodulierte Quelle mithilfe des zugehörigen Modells in der Simulation Sources.IntLib-Bibliothek einbinden.
  • Pol-Nullstellen-Analyse und Übertragungsfunktionsanalyse. Diese beiden zugehörigen Analysen sind wichtig, um den Übergang in den eingeschwungenen Zustand zu untersuchen, wenn der Verstärker mit Impulsen gesteuert wird.   Die Pol-Nullstellen-Analyse  bietet eine einfache Möglichkeit zu untersuchen, wie sich Verstärker und Rückkopplungsschleife in den eingeschwungenen Zustand einpendeln. Dies ist wichtig, wenn Sie irgendwo in der Schaltung einen Koppelkondensator zur Filterung einfügen.

Wenn Sie die Fourier-Analyse in der MixedSim-Profil-Transientenanalyse aktivieren, berechnet der Simulator automatisch eine Fourier-Reihe für die Eingangs- und Ausgangssignale in Ihrer Simulation. Die Ergebnisse der Transientenanalyse liegen im Zeitbereich, aber es ist hilfreich, den Ausgang im Frequenzbereich zu betrachten, insbesondere wenn Sie einen kundenspezifischen Verstärker aus diskreten Bauteilen entwerfen. Wenn Sie einen Verstärker in einer   analogen Signalkette  nahe oder in der Sättigung betreiben, führt das nichtlineare Verhalten des Verstärkers zur Erzeugung von Harmonischen, die als diskrete Spitzen im Ausgang des Frequenzspektrums erscheinen. Dies ist in der folgenden Grafik zu sehen (der Übersichtlichkeit halber vergrößert), in der eine 200-kHz-Sinuswelle verwendet wurde, um den Verstärker tief in die Sättigung zu treiben.

Harmonic generation in an amplifier simulation in Altium Designer

Erzeugung von Harmonischen in einer Verstärkersimulation

Die leistungsstarken Schaltplan-Simulationswerkzeuge in   Altium Designer  sind ideal, um Verstärkersimulationen und viele andere Analysen einzusetzen, bevor Sie das PCB-Layout erstellen. So erhalten Sie eine nützliche Referenz für den Vergleich Ihrer Testergebnisse und können potenzielle Signalintegritätsprobleme auf Ihrer Leiterplatte vorhersehen. Altium Designer bietet Ihnen außerdem einen kompletten Satz an Werkzeugen für die Verwaltung Ihrer Lieferkette und die Vorbereitung von Ergebnissen für Ihren Hersteller.

Jetzt können Sie eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer herunterladen und mehr über die branchenweit besten Werkzeuge für das Layout, die Simulation und die Produktionsplanung erfahren. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Experten von Altium, um weitere Informationen zu erhalten.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    How to Create an Amplifier Simulation in Altium Designer

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  November 7, 2019

    Layout for length matching for high-speed signals

    Length matching for high-speed signals is all about synchronization...

    We’d all love to get to the test and measurement stage quicker. It means you’ve finally gotten through the design phase and you’re ready to test prototypes. It might also mean you’ve narrowed down to the components you need for your system and your evaluating proposed functionality for your system. Tests and measurements with your circuits are very important, but they won’t mean anything if you don’t have a basis for comparison.

    The Role of Simulations

    Your simulation tools, whether they are used for amplifiers or any other circuit, are important for helping validate your circuits before you layout your board. Many component manufacturers are in the business of producing specialized ICs, SoCs, and SoMs for particular applications, but these components are not always adaptable to your needs. If you’re busy innovating novel functionality for your next system, then you’ll likely be building custom circuits from a variety of ICs and/or discrete components.

    This is where simulation tools become useful for evaluating designs. The results from your simulations should be taken as a reference for comparisons once you start testing prototypes or using an evaluation board for specialized components. With newer microwave and mmWave systems set to become more common, especially as 5G and radar applications become ubiquitous, more designers will need to start designing specialized systems around RF amplifiers. Signal integrity is a particular concern in these systems, and designers should use their simulations to evaluate performance

    Thanks to the extensive components libraries and built-in analysis tools in Altium Designer®, you’ll be able to create an accurate amplifier simulation and run a number of analyses. The simulation tools you need are built into the schematic editor in Altium Designer and can be easily accessed as you design your circuits.

    Creating an Amplifier Simulation in Altium Designer

    Creating a new simulation, whether it’s for your amplifier circuit, signal processing block, or other circuit, starts at the schematic level. The first step is to create a new schematic in Altium Designer and locate the simulation sources you need. After creating a blank schematic you’ll need to find the components for your amplifier and its associated circuitry. If you go to the components panel, you can scroll down to the Simulation Sources.IntLib library to find a number of different voltage/current controlled sources for your circuit.

    In the example schematic below, I’ve used some generic resistors to create a feedback loop with the MCP6H01T amplifier. You can locate this amplifier or any other amplifier in the Manufacturer Part Search panel. You can also locate any passives you need to include in the circuit, including the ceramic capacitor C1 shown below. I’ve added some net labels to keep everything clear, and a single-ended voltage probe for measurements.

    Simple amplifier simulation circuit in Altium Designer

    Simple amplifier simulation circuit with a coupling capacitor

    One thing to note with this schematic is that you need to define the VCC port using a voltage source, otherwise your simulation will interpret pin 5 as undefined. I’ve done this using the VSRC model from the Simulation Sources.IntLib library. Note that you could use any of the components in the manufacturer’s part search, including a variety of specialized amplifier ICs.

    What You Can Do with an Amplifier Simulation in Altium Designer

    The MixedSim module and other tools in Altium Designer are ideal for a number of analyses in circuit and amplifier design. Some important examples in amplifier design are:

    • Parameter sweeps. This is an excellent way to sweep through some parameters in the source and calculate how the circuit responds. Some examples include iterating through various values of passives in the feedback loop or other downstream components.

    • Frequency modulated signals. You can use the amplifier simulation models in Altium Designer to examine how the nonlinearity of the amplifier contributes to intermodulation with a frequency modulated signal. You can include a frequency modulated source using the associated model in the Simulation Sources.IntLib library.

    • Pole-zero analysis and transfer function analysis. These two associated analyses are important for examining the transition to steady state when the amplifier is driven with pulses. Pole-zero analysis provides a simple way to examine how the amplifier and the feedback loop settles into the steady state. This is important if you include a coupling capacitor somewhere in the circuit for filtration.

    If you enable Fourier analysis in your MixedSim profile Transient Analysis, the simulator will automatically calculate a Fourier series for the input and output signals in your simulation. Your transient analysis results are in the time domain, but it helps to look at the output in the frequency domain, especially if you are designing a custom amplifier from discrete components. If you are running an amplifier in an analog signal chain near or at saturation, the nonlinear behavior of the amplifier will cause harmonic generation, which will appear as discrete peaks in the frequency spectrum output. This is shown in the graph below (I’ve zoomed in for clarity), where a 200 kHz sine wave was used to drive the amplifier deep into saturation.

    Harmonic generation in an amplifier simulation in Altium Designer

    Harmonic generation in an amplifier simulation

    The powerful schematic simulation tools in Altium Designer are ideal for implementing amplifier simulations and many other analyses before you create your PCB layout. This gives you a useful reference for comparing your test results and helps you anticipate potential signal integrity problems in your board. Altium Designer also gives you a complete set of tools for managing your supply chain and preparing deliverables for your manufacturer.

    Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer and learn more about the industry’s best layout, simulation, and production planning tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home