Erkennen von DDR4-Impedanzverletzungen im Hochgeschwindigkeits-Leiterplattendesign

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: September 21, 2020  |  Updated: September 22, 2020
Erkennen von DDR4-Impedanzverletzungen im Hochgeschwindigkeits-Leiterplattendesign

Das Layout und Routing von Hochgeschwindigkeitsschnittstellen kann ohne die richtigen Design- und Analysetools schwierig sein. Protokolle wie Ethernet, USB, DDR oder MIPI erfordern eine präzise Kontrolle der Single-Ended- und differentiellen Impedanz in Ihrem Leiterplattenlayout. Dies wiederum erfordert das Design eines Lagenaufbaus für kontrolliertes Impedanz-Routing mit definierter Leiterbahngeometrie und Rückpfad. Es ist also nicht verwunderlich, dass beim Beginn mit High-Speed-Layout und Routing einige Startschwierigkeiten aufkommen können.

Sobald Sie Ihr Layout und Routing abgeschlossen haben, stellt sich die Frage, ob Ihr Routing korrekt ist. Online-DRCs können Ihnen dabei helfen, Ihre Design-Einschränkungen einzuhalten und Routing-Fehler zu vermeiden, die die Impedanz beeinträchtigen, übermäßiges Übersprechen erzeugen und EMI-Anfälligkeit verursachen können. Wenn Sie jedoch ein Problem wie eine Impedanzvariation haben, kann es ohne den richtigen Feldlöser schwierig sein, das genaue Problem zu identifizieren und zu korrigieren.

AltiumDesigner® bietet PCB-Designern bereits eine Reihe von erstklassigen Layout- und Routing-Funktionen und lässt sich direkt mit den Feldlöser-Dienstprogrammen des Ansys SIwave®-Pakets integrieren. Durch die Kombination dieser Tools bekommen Designer Zugriff auf mehrere integrierte Feldlöser, mit denen sie Signalintegritäts-, Leistungsintegritäts- und EMI-Analysen direkt anhand von PCB-Layoutdaten durchführen können. In diesem Artikel wollen wir uns anschauen, wie diese Tools verwendet werden können, um DDR4-Impedanzschwankungen zu identifizieren, und was diese Impedanzschwankungen verursacht.

Ansys Altium Webinar-Kollaboration  

Warum Impedanzvariationen wichtig sind

In einem früheren Blogpost haben wir uns das Mini-PC-Beispielprojekt angesehen, das mit Altium Designer ausgeliefert wird. Mit dem Hybrid-Solver in SIwave haben wir ein EMI-Problem im DDR4-Bereich der Platine gefunden, das mit der Impedanz der Stromversorgungsebene auf der Platine zusammenhing, insbesondere mit dem Netz PLL_1V8 (Lage 6). Neben der Durchführung von DRCs gibt es weitere wichtige Signalintegritätsmetriken, die im Layout vor der Abnahme überprüft werden sollten. Dazu gehören unter anderem:

  • Schwankungen an impedanzgesteuerten Netzen
  • Rückpfade für Hochgeschwindigkeitssignale
  • Übersprechen zwischen Hochgeschwindigkeitsnetzen
  • S-, Y- und Z-Parameter-Extraktion an kritischen Netzen
  • Parasitäre Extraktion auf kritischen Netzen

Die Impedanzvariationen auf bestimmten Netzen können während der Layout-Phase schwer zu erkennen sein. Obwohl Sie ein Impedanzprofil für bestimmte Netzklassen definieren und in Altium Designer problemlos Leiterbahnen mit kontrollierter Impedanz verlegen können, kann sich die Impedanz, die von Signalen auf einer Leiterbahn wahrgenommen wird, während der Arbeit am Layout ändern. Nachdem Sie die Form von Ebenen und Kupfergussbereichen geändert haben, treffen Sie möglicherweise eine Layout-Entscheidung, die die Impedanz auf kritischen Netzen ändert. Ebenso ist es möglich, dass ein Designer bei der Fertigstellung des Layouts für eine komplexe Leiterplatte eine Diskontinuität in den Rückpfad für ein kritisches Signal einbaut. Aus diesem Grund ist es wichtig, zusätzlich zu der in Altium Designer integrierten DRC-Engine bestimmte Verifizierungstools zu verwenden.

Nachdem Ihr Layout in Altium Designer fertiggestellt ist, können Sie mit den Feldlösern in Ansys SIwave Impedanzschwankungen in einer Leiterbahn erkennen. Mit der Ansys  EDB Exporter Erweiterung in Altium Designer können Sie ganz einfach eine Schnittstelle zu SIwave herstellen und Simulationen direkt aus Ihren PCB-Layoutdaten ausführen. Hier konzentrieren wir uns auf DDR4-Netze im Mini-PC-Layout in Altium Designer, und das Impedanz-Scanner-Tool wird verwendet, um alle Impedanzvariationen entlang der DDR4-Netze zu erkennen.

DDR4-Impedanzziele

Die Mini-PC-Platine enthält zwei Onboard-DDR4-DRAM-Chips mit 8 GB, die mit 1866 MHz laufen, und das Routing zwischen dem FPGA und den DDR4-Chips muss impedanzkontrolliert sein. Für die Micron MT40A512M16LY-107E DRAM-Module, die in dieser Platine verwendet werden, ermöglicht die wählbare On-Die-Terminierung 34/40/48 Ohm Single-Ended-Impedanz oder 85/90/95 Ohm differentielle Impedanz (andere Werte sind ebenfalls verfügbar).

Bei einer ersten Betrachtung der Mini-PC-Platine erkennt man einige DDR4-Netze (symmetrische Streifen in Bytelane 1, Lage 7), die sich unterhalb eines Splits zwischen der Leistungsebene PLL_1V8 und einer GND-Ebene (Lage 6) kreuzen. Die untere Hälfte dieser Netze bezieht sich auf die VDD_DDR-Ebene (Lage 8), die die DDR4-Module mit Strom versorgt und an eine Masseebene (Lage 9) angrenzt. Die spezifischen Netze in Bytelane 1 sind unten in Abbildung 1 dargestellt.

DDR4-Impedanzdiskontinuität durch Überschreiten einer geteilten Ebene
Abbildung 1: Zwei Netze, die geteilte Ebenen im Mini-PC-Layout kreuzen (mit roten gestrichelten Linien umrandet).

Hier sehen wir zwei Netze, die sich unter einem Split in der PLL_1V8-Ebene und GND kreuzen, eines davon ist DDR4_DM1 (Teil der DDR4-Bytelane 1). Im Vergleich zum USB_D10-Netz hat DDR4_DM1 einen sehr langen Abschnitt, der zwischen dem Split zwischen PLL_1V8 und GND verläuft. Der Abschnitt von DDR4_DM1, der sich zwischen den beiden Ebenen kreuzt, ist sehr lang, und es ist möglich, dass die Impedanz dieses Leiterbahnabschnitts erheblich von der gewünschten Impedanz abweicht.

Hier zeigt der Simberian Field Solver in Altium Designer, dass die Single-Ended-Impedanz für diese Stripline-Leiterbahnen auf ~42 Ohm ausgelegt wurde (0,15 mm Breite, Dk = 3,6, 0,24 mm zwischen den Lagen 6 und 8). Dieses Design setzt voraus, dass die Ebenen oberhalb und unterhalb der Stripline einheitlich sind, was zu der erforderlichen Impedanz in dieser Geometrie führen würde. Aufgrund der Lücke zwischen den Ebenen erscheint die Stripline asymmetrisch und man würde eine höhere Impedanz in diesem Abschnitt erwarten. Die Impedanz im gesamten DDR4-Abschnitt kann schnell mit dem Feldlöser im Impedanz-Scanner-Tool in Ansys SIwave untersucht werden.

Ergebnisse des Impedanz-Scanners

Die Feldlöser-Ergebnisse des Impedanz-Scanners sind in Abbildung 2 dargestellt. Diese Abbildung zeigt die charakteristische Impedanz jedes Netzes, das zu den Onboard-DDR4-Modulen geroutet wird. Das eingefügte Feld zeigt eine vergrößerte Ansicht des DDR4_DM1-Netzes. Die Impedanz wird visuell mit Hilfe einer Heatmap dargestellt, wodurch die Impedanz bestimmter Abschnitte der Leiterbahn identifiziert und mit dem oben definierten DDR4-Impedanzziel verglichen werden kann.

DDR4-Impedanzdiskontinuität durch Überschreiten einer geteilten Ebene
Abbildung 2: DDR4-Impedanzdiskontinuität visualisiert mit SIwave.

Aus den obigen Ergebnissen ist das Ausmaß der Impedanzabweichung im langen geraden Abschnitt der Leiterbahn sowie im abgewinkelten Abschnitt, der unterhalb der PLL_1V8-Ebene zurückführt, ersichtlich. Der Feldlöser liefert eine Single-Ended-Impedanz von ~44,5 Ohm für die Single-Ended-DDR4-Netze in Abbildung 2. Im langen Abschnitt liefert der Feldlöser eine Impedanz von ~49 Ohm, was die Impedanz knapp am Rande der +/-10 %-Toleranzspezifikation des JEDEC-Standards ansiedelt. Der kürzere Abschnitt liegt mit einer Impedanz von ~53 Ohm deutlich außerhalb der Spezifikation.

Mögliche Lösungen

Der Lagenaufbau auf dieser Platine führt bereits zu Schwierigkeiten bei der Schaffung eines konsistenten Rückpfads für Hochgeschwindigkeitssignale, da Rückströme in die Leistungsebene PLL_1V8 induziert werden, die keine angrenzende Masseebene hat. Im Hinblick auf ein verteiltes Schaltungsmodell verringert sich dadurch die Kapazität pro Längeneinheit der Stripline-Anordnung, was zu der größeren Impedanz in den Simulationsergebnissen führt. Außerdem ist das Routing bereits sehr dicht und die Abstände zwischen diesen Netzen müssen eingehalten werden, um das Übersprechen zu reduzieren.
Mögliche Lösungen für diese Probleme im Layout:

  1. Ändern Sie den Lagenaufbau so, dass die DDR-Netze eine durchgehende Massefläche auf Lage 6 referenzieren.
  2. Versuchen Sie, das Routing in der Nähe der Unterkante der PLL_1V8-Ebene so zu ändern, dass DDR4_DM1 unterhalb von PLL_1V8 sitzt.
  3. Ändern Sie die Spanne der PLL_1V8-Ebene so, dass sie DDR4_DM1 überlappt.

Die beste Lösungist eine Kombination aus den Punkten #2 und #3. Eine Möglichkeit besteht darin, die in Abbildung 3 gezeigten Längenabstimmungsabschnitte zu überarbeiten, um Platz für DDR4_DM1 zu schaffen.

DDR4-Impedanz in der Nähe der Split-Ebene
Abbildung 3: Eine mögliche Lösung zur Beseitigung der Impedanzdiskontinuität auf dem DDR4_DM1-Netz.

Zusammenfassung

Nachdem wir mögliche DDR4-Impedanzverletzungen im Mini-PC-Beispielprojekt von Altium Designer identifiziert hatten, haben wir die Impedanz der DDR4-Netze mit dem Impedanz-Scanner in Ansys SIwave visualisiert. Dadurch konnten wir einen bestimmten Abschnitt des DDR4_DM1-Netzes identifizieren, dessen Impedanz außerhalb der Spezifikation liegt. Einige praktische Lösungen können mit den interaktiven Routing-Funktionen in Altium Designer schnell implementiert werden, und das Design kann bei Bedarf wieder mit SIwave simuliert werden.

Registrieren Sie sich für das Altium und Ansys Webinar, um mehr zu erfahren.

Dank der Ansys EDB Exporter Erweiterung in Altium  Designer® können PCB-Designer Signalintegritäts- und Powerintegritätssimulationen mit Ansys  SIwave® durchführen. Dieses Simulationspaket übernimmt die Daten direkt aus Ihrem PCB-Layout und bietet den Designern Zugriff auf mehrere 3D-Feldlöser für Simulationen und Analysen im Zeit- oder Frequenzbereich.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Spotting DDR4 Impedance Violations in High Speed PCB Design

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  September 21, 2020
    Spotting DDR4 Impedance Violations in High Speed PCB Design

    High speed interfaces can be difficult to layout and route without the right set of design and analysis tools. Protocols like Ethernet, USB, DDR, MIPI, and others require precise single-ended and differential impedance control in your PCB layout. This, in turn, requires designing a stackup for controlled impedance routing with defined trace geometry and return path. It’s no wonder some designers have a hard time getting started with high speed layout and routing.

    Once you have completed your layout and routing, the question of whether your routing is correct comes up. Online DRCs certainly help you stay within your design constraints and prevent routing mistakes that can compromise impedance, create excess crosstalk, and create EMI susceptibility. When you do have a problem like an impedance variation, it can be difficult to spot and correct without the right field solver.

    Altium Designer® already gives PCB designers a set of world-class layout and routing features, and it integrates directly with the field solver utilities in the Ansys SIwave® package. The combined capabilities of these tools gives designers access to multiple integrated field solvers for running signal integrity, power integrity, and EMI analyses directly from PCB layout data. Let’s look at how these tools can be used to identify DDR4 impedance variations and what can cause these impedance variations.

    Ansys Altium Webinar Collab

    Why Impedance Variations Matter

    In a previous blog post, we looked at the Mini PC example project that comes prepackaged with Altium Designer. We located an EMI problem in the DDR4 section of the board using the hybrid solver in SIwave, which was related to the power plane impedance in the board, specifically the PLL_1V8 net (Layer 6). In addition to running DRCs, there are other important signal integrity metrics that should be checked in the layout before signoff. Some examples are:

    • Impedance variations on any impedance-controlled nets
    • Return paths for high speed signals
    • Crosstalk between high speed nets
    • S, Y, and Z-parameter extraction on critical nets
    • Parasitic extraction on critical nets

    Impedance variations on specific nets can be hard to spot during the layout phase. Although you can define an impedance profile for specific net classes and easily route traces with controlled impedance in Altium Designer, the impedance seen by signals on a trace can change as you work through the layout. After modifying the shape of planes and copper pour regions, you might make a layout decision that modifies the impedance on critical nets. Similarly, while finishing the layout for a complex board, it’s possible a designer puts a discontinuity in the return path for a critical signal. For this reason, it’s important to use some verification tools in addition to the DRC engine built into Altium Designer.

    After your layout is finished in Altium Designer, you can spot impedance variations in a trace with the field solvers in Ansys SIwave. The Ansys EDB Exporter extension in Altium Designer allows you to easily interface with SIwave and run simulations directly from your PCB layout data. Here, we’ll focus on DDR4 nets in the Mini PC layout in Altium Designer, and the Impedance Scanner tool will be used to catch any impedance variations along DDR4 nets.

    DDR4 Impedance Targets

    The Mini PC board contains two onboard 8 GB DDR4 DRAM chips running at 1866 MHz, and routing between the FPGA and DDR4 chips needs to be impedance controlled. For the Micron MT40A512M16LY-107E DRAM modules used in this board, selectable on-die termination allows 34/40/48 Ohm single-ended impedance or 85/90/95 Ohm differential impedance (other values are available as well).

    Upon an initial survey of the Mini PC board, we can see some DDR4 nets (symmetric striplines in byte lane 1, Layer 7) that cross below a split between the PLL_1V8 power plane and a GND plane (Layer 6). The lower half of these nets is referenced to the VDD_DDR plane (Layer 8), which powers the DDR4 modules and is adjacent to a ground plane (Layer 9). The specific nets in byte lane 1 are shown below in Figure 1.

    DDR4 impedance discontinuity from crossing a split plane
    Figure 1: Two nets crossing split planes in the Mini PC layout (outlined with red dashed lines).

    Here, we see two nets crossing beneath a split in the PLL_1V8 plane and GND, one of which is DDR4_DM1 (part of the DDR4 bytelane 1). Compared to the USB_D10 net, DDR4_DM1 has a very long section that passes between the split between PLL_1V8 and GND. The section of DDR4_DM1 that crosses between the two planes is very long, and it is possible the impedance of this section of the trace differs significantly from the desired impedance.

    Here, the Simberian field solver in Altium Designer shows that the single-ended impedance for these stripline traces was designed to ~42 Ohms (0.15 mm width, Dk = 3.6, 0.24 mm between Layers 6 and 8). This design assumes the planes above and below the stripline are uniform, which would provide the required impedance in this geometry. Due to the gap between the planes, the stripline appears asymmetric and one would expect to see higher impedance in this section. The impedance throughout the DDR4 section can be quickly examined using the field solver in the Impedance Scanner tool in Ansys SIwave.

    Impedance Scanner Results

    The field solver results from the Impedance Scanner are shown in Figure 2. This figure shows the characteristic impedance of each net routed to the onboard DDR4 modules. The inset panel shows a magnified view of the DDR4_DM1 net. The impedance is shown visually using a heat map, allowing the impedance of specific sections of the trace to be identified and compared with the DDR4 impedance target defined above.

    DDR4 impedance discontinuity from crossing a split plane
    Figure 2: DDR4 impedance discontinuity shown visually with SIwave.

    From the above results, we see the extent of the impedance deviation in the long straight section of the trace, as well as the angled section leading back below the PLL_1V8 plane. The field solver returns a single-ended impedance of ~44.5 Ohms for the single-ended DDR4 nets in Figure 2. In the long section, we see the field solver returns an impedance of ~49 Ohms, which puts the impedance just at the edge of the +/-10% tolerance spec under the JEDEC standard. The shorter section is seriously out of spec as its impedance is ~53 Ohms.

    Possible Solutions

    The stackup in this board already creates difficulties with creating a consistent return path for high speed signals as return currents are induced into the PLL_1V8 power plane, which does not have an adjacent ground plane. In terms of a distributed circuit model, this decreases the per-unit-length capacitance of the stripline arrangement, which produces the larger impedance seen in the simulation results. In addition, the routing is already dense and spacing between these nets needs to be maintained to reduce crosstalk.

    The possible solutions to these problems in the layout include the following:

    1. Change the layer stackup so that these DDR nets reference a continuous ground plane on Layer 6.
    2. Try to modify the routing near the bottom edge of the PLL_1V8 plane so that DDR4_DM1 sits beneath PLL_1V8.
    3. Modify the span of the PLL_1V8 plane so that it overlaps DDR4_DM1.

    The best solution that will not conflict with the recommendations given in the previous blog post is a combination of points #2 and #3. One option is to rework the length tuning sections shown in Figure 3 in order to make room for DDR4_DM1.

    DDR4 impedance near split plane
    Figure 3: One possible solution to eliminate the impedance discontinuity on the DDR4_DM1 net.

    Summary

    After identifying possible DDR4 impedance violations in Altium Designer’s Mini PC example project, the impedance of the DDR4 nets was visualized using the Impedance Scanner in Ansys SIwave. This allowed us to identify a specific section of the DDR4_DM1 net with impedance that falls out of spec. Some practical solutions can be quickly implemented with the interactive routing features in Altium Designer, and the design could again be simulated with SIwave as needed.

    Register for the join Altium and Ansys webinar to learn more.

    Thanks to the Ansys EDB Exporter extension in Altium Designer®, PCB designers can run signal integrity and power integrity simulations using Ansys SIwave®. This simulation package takes data directly from your PCB layout, giving designers access to multiple 3D field solvers for time domain or frequency domain simulations and analyses.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home