Repérage des variations de l'impédance de la DDR4 dans la conception de PCB haute vitesse

Zachariah Peterson
|  Créé: September 21, 2020  |  Mise à jour: April 13, 2022
Repérage des violations de l'impédance de la DDR4 dans la conception de PCB haute vitesse

Sans les bons outils de conception et d'analyse, le processus de topologie et de routage des interfaces haute vitesse peut s'avérer fastidieux. Les protocoles tels qu'Ethernet, USB, DDR, ou encore MIPI, nécessitent un contrôle précis de l'impédance simple et différentielle dans votre routage de circuit imprimé. Pour ce faire, vous devez concevoir un empilage garantissant un routage à impédance contrôlée (controlled impedance routing) avec une géométrie des pistes et un chemin de retour définis. Sans surprise, certains concepteurs ont du mal à mettre en œuvre les processus de topologie et de routage haute vitesse.

Une fois que vous avez achevé votre topologie et votre routage, vous devez déterminer si ce dernier est correct. Les règles de conception en ligne (DRC) vous aident à respecter les contraintes de conception et à éviter les erreurs de routage susceptibles de compromettre l'impédance, d'engendrer une diaphonie excessive et de générer une susceptibilité électromagnétique. Lorsque vous êtes confronté à des anomalies, telle qu'une variation de l'impédance, il peut s'avérer difficile d'identifier et de corriger le problème sans le solveur de champ adapté.

Altium Designer® offre aux concepteurs de PCB un ensemble de fonctionnalités de topologie et de routage mondialement reconnues. De plus, il s'intègre directement aux utilitaires de solveur de champ du logiciel Ansys SIwave®. Les fonctionnalités combinées de ces outils permettent aux concepteurs d'accéder à plusieurs solveurs de champ intégrés pour exécuter des analyses d'intégrité du signal, de l'alimentation et des interférences électromagnétiques directement à partir des données de routage du circuit imprimé. Voyons comment ces outils peuvent être utilisés pour identifier les variations de l'impédance de la DDR4 et en comprendre la cause.

Webinaire organisé en collaboration avec Ansys Altium

À quoi servent les variations de l'impédance ?

Dans un autre article de blog, nous avons examiné le projet d'exemple Mini PC préconfiguré avec Altium Designer. Grâce au solveur hybride de SIwave, nous avons pu identifier un problème d'interférence électromagnétique dans la section DDR4 de la carte. Celui-ci était lié à l'impédance du plan d'alimentation du circuit, en particulier au signal PLL_1V8 (couche 6). En plus d'exécuter des DRC, d'autres mesures essentielles de l'intégrité du signal doivent être vérifiées dans le routage avant que celui-ci ne soit approuvé. Voici quelques exemples :

  • Variations de l'impédance sur tous les signaux à impédance contrôlée
  • Chemins de retour pour les signaux haute vitesse
  • Diaphonie entre les signaux haute vitesse
  • Extraction des paramètres S, Y et Z sur les signaux critiques
  • Extraction des parasites sur les signaux critiques

Pendant la phase de routage, il n'est pas toujours simple de repérer les variations de l'impédance sur des signaux spécifiques. Bien qu'Altium Designer vous permette de définir un profil d'impédance pour des classes de signaux spécifiques et de router facilement des pistes à impédance contrôlée (Altium Impedance Controlled Routing), l'impédance perçue par les signaux sur une piste peut changer à mesure que vous travaillez sur le routage. Après avoir modifié la forme des plans et des zones de coulée du cuivre, vous pouvez modifier l'impédance des signaux critiques dans le routage. De même, lorsque vous achevez le routage d'une carte complexe, il est possible qu'un concepteur place une rupture dans le chemin de retour d'un signal critique. C'est pourquoi il est primordial d'utiliser des outils de vérification en plus du moteur DRC intégré à Altium Designer.

Une fois que vous avez terminé votre routage dans Altium Designer, grâce aux solveurs de champ d'Ansys SIwave, vous pouvez repérer les variations de l'impédance dans une piste. L'extension Ansys EDB Exporter d'Altium Designer vous permet de vous interfacer facilement avec SIwave et d'exécuter des simulations directement à partir de vos données de routage de PCB. Ici, nous nous concentrerons sur les signaux DDR4 dans le routage du Mini PC d'Altium Designer. À cet effet, nous utiliserons le scanner de l'impédance afin de détecter toute variation de l'impédance le long des signaux DDR4.

Cibles de l'impédance des signaux DDR4 (DDR4 Signal Impedance)

La carte Mini PC contient deux puces DRAM DDR4 de 8 Go intégrées, d'une fréquence de 1866 MHz, et le routage entre les puces FPGA et DDR4 doit être contrôlé par l'impédance. Pour les modules DRAM Micron MT40A512M16LY-107E utilisés dans cette carte, la terminaison intégrée sélectionnable génère une impédance simple de 34/40/48 Ohm ou une impédance différentielle de 85/90/95 Ohm. Notez également que d'autres valeurs sont disponibles.

Lors d'un premier examen de la carte Mini PC, on constate que certains signaux DDR4 (lignes ruban symétriques dans le groupe d'octets 1, couche 7) qui passent sous une division entre le plan d'alimentation PLL_1V8 et un plan GND (couche 6). La moitié inférieure de ces signaux est référencée sur le plan VDD_DDR (couche 8), qui alimente les modules DDR4 et est adjacent à un plan de masse (couche 9). Les signaux spécifiques du groupe d'octets 1 sont présentés ci-dessous dans le schéma n° 1.

Discontinuité de l'impédance de la DDR4 due au franchissement d'un plan partagé
Schéma n° 1 : deux signaux traversant des plans partagés dans le routage du Mini PC (mis en évidence par les lignes rouges en pointillés).

Dans ce schéma, on observe deux signaux qui se croisent sous une division des plans PLL_1V8 et GND, dont le signal DDR4_DM1 (partie du groupe d'octets 1 de la DDR4). Par rapport au signal USB_D10, il possède une section très longue qui passe entre la division qui sépare les plans PLL_1V8 et GND. La section du signal DDR4_DM1 qui passe entre les deux plans est très longue. Or, il est probable que l'impédance de cette section de la piste diffère considérablement de celle souhaitée.

Ici, le solveur de champ Simberian d'Altium Designer montre que l'impédance simple pour ces pistes de la ligne ruban a été définie à ~42 Ohms (0,15 mm de largeur, Dk = 3,6, 0,24 mm entre les couches 6 et 8). Cette conception suppose que les plans situés au-dessus et au-dessous de la ligne ruban sont uniformes, ce qui fournirait l'impédance requise dans cette géométrie. En raison de l'écart entre les plans, la ligne ruban semble asymétrique et il est probable que l'impédance soit plus élevée dans cette section. L'impédance contenue dans l'ensemble de la section DDR4 peut être rapidement examinée à l'aide du solveur de champ dans l'outil de scanner de l'impédance d'Ansys SIwave.

Résultats du scanner de l'impédance

Les résultats du solveur de champ provenant du scanner de l'impédance sont illustrés dans le schéma n° 2. Ce schéma montre l'impédance caractéristique de chaque signal routé vers les modules DDR4 embarqués. Le panneau intégré montre un aperçu global du signal DDR4_DM1. L'impédance est représentée visuellement à l'aide d'une carte thermique, ce qui permet de l'identifier dans des sections spécifiques de la piste et de la comparer à la cible de l'impédance DDR4 définie ci-dessus.

Discontinuité de l'impédance de la DDR4 due au franchissement d'un plan partagé
Schéma n° 2 : discontinuité de l'impédance de la DDR4 visualisée dans SIwave.

Les résultats ci-dessus montrent l'étendue de l'écart de l'impédance dans la longue section droite de la piste, ainsi que dans la section angulaire qui revient sous le plan PLL_1V8. Le solveur de champ renvoie une impédance simple de ~44,5 Ohms pour les signaux DDR4 asymétriques présentés dans le schéma n° 2. Dans la section longue, on constate que le solveur de champ renvoie une impédance de ~49 Ohms, ce qui signifie qu'elle se situe juste à la limite de la tolérance de +/- 10 %, selon la norme JEDEC. La section la plus courte est complètement en dehors des spécifications, car son impédance est d'environ ~53 Ohms.

Solutions envisageables

L'empilage de cette carte engendre d'ores et déjà des difficultés pour créer un chemin de retour cohérent pour les signaux haute vitesse. En effet, les courants de retour sont générés dans le plan d'alimentation PLL_1V8, qui n'a pas de plan de masse adjacent. En termes de modèle de circuit réparti, cela diminue la capacitance par unité de longueur de l'agencement de la ligne ruban, ce qui produit l'impédance la plus élevée dans les résultats de simulation. En outre, le routage est déjà dense et l'espacement entre ces signaux doit être maintenu pour réduire la diaphonie.

Voici quelques exemples de solutions pour résoudre ces problèmes :

  1. Modifiez l'empilage des couches pour que ces signaux DDR fassent référence à un plan de masse continu sur la couche 6.
  2. Essayez de modifier le routage près du bord inférieur du plan PLL_1V8 afin que le signal DDR4_DM1 se trouve sous PLL_1V8.
  3. Modifiez la dimension du plan PLL_1V8 pour qu'il chevauche le signal DDR4_DM1.

La meilleure solution envisageable, compatible avec les recommandations formulées dans l'article précédent, est une combinaison des points 2 et 3. On peut envisager l'option suivante : retravailler les sections de réglage de la longueur illustrées dans le schéma n° 3 afin que DDR4_DM1 ait plus de place.

Impédance de la DDR4 à proximité du plan partagé
Schéma n° 3: une des solution envisageables pour éliminer la discontinuité de l'impédance sur le signal DDR4_DM1.

RÉSUMÉ

Après avoir identifié d'éventuelles violations de l'impédance des signaux DDR4 dans le projet d'exemple Mini PC d'Altium Designer, cette dernière a été visualisée à l'aide du scanner d'Ansys SIwave. Cette méthode nous a permis d'identifier une section spécifique du signal DDR4_DM1 dont l'impédance n'est pas conforme aux spécifications. Certaines solutions peuvent être rapidement mises en œuvre grâce aux fonctionnalités de routage interactif d'Altium Designer. De plus, si besoin, la conception peut à nouveau être simulée avec SIwave.

Pour en savoir plus, inscrivez-vous au webinaire organisé conjointement par Altium et Ansys.

Grâce à l'extension Ansys EDB Exporter intégrée à Altium Designer®, les concepteurs de PCB peuvent exécuter des simulations d'intégrité du signal et de l'alimentation à l'aide d'Ansys SIwave®. Ce logiciel de simulation extrait des données directement à partir de votre routage de circuit imprimé et offre aux concepteurs de nombreux solveurs de champ en 3D pour les simulations et analyses dans le domaine temporel ou fréquentiel.

 

 

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Zachariah Peterson possède une vaste expérience technique dans le milieu universitaire et industriel. Avant de travailler dans l'industrie des PCB, il a enseigné à la Portland State University. Il a dirigé son M.S. recherche sur les capteurs de gaz chimisorptifs et son doctorat en physique appliquée, recherche sur la théorie et la stabilité du laser aléatoire. Son expérience en recherche scientifique couvre des sujets tels que les lasers à nanoparticules, les dispositifs électroniques et optoélectroniques à semi-conducteurs, les systèmes environnementaux et l'analyse financière. Ses travaux ont été publiés dans diverses revues spécialisées et actes de conférences et il a écrit des centaines de blogs techniques sur la conception de PCB pour de nombreuses entreprises. Zachariah travaille avec d'autres sociétés de PCB fournissant des services de conception et de recherche. Il est membre de l'IEEE Photonics Society et de l'American Physical Society

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Spotting DDR4 Impedance Violations in High Speed PCB Design

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  September 21, 2020
    Spotting DDR4 Impedance Violations in High Speed PCB Design

    High speed interfaces can be difficult to layout and route without the right set of design and analysis tools. Protocols like Ethernet, USB, DDR, MIPI, and others require precise single-ended and differential impedance control in your PCB layout. This, in turn, requires designing a stackup for controlled impedance routing with defined trace geometry and return path. It’s no wonder some designers have a hard time getting started with high speed layout and routing.

    Once you have completed your layout and routing, the question of whether your routing is correct comes up. Online DRCs certainly help you stay within your design constraints and prevent routing mistakes that can compromise impedance, create excess crosstalk, and create EMI susceptibility. When you do have a problem like an impedance variation, it can be difficult to spot and correct without the right field solver.

    Altium Designer® already gives PCB designers a set of world-class layout and routing features, and it integrates directly with the field solver utilities in the Ansys SIwave® package. The combined capabilities of these tools gives designers access to multiple integrated field solvers for running signal integrity, power integrity, and EMI analyses directly from PCB layout data. Let’s look at how these tools can be used to identify DDR4 impedance variations and what can cause these impedance variations.

    Ansys Altium Webinar Collab

    Why Impedance Variations Matter

    In a previous blog post, we looked at the Mini PC example project that comes prepackaged with Altium Designer. We located an EMI problem in the DDR4 section of the board using the hybrid solver in SIwave, which was related to the power plane impedance in the board, specifically the PLL_1V8 net (Layer 6). In addition to running DRCs, there are other important signal integrity metrics that should be checked in the layout before signoff. Some examples are:

    • Impedance variations on any impedance-controlled nets
    • Return paths for high speed signals
    • Crosstalk between high speed nets
    • S, Y, and Z-parameter extraction on critical nets
    • Parasitic extraction on critical nets

    Impedance variations on specific nets can be hard to spot during the layout phase. Although you can define an impedance profile for specific net classes and easily route traces with controlled impedance in Altium Designer, the impedance seen by signals on a trace can change as you work through the layout. After modifying the shape of planes and copper pour regions, you might make a layout decision that modifies the impedance on critical nets. Similarly, while finishing the layout for a complex board, it’s possible a designer puts a discontinuity in the return path for a critical signal. For this reason, it’s important to use some verification tools in addition to the DRC engine built into Altium Designer.

    After your layout is finished in Altium Designer, you can spot impedance variations in a trace with the field solvers in Ansys SIwave. The Ansys EDB Exporter extension in Altium Designer allows you to easily interface with SIwave and run simulations directly from your PCB layout data. Here, we’ll focus on DDR4 nets in the Mini PC layout in Altium Designer, and the Impedance Scanner tool will be used to catch any impedance variations along DDR4 nets.

    DDR4 Impedance Targets

    The Mini PC board contains two onboard 8 GB DDR4 DRAM chips running at 1866 MHz, and routing between the FPGA and DDR4 chips needs to be impedance controlled. For the Micron MT40A512M16LY-107E DRAM modules used in this board, selectable on-die termination allows 34/40/48 Ohm single-ended impedance or 85/90/95 Ohm differential impedance (other values are available as well).

    Upon an initial survey of the Mini PC board, we can see some DDR4 nets (symmetric striplines in byte lane 1, Layer 7) that cross below a split between the PLL_1V8 power plane and a GND plane (Layer 6). The lower half of these nets is referenced to the VDD_DDR plane (Layer 8), which powers the DDR4 modules and is adjacent to a ground plane (Layer 9). The specific nets in byte lane 1 are shown below in Figure 1.

    DDR4 impedance discontinuity from crossing a split plane
    Figure 1: Two nets crossing split planes in the Mini PC layout (outlined with red dashed lines).

    Here, we see two nets crossing beneath a split in the PLL_1V8 plane and GND, one of which is DDR4_DM1 (part of the DDR4 bytelane 1). Compared to the USB_D10 net, DDR4_DM1 has a very long section that passes between the split between PLL_1V8 and GND. The section of DDR4_DM1 that crosses between the two planes is very long, and it is possible the impedance of this section of the trace differs significantly from the desired impedance.

    Here, the Simberian field solver in Altium Designer shows that the single-ended impedance for these stripline traces was designed to ~42 Ohms (0.15 mm width, Dk = 3.6, 0.24 mm between Layers 6 and 8). This design assumes the planes above and below the stripline are uniform, which would provide the required impedance in this geometry. Due to the gap between the planes, the stripline appears asymmetric and one would expect to see higher impedance in this section. The impedance throughout the DDR4 section can be quickly examined using the field solver in the Impedance Scanner tool in Ansys SIwave.

    Impedance Scanner Results

    The field solver results from the Impedance Scanner are shown in Figure 2. This figure shows the characteristic impedance of each net routed to the onboard DDR4 modules. The inset panel shows a magnified view of the DDR4_DM1 net. The impedance is shown visually using a heat map, allowing the impedance of specific sections of the trace to be identified and compared with the DDR4 impedance target defined above.

    DDR4 impedance discontinuity from crossing a split plane
    Figure 2: DDR4 impedance discontinuity shown visually with SIwave.

    From the above results, we see the extent of the impedance deviation in the long straight section of the trace, as well as the angled section leading back below the PLL_1V8 plane. The field solver returns a single-ended impedance of ~44.5 Ohms for the single-ended DDR4 nets in Figure 2. In the long section, we see the field solver returns an impedance of ~49 Ohms, which puts the impedance just at the edge of the +/-10% tolerance spec under the JEDEC standard. The shorter section is seriously out of spec as its impedance is ~53 Ohms.

    Possible Solutions

    The stackup in this board already creates difficulties with creating a consistent return path for high speed signals as return currents are induced into the PLL_1V8 power plane, which does not have an adjacent ground plane. In terms of a distributed circuit model, this decreases the per-unit-length capacitance of the stripline arrangement, which produces the larger impedance seen in the simulation results. In addition, the routing is already dense and spacing between these nets needs to be maintained to reduce crosstalk.

    The possible solutions to these problems in the layout include the following:

    1. Change the layer stackup so that these DDR nets reference a continuous ground plane on Layer 6.
    2. Try to modify the routing near the bottom edge of the PLL_1V8 plane so that DDR4_DM1 sits beneath PLL_1V8.
    3. Modify the span of the PLL_1V8 plane so that it overlaps DDR4_DM1.

    The best solution that will not conflict with the recommendations given in the previous blog post is a combination of points #2 and #3. One option is to rework the length tuning sections shown in Figure 3 in order to make room for DDR4_DM1.

    DDR4 impedance near split plane
    Figure 3: One possible solution to eliminate the impedance discontinuity on the DDR4_DM1 net.

    Summary

    After identifying possible DDR4 impedance violations in Altium Designer’s Mini PC example project, the impedance of the DDR4 nets was visualized using the Impedance Scanner in Ansys SIwave. This allowed us to identify a specific section of the DDR4_DM1 net with impedance that falls out of spec. Some practical solutions can be quickly implemented with the interactive routing features in Altium Designer, and the design could again be simulated with SIwave as needed.

    Register for the join Altium and Ansys webinar to learn more.

    Thanks to the Ansys EDB Exporter extension in Altium Designer®, PCB designers can run signal integrity and power integrity simulations using Ansys SIwave®. This simulation package takes data directly from your PCB layout, giving designers access to multiple 3D field solvers for time domain or frequency domain simulations and analyses.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home