Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie Ihr lokales Vertriebsbüro

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Wie eingebettete Anwendungen für maschinelles Lernen von 5G und der Cloud profitieren werden

    May 26, 2017

    PCB auf einem Menschen
    Bitte betten Sie keine KI-Systeme in ihren Körper ein.

    Immer, wenn ich im Hochschul-Studium bis spät in die Nacht lernte, wünschte ich mir ein kybernetisches Hirnimplantat. Dann könnte ich einfach alle Informationen herunterladen, die ich brauche, und sie später sofort abrufen. Nie wieder lernen, jedes Jahr an den Geburtstag der Freundin denken, vielleicht sogar Netflix im eigenen Kopf anschauen! Leider haben die Herren Elektroingenieure vor mir stattdessen Geräte für das Internet der Dinge (IoT) entworfen. Während ich also immer noch auf mein elektronisches Erinnerungsvermögen warte, bekommen diese Geräte einen eigenen Geist. Maschinelles Lernen und künstliche Intelligenz (KI) sind heiße Themen und Designer wie Sie suchen wahrscheinlich nach Möglichkeiten, sie in eingebetteten System zu verwenden. Es gibt nur ein Problem: Die neuronalen Netze für das maschinelle Lernen verbrauchen zu viel Energie und brauchen zu viel Rechenleistung. Das Aufkommen von 5G und seiner Kombination mit dem Cloud-Computing könnte diese Probleme lösen. Cloud-Computing kann eingebetteten Systemen mit künstlicher Intelligenz über die hohe Bandbreite und niedrige Latenz von 5G ungeahnte Kräfte verleihen.

    Maschinelles Lernen in eingebetteten Systemen

    Maschinelles Lernen ist kein neues Konzept, aber die ständige Erhöhung der Rechenleistung macht es zur Realität. Dank ihrer KI werden Geräte immer klüger mit ihrer Umgebung interagieren können.

    Der Synthetic Sensor der Future Interfaces Group ist ein Paradebeispiel dafür, wie maschinelles Lernen den Systembetrieb verbessern kann. Dieses Modul umfasst beinahe alle in „intelligenten“ Geräten üblichen Sensoren – beispielsweise für Umgebungstemperatur, elektromagnetische Störungen und Störgeräusche. Durch maschinelles Lernen versteht es seine Umgebung. Der Synthetic Sensor kann feststellen, welche Herdplatte Sie eingeschaltet haben und welches Gerät im Hintergrund läuft. So wissen Benutzer immer genau, was in ihrem Zuhause los ist, während sie unterwegs sind.

    Die Vorteile dieser intelligenten Erfassung für eingebettete Systeme sind enorm. Einige Geräte nutzen sie bereits. Der Thermostat von Nest lernt, welche Temperatur Sie in Ihrem Haus mögen und nimmt Ihre An- und Abwesenheit wahr. So kann er die Temperatur in ihrem Zuhause auf Grundlage seines Verständnisses Ihrer Vorlieben und Tagesplanung regeln. Warm, wenn Sie daheim sind, und kühl, wenn Sie außer Haus sind. Diese Art des Verständnisses und der Terminplanung wird unsere Häuser künftig energieeffizienter machen.

    Hindernisse auf dem Weg zum maschinellen Lernen

    Wenn maschinelles Lernen so toll ist, warum setzen wir es dann noch nicht überall ein? Aus denselben Gründen, wieso ich kein bionisches Hirn habe: Maschinelles Lernen ist zu sperrig und braucht zu viel Energie.

    Es ist nicht einfach, einen Supercomputer in ein eingebettetes System einzupassen, aber genau das steht Ihnen bevor, wenn sie KI wollen. Maschinelles Lernen setzt gigantische Rechenleistung voraus – mehr als für ein eingebettetes System sinnvoll ist. Selbst Autohersteller, die mit fortschrittlichen Fahrerassistenzsystemen (ADAS) arbeiten, machen sich Sorgen, ob die für die intelligenten Systeme benötigten CPUs überhaupt hineinpassen. Entwickler nutzen inzwischen GPUs, um das maschinelle Lernen zu beschleunigen, aber damit bekommt man die Chips auch nicht auf die nötige Größe.

    Selbst, wenn passende Chips verfügbar sind, muss man den immensen Strombedarf für KI decken. 1989 bauten Forscher der Carnegie Mellon University ein Auto, das sich mithilfe von Deep Learning selbst steuerte. Das Auto hieß ALVINN, und seine 100-MFLOP-CPU wurde von einem 5.000-Watt-Generator versorgt. Neuere Chips verbrauchen zwar weniger Strom, aber immer noch zu viel. Bei großen eingebetteten Systemen wie einem ADAS-fähigen Auto ist vielleicht genug Platz für viele Batterien, aber bei Haushaltsgeräten und Handhelds wäre die Batterie größer als das Gerät selbst.

    Beides sind schwierige, aber in der Zukunft durchaus lösbare Probleme. Eine kurzfristigere Lösung für die Integration von KI in eingebettete Systeme bieten jedoch 5G und Cloud-Computing.

    Cloud-Computing und 5G

    Die Cloud, das unbekannte Wesen. Ich stelle sie mir immer wie die Welt von Tron vor, allerdings hoffentlich mit weniger Konflikten. In Kombination mit 5G könnte das Cloud-Computing intelligent genug sein, um mir bei der Erschaffung meiner eigenen Computerwelt zu helfen.

    Cloud-Computing kann die Lösung für die oben beschriebenen Stromversorgungs- und Rechenleistungs-Beschränkungen sein. Berechnungen können an externen Orten mit praktisch unbegrenzter Rechenleistung und Anschluss an das Stromnetz vorgenommen werden. Wir alle nutzen die Cloud heute schon für die verteilte Datenverarbeitung, also können eingebettete Systeme das auch. Entsprechend haben Google, Amazon und andere Unternehmen begonnen, Dienste für maschinelles Lernen mit der Cloud anzubieten. Mit Ihren Prozessoren, die sich in weit entfernten Computerfarmen befinden, müssen Sie sich nur noch um die Versorgung der Antenne kümmern. Das führt mich zum Thema 5G.

    Maschinelles Lernen braucht eine Menge Daten. Daten, die aktuell nur schwer drahtlos zu übertragen sind. Intel schätzt, dass ADAS-fähige Autos 1 GB Daten pro Sekunde werden verarbeiten müssen. Das ist eine Menge Information für eine WLAN- oder 4G-Verbindung. Wie passend also, dass die 5G-Technik Datenübertragungsraten bis zu 10 Gbps mit Latenzen unter 10 ms unterstützen wird. Das bedeutet, dass Ihr Gerät die nötigen Daten übermitteln und fast verzögerungsfrei eine Interpretation empfangen wird. Unternehmen arbeiten bereits an stromsparenden 5G-Antennen, so dass Ihre Platinen bei weniger Stromverbrauch intelligentere Entscheidungen treffen können.

    Wolke über Tablet-Computer
    So würde maschinelles Lernen mit Cloud-Computing aussehen.

    Maschinelles Lernen ist ein spannendes Gebiet, das eingebettete Systeme massiv verbessern wird. Cloud-Computing kann dem Rechenleistungs‑ und Stromversorgungs-Bedarf von KI Rechnung tragen, während 5G die Anforderungen an den Datentransfer erfüllt. 

    Sobald maschinelles Lernen für eingebettete Systeme realisierbar ist, werden Sie einen Androiden einstellen müssen, der Ihnen bei der vielen Designarbeit hilft. Nun, einen Androiden habe ich nicht für Sie, aber etwas fast genauso Gutes. Altium Designer ist eine PCB-Design-Software, mit der Sie Platinen für jede Art eingebetteter Systeme einfacher entwerfen können. Seine große Auswahl ausgezeichneter Tools wird Ihnen das Gefühl geben, der PCB-Design-Übermensch schlechthin zu sein.

    Haben Sie noch Fragen zum maschinellen Lernen und eingebetteten Systemen? Rufen Sie einen Experten bei Altium an.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

Altium Online Store

Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Altium Online Store

    Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    How Embedded Machine Learning Applications Will Benefit From 5G and the Cloud

    May 26, 2017

    shutterstock_332648915.jpg
    Editorial credit: Anton_Ivanov / Shutterstock.com

    When I was studying late at night in college I often wished I had a cybernetic brain implant. Then I could just download any information I needed and instantly recall it later. No more studying, no more forgetting my girlfriend’s birthday, maybe I could even watch Netflix inside my own head. Sadly the illustrious electrical engineers who came before me designed Internet of Things (IoT) devices instead. While I’m still waiting on my machine memory, those same devices are getting minds of their own. Machine learning and artificial intelligence (AI) are hot topics, and designers like yourself are probably looking to implement them in embedded systems. There’s only one problem, the neural networks used for machine learning guzzle too much energy and need too much processing power. The arrival of 5G and its combination with cloud computing may provide a solution to that conundrum. Cloud computing can empower embedded systems with artificial intelligence using 5G’s high bandwidth and low latency.

    Machine Learning in Embedded Systems

    Machine learning is not a new concept, but continuing advances in processing power are making it a reality. AI will allow gadgets to interact with their environments much more intelligently.

    The Synthetic Sensor made by Future Interfaces Group is a great example of how machine learning can improve system operation. This module includes almost all of the most sensors found on “smart” devices like ambient temperature, EMI, and noise. Then it uses machine learning to understand its surroundings. The Synthetic Sensor can tell which burner on the stove you turn on or identify which appliance is running. This allows users to know exactly what’s going on in their home when they’re away.

    The advantages of intelligent sensing are huge for embedded systems. They’re already being put into use by some devices. The Nest thermostat learns what temperature you like your house at and tracks your movements. Accordingly, it adjusts the temperature in your house based on its understanding of your preferences and schedule. Hot when you’re home, cold when you’re gone. This kind of understanding and scheduling could make homes more energy efficient.

     PCB on a human
    Don’t embed AI systems into your flesh, please.

    Barriers to Machine Learning

    If machine learning is so great, why haven’t we implemented it everywhere yet? For the same reasons why I don’t have a bionic brain; it’s too bulky and requires too much energy.

    It’s not exactly easy to fit a supercomputer in an embedded system, but that’s what you’ll have to do if you want AI. Machine learning takes a humongous amount of processing power, more than is prudent to put in an embedded system. Even advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) enabled car manufacturers are worried about being able to fit the CPUs required for intelligent systems. Developers are now using GPUs to speed up machine learning processes, but those won’t get chips down to the size you need.

    Even when appropriate chips are available, you’ll still have to deal with AI’s power requirements. In 1989 some researchers at Carnegie Melon made a car that drove itself using deep learning techniques. The car’s name was ALVINN, and its 100 MFLOP CPU was powered by a 5,000 W generator. Current chips use less power than that, but not significantly less. For large embedded systems, like an ADAS enabled car, you might have space for lots of batteries; however, for appliances and handhelds, you would need a battery larger than your device.

    These are both difficult issues but eventually, we’ll overcome them. However, a shorter term solution for bringing AI to embedded systems is 5G and cloud computing.

    Cloud Computer and 5G

    The Cloud, what a mysterious thing. I like to picture it as the world of Tron, though hopefully with less conflict. When combined with 5G, cloud computing could be smart enough to help me create my own computer world.

    Cloud computing can solve the aforementioned power and processing limitations. Calculations can be run at an external location with effectively infinite computing power and a grid connection. People are already using the Cloud for distributed computing, so there’s no reason that embedded systems shouldn’t do the same. In accordance with this, Google, Amazon, and others have begun offering cloud machine learning services. With your processors off in some far away computer farm, you only have to worry about powering an antenna. This brings me to 5G.

    Machine learning requires a lot of data, data that is currently difficult to transmit wirelessly. Intel estimates that ADAS enabled cars will need to process 1 GB of data per second. That’s a lot of information to be transmitted over a WiFi or 4G connection. It just so happens that 5G will support data rates up to 10 Gbps with latencies under 10 ms. This means that your device will be able to transfer the required data and almost instantly receive an interpretation. Companies are also working on low power 5G antennas so that your boards can make smarter decisions using less electricity.

    cloud above a tablet computer
    This is exactly how machine learning with cloud computing would look.

    Machine learning is an exciting field that will hugely enhance embedded systems. Cloud computing can address the AI processing and electrical requirements and 5G will solve the data transfer requirements.  

    Once machine learning becomes viable for embedded systems, you’ll need something like an android to help you with all the design work. Well, I don’t have an android for you, but I have the next best thing. Altium Designer® PCB design software will help you design boards for any kind of embedded system. Its wide range of excellent tools will make you feel like a superhuman PCB.

    Have more questions about machine learning and embedded systems? Call an expert at Altium.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home