Was ist eine technische Stückliste im agilen PCB-Design?

Zachariah Peterson
|  August 5, 2019
3D-Modell einer PCB

Wenn Sie schon einmal ein neues Gerät für die Fertigung vorbereitet haben, dann sind Sie wahrscheinlich mit den verschiedenen Arten von Stücklisten vertraut. Jedes Dokument hat im Design- und Produktionsplanungsprozess seinen festen Platz. Wenn Sie die Rolle jeder Stückliste verstehen, können Sie die darin enthaltenen Informationen nutzen, um Ihren Designprozess deutlich zu verbessern.

Wenn Sie ein agiles Hardware-Entwicklungsteam sind, dann wissen Sie, dass Ihr Designteam Zeit damit verbringen muss, die funktionalen und materiellen Anforderungen für Ihr neues System zu erfassen und zu dokumentieren. Mit der richtigen PCB-Designsoftware kann eine technische Stückliste schnell erstellt werden und dazu beitragen, Ihre agile Designmethodik zu optimieren.

Was ist eine Stückliste? 

Eine Stückliste ist, wie der Name schon sagt, ein Dokument, das alle Teilenummern, Mengen, Referenzbezeichner und Beschaffungsinformationen für Bauteile enthält, die in einem neuen Produkt erscheinen werden. Dieses Dokument ist für den Übergang vom Design zur Fertigung unerlässlich und stellt eine wichtige Dokumentation für Ihr neues Produkt dar. Es gibt viele verschiedene Arten von Stücklisten, unter anderem konfigurierbare Stücklisten, Fertigungsstücklisten und mehrstufige Stücklisten.

Innerhalb des PCB-Designs spiegelt eine technische Stückliste den Zustand eines Systems so wider, wie es ursprünglich entworfen wurde. Dieses Dokument ist nur ein Teil eines kompletten Dokumentationspakets, das erstellt werden sollte, wenn Ihr Team eine Leiterplatte für ein neues elektronisches System entwirft. Auf diese Weise kann das Design-Team eine vollständige Liste der Bauteile sehen, die für das Layout und die Herstellung eines Systems – so wie es ursprünglich vom Endkunden gewünscht wurde – erforderlich sind.

Als wichtiges Dokument im PCB-Design muss Ihre technische Stückliste mit Ihrem ursprünglichen Schaltplan verknüpft sein. Mit diesem Basisdesign können Designteams mit dem Entwurf einer Platine beginnen und nach Bedarf Änderungen vornehmen. Ihre technische Stückliste sollte auch Listen geeigneter Ersatzteile enthalten, um Veralterungs- oder Lieferkettenprobleme zu vermeiden, die später während des Designprozesses auftreten können.

Geräteanforderungen ändern sich typischerweise während des Lebenszyklus eines Produkts, und diese Änderungen müssen bei jeder Iteration eines agilen Designprozesses geprüft werden. Wenn Sie im Rahmen des agilen PCB-Designs Ihre Schaltpläne und Ihr PCB-Layout aktualisieren, um neue oder geänderte Kundenanforderungen zu berücksichtigen, müssen Sie die Änderungen während jedes Design-Sprints als Teil eines umfassenden Qualitätssicherungsprozesses nachverfolgen.

Nahaufnahme einer Leiterplatte mit verschiedenen Bauteilen
Alle Bauteile und möglichen Ersatzteile sollten in einer technischen Stückliste dokumentiert werden.

Eine technische Stückliste in einem agilen PCB-Workflow

Der Anfangszustand des Systems kann als technische Stückliste dokumentiert werden, und zwar mit einem Schaltplanerfassungstool direkt aus Ihrem ursprünglichen Satz von Schaltplänen. Diese Stückliste listet alle Informationen auf, die Sie benötigen, um jedes Bauteil auf Ihrer Leiterplatte zu identifizieren, sowie Referenzbezeichner, geeignete Ersatzteile und Lieferanteninformationen für jedes Bauteil. Somit erhalten Sie ein Basisdesign, von dem aus Verbesserungen vorgenommen werden können.

Sobald Sie Ihren ersten Schaltplan oder einen Satz hierarchischer Schaltpläne haben, können Sie auch mit der Erstellung eines ersten Layouts für Ihr Design beginnen, vorausgesetzt, Ihr Schaltplan besteht alle elektronischen Regelprüfungen. Nach der Erstellung dieser Dokumente und der Generierung Ihrer technischen Stückliste ist es eine gute Idee, bald veraltete oder nicht mehr zu beschaffende Bauteile im aktuellen Design zu identifizieren und sie durch geeignete Ersatzteile zu ersetzen, bevor Sie im Designprozess viel weiter voranschreiten. Sie können diese Einschränkungen dann Ihrem Design-Team kommunizieren und dem Kunden alle erforderlichen Designänderungen erklären, bevor Sie weiter vorgehen.

Während dieses Beispiel eine Möglichkeit zur Verwendung einer technischen Stückliste veranschaulicht, verdeutlicht es auch einige der wichtigen Aspekte agiler Methoden. Kleine Änderungen an Ihrem Arbeitsablauf und eine offene Kommunikation können Ihnen helfen, Probleme frühzeitig zu erkennen und schnelle Lösungen zu entwickeln, die sowohl den Kundenbedürfnissen entsprechen als auch von Ihren Designkollegen vollständig verstanden werden können.

Wenn Sie in der Lage sind, mögliche Redesigns schnell zu identifizieren, die zur Anpassung der gewünschten Funktionalität erforderlich sind, können Sie die funktionalen Anforderungen des Produkts aktualisieren und den Umfang der Redesigns reduzieren. Dies alles hängt von einer genauen Dokumentation und einer offenen Kommunikation mit allen an der Produktentwicklung Beteiligten ab. Eine technische Stückliste ist nur eine Methode, um Designer mit den Informationen zu versorgen, die sie benötigen, um Designänderungen frühzeitig im Designprozess zu berücksichtigen.

Schema mit elektronischen Komponenten

Generieren einer technischen Stückliste mit einer Datenmanagement-Lösung

Die Arbeit mit einer Datenmanagement-Lösung, die in Ihre PCB-Designsoftware integriert ist, ermöglicht es Ihnen, Veralterungs- und Lieferkettenprobleme frühzeitig im Designprozess zu erkennen. Auf diese Weise können Sie auch Aktualisierungen der Designdaten sofort in Ihre technischen Stücklisten, Schaltpläne, PCB-Layouts und andere Dokumentationen importieren. Dieses Maß an Datenverfügbarkeit und die Möglichkeit, Datenaktualisierungen schnell in Ihre Designdokumente zu importieren, trägt zur Optimierung jedes PCB-Design-Workflows, einschließlich agiler Workflows, bei.

Wenn Ihre Datenmanagement-Plattform mit Ihren Standard- und fortgeschrittenen PCB-Designtools integriert ist, können Sie als Teil eines agilen PCB-Designprozesses problemlos eine technische Stückliste und andere wichtige Dokumentationen erstellen. Die gesamte Bandbreite der PCB-Design-Tools in Altium Designer lässt sich jetzt mit den leistungsstarken Datenmanagement- und Kollaborationsfunktionen von Altium 365 integrieren, so dass Ihnen eine vollständige PCB-Design- und Managementlösung auf einer einzigen Plattform zur Verfügung steht.

Kontaktieren Sie uns oder laden Sie eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer® und Altium 365 herunter. In einem einzigen Programm erhalten Sie Zugriff auf die branchenweit besten Funktionen für MCAD/ECAD-Co-Design, PCB-Layout, Dokumentation und Datenverwaltung. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Altium-Experten, um mehr zu erfahren.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    What is an Engineering Bill of Materials in Agile PCB Design?

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  August 5, 2019

    3D model of a PCB

    If you’ve ever prepared a new device for manufacturing, then you’re probably familiar with the different types of bills of materials. Each document has its place in the design and production planning process. If you understand the role of each type of bill of materials, you can take advantage of the information it contains to improve your design process.

    If you’re an agile hardware development team, then you know that your design team will need to spend time gathering and documenting functional and material requirements for your new system. An engineering bill of materials can be quickly generated with the right PCB design software and can help streamline your agile design methodology.

    What is an Engineering Bill of Materials?

    A bill of materials, as its name suggests, is a document that contains all part numbers, quantities, reference designators, and sourcing information for components that will appear in a new product. This document is essential for making the transition from design to manufacturing and acts as an important piece of documentation for your new product. There are many different types of bills of materials, including configurable, manufacturing, and multi-level bills of materials.

    Within PCB design, an engineering bill of materials reflects the state of a system as it was originally designed. This document is just one part of a complete documentation package that should be generated as your team designs a PCB for a new electronics system. This allows a design team to view a complete list of components required to layout and manufacture a system as it was originally desired by the end customer.

    As an important document in PCB design, your engineering bill of materials must link back to your original schematic. This provides a baseline design from which design teams can begin to layout a board and make modifications as needed. Your engineering bill of materials should also include lists of suitable replacement components in order to preempt obsolescence or supply chain problems that may arise later during the design process.

    Device requirements typically change over a product’s lifecycle, and these changes need to be tracked during each iteration of an agile design process. Within agile PCB design, as you update your schematics and PCB layout to accommodate new or modified customer requirements, you’ll need to keep track of changes during each design sprint as part of a comprehensive quality assurance process.

    ICs and passives on a PCB
    Each of these components and replacements should be documented in an engineering bill of materials

    An Engineering Bill of Materials in an Agile PCB Workflow

    The initial state of the system can be documented as an engineering bill of materials immediately from your initial set of schematics using a schematic capture tool. This will list all the information you need to identify each component in your board, reference designators for each component, suitable replacement components, and supplier information for each component. This provides a baseline design from which to make improvements.

    Once you have your initial schematic or set of hierarchical schematics, you can also start creating an initial layout for your design, assuming your schematic passes all electronic rules checks. After creating these documents and generating your engineering bill of materials, it may be a good idea to try to identify any soon-to-be obsolete or unsourceable components in the current design and substitute them with suitable replacements before you move much farther along in the design process. You can then communicate these roadblocks with your design team and explain any required design changes to the customer before you proceed further.

    While this example illustrates one way to use an engineering bill of materials, it also illustrates some of the important aspects of agile methodologies. Small changes to your workflow and open communication can help you identify problems early, and help you devise quick solutions that both meet the customer’s needs and can be fully understood by your fellow designers.

    If you can quickly identify any redesigns that may be required to accommodate your desired functionality, you can quickly update the product’s functional requirements and reduce the extent of redesigns. This all relies on accurate documentation and open communication with everyone involved in product development. An engineering bill of materials is just one method to provide designers with the information they need to address design changes early in the design process.

    Schematic with electronic components

    Generating an Engineering Bill of Materials With a Data Management Solution

    Working with a data management solution that integrates with your PCB design software allows you to quickly identify obsolescence and supply chain problems early in the design process. This also allows you to immediately import design data updates into your engineering bill of materials, schematics, PCB layout, and other documentation. This level of data availability and the ability to quickly import data updates into your design documents helps streamline any PCB design workflow, including agile workflows.

    When your data management platform is integrated alongside your standard and advanced PCB design tools, you can easily generate an engineering bill of materials and other important documentation as part of an agile PCB design process. The full suite of PCB design tools in Altium Designer now integrate with the powerful data management and collaboration features in Altium Concord Pro, providing a complete PCB design and management solution in a single platform.

    Contact us or download a free trial of Altium Designer® and Altium Concord Pro. You’ll have access to the industry’s best MCAD/ECAD co-design, PCB layout, documentation, and data management features in a single program. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home