Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie Ihr lokales Vertriebsbüro

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Wie Sie MicroSD-Stromkreise entwerfen, ohne die Spannungszufuhr der Platine zu destabilisieren

    May 20, 2017

     

    PCB-Designer haben oft die schwierige Aufgabe, ein perfektioniertes Design und niedrige Kosten in Einklang zu bringen. Bei Designs für Speichermedien wie microSD werden Prototypen schnell mangelhaft und teuer, wenn Dinge wie „hot insertion“ oder „Einschaltstrom“ außer Acht gelassen werden.

    Meine Philosophie ist es, Hardwaredesigns einfach zu halten. Ich entferne ohne zu zögern alle Bauteile, die mir überflüssig erscheinen. Leider musste ich auf die harte Tour lernen, dass es die Dinge kompliziert machen kann, wenn man sie einfach halten will. Das war vor zehn Jahren der Fall, als ich an einem Projekt arbeitete, in dem es eine SD-Schnittstelle gab. Damit hatte ich damals noch keine Erfahrung und es gab auch kaum technische Ressourcen dazu.

    Vergessen Sie nicht den Einschaltstrom

    Auf den ersten Blick ist die Pinbelegung einer microSD- oder SD-Karte alles andere als kompliziert. Ein Ingenieur mit einem Minimum an Erfahrung sollte problemlos erkennen, welcher Pin wofür zuständig ist. Eine typische microSD-Karte verbraucht bis zu 10 mA bei 3,3 V, es hätte also nichts schiefgehen können, als ich diese an eine Stromversorgung mit 3,3 V anschloss. Das dachte ich zumindest, bis ich die SD-Karte wieder in meinen Prototypen einsteckte. Wie viele Ingenieure zuvor, hatte ich beim Design der Schaltungen für die SD-Schnittstelle den Einschaltstrom nicht bedacht. So kam es bei unserem Mikrocontroller jedes Mal, wenn eine SD-Karte eingesteckt wurde, zu einem Reset.

    Daraus habe ich eine Lektion gelernt, die bis heute gilt. SD-Karten haben einige elektrische Eigenschaften mit den kleineren microSD-Karten gemeinsam. Das bedeutet, dass eine Wiederholung meines Fehlers von vor zehn Jahren Ihnen heute dasselbe Problem beim PCB-Design bescheren würde.

    Three capacitors of different sizes
    Kondensatoren schaffen Abhilfe!

    Glättungskondensatoren: Die schnelle Lösung, wenn Ihr Prototyp schon fertig ist.

    Was ist also zu tun, nachdem Sie diesen Fehler bei einer Platine für eine microSD-Karte entdeckt haben? Die meisten microSD-Steckverbinder haben einen Kartenerkennungs-Pin, mit dem der Mikrokontroller die Präsenz einer microSD-Karte erkennt. Das System sollte den Strom nur einschalten, wenn die microSD korrekt eingesteckt ist, und wieder ausschalten, sobald diese entfernt wird. Eine schnelle Lösung ist das Hinzufügen eines Glättungskondensators in der Nähe des Stromversorgungs-Pins der microSD-Karte. Das verleiht dem Schaltkreis die nötige zusätzliche Stabilität. Diese Lösung hat sich für mich als sehr effektiv herausgestellt, um das Problem des Einschaltstroms beim Einstecken der Karte zu lösen.

    Natürlich ist es nicht sehr elegant, manuell einen Kondensator auf eine fertige Leiterplatte zu löten, aber wenn etwas schnell funktionieren muss, ist es oft die einzige Möglichkeit. Hier kommt es vor allem auf die Auswahl eines Kondensators an, der genug Ladung aufnehmen kann, um den Einschaltstrom abzuschwächen und eine Destabilisierung der Spannungszufuhr zu verhindern.

    Der Höchstwert eines Glättungskondensators sollte größer sein als die Summe aus der Gesamt-Lastkapazität und der Kapazität zwischen Vdd und Vss der microSD-Karte. In den meisten Fällen reichen hier Werte über 45 µF aus. Der Trick ist, ihn so nahe wie möglich an der microSD zu platzieren. Manchmal wird das bei Ihren PCB-Prototypen nicht möglich sein, sodass eine Überarbeitung der Platine erforderlich ist.

    Die Frage ist nun, ob Sie bei dieser einfachen Lösung mit einem einzelnen Kondensator bleiben wollen oder eine elegantere Option bevorzugen. Meiner Erfahrung mit Speichermedien nach unterscheiden sich die elektrischen Eigenschaften von microSD-Karten je nach Hersteller, sodass ich bei künftigen Designs keine Risiken mehr eingehen würde.

    MOSFETs
    Von Anfang an MOSFETs zu benutzen, ist eine kluge Entscheidung

    Eine elegante Lösung für die Designphase

    Abgesehen von Glättungskondensatoren ist die beste Möglichkeit, Störungen der internen Spannungsversorgung einer microSD-Karte zu vermeiden, die Begrenzung des Einschaltstroms mithilfe einer elektronischen Schalters. Um genau zu sein, sollte Sie einen MOSFET des Typs FDN340P benutzen, um die Stromversorgung der microSD zu steuern. Hier arbeiten Elektronik und Firmware-Logik Hand in Hand, um die Stromzufuhr zur microSD-Karte effizient zu verwalten.

    Ein MOSFET hilft durch die Begrenzung der Spannungsanstiegsrate, Probleme mit dem Einschaltstrom zu verhindern. Wählen Sie einen MOSFET mit einer akzeptablen Spannungsanstiegsgeschwindigkeit für Ihre jeweilige Anwendung. Diese Anstiegsgeschwindigkeit verhindert, dass die Spannung zu schnell schwankt. Außerdem begrenzt sie den maximalen Downstream-Einschaltstrom. Beides hilft, die korrekte Funktion Ihrer microSD-Karte sicherzustellen.

    Sie haben die Wahl zwischen der schnellen Lösung mit Glättungskondensatoren und der Verwendung eines MOSFET zur Kontrolle des microSD-Einschaltstroms. Sollten Sie aber dieselben Fehler machen wie ich in meinen früheren Designs, lassen sich diese jetzt einfach mit CircuitStudio lösen.

    Haben Sie noch Fragen zu Glättungskondensatoren? Kontaktieren Sie einen Experten bei Altium.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    How to Design MicroSD Power Circuits Without Destabilizing the On-Board Voltage Supply

    May 20, 2017

    PCB designers often have the tough job of balancing perfection in design and keeping the cost down. For designs dealing with storage medias, like microSD, neglecting simple terms like “hot insertion” or “inrush current” can result in a prototype that imperfect and costly.

    My philosophy is to keep my hardware designs simple. I am quick to discard any components that seem superficial in my design. Unfortunately, I learned the hard way that keeping things simple can sometimes make things more complicated. This was the case ten years ago when I was working on a project that involved an SD card power supply interface, which at the time was an unfamiliar component with barely any technical resources.

    Don’t neglect the in-rush current

    On first glance, the pinout of the microSD or SD card is anything but complicated. An engineer with minimal experience would have no problem figuring out the which pin does what. A typical microSD consumes up to 100mA at 3.3V, so obviously nothing would go wrong when I  connected it to a 3.3V supply. At least that’s what I thought until I re-inserted the SD card in my working prototype. I, like many engineers before me, neglected an important concept when designing circuitry for a behavioral data SD interface. We did not take the in-rush current into consideration. This resulted in our microcontroller resetting itself every time an SD card was inserted into it.

    There is a lesson to be learned from this that extends to the present day. SD cards share similar electrical characteristics with their smaller form factor counterpart, the microSD card device. This means that remaking my mistake from 10 years ago will result in the same PCB design problem for you today.

    Three capacitors of different sizes
    Capacitors to the rescue!

    Decoupling Capacitor: A quick fix after your prototype is built.

    So, what should you do after you’ve made this mistake on a board intended for a microSD card? Most microSD connectors come with a card detection pin that the microcontroller can use to detect the presence of a microSD Card. The system should only turn on the power when the microSD is properly inserted and turn off the power when the microSD is removed. A quick fix to your problem is to add a decoupling capacitor near the power pin of the microSD card reader. This will provide the extra stability that the circuit needs. I’ve found this solution effective for solving the problem of inrush current from microSD insertion.

    It’s true that manually soldering a capacitor across a finished PCB is not an elegant solution, but it’s the only thing you can do when you’re scrambling to get things to work. The most important thing to consider here is choosing a capacitor that can store enough charge to mitigate the inrush current and prevent the voltage supply from destabilizing.

    The best value for a decoupling capacitor should exceed the total load capacitance and the capacitance between Vdd and Vss of the microSD card. In most cases, any values above 45uF will do. The trick is to place it as near to the microSD as possible. Sometimes it’s impossible to do so with your PCB prototypes and you’ll need to revise your board.

    The question is should you stick to this simple solution that relies on a single capacitor, or should you take a more elegant approach. My past experiences with memory medias have shown me that electrical characteristic of microSD cards can vary by brand, and so for future designs, I recommend not taking any chances.

    MOSFETs

    Be smart and use a MOSFET from the start.

    An elegant solution for the design phase

    Decoupling capacitors aside, the best way to prevent a disturbance to the internal voltage supply from a microSD card is to limit the inrush current through an electronics switch. To be more specific, you should use an FDN340P MOSFET to control the power supply of the microSD. This is where electronics and firmware logic goes hand in hand to manage microSD power efficiently.

    A MOSFET can help you avoid inrush current problems by limiting the rate of voltage increase. You can choose a MOSFET with an acceptable voltage slew rate for your application. This slew rate will keep the voltage from fluctuating too quickly. It will also limit the maximum downstream inrush current. Both will help keep your microSD operating correctly.

    It’s up to you to go for the quick fix of decoupling capacitors or to implement microSD inrush current management with a MOSFET. But if you’re making the same mistakes of my past design, you can fix it now easily using CircuitStudio®.

    Have a question about decoupling capacitors? Contact an expert at Altium.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home