Wichtige Designüberlegungen für die Master-Slave-Schaltung Ihres Embedded Systems

Altium Designer
|  Created: October 5, 2017  |  Updated: December 1, 2020

Tiny people communicating through a vintage megaphone

Titelbild für Master-Slave-Schaltung in Embedded Systems

Es kann einige Wochen oder Monate dauern, bis der Prototyp eines Embedded Systems fertig ist. Manchmal verbringe ich Tage mit einem einzigen Projektdetail. Wenn dann der Chef tagtäglich nach einem Update verlangt, kann dies äußerst lästig werden und die eigene Produktivität beeinträchtigen. Mit Gründung meiner eigenen Design-Firma habe ich mir schnell abgewöhnt, diesen Fehler bei meinem Team ebenfalls zu machen.

Embedded Systems gibt es in den verschiedensten Größen und Formen und, was noch wichtiger ist, mit unterschiedlichen Funktionalitäten und Fähigkeiten. Ein Embedded System muss nicht nur auf einen Controller antworten, der in der Befehlskette weiter oben steht, sondern auch alle anderen Aufgaben effizient erfüllen. Dazu gehört die Überwachung von Eingaben sowie die Berechnung und Konvertierung von Werten. Außerdem müssen Befehle verarbeitet und zuverlässige Aktualisierungen bereitstellt werden. Wird ein Embedded System ständig durch Anfragen von einem anderen Controller gestört, ist es weniger effizient. In einigen Fällen kann dies sogar zum Absturz führen.

Wie funktioniert die Kommunikation von einer Master-Slave-Schaltung in einem Embedded-System?

Der einfachste Weg für Embedded Systems, miteinander zu kommunizieren, ist eine Master-Slave-Schaltung. Hier wird ein einzelnes Embedded System als Master bezeichnet und ist für die Initiierung der Kommunikation mit den daran angeschlossenen Embedded Systems verantwortlich. Die Master-Slave-Schaltung folgt einem vorhersehbaren Muster, wie Nachrichten über die Kommunikationsschnittstelle übertragen werden. Slave-Controller dürfen keine Datenpakete übertragen, es sei denn, sie werden vom Master dazu aufgefordert.

Eines meiner jüngsten Projekte, bei dem eine Master-Slave-Schaltung verwendet wurde, ist ein Überwachungssystem für Gummi-Verarbeitungsmaschinen. Ein Sensorüberwachungs-Controller wurde an jeder Maschine platziert, um deren Arbeitszyklen mit verschiedenen Sensoren zu überwachen. Ein Master ist mit all diesen Sensor-Controllern verbunden und verwendete einen nichtflüchtigen Speicher zur Speicherung der gesammelten Daten.

Wichtige Erwägungen für das Design einer Master-Slave- Schaltung in Embedded Systems.

So unkompliziert es auch erscheinen mag: Die Nichtbeachtung der folgenden Designüberlegungen kann beim Einsatz zu erheblichen Problemen führen.

1. Prozessorleistung der Mikrocontroller

Master- und Slave-Controller werden oft von Mikrocontrollern mit unterschiedlicher Rechenleistung versorgt. Der Master erhält i. d. R. einen leistungsfähigeren Prozessor als der Slave. Da Slave-Controller meist spezifische Aufgaben wie die Überwachung von Sensoreingaben oder die Ansteuerung eines Motors übernehmen, ist es durchaus sinnvoll, sie mit einem Mikrocontroller mittlerer oder kleinerer Leistung auszustatten.

Programmierer, die Software für den Master-Controller schreiben, müssen darauf achten, den Slave-Controller nicht zu oft mit Status-Update-Anforderungen zu unterbrechen. Da sie eine begrenzte Verarbeitungskapazität haben, können häufige Interrupts den Slave-Controller überfordern. Wenn ein Slave-Controller nicht dafür ausgelegt ist, eine hohe Anzahl von Anfragen zu verarbeiten, kann es zu einem Speicher- oder Stapelüberlauf kommen und dieser abstürzen.

Fast and slow progress loading bar

Schnell- und langsame Fortschrittsladeleiste

2. Begrenzung der Anzahl von Slave-Controllern

Theoretisch können Sie Ihren Master-Controller mit so vielen Slave-Controllern verknüpfen, wie es die jeweilige Kommunikationsschnittstelle zulässt. Bei RS458 beispielsweise können bis zu 32 Geräte an eine einzige Verbindung angeschlossen werden. In der Praxis sollten Sie jedoch überlegen, welche Auswirkungen die Verbindung von einer großen Anzahl von Slave-Controllern an einem einzelnen Eingangskanal auf die Datenübertragungsgeschwindigkeit hat. Beispielsweise benötigt ein Slave-Controller 10 Millisekunden, um auf eine Anfrage zu antworten. Sind 31 Slave-Controller vorhanden, dauert es 310 Millisekunden, bis derselbe Controller im nächsten Zyklus wieder angesprochen wird. Wenn der Master-Controller eine schnellere Aktualisierung erfordert, müssen Sie die Anzahl der an einen Kanal angeschlossenen Slave-Controller reduzieren.

3. Design For Redundancy

In einem Embedded System, das in einer Master-Slave-Schaltung konfiguriert ist, sind die einzelnen Controller oft über ein einziges Kabel verbunden. Diese Punkt-zu-Punkt-Verdrahtungstechnik ist einfach und kostengünstig. Bei einer Leitungsunterbrechung ist aber auch das Gesamtsystem gefährdet. Bricht beispielsweise ein Kabel zwischen dem fünften und sechsten Slave-Controller ab, beeinträchtigt dies die Kommunikation des Masters auch mit den ersten fünf Slave-Controllern.

Bei kritischen Anwendungen sollten Systementwickler erwägen, eine redundante Verbindung vom Master-Controller zum letzten Slave-Controller als Backup hinzuzufügen. Erkennt der Master-Controller eine potenzielle Unterbrechung, kann er die Backup-Verbindung aktivieren, um die Kommunikation wiederherzustellen.

“Redundancy” written under torn paper

„Redundanz” auf zerrissenem Papier geschrieben 

Unabhängig davon, ob Sie einen Master- oder Slave-Controller entwerfen, ist die Auswahl des richtigen Mikrocontrollers und der zugehörigen Komponenten entscheidend. Mit PCB-Software wie Altium Designer® und Altium Vault® haben Sie Zugriff auf Bauteilbibliotheken, mit denen Sie den Prozess vereinfachen können.

Wenn Sie Fragen zur Implementierung von einer Master-Slave-Schaltung haben, wenden Sie sich an einen Experten von Altium.

About Author

About Author

PCB Design Tools für Electronics Design und DFM. Informationen für EDA-Führungskräfte.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Important Considerations in Your Embedded System's Master-Slave Communication Model

    Altium Designer
    |  October 5, 2017

    Tiny people communicating through a vintage megaphone

    It can take a few weeks or months to finish a working prototype of an embedded system. Sometimes I would spend days working on a single part of the project. However, when your boss is looking for updates every day, it can be particularly distracting and hinder your productivity. When I started my design company, I learned not to repeat these mistakes on my team.

    Like a human, embedded systems come in various shapes and sizes, and more importantly different functionalities and capabilities. Besides responding to a controller higher up in the chain of command, an embedded system needs to perform its other tasks efficiently. This includes monitoring inputs, calculating and converting values. It must also provide reliable updates or processing commands. When an embedded system is constantly being disrupted by requests from another controller, it is less efficient. In some cases this can cause it to crash without warning.

    How Do Master-Slave Embedded Systems Communications Work

    The simplest way for embedded systems to communicate with each other is through a master-slave structure. This is where a single embedded system is designated as a master and is responsible for initiating communication to embedded systems connected to it. Master-slave communication has a predictable pattern in the way messages are transmitted across the communication interface. Slave controllers are not allowed to transmit any data packets unless they are requested by the master controller.

    One of my latest projects that used a master/slave configuration is a monitoring system for rubber manufacturing machines. A sensor monitoring controller was placed at every machine to monitor their operating cycles using various sensors. A master controller was connected to all of the sensor controllers, and it used non-volatile memory to store the collected data.

    Important Considerations For Designing a Master-Slave Embedded System.

    .As straightforward is it may seem, failing to address the following design considerations can result in problems after deployment.

    1. Processing Power Of Microcontrollers

    Often, master and slave controllers are powered by microcontrollers with varying processing power. A master controller is often powered by a more powerful microcontroller than a slave controller. Slave controllers usually perform specific tasks, like monitoring sensor inputs or driving a motor, so it makes sense to equip them with a medium or lower range microcontroller.

    Programmers who are writing code for the master controller need to refrain from interrupting the slave controller too frequently with status update demands. Since they have a limited processing capability, the interruption can overwhelm the slave controller. If a slave controller is not designed to handle a high volume of requests, it can experience memory or stack overflow and can crash.

    Fast and slow progress loading bar
    Master and Slave controllers can operate at very different speed.

    2. Limiting The Number Of Slave Controllers.

    Theoretically, you can link your master controller with as many slave controllers that they communication interface standards allow. For example, RS458 can have up to 32 devices connected to a single connection. However, in practice, you’ll want to consider what effects connecting a huge number of slave controllers on a single channel will have on information retrieval speed. For example, a slave controller takes 10 milliseconds to respond to a request. If there are 31 slave controllers, it will take 310 milliseconds to receive updates from the same controller on the next cycle. If the master controller requires the updates to be refreshed at a faster rate, you’ll need to limit the number of slave controllers connected to a single channel.

    3. Design For Redundancy

    Embedded systems that are configured in a master-slave manner are often connected with a single cable that loops from one controller to another. This multipoint wiring method is simple and low cost but also puts the entire system at risk if the cable breaks. For example, a cable that breaks between the fifth and sixth slave controller reduces the master’s communication with the first five slave controllers.

    In critical applications, system developers and designers should consider adding a redundant connection from the master controller to the last slave controller in the loop as a backup. If the master controller detects a potential break in the cable, it can activate the backup connection to restore communications.

    “Redundancy” written under torn paper
    It pays to be redundant in critical applications.

    Regardless of whether you’re designing a master or slave controller, choosing the right microcontroller and accompanying components is important. PCB software like Altium Designer® and Altium Vault® give you access to components libraries from to simplify your processes.

    If you have any doubts on implementing master-slave communications, contact an experts at Altium.

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home