Intégrez vos outils ECAD au logiciel de conception mécanique

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: July 14, 2019  |  Updated: April 24, 2020

La communication entre les équipes ECAD et MCAD peut ressembler au jeu du téléphone.

Avez-vous joué au téléphone quand vous étiez enfant ? Chaque fois qu’un message revient à son expéditeur, il a été modifié et génère des problèmes de communication successifs. En finalité, l’idée initiale est largement modifiée ou totalement perdue. Le même phénomène de distorsion des messages se produit lorsque les équipes de conception mécanique et électrique sont scindées en différents groupes. La collaboration s’effrite et les communications deviennent difficiles. L'équipe mécanique ne sait pas ce que fait l'équipe électrique, et vice versa.

Actuellement, vous avez probablement des difficultés à vous souvenir de la dernière fois qu'un nouveau produit purement mécanique a été lancé. La collaboration au sein d'une équipe de conception électrique est indispensable pour assurer une conception moderne de circuits imprimés, tandis que la collaboration entre les concepteurs électriques et mécaniques est essentielle pour la création d'un produit complet. Les méthodologies disparates utilisées par chaque groupe de concepteurs convergent enfin grâce à des outils logiciels appropriés, capables de créer un flux de travail cohérent et homogène.

Design électrique et mécanique : Une histoire de collaboration

Les parties électriques et mécaniques typiques de la conception d'un produit commencent par différentes voies de développement dans différents programmes. Lorsque le circuit imprimé est presque terminé, il devient nécessaire de vérifier qu'il s'insère dans son boîtier. Commence alors un processus itératif qui permet aux concepteurs mécaniques et électriques d’apporter de petites modifications à l’agencement du circuit imprimé et à la conception du boîtier afin d’intégrer leurs exigences respectives.

Ce processus inclut évidemment des itérations inutiles pour modifier la conception. Elles retardent d’autant la fabrication et la mise sur le marché. Dans certains cas, des désaccords entre les deux groupes de concepteurs peuvent n’apparaître que lorsque vous recevez les cartes après leur prototypage. Dans le pire des cas, une modification mécanique pourrait inhiber complètement la fonctionnalité électrique souhaitée.

Par exemple, des trous de montage ne sont pas correctement alignés, des cadrans ou des boutons ne correspondent pas avec les emplacements prévus sur le panneau avant, ou le circuit imprimé ne peut tout simplement pas entrer dans son boîtier. Tous ces problèmes proviennent du manque de communication entre les concepteurs électriques et mécaniques. Un concepteur mécanique a pu effectuer un changement de dernière minute au boîtier sans informer les concepteurs de circuits imprimés, ou un concepteur de circuits imprimés a échangé un composant sans consulter le concepteur mécanique, et le circuit imprimé ne correspond plus à l’encapsulage prévu.

Wireframe for a robotic arm

La robotique est un domaine qui nécessite des logiciels de conception électrique et mécanique de haute précision.

Considérations nécessaires pour réussir la conception de vos produits

Les concepteurs électriques et mécaniques voient déjà la valeur de ce type de collaboration. Selon une enquête réalisée en 2018, 83 % des ingénieurs (N = 265) reconnaissent la valeur d'une meilleure intégration entre les logiciels de conception électrique et mécanique. Au minimum, cela élimine d’inutiles réunions entre concepteurs pour étudier les besoins de chaque équipe, et cela peut éviter une opération de prototypage bâclée.

De nombreuses exigences importantes de la conception électrique peuvent avoir des solutions mécaniques. La mise à la terre du châssis, la sécurité ESD et la protection électromagnétique sont trois aspects électriques essentiels qui sont intimement liés à la conception mécanique. Pour satisfaire les trois exigences électriques sans violer aucune des contraintes mécaniques, le boîtier métallique doit être conçu avec rigueur et précision.

La gestion thermique est un autre aspect de la conception mécanique lié à la conception et à l’agencement des circuits imprimés. Un boîtier doit avoir une certaine masse thermique pour éviter qu’il surchauffe pendant son fonctionnement. Cet aspect est particulièrement important pour les appareils portables. Lorsque le refroidissement est du type actif, le boîtier doit autoriser un débit d'air suffisant pour abaisser la température des composants actifs jusqu’à un niveau sûr.

Engineer using mechanical design software

Il n’est pas nécessaire que les concepteurs mécaniques soient isolés des concepteurs de circuits imprimés.

Les points énumérés ci-dessus ne sont que quelques exemples de la valeur apportée par les logiciels de conception électrique et mécanique intégrés. L'amélioration de la collaboration et de la communication entre les membres de l'équipe est probablement la plus grande valeur générée par les logiciels intégrés.

Collaboration améliorée avec des logiciels de conception électrique et mécanique

Pour concevoir des produits électroniques avec des boîtiers mécaniques complexes, les concepteurs électriques et mécaniques doivent communiquer régulièrement entre eux pour que le produit final fonctionne selon les attentes et conformément aux normes. Réunir les compétences dans un même site n’est que la première étape de la communication. Elle exige de véritables outils de collaboration pour échanger des informations cohérentes entre tous les membres de l’équipe de conception.

Avec la plateforme ECAD appropriée qui s'intègre directement au logiciel de conception mécanique, votre équipe pourra concevoir des produits en appliquant une stratégie holistique et collaborative. Les concepteurs peuvent visualiser un modèle mécanique de leur circuit imprimé sur leur plateforme de conception électrique et avec leur logiciel de conception mécanique. Cette stratégie élimine les erreurs de tolérance et de positionnement des composants, elle facilite l’identification des modifications nécessaires dans les boîtiers et, plus important encore, elle donne aux concepteurs mécaniques et électriques la possibilité de voir leurs données de conception respectives. Elle assure donc un plus haut niveau de compatibilité entre les parties électrique et mécanique d'un nouveau produit.

Travailler sur ce type de plateforme permet aussi aux concepteurs d'adapter un circuit imprimé pour l'utiliser avec des systèmes de fabrication complémentaires. Ces systèmes ont besoin des instructions d'impression spécifiques fournies par un logiciel de conception mécanique. Vous devrez donc importer un modèle mécanique de votre conception dans votre plateforme MCAD pour générer les instructions d'impression nécessaires. Cette plateforme intégrée vous fait gagner un temps considérable : vous pouvez concevoir la partie mécanique, la partie électrique et les instructions d'impression dans un seul environnement.

Si vous souhaitez bénéficier d'un flux de travail unifié qui intègre les outils ECAD et les logiciels de conception mécanique, vous pouvez utiliser Altium Designer et les fonctionnalités de collaboration MCAD offertes par Altium Concord Pro. Votre équipe pourra ainsi exploiter un ensemble complet d'outils pour concevoir le schéma électrique d’un circuit imprimé et son boîtier. Les fonctions de gestion des données d'Altium Concord Pro® combinent en un seul programme la visibilité en temps réel sur la chaîne d’approvisionnement et des informations sur l'obsolescence.

Contactez-nous ou téléchargez un essai gratuit d’Altium Designer et Altium Concord Pro. Vous aurez accès aux meilleurs outils d’agencement, de collaboration MCAD et de gestion des données de l'industrie réunis dans un seul programme. Discutez de vos besoins avec un expert Altium pour en savoir plus.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson possède une vaste expérience technique dans le milieu universitaire et industriel. Avant de travailler dans l'industrie des PCB, il a enseigné à la Portland State University. Il a dirigé son M.S. recherche sur les capteurs de gaz chimisorptifs et son doctorat en physique appliquée, recherche sur la théorie et la stabilité du laser aléatoire. Son expérience en recherche scientifique couvre des sujets tels que les lasers à nanoparticules, les dispositifs électroniques et optoélectroniques à semi-conducteurs, les systèmes environnementaux et l'analyse financière. Ses travaux ont été publiés dans diverses revues spécialisées et actes de conférences et il a écrit des centaines de blogs techniques sur la conception de PCB pour de nombreuses entreprises. Zachariah travaille avec d'autres sociétés de PCB fournissant des services de conception et de recherche. Il est membre de l'IEEE Photonics Society et de l'American Physical Society

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

Altium Online Store

Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Altium Online Store

    Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Integrate Your ECAD Tools with Mechanical Design Software

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  July 14, 2019

    Communication between ECAD and MCAD teams can be like a game of telephone

    Ever play a game of telephone as a child? Once the message gets back to the sender, successive miscommunication along the way causes the original message and idea to be completely modified. This is the same thing that happens when mechanical and electrical design teams are siloed into different groups. Collaboration breaks down and communication becomes difficult. The mechanical team doesn’t know what the electrical team is doing, and vice versa.

    These days, you probably have trouble remembering the last time a new product was released that was purely mechanical. Collaboration within an electrical design team is vital for modern PCB design, while collaboration between electrical and mechanical designers is critical for creating an entire product. The disparate methodologies used by each group of designers are finally converging thanks to the right software tools, coalescing into a consistent, coherent workflow.

    Electrical and Mechanical Design: A Story of Collaboration

    The typical electrical and mechanical portions of product design start off on different treks in different programs. As the PCB nears completion, it becomes time to ensure that it fits into its enclosure. At this point, an iterative process begins, where the mechanical and electrical designers make small changes to the PCB layout and enclosure design in order to accommodate each other’s requirements.

    Obviously, this leads to unnecessary iterations of design modification. This then delays manufacturing and time-to-market. In some cases, you might not find out there was any disagreement between the two groups of designers until you receive boards from prototyping runs. In the worst case, a modification from the mechanical side might completely inhibit the desired electrical functionality.

    As an example, you might find that mounting holes are not aligned, dials or buttons do not align with their intended locations on the front panel, or the PCB simply doesn’t fit in its enclosure. All this arises due to miscommunication between electrical and mechanical designers. A mechanical designer may make a last minute change to the enclosure without telling the PCB designers, or a PCB designer might swap a component without consulting the mechanical designer, causing the PCB to no longer fit its intended package.

    Wireframe for a robotic arm

    Robotics is one area that requires ultra-accurate electrical and mechanical design software

    Some Considerations in Successful Product Design

    Electrical and mechanical designers already see the value of this type of collaboration. According to a 2018 survey, 83% of engineers (N = 265) recognize the value of better integration between electrical and mechanical design software. At minimum, this eliminates unnecessary meetings between designers that are spent on working through each team’s requirements, or it can prevent a botched prototyping run.

    Many important electrical design requirements can be satisfied mechanically. Chassis grounding, ESD safety, and EMC protection are three important electrical aspects that are intimately related to mechanical design. Satisfying all three electrical requirements without violating any other mechanical constraints requires careful design of a metal enclosure.

    Another mechanical design aspect that is related to PCB design and layout is thermal management. An enclosure needs to have a certain thermal mass to prevent the packaging from becoming too hot during operation. This is particularly important in handheld devices. In the case of active cooling, the enclosure needs to allow sufficient airflow to bring the temperature of active components down to a safe level.

    Engineer using mechanical design software

    Mechanical designers don’t have to be siloed from PCB designers

    The points listed above are just a few examples that illustrate the value provided by integrated electrical and mechanical design software. Perhaps the greatest value provided by integrated software is the improved collaboration and communication among team members.

    Collaboration with Electrical and Mechanical Design Software

    When it comes to designing electronic products with complex mechanical enclosures, electrical and mechanical designers need to remain in communication in order to ensure the final product will meet industry standards and function as desired. Communication is about more than just keeping everyone in the same office building. It takes real collaboration tools that provide consistent information to both sides of a design team.

    With the right ECAD platform that integrates directly with mechanical design software, your team will be able to treat product design holistically and in a collaborative manner. Designers can view a mechanical model of their PCB in their electrical design platform and their mechanical design software. This helps eliminate clearance and component placement errors, helps mechanical designers identify required changes to enclosures, and, most importantly, it gives mechanical and electrical designers the ability to see each other’s design data. Overall, this helps ensure compatibility between the electrical and mechanical portions of a new product.

    Working in this type of platform also allows designers to adapt a PCB for use with additive manufacturing systems. These systems require specific printing instructions be generated from mechanical design software, and you’ll need to import a mechanical model of your design into your MCAD platform to generate the required printing instructions. Working in this integrated platform saves you a significant amount of time: you can design the mechanical portion, electrical portion, and printing instructions in a single platform.

    If you want to take advantage of a unified workflow that integrates ECAD tools and mechanical design software, then you need to work with Altium Designer and the MCAD collaboration features in Altium Concord Pro. This gives any team a complete tool set to design an electrical layout for a PCB and its enclosure. The data management features in Altium Concord Pro ® also give designers real-time supply chain visibility and obsolescence information in a single program.

    Contact us or download a free trial of Altium Designer® and Altium Concord Pro. You’ll have access to the industry’s best layout, MCAD collaboration, and data management tools in a single platform. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home