Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie Ihr lokales Vertriebsbüro

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    ECAD Tools Integration für die mechanische Konstruktion

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  July 14, 2019

    Die Kommunikation zwischen ECAD und MCAD Teams kann wie ein Dosentelefon wirken

    Haben Sie als Kind jemals ein Dosentelefon gebaut? Sobald die Nachricht an den Absender zurück geht, sorgt die fortlaufende Fehlkommunikation unterwegs dafür, dass die ursprüngliche Nachricht und Idee vollständig verändert wird. Genau das passiert auch, wenn Teams aus Mechanik- und Elektrik-Designern in verschiedene Gruppen gesteckt werden. Die Zusammenarbeit bricht zusammen und die Kommunikation gestaltet sich als schwierig. Das Mechanik-Team weiß nicht, was das Elektrik-Team macht, und andersherum ist es genauso.

    Heute können Sie sich wahrscheinlich nur noch ungenau daran erinnern, wann zuletzt ein neues Produkt auf den Markt gebracht wurde, das ausnahmslos mechanisch funktionierte. Die Zusammenarbeit mit einem Elektrik-Team ist für modernes PCB Design unabdingbar, während die Kommunikation zwischen Elektrik- und Mechanik-Designern für den Entwurf des gesamten Produkts sehr wichtig ist. Die unterschiedliche Methodik, die von der jeweiligen Designergruppe verwendet wird, findet schlussendlich dank der richtigen Software Tools zusammen und wird zu einem einheitlichen und kohärenten Arbeitsablauf kombiniert.

    Elektrik- und Mechanik-Design: Eine Geschichte der Zusammenarbeit

    Die typischen Elektrik- und Mechanik-Anteile eines Produktdesigns beginnen auf verschiedenen Spuren und in verschiedenen Programmen. Wenn das PCB sich der Fertigstellung nähert, wird es Zeit, sicherzustellen, dass es in sein Gehäuse passt. An diesem Punkt beginnt ein iterativer Prozess, an dem das Mechanik- und Elektrik-Team kleine Änderungen am PCB Layout Design des Gehäuses vornehmen, um auf die jeweiligen Anforderungen einzugehen.

    Dies führt augenscheinlich zu unnötigen Wiederholungen bei der Designmodifikation. Die Folgen sind Verzögerungen bei der Herstellung und der Produkteinführungszeit. In manchen Fällen stellt sich erst dann heraus, dass es eine Unstimmigkeit zwischen den zwei Designergruppen gab, wenn Sie die Platinen der Prototypenphase erhalten. Im schlimmsten Falle kann eine Modifikation von mechanischer Seite die gewünschte elektrische Funktionalität vollständig blockieren.

    Sie stellen dann beispielsweise fest, dass Montagebohrungen nicht abgestimmt sind, Scheiben und Knöpfe nicht ihre gewünschte Position auf der Vorderseite einhalten oder das PCB einfach nicht in sein Gehäuse passt. All diese Punkte sind auf die Fehlkommunikation zwischen Elektrik- und Mechanik-Designern zurückzuführen. Ein Mechanik-Designer nimmt möglicherweise in letzter Minute eine Änderung am Gehäuse vor, ohne den PCB Designern Bescheid zu sagen, oder ein PCB Designer tauscht eine Komponente um, ohne den Mechanik-Designer darüber in Kenntnis zu setzen, und sorgt somit dafür, dass das PCB nicht mehr in seine vorgesehene Verpackung passt.

    Wireframe for a robotic arm

    Die Robotertechnik ist ein Bereich, der nach einer extrem präzisen elektrischen und mechanischen Design Software verlangt

    Überlegungen im erfolgreichen Produktdesign

    Elektrik- und Mechanik-Designer wissen diese Art von Zusammenarbeit bereits zu schätzen. Laut einer Umfrage von 2018 erkennen 83% der Ingenieure (N = 265) den Wert einer besseren ECAD Tools Integration mit mechanischer Design-Software an. So werden immerhin unnötige Besprechungen zwischen Designern überflüssig, die daraus bestehen, die Anforderungen der jeweiligen Teams durchzuarbeiten. Außerdem kann so eine verpfuschte Prototypenphase verhindert werden.

    Viele wichtige elektrische Designanforderungen können auf mechanische Weise gelöst werden. Gehäuseerdung, ESD-Sicherheit und EMC-Schutz sind drei wichtige elektrische Aspekte, die unmittelbar mit dem mechanischen Design zu tun haben. Die Erfüllung aller drei elektrischer Anforderungen ohne in die mechanischen Einschränkungen einzudringen, verlangt den gewissenhaften Entwurf eines Metallgehäuses.

    Ein weiterer mechanischer Designaspekt in Bezug auf das PCB Design und Layout ist das Thermomanagement. Ein Gehäuse muss über eine gewisse thermische Masse verfügen, um zu verhindern, dass sich die Verpackung während des Betriebs zu sehr aufheizt. Dies ist besonders bei mobilen Handgeräten von großer Bedeutung. Bei aktiver Kühlung muss das Gehäuse eine ausreichende Luftführung ermöglichen, um die Temperatur der aktiven Bauteile auf ein sicheres Level herunter zu kühlen.

    Engineer using mechanical design software

    Mechanische Designer müssen nicht von PCB Designern abgeschottet werden

    Die zuvor genannten Punkte sind nur ein paar Beispiele zur Darstellung, wie wertvoll eine integrierte Software für Elektrik- und Mechanik-Design seine kann. Die nützlichste Seite der integrierten Elektro Cad Software ist wahrscheinlich die verbesserte Zusammenarbeit und Kommunikation zwischen den Teammitgliedern.

    Zusammenarbeit mit elektrischer und mechanischer Design-Software

    Beim Entwurf elektronischer Produkte mit komplexen mechanischen Gehäusen müssen Elektrik- und Mechanik-Designer miteinander im Gespräch bleiben, um sicherzustellen, dass das Endprodukt den Branchenstandards und gewünschten Funktionen entspricht. Bei der Kommunikation dreht es sich um mehr als nur darum, dass alle in demselben Bürogebäude arbeiten. Man benötigt funktionierende Tools zur Zusammenarbeit, die einheitliche Informationen an beide Seiten des Designteams liefern.

    Mit der richtigen Plattform für ECAD Tools, die sich direkt mit der mechanischen Design Software integrieren lässt, kann Ihr Team das Produktdesign als Ganzes angehen und effektiv zusammenarbeiten. Designer können ein mechanisches Modell ihres PCB auf der elektrischen Designplattform und der mechanischen Design Software anschauen. Dadurch werden Fehler beim Abstand und der Anordnung von Bauteilen vermieden, die Mechanik-Designer können nötige Änderungen am Gehäuse leichter erfassen und vor allem sind Mechanik- sowie Elektrik-Designer dazu in der Lage, die gegenseitigen Designdaten einzusehen. Alles in allem kann so die Kompatibilität zwischen den elektrischen und mechanischen Anteilen eines neuen Produkts besser sichergestellt werden.

    Die Arbeit mit dieser Art von Plattform ermöglicht es den Designern, ein PCB für die Nutzung mit zusätzlichen Fertigungssystemen anzupassen. Diese Systeme setzen voraus, dass spezifische Druckanweisungen mit der mechanischen Design Software entwickelt werden. Außerdem müssen Sie ein mechanisches Modell Ihres Designs in Ihre MCAD-Plattform integrieren, um die benötigten Druckanweisungen zu erstellen. Die Arbeit auf dieser integrierten Plattform erspart Ihnen enorm viel Zeit: Sie können den mechanischen und elektrischen Anteil sowie die Druckanweisungen auf einer einzelnen Plattform entwickeln.

    Wenn Sie von einem einheitlichen Arbeitsablauf profitieren möchten, der ECAD Tools Integration mit mechanischer Designsoftware bietet, arbeiten Sie am besten mit Altium Designer und den MCAD-Kollaborationsfunktionen von Altium Concord Pro. Dadurch erhält jedes Team ein vollständiges Toolset zur Entwicklung eines elektrischen Layouts für ein PCB und dessen Gehäuse. Das Datenmanagement in Altium Concord Pro ® ermöglicht Designern außerdem eine Supply-Chain-Transparenz in Echtzeit und Informationen zur Überalterung in einem einzelnen Programm.

    Kontaktieren Sie uns oder laden Sie eine kostenlose Probeversion von Altium Designer® und Altium Concord Pro herunter. Sie erhalten auf einer einzelnen Plattform Zugriff auf die branchenweit besten Tools für Layout, MCAD-Kollaboration und Datenverwaltung. Sprechen Sie heute mit einem Altium Experten und erfahren Sie mehr.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

Altium Online Store

Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Altium Online Store

    Buy any Altium Products with few clicks or send us your quote to contact our sales

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Integrate Your ECAD Tools with Mechanical Design Software

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  July 14, 2019

    Communication between ECAD and MCAD teams can be like a game of telephone

    Ever play a game of telephone as a child? Once the message gets back to the sender, successive miscommunication along the way causes the original message and idea to be completely modified. This is the same thing that happens when mechanical and electrical design teams are siloed into different groups. Collaboration breaks down and communication becomes difficult. The mechanical team doesn’t know what the electrical team is doing, and vice versa.

    These days, you probably have trouble remembering the last time a new product was released that was purely mechanical. Collaboration within an electrical design team is vital for modern PCB design, while collaboration between electrical and mechanical designers is critical for creating an entire product. The disparate methodologies used by each group of designers are finally converging thanks to the right software tools, coalescing into a consistent, coherent workflow.

    Electrical and Mechanical Design: A Story of Collaboration

    The typical electrical and mechanical portions of product design start off on different treks in different programs. As the PCB nears completion, it becomes time to ensure that it fits into its enclosure. At this point, an iterative process begins, where the mechanical and electrical designers make small changes to the PCB layout and enclosure design in order to accommodate each other’s requirements.

    Obviously, this leads to unnecessary iterations of design modification. This then delays manufacturing and time-to-market. In some cases, you might not find out there was any disagreement between the two groups of designers until you receive boards from prototyping runs. In the worst case, a modification from the mechanical side might completely inhibit the desired electrical functionality.

    As an example, you might find that mounting holes are not aligned, dials or buttons do not align with their intended locations on the front panel, or the PCB simply doesn’t fit in its enclosure. All this arises due to miscommunication between electrical and mechanical designers. A mechanical designer may make a last minute change to the enclosure without telling the PCB designers, or a PCB designer might swap a component without consulting the mechanical designer, causing the PCB to no longer fit its intended package.

    Wireframe for a robotic arm

    Robotics is one area that requires ultra-accurate electrical and mechanical design software

    Some Considerations in Successful Product Design

    Electrical and mechanical designers already see the value of this type of collaboration. According to a 2018 survey, 83% of engineers (N = 265) recognize the value of better integration between electrical and mechanical design software. At minimum, this eliminates unnecessary meetings between designers that are spent on working through each team’s requirements, or it can prevent a botched prototyping run.

    Many important electrical design requirements can be satisfied mechanically. Chassis grounding, ESD safety, and EMC protection are three important electrical aspects that are intimately related to mechanical design. Satisfying all three electrical requirements without violating any other mechanical constraints requires careful design of a metal enclosure.

    Another mechanical design aspect that is related to PCB design and layout is thermal management. An enclosure needs to have a certain thermal mass to prevent the packaging from becoming too hot during operation. This is particularly important in handheld devices. In the case of active cooling, the enclosure needs to allow sufficient airflow to bring the temperature of active components down to a safe level.

    Engineer using mechanical design software

    Mechanical designers don’t have to be siloed from PCB designers

    The points listed above are just a few examples that illustrate the value provided by integrated electrical and mechanical design software. Perhaps the greatest value provided by integrated software is the improved collaboration and communication among team members.

    Collaboration with Electrical and Mechanical Design Software

    When it comes to designing electronic products with complex mechanical enclosures, electrical and mechanical designers need to remain in communication in order to ensure the final product will meet industry standards and function as desired. Communication is about more than just keeping everyone in the same office building. It takes real collaboration tools that provide consistent information to both sides of a design team.

    With the right ECAD platform that integrates directly with mechanical design software, your team will be able to treat product design holistically and in a collaborative manner. Designers can view a mechanical model of their PCB in their electrical design platform and their mechanical design software. This helps eliminate clearance and component placement errors, helps mechanical designers identify required changes to enclosures, and, most importantly, it gives mechanical and electrical designers the ability to see each other’s design data. Overall, this helps ensure compatibility between the electrical and mechanical portions of a new product.

    Working in this type of platform also allows designers to adapt a PCB for use with additive manufacturing systems. These systems require specific printing instructions be generated from mechanical design software, and you’ll need to import a mechanical model of your design into your MCAD platform to generate the required printing instructions. Working in this integrated platform saves you a significant amount of time: you can design the mechanical portion, electrical portion, and printing instructions in a single platform.

    If you want to take advantage of a unified workflow that integrates ECAD tools and mechanical design software, then you need to work with Altium Designer and the MCAD collaboration features in Altium Concord Pro. This gives any team a complete tool set to design an electrical layout for a PCB and its enclosure. The data management features in Altium Concord Pro ® also give designers real-time supply chain visibility and obsolescence information in a single program.

    Contact us or download a free trial of Altium Designer® and Altium Concord Pro. You’ll have access to the industry’s best layout, MCAD collaboration, and data management tools in a single platform. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to electronics companies. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensing and monitoring systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah currently works with other companies in the electronics industry providing design, research, and marketing services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, and the American Physical Society, and he currently serves on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home