PCB-Heatsinks zur Maximierung der PCB-Kühlung für oberflächenmontierbare Kühlkörper

Lawrence Romine
|  Created: February 24, 2017  |  Updated: September 25, 2020
PCB mit SMT heat sink
Bildquelle: Flickr-Benutzer bengt-re (CC BY 2.0)
 

Wie wichtig sind PCB-Heatsinks?

Es ist ein heißer Sommertag im schwülen Brooklyn... Ihr Ventilator befindet sich an einer ungünstigen Stelle in Ihrer vollgestopften Wohnung und Sie werden die Hitze einfach nicht los. Wenn Sie nur den Grundriss Ihrer Wohnung so ändern könnten, dass der Ventilator Luft in Ihre Richtung bläst, um Sie abzukühlen. 

Dasselbe gilt für Ihr PCB-Heatsink-Design, wenn Ihre SMT-Kühlkörper (Surface Mount Technology) nicht richtig auf den Luftstrom ausgerichtet sind oder nicht die richtige Form für die Wärmeübertragung an die Luft haben. Nur leider kann Ihre Leiterplatte die zusätzliche Wärme nicht durch Schwitzen ausgleichen. Mit dem richtigen Design verhindern Sie, dass Ihre Leiterplatte verbrennt. 

Layout-Support in Altium 365

Wie Sie wissen, ist ein SMT-Kühlkörper nicht von den normalen Löt- und Reflow-Prozessen bei der Herstellung von Halbleiterschaltkreisen betroffen, und sie sind einzigartig, weil sie die Wärme durch Wärmeleitung ableiten. Darüber hinaus schaffen die hochgezogenen Flügel eine größere Oberfläche und erleichtern somit die Verlustleistung. 

Eine effiziente Kühlung kann durch Veränderung der Wärmeaustauschflächen oder durch den Einsatz stärkerer Ventilatoren erreicht werden. Bei SMTs reicht der laminare Luftstrom von einfachen Rippen in der Regel nicht aus, um die Wärme abzuführen. Daher untersuchen Designer verschiedene Rippenformen, um die Wärmeübertragung zu verbessern. Beispielsweise erhöhen gezackte Rippen den Wärmeaustausch an der Oberfläche sowie die Luftturbulenz, wobei einige Designs hohle Rippen und Rippen mit zusätzlichen Ausschnitten verwenden.  

Nahaufnahme PCB-Komponente mit PCB-Heatsink
Caption: Bildquelle: Flickr-Benutzer Tom Purves (CC BY 2.0)

So wählen Sie den richtigen PCB-Heatsink

Ich liebe es, wenn ich den perfekten Heatsink finde. Wenn man einfach den erforderlichen Wärmewiderstand berechnet und einen akzeptablen Stiftkühlkörper auf die Leiterplatte setzt, kann dies ein scheinbar schneller Prozess sein. Mit ein wenig Nachdenken kann man jedoch auch eine effizientere Lösung für die Wärmeableitung der Leiterplatte finden. Es ist genau diese Herausforderung, durch die das Design mit PCB-Kühlkörpern spannend wird! Die wichtigsten Dinge, die es bei der Auswahl zu berücksichtigen gilt, sind:

  • Das Material: Kupfer vs. Aluminium: Es ist wichtig, den Temperaturmanagement-Kompromiss zwischen Kupfer und Aluminium zu verstehen. Während Kupfer für die Wärmeübertragung bevorzugt wird, hat Aluminium den Designvorteil, billiger und leichter zu sein. Einen schwereren Kühlkörper auf einer Platine zu haben, kann Nachteile haben. Ein Designvorschlag ist die Kombination einer Kupfer-Basisplatte mit einem Aluminium-Kühlkörper, um die Wärme von der CPU abzuleiten.
  • Ripppen-Konfiguration: Die Geometrie und Anordnung der Rippen sind wichtige Faktoren für die Wärmeableitung. Beispielsweise verbessert das Schneiden von Rippen in kurze Abschnitte die Wärmeübertragung an der Rippenoberfläche (insbesondere wenn die Luftströmung aus nicht vorhersehbaren Richtungen kommt). Auch vergrößerte Rippen optimieren durch die Krümmung des Metalls im Verhältnis zur Luft die Wärmeübertragung. Der Wärmewiderstand nimmt mit der Anzahl der verwendeten Rippen ab.
  • Der Fußabdruck: Ein zu großer PCB-Heatsink kann ein Problem darstellen (und sogar eine Überlastung Ihrer Platine verursachen). Außerdem sind Sie angesichts des Trends zu immer kleineren Produktdesigns und Elektronikgeräten wahrscheinlich auf der Suche nach Möglichkeiten, um den Fußabdruck zu minimieren.
  • Die Höhe: Auch die Höhe Ihrer Kühlrippen ist für die Wärmeableitung auf Ihrer Platine wichtig. Der Wärmewiderstand nimmt mit zunehmender Rippenhöhe ab. Es kann jedoch sein, dass Sie irgendwann einen Kompromiss eingehen und eine kürzere Rippe bevorzugen, um einen anderen Designaspekt zu berücksichtigen.
  • Befestigungsmethode: Die Befestigungsmethode wird zwar manchmal übersehen, kann das Wärmeverhalten Ihrer Leiterplatte aber erheblich beeinträchtigen. Zu den Befestigungsmethoden gehören Wärmeleitkleber, Epoxidharz und Clips. Sie sollten ein bisschen weiter recherchieren, um die Vor- und Nachteile der verschiedenen Befestigungsmethoden abzuwägen. So ist z.B. Thermoklebeband bei Aluminium billig und einfach zu verwenden, hält aber in bestimmten Situationen nicht unbedingt sicher.

Stiftkühlkörper sind ein offensichtliches Mittel zur Wärmeableitung, da sie im Allgemeinen die größte Oberfläche haben. Um ihre Wirksamkeit zu maximieren, müssen Sie als Designer jedoch die Luftströmungsdynamik im Auge behalten. Um Ihnen die Zeit und Energie für die Entwicklung Ihrer CFD-Software zu ersparen, sind hier einige grundlegende Regeln:

  • Stiftkühlkörper funktionieren am besten, wenn die Luft axial entlang der Stifte strömt. Wenn Ihr Design eng ist und dies keine praktikable Option darstellt, können Sie die Verwendung eines geraden Rippenkühlkörpers in Betracht ziehen.
  • Es hat sich gezeigt, dass gerade Rippenkühlkörper die Leistung von Stiftrippen übertreffen, wenn der Luftstrom tangential zum Körper verläuft.
PCB-Heatsink Beispiel für unterschiedliche Rippenstrukturen 
Bildquelle: Flickr-Benutzer Engineerography Blog (CC BY 2.0)

Vergessen Sie nicht die Luftgeschwindigkeit 

Die Geschwindigkeit Ihres Luftstroms kann die erwartete Leistung verändern. Zwar ist eine dichte Rippenstruktur attraktiv, da sie die Oberfläche vergrößert, jedoch erhöht sie auch den Luftwiderstand, wenn der Luftstrom zu gering ist, was Ihnen nicht viel nützen wird.

Um das Problem von Umgebungen mit geringer Luftströmung (~ 1m/s) in den Griff zu bekommen, wurden Designs mit ausgestellten Rippen getestet und es hat sich gezeigt, dass sie die PCB-Heatsinks mit geraden Rippen übertreffen. Beispielsweise übertreffen gespreizte Stiftkühlkörper in Umgebungen mit geringem Luftdurchsatz ihre geraden Stiftkühlkörper um 20-30% und ausgestellte ihre geraden Pendants um mindestens 20%.     

Arbeiten mit SMDs in Altium Designer

Die Wahl des richtigen PCB-Heatsinks macht zwar Spaß, kann aber auch zeitintensiv sein. Altium Designer® vereinfacht Ihr Leben, indem es die SMT-Regeln für Sie im Auge behält, so dass Sie sich auf die effektive Kühlung Ihrer Platine konzentrieren können. Mit professioneller PCB-Design-Software verbringen Sie weniger Zeit mit mühsamen Regeln und haben somit mehr Zeit, sich auf Ihr PCB-Design zu konzentrieren.

Mit dem neuen Altium 365 steht außerdem eine CAD-Platform zur Verfügung, mit der Sie eine noch bessere Kommunikation gewährleisten können, und zwar von überall aus.

Sehen Sie sich Altium Designer in Aktion an...

Leistungsstarkes PCB Design

About Author

About Author

Als Vordenker der EDA-Branche und erfahrener Experte bei Altium ist Lawrence fest davon überzeugt, dass einheitliche Lösungen nicht nur schön, sondern auch unerlässlich sind.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Maximizing PCB Cooling with Best Design Practices for Surface Mount Heat Sinks

    Lawrence Romine
    |  February 24, 2017

    PCB with SMT heat sink

    Image Source: Flickr user bengt-re (CC BY 2.0)

    Just How Important Are Heat Sinks?

    It’s a hot summer day in smoggy Brooklyn… Your fan is in an awkward spot in your overcrowded apartment and you can’t shake the heat. If only you could restructure your apartment’s layout so that the fan is blowing air in your direction to cool you down. The same can be said for your PCB heat sink design if your surface mount technology (SMT) heat sinks are not properly aligned with the airflow or the right shape for transferring heat to the air. Unfortunately, your board can’t deal with the extra heat by sweating, so best to avoid burning up your board by selecting the correct SMT heat sink device design.

    As you know, an SMT heat sink is not affected by the normal soldering and reflow processes used in producing semiconductor circuits, and they are unique because they remove heat through conduction. Additionally, the raised up wings of the SMT heat sink create more surface area to help with the power dissipation with the heat into the air.  

    Higher efficiency cooling can be achieved through altering heat exchange surfaces or by using stronger fans. For SMTs, the laminar airflow from plain fins is usually not enough to dissipate the heat, so designers are exploring different fin shapes to improve heat transfer. For example, serrated fins are used to increase surface heat exchange and air turbulence, with some designs incorporating hollow fins and fins with added cut-outs.  

    PCB component closeup

    Image Source: Flickr user Tom Purves (CC BY 2.0)

    How to Select the Correct SMT Heat Sink

    I love hunting down the perfect heat sink. While this can be a quick and dirty process by simply calculating the necessary thermal resistance and slapping an acceptable pin fin heat sink onto your board, a little bit of thought can result in PCB designed with a more efficient solution for heat dissipation. It's the challenge that makes heat sink design exciting! The major things to consider when selecting any heat sink are:

    • The material of the heat sink: copper vs. aluminum: Understanding the temperature management tradeoff between copper and aluminum for your heat spreader is important. While copper is preferred for heat transfer, aluminum has the design benefit of being cheaper and lighter. Having a heavier heat sink on a board can be bad news. A suggested design is to combine a copper baseplate with an aluminum heat sink to carry heat from the CPU.

    • Fin configuration: The geometry and layout of fins are important factors in dissipating heat. For example, cross-cutting fins into short sections improves heat transfer at the fin surface (especially in cases with airflow from unpredictable directions). Augmented fins can also optimize heat transfer through the curvature of metal in relation to the air. Thermal resistance decreases with the more fins used.

    • The footprint: Having too large of a heat sink can be an issue (and can even cause the risk of putting stress on your board). Furthermore, with a trend towards ever-smaller product designs and electronics, you might find yourself always looking to minimize footprint.

    • Heat sink height: The height of your fins is also important in dissipating heat on your board. Thermal resistance decreases with increasing fin height. However, at some point there may be a tradeoff where a shorter fin is preferred to accommodate some other aspect of the design.

    • Attachment Method: While sometimes overlooked, attachment method can significantly affect your board’s thermal performance. Methods for attaching your heat sink include thermal compound tape, epoxy, and clips. You’ll have to do some further research to weigh out the pros and cons of the various attachment methods. For example, while thermal tape is cheap and easy to use for aluminum heat sinks, it may not hold securely in different situations.

    Pin fin heat sinks are an obvious go-to for heat dissipation since they generally have the most surface area, however, to maximize their efficacy, you as the designer must be aware of the air fluid dynamics at play. To save you the time and energy of cracking out your CFD software, here are some basic rules to follow:  

    • Pin fin heat sinks work best when the air flows axially along the pins, but if your design is tight and this is not a viable option, then it is worth considering using a straight fin heat sink.

    • Straight fin heat sinks have been shown to outperform pin fins when airflow is tangential to the heat sink.

    Heat sink example of how different fin structures create more or less surface area

    Heat Sink Image Source: Flickr user Engineerography Blog (CC BY 2.0)

    Don’t Forget to be Aware of Your Air Speed

    The speed of your airflow can significantly alter your expected fin heat sink performance. While a dense fin structure might be attractive since it increases your surface area, it might also up your air resistance if your airflow is too low, which won’t help you out much.

    To tackle the issue of low airflow environments (~ 1m/s), flared fin designs have been tested and shown to outperform their straight counterparts. For example, in low airflow settings splayed pin fin heat sinks outperform their straight pin fin counterparts by 20-30% and flared fin heat sinks outperform their straight fin counterparts by at least 20%.     

    Working with SMDs in Altium Designer

    Choosing the correct SMT heat sink, while enjoyable, can be a timesink. Altium Designer® will simplify your life by keeping the SMT rules in mind for you so that you can focus on cooling down your board effectively. Using professional PCB design software you can spend less time on tedious rules and more time on making your PCB design almost as good as you are at keeping things cool.  

    Check out Altium Designer in action...

    Powerful PCB Design

    About Author

    About Author

    EDA industry thought-leader and veteran expert at Altium, Lawrence is a firm believer that unified solutions are not just nice, but essential.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home