Reduzierung einer hohen Sperrschichttemperatur zur Optimierung der PCB-Leistung

Altium Designer
|  Erstellt: September 25, 2018  |  Aktualisiert am: January 25, 2021

Ich halte mich für einen großen Multitasker, besonders wenn es darum geht, Mahlzeiten für meinen Sohn zuzubereiten. In der einen Pfanne brät der Fisch, in der anderen kocht die Suppe, und im Ofen sind die Kartoffeln. Normalerweise läuft alles wie geplant, außer in seltenen Fällen, wenn eines der Gerichte anbrennt, weil ich abgelenkt bin. Glücklicherweise kosten mich diese Temperaturprobleme nur ein paar Euro und etwas Zeit.

In der Elektronik kann sich Ihre Hardware buchstäblich aufheizen, wenn Sie den potenziellen Anstieg der Sperrschichttemperatur bestimmter Bauteile nicht korrekt berechnen. Ein noch schlimmeres Schicksal erwartet Ihre Leiterplatte, wenn Sie gar nicht wissen, was die Sperrschichttemperatur eigentlich ist, so wie es bei mir der Fall war, als ich am Anfang meiner Karriere stand. 

Sperrschichttemperatur und warum sie wichtig ist

Die meisten elektronischen Bauteile bestehen aus einem Siliziumchip. Der Siliziumchip ist von einem Gehäuse umhüllt, das Sie normalerweise auf die Leiterplatte löten. Die Sperrschichttemperatur gibt die Temperatur des Chips an, wenn das Bauteil eingeschaltet ist und Strom durchfließt.

Es gibt gute Gründe, um sich über die Sperrschichttemperatur der Bauteile Gedanken zu machen. Abgesehen davon, dass sich ahnungslose Techniker bei der Fehlersuche oder Wartung der Leiterplatte verbrennen können, kann eine in die Höhe schießende Temperatur, die die maximale Sperrschichttemperatur überschreitet, die Zuverlässigkeit der Bauteile beeinträchtigen.

Machen Sie Ihr Design nicht anfällig für thermische Fehlsteuerungen aufgrund von Messfehlern oder nicht berücksichtigten Spannungs- und Strombedarf. Unabhängig davon, ob Ihr Gerät LEDs, eine Diode oder einen pn-Übergang verwendet, sollte es über eine thermische Steuerung und Regulierung verfügen. 

So berechnen Sie die Sperrschichttemperatur anhand des Datenblatts

Wenn Sie es mit Hochstrom oder Strompegeln zu tun haben, von denen bekannt ist, dass sie eine beträchtliche Menge an Leistung verbrauchen, können Sie den Anstieg der Sperrschichttemperatur anhand des Datenblatts abschätzen. Das Datenblatt gibt die maximal zulässige Sperrschichttemperatur für jedes Bauteil an. Es beschreibt auch die zugehörigen Temperaturkoeffizienten, mit denen der Temperaturanstieg projiziert werden kann.

Der erste Schritt für eine genaue Berechnung ist die Ermittlung der Leistung, die von dem Bauteil verbraucht wird. Die Verlustleistung für einen linearen Spannungsregler ergibt sich beispielsweise aus der Differenz zwischen Eingangs- und Ausgangsspannung multipliziert mit dem durchfließenden Strom.

Vergewissern Sie sich, dass Sie die Sperrschichttemperatur kennen, bevor Sie mit Ihrem Design beginnen.

Sperrschichttemperatur berechnen

Wenn Sie den Wert der Verlustleistung haben, suchen Sie nach dem Temperaturkoeffizienten zwischen Sperrschicht und Umgebung. Er wird in der Regel in °C/W ausgedrückt und beschreibt den Temperaturanstieg für jedes einzelne abgeleitete Watt. Um die genaue Temperaturmessung des Bauteils zu erhalten, müssen Sie die berechnete Temperatur mit der Umgebungstemperatur der Leiterplatte addieren.

Der LM7805 von Texas Instruments hat z. B. im TO-220-Gehäuse eine Sperrschichttemperatur von 23,9 °C/W. Wenn das Bauteil 1 Watt in einer Raumumgebung von 27 °C abgibt, steigt die Temperatur des Bauteils auf 50,9 °C.

Tipps zum Umgang mit einer hohen Sperrschichttemperatur

Wenn die Hardware genutzt wird, ist es unvermeidlich, dass sich bestimmte Bauteile erwärmen. Die Berechnung der Sperrschichttemperatur gibt Ihnen ein gutes Bild davon, wie heiß es werden kann. Als Hardware-Designer haben Sie einen gewissen Einfluss darauf, dass die Temperatur nicht außer Kontrolle gerät. Hier sind einige Maßnahmen, die Sie ergreifen können, um die Wärme zu senken:

Kühlkörper

Einige Bauteile sind in Gehäusen wie TO-220 erhältlich und können auf einen externen Kühlkörper geschraubt werden. In Ihrem Design werden diese Bauteile vertikal platziert und Sie müssen Raum für den installierten Kühlkörper einplanen.

Ein Bild, das Pfeil enthält.

Automatisch generierte Beschreibung

 Praktisch, um die Wärme eines Bauteils zu reduzieren.

Luftstrom

Die Belüftung ist eine wichtige Funktion, die Sie mit dem Produkt- oder Maschinenbauingenieur besprechen müssen, der für das Gehäuse der Leiterplatte verantwortlich ist. Sie verhindert, dass sich die Wärme an einer einzigen Stelle staut.

Halten Sie kritische Komponenten von der Hitze fern

Es ist allgemein bekannt, dass Wärme von 10 °C die Lebensdauer von Bauteilen um die Hälfte verkürzt. Um diese Katastrophe zu vermeiden, sollten Sie andere Bauteile von der erwärmten Zone Ihrer Leiterplatte fernhalten.

Thermische Durchkontaktierungen

Die Verwendung von Lara ist eine kosteneffiziente Methode zur Ableitung von übermäßiger Wärme, die von dem Bauteil auf die Leiterplatte übertragen wird. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Reihe von Durchkontaktierungen, die in einem matrixartigen Muster platziert werden, damit die Wärme auf die gegenüberliegende Seite der Leiterplatte abgeleitet werden kann. Oft werden die Durchkontaktierungen zur besseren Ableitung auf leitenden Kupferebenen platziert.

Mit der richtigen Design-Software können Sie eine hohe Sperrschichttemperaturen ganz einfach reduzieren. Lassen Sie Ihre CAD-Tools die Messung für Sie durchführen, den Leuchtstoff orchestrieren, die LED und die Diode platzieren und ein echtes Wärmemanagement erzielen. Mit Altium Designer® können thermische Durchkontaktierungen mit nur wenigen Klicks in einer einfach zu integrierenden, einheitlichen Designumgebung für Schaltpläne und Layouts platziert werden.  

Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten, um eine hohe Sperrschichttemperatur zu bewältigen. Um zu verhindern, dass die Leiterplatte überhitzt, ist Weitsicht erforderlich. Mit einer guten PCB-Layout-Software wie CircuitStudio® können Sie wärmebedingte Probleme abmildern und Ihr Design optimieren. Benötigen Sie weitere Hilfe im Umgang mit hohen Sperrschichttemperaturen? Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Experten von Altium.

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

PCB Design Tools für Electronics Design und DFM. Informationen für EDA-Führungskräfte.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Mitigating High Junction Temperature to Optimize PCB Performance

    Altium Designer
    |  September 25, 2018

    Thermal image of a circuit board with scale on the side

    I consider myself a great multitasker, especially when it comes to preparing meals for my son. I’ll have fish frying in one pan, soup boiling in the other, and potatoes in the oven. Things usually go as well as planned except on rare occasions when one of the dishes burns while I’m absorbed in other tasks. Fortunately, these temperature problems won’t cost me much more than a few dollars and some time.

    In electronics, your hardware can literally heat up if you fail to correctly calculate the potential rise in the junction temperature of specific components. A worse fate awaits your PCB if you’re totally clueless about what junction temperature is, as I was when I was a newbie .

    Junction Temperature and Why it Matters

    Most electronic components are made of a silicon die. The silicon die is covered in a case, which is what you usually solder onto the PCB. The junction temperature indicates the temperature of the silicon die when the component is powered on and current flows through it.

    There are good reasons for you to be concerned about the junction temperature of the components. Besides scalding clueless technicians troubleshooting or servicing the PCB, a skyrocketing temperature that breaches the maximum junction temperature can compromise the reliability of components.

    Don’t make your design susceptible thermal mismanagement due to measurement misdoings or unaccounted for voltage and power necessities. Your device, whether it’s using LEDs or a diode or a p-n junction ought to have thermal control and regulation. So how do you move your device into production without getting your assembly team off your wavelength?

    How to Calculate Junction Temperature From the Datasheet

    If you’re dealing with high current or current levels known to dissipate a substantial amount of power, you can estimate the increase in the junction temperature from the datasheet. The datasheet specifies the maximum junction temperature allowed for each component. It also describes the related temperature coefficients that can be used to project the increase in temperature.

    The first step in getting an accurate calculation is figuring out the power that is being dissipated by the component. For instance, power dissipation for a linear voltage regulator is derived from the difference between the input and output voltage multiplied by the current passing through.

    Calculating junction temperature

    Be sure of the junction temperature before you start designing.

    When the value of the dissipated power is obtained, look for the junction-to-ambient temperature coefficient. It is usually expressed in °C/W which means the increase in temperature for every single Watt dissipated. To get the exact temperature measurement of the component, you’ll need to add the calculated temperature with the ambient temperature of the PCB.

    For instance, the LM7805 by Texas Instruments has a junction-to-ambiance of 23.9 °C/W for the TO-220 package. If the component dissipates 1 Watt in a room ambiance of 27 °C, the temperature of the component will increase to 50.9°C.

    Tips to Deal With High Junction Temperature

    It’s unavoidable for certain components to heat up when the hardware is being used. Calculating the junction temperature gives you a good picture of how hot it can get. As a hardware , you do have some control over preventing the temperature from getting out of control. Here are some measures you can take to lower the heat:

    Heat Sink

    Some components are available in packages like TO-220 and can be screwed onto an external heat sink. In your design, these components are placed vertically and spaces are allocated for the heatsink that is installed.

    Heat sink for overheating components

    Handy for reducing the heat of a component.

    Air Flow

    Ventilation is an important feature that you must communicate with the product or mechanical engineer responsible for the enclosure for the PCB. It prevents the heat from building up at a single spot.

    Keep Critical Components Away From The Heat

    It is commonly stated that heat of 10 °C shortens the lifespan of components by half. To avoid this catastrophe, you may want to keep other components away from the heated zone of your PCB.

    Thermal Vias

    Using (Lara is a cost-efficient way to dissipate excessive heat coupled from the component to the PCB. These are a series of vias placed in a matrix-like pattern that enables the heat to disperse to the opposite side of the PCB. Often, the vias are placed on conductive copper planes for better dissipation.

    Don’t find resistance from your design software when mitigating high junction temperatures. Let your CAD tools take the measurement for you, orchestrate the phosphor, place the LED and diode, and let you achieve true thermal management. With Altium Designer® , thermal vias can be placed in a matter of clicks within an easy-to-integrate schematic-to-layout unified design environment.  

    While there are various ways to address high junction temperature, lowering the chances of overheating a PCB requires foresight. With great PCB layout software like CircuitStudio® , you can mitigate heat-related issues and optimize your design. Need more help in dealing with high junction temperature? Talk to an Altium expert today.

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home