PCB-Core vs. Prepreg-Material: Was Designer wissen müssen

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: January 17, 2020  |  Updated: February 5, 2021

Two-layer PCB on CEM substrate

Manchmal erreichen mich Fragen von Designern, die mehr über die Auswahl und den Herstellungsprozess von Leiterplattenmaterialien erfahren möchten. Auch wenn ich kein Hersteller bin, gehört es zu den Aufgaben als Entwickler, etwas von den Materialien zu verstehen, die bei der Arbeit an einem neuen Projekt verwendet werden sollen. Eine dieser Fragen, die mir gestellt werden, bezieht sich auf die genauen Unterschiede zwischen PCB-Core- und Prepreg-Material. Manchmal werden die Begriffe als Synonym verwendet – ich gebe zu, auch von mir.

Ferner stellt sich die Frage, sobald der Unterschied zwischen Core und Prepreg geklärt ist, welches Material sollte man für seine Anwendung verwenden? Wie ändern sich die entscheidenden elektrischen Parameter während des Plattierens, Ätzens und Härtens? Je mehr man sich als Konstrukteur mit der Arbeit bei GHz-Frequenzen vertraut machen muss, desto wichtiger werden diese Aspekte für die richtige Dimensionierung der Leiterbahnen auf derartigen Substraten und damit die Vermeidung komplexer Signalintegritätsprobleme.

Der Unterschied zwischen PCB-Core und Prepreg

Leiterplattenkerne und Prepreg-Laminate ähneln sich, sind aber in mancher Hinsicht recht unterschiedlich. Der Kern (einer Leiterplatte) besteht im Grunde aus einem oder mehreren Prepreg-Laminaten, die gepresst, getrocknet und unter Hitzeeinwirkung ausgehärtet werden. Daraufhin wird auf jeder Seite des Kerns eine Kupferschicht aufgebracht. Prepreg-Material wird mit einem Harz imprägniert, wobei das Harz zwar verfestigt, aber nicht ausgehärtet wird. Die meisten Hersteller beschreiben Prepreg auch als den Klebstoff, der die Kernmaterialien zusammenhält. Stapelt man je einen Kern auf ein Prepreg-Laminat übereinander und setzt es Wärme aus, so beginnt das Harz, sich mit den angrenzenden Schichten zu verbinden. Das langsam erstarrende Harz härtet durch Bildung von Vernetzungen aus, und die daraus resultierenden Materialeigenschaften beginnen sich denen der Kernschichten anzunähern.

Das Harzmaterial umhüllt ein Glasfasergewebe, und dessen Herstellungsverfahren ist, dem zur Herstellung von Garnen verwendeten, sehr ähnlich. Das Gewebe kann ziemlich engmaschig (z. B. 7628 Prepreg) oder lose (z. B. 1080 Prepreg) sein, was bei der Herstellung von der Webmaschine kontrolliert wird. Eventuell verbleibende Zwischenräume und die Gesamthomogenität des Garns bestimmen die elektromagnetischen Eigenschaften, die wiederum verantwortlich sind für Streuung, Verluste und jegliche Faserverflechtungseffekte, die später auf die Signale der Leiterplatte wirken.

PCB core vs prepreg
FR4-PCB-Kern/Prepreg-Gewebe und ihre wichtigen Materialeigenschaften

PCB-Kern- und Prepreg-Materialien können unterschiedliche Dielektrizitätskonstanten haben, abhängig vom Harzgehalt, der Art des Harzes und des Glasfasergewebes. Dies führt beim Design von Leiterplatten, die eine sehr genaue Impedanzanpassung erfordern, zu potenziellen Problemen, da die effektive Dielektrizitätskonstante, die ein Signal auf einer Leiterbahn vorfindet, von den Dielektrizitätskonstanten der umgebenden Materialien abhängt. Nicht alle Prepreg- und Kernmaterialien sind miteinander kompatibel, und Kern/Prepreg-Stapel mit sehr unterschiedlichen Dielektrizitätskonstanten erschweren die genaue Vorhersage der wirksamen Dielektrizitätskonstanten und Verluste einer Verbindung (siehe unten).

Bei Hochspannungsanwendungen sind Kriech- und Leckströme immer ein Problem – egal welches PCB-Kern- oder Prepreg-Material verwendet wird. Die Elektromigration von Kupfer und das damit verbundene anschließende Wachstum von leitfähigen Filamenten ist ein Grund für die Kriechspezifikationen von FR4-Materialien. Dieses Problem sowie der Wunsch, die Glasübergangs- und Zersetzungstemperaturen zu erhöhen, führten zu einer Umstellung auf Dicyandiamid-freie Harze (none-DICY) in FR4-Kernen und -Laminaten. Phenolharze weisen im Vergleich zu DICY-Harzen höhere Zersetzungs- und Glasübergangstemperaturen auf und bieten nach der vollständigen Aushärtung einen höheren Isolationswiderstand.

Effektive Dielektrizitätskonstante für Kern- und Prepreg-Materialien

Angesichts der offensichtlichen strukturellen Unterschiede bei Kern- und Prepreg-Materialien ist es aus Sicht der Signalintegrität wichtig, einen genauen Wert für die Dielektrizitätskonstante und den Verlustfaktor zu bestimmen. Bei niedriger Anstiegszeit der Signale können Sie sich wahrscheinlich damit begnügen, einen Wert aus einem Datenblatt zu entnehmen. Sobald die Grenzfrequenzen oder die Analogsignale sich dem GHz-Bereich annähern, müssen Sie mit den in Datenblättern angegebenen Werten vorsichtig sein, insbesondere bei der Modellierung des Verbindungsverhaltens und dem Einsatz von impedanzkontrolliertem Routing.

Das Problem mit den Werten aus Datenblättern ist, dass die tatsächlich gemessene Dielektrizitätskonstante von der Prüfmethode, der Leiterbahngeometrie, spezifischen Frequenzen (insbesondere im GHz-Bereich), dem Harzgehalt und sogar der Materialdicke abhängt. John Coonrod hat dieses Problem kürzlich in einem Podcast ausführlich behandelt. Das Gewebemuster von PCB-Kern/Prepreg-Materialien macht es sehr inhomogen und anisotropisch, was bedeutet, dass die wichtigen Materialeigenschaften im Material und abhängig von der jeweiligen Richtung variieren. Aus diesem Grund haben wir Faserverflechtungseffekte wie Schräglage und Faserhohlraumresonanzen. 

Sie denken vielleicht, warum die Dicke eines Laminats bei der Charakterisierung von Materialeigenschaften eine Rolle spielen sollte? Der Grund dafür ist die effektive Dielektrizitätskonstante, welche die wichtigste das Signalverhalten charakterisierende Parameter ist (denken Sie daran, dass dies eine komplexe Größe ist!). Diese hängt wiederum von den Leiterbahnabmessungen und der Schichtdicke Ihres Materials ab. Werfen Sie dazu einen Blick auf diese Artikel über Mikrostreifen- und symmetrische Streifenleiter-Übertragungsleitungen. 

Ein weiterer zu berücksichtigender Parameter ist die Kupferrauheit auf einem bestimmten Laminat. Die beiden Artikel, die ich oben verlinkt habe, liefern effektive Dielektrizitätskonstanten für Mikrostreifen- und Streifenleiter-Übertragungsleitungsgeometrien, wobei die Kupferrauhigkeit vernachlässigt wird. Es gibt jedoch eine einfache lineare Approximation, die Sie zur Bestimmung der Kupferrauhigkeit verwenden können:

Effective dielectric constant with copper roughness for PCB core vs prepreg
Effektive Dielektrizitätskonstante mit Kupferrauhigkeit

In dieser Gleichung ist H die Dicke des Dielektrikums und zRMS die Standardabweichung der Rauheit. Dieser Wert sollte vom Laminathersteller angegeben werden. Sollten Sie ein Hochgeschwindigkeitsdesign erstellen und eine impedanzkontrollierte Leiterbahnführung benötigen, dann sollte Ihr Hersteller in der Lage sein, diesen Wert zur Verfügung zu stellen. Für die weitere Modellierung müssen Sie das richtige Modell zur Beschreibung der Rauheit verwenden; weitere Informationen hierzu finden Sie in diesem Artikel im Signal Integrity Journal.

Wenn Sie bei extrem hohen Geschwindigkeiten/hohen Frequenzen mit niedrigen Signalpegeln arbeiten und eine hochpräzise Verbindungscharakteristik benötigen, dann ist es am besten, anhand eines Test-Coupon die effektive Dielektrizitätskonstante mittels Standardmessung zu bestimmen. Ihre Prüfmethode sollte eine Geometrie verwenden, die Ihrer beabsichtigten Verbindungsgeometrie nahekommt. Dies erfordert einige Vorarbeiten, aber genaue Tests und Messungen könnten Ihnen am Ende unnötige Prototyping-Läufe ersparen.

Wenn Sie aus einer Reihe von PCB-Core- vs. Prepreg-Materialien auswählen müssen, ist der Layerstack-Manager in Altium Designer® eine große Hilfe. Sie haben Zugang zu einer Materialbibliothek, die wichtige Daten zu einer breiten Palette standardisierter Materialien enthält, und können spezifische Materialeigenschaften für exotische Substratmaterialien selbst angeben. Diese Funktionen erhöhen Ihre Produktivität und ermöglichen es Ihnen gleichzeitig, Ihr Design an sehr spezifische Anwendungen anzupassen.

Jetzt können Sie eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer herunterladen und mehr über die besten Layout-, Simulations- und Produktionsplanungstools der Branche erfahren. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Altium-Experten, um mehr zu erfahren.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    PCB Core vs. Prepreg Material: What Designers Need to Know

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  January 17, 2020

    Two-layer PCB on CEM substrate

    I sometimes get questions from designers that want to know more about the PCB material selection and manufacturing process. Although I’m not a manufacturer, it behooves designers to understand something about the materials they have available when working on a new project. One question I get is on the exact differences between PCB core vs. prepreg materials. The terms are sometimes used interchangeably, including by novice designers; I’ll admit I’ve been guilty of this.

    Once the difference between core and prepreg is clear, what exact material should you use for your application? How do the important electrical parameters change during plating, etching, and curing? As more designers must become intimately familiar with working at GHz frequencies, these points become quite important for properly sizing traces on these materials and avoiding complicated signal integrity problems.

    The Difference Between PCB Core vs. Prepreg

    PCB cores and laminates are similar and, in some ways, quite different. Your core is effectively one or more prepreg laminates that are pressed, hardened, and cured with heat, and the core is plated with copper foil on each side. The prepreg material is impregnated with a resin, where the resin is hardened but left uncured. Most manufacturers describe the prepreg as the glue that holds core materials together; when two cores are stacked on each side of a prepreg laminate, exposing the stack to heat causes the resin to begin bonding to the adjacent layers. The hardened resin slowly cures through crosslinking, and its resulting material properties start to approach those of the core layers.

    The resin material encases a glass weave, and the manufacturing process for this glass weave is very similar to that used to manufacture yarns. The glass weave can be quite tight (e.g., 7628 prepreg) or loose (e.g., 1080 prepreg), which is controlled with a loom during manufacturing. Any gaps and the overall homogeneity of the yarn will determine the electromagnetic properties, which is then responsible for dispersion, losses, and any fiber weave effects seen by signals in the board.

    PCB core vs prepreg
    FR4 PCB core/prepreg weaves and their important material properties

    PCB core vs. prepreg materials can have somewhat different dielectric constants, depending on the resin content, type of resin, and glass weave. This can be a problem when designing boards that require very precise impedance matching as the effective dielectric constant seen by a signal on a track depends on the dielectric constants of the surrounding materials. Not all prepreg and core materials are compatible with each other, and core/prepreg stacks with very different dielectric constants make it difficult to predict exact dielectric constants and losses in an interconnect (see below).

    With any PCB core or prepreg material, creepage and leakage current is a concern at high voltage. Electromigration of copper and subsequent growth of conductive filaments are one reason for creepage specifications for FR4 materials. This problem, as well as a desire to increase glass transition and decomposition temperatures, motivated a switch to non-dicyandiamide (non-DICY) resins in FR4 cores and laminates. Phenolic resins provide higher decomposition and glass transition temperatures compared to DICY resins while also providing higher insulation resistance after full curing.

    Effective Dielectric Constant for Core and Prepreg Materials

    With the obvious structural variations in core and prepreg materials, getting an accurate value for the dielectric constant and loss tangent is important from a signal integrity standpoint. When your signals have low rise time, you can probably get away with taking a value from a marketing datasheet. Once your knee frequencies or analog signals hit the GHz range, you need to be careful with values quoted from datasheets, especially when modelling interconnect behavior and using impedance controlled routing.

    The problem with datasheet values is that the actual dielectric constant measured depends on the test method, routing geometry, specific frequencies (especially in the GHz range), resin content, and even material thickness. John Coonrod has discussed this problem extensively in a recent podcast. The weave pattern in PCB core/prepreg materials makes them highly inhomogeneous and anisotropic, meaning the important material properties vary in space and along different directions. This is the reason we have fiber weave effects, such as skew and fiber cavity resonances.

    You might be thinking, why should the thickness of a laminate matter when characterizing material properties? The reason is that the important parameter that characterizes signal behavior is the effective dielectric constant (remember, this is a complex quantity!), which depends on the trace dimensions and layer thickness you use in you material. Take a look at these articles for microstrip and symmetric stripline transmission lines.

    Finally, the other important parameter to consider is the copper roughness on a given laminate. The two articles I linked to above provide effective dielectric constant values for microstrip and stripline transmission line geometries while assuming no copper roughness. However, there is a simple linear approximation you can use to account for copper roughness:

    Effective dielectric constant with copper roughness for PCB core vs prepreg
    Effective dielectric constant with copper roughness

    In this equation, H is the thickness of the dielectric, and zRMS is the root-mean-squared variation (standard deviation) in the roughness. This RMS value should be specified by the laminate manufacturer. If you’re designing for high speed, and you need impedance controlled routing, then your manufacturer should be able to supply these values for you. For modelling, you’ll need to use the right model to describe roughness; take a look at this article in Signal Integrity Journal for more information.

    If you’re working at extreme high speeds/high frequencies with low signal levels, and you require highly accurate interconnect characterization, then your best bet is to create a test coupon and use a standard measurement to determine the effective dielectric constant. Your test method should use a geometry that closely matches your intended interconnect geometry. This takes some work on the front end, but accurate test and measurement could save you unnecessary prototyping runs on the back end.

    When you’re selecting from a range of PCB core vs. prepreg materials, the layer stack manager in Altium Designer® can be a huge help. You’ll have access to a materials library that contains important data on a broad range of standardized materials, or you can specify specific material properties for exotic substrate materials. These features increase your productivity while still allowing you to adapt your design to highly specific applications.

    Now you can download a free trial of Altium Designer and learn more about the industry’s best layout, simulation, and production planning tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home