入门级PCB制造设计指南

Zachariah Peterson
|  已创建:December 28, 2021  |  已更新:July 18, 2023
入门级PCB制造设计指南

设计专业人士经常谈论面向制造的设计指南,但这些指南到底是什么以及它们如何在您的PCB设计软件中实施?在PCB开发中,面向制造的设计具有非常简单的含义:仅在确保可制造最大产量时,您才可以实施该设计选择。这个看似简单的解释遗漏了很多关键点,并且很自然地假设制造商可以制造您在设计软件中放入PCB布局的任何内容

事实上,不同的制造厂具有不同的能力、材料选择和标准的非接触式服务选项。有一些很常见的错误或疏忽会导致电路板无法制造,并可能需要进行大量的重新设计。在本文中,我将回顾新手和经验丰富的设计师可能犯的一些最常见的错误。我自己也犯过这些错误,但我可以告诉您,您随时都能从这些错误中恢复过来,并确保您的电路板是可制造的。

一些面向制造的基本PCB设计提示

下面我将概述的要点几乎完全涉及两个重要领域:

  • 材料考虑因素,特别是内芯/层压材料和铜重量
  • 制造限制,特别是PCB布局中的尺寸和间距

考虑到这一点,让我们直接进入并开始研究一些基本的PCB设计以获取确保设计成功所需的制造指南。

首先获取层堆叠

您会惊讶地发现,直接进入您的新设计并开始在电路板周围放置元件是多么容易。对于不需要阻抗控制、特定总线电容或密集数字布线的更简单的电路板,可以仅在具有标准层厚度的偶数层电路板上开始布局。根据设计的不同,制造的PCB可能无法创建您所期望的功能。

PCB DFM指南
PCB制造厂可以向您发送一个叠层表,以帮助确保您的设计是可制造的。

对于大多数设计,即使是用于业余爱好的微控制器电路板,您也至少需要了解层的排列和材料特性。在您开始设计数字总线走线或任何阻抗控制走线之前,请通过电子邮件向制造厂发送一份标准层堆叠。如果您不这样做,制造厂可能会使用无法创造您预期功能的层堆叠来生产您的电路板。另一个风险是您创建其无法制造的层堆叠,这通常是因为没有符合您的叠层规格的材料库存。

将铜重量与电流密度和层压板相匹配

当您选择材料或获得批准的堆叠时,如果制造商驳回您的铜重量,请不要感到惊讶。您需要使用制造商材料集上可用的铜重量,而不能仅指定您想要的任何铜重量。如果您抽出时间估算特定电流密度(例如在电源轨上)所需的铜重量和走线宽度,则应在与制造商确定叠层时确保指定所需的重量。

强制执行铜与铜间隙

当您开始新的PCB布局时,ECAD软件将应用一组默认间隙规则,这些规则对于几乎所有PCB都是保守值。这些值通常过于保守,因此通常在开始布局之前忽略它们而不使用正确的间隙值进行编程。更糟糕的是,您可能会输入太小的值,这将使您将元素放置得太近,以至于无法制造电路板。

多边形间隙
请注意放置在该走线附近的多边形铺铜:DRC引擎已在该窗口中标记了沿走线长度的间隙错误。应设置走线到多边形间隙规则以确保这些元素不会靠得太近,否则在制造过程中这些元素之间可能会出现意外短路。

解决方案:在开始放置之前获取制造商的限制,并将这些值作为设计规则编程到您的PCB项目中。如果您想确保您未命中最常见的间隙违规问题,请重点关注以下间隙:

  • 走线到走线
  • 走线/焊盘到多边形铺铜
  • 走线到焊盘
  • 焊盘到焊盘

最后两点将适用于SMD焊盘和用于通孔(过孔或元件引线)的着陆焊盘。请注意,由于需要蚀刻补偿,对于较重的铜,这些值会更大。

重叠钻孔

如果您遵循之前的间隙指南并设置最小焊盘间距值,那么您可能已经解决面向制造指南的设计。如果钻孔距离太近,它们可能会由于CNC钻孔中的偏移而相互重叠。每次钻孔命中都会稍微偏离其理想的命中位置,在放置过孔和通孔引线时需要考虑到这一点。

如果您遵循之前的间隙指南并设置最小焊盘间距值,那么您可能已经解决面向制造指南的设计。如果钻孔距离太近,它们可能会由于CNC钻孔中的偏移而相互重叠。每次钻孔命中都会稍微偏离其理想的命中位置,在放置过孔和通孔引线时需要考虑到这一点。

在穿过平面的钻探结果之间可能会出现类似的问题,例如下图所示的热释放和GND平面间隙。两个绿色区域显示了过孔壁和这些网络的平面之间的间隙;这里的剩余碎片非常小,并且无法制造。下面显示的具体示例是此类制造故障不会导致设备无法运行的一个实例,但通常情况可能并非如此。如果这样的缺陷出现在两个通孔之间的表面层上,则将在焊接过程中产生桥接的风险,因为窄铜特征可能在制造过程中被蚀刻掉。

PCB DFM指南间隙
这两个通孔之间的紧密间距在平面层上留下了非常微小的铜片,这将被过度蚀刻并且不会出现在制造板上。

这里的自然解决方案是仅使用更大的焊盘,这正是满足基本IPC等级要求的待办事项;使用最小焊盘尺寸(钻头直径)+ 8密耳,以确保几乎始终满足钻孔到钻孔间隙限制。

小特征尺寸

当您开始将元件和走线封装到一块电路板上时,很容易开始使走线、钻孔和焊盘过小。间隙规则已经限制了您可以将所有元件封装的距离,但同样重要的设计要求是最小特征尺寸。您需要解决的两个最常见的点是最小孔尺寸和走线宽度。这一点就像查找制造商特征尺寸并将其编程到您的设计规则中一样简单。适用于大多数电路板的典型制造限制为4密耳走线宽度和6密耳钻孔宽度。对于许多不需要阻抗控制的简单电路板,最好使用8至10密耳的走线宽度和10密耳的钻孔直径。

阻焊层碎片

这是装配过程中经常被忽视的一个方面,旨在确保阻焊层开口能够可靠地起到防止熔融焊料在两个附近元件之间流动的屏障作用。即使焊盘间隔适当,NSMD焊盘上过大的阻焊层开口也会在焊盘之间留下非常薄的阻焊层通道。

阻焊层碎片错误
Q9和Q10之间残留的阻焊层碎片将无法制造,因为它太薄了。然而,焊盘到焊盘的间隙仍然令人满意。这里的解决方案是将这些焊盘上的阻焊层开口减少到0密耳。您可能还需要将这些元件之间的间距增加几密耳。

此处典型的最低阻焊层碎片要求为5密耳。当阻焊层碎片低于制造商的限制时,它可能会在固化后折断,并在两个焊盘可以用焊料桥接的地方形成一个通道。这里的解决方案是应用额外的间距,或减少受影响焊盘上的阻焊层开口,以便保留足够大的碎片。

重叠丝印层

布局和布线完成后,应检查丝印层以确保没有重叠的参考标号。如果有,您可以在PCB布局中移动它们,直到一切都清晰为止。虽然从技术上讲,这不是成功制造或装配的必要条件,但勤奋的制造商仍会在设计审查期间将其标记为问题。

一个更重要的问题是丝印层与要应用焊料的焊盘/孔重叠。确保使用3D模型查看器或直接查看Gerber来检查这一点。

上面的指南列表应该解决可能影响几乎所有设计的最常见DFM问题。当您在项目中实施上述准则时,它将成为正常设计过程的一部分。一旦将这些要点编入您的设计规则中,作为设计审查的一部分,您可以在将电路板投入生产之前随时检查。

当您需要获取易于使用的PCB布局工具,并且其中包括构建高质量、可制造的电路板所需的一切条件时,CircuitMaker就是您的最佳选择。除了易于使用的PCB设计软件外,所有CircuitMaker用户均可在Altium 365平台上访问个人工作区。您可以在云端上传和存储您的设计数据,并在安全的平台上通过网络浏览器轻松查看您的项目。

立即开始使用CircuitMaker,敬请期待Altium出品的全新CircuitMaker Pro

 

立即了解Altium Designer…

功能强大的PCB设计软件

关于作者

关于作者

Zachariah Peterson拥有学术界和工业界广泛的技术背景。在从事PCB行业之前,他曾在波特兰州立大学任教。他的物理学硕士研究课题是化学吸附气体传感器,而应用物理学博士研究课题是随机激光理论和稳定性。他的科研背景涵盖纳米粒子激光器、电子和光电半导体器件、环境系统以及财务分析等领域。他的研究成果已发表在若干经同行评审的期刊和会议论文集上,他还为多家公司撰写过数百篇有关PCB设计的技术博客。Zachariah与PCB行业的其他公司合作提供设计和研究服务。他是IEEE光子学会和美国物理学会的成员。

相关资源

相关的技术文档

返回主页
Thank you, you are now subscribed to updates.

Beginner’s PCB Design for Manufacturing Guidelines

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: December 28, 2021  |  Updated: May 16, 2022
Beginner’s PCB Design for Manufacturing Guidelines

Design professionals talk a lot about design for manufacturing guidelines, but what exactly are these and how are they implemented in your PCB design software? In PCB development, design for manufacturing has a very simple meaning: you should only implement design choices if you can ensure they are manufacturable with maximum yield. This deceptively simple explanation leaves out a lot, and it’s natural to assume your fabricator can manufacture anything you put into a PCB layout in your design software.

The truth is that different fabrication houses have different capabilities, material options, and standard no-touch service options. There are some very common mistakes or oversights that will cause a board to be un-manufacturable and could create the need for extensive redesigns. In this article, I’ll run over some of the most common mistakes that might be made by new and experience designers. I’ve made these mistakes myself, but I can tell you can always recover from these mistakes and ensure your board will be manufacturable.

Some Basic PCB Design for Manufacturing Tips

The points I’ll outline below relate almost entirely to two important areas:

  • Material considerations, specifically core/laminate materials and copper weight
  • Fabrication limits, specifically features sizes and spacing in a PCB layout

With that in mind, let’s jump right in and start looking at some of the fundamental PCB design for manufacturing guidelines you’ll need to ensure design success.

Get a Layer Stackup First

You would be surprised how easy it is to just jump into your new design and start placing components around the board. For simpler boards that don’t require controlled impedance, specific bus capacitance, or dense digital routing, it’s possible to just start placement on an even layer-count board with standard layer thickness. Depending on the design, the manufactured PCB may not create the functionality you expected.

PCB DFM guidelines
PCB fabrication houses can send you a stackup table to help ensure your design is manufacturable.

With most designs, even on microcontroller boards for hobby usage, you’ll at least need to know the layer arrangement and material properties. Email your fabrication house and get a standard layer stack before you start designing traces for digital buses or any controlled impedance traces. If you don’t, the fabrication house might produce your board using a layer stack that does not produce the functions you expected. The other risk is that you create a layer stack that they can’t manufacture, usually because there are no material stocks that match your stackup specifications.

Match Copper Weight to Current Density and Laminates

When you’re selecting materials or getting a stackup approved, don’t be surprised if your fabricator pushes back on your copper weight. You need to use copper weights that are available on your fabricator’s material set, you can’t just specify any copper weight you want. If you took time to estimate the copper weight and trace width you need for a particular current density (such as on power rails), then you should make sure to specify the required weight when determining the stackup with your fabricator.

Enforce Copper-to-Copper Clearances

When you start a new PCB layout, your ECAD software will apply a set of default clearance rules that are conservative values for just about any PCB. These values are usually overly conservative, so it’s common to just ignore them without programming in the correct clearance values before starting the layout. Worse yet, you might enter in values that are too small, which will allow you to place elements too close together such that the board cannot be fabricated.

Polygon clearance
Note the polygon placed near this trace: the DRC engine has flagged a clearance error along the length of the trace in this window. The trace-to-polygon clearance rule should be set to ensure these elements are not too close together, otherwise there may be an unintended short between these elements during fabrication.

The solution: get your fabricator’s limits before you start placement and program these values as design rules into your PCB project. If you want to make sure you hit the most common clearance violations, focus on these clearances:

  • Trace-to-trace
  • Trace/pad to polygon
  • Trace-to-pad 
  • Pad-to-pad

The last two points will apply to SMD pads and landing pads for through-holes (vias or component leads). Note that these values will be larger for heavier copper due to the need for etch compensation.

Overlapping Drill Hits

If you followed the previous clearance guidelines and set your minimum pad-to-pad spacing values, then you might have already addressed this design for manufacturing guideline. If drill hits are spaced too close together, it is possible they could overlap each other due to wander in a CNC drill. Every drill hit will be slightly off-center from its ideal hit location, and this needs to be accounted for when placing vias and through-hole leads.

Note that, even if you obey pad-to-pad clearances for vias and through-hole leads, this might not guarantee you’ve satisfied a drill hit clearance. Suppose you place a 10 mil via with a 12 mil pad; if your pad-to-pad spacing limit is only 5 mils, but your drill-to-drill spacing is 10 mils, you’ll violate the drill hit limit by 3 mils if you only follow the pad-to-pad limit.

A similar problem can occur between drill hits that pass through a plane, such as the thermal relief and the GND plane clearance shown below. The two green regions show the clearance between the via wall and a plane for these nets; the leftover sliver here is very small and will not be manufacturable. The specific example shown below is one instance where such a fabrication failure will not cause the device to be non-functional, but this may not be the case in general. If such a defect were on the surface layer between two through-holes, this would create a risk of bridging during soldering as the narrow copper feature would likely be etched away during fabrication.

PCB DFM guidelines clearances
The close spacing between these two through-holes leaves a very small sliver of copper on the plane layer, which will be over-etched and will not appear on the fabricated board.

The natural solution here is to just use a larger pad, which is exactly what you would do to satisfy basic IPC class requirements; use a minimum pad size of (drill diameter) + 8 mils to ensure you’ll almost always satisfy the drill-to-drill clearance limit.

Small Feature Sizes

When you start packing components and traces into a board, there is a temptation to start making traces, drill hits, and pads unnecessarily small. Clearance rules will already limit how close you can pack everything, but an equally important design requirement is minimum feature sizes. The two most common points you’ll need to address are minimum hole sizes and trace widths. This point is as simple as looking up fabricator feature sizes and programming them into your design rules. Typical fabrication limits that apply to most boards are 4 mil trace width and 6 mil drill hole width. For many simpler boards that do not need controlled impedance, it's best to use 8-10 mil trace width and 10 mil drill diameter.

Solder Mask Slivers

This is an often-overlooked aspect of assembly that is intended to ensure solder mask openings can reliably function as a dam against molten solder flowing between two nearby components. Even though pads may be spaced out appropriately, an excessively large solder mask opening on an NSMD pad will can leave behind a very thin channel of solder mask between the pads.

Solder mask sliver error
This leftover solder mask sliver between Q9 and Q10 will not be fabricable because it is too thin. However, the pad-to-pad clearance is still satisfied. The solution here is to reduce the solder mask opening to 0 mil on these pads. You might also need to increase the spacing between these components by a few mils.

A typical minimum solder mask sliver requirement here is 5 mils. When the solder mask sliver is below the fabricator’s limit, it might snap off after it is cured, and it creates a channel where two pads could be bridged with solder. The solution here is to apply additional spacing, or to reduce the solder mask opening on the affected pad so that a sufficiently large sliver remains.

Overlapping Silkscreen

After placement and routing is finished, the silkscreen should be inspected to ensure there are no overlapping reference designators. If there are, you can move these around in the PCB layout until everything is clear. While not technically a requirement for successful fabrication or assembly, a diligent manufacturer will still flag it as a problem during a design review.

A more important problem is overlapping silkscreen with pads/holes where solder will be applied. Make sure to check for this, either with a 3D model viewer or by looking at the Gerbers directly.

The above list of guidelines should address the most common DFM problems that can affect almost any designs. When you implement the above guidelines in your projects, it will become part of the normal design process. Once these points are programmed into your design rules, you can check them at any time as part of a design review before you put your board into production.

When you need to access an easy-to-use PCB layout tool that includes everything needed to build high-quality manufacturable circuit boards, look no further than CircuitMaker. In addition to easy-to-use PCB design software, all CircuitMaker users have access to a personal workspace on the Altium 365 platform. You can upload and store your design data in the cloud, and you can easily view your projects via your web browser in a secure platform.

Start using CircuitMaker today and stay tuned for the new CircuitMaker Pro from Altium.

 

Check out Altium Designer in action...

Powerful PCB Design

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to companies in the electronics industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University and conducted research on random laser theory, materials, and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensors, and stochastics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written 1000+ technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, American Physical Society, and the Printed Circuit Engineering Association (PCEA), and he previously served on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

Recent Articles

Back to Home