Corrosion électrochimique des pistes de PCB : Pourquoi cela se produit et comment le prévenir

Altium Designer
|  Créé: August 31, 2018  |  Mise à jour: February 4, 2021

Corrosion électrochimique sur une borne de batterie

Un exemple de corrosion électrochimique sur une batterie de voiture.

Le plus souvent, lorsqu’un téléphone cellulaire tombe dans l'eau, on se dépêche de sécher l'extérieur du téléphone, de retirer la pile et de le mettre au fond d’un sac de riz.. Le mythe veut que le riz, très hydrophile, attire l’eau qui est à l'intérieur du téléphone, et sauve la vie de ses précieux circuits électroniques, votre argent et votre équilibre mental.

Ce que les gens ne réalisent pas, c'est que le simple fait de sécher le téléphone n'est pas une vraie solution. L'infiltration d'eau peut provoquer un court-circuit instantané, qui détruit immédiatement le téléphone. Mais si l'appareil continue de fonctionner, la corrosion du PCB s'accumulera avec le temps. Les appareils électroniques commencent à se corroder dès qu'ils sont mouillés, et cette corrosion du PCB continue pendant leur utilisation. Cette corrosion est la cause principale des défaillances de ces appareils.

Si vous avez suivi des cours de chimie, vous vous souvenez probablement que les différents matériaux et revêtements s’oxydent à des vitesses différentes lorsqu'ils sont exposés à l'environnement. L'humidité de l'air, un contact direct avec l'eau ou une solution d'électrolyte comme la Gatorade (ou autre boisson gazeuse et sucrée) peut induire le début de la corrosion de PCB... Plusieurs mécanismes de corrosion peuvent dégrader les performances de l'appareil ou provoquer sa défaillance définitive.

Défaillance par corrosion électrochimique

Il existe deux mécanismes primaires de corrosion électrochimique : galvanique et électrolytique. La corrosion galvanique se produit lorsque deux métaux différents sont mis en contact électrique par un liquide ionique ou une solution électrolytique. Il existe une différence de tension naturelle entre les deux métaux (appelée "potentiel d'électrode"). Le courant circule vers le métal le plus résistant, et le métal le plus résistant se corrode plus rapidement.

Ce type de corrosion de PCB se produit généralement au niveau des connexions électriques entre les composants et les pistes. La corrosion commence dès que l'humidité ou un autre liquide entre en contact avec la connexion électrique. Les PCB dans les environnements industriels, les environnements humides ou autres environnements extrêmes sont très sensibles à cette forme de corrosion.

Water drops on PCBs Gouttes d’eau sur des PCB favorisant la corrosion électrochimique

Gouttes d’eau sur des PCB favorisant la corrosion électrochimique

La corrosion électrolytique se produit lorsque des pistes voisines sont contaminées par un liquide ionique ou une solution électrolytique. De petits éclats commencent à se former entre les deux pistes. Si le contaminant est de l'eau, des oxydes et hydroxydes métalliques commencent à se former sur le métal exposé.

Si deux pistes sont très proches l'une de l'autre, il d’autant plus possible que les éclats relieront les deux pistes et provoqueront un court-circuit. Ce court-circuit peut désactiver un bloc fonctionnel du circuit imprimé. Si la corrosion du PCB se développe entre des lignes d'alimentation et de mise à la terre, elle pourrait désactiver la totalité de l'appareil.

Outre les pistes proches les unes des autres, le cuivre qui est adjacent à un plan de masse en surface peut se corroder lorsqu'il est exposé à une contamination ionique ou environnementale. En présence d'halogènes, le cuivre se transforme en composés d'halogénure de cuivre lorsque les gaz halogènes interagissent avec la surface du cuivre exposé, provoquant au fil du temps l'accumulation de piqures de corrosion. Après le brasage, tout cuivre exposé doit être nettoyé et revêtu pour prévenir la corrosion du PCB  contre les halogènes.

Corrosion par résidus de flux

Les résidus de flux laissés par le brasage ont été une cause majeure de corrosion de PCB depuis la première utilisation du flux. Le flux de soudure joue un rôle extrêmement important car il combat l'oxydation pendant le brasage. En fait, le flux réduit les oxydes métalliques qui se forment sur le contact électrique soudé à cause de la chaleur. Le flux améliore également l’adhérence du cordon de soudure sur les pastilles de soudure.

Les anciens flux contiennent des produits chimiques corrosifs comme le chlore, et les résidus ont dû être enlevés après le brasage. Les nouveaux flux utilisent des acides organiques qui se décomposent à haute température. En général, ce problème n'intervient pas lorsque le soudage par refusion est utilisé. Dans ce cas, aucun résidu ne devrait poser de problème. Mais avec la soudure à la vague, le flux de soudure est moins susceptible d'atteindre la température requise pour décomposer les acides. Tout résidu de flux est acide et très corrosif.

Soldering iron and other equipment for soldering electronic boards Fer à souder, matériaux de circuit imprimé et autres équipements de soudage pour PCB

Fer à souder, matériaux de circuit imprimé et autres équipements de soudage important pour prévenir la corrosion des PCBs

Prévenir la corrosion des PCB

Le cuivre et d’autres métaux communs se corrodent assez facilement, tandis que les métaux nobles et certains alliages sont très résistants à la corrosion. Certains fabricants peuvent fabriquer des pistes de PCB avec de l’or ou un alliage d’or-nickel. Évidemment, le coût d'utilisation d'un métal précieux comme l'or augmente le coût de votre PCB, et de nombreuses règles de conception qui sont utilisées pour les pistes de cuivre ne sont plus valables. L'or est toujours utile car il est un bon conducteur et il est utilisé dans de nombreux appareils à faible courant.

La prévention de la corrosion de PCB peut aussi être simple. Il suffit de protéger les surfaces de cuivre exposées avec un revêtement approprié. Les revêtements époxy, les revêtements en aérosols et les masques de soudure sont tous des barrières efficaces contre l'oxydation et la corrosion. Si vous choisissez un revêtement, il doit résister à toutes les exigences thermiques, en particulier sur les cartes exposées à de hautes températures de fonctionnement. Il faut de l'expérience pour savoir où appliquer les revêtements. Parfois, vous ne pouvez pas savoir quels composants se corroderont avant qu'ils se corrodent réellement.

Quelles que soient les solutions que vous choisissez pour lutter contre la corrosion de PCB, les outils CAO/FAO intégrés dans Altium Designer 20 vous donnent la puissance de conception dont vous avez besoin. Vous pouvez télécharger une version d'évaluation gratuite et découvrir si Altium Designer vous convient. Prenez le temps de vous informer et discutez avec un expert Altium.

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Outils de conception de circuits imprimés pour la conception électronique et DFM. Informations pour les dirigeants de l'AED.

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    PCB Trace Corrosion: Why It Happens and How to Prevent It

    Altium Designer
    |  August 31, 2018

    Corrosion at a battery terminal

    When most people drop their cell phone in water, they hurriedly dry off the outside of the phone, remove the battery, and toss the phone in a bag of rice. The myth goes that the rice draws water out from the inside of the phone, thus saving your phone’s the precious electronic circuitry, your wallet’s money, and your own sanity.

    What people don’t realize is that simply drying out your phone is not a solution. Water ingress can cause the device to short out, killing the phone immediately. But if the device does not break, corrosion will accumulate over time. Electronic devices start corroding as soon as they get wet, and they continue corrode as they are operated. This is typically what causes devices to fail.

    If you ever took chemistry classes in college, you probably remember that different materials and plating will corrode at different rates when exposed to the environment. Moisture in humid air, or direct contact with water or an electrolyte solution like gatorade can cause electrical traces in PCBs to start corroding. There are a number of corrosion mechanisms that degrade device performance or cause it to fail outright.

    Electrochemical Corrosion Failure

    There are two primary electrochemical corrosion mechanisms: galvanic and electrolytic. Galvanic corrosion occurs when two different metals are in electrical contact in the presence of an ionic liquid or an electrolyte solution. There is a natural voltage difference between the two metals (known as the “electrode potential”). As a result, current flows towards the more resistant metal, and the more resistant metal corrodes faster.

    This type of corrosion typically occurs at electrical connections between components and traces. Corrosion begins once moisture or some other liquid comes into contact with the electrical connection. PCBs in industrial environments, humid environments, or other extreme environments are highly susceptible to this form of corrosion.

    Water drops on PCBs

    Don't let water end your circuit boards.

    Electrolytic corrosion occurs when neighboring traces become contaminated by an ionic liquid or electrolytic solution. Small slivers begin to grow between the two traces. If the contaminant is water, metal oxides and hydroxides will start to grow on the exposed metal.

    If two neighboring traces in a circuit board are close to each other, there is a chance that the slivers bridge the two traces, causing a short. This short circuit can disable a particular functional block in your PCB. If corrosion occurs between nearby power and ground lines, it could disable the entire device.

    Aside from neighboring traces, copper that is adjacent a surface ground plane can corrode when exposed to ionic or environmental contamination. In the presence of halogens, copper converts into copper halide compounds as halogen gases interact with the surface of exposed copper, causing tiny pits to accumulate over time. After soldering, any exposed copper should be cleaned and coated to prevent corrosion if the board will be in an environment where it may be exposed to halogens.

    Corrosion From Flux Residue

    Flux residues left over from soldering have been a major cause of corrosion since the first time they were used. Solder flux is extremely important during soldering as it combats oxidation during soldering. The flux actually reduces and metal oxides that form at the soldered electrical contact due to heating. The flux also improves wetting of a solder bead to a solder pad.

    Older flux materials contain corrosive chemicals like chlorine, and residues had to be removed after soldering. Newer fluxes use organic acids that decompose at high temperatures. This is not usually a problem when components are soldered with reflow soldering, and any leftover residue should not be a problem. But with wave soldering, the solder flux is less likely to reach the required temperature to decompose the acids. Any leftover flux residue is acidic and is highly corrosive.

    Soldering iron and other equipment for soldering electronic boards

    Soldering iron and other equipment for soldering electronic boards

    Preventing Corrosion in Your PCB

    Copper and other base metals corrode rather easily, while noble metals and some alloys are highly resistant to corrosion. Some manufacturers can lay PCB traces using gold or gold-nickel alloy. Obviously, the cost of using a precious metal like gold increases the cost of your PCB, and many design rules that are used for copper traces will no longer apply. Gold is still useful as it is a good conductor and has been used in many low-current devices.

    Preventing corrosion can be as simple as placing a coating over exposed copper areas. Epoxy coatings, aerosol spray coatings, and solder mask are all effective barriers to oxidation and corrosion. If any coating is used, it should be able to withstand any thermal demands in boards that run at high temperature. Identifying where to apply coatings takes experience. Sometimes, you don’t know which components in a board are likely to corrode until they actually corrode.

    No matter how you decide to combat corrosion in your PCB, the built-in CAD/CAM tools in Altium Designer®  give you the design power you need. You can download a free trial and find out if Altium Designer is right for you. Take time to learn more and talk to an Altium Designer expert today.

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home