Le blindage des circuits imprimés pour protéger votre conception

Altium Designer
|  Créé: October 7, 2021
Circuit en forme de bouclier sur fond noir

Au cours de l’an 7 avant J.-C., les soldats grecs — ou hoplites — portaient un grand bouclier circulaire concave appelé hoplon. Fabriqué en bronze et en bois, l’hoplon ou bouclier argien protégeait les hoplites du menton au genou. C’est devenu la base de la défense grecque.

Au début du XXe siècle, les Éthiopiens ont utilisé leurs boucliers pour lutter contre l’invasion de l’armée italienne. Leur battement sur leurs boucliers, comme sur des tambours, mêlé aux cris de guerre, était un prélude terrifiant à la bataille. Les armées anciennes déployaient des boucliers pour se protéger des attaques fallacieuses et pour élaborer une stratégie de guerre. De la même manière, la conception des circuits imprimés fait souvent appel à différents types de boucliers pour protéger tout circuit sensible des signaux RF parasites.

À l’intérieur de ces avant-postes de circuits, les fils et les pistes font tout leur possible pour permettre aux interférences électromagnétiques (EMI) de s’échapper vers les confins de leurs domaines. Ces escarmouches ne cessent jamais. Le blindage doit faire partie de votre stratégie globale de conception de circuits imprimés. Plutôt que de considérer les blindages comme une fonctionnalité supplémentaire, les blindages et les conceptions de blindage doivent faire partie du processus de conception initial des circuits imprimés.

Qu’apporte le blindage des circuits imprimés ?

Les circuits d’entrée, de commutation et d’horloge Radio Fréquence émettent un blindage électromagnétique (EMI) par des voies conductrices ou par rayonnement. La combinaison d’une bonne conception des circuits imprimés et d’un bon blindage permet d’atténuer les EMI. Une conception optimale de circuit imprimé pour le blindage EMI tourne autour de la disposition, du placement des filtres et des plans de masse. Un circuit imprimé bien conçu minimise la capacité parasite et les boucles de masse.

Le métal, les matériaux magnétiques et les joints utilisés comme blindage empêchent les émissions de blindage EMI.

Au lieu de fournir une barrière physique contre les lances et les épées, le blindage du circuit imprimé simule une cage de Faraday reliée à la terre. Alors que le plan de masse constitue le côté inférieur de la cage, vous pouvez utiliser un blindage métallique pour former les cinq autres côtés.

Un blindage entraîne une perte par réflexion et une perte par absorption de l’énergie électromagnétique. La perte par réflexion varie en fonction du type de champ et se présente sous la forme d’une perte air-écran ou écran-air. La perte par absorption se produit lorsque le champ se propage à travers le blindage. Elle varie en fonction du type de matériau de blindage. L’efficacité du blindage est égale à la somme des pertes par réflexion et par absorption. La barrière conductrice occulte tout ou une partie du circuit, absorbe et réfléchit le rayonnement des antennes en boucle et établit une isolation électrique.

Enceinte de blindage RF
Enceinte de blindage RF

Le concept de mur de blindage est devenu célèbre lorsque les légions romaines ont utilisé la formation Tortue. Vous pouvez également utiliser le blindage pour former un mur qui protège tout circuit sensible des interférences électromagnétiques nuisibles émises par d’autres circuits.

Les champs électromagnétiques contiennent des champs électriques et des champs magnétiques qui sont orientés à 90° les uns par rapport aux autres. Si le champ électrique interagit avec le champ magnétique, il y a propagation. Un mur de blindage sépare les sections du circuit imprimé. Il permet d’atténuer le champ électrique (champ E) et le champ magnétique (champ H) de l’onde d’interférence électromagnétique rayonnante avec une combinaison de blindage métallique et magnétique.

Rond ou carré : Différents blindages pour différents besoins de circuits imprimés

Contrairement aux hoplons, les boucliers utilisés sur les circuits imprimés ne protègent pas du menton au genou. Des ennemis cachés tels que le rayonnement d’ouverture et la résonance de cavité peuvent compliquer le blindage. Les interférences électromagnétiques peuvent surgir de n’importe où. Les appareils électroniques devenant de plus en plus petits, la conception des blindages met l’accent sur une combinaison de légèreté, de stabilité mécanique et d’efficacité électrique.

Le blindage que vous choisissez pour la conception de votre carte de circuit imprimé dépend de différents facteurs. La production d’émissions en champ proche ou en champ lointain, la fréquence des interférences et le fait que les interférences se produisent en champ électrique ou en champ magnétique. Chacun de ces facteurs influence le choix du type de blindage et de son épaisseur.

La plupart des émissions sous un blindage sont des émissions en champ proche. Dans le cas des émissions en champ proche, les pertes par réflexion et absorption varient avec la fréquence. Un circuit numérique provoque des émissions de champ électrique dont l’affaiblissement par réflexion est plus élevé à basse fréquence et l’affaiblissement par absorption plus élevée à haute fréquence. Les alimentations à découpage provoquent des émissions de champ magnétique avec de faibles pertes par réflexion et absorption à basse fréquence.

Microship et blindage de composants électriques sur circuit imprimé bleu
Microship et blindage de composants électriques sur circuit imprimé bleu

Les émissions en champ proche et en champ lointain ont des sources différentes et des rapports Entrée/Sortie différents. Le blindage EMI est une émission en champ lointain. Les sources de champ lointain ont une perte par réflexion plus importante aux basses fréquences. Les fréquences plus élevées entraînent une perte d’absorption plus importante.

Vous devez prendre en compte deux variables clés lorsque vous décidez du type de matériau de blindage. La conductivité mesure la capacité du matériau du blindage à conduire le courant électrique. La perméabilité mesure la capacité du matériau à supporter la formation d’un champ magnétique à l’intérieur de celui-ci. Un blindage à haute perméabilité a une faible réluctance et peut guider un champ magnétique.

Comme pour le courant et la résistance, la plus faible réluctance crée un chemin pour le champ magnétique. L’épaisseur du matériau de blindage devient un facteur important pour les circuits imprimés qui ont des applications de champ magnétique à basse fréquence.

Les ouvertures contrôlent l’efficacité du blindage

Les anciens forts avaient toujours des points vulnérables qu’une armée envahissante pouvait exploiter. Une bonne conception du blindage tient également compte de la résistance mécanique et de la nécessité d’une circulation d’air. Les boucliers comportent des ouvertures pour réduire l’accumulation de chaleur en permettant à l’air de circuler à travers les ouvertures. Le nombre et la taille des ouvertures d’un bouclier déterminent l’efficacité de ce dernier.

Bien que de nombreuses ouvertures réduisent l’efficacité, l’espacement entre les ouvertures et la fréquence déterminent l’ampleur de la réduction. En outre, la quantité de fuites d’une ouverture dépend de la dimension linéaire maximale de l’ouverture.

Que vous cherchiez à fournir une armée ou simplement à protéger votre circuit imprimé, votre première étape doit toujours consister à choisir le bon support, c’est-à-dire le bon logiciel de conception de circuit imprimé. Avec des listes de contraintes, une vérification des règles de conception intuitives, un routage auto-interactif et un analyseur de réseau de distribution d’énergie, Altium Designer vous aide à concevoir un circuit imprimé optimal.

Si vous souhaitez connaître les meilleures applications dans lesquelles utiliser les blindages de circuits imprimés ou si vous avez une question sur les anciennes stratégies de guerre, contactez les experts d’Altium dès aujourd’hui.

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Outils de conception de circuits imprimés pour la conception électronique et DFM. Informations pour les dirigeants de l'AED.

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Phalanx, not Failure: PCB Shielding to Protect Your Design

    Altium Designer
    |  February 13, 2018

    Circuit array in the form of a shield on a black background

    During 7 B.C., Greek soldiers—or hoplites--carried a large, concave, circular shield called the hoplon. Made from bronze and wood, the hoplon or Argive shield protected hoplites from chin to knee and—when overlapped—became the basis for the Greek phalanx.

    At the beginning of the 20th century, Ethiopians used their shields when fighting against an invading Italian army. The constant banging on the shields by the Ethiopians mingled with war cries as a terrifying prelude to battle. Ancient armies deployed shields to protect from spurious attacks and to form war strategy. PCB design often relies on different types of shields to protect sensitive circuits from stray RF signals.

    Within those circuit outposts, renegade wires and traces do everything possible to allow electromagnetic interference (EMI) to escape into the outer reaches of their domains. Those skirmishes never end. Shielding should exist as part of your overall PCB design strategy. Rather than viewing shields as an add-on feature, shields and shielding designs should become part of the initial design process for PCBs.

    What Can PCB Shielding do for You?

    RF front end, switching, and clock circuits emit EMI through conducted paths or through radiation. A combination of good PCB design and good shielding mitigates EMI. Good PCB design for EMI revolves around the layout, the placement of filters, and ground planes. A well-designed PCB minimizes parasitic capacitance and ground loops.

    Metal, magnetic materials, and gaskets used as shielding prevent EMI emissions.

    Instead of a providing a physical barrier against spears and swords, PCB shielding simulates a Faraday cage connected to ground. While the ground plane makes up the bottom side of the cage, you can use metal shielding to form the other five sides.

    A shield causes reflection loss and absorption loss of electromagnetic energy. Reflection loss varies with the type of field and occurs as the air-to-shield or shield-to-air loss. As the field propagates through the shield, absorption loss occurs. Absorption loss varies with the type of shielding material. Shielding effectiveness equals the sum of reflection and absorption losses. The conductive barrier cloaks all or part of the circuit, absorbs and reflects radiation from loop antennas, and establishes electrical isolation.

    RF Shielding enclosure
    While your design may not need fort Knox, a chassis can be helpful.

    The concept of a shield wall became famous when Roman legions used the testudo formation. You can also use shielding to form a wall that protects sensitive circuits from harmful EMI emitted by other circuits. Electromagnetic fields contain electric fields and magnetic fields that have a 90o orientation to one another.

    If the electric field interacts with the magnetic field, propagation occurs. A shield wall separates sections of the PCB by attenuating the electric field (E-field) and magnetic field (H-field) of the radiating electromagnetic interference wave with a combination of metallic and magnetic shielding.

    Round, or Square: Different Shields for Different PCB Needs

    Unlike the hoplons, shields used on PCBs do not protect from chin to knee. Hidden enemies such as aperture radiation and cavity resonance can make life difficult. Electromagnetic interference can pop up anywhere. With electronic devices becoming smaller, shield design emphasizes a combination of lightweight, mechanical stability, and electrical efficiency.

    The shielding that you select for your PCB design depends on whether the emissions occur as near-field or far-field emissions, the frequency of the interference, and whether the interference occurs as electric field or magnetic field interference. Each of these factors influences the selection of shielding type and thickness.

    Most emissions under a shield occur as near-field emissions. With near-field emissions, reflection and absorption loss vary with frequency. Digital circuits cause electric field emissions that have higher reflection loss at lower frequencies and higher absorption loss at higher frequencies. Switch-mode power supplies cause magnetic field emissions with small reflection and absorption losses at low frequencies.

    Microchip and electrical component shield on blue circuit board
    Protecting from loss within and external to your design will keep it lasting through any war.

    Near-field and far-field emissions have different source characteristics and different E/H ratios. EMI is a far-field emission. Far-field sources have greater reflection loss at lower frequencies. Higher frequencies cause greater absorption loss.

    You should consider two key variables when deciding on the shield material type. Conductivity measures the ability of the shield material to conduct electric current. Permeability measures the ability of the material to support the formation of a magnetic field within the material. A shield that has high permeability has low reluctance and can guide a magnetic field.

    As with current and resistance, the lowest amount of reluctance creates a path for the magnetic field. Shielding material thickness becomes an important factor for PCBs that have low-frequency magnetic field applications.

    Still Need to Breathe: Apertures Control Shielding Effectiveness

    Ancient forts always had vulnerable points that an invading army could exploit. Good shielding design also considers mechanical strength and the need for air flow. Shields include apertures to reduce thermal buildup by allowing air to flow through the shield openings. The number and size of apertures in a shield design controls the effectiveness of the shield.

    While many apertures reduce effectiveness, spacing between the apertures and frequency determine the amount of reduction. In addition, the amount of leakage from an aperture depends on the maximum linear dimension of the opening.

    Whether you’re looking to supply an army, or just protect your PCB, your first step should always be in choosing the right PCB design software. With intuitive constraint listings and design rule checking, auto-interactive routing, and a power distribution network analyzer, Altium Designer can keep your PCB well-protected into any campaign you launch.

    If you want to know about best applications to use PCB shields in or have a question about ancient wartime strategies, call the experts at Altium today.

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home