Phalanx statt Misserfolg: Leiterplattenabschirmung zum Schutz Ihrer Konstruktion

Altium Designer
|  Erstellt: October 28, 2021
Circuit array in the form of a shield on a black background

Im Jahr 7 v. Chr. trugen die griechischen Soldaten – die Hopliten – einen großen, konkaven, runden Schild, der Hoplon genannt wurde. Der aus Bronze und Holz gefertigte Hoplon oder argivische Schild schützte die Hopliten vom Kinn bis zum Knie und bildete – wenn er überlappt wurde – die Grundlage für die griechische Phalanx.

Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts benutzten die Äthiopier ihre Schilde im Kampf gegen eine italienische Invasionsarmee. Das ständige Hämmern der Äthiopier auf die Schilde vermischte sich mit Kriegsgeschrei als furchterregendes Vorspiel zur Schlacht. Antike Armeen setzten Schilde ein, um Angriffe abzuwehren und Kriegsstrategien zu schmieden. Bei der Entwicklung von Leiterplatten werden häufig auch verschiedene Arten von Abschirmungen verwendet, um empfindliche Schaltungen vor hochfrequenten Störsignalen zu schützen.

In den Vorposten dieser Schaltkreise tun abtrünnige Drähte und Leiterbahnen alles, um elektromagnetische Interferenzen (EMI) in die Außengrenzen ihrer Domänen entweichen zu lassen. Diese Scharmützel nehmen kein Ende. Abschirmung sollte daher Teil jeder Leiterplatten-Designstrategie sein. Statt Schirmungen als zusätzliches Gestaltungselement zu betrachten, sollten sie integraler Bestandteil des Konstruktionsprozesses von PCBs werden.

Was bewirken Leiterplattenabschirmungen?

HF-Frontend-, Schalt- und Taktschaltungen strahlen EMI über leitende Pfade oder durch Abstrahlung ab. Eine Kombination aus gutem Leiterplattendesign und guter Abschirmung mindert EMI. Dabei geht es vor allem um das Layout, die Platzierung von Filtern und Masseflächen. Eine gut konzipierte Leiterplatte minimiert parasitäre Kapazitäten und Masseschleifen.

Metall, magnetische Materialien und Dichtungen, die als Abschirmung verwendet werden, verhindern diese Emissionen zusätzlich.

Statt einer physischen Barriere gegen Lanzen und Schwerter imitiert die PCB-Abschirmung einen mit der Erde verbundenen Faradayschen Käfig. Während die Massefläche die Unterseite des Käfigs bildet, können Sie für die anderen fünf Seiten eine Metallabschirmung verwenden.

Eine Abschirmung verursacht Reflexions- und Absorptionsverluste der elektromagnetischen Energie. Der Reflexionsverlust hängt von der Art des Feldes ab und tritt als Air-to-Shield- oder Shield-to-Air-Verlust auf. Wenn sich das Feld durch die Abschirmung ausbreitet, kommt es zu Absorptionsverlusten. Dieser hängt von der Art des Abschirmmaterials ab. Die Wirksamkeit der Abschirmung ist gleich der Summe der Reflexions- und Absorptionsverluste. Die leitende Barriere umhüllt den Schaltungsteil ganz oder teilweise, absorbiert und reflektiert die Strahlung von Schleifenantennen und sorgt für eine elektrische Isolierung.

Auch wenn Ihr Entwurf kein Fort Knox sein muss, kann ein Gehäuse hilfreich sein.
Auch wenn Ihr Entwurf kein Fort Knox sein muss, kann ein Gehäuse hilfreich sein.

Das Schildwallkonzept wurde spätestens mit der Testudo-Formation der römischen Legionen bekannt. Sie können diese Taktik genauso gut verwenden, um eine einen empfindlichen Schaltkreis vor schädlichen EMI zu schützen, die von anderen Schaltkreisen ausgeht. Elektromagnetische Felder bestehen aus elektrischen und magnetischen Feldern, die um 90o zueinander ausgerichtet sind.

Wenn das elektrische Feld mit dem magnetischen Feld wechselwirkt, kommt es zur Ausbreitung. Eine Abschirmung trennt Abschnitte der Leiterplatte, indem sie das elektrische Feld (E-Feld) und das magnetische Feld (H-Feld) der abstrahlenden elektromagnetischen Störwelle durch eine Kombination aus metallischer und magnetischer Abschirmung abschwächt.

Rund oder quadratisch: Unterschiedliche Abschirmungen für unterschiedliche PCB-Anforderungen

Im Gegensatz zu den Hoplons schützen die Leiterplattenschilde nicht vom Kinn bis zum Knie. Versteckte Feinde wie Aperturstrahlung und Hohlraumresonanzen können einem das Leben schwer machen. Elektromagnetische Störungen können überall auftreten. Da elektronische Geräte immer kleiner werden, wird beim Design von Abschirmungen auf eine Kombination aus geringem Gewicht, mechanischer Stabilität und elektrischer Effizienz Wert gelegt.

Die Abschirmung, die Sie für Ihr Leiterplattendesign wählen, hängt davon ab, ob die Emissionen als Nah- oder Fernfeldemissionen auftreten, von der Frequenz der Störung und davon, ob die Störung als elektrische Feld- oder Magnetfeldstörung auftritt. Jeder dieser Faktoren beeinflusst die Entscheidung über Art und Dicke der Abschirmung.

Die meisten Emissionen unter einer Abschirmung treten als Nahfeldemissionen auf. Dabei variieren Reflexions- und Absorptionsverluste mit der Frequenz. Eine digitale Schaltung verursacht eine elektrische Feldemission, die bei niedrigen Frequenzen einen höheren Reflexionsverlust und bei höheren Frequenzen einen höheren Absorptionsverlust aufweist. Schaltnetzteile verursachen Magnetfeldemissionen mit geringen Reflexions- und Absorptionsverlusten bei niedrigen Frequenzen.

Geschützt vor Verlusten innerhalb und außerhalb Ihres Designs übersteht es jeden Krieg.
Geschützt vor Verlusten innerhalb und außerhalb Ihres Designs übersteht es jeden Krieg.

Nahfeld- und Fernfeldemissionen haben unterschiedliche Quellencharakteristika und unterschiedliche E/H-Verhältnisse. Die EMI-Abschirmung ist eine Fernfeldemission. Fernfeldquellen haben einen größeren Reflexionsverlust bei niedrigeren Frequenzen. Höhere Frequenzen verursachen größere Absorptionsverluste.

Bei der Wahl des Abschirmungsmaterials sollten Sie zwei wichtige Faktoren berücksichtigen. Die Leitfähigkeit misst die Fähigkeit des Abschirmungsmaterials, elektrischen Strom zu leiten. Die Permeabilität misst die Fähigkeit des Materials, die Bildung eines Magnetfeldes innerhalb des Materials zu unterstützen. Eine Abschirmung mit hoher Permeabilität hat eine geringe Reluktanz und kann ein Magnetfeld leiten.

Wie bei Strom und Widerstand schafft die geringste Reluktanz einen Pfad für das Magnetfeld. Die Dicke des Abschirmungsmaterials ist ein wichtiger Faktor für Leiterplatten, die in niederfrequenten Magnetfeldern eingesetzt werden.

Öffnungen steuern die Wirksamkeit der Abschirmung

Antike Festungen hatten immer Schwachstellen, die eine angreifende Armee ausnutzen konnte. Eine gute Abschirmung berücksichtigt auch die mechanische Festigkeit und den erforderlichen Luftaustausch. Die Abschirmungen sind mit Öffnungen versehen, um einen Wärmestau zu verhindern, indem sie die Luft durch die Öffnungen der Abschirmung strömen lassen. Die Anzahl und Größe der Öffnungen in einer Abschirmungskonstruktion bestimmt die Wirksamkeit der Abschirmung.

Während viele Öffnungen die Effektivität verringern, bestimmen die Frequenz und der Abstand zwischen den Öffnungen das Dämpfungsverhalten. Darüber hinaus richtet sich die Leckage einer Öffnung nach der maximalen Kantenlänge der Öffnung.

Ganz gleich, ob Sie eine Armee beliefern oder einfach nur Ihre Leiterplatte schützen wollen, Ihr erster Schritt sollte immer die Wahl der richtigen Software für das Leiterplatten-Design sein. Mit intuitiven Randbedingungen und der Überprüfung von Designregeln, automatischem interaktivem Routing und einem Power Distribution Network Analyzer sorgt Altium Designer dafür, dass Ihre Leiterplatte in jeder Phase der Entwicklung gut geschützt ist.

Wenn Sie wissen möchten, für welche Anwendungen Leiterplattenabschirmungen am besten geeignet sind, oder eine Frage zu alten Kriegsstrategien haben, rufen Sie noch heute die Experten von Altium an.

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

PCB Design Tools für Electronics Design und DFM. Informationen für EDA-Führungskräfte.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Phalanx, not Failure: PCB Shielding to Protect Your Design

    Altium Designer
    |  February 13, 2018

    Circuit array in the form of a shield on a black background

    During 7 B.C., Greek soldiers—or hoplites--carried a large, concave, circular shield called the hoplon. Made from bronze and wood, the hoplon or Argive shield protected hoplites from chin to knee and—when overlapped—became the basis for the Greek phalanx.

    At the beginning of the 20th century, Ethiopians used their shields when fighting against an invading Italian army. The constant banging on the shields by the Ethiopians mingled with war cries as a terrifying prelude to battle. Ancient armies deployed shields to protect from spurious attacks and to form war strategy. PCB design often relies on different types of shields to protect sensitive circuits from stray RF signals.

    Within those circuit outposts, renegade wires and traces do everything possible to allow electromagnetic interference (EMI) to escape into the outer reaches of their domains. Those skirmishes never end. Shielding should exist as part of your overall PCB design strategy. Rather than viewing shields as an add-on feature, shields and shielding designs should become part of the initial design process for PCBs.

    What Can PCB Shielding do for You?

    RF front end, switching, and clock circuits emit EMI through conducted paths or through radiation. A combination of good PCB design and good shielding mitigates EMI. Good PCB design for EMI revolves around the layout, the placement of filters, and ground planes. A well-designed PCB minimizes parasitic capacitance and ground loops.

    Metal, magnetic materials, and gaskets used as shielding prevent EMI emissions.

    Instead of a providing a physical barrier against spears and swords, PCB shielding simulates a Faraday cage connected to ground. While the ground plane makes up the bottom side of the cage, you can use metal shielding to form the other five sides.

    A shield causes reflection loss and absorption loss of electromagnetic energy. Reflection loss varies with the type of field and occurs as the air-to-shield or shield-to-air loss. As the field propagates through the shield, absorption loss occurs. Absorption loss varies with the type of shielding material. Shielding effectiveness equals the sum of reflection and absorption losses. The conductive barrier cloaks all or part of the circuit, absorbs and reflects radiation from loop antennas, and establishes electrical isolation.

    RF Shielding enclosure
    While your design may not need fort Knox, a chassis can be helpful.

    The concept of a shield wall became famous when Roman legions used the testudo formation. You can also use shielding to form a wall that protects sensitive circuits from harmful EMI emitted by other circuits. Electromagnetic fields contain electric fields and magnetic fields that have a 90o orientation to one another.

    If the electric field interacts with the magnetic field, propagation occurs. A shield wall separates sections of the PCB by attenuating the electric field (E-field) and magnetic field (H-field) of the radiating electromagnetic interference wave with a combination of metallic and magnetic shielding.

    Round, or Square: Different Shields for Different PCB Needs

    Unlike the hoplons, shields used on PCBs do not protect from chin to knee. Hidden enemies such as aperture radiation and cavity resonance can make life difficult. Electromagnetic interference can pop up anywhere. With electronic devices becoming smaller, shield design emphasizes a combination of lightweight, mechanical stability, and electrical efficiency.

    The shielding that you select for your PCB design depends on whether the emissions occur as near-field or far-field emissions, the frequency of the interference, and whether the interference occurs as electric field or magnetic field interference. Each of these factors influences the selection of shielding type and thickness.

    Most emissions under a shield occur as near-field emissions. With near-field emissions, reflection and absorption loss vary with frequency. Digital circuits cause electric field emissions that have higher reflection loss at lower frequencies and higher absorption loss at higher frequencies. Switch-mode power supplies cause magnetic field emissions with small reflection and absorption losses at low frequencies.

    Microchip and electrical component shield on blue circuit board
    Protecting from loss within and external to your design will keep it lasting through any war.

    Near-field and far-field emissions have different source characteristics and different E/H ratios. EMI is a far-field emission. Far-field sources have greater reflection loss at lower frequencies. Higher frequencies cause greater absorption loss.

    You should consider two key variables when deciding on the shield material type. Conductivity measures the ability of the shield material to conduct electric current. Permeability measures the ability of the material to support the formation of a magnetic field within the material. A shield that has high permeability has low reluctance and can guide a magnetic field.

    As with current and resistance, the lowest amount of reluctance creates a path for the magnetic field. Shielding material thickness becomes an important factor for PCBs that have low-frequency magnetic field applications.

    Still Need to Breathe: Apertures Control Shielding Effectiveness

    Ancient forts always had vulnerable points that an invading army could exploit. Good shielding design also considers mechanical strength and the need for air flow. Shields include apertures to reduce thermal buildup by allowing air to flow through the shield openings. The number and size of apertures in a shield design controls the effectiveness of the shield.

    While many apertures reduce effectiveness, spacing between the apertures and frequency determine the amount of reduction. In addition, the amount of leakage from an aperture depends on the maximum linear dimension of the opening.

    Whether you’re looking to supply an army, or just protect your PCB, your first step should always be in choosing the right PCB design software. With intuitive constraint listings and design rule checking, auto-interactive routing, and a power distribution network analyzer, Altium Designer can keep your PCB well-protected into any campaign you launch.

    If you want to know about best applications to use PCB shields in or have a question about ancient wartime strategies, call the experts at Altium today.

    About Author

    About Author

    PCB Design Tools for Electronics Design and DFM. Information for EDA Leaders.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home