Résoudre les erreurs de bibliothèque de composants lors de la réutilisation du routage de circuit imprimés

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: September 5, 2019  |  Updated: December 22, 2020

PCBs for old cell phones

Si vous utilisez le bon logiciel de conception de PCB, vous pouvez même réutiliser les routages de ces anciens téléphones mobiles

J'ai récemment acheté un nouvel ordinateur car les données de mon ancien disque dur avaient commencé à être corrompues « comme par magie ». Quand j'ai pris possession de mon nouvel ordinateur et transféré mes données, j'ai eu peur de ne pas pouvoir réutiliser mes anciennes données. Lorsqu'il s'agit de choses plus simples comme des fichiers texte ou des images, cela ne pose aucun problème : vous pouvez immédiatement rouvrir et réutiliser ces fichiers. En ce qui concerne les données de conception de votre PCB, vous voudrez sans doute naturellement réutiliser un ancien routage dans un nouveau projet. Dans certains cas, vous partagez peut-être des conceptions avec quelqu'un à l'autre bout du monde, et vous voulez peut-être vous assurer que toutes les données de votre projet sont accessibles.

Pour cela, il faut s'assurer que les données de vos conceptions antérieures sont disponibles dans votre nouvelle version d'Altium Designer. Grâce à l'utilisation des fonctionnalités de gestion de bibliothèques d'Altium Designer, vous pouvez facilement importer vos anciennes données de conception dans un nouveau projet et commencer à les utiliser dans de nouvelles conceptions. Voyons comment vous pouvez réutiliser vos anciennes données dans Altium Designer.

Réutilisation d'un ancien routage

Il existe plusieurs façon de réutiliser vos anciens routages de PCB dans un nouveau projet. Étant donné que tout schéma et routage de circuit imprimé dépend des données de composants provenant d'une bibliothèque, vous devez vous assurer que vos données de conception pointent vers le bon emplacement pour ces données. À titre d'exemple, nous allons examiner un schéma et un routage créés dans Altium Designer 19. Le routage et le schéma contiennent un condensateur de 100 pF qui provient de la bibliothèque Miscellaneous Devices (elle est intégrée dans Altium Designer) et un microcontrôleur ATmega328p. La bibliothèque intégrée du microcontrôleur a été créée à partir de données de composants téléchargées sur Internet.

Le schéma et le routage du PCB ont été créés dans leur propre propre projet, et les fichiers de schéma et de routage ont été enregistrés sur mon disque dur local. Pour simuler le transfert de ces fichiers vers un autre concepteur, j'ai créé un nouveau projet, désinstallé la bibliothèque du microcontrôleur ATmega328p de mon panneau Components dans Altium Designer et supprimé de mon ordinateur le fichier de la bibliothèque intégrée.

Si vous ouvrez simplement les fichiers de schéma et de routage de PCB dans un nouveau projet, vous verrez les empreintes et les symboles schématiques, mais vous ne pourrez accéder à aucune donnée concernant le composant. Lorsque vous étudiez les propriétés du composant (voir le panneau Properties dans l'éditeur de PCB), l'erreur suivante s'affiche :

Component Not Found In Libraries error during PCB layout reuse

Erreur de données de composant lors de la réutilisation du routage du PCB

Si vous regardez sur le côté droit de l'image, vous verrez que le menu déroulant « Source » est grisé. Si vous cliquez sur les ellipses, la boîte de message s'affiche au-dessus. En cas de migration d'un routage et d'un schéma provenant d'un autre programme de CAO électronique, vous aurez peut-être le même problème si votre bibliothèque ne contient pas les données de composants correspondantes. Cela pose un problème lorsque vous essayez d'effectuer des simulations ou de compiler une nomenclature pour votre carte. Altium Designer essaiera de deviner le modèle correspondant à votre composant, qui n'est pas toujours correct.

S'il manque des données pour un petit nombre de composants dans votre conception, l'installation des bibliothèques manquantes devrait suffire pour régler le problème. Notez que l'entrée dans l'image ci-dessus pointe vers un fichier spécifique indiqué dans le champ Library (voir AD19->Library directory sur votre disque dur). Vous devez vous assurer que le nom de la bibliothèque correspond au nom indiqué dans le panneau Properties.

Pour ce faire, vous pouvez copier les bibliothèques de composants intégrées à l'emplacement où vous stockez vos données de composants sur votre ordinateur. Ouvrez le panneau Components et cliquez sur l'entrée indiquée dans l'image ci-dessous. Cela vous permet d'ouvrir la liste des bibliothèques disponibles. À partir de cette fenêtre, vous pouvez ensuite installer manuellement les bibliothèques manquantes.

Component Not Found In Libraries error during PCB layout reuse

Erreur de données de composant lors de la réutilisation du routage du PCB

Altium Designer se met rapidement à jour, et vous pourrez constater que l'erreur de l'image précédente ne se reproduit pas. C'est une façon de résoudre les erreurs de données manquantes pour les composants lors de la réutilisation d'un ancien routage de PCB. Toutefois, si vous savez que vous devrez partager des données de conception avec un collaborateur, vous pouvez regrouper toutes les données dont vous avez besoin dans une bibliothèque intégrée, puis partager la bibliothèque intégrée ainsi que les données de schémas et de routage.

Utilisation d'une bibliothèque intégrée de votre ancien projet

Pour contourner ce problème, vous pouvez créer une bibliothèque intégrée à partir de vos anciennes données. Cette bibliothèque contiendra les données importantes qui sont nécessaires pour prendre en charge vos documents de schéma et de routage lorsque vous réutilisez un ancien routage de PCB.

Lorsque vous partagez des données de conception, il vous suffit partager la bibliothèque intégrée avec votre collaborateur. Vous pouvez également mettre cette bibliothèque de côté et utiliser les données ultérieurement. Lorsque vous êtes prêt à accéder aux données des composants concernés, il vous suffit de faire glisser la bibliothèque dans Altium Designer et de cliquer sur Install Library. Vous pouvez également cliquer sur Extract Sources pour accéder à vos données PcbLib et SchLib.

Installing and extracting an integrated library in Altium Designer

Installation et extraction des données d'une bibliothèque intégrée

Maintenant, lorsque vous ouvrez votre ancien fichier .PcbDoc dans Altium Designer, vous pouvez aller dans le panneau Properties de n'importe lequel de vos composants et réaffecter les données à la bibliothèque intégrée que vous avez créée pour votre projet. Cela obligera le routage à se référer au fichier de bibliothèque intégrée correspondant à votre ancien projet, plutôt que de pointer vers une bibliothèque qui n'existe pas dans votre structure de fichiers.

Installing and extracting an integrated library in Altium Designer

Installation et extraction des données d'une bibliothèque intégrée

Accélération de la réutilisation des conceptions grâce aux fragments de conception

La fonctionnalité Snippets d'Altium Designer est particulièrement utile pour récupérer une seule partie d'un ancien routage et le réutiliser dans un nouvel appareil. Vous pouvez ainsi sélectionner une partie de schéma et la partie qui lui correspond dans un routage, puis créer un bloc qui peut être facilement placé dans un nouveau projet. Cette méthode est différente de celle décrite ci-dessus, mais elle vous évite de répéter constamment la même opération lors de la création de nouvelles conceptions.

Il est beaucoup plus facile de réutiliser des routages de PCB lorsque votre logiciel de conception de circuits imprimés comprend un ensemble de fonctionnalités complètes de bibliothèque et de gestion des données. Altium Designer est la seule plateforme qui vous offre un contrôle total sur vos données et met à votre disposition des outils qui facilitent le partage des données de conception avec vos collaborateurs. Vous pourrez partager vos conceptions avec d'autres personnes grâce aux fonctionnalités de bibliothèques intégrées d'Altium Designer.

Télécharger une version d'évaluation gratuite d'Altium Designer pour découvrir les avantages que ses puissants outils de gestion des données peuvent vous offrir. Vous aurez accès aux meilleures fonctionnalités de conception exigées par la profession dans un seul programme. Contactez un expert Altium dès aujourd'hui pour en savoir plus.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson possède une vaste expérience technique dans le milieu universitaire et industriel. Avant de travailler dans l'industrie des PCB, il a enseigné à la Portland State University. Il a dirigé son M.S. recherche sur les capteurs de gaz chimisorptifs et son doctorat en physique appliquée, recherche sur la théorie et la stabilité du laser aléatoire. Son expérience en recherche scientifique couvre des sujets tels que les lasers à nanoparticules, les dispositifs électroniques et optoélectroniques à semi-conducteurs, les systèmes environnementaux et l'analyse financière. Ses travaux ont été publiés dans diverses revues spécialisées et actes de conférences et il a écrit des centaines de blogs techniques sur la conception de PCB pour de nombreuses entreprises. Zachariah travaille avec d'autres sociétés de PCB fournissant des services de conception et de recherche. Il est membre de l'IEEE Photonics Society et de l'American Physical Society

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Solving Component Library Errors During PCB Layout Reuse

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  September 5, 2019

    PCBs for old cell phones

    With the right PCB design package, you can even reuse layouts for these old cell phones

    I recently bought a new computer after data on my old hard drive started to “magically” become corrupted. Once I broke into my new computer and transferred my data over, I became worried I wouldn’t be able to reuse my old data. When it comes to simpler things like text files or images, you’ll have no problems; you can immediately reopen and reuse these files. With your PCB design data, you may naturally want to reuse an old layout in a new project. In some cases, you may be sharing designs with someone on the other side of the planet, and you might want to make sure all the data in your project is accessible.

    This takes some care in ensuring your prior design data is available in your new version of Altium Designer. When you work with the library management features in Altium Designer, you’ll be able to easily import your old design data into a new project and start using it in new designs. Let’s take a look at some ways you can reuse your old data in Altium Designer.

    Reusing an Old Layout

    There are a number of ways to reuse your old PCB layouts in a new project. Because any schematic and PCB layout depends on component data from a library, you’ll need to ensure that your design data points to the right location for this data. As an example, we’ll look at a schematic and layout that were created in Altium Designer 19. The layout and schematic contain a 100 pF capacitor from the Miscellaneous Devices library (this is built-in to Altium Designer), and an ATmega328p microcontroller. The integrated library for the microcontroller was created from component data that was downloaded from the internet.

    The schematic and PCB layout were created in their own project, and the schematic and layout files were saved to my local hard drive. To simulate transferring these files to another designer, I created a new project, uninstalled the the ATmega328p microcontroller library from my Components panel in Altium Designer, and deleted the integrated library file from my computer.

    If you simply open schematic and PCB layout files in a new project, you’ll be able to see footprints and schematic symbols, but you won’t be able to access any data for the component. When you investigate the component properties (see the Properties panel in the PCB Editor), you’ll see the following error:

    Component Not Found In Libraries error during PCB layout reuse

    Component data error during PCB layout reuse

    If you look on the right hand side of the image, you’ll see that the “Source” drop-down menu is greyed out. If you click on the ellipsis, you’ll see the message box above appear. If you are migrating a layout and schematic from another ECAD program, you may have the same problem if your library does not contain the relevant component data. This creates a problem when you try to run simulations or compile a bill of materials for your board. Altium Designer will try to guess the relevant model for your component, which may not always be accurate.

    If your design is missing data for a small number of components, then you can get away with just installing the missing libraries. Note that the entry in the above image points to a specific file listed in the Library field (see the AD19->Library directory on your hard drive). You would need to make sure the library name matches the name referenced in the Properties panel.

    To do this, you can copy the integrated component libraries to the location on your computer where you store your component data. Open the Components panel and click on entry shown in the image below. This will open your list of available libraries. You can then install the missing libraries manually from this window.

    Component Not Found In Libraries error during PCB layout reuse

    Component data error during PCB layout reuse

    Altium Designer will update quickly, and you’ll find that the error in the earlier image no longer occurs. This is one way to resolve missing component data errors when reusing an old PCB layout. However, if you know you’ll need to share design data with a collaborator, you can package all the data you need in an integrated library, and you would share the integrated library and schematic/layout data.

    Using an Integrated Library from Your Old Project

    In order to get around this problem, you can create an integrated library from your old data. This library will contain the important data required to support your schematic and layout documents when you reuse an old PCB layout.

    When you are sharing design data, you can simply share the integrated library with your collaborator. Alternatively, you can set this library aside and use the data at a later date. When you’re ready to access the relevant component data, just drag the library into Altium Designer and click Install Library. You can also click Extract Sources to access your PcbLib and SchLib data.

    Installing and extracting an integrated library in Altium Designer

    Installing and extracting data from an integrated library

    Now when you open your old .PcbDoc file in Altium Designer, you can go to the properties panel for any of your components and reassign the data to the integrated library you created for your project. This will force the layout to reference the integrated library file specifically for your old project, rather than pointing to a library that does not exist within your file structure.

    Installing and extracting an integrated library in Altium Designer

    Installing and extracting data from an integrated library

    Expediting Design Reuse with Snippets

    The Snippets feature in Altium Designer is an excellent way to take only a portion of an old layout and reuse it in a new device. In this process, you can select a portion of a schematic and its associated portion in a layout, and you can create a block that can be easily placed within a new project. This follows a different process than what has been outlined above, but it keeps you from constantly reinventing the wheel when creating new designs.

    PCB layout reuse is much easier when your PCB design software includes a set of comprehensive library and data management features. Altium Designer is the only platform that gives you total control over your data and provides tools that enable easy sharing of design data with collaborators. You’ll be able to share your designs with others using the integrated library features built into Altium Designer.

    Download a free trial of Altium Designer to see how its powerful data management tools can help you. You’ll have access to the best design features the industry demands in a single program. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home