Behebung von Fehlern in der Bauteilbibliothek bei der Wiederverwendung von PCB-Layouts

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: September 5, 2019  |  Updated: December 22, 2020

PCBs for old cell phones

Mit der richtigen PCB-Design Paket können Sie sogar Layouts für diese alten Mobiltelefone wiederverwenden.

Ich habe vor kurzem einen neuen Computer gekauft, nachdem die Daten auf meiner alten Festplatte auf „magische Weise“ beschädigt wurden. Nachdem ich die Daten auf meinen neuen Computer übertragen hatte, machte ich mir Sorgen, dass ich womöglich meine alten Daten nicht wiederverwenden könnte. Wenn es sich um einfache Dinge handelt wie Textdateien oder Bilder, werden Sie keine Probleme haben. Sie können diese Dateien sofort erneut öffnen und wiederverwenden. Für Ihre PCB-Designdaten möchten Sie vielleicht ein altes Layout in einem neuen Projekt wiederverwenden. In gewissen Fällen teilen Sie womöglich Designs mit jemandem auf der anderen Seite der Welt und Sie möchten sicherstellen, dass alle Daten in Ihrem Projekt zugänglich sind.

In diesem Fall müssen Sie vorsichtig sein und sicherstellen, dass Ihre früheren Designdaten in der neuen Version von Altium Designer verfügbar sind. Wenn Sie mit den Bibliotheksverwaltungsfunktionen in Altium Designer arbeiten, können Sie Ihre alten Designdaten problemlos in ein neues Projekt importieren und in neuen Designs verwenden. Sehen wir uns die Möglichkeiten an, wie Sie Ihre alten Daten in Altium Designer wiederverwenden können.

Wiederverwendung eines alten Layouts

Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten, die alten PCB-Layouts in einem neuen Projekt zu verwenden. Da jedes Schaltplan- und PCB-Layout von Bauteildaten aus einer Bibliothek abhängt, müssen Sie sicherstellen, dass Ihre Designdaten auf den richtigen Speicherort für diese Daten zeigen. Als Beispiel sehen wir uns einen Schaltplan und ein Layout an, die in Altium Designer 19 erstellt wurden. Das Layout und der Schaltplan enthalten einen 100-pF-Kondensator aus der Bibliothek „Miscellaneous Devices“ (diese ist in Altium Designer integriert) und einen ATmega328p-Mikrocontroller. Die integrierte Bibliothek für den Mikrocontroller wurde aus Bauteildaten erstellt, die vom Internet heruntergeladen wurden.

Der Schaltplan und das PCB-Layout wurden in einem eigenen Projekt erstellt und die Schaltplan- und Layoutdateien wurden auf meiner lokalen Festplatte gespeichert. Um die Übertragung dieser Dateien an einen anderen Designer zu simulieren, habe ich ein neues Projekt erstellt, die ATmega328p-Mikrocontrollerbibliothek aus meinem Bauteilbereich in Altium Designer deinstalliert und die integrierte Bibliotheksdatei von meinem Computer gelöscht.

Wenn Sie einfach die Schaltplan- und PCB-Layoutdateien in einem neuen Projekt öffnen, können Sie Footprints und Schaltplansymbole sehen. Sie können jedoch nicht auf Daten für das Bauteil zugreifen. Wenn Sie die Bauteileigenschaften untersuchen (siehe Properties Panel im PCB-Editor), wird folgender Fehler angezeigt:

Component Not Found In Libraries error during PCB layout reuse

Component data error during PCB layout reuse 

Wenn Sie auf die rechte Seite des Bildes blicken, sehen Sie, dass das Dropdown-Menü „Source“ grau erscheint. Wenn Sie auf die Ellipse klicken, wird das Nachrichtenfeld oben angezeigt. Wenn Sie ein Layout und einen Schaltplan aus einem anderen ECAD-Programm migrieren,haben Sie möglicherweise dasselbe Problem, falls Ihre Bibliothek nicht die relevanten Bauteildaten enthält. Dies stellt ein Problem dar, wenn Sie versuchen, Simulationen durchzuführen oder eine Stückliste für Ihre Leiterplatte zu erstellen. Altium Designer wird versuchen, das relevante Modell für Ihr Bauteil zu erraten, was nicht immer genau ist.

Wenn Ihrem Design Daten für nur wenige Bauteile fehlen, dann können Sie die fehlenden Bibliotheken einfach installieren. Beachten Sie, dass der Eintrag im oben angezeigten Bild auf eine bestimmte Datei zeigt, die im Feld „Library“ aufgelistet ist (siehe das AD19-> Bibliotheksverzeichnis auf Ihrer Festplatte). Sie müssen darauf achten, dass der Name der Bibliothek mit dem Namen übereinstimmt, auf den im Properties Panel verwiesenen wird.

Dazu können Sie die integrierten Bauteilbibliotheken an die Stelle auf Ihrem Computer kopieren, an der die Bauteildaten gespeichert sind. Öffnen Sie das Components Panel und klicken Sie auf den im Bild unten angezeigten Eintrag. Daraufhin wird die Liste der verfügbaren Bibliotheken geöffnet. Von diesem Fenster aus können Sie nun die fehlenden Bibliotheken manuell installieren.

Component Not Found In Libraries error during PCB layout reuse

Component data error during PCB layout reuse

Altium Designer wird schnell aktualisiert und Sie werden sehen, dass der Fehler im früheren Bild nicht mehr auftritt. Dies ist eine Möglichkeit, bei der Wiederverwendung eines alten PCB-Layouts Fehler bezüglich fehlender Bauteildaten zu beheben. Wenn Sie jedoch wissen, dass Sie Designdaten mit einem Mitarbeiter teilen müssen, können Sie alle benötigten Daten in eine integrierte Bibliothek verpacken und die integrierten Bibliotheks- und Schaltplan- bzw. Layout-Daten freigeben.

Verwendung einer integrierten Bibliothek aus einem alten Projekt

Um dieses Problem zu umgehen, können Sie eine integrierte Bibliothek aus Ihren alten Daten erstellen. Diese Bibliothek enthält dann die wichtigen Daten, die zur Unterstützung Ihrer Schaltplan- und Layoutdokumente erforderlich sind, wenn Sie ein altes PCB-Layout wiederverwenden.

Wenn Sie Designdaten freigeben, können Sie die integrierte Bibliothek einfach mit Ihrem Mitwirkenden teilen. Alternativ können Sie diese Bibliothek aufbewahren und die Daten zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt verwenden. Wenn Sie bereit sind, auf die relevanten Bauteildaten zuzugreifen, ziehen Sie die Bibliothek einfach in Altium Designer und klicken auf „Install Library“. Sie können auch auf „Extract Sources“ klicken, um auf Ihre PcbLib- und SchLib-Daten zuzugreifen.

Installing and extracting an integrated library in Altium Designer

Installieren und Extrahieren von Daten aus einer integrierten Bibliothek

Wenn Sie jetzt Ihre alte .PcbDoc-Datei in Altium Designer öffnen, können Sie zum Properties Panel für jedes Ihrer Bauteile gehen und die Daten erneut der integrierten Bibliothek zuweisen, die Sie für Ihr Projekt erstellt haben. Dadurch wird das Layout gezwungen, auf die integrierte Bibliotheksdatei für Ihr altes Projekt zu verweisen, anstatt auf eine Bibliothek zu zeigen, die in Ihrer Dateistruktur nicht vorhanden ist.

Installing and extracting an integrated library in Altium Designer

Installieren und Extrahieren von Daten aus einer integrierten Bibliothek

Beschleunigung der Wiederverwendung von Designs mit Snippets

Die Snippets-Funktion in Altium Designer ist eine ausgezeichnete Möglichkeit, nur einen Teil eines alten Layouts in einem neuen Gerät wiederzuverwenden. In diesem Prozess können Sie einen Teil eines Schaltplans und den zugehörigen Teil in einem Layout auswählen und einen Block erstellen, der problemlos in einem neuen Projekt platziert werden kann. Dies folgt einem anderen Vorgang als dem oben dargestellten, aber es hält Sie davon ab, bei der Erstellung neuer Designs das Rad ständig neu zu erfinden.

Die Wiederverwendung von PCB-Layouts ist viel einfacher, wenn Ihre PCB-Designsoftware eine Reihe von umfassenden Bibliotheks- und Datenverwaltungsfunktionen enthält. Altium Designer ist die einzige Plattform, die Ihnen vollständige Kontrolle über Ihre Daten gibt und Werkzeuge zur Verfügung stellt, die einen einfachen Austausch von Designdaten mit Mitarbeitern ermöglichen. Mithilfe der Bibliotheksfunktionen, die in Altium Designer integriert sind, können Sie Ihre Designs mit anderen teilen.

Laden Sie eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer herunter, um zu erfahren, wie Ihnen die leistungsstarken Datenverwaltungswerkzeuge helfen können. Sie haben Zugriff auf die besten, von der Branche verlangten Designfunktionen in einem einzigen Programm. Wenden Sie sich noch heute an einen Experten von Altium, um mehr zu erfahren.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Solving Component Library Errors During PCB Layout Reuse

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  September 5, 2019

    PCBs for old cell phones

    With the right PCB design package, you can even reuse layouts for these old cell phones

    I recently bought a new computer after data on my old hard drive started to “magically” become corrupted. Once I broke into my new computer and transferred my data over, I became worried I wouldn’t be able to reuse my old data. When it comes to simpler things like text files or images, you’ll have no problems; you can immediately reopen and reuse these files. With your PCB design data, you may naturally want to reuse an old layout in a new project. In some cases, you may be sharing designs with someone on the other side of the planet, and you might want to make sure all the data in your project is accessible.

    This takes some care in ensuring your prior design data is available in your new version of Altium Designer. When you work with the library management features in Altium Designer, you’ll be able to easily import your old design data into a new project and start using it in new designs. Let’s take a look at some ways you can reuse your old data in Altium Designer.

    Reusing an Old Layout

    There are a number of ways to reuse your old PCB layouts in a new project. Because any schematic and PCB layout depends on component data from a library, you’ll need to ensure that your design data points to the right location for this data. As an example, we’ll look at a schematic and layout that were created in Altium Designer 19. The layout and schematic contain a 100 pF capacitor from the Miscellaneous Devices library (this is built-in to Altium Designer), and an ATmega328p microcontroller. The integrated library for the microcontroller was created from component data that was downloaded from the internet.

    The schematic and PCB layout were created in their own project, and the schematic and layout files were saved to my local hard drive. To simulate transferring these files to another designer, I created a new project, uninstalled the the ATmega328p microcontroller library from my Components panel in Altium Designer, and deleted the integrated library file from my computer.

    If you simply open schematic and PCB layout files in a new project, you’ll be able to see footprints and schematic symbols, but you won’t be able to access any data for the component. When you investigate the component properties (see the Properties panel in the PCB Editor), you’ll see the following error:

    Component Not Found In Libraries error during PCB layout reuse

    Component data error during PCB layout reuse

    If you look on the right hand side of the image, you’ll see that the “Source” drop-down menu is greyed out. If you click on the ellipsis, you’ll see the message box above appear. If you are migrating a layout and schematic from another ECAD program, you may have the same problem if your library does not contain the relevant component data. This creates a problem when you try to run simulations or compile a bill of materials for your board. Altium Designer will try to guess the relevant model for your component, which may not always be accurate.

    If your design is missing data for a small number of components, then you can get away with just installing the missing libraries. Note that the entry in the above image points to a specific file listed in the Library field (see the AD19->Library directory on your hard drive). You would need to make sure the library name matches the name referenced in the Properties panel.

    To do this, you can copy the integrated component libraries to the location on your computer where you store your component data. Open the Components panel and click on entry shown in the image below. This will open your list of available libraries. You can then install the missing libraries manually from this window.

    Component Not Found In Libraries error during PCB layout reuse

    Component data error during PCB layout reuse

    Altium Designer will update quickly, and you’ll find that the error in the earlier image no longer occurs. This is one way to resolve missing component data errors when reusing an old PCB layout. However, if you know you’ll need to share design data with a collaborator, you can package all the data you need in an integrated library, and you would share the integrated library and schematic/layout data.

    Using an Integrated Library from Your Old Project

    In order to get around this problem, you can create an integrated library from your old data. This library will contain the important data required to support your schematic and layout documents when you reuse an old PCB layout.

    When you are sharing design data, you can simply share the integrated library with your collaborator. Alternatively, you can set this library aside and use the data at a later date. When you’re ready to access the relevant component data, just drag the library into Altium Designer and click Install Library. You can also click Extract Sources to access your PcbLib and SchLib data.

    Installing and extracting an integrated library in Altium Designer

    Installing and extracting data from an integrated library

    Now when you open your old .PcbDoc file in Altium Designer, you can go to the properties panel for any of your components and reassign the data to the integrated library you created for your project. This will force the layout to reference the integrated library file specifically for your old project, rather than pointing to a library that does not exist within your file structure.

    Installing and extracting an integrated library in Altium Designer

    Installing and extracting data from an integrated library

    Expediting Design Reuse with Snippets

    The Snippets feature in Altium Designer is an excellent way to take only a portion of an old layout and reuse it in a new device. In this process, you can select a portion of a schematic and its associated portion in a layout, and you can create a block that can be easily placed within a new project. This follows a different process than what has been outlined above, but it keeps you from constantly reinventing the wheel when creating new designs.

    PCB layout reuse is much easier when your PCB design software includes a set of comprehensive library and data management features. Altium Designer is the only platform that gives you total control over your data and provides tools that enable easy sharing of design data with collaborators. You’ll be able to share your designs with others using the integrated library features built into Altium Designer.

    Download a free trial of Altium Designer to see how its powerful data management tools can help you. You’ll have access to the best design features the industry demands in a single program. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home