为什么PCB设计课程在工程课程中至关重要

Zachariah Peterson
|  已创建:March 15, 2022  |  已更新:December 24, 2023
PCB设计课程

如果说半导体像人体的器官,那么印刷电路板(PCB)就像是电子设备结构的骨架和血管。没有PCB,我们今天所知道的现代电子产品就不可能实现,而且PCB作为电子元件封装的使用在短时间内不会消失。从智能手机到家用电器,电子设备中的PCB必须经过精确设计和精心制造,否则产品将无法正常工作。

尽管PCB在当今上市的几乎所有电子产品中都非常重要,但您会惊讶地发现,大学系统很少重点培养以印刷电路设计和制造为重点的教育项目。可以理解的是,由于遵守摩尔定律所涉及的巨大工程挑战,半导体行业已占据主导地位。结果是PCB有时被视为一种过于夸张的计算机芯片连接方式。

现实情况是,如果电路板设计和制造不正确,我们喜欢或依赖的电子产品都无法正常工作。电路板设计和制造还借鉴了电子以外的其他工程领域。PCB设计课程可以帮助学生做好应对设计和制造等式两方面的准备,最终使他们在走进劳动力市场时更具价值。

为什么将PCB设计纳入工程课程?

PCB设计结合了电气和电子工程中的许多基本概念,重点是设计物理产品。创建可制造的PCB就像解决一个复杂的难题,其中的规则基于电气工程的基本概念。这是一个趣味且具有意义的专业,每个项目都包含多个工程挑战。

除了趣味之外,PCB设计也是电子行业的一项关键功能,但在过去的几十年里一直被忽视。因此,随着当前劳动力的退休,预计未来几十年对合格PCB设计师的需求将增加。如果学生以硬件工程为职业,PCB设计课程将为他们提供一个良好的开端。作为常规电气工程课程的一部分,学生可以从PCB设计课程中获得一些重要的益处。

接触行业设计流程和软件

与其他工程领域相比,PCB设计更遵循特定的工程工作流程,从产品概念到完全可制造的设计,指导设计团队完成完整流程。PCB设计课程可帮助学生了解整个电子行业中实施的标准化工作流程。该工作流程在PCB设计软件中强制执行,学生将有机会了解如何在专业环境中完成实际项目。这是宝贵的经验,通常需要学生参加实习。

PCB设计结合了多个工程学科

PCB设计的核心在于电气工程的坚实基础,要求学生在完成单项设计时通常要借鉴数字、模拟、功率和微波电子学的概念。在任何项目中,设计师都必须借鉴多个工程学科的概念来完成原理图(物理布局),并最终实现完全可制造的设计。这包括:

  • 基本电路设计和原理图输入
  • 仿真和分析,包括SPICE和全波3D场求解器等
  • 物理布局,通常在机械限制内
  • 电磁学概念,特别是关于波传播和辐射

鉴于单个PCB项目可以从许多工程领域汲取概念,因此PCB设计是从实际意义上展示这些领域之间融合的绝佳机会。即使学生在完成学位后最终没有在PCB行业工作,学生也将接触到他们在走进劳动力市场时将遇到的协作、多学科工程项目的类型。

接触制造

归根结底,硬件工程就是创建一种可批量生产的设计。PCB设计非常注重制造设计(DFM),在创建物理布局时会考虑制造过程施加的限制。PCB设计为学生提供了有关DFM策略的精彩介绍,并帮助学生制定处理适用制造限制的项目的思维过程。了解DFM的学生可以更好地准备走进劳动力市场并开始研究可批量生产的产品。

PCB设计课程
了解并能够管理PCB制造过程的电子工程师的需求量很大。

接触PCB制造过程的一个“副作用”是,学生可能会对PCB制造领域方面的工作产生兴趣。随着对外包的重新关注以及对先进制造技术的新投资,学生将在该领域发现有趣的工程挑战。如果学生选择投身制造业,PCB设计课程可以为其成功做好准备。
在开始全面制造之前,学生可以通过功能原型设计和构建概念验证,获悉对前端设计和工程流程的精彩介绍。提高学生技能和知识的下一步是,设计和生产与第一轮原型的功能相匹配的定制电路板。宾夕法尼亚大学工程与应用科学学院ESE实验室计划主任Siddharth Deliwala表示:
“了解原型设计技能是ECE学生成为RF和高速数字设计领域优秀设计师的必要步骤。Altium Education是学生在参加任何高级工程课程之前学习PCB设计的完美入门课程。”

PCB设计师需求旺盛

也许最重要的是,由于劳动力短缺,预计未来几十年对PCB设计师的需求将会非常高。即使在今天,随着北美大多数PCB设计师接近退休年龄,劳动力危机也迫在眉睫。根据最近发表在《Printed Circuit Design & Fab》(PCD&F)杂志上的调查结果,北美PCB设计师群体的劳动力短缺预计只会变得更加严重。他们的调查发现:

  • 61%的设计师年龄在50岁以上,而只有23%的设计师年龄在35岁以下
  • 55%的设计师计划在未来10年内退出职业
  • 其中,超过25%将在未来五年内退休
  • 78%的设计师表示,由于年龄过大,他们将在未来15年内不再从事该领域的工作

了解Altium Education

电子行业和学术界有机会、也有责任开始培养下一代设计工程师。由于前所未有的劳动力短缺以及在线寻找优质教育资源方面遇到的困难,Altium着手为高中、社区学院和大学创建免费教育计划。

Altium Education计划使讲师和学生能够将行业领先的PCB设计教学内容纳入自己的课程或独立学习。该课程旨在以模块化格式使用;教师可以将各个模块纳入现有的工程课程,也可以按原样使用整个课程。对PCB设计感兴趣的学生也可以独立完成这些课程。最重要的是,这些课程都是免费提供的。只要学生拥有教育机构提供的有效电子邮件地址,他们就可以申请Altium Designer的教育凭证,以完成课程中的设计示例。

如果您有兴趣进一步了解面向大学生的Altium Education课程,请立即注册以获取课程访问权限。您可以免费注册并开始探索我们的教育资源。我们希望这些资源能够激励您将PCB设计主题纳入您的电气工程课程中。

关于作者

关于作者

Zachariah Peterson拥有学术界和工业界广泛的技术背景。在从事PCB行业之前,他曾在波特兰州立大学任教。他的物理学硕士研究课题是化学吸附气体传感器,而应用物理学博士研究课题是随机激光理论和稳定性。他的科研背景涵盖纳米粒子激光器、电子和光电半导体器件、环境系统以及财务分析等领域。他的研究成果已发表在若干经同行评审的期刊和会议论文集上,他还为多家公司撰写过数百篇有关PCB设计的技术博客。Zachariah与PCB行业的其他公司合作提供设计和研究服务。他是IEEE光子学会和美国物理学会的成员。

相关资源

相关的技术文档

返回主页
Thank you, you are now subscribed to updates.

Why PCB Design Courses Are Essential in an Engineering Curriculum

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: March 15, 2022  |  Updated: March 16, 2022
PCB Design Course

If semiconductors are like the organs in the human body, then a printed circuit board (PCB) is like the skeleton and vessels that give an electronic device its structure. Modern electronics as we understand them today would not be possible without PCBs, and the use of PCBs as packaging for electronic components is not going away any time soon. The PCBs in electronic devices, ranging from smartphones to the home appliances, have to be precisely engineered and carefully manufactured, otherwise products will not work correctly.

Despite the importance of PCBs in virtually every electronic product released to market today, you’d be surprised at how little the university system has focused on fostering educational programs focusing on printed circuit design and manufacturing. Understandably, the semiconductor industry has taken a place of prominence due to the massive engineering challenges involved in keeping up with Moore’s Law. The result is that PCBs are sometimes seen as an overblown way to connect computer chips together.

The reality is none of the electronics we enjoy or rely on can work properly if circuit boards are not designed and manufactured correctly. Circuit board design and manufacturing also draws on other areas of engineering beyond electronics. A PCB design course can help prepare students to tackle both sides of the design and manufacturing equation, ultimately making them more valuable when they enter the workforce.

Why Include PCB Design in Engineering Courses?

PCB design combines many of the fundamental concepts in electrical and electronics engineering with a focus on designing a physical product. Creating a manufacturable PCB is like solving a complex puzzle, where the rules are based on fundamental concepts in electrical engineering. It’s a fun and rewarding profession that includes multiple engineering challenges in every project.

Aside from being fun, PCB design is also a critical function in the electronics industry, one that has been overlooked throughout the past few decades. As a result, demand for competent PCB designers is expected to increase in the coming decades as the current workforce retires. PCB design courses will give students a head start should they pursue hardware engineering as a career. Students can gain some important benefits from PCB design courses as part of a regular electrical engineering curriculum.

Exposure to Industry Design Processes and Software

More than in other fields of engineering, PCB design follows a specific engineering workflow that guides design teams from product concept to a fully manufacturable design. A PCB design course exposes students to a standardized workflow that is implemented throughout the electronics industry. This workflow is enforced in PCB design software, and students will have a chance to see how real projects are completed in a professional environment. This is valuable experience that would normally require a student to participate in an internship.

PCB Design Combines Multiple Engineering Disciplines

At its core, PCB design has a solid foundation on electrical engineering, requiring students to draw from concepts in digital, analog, power, and microwave electronics, often when working through a single design. In any project, a designer will have to draw on concepts from multiple engineering disciplines to complete schematics, the physical layout, and ultimately a fully manufacturable design. This includes:

  • Fundamental circuit design and schematic capture
  • Simulation and analysis, ranging from SPICE to full-wave 3D field solvers
  • Physical layout, often within mechanical constraints
  • Electromagnetics concepts, specifically regarding wave propagation and radiation

Given that a single PCB project can draw concepts from so many areas of engineering, PCB design is an excellent opportunity to show the convergence among these fields in a practical sense. Even if students don’t end up working in the PCB industry after completing their degree, students will have gained exposure to the types of collaborative, multidisciplinary engineering projects they’ll encounter when they enter the workforce.

Exposure to Manufacturing

At the end of the day, hardware engineering is all about creating a design that can be manufactured at volume. PCB design places a heavy focus on design for manufacturing (DFM), where the constraints imposed by manufacturing processes are considered when creating a physical layout. PCB design gives students a great introduction to DFM strategies, and it helps students develop a thought process for approaching projects where manufacturing constraints apply. Students that have an understanding of DFM are better prepared to enter the workforce and start working on products that can be manufactured at volume.

PCB design courses
Electronics engineers that understand and can manage the PCB manufacturing process are in high demand.

A side effect of exposure to the PCB manufacturing process is that students might gain an interest in working in the PCB manufacturing field. With a renewed focus on onshoring and new investment in advanced manufacturing techniques, students will find fun and interesting engineering challenges in this area. A PCB design course can prepare students for success should they choose to pursue manufacturing as a career.
Before getting to full-scale manufacturing, students can get an excellent introduction to the front-end design and engineering process through functional prototyping and building proofs-of-concept. The next step to advancing student skill and knowledge is design and production of a custom circuit board that matches the functionality of the first-round prototype. According to Siddharth Deliwala, Director of ESE Lab Programs at School of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Pennsylvania,
“Understanding prototyping skills is a necessary step for ECE students to be great designers in RF and high speed digital design. Altium Education is the perfect introduction to PCB design for students to take before any advanced engineering class.”

PCB Designers Are In-Demand

Perhaps most importantly, PCB designers are projected to be in very high demand in the coming decades due to a workforce shortage. Even today, there is a workforce crisis looming on the horizon as the majority of PCB designers in North America near retirement age. According to recent survey results published in Printed Circuit Design & Fab (PCD&F) magazine, the workforce shortage among the North American cohort of PCB designers is only projected to get worse. Their survey found:

  • 61% of designers report being aged 50+ years, while only 23% are younger than 35 years
  • 55% of designers plan to leave the profession within the next 10 years
  • Of those, more than 25% will retire within the next five years
  • 78% of designers said they will no longer work in the field within the next 15 years due to aging out

Meet Altium Education

The electronics industry and academia have an opportunity and responsibility to start cultivating the next generation of design engineers. Due to the unprecedented workforce shortage and the difficulty in finding high-quality educational resources online, Altium set out to create a free educational program for high schools, community colleges, and universities.

The Altium Education program empowers instructors and students to incorporate industry-leading PCB design instructional content into their own curriculum or independent learning. The curriculum is designed to be consumed in a modular format; instructors can incorporate individual modules into their existing engineering courses, or they can use the entire course as-is. Students who are interested in PCB design can also work through these courses independently. Best of all, these courses are available free of charge. As long as students have a valid email address from an educational institution, they can request an educational license of Altium Designer so they can work through the design examples in the course.

If you’re interested in learning more about the Altium Education curriculum for college students, register for course access today. It’s free to sign up and start exploring our educational resources. We hope these resources can inspire you to incorporate PCB design topics into your electrical engineering coursework.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. He currently provides research, design, and marketing services to companies in the electronics industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University and conducted research on random laser theory, materials, and stability. His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental sensors, and stochastics. His work has been published in over a dozen peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written 1000+ technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Electronics Packaging Society, American Physical Society, and the Printed Circuit Engineering Association (PCEA), and he previously served on the INCITS Quantum Computing Technical Advisory Committee.

Recent Articles

Back to Home