Agile Embedded Software Development: Das Beste zweier Welten

Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: July 14, 2019  |  Updated: August 11, 2020

Single board computer

Für den Aufbau dieses Embedded Systems empfiehlt sich der Einsatz agiler Entwicklung

Als einzigartige Hardware-Plattformen, die Rechenleistung in einer Vielzahl von Anwendungen bereitstellen, vereinen Embedded Systems das Beste zweier Welten: Hardware-Design und Software-Entwicklung – davon träumt jeder Techniker. Designprozesse für einfachere Embedded Systems sind in der Regel linear. Die Hardware und die Embedded Software werden mitunter simultan von unterschiedlichen Designteams entwickelt. Mit immer komplexeren Systemen und steigenden Kundenanforderungen müssen Konstruktionsteams ihre konventionellen Methoden überdenken.

Agile Entwicklungsmethoden werden normalerweise mit Softwareprojekten assoziiert. Diese Entwurfs- und Entwicklungstechniken können jedoch auch für die Hardwareentwicklung – darunter die Entwicklung von Embedded Systems – eingesetzt werden. Da Embedded Software viele der Prozesse und Ideen der traditionellen Software-Entwicklung beinhaltet, ist sie auch für das agile embedded Software Development geeignet. Die Vereinheitlichung der Entwicklung von Embedded Software und Leiterplatten zu einem kohärenten Workflow erfordert ein Überdenken beider Prozesse hin zu einem iterativen, kontinuierlichen Prozess.

Werden diese Methoden korrekt implementiert, können sie dazu beitragen, unnötige Re-Designs zu vermeiden und sicherzustellen, dass die Produktfunktionalität den Kundenanforderungen besser entspricht. Um dies zu erreichen, bedarf es der richtigen Design- und Kollaborationswerkzeuge, die sich an jede Design-Methodik einschließlich der agilen Entwicklung anpassen lassen.

Agile Entwicklung an das Hardware-Design anpassen

Noch nie habe ich an einem Softwareprojekt mitgearbeitet, das termingerecht und innerhalb des Budgets abgeschlossen wurde. Das ist nunmal die betriebliche Realität. Hardware-Entwicklungsprojekte scheinen zumindest tendenziell planmäßig abgeschlossen zu werden, weshalb viele Projektmanager es vorziehen dürften, Hardware-Projekte zu leiten. Unabhängig davon, wie sorgfältig die Projektleiter die Entwicklung einer neuen Software-Plattform planen, kommt es fast immer zu unvorhergesehenen Inkompatibilitäten oder Änderungen der Kundenanforderungen.

Einer der zentralen Leitgedanken des agile embedded Software Development ist, dass Veränderungen während eines Designprozesses unvermeidlich sind. Darum muss ein Designteam flexibel auf Änderungen von Kundenanforderungen im Hinblick auf die elektrische Funktionalität, die Herstellbarkeit, das mechanische Design für ein Gehäuse oder die Verpackung reagieren können. Beim Entwurf von Embedded Systems sieht sich ein Entwicklungsteam dagegen mit Veränderungen aus zwei Richtungen konfrontiert: Störungen in der Lieferkette der PCB-Bauteile und Embedded Software.

Die Implementierung des iterativen Prozesses als Kernstück einer agilen Entwicklung hilft dem Designteam, sich rasch auf Änderungen im Verlauf des Entwicklungsprozesses einzustellen, sobald sie auftreten, statt sie erst nach Abschluss einer Chargenprüfung am Entwicklungsende zu berücksichtigen. Dies verlangt eine konsistente und klare Kommunikation zwischen den Teammitgliedern und den Kunden. Damit die Embedded Software- und Hardware-Komponenten eines Projekts simultan bearbeitet werden können, müssen beide Projektteams kooperieren

Embedded systems design

Wie verändert sich der traditionelle Arbeitsablauf beim agilen embedded Software Development?

Zu Beginn sollten die Anforderungen an Gestaltung und Funktion klar definiert werden – sowohl in Bezug auf die Hardware als auch auf die eingebettete Software. An dieser Stelle ist die Kommunikation mit dem Kunden entscheidend, da sie sicherstellt, dass der Kunde die Funktionsweise und Realisierbarkeit seines neuen Produkts vollständig versteht.

Im Rahmen der Anforderungsermittlung sollten die Meilensteine während des gesamten Projekts klar definiert, zugleich aber auch an Veränderungen angepasst werden können. Die Arbeit an Meilensteinen bei gleichzeitiger Berücksichtigung von Änderungen am Hardware- und Software-Design erfolgt in einem iterativen Prozess. Dieser iterative Prozess ist das Herzstück agiler Entwicklungsmethoden.

Ein häufiges Problem bei linearen Entwurfsprozessen ist das Fehlen von periodischen Reviews. Die Qualitätssicherung neigt dazu, zu spät in den Prozess einbezogen zu werden, was ein Re-Design aufwendig und teuer macht. PCB-Design und Software-Tests sollten entlang des gesamten Designprozesses durchgeführt werden. Beim Hardwareteil des Projekts sind Design-Rule-Checks und elektrische Simulationen der beste Weg, die Funktionalität vor der Prototypenfertigung zu untersuchen. Dadurch können Sie nötige Designmodifikationen viel früher im Entwicklungsprozess vornehmen.

BGA escape routing on a tan PCB

Es gibt zahlreiche Varianten agiler Prozesse, und die damit verbundenen Verfahren und Ideen sind zu umfangreich, um hier darauf einzugehen. Im Mittelpunkt einer erfolgreichen agile embedded Software Development steht jedoch der Einsatz einer Konstruktionssoftware mit den richtigen Funktionen für Entwicklung, Datenverwaltung und Kollaboration.

Verwendung von Tools für die Zusammenarbeit und das Versionsmanagement

Die Software-Industrie macht seit Jahren ausgiebig Gebrauch von Werkzeugen zur Versionskontrolle, und Hardware-Design-Plattformen holen endlich auf. Das Problem mit typischen PCB-Design-Plattformen besteht darin, dass die Embedded Software- und Hardware-Komponenten eines Projekts traditionell auf mindestens zwei verschiedene Computerprogramme konzentriert waren. Dies erfordert ein weiteres Werkzeug, um die Zusammenarbeit und Versionskontrolle während eines Projekts zu ermöglichen.

Eine Design-Plattform, die alle gängigen und fortschrittlichen Werkzeuge für das PCB-Design bereitstellt, wie sie für das Hardware- und Embedded Software-Design benötigt werden, erleichtert die Zusammenarbeit der Teammitglieder in einem Projekt erheblich. Wenn neben diesen Werkzeugen auch eine Versionskontrolle integriert ist, kann Ihr Team jederzeit schnell auf alte Designversionen zurückgreifen und somit die in der Software-Entwicklung gerne praktizierten Trial-and-Error-Methode nachahmen.

Da die Bauteilbeschaffung und -herstellung für jedes Hardware-Projekt eine Schlüsselrolle spielen, sollten sich die periodischen agilen Teammeetings während der Design-Iterationen darauf konzentrieren, alle notwendigen Änderungen zu bestimmen, um Störungen in der Lieferkette zu vermeiden. Diese können die Konzeption der Embedded Software während des Projektes beeinflussen.

Wenn Ihr Team über Echtzeit-Beschaffungs- und Obsoleszenz-Informationen innerhalb Ihrer Design-Plattform verfügt, können Sie betreffende Produktkomponenten schnell auswechseln und sogar den Zeitaufwand für Designänderungen reduzieren. Der Zugriff auf diese Beschaffungsinformationen früh im Designprozess hilft Ihrem Team, spätere Designmodifikationen zu vermeiden, da Sie Beschaffungsprobleme vorhersehen und Ihre Hardware-Plattform ggf. anpassen können.

Die Funktionen für Schaltplan-, PCB-Layout- und Embedded-System-Design in Altium Designer® können jetzt mit den Datenverwaltungsfunktionen in Altium Concord Pro® integriert werden. So steht Designern ein vollständiger Werkzeugsatz für die agile embedded Software Development zur Verfügung. Die TASKING-Funktionen in Altium Designer bieten ihnen einen branchenüblichen Werkzeugsatz, der für die Erstellung von Embedded Systems für zahlreiche Anwendungen erforderlich ist.

Kontaktieren Sie uns oder laden Sie eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer® und Altium Concord Pro herunter. Sie erhalten Zugang zu den besten Routing-, Layout-, Simulations- und MCAD-Kollaborationswerkzeugen der Branche in einem einzigen Programm. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Altium-Experten, um mehr zu erfahren.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Agile Development for Embedded Systems: The Best of Both Worlds

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  July 14, 2019

    Single board computer

    You might want to use agile development to build this embedded system

    As unique hardware platforms that provide computing power in a variety of applications, embedded systems combine the best of every techie’s dreams: hardware design and software development. Design processes for simpler embedded systems tend to be linear, and the hardware and embedded software may even be developed in parallel by different design teams. As systems become more complex, and as customer requirements continue to diversify, design teams need to rethink conventional methodologies.

    Agile development methodologies are normally referenced in terms of software, but these design and development techniques can be adapted to hardware design, including embedded systems development. As embedded software really requires many of the same processes and ideas used in traditional software development, it is also amenable to agile methodologies. Unifying embedded software design and PCB design into a coherent workflow requires rethinking both processes as an iterative, continuous process.

    If implemented correctly, these methods can help prevent unnecessary redesigns and ensure that a product’s functionality more closely matches a customer’s requirements. Pulling this off takes the right design and collaboration tools that are adaptable to any design methodology, including agile development.

    Adapting Agile Development to Hardware Design

    I have never worked on a software project that was delivered on schedule or on budget. It’s just the reality of the industry. Hardware development projects at least appear to have a tendency to be completed on schedule, thus many project managers might prefer to manage hardware projects. No matter how carefully project managers plan development for a new software platform, there is almost always some unforeseen incompatibility or change in customer requirements.

    One of the key tenets of agile design is that change during a design process is inevitable. As such, a design team needs to be adaptable to changes in customer requirements, electrical functionality, manufacturability, and even mechanical design for an enclosure and packaging. In embedded systems design, a development team faces changes from two directions: disruptions in the PCB component supply chain, and embedded software.

    Implementing the iterative process at the heart of agile development helps a design team quickly adapt during the development process and address changes as they arise, rather than addressing them following batch testing at the end of development. This requires consistent and clear communication between team members and with the end customer. Since the embedded software and hardware portions of a given project may be underway simultaneously, both sets of teams must collaborate.

    Embedded systems design

    How Does the Traditional Workflow Change?

    At the outset, design and functionality requirements should be clearly defined, both in terms of hardware and the embedded software. This is where communication with the customer becomes critical as it ensures the customer fully understands the functionality and feasibility of their new product.

    As part of defining requirements, milestones should be clearly specified throughout the project, but should also be adaptable to change. Working towards milestones while accommodating hardware and embedded software design changes is undertaken in an iterative process. This iterative process lies at the heart of agile development methods, both in software and hardware design.

    One common problem in linear design processes is lack of periodic testing. QA tends to involved too late in the process, making redesign extensive and expensive. PCB design and software testing should be conducted throughout the design process. With the hardware portion of the project, rules-checking features and electrical simulations are the best way to examine functionality before manufacturing prototypes. This helps you plan design modifications much earlier in the design process.

    BGA escape routing on a tan PCB

    There are many variants of agile processes, and the workflow and ideas involved in each are too long to list in a single article. At the heart of successful agile development for embedded systems is using design software with the right development, data management, and collaboration features.

    Using Collaboration and Version Control Tools

    The software industry has made copious use of version control tools for years, and hardware design platforms are finally catching up. The problem with typical PCB design platforms is that the embedded software and hardware portions of a project have been traditionally confined to at least two different programs. This requires yet another tool to provide collaboration and version control during a project.

    A design platform that provides all the standard and advanced PCB design tools required for hardware design and embedded software development nicely facilitates collaboration among team members on a single project. When version control tools are integrated alongside these features, your team can now quickly revert to old design versions when necessary, mimicking the trial-and-error process used in software development.

    As component sourcing and manufacturing are essential for any hardware project, periodic agile team meetings during design iterations should focus determining any necessary design changes to accommodate disruptions in the supply chain. These may influence the design of embedded software during the project.

    When your team has real-time sourcing and obsolescence information within your PCB/embedded software design platform, you can quickly swap components in your device and even reduce the time required for design modifications. Access to this sourcing information early in the design process can even help your team eliminate later design modifications as you can anticipate sourcing problems and adjust your hardware platform as necessary.

    The schematic, PCB layout, and embedded systems design features in Altium Designer® can now be integrated with the data management features in Altium Concord Pro®, giving designers a complete tool set for agile development of embedded systems. The TASKING features in Altium Designer give designers an industry-standard tool set required to create embedded systems for a variety of applications.

    Contact us or download a free trial of Altium Designer and Altium Concord Pro. You’ll have access to the industry’s best routing, layout, simulation, and MCAD collaboration tools in a single program. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home