Propagation Delay: Alles über CMOS-, ECL- und TTL-Ausbreitungsverzögerung in Hochgeschwindigkeits-PCBs 


Zachariah Peterson
|  Created: April 23, 2019  |  Updated: April 3, 2021
CPU und integrierte Schaltkreise auf schwarzer Leiterplatte

Ich erinnere mich noch an den 386 Computer, den mir meine Eltern als Kind geschenkt haben. Er war nützlich, um einfache QBasic-Programme zu schreiben und stundenlang Computerspiele zu spielen, aber die Computer von heute lassen meinen 386er PC ziemlich alt aussehen.

Mit der Weiterentwicklung der Computerarchitektur und der Nachfrage nach moderneren Geräten wird der Propagation Delay (dt. Ausbreitungsverzögerung) in Logikschaltungen zu einem wichtigen Designer-Parameter in einer Reihe von Systemen. Insbesondere die TTL-Ausbreitungsverzögerung kann für Ihre Anforderungen zu lang sein, wenn Sie vorhaben, serielle Datenübertragungsraten von mehr als 100 Mbit/s zu erreichen.

Übertragungsleitungen vs. Logikgatter

Der Begriff "Propagation Delay" wird austauschbar mit einer Reihe anderer Begriffe und in verschiedenen Kontexten verwendet. Bei der Beschreibung des Verhaltens von Signalen auf Übertragungsleitungen bezieht sich die Ausbreitungsverzögerung auf die Zeit, die ein Signal, sei es digital oder analog, benötigt, um auf einer Übertragungsleitung von seiner Quelle zu seinem Ziel zu gelangen. Diese Zeit wird auch als Übertragungsverzögerung oder Leitungsverzögerung bezeichnet. In der Mikrowellenbranche wird der Begriff Gruppenverzögerung verwendet, da diese mit der Gruppengeschwindigkeit einer Impulshüllkurve zusammenhängt, einem besonders wichtigen Parameter beim Umgang mit modulierten Analogsignalen.

In Logikschaltungen hat der Propagation Delay nichts mit der Zeit zu tun, die ein Signal benötigt, um vom Eingang zum Ausgang zu gelangen. Sie bezieht sich vielmehr auf die Schaltzeit, d.h. die Zeit, die ein Signal benötigt, um zwischen den Zuständen EIN und AUS zu wechseln. Die Ausgangsspannung einer digitalen Schaltung schaltet nicht unmittelbar. Dies liegt an der geladenen Lastkapazität am Ausgang, der Gategeometrie, der Mobilität der Ladungsträger am Ausgang und anderer Eigenschaften der Transistoren in einem Logikgatter.

Es gibt einige Kompromisse zwischen Stromverbrauch und Propagation Delay bei TTL-Geräten. Die TTL-Ausbreitungsverzögerung beträgt 33 ns oder weniger, abhängig von der Unterfamilie. Hochgeschwindigkeits-TTL hat eine Verzögerung von bis zu 6 ns, obwohl diese Unterfamilie mehr Strom verbraucht als andere Untertypen. Ein guter Kompromiss ist ein Gerät, das Schottky-TTL mit geringer Leistung verwendet, da dies eine Verzögerung von ~10 ns und einen Stromverbrauch von ~2 W aufweist.

Mit ECL in den Schnellgang treten

Im Vergleich zu CMOS- (~100 ns Propagation Delay) und TTL-Geräten (~10 ns) ist ECL eine viel schnellere Architektur und wird häufig in der Computerarchitektur eingesetzt. ECL bietet eine Ausbreitungsverzögerung von ~1 ns, was es für GHz-Taktraten nützlich macht. Der Nachteil bei der Verwendung von ECL ist, dass es sich um eine rein bipolare Logikfamilie handelt, die mit einem erheblichen Stromverbrauch einhergeht. Obwohl ECL und fortschrittlichere Architekturen schnellere Datenraten bieten, ist CMOS mit Taktraten von bis zu 4 GHz immer noch der Eckpfeiler von VLSI.

ECL-Geräte sind in der Regel für den Betrieb mit kleinen Signalschwankungen zwischen EIN- und AUS-Zuständen ausgelegt und haben eine entsprechend kleine Noise Margin. Im Gegensatz zu TTL- und CMOS-Logikschaltungen zieht ECL keine Stromspitzen aus der Stromversorgung. Da der aus der Stromversorgung entnommene Strom während des Schaltens konstant bleibt, fehlt bei ECL-Bausteinen eine wichtige Rauschquelle. ECL hat eine rein ohmsche Last, was bedeutet, dass der Ausgangsstrom im Vergleich zur CMOS- oder TTL-Logik relativ flach ist.

Transistors with TTL propagation delay

CMOS- und TTL-Propagation Delay in Ihrer Leiterplatte

Hersteller digitaler ICs messen in der Regel nur die Ausbreitungsverzögerung von einem einzelnen Gate aus und geben diese Messung als Verzögerung für das gesamte Gehäuse an. Die in Datenblättern für integrierte Schaltungen angegebenen Werte für den Propagation Delay sind aber nur dann korrekt, wenn jeweils nur ein Ausgang des Gehäuses schaltet. In Wirklichkeit erhöht sich die Verzögerung, wenn mehrere Logikschaltungen in einem Gehäuse gleichzeitig schalten.

Dies geschieht, weil die Stromleitungen, die Ausgangsleitungen und die Gate-Schaltung in einem Gehäuse eine parasitäre Induktivität aufweisen. Wenn ein Gate schaltet, induziert es eine gewisse Gegen-EMK in den anderen Gates, wodurch die Rate begrenzt wird, mit der der Ausgangsstrom zwischen den Logikzuständen wechselt. Die Ausbreitungsverzögerung kann sich für jedes zusätzliche Schaltgate um 100 bis 200 ps erhöhen. Bei CMOS-Bauelementen ist dies im Vergleich zur Ausbreitungsverzögerung für ein einzelnes Gate ein Tropfen auf dem heißen Stein. Bei ECL- oder TTL-Bausteinen stellt dies bei Gehäusen mit einer großen Anzahl von Logikschaltungen eine erhebliche Erhöhung der Ausbreitungsverzögerung dar.

Wenn Sie Hochgeschwindigkeits-PCBs entwerfen, sollten Sie Ihre Platine layouten und Verbindungen routen und dabei die untere Grenze der Ausbreitungsverzögerung berücksichtigen. Wenn Sie mehrere Signalnetze auf Ihrer Leiterplatte synchronisieren müssen, kann es am besten sein, eine digitale PLL zu verwenden, um serielle Daten mit einem externen Takt zu synchronisieren. Wenn ein IC-Gehäuse in einem Signalnetz vorhanden ist, müssen Sie die zusätzliche Propagation Delays kompensieren; entweder durch Anpassung der Leiterbahnlängen oder durch Verwendung eines digitalen PLL-Synthesizers. Dies ist wahrscheinlich die beste Methode, um Daten zwischen mehreren Signalnetzen zu synchronisieren und eine Kompensation bereitzustellen.

Synchronized swimmers

Mangelnde Synchronisation betrifft mehr als nur digitale Signalnetze
 

Hochgeschwindigkeitsgeräte sind bereits komplizierte Systeme, die die Beachtung von Designregeln erfordern, und das Übersehen dieser Regeln kann zu einer Reihe von Signalproblemen in Ihrem Gerät führen. Ein großartiges PCB-Design-Paket wie Altium Designer® enthält alle Tools, die Sie benötigen, um die Funktionalität Ihres nächsten High-Speed-Designs in einer vereinheitlichten Umgebung zu entwerfen und zu verifizieren. Die zugrundeliegende regelgesteuerte Design-Engine prüft Ihr Design anhand wichtiger High-Speed-Designregeln, während Sie Ihre Platine layouten. Mit dem neuen Altium 365 steht außerdem eine CAD-Platform zur Verfügung, mit der Sie eine noch bessere Kommunikation gewährleisten können, und zwar von überall aus.

Kontaktieren Sie uns oder laden Sie eine kostenlose Testversion von Altium Designer herunter, um Zugang zu den branchenweit besten Tools im Bereich Layout, Routing und Simulation zu erhalten. Sprechen Sie noch heute mit einem Altium-Experten, um mehr zu erfahren.

About Author

About Author

Zachariah Peterson verfügt über einen umfassenden technischen Hintergrund in Wissenschaft und Industrie. Vor seiner Tätigkeit in der Leiterplattenindustrie unterrichtete er an der Portland State University. Er leitete seinen Physik M.S. Forschung zu chemisorptiven Gassensoren und sein Ph.D. Forschung zu Theorie und Stabilität von Zufallslasern. Sein Hintergrund in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung umfasst Themen wie Nanopartikellaser, elektronische und optoelektronische Halbleiterbauelemente, Umweltsysteme und Finanzanalysen. Seine Arbeiten wurden in mehreren Fachzeitschriften und Konferenzberichten veröffentlicht und er hat Hunderte von technischen Blogs zum Thema PCB-Design für eine Reihe von Unternehmen verfasst. Zachariah arbeitet mit anderen Unternehmen der Leiterplattenindustrie zusammen und bietet Design- und Forschungsdienstleistungen an. Er ist Mitglied der IEEE Photonics Society und der American Physical Society.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    All About CMOS, ECL, and TTL Propagation Delay in High Speed PCBs

    Zachariah Peterson
    |  April 23, 2019

    CPU and integrated circuits on black PCB

    I still remember the 386 hand-me-down computer my parents gave me as a kid. It was useful for writing simple QBasic programs and spending hours playing computer games, but the computers of today leave my old 386 PC in the dust.

    With further development of computer architecture and the demands of more modern devices, the propagation delay in logic circuits becomes an important design parameter in a number of systems. In particular, TTL propagation delay may be too long for your needs, especially if you plan to exceed 100 Mbps serial data rates.

    Transmission Lines vs. Logic Gates

    The term “propagation delay” is used interchangeably with a number of other terms and in different contexts. In describing the behavior of signals on transmission lines, propagation delay refers to the amount of time required for a signal, whether digital or analog, to travel down a transmission line from its source to its destination. This time is also called transmission delay or line delay. The microwave community uses the term group delay as this is associated with the group velocity of a pulse envelope, a particularly important parameter when dealing with modulated analog signals.

    In logic circuits, propagation delay has nothing to do with the amount of time required for a signal to travel from the input to the output. It actually refers to the switching time, i.e., the time required for a signal to transition between ON and OFF states. The output voltage from a digital circuit does not switch instantaneously due to the charged load capacitance at the output, gate geometry, mobility of charge carriers at the output, and other characteristics of the transistors in a logic gate.

    There are some tradeoffs between power consumption and propagation delay for TTL devices. TTL propagation delay is 33 ns or less, depending on the sub-family. High-speed TTL has propagation delay reaching 6 ns, although this sub-family consumes more power than other subtypes. A good tradeoff is a device that uses low-power Schottky TTL, as this has a propagation delay of ~10 ns and power consumption ~2 W.

    Kicking Into Overdrive With ECL

    Compared to CMOS (~100 ns propagation delay) and TTL (~10 ns propagation delay) devices, ECL is a much faster architecture and is widely used in computing architecture. ECL offers propagation delay reaching ~1 ns, making it useful with GHz clock rates. The downside to using ECL is that it is an all-bipolar logic family, so it has significant power draw. Although ECL and more advanced architectures provide faster data rates, CMOS is still the cornerstone of VLSI with clock rates reaching 4 GHz.

    ECL devices are usually designed to operate with small signal swings between ON/OFF states and have correspondingly small noise margins. Unlike TTL and CMOS logic circuits, ECL does not draw current spikes from the power supply. Because the current drawn from the power supply remains constant during switching, an important noise source is absent from ECL devices. ECL has a purely resistive load, meaning that its output current is relatively flat compared to CMOS or TTL logic.

    Transistors with TTL propagation delay

    CMOS and TTL Propagation Delay in Your PCB

    Digital IC manufacturers typically only measure the propagation delay from a single gate and quote this measurement as the propagation delay for the entire package. The propagation delay values specified in data sheets for integrated circuits are only correct when one output from the package switches at a time. In reality, the propagation delay increases when multiple logic circuits in a package switch simultaneously.

    This occurs because the power lines, output lines, and gate circuit in a package have some parasitic inductance. When one gate switches, it induces some back EMF in the other gates, which limits the rate at which the output current switches between logic states. The propagation delay can increase by anywhere from 100 to 200 ps for each additional switching gate. With CMOS devices, this is a drop in the bucket compared to the propagation delay for a single gate. With ECL or TTL, this represents a significant increase in propagation delay in packages with a large number of logic circuits.

    When designing high speed PCBs, you should layout your board and route interconnects while considering the lower bound on propagation delay. If you need to synchronize multiple signal nets across your board, it may be best to use a digital PLL to synchronize serial data with an external clock. If there is an IC package in one signal net, you will need to compensate the extra propagation delay either by adjusting trace lengths or using a digital PLL synthesizer. This is arguably a preferred way to synchronize data between multiple signal nets and provide compensation.

    Synchronized swimmers

    Lack of synchronization affects more than just digital signal nets

    High-speed devices are already complicated systems that require paying attention to a number of design rules, and overlooking some of these rules can create a number of signal problems in your device. A great PCB design package like Altium Designer® contains all the tools you need to design and verify the functionality of your next high-speed design in a unified environment. The underlying rules-driven design engine checks your design against important high-speed design rules as you layout your board.

    Contact us or download a free trial of Altium Designer to get access to the industry’s best layout, routing, and simulation tools. Talk to an Altium expert today to learn more.

    About Author

    About Author

    Zachariah Peterson has an extensive technical background in academia and industry. Prior to working in the PCB industry, he taught at Portland State University. He conducted his Physics M.S. research on chemisorptive gas sensors and his Applied Physics Ph.D. research on random laser theory and stability.His background in scientific research spans topics in nanoparticle lasers, electronic and optoelectronic semiconductor devices, environmental systems, and financial analytics. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings, and he has written hundreds of technical blogs on PCB design for a number of companies. Zachariah works with other companies in the PCB industry providing design and research services. He is a member of IEEE Photonics Society and the American Physical Society.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home