Git-Tagging für die Hardware-Entwicklung mit der Altium Designer Git-Integration

Ari Mahpour
|  Erstellt: July 23, 2020  |  Aktualisiert am: May 3, 2022
Git-Tagging für die Hardware-Entwicklung mit der Altium Designer Git-Integration

Das Konzept der Versionskontrolle ist im Elektronikdesign branchenweit weitgehend standardisiert. Eine Revision besteht in der Regel aus einem Buchstaben und enthält manchmal eine Zahl. Es wurde zwar mit vielen anderen Revisionsschemata experimentiert, allerdings ist die standardmäßige Buchstabenrevision in unserer Branche meiner Erfahrung nach am weitesten verbreitet. Dennoch habe ich mich schon immer gefragt, was mit den ganzen Revisionen dazwischen passiert ist. Ich verstehe, dass eine Änderung im Revisionsbuchstaben für eine Freigabe steht, aber was ist mit all den Änderungen zwischen diesen Versionsfreigaben? Wie werden diese verfolgt?

Versionskontrollsysteme wie CVS, Subversion und Git haben es im Laufe der Zeit ermöglicht, diese Frage zu beantworten. Softwareentwickler sind wahrscheinlich mit Git vertraut, aber auch in der Hardware-Entwicklung bietet es hervorragende Möglichkeiten zur Nachverfolgung von Revisionen sowie zum Forken (Abzweigen) und zur Freigabe von Leiterplattenprojekten. Mit solchen Versionskontrollsystemen ist es möglich, jede Version zwischen den Freigaben anzuzeigen. In Kontinuierliche Integration und Bereitstellung in ECAD haben wir das Konzept der Freigabe einer neuen Version eines Projekts bei jedem Commit erläutert. In diesem Artikel widmen wir uns nun einem einfachen, aber effektiven Weg zur Freigabe über Ihren Git-Server mithilfe der Altium Designer Git-Integration, wobei die Verbindung mit dem Revisionsbuchstaben Ihrer Leiterplatte erhalten bleibt.

Git-Tagging für Ihre Leiterplatten

Git-Tagging ist eine Funktion in Git, mit der Benutzer einen bestimmten Commit für einen bestimmten Zweck taggen können. Die Benutzer taggen einen Commit, um seine Freigabe anzugeben. Zum Beispiel kann man den dritten Commit im Repository als Revision 1.0.0 taggen, und der zehnte Commit kann dann als Revision 1.1.0 getaggt werden. Es gibt keine richtige oder falsche Art, Tags zu verwenden, aber hauptsächlich wird diese Funktion für das Git-Tagging von Freigabepunkten verwendet. 

Ganz gleich, ob Sie verwaltete Projekte in Altium Concord Pro, GitHub, Bitbucket, Gitlab oder auf einem anderen Git-Server verwenden – alle bieten die Möglichkeit, einen Commit zu taggen. Bestimmte Git-Server verfügen über ein eigenes Tagging-System, das über ihre Weboberflächen ausgeführt werden kann, beispielsweise GitHub und Bitbucket. Für andere Git-Server können Sie den Befehl „git-tag“ in der Befehlszeile verwenden. Egal, wie man das Tagging in Git für die Hardware-Entwicklung implementieren möchte: das Team muss ein Revisionsbenennungssystem etablieren, damit jeder versteht, wie die verschiedenen Versionen miteinander in Beziehung stehen.

Verknüpfen Sie Ihr Release mit einem Git-Commit

Während die ECAD-Community zu einem Versionskontrollsystem wie Git migriert, ist es wichtig, die Verknüpfung zwischen Git und dem uns allen vertrauten Freigabeprozess beizubehalten. Oftmals wird mit der Frage gerungen, wie man seine Commits am besten in einem Versionskontrollsystem beibehalten kann und sich gleichzeitig die Freiheit bewahrt, ein offizielles Paket zum Versand (oder zur späteren Überprüfung) an Lieferanten zusammenzustellen. Dafür gibt es viele Möglichkeiten. Hierbei ist der Freigabeprozess nicht unbedingt eine Einheitslösung, aber ich würde empfehlen, ihn als Grundlage auszuprobieren und dann an die jeweiligen Anforderungen Ihrer Gruppe anzupassen.

Die größte Herausforderung besteht darin, alle Git-Commits zu verstehen und diese mit einem Freigabepaket zu verknüpfen. Hier ist ein Beispiel dafür, wie eine Reihe von Git-Commits in GitHub aussieht:

Git-Commit-Verlauf in einem GitHub-Repository
Abbildung 1. Git-Commit-Verlauf in einem GitHub-Repository

Wie Sie sehen können, gibt es viele Commit-Kommentare, die Designänderungen beschreiben, und andere Commit-Kommentare, die eine „offizielle Freigabe“ ankündigen. Viele Benutzer von Versionskontrollsystemen machen das so, und es funktioniert im Allgemeinen gut. Ich habe auch schon gesehen, dass Benutzer Freigabepakete im Repository gebündelt haben. Dies ist zwar nicht die sauberste Lösung (da so das Repository mit Dateien vermengt wird, die nichts mit dem Design zu tun haben). Dennoch ist sie zweckdienlich.

Anstatt Ihre offizielle Version in einem Commit-Kommentar bekanntzugeben, können wir das Konzept des Git-Tagging verwenden (in GitHub auch als „Releases“ (Freigaben) bezeichnet). In diesem Beispiel haben wir diese offiziellen Freigabe-Commits in die Freigaben in GitHub übernommen (die auch zu Tags werden):

Release-Ansicht für Design-Repository in GitHub
Abbildung 2. Release-Ansicht für Design-Repository in GitHub

Wie Sie oben sehen können, haben wir bestimmte Commits genommen und daraus Freigaben gemacht. GitHub hängt nun ein Tag an jeden dieser Commits an, und zwar folgendermaßen:

Tag-Ansicht für Design-Repository in GitHub
Abbildung 3. Tag-Ansicht für Design-Repository in GitHub

Und schließlich können wir jetzt in GitHub nach einer Freigabe oder einem Tag suchen:

Suchfeld für Tags GitHub
Abbildung 4. Suche nach Tags in GitHub

Verknüpfen Sie Ihren Schaltplan mit einem Git-Commit

Eine weitere Möglichkeit, die korrekte Verknüpfung zwischen Ihrem Leiterplattenprojekt und dem Git-Repository sicherzustellen, besteht darin, den Git-Hash in Ihrem Schaltplan selbst zu verfolgen. Das ist ein kleiner Trick, den John Watson mir gezeigt hat, als wir noch mit Subversion gearbeitet haben. Durch die Verwendung spezieller Strings kann man seinen Schaltplan (und seine Leiterplatte) direkt mit dem Git-Commit verknüpfen, in denen sie auf den Git-Server gepusht werden. In diesem Beispiel haben wir den Versionskontrollstring direkt im Titelblock auf dem Schaltplan der obersten Ebene platziert:

Git-Hash direkt über dem Titel platziert
Abbildung 5. Git-Hash als spezieller String

Wie Sie oben sehen können, werden zwei Versionen des Git-Hashs im Schaltplan dargestellt: der erste ist der vollständige Git-Hash und der zweite ist die verkürzte Version (wie sie auch in GitHub verwendet wird). Um den Hash mit voller Länge zu benutzen, habe ich den folgenden speziellen String eingegeben:

=VersionControl_ProjFolderRevNumber

Wenn Sie dies mit dem Titel vor dem String verketten möchten, müssen Sie Folgendes hinzufügen:

=’Git Hash:’ + VersionControl_ProjFolderRevNumber

Beim Schreiben dieses Artikels wurde jedoch festgestellt, dass dieser spezielle String zu lang war, um ihn zu verketten. Dieses Problem lässt sich umgehen, indem man VersionControl_ProjFolderRevNumber auf einen kürzeren Parameter setzt. Hier wurde ein Parameter erstellt und im Properties Panel für diesen spezifischen Schaltplan gleich VersionControl_ProjFolderRevNumber gesetzt.

Git-Hash als Angabe im Properties Panel
Abbildung 6. Neudefinition des Git-Hash-Parameters im Properties Panel

Nachdem Sie nun einen verkürzten Parameter erstellt haben, können wir den String bearbeiten. In diesem Fall wollen wir nur die ersten 7 Zeichen des Git-Hashes, genauso wie GitHub seine Git-Hashes anzeigt. Wir verwenden die folgende verkettete und manipulierte spezielle String-Anweisung:

='Git Hash: ' + Copy(GitHash,1,7)

Beachten Sie, dass alle verwendeten Funktionen zur Bearbeitung von Strings aus der Sprache Delphi stammen. Die Teilstring-Technik ist ein einfacher Copy-Funktionsaufruf von Delphi, der in den Textstring eingebettet ist. Sobald Sie oder Ihr Team Design-Dokumente aus einem Git-Release in Altium Designer öffnen, sehen sie das Tag darin, das einen konkreten Link zur kontrollierten Revision enthält.

Implementierung von Git für die Hardware-Entwicklung in Altium 365

Da die Industrie beginnt, Revisionen in Git für die Hardware-Entwicklung zu verwenden, sowohl lokal als auch in der Cloud, ist es wichtig, die Verbindung zwischen der offiziellen Leiterplatten-Designfreigabe und dem tatsächlichen Git-Commit (Hash) zu verstehen, der im Versionskontrollsystem existiert. Mit dem Konzept des Git-Hashings und der Nutzung dieser Funktion bei der Freigabe eines Leiterplatten-Designprojekts innerhalb eines Versionskontrollsystems kann diese Verbindung aufrechterhalten und die beiden Prozesse (oder Systeme) synchron gehalten werden.

Anstatt ein Versionskontrollsystem eines Drittanbieters zu verwenden, können Sie Git für die Hardware-Entwicklung mit Altium Designer und der Altium-365-Plattform implementieren. Dieses System ersetzt eine cloudbasierte Git-Lösung für die Versionskontrolle und ermöglicht Ihrem Team den sofortigen Import von Projekten in Altium Designer. Alternativ können Sie Altium Concord Pro auch lokal implementieren und Ihrem Team damit ein komplettes Set von Versionskontroll- und Datenmanagementfunktionen zur Verfügung stellen, die sich mit Altium Designer integrieren lassen.

Altium Designer auf Altium 365 bietet der Elektronikindustrie eine beispiellose Integration, die bisher der Welt der Softwareentwicklung vorbehalten war. So können Designer von zu Hause aus arbeiten und ein noch nie dagewesenes Maß an Effizienz erreichen.

Wir haben nur ganz oberflächlich behandelt, was mit Altium Designer auf Altium 365 möglich ist. Besuchen Sie die Produktseite für eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Funktionen oder nehmen Sie an einem unserer On-Demand-Webinare teil.

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Über den Autor / über die Autorin

Ari is an engineer with broad experience in designing, manufacturing, testing, and integrating electrical, mechanical, and software systems. He is passionate about bringing design, verification, and test engineers together to work as a cohesive unit.

neueste Artikel

Zur Startseite

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Git Tagging and Git for Hardware Development in Altium Designer

    Ari Mahpour
    |  July 23, 2020
    Git Tagging and Git for Hardware Development in Altium Designer

    The concept of revisioning in electronics design has stayed fairly standard across the industry. A revision will typically consist of a letter and sometimes contain a number. There are many other revision schemes which people have experimented with, but, from my experience, the standard letter revision seems to be prevalent within our industry. One question that I have always asked myself is: What happened to all the revisions in between? I understand that a change in a revision letter means a release, but what about all the changes between those releases? How are those tracked?

    Over time, this question has been addressed with version control systems such as CVS, Subversion, and Git. Software developers are most likely familiar with Git, but using Git for hardware development is a great way to track revisions, fork PCB projects, and release projects. These version control systems gave us the ability to view each version in between the releases. In Continuous Integration and Deployment in ECAD, we discussed the concept of releasing a new version of a project at every commit. In this article, we will review a simple, yet effective way of releasing through your Git server, but while still maintaining the linkage with your PCB’s revision letter.

    Git Tagging for Your PCBs

    Git Tagging is a feature in Git that enables users to designate a specific commit for a special purpose. Users will “tag” a commit to indicate its release. For example, one may tag the third commit in the repository as Revision 1.0.0, whereas ten commits later that commit may end up being tagged as Revision 1.1.0. There is no right or wrong way to use tags, but the use of Git tagging for release points is typically the primary use of this feature. 

    Whether you are using Managed Projects in Altium Concord Pro, GitHub, Bitbucket, Gitlab, or any other form of Git server, they all come with the ability to tag a commit. Some Git servers have their own tagging system that can be run from their web interfaces such as GitHub and Bitbucket. For other Git servers, you can use the git-tag command from the command line. No matter how you decide to implement tagging in Git for hardware development, a team needs to create a revision naming system so that everyone understands how different versions are related to each other.

    Linking Your Release to a Git Commit

    As the ECAD community migrates to a version control system such as Git, it is important to maintain the linkage between Git and the release process that we are all familiar with. Many have struggled with determining the best way to keep their commits in a version control system while maintaining the freedom to put together an official package that can be sent to vendors (or sent for review at a later point in time). There are many ways to go about this. I am proposing that the release process may not be a one-size-fits-all solution, but I would recommend trying it as a baseline and then catering it towards your group’s needs.

    The biggest challenge is making sense of all the Git commits and then linking that to a release package. Here is an example of what a series of Git commits look like in GitHub:

    Git commit
    Figure 1. Git commit history in a GitHub repository

    As you can see, there are many commit comments that describe design changes, and other various commits comments that proclaim an “official release.” This is prevalent among many version control system users, and it generally works. I’ve also seen users bundling release packages within the repository as well. While this may not be the cleanest solution (as it pollutes the repository with non-design files), it does seem to get the trick done.

    Rather than making your official release known in a commit comment, we can leverage the concept of git tagging (or also known as “Releases” in GitHub). In this example, we have taken those official release commits and made them into releases in GitHub (which also become tags):

    Release view
    Figure 2. Release view for design repository in GitHub

    As you can see above, we have taken specific commits and made releases out of them. GitHub now attaches a tag to each of these commits, like so:

    Tag view
    Figure 3. Tag view for design repository in GitHub

    Finally, we can now search by release or tag in GitHub like so:

    searching for tags
    Figure 4. Searching for tags in GitHub

    Linking Your Schematic to a Git Commit

    Another way to ensure proper linkage between your PCB project and Git repository is by keeping track of the Git hash in your schematic itself. This is a little trick that John Watson showed me back when we were using Subversion. By making use of special strings, one can link their schematic (and PCB) directly to the Git commit in which they are pushing to the Git server. In this example, we’ve placed the version control string on the top-level schematic right by the title block:

    Git hash
    Figure 5. Git Hash used as a Special String

    As you can see above there are two versions of the Git hash depicted on the schematic: the first is the full Git hash, and the second is the shortened version (just like what is used in GitHub). To use the full-length one, I entered the following special string:

    =VersionControl_ProjFolderRevNumber

    If you would like to concatenate this with the title in front, you would add the following:

    =’Git Hash:’ + VersionControl_ProjFolderRevNumber

    At the time of this writing, however, it was discovered that this special string was too long to be concatenated. A workaround could be to set VersionControl_ProjFolderRevNumber to a shorter parameter. In this case, a parameter was created and set equal to VersionControl_ProjFolderRevNumber in the Properties Panel for this particular schematic.

    Redefining the Git
    Figure 6. Redefining the Git hash parameter in the Properties Panel

    Now that you have created a shortened parameter, we can manipulate the string. In this case, we want only the first 7 characters of the Git hash, just like GitHub uses when they display their Git hashes. We use the following concatenated and manipulated special string statement:

    ='Git Hash: ' + Copy(GitHash,1,7)

    Keep in mind that any string manipulation function used comes from the Delphi language. The substring technique is a simple Copy function call from Delphi embedded into the text string. Once you or your team opens design documents from a Git release in Altium Designer, they will see the tag in the design documents, providing a concrete link back to the controlled revision.

    Implementing Git for Hardware Development in Altium 365

    As the industry starts using revisions in Git for hardware development, both on-premises and in the cloud, it is important to understand the connection between the official PCB design release and the actual Git commit (hash) that exists within the version control system. The concept of Git hashing and how to use this feature when releasing a PCB design project within a version control system, we can maintain this linkage and keep the two processes (or systems) in sync.

    Instead of using a 3rd party version control system, you can implement Git for hardware development with Altium Designer and the Altium 365 platform. This system replaces a cloud-based Git solution for version control and allows your team to instantly import projects into Altium Designer. Alternatively, you can deploy Altium Concord Pro on-premises, giving your team a complete set of version control and data management features that integrate with Altium Designer.

    Altium Designer on Altium 365 is bringing an unprecedented amount of integration to the electronics industry, which has been relegated to the world of software development, allowing designers to work from home and reach unprecedented levels of efficiency.

    We have only scratched the surface of what is possible to do with Altium Designer on Altium 365. You can check the product page for a more in-depth feature description or one of the On-Demand Webinars.

    About Author

    About Author

    Ari is an engineer with broad experience in designing, manufacturing, testing, and integrating electrical, mechanical, and software systems. He is passionate about bringing design, verification, and test engineers together to work as a cohesive unit.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home