Op-Amp Layout Guidelines for Noise Reduction in Your PCB

Créé: February 6, 2018
Mise à jour: December 2, 2020

Stereo dials with a hand turning one

Je me souviens d’une époque où je m’acharnais à monter une chaîne stéréo avec des haut-parleurs amplifiés pour obtenir le véritable son parfait. Vous réalisez alors tous les effets dévastateurs que l’excès de puissance et les amplificateurs à plusieurs étages peuvent avoir sur votre musique préférée. J’ai donc réalisé à quel point les amplificateurs opérationnels jouaient un rôle fondamental. Les amplis-ops sont des dispositifs remarquablement utiles dans la conception des PCB. Grâce à leur présence dans de nombreux dispositifs, la vie moderne mérite son nom.

Comme les amplificateurs opérationnels sont des composants analogiques, ils peuvent être très sensibles au bruit électronique. Si vous voulez être certain qu’aucun bruit ne gênera vos signaux, vous devez suivre les bonnes directives sur la disposition des amplificateurs opérationnels pour votre prochaine carte de circuit imprimé. Nous avons compilé quelques conseils que vous pouvez utiliser pour vous assurer que vos circuits analogiques seront exempts de bruit et que vos amplis-ops fonctionneront comme prévu.

  1. Utilisez un condensateur de dérivation
  2. Faites attention à la capacité parasite entre les broches de sortie et d'entrée
  3. Éliminez la chaleur des amplificateurs à haute puissance
  4. Séparez les composants analogiques et numériques

Principes de base des amplificateurs opérationnels

Les amplificateurs opérationnels sont des composants de conditionnement du signal capables de filtrer et d'amplifier les signaux grâce à une opération arithmétique de base. Un amplificateur opérationnel a trois bornes : une entrée inverse, une entrée non inverse et une sortie qui constitue la base de nombreuses configurations. La sortie est simple, ce qui signifie qu'elle est référencée à un certain niveau de masse dans votre PCB. C'est normalement le plan de masse analogue le plus proche. Cependant, des amplis-ops différentiels sont également disponibles pour travailler avec des paires différentielles.

Tous les amplificateurs opérationnels présentent ces caractéristiques : un gain élevé en boucle ouverte, une impédance d'entrée élevée, une faible impédance de sortie et une bande passante limitée. Un amplificateur typique peut avoir un gain de 10 000 ou plus. L'impédance d'entrée est inférieure à 100 ohms et l'impédance de sortie est généralement d'au moins 0,25 MOhm.

Chart of operational amplifier formula

Amplificateur opérationnel : un composant électronique simple mais polyvalent.

Les amplis-ops ont des règles de fonctionnement assez simples. Si vous appliquez une entrée positive à l'entrée non-inverseuse, l'amplificateur opérationnel produira une oscillation positive à la sortie. De même, si vous appliquez une tension positive à l’entrée inverseuse, une oscillation négative se produira à la sortie. En bref, la sortie est proportionnelle à la différence entre les tensions des deux entrées.

Le gain est obtenu en ajoutant une boucle de rétroaction entre la sortie et l'une des entrées. La rétroaction CC n'implique que des résistances, tandis que des inducteurs ou des condensateurs sont utilisés pour créer une rétroaction avec un gain dépendant de la fréquence. La liste des applications des amplificateurs opérationnels est interminable, mais les plus courantes incluent des comparateurs de tension, des redresseurs actifs, des filtres de signaux et des suiveurs de tension.

Lignes directrices d’agencement des amplis-ops pour PCB

Vous trouverez souvent des amplificateurs opérationnels dont le rôle se situe entre celui d’un composant analogique et celui d’un composant numérique. Parmi les utilisations des amplificateurs opérationnels, vous trouvez l'amplification des signaux analogiques bruts provenant des capteurs avant d'être capturés par un convertisseur A/N dans un microcontrôleur ou un autre circuit. Ils sont également couramment utilisés dans les applications audio. Lorsque vous concevez des amplis-op, il est important de tenir compte des directives suivantes concernant leur agencement :

1. Utilisez un condensateur de dérivation

L'amplificateur opérationnel a besoin d'une tension stabilisée pour produire le bon signal de sortie. Pour supprimer le bruit électronique produit par la commutation de l'alimentation électrique, placez un condensateur de dérivation mis à la terre près de la broche d'alimentation de l'amplificateur opérationnel. Le chemin du condensateur de dérivation entre la broche d'alimentation des amplis-op et la connexion à la terre doit être court.

Closeup of electronic circuit board that is blue

Un condensateur de dérivation garantit que l'amplificateur opérationnel produira la sortie correcte.

2. Faites attention à la capacité parasite entre les broches de sortie et d'entrée

Il est bien connu que le réglage du plan de masse réduit la sensibilité au bruit électronique en diminuant l'inductance de boucle. Cependant, pour concevoir un amplificateur opérationnel, lorsque le plan de masse s'étend sous tout l'amplificateur opérationnel et passe sous ses broches d'entrée, une capacité parasite peut être introduite entre les broches d'entrée et la sortie. Cette capacité parasite peut permettre aux composants à haute fréquence du signal de sortie de se coupler à la broche d'entrée non mise à la terre. C'est un problème connu dans la conception des amplificateurs de puissance à haute fréquence.

3. Éliminez la chaleur des amplificateurs à haute puissance

Lorsque vous utilisez un amplificateur opérationnel puissant, vous devez maintenir une jonction à basse température pour éviter les risques de surchauffe. Des techniques appropriées de dissipation de la chaleur peuvent évacuer l'excès de chaleur, tels que des vias thermiques ou des dissipateurs de chaleur. Des amplificateurs opérationnels à haute puissance peuvent être installés dans des circuits intégrés qui incluent un dissipateur thermique fixé à la matrice pour dissiper la chaleur directement à l'intérieur de la carte.

4. Séparez les composants analogiques et numériques

Les techniques de conception appropriées pour les appareils analogiques s'appliquent également aux amplis-ops. Un ampli-op est souvent utilisé pour amplifier un signal de faible puissance avant son introduction dans un convertisseur A/N. Ne placez pas les composants numériques en aval dans la même région que vos autres composants analogiques. Vous éviterez ainsi que le bruit électronique de la section numérique de la carte se couple à la section analogique en amont.

Éviter les erreurs de schématique grâce à un logiciel de conception interactif

La mise en place d'un amplificateur opérationnel peut être un processus long et difficile si vous n’utilisez pas la bonne technologie d’agencement des circuits imprimés. La possibilité d'accéder à l'historique complet de la conception et de personnaliser efficacement l’agencement des composants peut faire la différence entre un schématique non fonctionnel et une conception performante. Il est beaucoup plus facile de concevoir des systèmes analogiques avancés lorsque vous disposez du bon logiciel de conception de circuits imprimés pour vous aider à suivre les directives d'implantation des amplificateurs opérationnels. CircuitStudio® d'Altium vous aidera à développer une conception thermiquement stable avec une intégration précise et un espacement adéquat entre les composants analogiques et numériques.

Avez-vous besoin d’autres conseils sur la conception des amplificateurs opérationnels ? Parlez-en à un expert Altium.

 

Articles les Plus Récents

Retournez à la Page d'Accueil

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Op-Amp Layout Guidelines for Noise Reduction in Your PCB

    February 6, 2018

    Stereo dials with a hand turning one

    I remember my younger self daisy chaining a stereo system and powered speakers to try and get that perfect sound. You quickly realize the power of amplifiers and the havoc that multistage amplifiers can wreak on your favorite music. I was specifically reminded of a fundamental component: operational amplifiers. Op-amps are particularly useful devices in a PCB design and they form the basis of many devices that make modern life possible.

    As op-amps are analog components, they can be quite sensitive to noise. If you want to ensure your signals are noise-free, you need to follow the right op-amp layout guidelines for your next circuit board. We've compiled some tips you can use to ensure your analog circuits will be noise free and your op-amps will work as intended.

    1. Use a Bypass Capacitor
    2. Pay Attention to Stray Capacitance Between Output and Input Pins
    3. Remove Heat from High Power Amplifiers
    4. Separate Analog and Digital Components

    Basic Principles of Operational Amplifiers

    Operational amplifiers are signal conditioning components capable of filtering and amplifying signals through basic arithmetic operation. An operational amplifier has three terminals: an inverting input, a non-inverting input, and an output which forms the basis of many configurations. The output is single-ended, meaning it is referenced to some ground level in your board. This is normally the nearest analog ground plane. However, differential op-amps are also available for working with differential pairs.

    All operational amplifiers display these characteristics: high open loop gain, high input impedance, low output impedance, and a limited bandwidth. A typical amplifier can have a gain of 10,000 or more. The input impedance is less than 100 ohms and the output impedance is typically at least 0.25 MOhm.

    Chart of operational amplifier formula
    Operational amplifier: a simple but versatile electronics component.

    Op-amps have some pretty simple rules of operation. If you apply a positive input to the non-inverting input, the operational amplifier will produce a positive swing at the output. Similarly, if you apply a positive voltage to the inverting input, a negative swing will occur at the output. In short, the output is proportional to the difference between the voltages on both inputs.

    Gain is provided by adding a feedback loop between the output and one of the inputs. DC feedback only involves resistors, while inductors or capacitors are used to create feedback with frequency-dependent gain. The list of op-amp applications goes on forever, but the most common include voltage comparators, active rectifiers, signal filters, and voltage followers.

    Op-amp PCB Layout Guidelines

    You’ll often find op-amps playing a role somewhat between that of analog and digital components. One use of operational amplifiers is amplifying raw analog signals from sensors before being captured with an ADC in a microcontroller or other circuit. They are also commonly used in audio applications. When designing with op-amps, it is important to be aware of the following op-amp layout guidelines:

    1. Use a Bypass Capacitor

    The operational amplifier needs a stabilized voltage to produce the right output signal. To suppress noise produced when switching the power supply, place a grounded bypass capacitor close to the supply pin of the operational amplifier. The bypass capacitor should have a short path between the op-amps power pin and the ground connection.

    Closeup of electronic circuit board that is blue
    A bypass capacitor will ensure the operational amplifier produces the correct output.

    2. Pay Attention to Stray Capacitance Between Output and Input Pins

    It’s common knowledge that setting a ground plane reduces noise susceptibility by reducing loop inductance. However, in the case of op-amp design, when the ground plane spans below the entirety of the op-amp and passes beneath the op-amp's input pins, stray capacitance can be introduced between the input pins and the output. This stray capacitance can allow high frequency components on the output signal to couple back to the un-grounded input pin. This is a known problem in high frequency power amplifier design.

    3. Remove Heat from High Power Amplifiers

    When using a power op-amp, you'll need to maintain a low-temperature junction to prevent thermal runaway. Proper heat dissipation techniques, including thermal vias or heat sinks, may help in dissipating excess heat. High power op-amps may be packaged in ICs that include a die-attached heat sink, which can be used to dissipate heat directly into the interior of the board.

    4. Separate Analog and Digital Components

    Proper design techniques for analog devices apply to op-amps as well. An op-amp is often used to amplify a low-level signal before it is fed into an ADC for amplification. Don't place the downstream digital components within the same region as your other analog components. This will prevent noise from the digital section of the board from coupling back into the upstream analog section.

    Avoid Schematic Errors With Interactive Design Software

    Op-amp layout can be a challenging and lengthy process without the right PCB layout technology. The ability to access complete design history and efficiently customize component layout can mean the difference between a nonfunctional schematic and a high-performing design. Designing advanced analog systems is much easier when you have the right PCB design software to help you follow op-amp layout guidelines. Altium’s CircuitStudio® will help you develop a thermally stable design with accurate integration and adequate clearance between analog and digital components.

    Need more tips on designing op-amps? Talk to an expert at Altium.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home