Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

KAUFEN

Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Vereinheitlichte Designumgebung, hoch produktives System und Nativer 3D PCB Editor

  • CircuitStudio

    Das professionelle PCB-Designtool, mit dem Sie sofort loslegen können

  • CircuitMaker

    Das leistungsfähige PCB-Designtool - maßgeschneidert für Ihre Community

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD-PLATTFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    Weltbekannt als Anbieter überragender Compiler-Technologien

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    Natives 3D PCB-Design für professionelle Elektronikentwickler

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Hier können sich Altium Anwender austauschen

    • Blog

      Unser Blog über Themen, die uns und hoffentlich auch Sie interessieren

    • Ideen

      Reichen Sie Ihre Ideen ein und stimmen Sie über zukünftige Funktionen ab

    • Bug Crunch

      Helfen Sie uns dabei, unsere Software zu verbessern

    • Pinnwand

      Eine fortlaufende Übersicht aktueller Ereignisse auf AltiumLive

    • Beta-Programm

      Informationen zu unserem Beta-Programm und den Teilnahmebedingungen

    ERFOLGE UNSERER KUNDEN

    Unsere Kunden erreichen Bahnbrechendes in allen Branchen - sehen Sie, wie

    KAUFEN

    Kontaktieren Sie unsere lokalen Vertriebsbüros

    Downloads

    Finden Sie die Download-Option, die am besten zu Ihren Bedürfnissen passt

    • Dokumentation

      In den TechDocs finden Sie unsere umfangreiche Online-Dokumentation - völlig kostenlos

    • Training & Events

      Terminübersicht ansehen und zu Veranstaltungen weltweit anmelden

    • Design Content

      Schauen Sie in unsere umfangreiche Bibliothek, die Bauteile, Template und Referenzdesign beinhaltet

    • Webinare

      Nehmen Sie an einem Live-Webinar teil oder schauen Sie sich unsere Webinaraufzeichnungen an

    • Support

      Loggen Sie neue Cases und sehen Sie bestehende Cases ein

    • Technische Unterlagen

      Mit unserer Sammlung an Whitepapern bleiben Sie immer über die neuesten Technologien und Branchentrends informiert.

    • Videobibliothek

      Hilfreiche, kurze Videos, die Ihnen den Einstieg mit Altium Designer erleichtern

    Baugruppen-Prototyping (fast) ohne Risiko

    Dave Young
    |  May 28, 2020
    Mit Supply-Chain-Management reduzieren Sie das Fertigungsrisiko Ihrer Flachbaugruppe deutlich.
    Mit Supply-Chain-Management reduzieren Sie das Fertigungsrisiko Ihrer Flachbaugruppe deutlich.

    Es beschleicht einen schon ein besonderes Gefühl, wenn ein Design fertiggestellt ist und man die ersten Leiterplatten beim Baugruppenhersteller in Auftrag gibt. Auch wenn kein Entwickler der Welt dieses besondere Gefühl gegen irgendetwas eintauschen würde: Das damit verbundene Unbehagen aus der Welt zu schaffen, ist sicherlich sehr willkommen. Dazu finden Sie hier einige Reviewpunkte, die Ihre Nerven besser beruhigen werden als ein Feierabend-Besuch in der Bar – Ihre Fehlervermeidung ist damit weitaus effektiver!

    Schon bevor Sie die Leiterplattenfertigungs- und Bestückungsdienstleistungen beauftragen, können Sie einiges tun, um die Lieferzeiten zu verkürzen. Betrachten Sie frühzeitig die Beschaffungskette und stellen Sie DFM/DFA sicher. Indem Sie diese Aspekte bereits während der Entwicklung konsequent berücksichtigen, können Sie den Aufwand bei der Designprüfung und die Montage-/Fertigungszeiten reduzieren. Auch unnötige Redesigns Ihrer Baugruppe lassen sich so wirksam vermeiden, wenn Sie auf folgende Punkte achten.

    Keine Teile? Keine Boards.

    Supply-Chain-Management, einst eine gelegentliche frustrierende Lektion in Geduld und Planung, ist mittlerweile schon in der Prototypenphase ein kritischer Designfaktor. Nichts ist schlimmer, als ein mehrere Millionen Dollar teures Entwicklungsprojekt um eine Woche verzögert zu haben, weil zehn schäbige Mikrocontroller zu je 2 Dollar nicht für den Prototypenbau beschafft werden konnten.

    Herkömmliche passive Bauelemente, Dioden, LEDs oder Standard-ICs sind meist leicht zu ersetzen und erfordern wahrscheinlich keine größeren Änderungen Ihres Layouts. Ein nicht verfügbarer Mikrocontroller, FPGA, SoC oder andere Spezialbauteile können ein nahezu vollständiges Redesign Ihrer Flachbaugruppe erzwingen. Sie sollten deshalb immer frühzeitig die Komponentenverfügbarkeit und Beschaffungszeiten prüfen, bevor Sie einen Fertigungsauftrag erteilen. Den Suchfunktionen in Ihren Design-Tools kommt hier eine wichtige Rolle zu. Sie helfen Ihnen dabei, Beschaffungsdaten und Bauteilsymbole und Anschlussbelegungen zu finden.

    Am besten ist es, für alle Bauteile Mustermengen zu bestellen, sobald der Schaltplan fertig ist. Sicher. Niemand mag Hamster, die in knappen Zeiten einen Haufen Bauteile horten, aber wir reden hier nur über vergleichsweise wenige Bauteile. Die potenzielle Verschwendung eines Viertels der Komponenten, die bis zur Serienreife aus der Baugruppe wieder herausentwickelt wurden, sind nichts im Vergleich zu der Zeit, die Firmware-Entwickler verschwenden, wenn sie keine Hardware haben, an der sie arbeiten können. Kurzer Hinweis: Es ist auch wichtig, den Moisture Sensitivity Level (MSL) jedes Bauteils zu kontrollieren. Ein Hersteller muss die Teile eventuell vor dem Platzieren auf der Leiterplatte für das SMT-Reflow-Verfahren trocknen.

    Reduzieren Sie die Produktionszeit für die PCB-Bestückung (PCBA), indem Sie sich frühzeitig mit der Lieferkette befassen.
    Reduzieren Sie die Produktionszeit für die PCB-Bestückung (PCBA), indem Sie sich frühzeitig mit der Lieferkette befassen.

    Design-Reviews machen Spaß!

    Die meisten Ingenieure wissen zwei Dinge über das Design-Review ganz gewiss: a) Es ist für eine A-Release zwingend erforderlich, b) das Review abzuschließen, kann ein großer Gefallen sein, um den man einen Kollegen bitten muss. Ein Design-Review muss jedoch für den Reviewer nicht zur Tortur werden. Wie bei allem anderen auch lässt sich der Prozess durch monetären Anreiz und Wettbewerb unterhaltsamer gestalten! So könnte der Designer den Reviewer z. B. für gefundene Fehler bezahlen lassen. Etwa 20 Euro für jeden kritischen Fehler, der eine Boardüberarbeitung verursacht hätte und 2 Euro für nicht-kritische Fehler wären sicherlich angemessen. Vielleicht kann das Unternehmen sogar ein 200-Euro-Preisgeld ausloben, dessen Restbetrag der Designer behalten kann, um einen Anreiz für herausragendes Design zu schaffen und einen gesunden Wettbewerb zu fördern.

    Keine Design-Review-Checkliste wäre vollständig, ohne die Gerber-Daten in einem Programm eines Drittanbieters zu überprüfen. Genau das wird auch der Hersteller tun, um die Datei zu prüfen. Zwar sind 99,99 % aller Fehler Design- und/oder Konfigurationsfehler, aber bei jedem eCAD-Paket hat sich irgendwann ein Fehler eingeschlichen – die 5 Minuten zur Überprüfung lohnen sich. GerbV ist beispielsweise ein kostenloses Open-Source-Werkzeug, mit dem der Konstrukteur jede Lage einzeln und alle zusammen auf Konstruktionsfehler oder CAM-Ausgabefehler überprüfen kann.

    investigator-looking-magnifying-glass

    Dummys

    Wenn man bedenkt, dass das ultimative Ziel jedes PCBA-Designs darin besteht, vom Computer wegzukommen und etwas in der realen Welt zu konstruieren, gibt es einen einfachen und schnellen Weg, die Mechanik zu überprüfen: einen Dummy (oder auch Paper Doll)! Neben der Überprüfung der Abmessungen einer flexiblen oder starr-flexiblen Leiterplatte, wie Tara Dunn es hier diskutiert, kann man zusätzliche Bauteilumrisse und Anschlussflächen mit ausdrucken. Damit lassen sich kritische Bauteile auf dem Blatt platzieren, um sicherzustellen, dass die Anschluss-Pads genau an der richtigen Stelle sind. BGAs und LGAs können auf die gleiche Weise getestet werden, wenn Sie stattdessen eine bedruckbare transparente Folie verwenden. 

    .

    Feiertagsstimmung!

    Die besprochenen Maßnahmen tragen sicherlich dazu bei, das aufsteigende Gefühl der Beklemmung nach der Auftragserteilung in eine Vorfreude auf die Lieferung der Baugruppen zu verwandeln. So gut es sich auch anfühlt, eine Flachbaugruppe für die Fertigung freizugeben; noch besser ist es, wenn der Designer sich sicher ist, dass sie auch wirklich funktionieren wird. Viel Spaß beim Entwerfen (und Überprüfen)!

    group-cool-people-woman-man-happy

    Möchten Sie mehr darüber erfahren, wie Altium Ihnen bei der Minimierung des Designrisikos Ihrer nächsten Leiterplattenbaugruppe helfen kann? Sprechen Sie mit einem Altium-Experten oder lesen Sie weiter über die PCB-Bibliothek und die Supply-Chain-Integration in Altium Concord Pro®.

    Altium Designer auf Altium 365 bietet ein in der Elektroindustrie nie dagewesenes Maß an Integration, wie es bisher nur der Softwareentwicklung vorbehalten war. Dadurch können nun auch Entwickler produktiv von zu Hause arbeiten.

    Dabei haben wir nur an der Oberfläche dessen gekratzt, was mit Altium Concord Pro auf Altium 365 möglich ist. Auf der Produktseite finden Sie eine ausführlichere Beschreibung aller Funktionen sowie On-Demand-Webinare. 

    About Author

    About Author

    Dave's experience is centered around taking an idea through design, prototype, and manufacturing stages while improving the quality and reducing costs of designs; often times during exciting high pressure, time-critical situations. Focusing on analog circuitry, he has spent my technical career learning, applying, and teaching electronics wherever possible.

    Dave also co-founded BlueStamp Engineering (BSE) to help educate high school students by supplementing traditional education with hands-on learning. BSE is a summer program where students build prototypes that they find interesting while meeting many professionals from the engineering and entrepreneurial field.

    Dave looks forward to applying his love of engineering to roles that not only involve technology, but also the people behind making things happen.

    Specialties: Product definition, System design, Analog hardware design, PCB design, and Electronics manufacturing

    most recent articles

    Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    Take the Risk Out of Prototype PCB Assembly (PCBA)

    Dave Young
    |  May 28, 2020
    pcb assembly (pcba) and supply chain

    Take the risk out of your PCB assembly (PCBA) with supply chain management.

    There is a special feeling one gets when polishing off a Rev A design and ordering the first set of PCBs from a board house. While designers everywhere would likely not trade that feeling for anything, taking some of the uneasiness off the table would probably be a welcome change. Here are review steps that should prove more effective at settling nerves than an after-work visit to the bar—and infinitely more effective at preventing errors!

    There are some steps you can take to reduce turnaround time when you're ready to order fabrication and PCB assembly (PCBA) services. Getting into the supply chain and ensuring DFM/DFA early are important, and taking these points seriously during development will cut down your design review time and your assembly/fabrication time. You can also eliminate some unnecessary redesigns for your PCBA when you pay attention to these points.

    No Parts? No Boards.

    Supply chain management which was once an occasional frustrating lesson in patience and planning has become a critical design parameter even at the prototype level. There is nothing worse than having a multi-million-dollar development project delayed a week because 10 measly microcontrollers worth $2 each cannot be found to build prototypes. 

    Common passives, diodes/LEDs, or common ICs for a PCBA will be easy to replace and probably won't require major PCB layout changes. Something like an unavailable microcontroller, FPGA, specialty SoC, and other specialized components can force near total redesign for your PCBA. You should always check component availability and lead times early before you send an order off for manufacturing. The search features in your design tools play a major role here in helping you find sourcing data and component symbols/footprints before you produce your PCB.

    The best way to mitigate this is to order prototype quantities for all components as soon as the schematic is complete. Sure, nobody likes a hoarder coveting piles of parts during a shortage like Smaug refusing to part with ‘one single coin’, but we’re only talking about a handful of parts. The disappointment of wasting a quarter of the components that are designed out by the time boards are built is nothing next to finding out what firmware engineers do to waste time when they don’t have hardware to work on. Quick note: it is also important to check the MSL (Moisture Sensitivity Level) rating of each part—a contract manufacturer may have to bake the parts before placing them on the board for SMT reflow.

    waiting image

    Reduce PCB assembly (PCBA) production time by looking at the supply chain early.

    Design Reviews are Fun!

    Most engineers recognize two things about design reviews: they are necessary for a Rev A release, and completing a review, well, can be a big favor to ask of a colleague. But it doesn’t have to be an extra helping of drudgery for the reviewer. Just like anything, it can be made more entertaining by adding money and competition! For instance, the designer could have to pay the reviewer for mistakes that are found. Something like $20 per critical mistake which would have triggered a board revision and $2 for non-critical mistakes would be reasonable. Maybe even get the company to pony up a $200 budget to allow the designer to keep what’s left, incentivizing design excellence and fostering healthy competition.

    No design review checklist would be complete without reviewing the Gerbers in a 3rd party program. This would be equivalent to what the board house will do to examine the file. While 99.99% of errors are design and/or configuration errors, every eCAD package has produced an error at some point so it is worth the 5 minutes to check. For instance, GerbV is a free, open-source tool that will allow the designer to review each layer individually and together for anything that doesn’t smell right, either from a design error or a CAM output error.  

    investigator-looking-magnifying-glass

     

    Paper Dolls

    Remembering that the ultimate goal of PCBA design is to get off the computer and build something in the real world, there is an easy and quick way to double-check the mechanicals: a paper doll! In addition to checking the dimensions of a flex or rigid-flex PCB as Tara Dunn discusses here, one can also include footprints in the print and place the component on the page to be sure the pads are in just the right place. BGAs and LGAs can be tested in the same way if you have some printable transparency film. Maybe you’ll luck out and use the last transparency sheet so nobody is tempted to bring out the dreaded overhead projector at your next meeting.

    .

     

    The Warm Fuzzies

    These steps can help transform the post-order feeling of trepidation into anticipation for the boards to come back. However good it feels releasing a board to the fab, it is even better when the designer knows it will work. Happy Designing (and Reviewing)!

    group-cool-people-woman-man-happy

    Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you take the risk our of your next PCB assembly (PCBA)? Talk to an expert at Altium or continue reading about PCB library and supply chain integration in Altium Concord Pro®.

    Altium Designer on Altium 365 delivers an unprecedented amount of integration to the electronics industry until now relegated to the world of software development, allowing designers to work from home and reach unprecedented levels of efficiency.

    We have only scratched the surface of what is possible to do with Altium Concord Pro on Altium 365. You can check the product page for a more in-depth feature description or one of the On-Demand Webinars

    About Author

    About Author

    Dave's experience is centered around taking an idea through design, prototype, and manufacturing stages while improving the quality and reducing costs of designs; often times during exciting high pressure, time-critical situations. Focusing on analog circuitry, he has spent my technical career learning, applying, and teaching electronics wherever possible.

    Dave also co-founded BlueStamp Engineering (BSE) to help educate high school students by supplementing traditional education with hands-on learning. BSE is a summer program where students build prototypes that they find interesting while meeting many professionals from the engineering and entrepreneurial field.

    Dave looks forward to applying his love of engineering to roles that not only involve technology, but also the people behind making things happen.

    Specialties: Product definition, System design, Analog hardware design, PCB design, and Electronics manufacturing

    most recent articles

    Back to Home