Die Entwicklung der Automobilelektronik

Kella Knack
|  Created: December 22, 2019  |  Updated: October 16, 2020

Die Vielzahl, Komplexität und Funktionalität der heutigen Kraftfahrzeugelektronik ist in den letzten Jahren sprunghaft gewachsen. Das Flaggschiff der Entwicklung von der Automobilelektronik ist zweifellos das Tesla-Auto. Aber auch für diejenigen von uns, die sich keinen Tesla leisten können: Diese Technologie wird immer stärker in Neuwagen der Mittel- und unteren Mittelklasse eingesetzt. Dieser Artikel beschreibt die, mit dieser Technologie verbundene Designumgebung, ihren Einsatz und auf welche Weise diese Technologie im Tesla integriert wurde.

Viel Technik, viele Funktionen

Immer häufiger wird über den breiten Einsatz selbstfahrender Fahrzeuge in den kommenden Jahren diskutiert. Doch auch, wenn wir auf diese Innovation noch ein wenig warten müssen, findet sich in der heutigen Kfz-Technik bereits ein hohes Maß an Funktionalität. Es liegt auf der Hand, dass diese Technologie nicht ohne Herausforderungen bleibt, wenn es darum geht, was seitens der Produktentwicklung benötigt wird. Zu den besonderen Merkmalen der Automobilelektronik gehören:

  • vergleichbare Anforderungen an die Signal-Integrität wie alle anderen komplexen, leistungsfähigen Elektronikprodukte;
  • Sie muss in einem Temperaturbereich von -60 °C bis +135 °C arbeiten und das 20 Jahre lang.
  • Sie muss viele Jahre lang Schock und Vibrationen aushalten.
  • Stetiger Kostendruck;
  • Zuverlässigkeit ist fast so wichtig wie die Kosten und könnte diese schon bald als Schlüsselfaktor übertreffen.
  • Steigender Bedarf an Netzwerken mit relativ hoher Bandbreite.
  • Sie muss über ein breites Frequenzspektrum (vom Audiobereich bis 70 GHz Radar (z.  B. Stoßstangenradar) arbeiten – einschließlich GPS, Bluetooth und drahtloses Ethernet. (Beispiel: Tesla kommuniziert ständig mit Mobilfunkmasten und meldet dem Hersteller alle möglichen Informationen darüber, wo sich ein Fahrzeug befindet und wie es sich verhält.)
  • Die Ergänzung von Autopilot-Funktionen schafft eine weitere Ebene und Quantität von Anforderungen.
  • Fahrzeuge beinhalten ein sehr breites Spektrum an Elektronik von beinahe jedem Produkt, das man sich vorstellen kann. Sie dürften der in Flugzeugen enthaltenen Elektronik gleichkommen.
  • Die Kenntnisse der Konstrukteure müssen von sehr, sehr hohen Strömen in Verbindung mit Batterien, Motoren und Generatoren bis zu 70-GHz-Radargeräten reichen.
  • PCBs reichen von einlagigen Flex-Schaltungen bis hin zu 12-lagigen Leiterplatten.

Lee Ritchey, Gründer und Präsident von Speeding Edge, stellt fest: „Wir erwarten heute, dass ein Auto 20 Jahre lang ohne Ausfälle fährt. Wenn etwas nach zehn Jahren versagt, sind wir irritiert. Im Zuge dieser Zuverlässigkeit erwarten wir, dass wir unser Auto niemals reparieren müssen.“

Kommunikation ist alles für die Weiterentwicklung der Automobilelektronik

Es liegt auf der Hand, dass alle die Produkte in einem Auto, die heute miteinander vernetzt sind, eine geeignete Kommunikationsmethodik erfordern. Die ursprüngliche Technologie war der Controller-Area-Network-(CAN)-Bus. Dieser Bus ermöglicht es vielen verschiedenen Mikrocontrollern und verschiedenen Gerätetypen, in Echtzeit zu kommunizieren, ohne dass ein Host-Computer erforderlich ist. Sobald Sie ein Zugangsgerät an das Bordnetz anschließen, scannt es alle Objekte im CAN-Netzwerk. Das CAN-Netzwerk arbeitet – je nach Klasse – mit verschiedenen Geschwindigkeiten: Klasse C mit 1 Mbps; Klasse B mit 125 kbps und Klasse A mit 10 kbps. Ritchey bemerkt: „CAN war ausreichend, Die Funktion Ihres Bremssystems sicherzustellen. In den meisten modernen Fahrzeugen ist der CAN-Bus jedoch durch ein Ethernet-Netzwerk ersetzt: Dies ermöglicht einen wesentlich höheren Datenzugriff und stellt die benötigte Bandbreite zur Verfügung, um anspruchsvollen Elektronikkomponenten zu betreiben. Denken Sie z. B. an die verschiedenen Kameras, die heute in den Autos installiert sind.“

Der technische Aufwand kann je nach Automarke und Modell von „normal“ bis „sehr anspruchsvoll“ sein. Es ist gar nicht so lange her (verglichen mit der Produktlebensdauer), seit GPS-Navigationssysteme für Fahrzeuge angeboten werden. Ursprünglich waren sie als Add-Ons oft nur für die teureren Automarken und -modelle erhältlich – zu horrenden Preisen. Heute ist die GPS-Technik allgegenwärtig, auch auf unseren mobilen Geräten. Es dürfte schwierig sein, ein Auto zu finden, das nicht serienmäßig oder zumindest als preisgünstiges Zusatzgerät mit GPS ausgestattet ist. Bei Fahrzeugen der Luxusklasse hat die darin enthaltene Technik einen ähnlichen Reifeprozess durchlaufen wie das Moore‘sche Gesetz. Mit jedem neuen Modelljahr stehen immer neuere Technologien zur Verfügung.

An der Spitze der Innovations-Pyramide der Automobilbranche steht der Tesla. Ritchey stellt fest: „Es gibt nichts Komplexeres als einen Tesla. Und weil dies so ist, verfügt er über ein Echtzeit-Bug-Reporting. Im Tesla gibt es etwa 10 Kameras mit unglaublich umfangreicher Bildverarbeitung. Ein Beispiel: Hält man hinter einem Fahrzeug, an dessen Heck ein Fahrrad montiert ist, erkennt der Tesla, dass es sich um ein Fahrrad auf einem Heckträger handelt und nicht um ein frei stehendes Fahrrad auf der Fahrbahn. Der Tesla erkennt den Unterschied zwischen einem Motorrad und einer Gehhilfe. Er zeigt ein Bild auf dem Display und Sie können alles sehen. Das hat nichts mit dem Autopiloten zu tun, sondern mit Bildverarbeitung – was manche KI nennen. Es erkennt die Objekte eins nach dem anderen und entscheidet, was damit zu tun ist.“

„Ich hatte die Gelegenheit, mit einem Tesla auf einer Langstrecke von Santa Rosa zum Grand Canyon zu reisen“, fährt Ritchey fort. „Erst dachte ich, der Wagen findet mittels Radar heraus, was vor ihm liegt; stattdessen nutzt er Kameras. Ist der Autopilot eingeschaltet, erlaubt Ihnen das Auto nicht, die Spur zu wechseln, wenn die Kameras anzeigen, dass sich etwas auf der anderen Fahrbahn befindet. All diese Ortsinformationen werden auf der Grundlage der Kamerabilder ermittelt, die gerade verarbeitet werden. Die Bilder selbst werden nicht auf dem Display angezeigt, sondern was sich auf Ihrer Fahrspur und den benachbarten Fahrstreifen befindet. Fährt beispielsweise ein Sattelzug voraus, zeigt das Display das Bild eines LKWs.“

Trotz des Autopiloten hat der Tesla keineswegs die Fähigkeit zum Selbstfahren. Ritchey bemerkt: „Der Tesla hat zwar einen Autopiloten, aber man muss die Hände am Steuer haben, sonst ist die Hölle los! Wenn Sie für eine bestimmte Zeit die Hände vom Lenkrad nehmen, zieht der Autopilot das Auto auf den Seitenstreifen. Er hat jede Menge Alarmfunktionen, die viel Krach machen. Wenn Sie darauf aber nicht reagieren, hält er am Straßenrand an und bleibt dort stehen.“

Bei aller Raffinesse der Technik sind die Möglichkeiten des Teslas nicht grenzenlos. Ritchey erklärt: „Bei manchen Fahrbahnmarkierungen kommt der Tesla durcheinander. Das System zentriert sich z. B. automatisch zwischen zwei Linien, die er erfasst. Mündet eine Fahrspur von der Seite ein, verlässt es die Fahrspur, in der es sich befindet. Verschwindet die Fahrbahnmarkierung, dann versagt er. Deshalb wird so viel Mühe darauf verwandt, die Straßenmarkierungen zu malen.“

„Und“, fügt Ritchey hinzu, „trotz Ethernet, das mit 5 Mbps arbeitet, ist das Fahrzeug auf lokale Mobilfunkanlagen angewiesen. Alles im Tesla hängt von den Mobilfunkmasten ab. Er arbeitet nicht satellitengebunden. Folglich funktionieren einige der Dinge im Auto nicht, wenn keine Mobiltelefonverbindung besteht – das Reporting zum Beispiel.“

Reisen von A nach B

Eine der Herausforderungen von Elektrofahrzeugen ist deren Reichweite. Meistens hängt die Reiseroute über lange Strecken von der Lage der Ladestationen ab. Zwar nimmt die Zahl der Ladestationen ständig zu, aber sie befinden sich nicht immer auf Ihrer gewünschten Route.

Beim Tesla bemerkte Ritchey, dass die Fahrt – aufgrund des Netzes an Ladestationen – ein wenig abseits der ausgetretenen Pfade verlaufen könnte: „Auf unserer Fahrt von Santa Rosa zum Grand Canyon bestimmte die Automobiltechnik im Tesla die günstigste Route. Damit man weiß, wo die Ladestationen sind, werden sie auf der Karte angezeigt, mit einem Hinweis, wo man als Nächstes anhalten sollte. Wir haben uns nie weiter als 150 Meilen von einer Ladestation entfernt. Die Hälfte aller Ladestationen an jedem unserer Haltepunkte waren Schnellladestationen. Sie benötigen für eine volle Ladung 45 Minuten. Und ganz bewusst liegen sie alle in der Nähe einer Gaststätte, wo wir hätten Mittagessen können.“

„Wenn Sie Ihr Fahrzeug an eine Ladestation anschließen,“ so Ritchey, „weiß diese Station, welches Fahrzeug aufgeladen wird. Es gibt nämlich ein bereits eingerichtetes Benutzerkonto. Tesla belastet dann automatisch Ihre Kreditkarte, wenn Sie Ihr Fahrzeug betanken. Mit den Ladekosten eingerechnet kamen wir auf unserer Reise auf Betriebskosten, die bei einem Verbrenner einem Verbrauch von 100 Meilen pro Gallone (etwa 2,4 Liter auf 100 km) entspricht.

So weit sind wir gekommen

Bei all dem neuen „Schnickschnack“, den die Auto-Technik heute bietet, gibt es immer noch einige gegebene Tatsachen. Dazu gehören:

  • Wir erwarten, auch bei -40 °C das Auto noch starten zu können. Umgekehrt können Sie Ihr Auto anlassen, wenn es 120° wärmer ist. (In der Wüste kann die Temperatur im Fahrzeuginnenraum an die 120 °C betragen.)
  • An der Konstruktion der Automobilelektronik moderner Fahrzeuge sind etwa zehn Fachgebiete beteiligt.
  • Wie schon erwähnt, gibt es eine Fülle von PCB-Anwendungen in jedem Auto, von einlagigen Flex-Schaltungen bis hin zu 12-lagigen Leiterplatten. Alle LED-Lampen sind zum Beispiel ein- oder zweilagige Leiterplatten
  • In dem Maße, wie die technischen Entwicklungen voranschreiten und kostengünstiger werden, werden einige Komponenten Standard, um Fahrzeuge versichern zu können. Ritchey sagt: „Ich nehme an, dass Kollisionswarnung und Rückfahrkameras zu solchen Komponenten gehören werden. Sind sie nicht vorhanden, werden die Versicherungsprämien höher ausfallen.“

Was liegt vor uns in der Zukunft der Automobilelektronik?

Ritchey erklärt: „Seit Jahren haben wir Halbleiter für jede Menge High-Tech-Zeugs. Aber es sind die Verbindungen, die versagen werden. Ich kann mich nicht erinnern, wann ich das letzte Mal etwas repariert habe, das keine Verbindungsfehler aufwies. Silizium versagt dagegen selten.“

„Die gute Nachricht ist: Wir gehen den Ausfällen aus dem Weg, indem wir Verbindungen vermeiden und alles in einen Chip integrieren“, so Ritchey weiter. „Die Drähte, die einen Computer mit einem anderen verbinden, sind so ziemlich die einzige noch verbleibende Fehlerstelle. Die Arbeit, die im Bereich der Kfz -Steckverbinder geleistet wird, ist meines Erachtens besser als das, was in einem Laptop steckt, denn diese müssen eine Vielzahl von Umweltbedingungen aushalten. In den Anfängen der ICs verkauften wir nicht an Automobilfirmen, weil ihre Anforderungen zu hoch waren. Die Gehäuse waren nicht sehr zuverlässig, und die ICs funktionierten bei bestimmten Betriebstemperaturen nicht. Mit jeder Generation der Halbleitertechnologie wächst auch die Anzahl der Funktionen, die in die Automobilelektronik einfließen.“

Zusammenfassung

Die Komplexität und Vielfalt der in heutigen Automobilelektronik ist etwas alltäglich geworden. Werden alle Umwelt- und Betriebsanforderungen innerhalb eines Kraftfahrzeugs berücksichtigt, nehmen Leistungsfähigkeit und Zuverlässigkeit dieser Technologien immer weiter zu. Dabei wird die Spitzenelektronik von heute zum Mainstream von morgen, insbesondere, wenn es um die Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit von Fahrzeugen der nächsten Generation geht. Aus Konstruktionssicht wird die frühzeitige Berücksichtigung aller Betriebsanforderungen in der Produktentwicklungsphase sicherstellen, dass die Technik von Anfang an (und dauerhaft) richtig funktioniert.

Ihre PCB-Designs benötigen die beste Entwurfssoftware für elektronische Schaltungen, und mit der Kombination von Altium 365 steht Ihnen zudem eine PCB-Cloud-Plattform für eine bessere Zusammenarbeit zur Verfügung. Möchten Sie mehr darüber erfahren, wie Altium Ihnen bei Ihrem nächsten PCB-Design helfen kann? Sprechen Sie mit einem Experten von Altium.

About Author

About Author

Kella Knack ist Vice President Marketing bei Speeding Edge, einem Unternehmen, das sich mit Schulungen, Beratung und Veröffentlichung zu Hochgeschwindigkeits-Designthemen wie Signalintegritätsanalyse, PCB-Design und EMI-Steuerung befasst. Zuvor war sie als Marketingberaterin für ein breites Spektrum von High-Tech-Unternehmen tätig, von Start-ups bis hin zu milliardenschweren Unternehmen. Sie war außerdem Redakteurin für verschiedene elektronische Fachpublikationen in den Bereichen PCB, Networking und EDA.

most recent articles

Back to Home

Free Trials

Download a free trial to find out which Altium software best suits your needs

How to Buy

Contact your local sales office to get started on improving your design environment

Downloads

Download the latest in PCB design and EDA software

  • PCB DESIGN SOFTWARE
  • Altium Designer

    Complete Environment for Schematic + Layout

  • CircuitStudio

    Entry Level, Professional PCB Design Tool

  • CircuitMaker

    Community Based PCB Design Tool

  • NEXUS

    Agile PCB Design For Teams

  • CLOUD PLATFORM
  • Altium 365

    Connecting PCB Design to the Manufacturing Floor

  • COMPONENT MANAGEMENT
  • Altium Concord Pro

    Complete Solution for Library Management

  • Octopart

    Extensive, Easy-to-Use Component Database

  • PRODUCT EXTENSIONS
  • PDN Analyzer

    Natural and Effortless Power Distribution Network Analysis

  • See All Extensions
  • EMBEDDED
  • TASKING

    World-Renowned Technology for Embedded Systems Development

  • TRAININGS
  • Live Courses

    Learn best practices with instructional training available worldwide

  • On-Demand Courses

    Gain comprehensive knowledge without leaving your home or office

  • ONLINE VIEWER
  • Altium 365 Viewer

    View & Share electronic designs in your browser

  • Altium Designer 20

    The most powerful, modern and easy-to-use PCB design tool for professional use

    ALTIUMLIVE

    Annual PCB Design Summit

    • Forum

      Where Altium users and enthusiasts can interact with each other

    • Blog

      Our blog about things that interest us and hopefully you too

    • Ideas

      Submit ideas and vote for new features you want in Altium tools

    • Bug Crunch

      Help make the software better by submitting bugs and voting on what's important

    • Wall

      A stream of events on AltiumLive you follow by participating in or subscribing to

    • Beta Program

      Information about participating in our Beta program and getting early access to Altium tools

    All Resources

    Explore the latest content from blog posts to social media and technical white papers gathered together for your convenience

    Downloads

    Take a look at what download options are available to best suit your needs

    How to Buy

    Contact your local sales office to get started improving your design environment

    • Documentation

      The documentation area is where you can find extensive, versioned information about our software online, for free.

    • Training & Events

      View the schedule and register for training events all around the world and online

    • Design Content

      Browse our vast library of free design content including components, templates and reference designs

    • Webinars

      Attend a live webinar online or get instant access to our on demand series of webinars

    • Support

      Get your questions answered with our variety of direct support and self-service options

    • Technical Papers

      Stay up to date with the latest technology and industry trends with our complete collection of technical white papers.

    • Video Library

      Quick and to-the-point video tutorials to get you started with Altium Designer

    The Evolution Of Automotive Electronics

    Kella Knack
    |  December 22, 2019

    The number, functionality, and complexity of today’s automotive electronics has grown beyond leaps and bounds over the past several years. Certainly, the flagship of this technology is the Tesla automobile. But, even for those of us who can’t afford a Tesla, there is an increasingly widespread utilization of this technology in mid-range and even lower-end new cars. This article will describe the design environment represented by this technology and its deployment, and also discuss the ways in which this technology has been incorporated into the Tesla.

    So much technology, so much functionality

    There’s increasing discussion about the widespread deployment of self-driving vehicles in the coming years, but even as we wait for that technology to arrive, there is a high level of functionality found in today’s automotive technology. Obviously, this technology is not without its challenges in terms of what is needed on the product development side. Specific characteristics of automotive electronics include:

    • Automotive electronics have the same signal integrity needs as all other complex, high-functioning electronic products.
    • What is unique about the automotive environment:
    • They are always driven by cost.
    • Reliability is nearly as important as cost, and may soon surpass it as the key factor.
    • With modern cars, there has to be fairly high-bandwidth networks.
    • Automotive electronics have to operate across a broad spectrum of frequencies from stereo to 70Ghz radar (bumper radars) and everything in between, including GPS, Bblue tooth, and wireless Ethernet. Example: Tesla is constantly communicating to cell phone towers and reporting all kinds of information to the manufacturer regarding where a car is and how it is performing.
    • The addition of autopilot features creates another level and quantity of requirements.
    • Cars contain the broadest spectrum of electronics of almost any product that can be named. They may be equal to the electronics contained in airplanes.
    • Designer skill sets have to range from very, very high currents associated with batteries, motors and generators to 70 GHz radars.
    • PCBs range from one-layer flex circuits up to 12-layer boards.

    Lee Ritchey, Founder and President of Speeding Edge notes, “People expect cars to run with no failures for 20 years. We now think if something fails in 10 years, it’s something weird. As part of this reliability, we expect never to have to repair our cars.”

    Can You Hear Me Now?

    Obviously, all of the products within an automobile that are now interconnected require some sort of communication methodology. The original technology was comprised of the Controller Area Network (CAN) bus. This bus enables many different microcontrollers and different types of devices to communicate real time but it does not require a host computer. With CAN, when you plug an access device into your car it scans all the things on the CAN network. The network operates at different speeds as follows: Class C CAN operates at 1 Mbps; Class B operates at 125 Kbps and Class A at 10 Kbps. Ritchey notes, “About all that CAN could do was to keep your interlocking brakes functioning. Most of today’s cars have replaced the CAN bus with an Ethernet network. It will access data at a much higher rate and also provide the bandwidth that is necessary for the other high-demand electronics such as the various cameras that are installed on today’s cars.”

    Depending on the make of car and the model, the amount of technology can range from the “common” to the very sophisticated. It doesn’t seem so long ago, in terms of the lifespan of technology, that GPS navigation systems were offered in automobiles. Initially, as add-ons, they were often only available on the more expensive car makes and models. And, their cost was definitely a bit daunting. Now GPS technology is ubiquitous (including on our mobile devices) and it may be difficult to find a car that does not have GPS on it as a standard feature or, at the least, as a reasonably priced add-on. For high-end vehicles, the technology incorporated on them has experienced a maturation process similar to Moore’s law. With every new model year, there is an increasing amount of new technology available.

    At the top of the automotive pyramid in terms of latest generation of technology sits the Tesla. Ritchey states, “There is nothing more complex than a Tesla. And, because of all that technology, it has real time bug reporting. On the Tesla, there are something like 10 cameras with huge amounts of image processing. For example, when you come up behind a car that has a bike mounted on the back of it, the technology within the Tesla recognizes that it is a bicycle across the back not a stand-alone bicycle which is sitting over somewhere by itself. The Tesla can tell the difference between a motorcycle and a walker. It puts a picture up on your screen and you can see it all. This does not have anything to do with the autopilot. It has to do with image processing which some people call AI. It’s recognizing things one at a time and deciding what to do with them. “

    “I had the opportunity to travel in a Tesla on a long-distance trip from Santa Rosa to the Grand Canyon,” Ritchey continues. “I assumed that the car figured out what was in front of it with radar but instead, it is finding that out with cameras. If you have the autopilot on, the car will not allow you to change lanes if the cameras show that there is something in the other lane. All of this location information is being done based on the images from the cameras that are being processed. The images themselves don’t pop up on the screen of the graphic but the display does show you what is in your lane and in the lanes that are on both sides of you. For example, if there is an 18-wheeler, the display shows the image of a truck.”

    While the Tesla does have an autopilot, by no means does it have a self-driving capability. Ritchey notes, “While the Tesla does have an autopilot, you do have to have your hands on the wheel or it raises hell. If you have your hands off the wheel for a certain amount of time, the autopilot pulls the car to the shoulder. It has a lot of alarms that make a lot of sound but if you don’t respond, it pulls over to the side of the road and it parks.”

    Even with all of its sophistication and technology, the capabilities of the Tesla are not limitless. Ritchey explains, “In certain configurations of lanes, the Tesla got confused. For example, it automatically centers between two lines it sees so if you have a lane coming in from the side, it goes out of the lane it is in. If the white lines disappear, it gets lost. That’s why there is so much effort being put into painting the lines on the roads. “

    “And,” Ritchey adds, “Despite an Ethernet that operates at 5 Mbps, the car depends on there being local cell phone towers. Everything about the Tesla counts on cell phone towers. It does not operate off of satellite. It follows that iIf there is no cell phone connection, some of the stuff inside the car doesn’t work, such as reporting. “

    Getting From Point A to Point B

    One of the challenges associated with all-electric cars is their distance range. In most instances, going on a long-distance drive depends on the location of chargers. Although the number of charging stations is continually growing, they are not always on the path on which you are traveling.

    With the Tesla, Ritchey notes that the integrated network of charging stations makes it possible to drive the car on a route that could be a bit more off the beaten track. “In going from point A to point B, in this instance from Santa Rosa to the Grand Canyon, the technology within the Tesla plotted out what the best way was to go. And, because you have to know where the charging stations are, it says right on the map where the stations are and where you should stop next. We were never more than 150 miles from a charging station. Half of the charging stations in each place we stopped were called super charged. They would do a full-up charge in 45 minutes. And, on purpose, they all are right next to where we could eat lunch.“

    Ritchey explains, “When you plug the car into a charging station, that station knows which car is being charged because there is an account that has already been set up. You give Tesla a credit card so that when you fill up your car, the cost of the charge is automatically put on your credit card. Even with the cost of the charging, on our trip we equated the cost of our trip to a hundred miles to the gallon with a conventional car.”

    We’ve Come So Far

    With all of the new “bells and whistles” represented by the technology in today’s cars, there are still some givens. They include:

    • The expectation is that if it is -40° you can start your car. Conversely, if it is 120° above, you can start your car. (In the desert, before you start a car, the temperature inside the driver side of the car can be 180°).
    • There are probably 10 specialties involved in designing the electronics in today’s cars.
    • As noted, there is a wide range of PCB implementations in any car from 1 layer flex circuits to 12 layers. As an example, all the LED lights are one- or two-layer PCBs. 
    • As new technology matures and becomes more cost-effective, there are some elements that will be mandated in order for vehicles to be insured.
      • Ritchey says, “I imagine that collision avoidance and back-up cameras will become factors such if you don’t have them, your insurance rates will be higher.”

    What’s On the Horizon?

    Ritchey explains, “For years we have had semiconductors that could do a lot of high tech stuff but the things that will fail are the connections. I can’t remember the last time that I fixed something that was not a failed connection. Silicon rarely fails.”

    “The good news is that we are getting away from failures by getting rid of connections and integrating everything into one chip,” Ritchey continues. “The wires that connect one computer to another is about the only place you have for a failure now. The work I see being done on connectors for cars is better than what is in a laptop because of the fact that it has to tolerate a lot of environmental conditions. In the early days of ICs, we would not sell to automotive companies because the requirements were too strict. The packages were not reliable and the ICs would not operate under certain operating temperatures. With each iteration of semiconductor technology, the amount of capability that goes into automotive electronics also scales”.

    Summary

    The complexity and diversity of the electronics in today’s automobiles has become somewhat
    commonplace. Once all of the environmental and operating requirements within a car for are taken into account, the capabilities and the reliability of this technology will only continue to increase. In truth, today’s high-scale electronics will become tomorrow’s expected capabilities especially as it relates to the safety and reliability of next-generation vehicles. From the design perspective taking all of the operating requirements into account early on in the product development stage will ensure that the technology will function right the first time, every time.

    Your PCB designs need the best electronic circuit design software. Would you like to find out more about how Altium can help you with your next PCB design? Talk to an expert at Altium.

    About Author

    About Author

    Kella Knack is Vice President of Marketing for Speeding Edge, a company engaged in training, consulting and publishing on high speed design topics such as signal integrity analysis, PCB Design ad EMI control. Previously, she served as a marketing consultant for a broad spectrum of high-tech companies ranging from start-ups to multibillion dollar corporations. She also served as editor for various electronic trade publications covering the PCB, networking and EDA market sectors.

    most recent articles

    Back to Home